DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 10-13, 16, 19-23, 25 and 27-33 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 7, 12, 21 and 22 are amended.
Claims 2, 5-6, 8-9, 14-15, 17-18, 24 and 26 are cancelled.
Claims 27-33 are new.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 27, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that neither Kim nor Shin teach the new limitation of claim 1, “receiving an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources, wherein the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts is a radio resource control configured parameter” and that therefore, they must not teach, “retransmitting the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource…wherein the retransmission of the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource satisfies the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts.” (Remarks, pg. 10 and 11). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, examiner is interpreting “maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted” as the maximum number of transmissions/retransmissions allowed with the given resources, without having to request more resources from the base station. Given this interpretation, Kim teaches (column 28 lines 16-24) The number of multiple resource pools, N, allocated by the base station or the scheduling UE according to the scheduling request of the transmitter UE may correspond to the sum of the first and second radio resources. That is, i) one radio resource allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data and ii) N−1 radio resources reserved for retransmission up to N−1 times when the initially transmitted sidelink data are not received. “Up to N-1 times” is the maximum number of retransmissions allowed with the given resources. This is essentially saying N, or the number of resource pools granted by the base station based on the scheduling request of the transmitter UE, determines a maximum number of transmission opportunities for one sidelink data transmission, or the “maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts”. (column 28 lines 7-15) The first radio resource may be a resource pool allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data, and the second radio resource may be a resource pool reserved for retransmitting the sidelink data. When the sidelink data are not successfully transmitted, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data using the reserved second radio resource without a procedure of requesting resource allocation for retransmitting the sidelink data to the base station or the scheduling UE. Kim teaches (column 22 lines 20-22) a base station transmits sidelink resource pool setting information through UE-specific or cell-specific higher layer signaling. Therefore, Kim teaches “receiving an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources”. Referring to Fig. 14, the transmitting UE receives first and second radio resource information, so N=2. At S1420 the UE transmits the initial transmission based on the first resource information and 1 retransmission based on the second resource information. Thus, the retransmission of the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource satisfies the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts. Therefore, Kim teaches “retransmitting the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource…wherein the retransmission of the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource satisfies the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts.”
Shin also teaches [0097] Referring to FIG. 4, a transmission UE 4-01 that is camped on at step 4-05 and a reception UE 4-02 may receive, from the gNB 4-03, SL SIB at step 4-10. SL SIB may include SL resource pool information for SL transmission and reception, parameter configuration information for a sensing operation. [0118] The maximum number of retransmissions (maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts) may be configured via SL SIB. In particular, the maximum number of retransmissions may be configured for resource pool configuration in SIB. Thus Shin teaches “receiving an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources, wherein the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts is a radio resource control configured parameter”. Shin also teaches [0250] Step 2-2: A transmission resource regarding another transmission opportunity may be randomly selected from among resource candidates remaining after one transmission opportunity is selected at step 2-1 from among X candidates reported to the higher layer of the UE. Step 2-2 may be repeated to additionally select a transmission opportunity depending on the configured maximum number of retransmissions. [0276] In FIGS. 10A through 10E, an initial transmission resource and one retransmission resource are reserved and transmitted, but an embodiment of the disclosure is not limited thereto. In particular, Nmax resources may be reserved for one TB. When the value of Nmax is configured to be 3, three resources may be reserved including initial transmission. [0276] A value of Nmax may be configured in a resource pool. [0094] the resource pool information may be updated via RRC. Therefore, Shin teaches “receiving an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources, wherein the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts is a radio resource control configured parameter”.
Regarding the rejection of independent claims 12, 21 and 22, claims 12, 21 and 22 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 12, 21 and 22, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
In response to the applicant’s argument that dependent claims 3-4, 7, 10-11, 13, 16, 19-20, 23, and 25 are allowable because of their dependency on independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for the dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22. Therefor for at least the reasons above presented for claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 21, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11160053 B2); further in view of Shin (US 20230362893 A1); further in view of Zhou (US 20240340790 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) from a network entity, wherein: the DCI indicates multiple sidelink resources including a first sidelink resource and a second sidelink resource, the first sidelink resource is for transmission of a sidelink communication to a second UE, the second sidelink resource is for retransmission of the sidelink communication after a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the sidelink communication on the first sidelink resource ((column 25 lines 39-42) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE (first user equipment (UE)) may receive first radio resource information used for the sidelink data transmission (first sidelink resource) and second radio resource information reserved for sidelink data retransmission (second sidelink resource), at step S1410). (column 27 lines 6-10) Referring back to FIG. 14, when retransmission is triggered according to the reception of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the sidelink data, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data based on the reserved second radio resource information, at step S1430. (column 19 lines 49-54) When a UE transmits a scheduling request (SR) to a base station over a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the base station transmits a PSCCH index of 6 bits and time/frequency resource information of the data region using downlink control information (DCI) Format 5 over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (This shows the resource information (first and second sidelink resources) is received by DCI from the network entity.));
receiving an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources (Examiner is interpreting “maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted” as the maximum number of transmissions/retransmissions allowed with the given resources, without having to request more resources from the base station. Given this interpretation, Kim teaches (column 28 lines 16-24) The number of multiple resource pools, N, allocated by the base station or the scheduling UE according to the scheduling request of the transmitter UE may correspond to the sum of the first and second radio resources. That is, i) one radio resource allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data and ii) N−1 radio resources reserved for retransmission up to N−1 times when the initially transmitted sidelink data are not received. “Up to N-1 times” is the maximum number of retransmissions allowed with the given resources. This is essentially saying N, or the number of resource pools granted by the base station based on the scheduling request of the transmitter UE, determines a maximum number of transmission opportunities for one sidelink data transmission, or the “maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts”. (column 28 lines 7-15) The first radio resource may be a resource pool allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data, and the second radio resource may be a resource pool reserved for retransmitting the sidelink data. When the sidelink data are not successfully transmitted, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data using the reserved second radio resource without a procedure of requesting resource allocation for retransmitting the sidelink data to the base station or the scheduling UE. Kim teaches (column 22 lines 20-22) a base station transmits sidelink resource pool setting information through UE-specific or cell-specific higher layer signaling. Therefore, Kim teaches “receiving an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources”.)
transmitting the sidelink communication to the second UE on the first sidelink resource ((column 26 lines 59-61) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE may transmit sidelink data (sidelink communication to the second UE) based on the first radio resource information (on the first sidelink resource), at step S1420).
receiving the NACK from the second UE after transmitting the sidelink communication to the second UE on the first sidelink resource ((column 26 lines 1-5) The receiver UE (the second UE) may monitor sidelink data over a first radio resource indicated by the control information. The receiver UE may transmit HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information to the transmitter UE over a PSFCH according to whether the sidelink data are received. (column 27 lines 11-14) When the HARQ NACK feedback information is received (by the first UE) for the transmitted sidelink data, the transmitter UE (the first UE) may perform the retransmission of sidelink data identical to the transmitted sidelink data (This last statement demonstrates the NACK was received from the second UE).
retransmitting the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource, wherein the sidelink communication is retransmitted without receiving a subsequent DCI from the network entity and as a result of receiving the NACK from the second UE ((column 27 lines 6-10) Referring back to FIG. 14, when retransmission is triggered according to the reception of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the sidelink data, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data based on the reserved second radio resource information, at step S1430. (column 27 lines 11-18) When the HARQ NACK feedback information is received for the transmitted sidelink data, the transmitter UE may perform the retransmission of sidelink data identical to the transmitted sidelink data. In this case, the transmitter UE may immediately retransmit the sidelink data using previously allocated second radio resource. (column 25 lines 59-64) That is, a resource allocation request for the retransmission to the base station or the scheduling UE may not be needed. When the sidelink data are not successfully transmitted, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data using the reserved second radio resource without a procedure of requesting resource allocation for retransmitting the sidelink data to the base station or the scheduling UE.),
wherein the retransmission of the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource satisfies the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts (Examiner is interpreting “automatically granted sidelink attempts“ as sidelink transmission/retransmission attempts using previously configured resources, i.e. without receiving additional resources from the base station. (column 28 lines 16-24) The number of multiple resource pools, N, allocated by the base station or the scheduling UE according to the scheduling request of the transmitter UE may correspond to the sum of the first and second radio resources. That is, i) one radio resource allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data and ii) N−1 radio resources reserved for retransmission up to N−1 times when the initially transmitted sidelink data are not received, may be simultaneously allocated as multiple resource pools. (This is essentially saying N determines a maximum number of transmission opportunities for one sidelink data transmission, or the “maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts”. So if N=2, 1 initial resource for the initial transmission and up to (2-1) retransmission resources for (2-1) retransmission. Referring to Fig. 14, the UE receives first and second radio resource information, so N=2. At S1420 the UE transmits the initial transmission based on the first resource information and 1 retransmission based on the second resource information. Thus, the retransmission of the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource satisfies the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts).
Kim does not teach wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource, and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts; wherein the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts is a radio resource control configured parameter; refraining, during a time period associated with the DCI from transmitting the NACK to the network entity.
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications teaches wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource ([0097] SL scheduling information included in the DCI may include parameters related to transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and a frequency allocation location information field. [0112] In particular, referring to FIG. 6, resource allocation information indicating a time gap between initial transmission and retransmission is illustrated in terms of an information field. However, reservation information regarding resource allocation may include both transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and frequency allocation location information.), and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts ([0112] Referring to FIG. 6, a case 6-10 in which the number of resource reservations is 2 when the maximum number of retransmissions is 2 (e.g., Case 1-4 and Case 2-4 of Table 1). Here, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via one time gap. Also, when the maximum number of retransmissions is 4 (e.g., Case 1-1, Case 2-1, and Case 2-3 of Table 1), the number of resource reservations may be 4 (case 6-20). In this case, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via three time gaps);
Shin also teaches receiving an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources, wherein the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts is a radio resource control configured parameter (Examiner is interpreting “automatically granted sidelink attempt” as a sidelink transmission/retransmission attempt using previously configured resources, i.e. without receiving additional resources from the base station. [0097] Referring to FIG. 4, a transmission UE 4-01 that is camped on at step 4-05 and a reception UE 4-02 may receive, from the gNB 4-03, SL SIB at step 4-10. SL SIB may include SL resource pool information for SL transmission and reception, parameter configuration information for a sensing operation. [0118] The maximum number of retransmissions may be configured via SL SIB. In particular, the maximum number of retransmissions may be configured for resource pool configuration in SIB. [0230] Step 2-2: A transmission resource regarding another transmission opportunity may be selected considering parameters N, K, and the like related to retransmission and HARQ ACK/NACK feedback provided in Example 5. Step 2-2 may be repeated to select an additional transmission opportunity depending on the configured maximum number of retransmissions. [0236] Alternative (3) A step of selecting one transmission opportunity may be omitted at step 2-1 and the higher layer of the UE may simultaneously and randomly select the maximum number of transmission opportunities configured for initial transmission and retransmission from among X candidates. [0276] In particular, Nmax resources may be reserved for one TB. When the value of Nmax is configured to be 3, three resources may be reserved including initial transmission. [0276] A value of Nmax may be configured in a resource pool. [0094] the resource pool information may be updated via RRC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim to include the SL resource reservation method of Shin. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method to reduce the signaling overhead for the resource allocation information (Shin; [0114]).
Shin does not teach refraining, during a time period associated with the DCI from transmitting the NACK to the network entity.
Zhou in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches refraining, during a time period associated with the DCI from transmitting the NACK to the network entity ([0394] Based on the determination of the transition from the normal power state to the energy saving state, the base station may transmit the DCI, in the PDCCH transmission occasion of the search space, indicating that the base station will be turned off (silent/muted/dormant/sleep, etc.) for a time duration of the plurality of time durations. [0395] In response to receiving the DCI indicating the energy saving for the base station, the wireless device(s) (WD1 and/or WD2) may determine that there is no downlink transmission from the base station in the time duration and the wireless device(s) will not be allowed to transmit uplink signals to the base station in the time duration. [0396] The wireless device(s), after the time duration or when the time window/timer expires, may resume transmitting to and/or receiving from the base station. In an example, the wireless device(s) may receive DCI(s) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant. The wireless device(s) may receive downlink data packets via PDSCH of the downlink assignment or transmit uplink data packets via PUSCH of the uplink grant. [0405] In an example, in a time duration when a base station is in an energy saving state, a first wireless device may transmit sidelink signals (PSCCH/PSSCH) to a second wireless device via a sidelink radio resource.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim and Shin to include the network energy saving methods of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for environmental sustainability, to reduce environmental impact (greenhouse gas emissions), and for operational cost savings. (Zhou; [0332]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising:
receiving a sidelink grant request between a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE ((column 25 lines 16-19) Referring to FIG. 14, a transmitter UE (e.g., transmitting UE) may transmit a radio resource allocation request message (to the network entity) for requesting the allocation of a radio resource used for sidelink data transmission, at step S1400);
outputting downlink control information (DCI) for the first UE, wherein the DCI indicates multiple sidelink resources including a first sidelink resource and a second sidelink resource, the first sidelink resource is for transmission of a sidelink communication from the first UE to the second UE, the second sidelink resource is for retransmission of the sidelink communication after a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the sidelink communication on the first sidelink resource ((column 25 lines 39-42) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE (first user equipment (UE)) may receive first radio resource information used for the sidelink data transmission (first sidelink resource) and second radio resource information reserved for sidelink data retransmission (second sidelink resource), at step S1410). (column 27 lines 6-10) Referring back to FIG. 14, when retransmission is triggered according to the reception of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the sidelink data, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data based on the reserved second radio resource information, at step S1430. (column 19 lines 49-54) When a UE transmits a scheduling request (SR) to a base station over a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the base station transmits a PSCCH index of 6 bits and time/frequency resource information of the data region using downlink control information (DCI) Format 5 over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (This shows the resource information (first and second sidelink resources) is received by DCI from the network entity);
outputting an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources (Examiner is interpreting “automatically granted sidelink attempts“ as sidelink transmission/retransmission attempts using previously configured resources, i.e. without receiving additional resources from the base station. (column 32 lines 1-5) The gNB may set the number of resource pools taking into account the number of retransmissions suitable for a communication link from the transmitter UE to at least one receiver UE based on such feedback information. (column 28 lines 16-24) The number of multiple resource pools, N, allocated by the base station or the scheduling UE according to the scheduling request of the transmitter UE may correspond to the sum of the first and second radio resources. That is, i) one radio resource allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data and ii) N−1 radio resources reserved for retransmission up to N−1 times when the initially transmitted sidelink data are not received, may be simultaneously allocated as multiple resource pools. (This is essentially saying N determines a maximum number of transmission opportunities for one sidelink data transmission, or the “maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts”.) (column 22 lines 20-22) a base station transmits sidelink resource pool setting information through UE-specific or cell-specific higher layer signaling).
Kim does not teach the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource, and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts and in response to outputting the DCI for the first UE, entering a sleep mode.
Kim also does not explicitly teach the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources is indicated via radio resource control signaling.
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications teaches wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource ([0097] SL scheduling information included in the DCI may include parameters related to transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and a frequency allocation location information field. [0112] In particular, referring to FIG. 6, resource allocation information indicating a time gap between initial transmission and retransmission is illustrated in terms of an information field. However, reservation information regarding resource allocation may include both transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and frequency allocation location information.), and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts ([0112] Referring to FIG. 6, a case 6-10 in which the number of resource reservations is 2 when the maximum number of retransmissions is 2 (e.g., Case 1-4 and Case 2-4 of Table 1). Here, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via one time gap. Also, when the maximum number of retransmissions is 4 (e.g., Case 1-1, Case 2-1, and Case 2-3 of Table 1), the number of resource reservations may be 4 (case 6-20). In this case, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via three time gaps).
Shin also teaches the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources is indicated via radio resource control signaling ([0097] Referring to FIG. 4, a transmission UE 4-01 that is camped on at step 4-05 and a reception UE 4-02 may receive, from the gNB 4-03, SL SIB at step 4-10. SL SIB may include SL resource pool information for SL transmission and reception, parameter configuration information for a sensing operation. [0118] The maximum number of retransmissions may be configured via SL SIB. In particular, the maximum number of retransmissions may be configured for resource pool configuration in SIB. [0276] In particular, Nmax resources may be reserved for one TB. When the value of Nmax is configured to be 3, three resources may be reserved including initial transmission. [0276] A value of Nmax may be configured in a resource pool. [0094] the resource pool information may be updated via RRC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim to include the SL resource reservation method of Shin. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method to reduce the signaling overhead for the resource allocation information (Shin; [0114]).
Shin does not teach entering a sleep mode.
Zhou in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches entering a sleep mode ([0394] Based on the determination of the transition from the normal power state to the energy saving state, the base station may transmit the DCI, in the PDCCH transmission occasion of the search space, indicating that the base station will be turned off (silent/muted/dormant/sleep, etc.) for a time duration of the plurality of time durations. [0395] In response to receiving the DCI indicating the energy saving for the base station, the wireless device(s) (WD1 and/or WD2) may determine that there is no downlink transmission from the base station in the time duration and the wireless device(s) will not be allowed to transmit uplink signals to the base station in the time duration. [0396] The wireless device(s), after the time duration or when the time window/timer expires, may resume transmitting to and/or receiving from the base station. In an example, the wireless device(s) may receive DCI(s) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant. The wireless device(s) may receive downlink data packets via PDSCH of the downlink assignment or transmit uplink data packets via PUSCH of the uplink grant. [0405] In an example, in a time duration when a base station is in an energy saving state, a first wireless device may transmit sidelink signals (PSCCH/PSSCH) to a second wireless device via a sidelink radio resource.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim and Shin to include the network energy saving methods of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for environmental sustainability, to reduce environmental impact (greenhouse gas emissions), and for operational cost savings. (Zhou; [0332]).
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communications, comprising:
a memory ((column 38 lines lines 14-15) Software code may be stored in a memory unit); and
a processor configured to cause the UE to ((column 38 lines lines 15-18) …and may be driven by the processor. The memory unit may be provided inside or outside the processor, and may exchange data with the processor by any of various well-known means):
receive downlink control information (DCI) from a network entity, wherein the DCI indicates multiple sidelink resources including a first sidelink resource and a second sidelink resource, wherein the first sidelink resource is for transmission of a sidelink communication to a second UE, wherein the second sidelink resource is for retransmission of the sidelink communication after a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the sidelink communication on the first sidelink resource ((column 25 lines 39-42) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE (first user equipment (UE)) may receive first radio resource information used for the sidelink data transmission (first sidelink resource) and second radio resource information reserved for sidelink data retransmission (second sidelink resource), at step S1410). (column 27 lines 6-10) Referring back to FIG. 14, when retransmission is triggered according to the reception of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the sidelink data, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data based on the reserved second radio resource information, at step S1430. (column 19 lines 49-54) When a UE transmits a scheduling request (SR) to a base station over a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the base station transmits a PSCCH index of 6 bits and time/frequency resource information of the data region using downlink control information (DCI) Format 5 over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (This shows the resource information (first and second sidelink resources) is received by DCI from the network entity.);
receive an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources (Examiner is interpreting “maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted” as the maximum number of transmissions/retransmissions allowed with the given resources, without having to request more resources from the base station. Given this interpretation, Kim teaches (column 28 lines 16-24) The number of multiple resource pools, N, allocated by the base station or the scheduling UE according to the scheduling request of the transmitter UE may correspond to the sum of the first and second radio resources. That is, i) one radio resource allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data and ii) N−1 radio resources reserved for retransmission up to N−1 times when the initially transmitted sidelink data are not received. “Up to N-1 times” is the maximum number of retransmissions allowed with the given resources. This is essentially saying N, or the number of resource pools granted by the base station based on the scheduling request of the transmitter UE, determines a maximum number of transmission opportunities for one sidelink data transmission, or the “maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts”. (column 28 lines 7-15) The first radio resource may be a resource pool allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data, and the second radio resource may be a resource pool reserved for retransmitting the sidelink data. When the sidelink data are not successfully transmitted, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data using the reserved second radio resource without a procedure of requesting resource allocation for retransmitting the sidelink data to the base station or the scheduling UE. Kim teaches (column 22 lines 20-22) a base station transmits sidelink resource pool setting information through UE-specific or cell-specific higher layer signaling. Therefore, Kim teaches “receiving an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources”.)
transmit the sidelink communication to the second UE on the first sidelink resources ((column 26 lines 59-61) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE may transmit sidelink data (sidelink communication to the second UE) based on the first radio resource information (on the first sidelink resource), at step S1420).
receiving the NACK from the second UE after transmitting the sidelink communication to the second UE on the first sidelink resource ((column 26 lines 1-5) The receiver UE (the second UE) may monitor sidelink data over a first radio resource indicated by the control information. The receiver UE may transmit HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information to the transmitter UE over a PSFCH according to whether the sidelink data are received. (column 27 lines 11-14) When the HARQ NACK feedback information is received (by the first UE) for the transmitted sidelink data, the transmitter UE (the first UE) may perform the retransmission of sidelink data identical to the transmitted sidelink data (This last statement demonstrates the NACK was received from the second UE).
retransmit the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource, wherein the sidelink communication is retransmitted without receiving a subsequent DCI from the network entity and as a result of receiving the NACK from the second UE ((column 27 lines 6-10) Referring back to FIG. 14, when retransmission is triggered according to the reception of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the sidelink data, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data based on the reserved second radio resource information, at step S1430. (column 27 lines 11-18) When the HARQ NACK feedback information is received for the transmitted sidelink data, the transmitter UE may perform the retransmission of sidelink data identical to the transmitted sidelink data. In this case, the transmitter UE may immediately retransmit the sidelink data using previously allocated second radio resource. (column 25 lines 59-64) That is, a resource allocation request for the retransmission to the base station or the scheduling UE may not be needed. When the sidelink data are not successfully transmitted, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data using the reserved second radio resource without a procedure of requesting resource allocation for retransmitting the sidelink data to the base station or the scheduling UE.),
wherein the retransmission of the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource satisfies the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts ((column 28 lines 16-24) The number of multiple resource pools, N, allocated by the base station or the scheduling UE according to the scheduling request of the transmitter UE may correspond to the sum of the first and second radio resources. That is, i) one radio resource allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data and ii) N−1 radio resources reserved for retransmission up to N−1 times when the initially transmitted sidelink data are not received, may be simultaneously allocated as multiple resource pools. (This is essentially saying N determines a maximum number of transmission opportunities for one sidelink data transmission, or the “maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts”. So if N=2, 1 initial resource for the initial transmission and up to (2-1) retransmission resources for (2-1) retransmission. Referring to Fig. 14, the UE receives first and second radio resource information, so N=2. At S1420 the UE transmits the initial transmission based on the first resource information and 1 retransmission based on the second resource information. Thus, the retransmission of the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource satisfies the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts).
Kim does not teach wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource, and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts; wherein the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts is a radio resource control configured parameter; and refrain, during a time period associated with the DCI from transmitting the NACK to the network entity.
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications teaches wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource ([0097] SL scheduling information included in the DCI may include parameters related to transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and a frequency allocation location information field. [0112] In particular, referring to FIG. 6, resource allocation information indicating a time gap between initial transmission and retransmission is illustrated in terms of an information field. However, reservation information regarding resource allocation may include both transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and frequency allocation location information.), and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts ([0112] Referring to FIG. 6, a case 6-10 in which the number of resource reservations is 2 when the maximum number of retransmissions is 2 (e.g., Case 1-4 and Case 2-4 of Table 1). Here, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via one time gap. Also, when the maximum number of retransmissions is 4 (e.g., Case 1-1, Case 2-1, and Case 2-3 of Table 1), the number of resource reservations may be 4 (case 6-20). In this case, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via three time gaps).
Shin also teaches receive an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources, wherein the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts is a radio resource control configured parameter (Examiner is interpreting “automatically granted sidelink attempt” as a sidelink transmission/retransmission attempt using previously configured resources, i.e. without receiving additional resources from the base station. [0097] Referring to FIG. 4, a transmission UE 4-01 that is camped on at step 4-05 and a reception UE 4-02 may receive, from the gNB 4-03, SL SIB at step 4-10. SL SIB may include SL resource pool information for SL transmission and reception, parameter configuration information for a sensing operation. [0118] The maximum number of retransmissions may be configured via SL SIB. In particular, the maximum number of retransmissions may be configured for resource pool configuration in SIB. [0230] Step 2-2: A transmission resource regarding another transmission opportunity may be selected considering parameters N, K, and the like related to retransmission and HARQ ACK/NACK feedback provided in Example 5. Step 2-2 may be repeated to select an additional transmission opportunity depending on the configured maximum number of retransmissions. [0236] Alternative (3) A step of selecting one transmission opportunity may be omitted at step 2-1 and the higher layer of the UE may simultaneously and randomly select the maximum number of transmission opportunities configured for initial transmission and retransmission from among X candidates. [0276] In particular, Nmax resources may be reserved for one TB. When the value of Nmax is configured to be 3, three resources may be reserved including initial transmission. [0276] A value of Nmax may be configured in a resource pool. [0094] the resource pool information may be updated via RRC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim to include the SL resource reservation method of Shin. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method to reduce the signaling overhead for the resource allocation information (Shin; [0114]).
Shin does not teach refrain, during a time period associated with the DCI from transmitting the NACK to the network entity.
Zhou in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches refrain, during a time period associated with the DCI from transmitting the NACK to the network entity ([0394] Based on the determination of the transition from the normal power state to the energy saving state, the base station may transmit the DCI, in the PDCCH transmission occasion of the search space, indicating that the base station will be turned off (silent/muted/dormant/sleep, etc.) for a time duration of the plurality of time durations. [0395] In response to receiving the DCI indicating the energy saving for the base station, the wireless device(s) (WD1 and/or WD2) may determine that there is no downlink transmission from the base station in the time duration and the wireless device(s) will not be allowed to transmit uplink signals to the base station in the time duration. [0396] The wireless device(s), after the time duration or when the time window/timer expires, may resume transmitting to and/or receiving from the base station. In an example, the wireless device(s) may receive DCI(s) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant. The wireless device(s) may receive downlink data packets via PDSCH of the downlink assignment or transmit uplink data packets via PUSCH of the uplink grant. [0405] In an example, in a time duration when a base station is in an energy saving state, a first wireless device may transmit sidelink signals (PSCCH/PSSCH) to a second wireless device via a sidelink radio resource.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim and Shin to include the network energy saving methods of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for environmental sustainability, to reduce environmental impact (greenhouse gas emissions), and for operational cost savings. (Zhou; [0332]).
Regarding claim 22, Kim teaches a network entity configured for wireless communications, configured to:
receive a sidelink grant request between a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE ((210) Referring to FIG. 14, a transmitter UE (e.g., transmitting UE) may transmit a radio resource allocation request message (to the network entity) for requesting the allocation of a radio resource used for sidelink data transmission, at step S1400); and
output downlink control information (DCI) for the first UE, wherein the DCI indicates multiple sidelink resources including a first sidelink resource and a second sidelink resource, the first sidelink resource is for transmission of a sidelink communication from the first UE to the second UE, the second sidelink resource is for retransmission of the sidelink communication after a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the sidelink communication on the first sidelink resource ((column 25 lines 39-42) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE (first user equipment (UE)) may receive first radio resource information used for the sidelink data transmission (first sidelink resource) and second radio resource information reserved for sidelink data retransmission (second sidelink resource), at step S1410). (column 27 lines 6-10) Referring back to FIG. 14, when retransmission is triggered according to the reception of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the sidelink data, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data based on the reserved second radio resource information, at step S1430. (column 19 lines 49-54) When a UE transmits a scheduling request (SR) to a base station over a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the base station transmits a PSCCH index of 6 bits and time/frequency resource information of the data region using downlink control information (DCI) Format 5 over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (This shows the resource information (first and second sidelink resources) is received by DCI from the network entity.);
output an indication of a maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources (Examiner is interpreting “automatically granted sidelink attempts“ as sidelink transmission/retransmission attempts using previously configured resources, i.e. without receiving additional resources from the base station. (column 32 lines 1-5) The gNB may set the number of resource pools taking into account the number of retransmissions suitable for a communication link from the transmitter UE to at least one receiver UE based on such feedback information. (column 28 lines 16-24) The number of multiple resource pools, N, allocated by the base station or the scheduling UE according to the scheduling request of the transmitter UE may correspond to the sum of the first and second radio resources. That is, i) one radio resource allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data and ii) N−1 radio resources reserved for retransmission up to N−1 times when the initially transmitted sidelink data are not received, may be simultaneously allocated as multiple resource pools. (This is essentially saying N determines a maximum number of transmission opportunities for one sidelink data transmission, or the “maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts”.) (column 22 lines 20-22) a base station transmits sidelink resource pool setting information through UE-specific or cell-specific higher layer signaling).
Kim does not teach a network entity configured for wireless communications, comprising: a memory and a processor, and wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource, and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts and enter a sleep mode. Kim also does not explicitly teach the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources is indicated via radio resource control signaling.
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications teaches a network entity configured for wireless communications, comprising:
a memory ([0367] a memory 1530 [0371] Various embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented by software including an instruction stored in a machine-readable storage media readable by a machine (e.g., a computer). The machine may be a device that calls the instruction from the machine-readable storage media and operates depending on the called instruction); and
a processor ([0368] processor 1510 [0371] When the instruction is executed by the processor, the processor may perform a function corresponding to the instruction directly), and
wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource ([0097] SL scheduling information included in the DCI may include parameters related to transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and a frequency allocation location information field. [0112] In particular, referring to FIG. 6, resource allocation information indicating a time gap between initial transmission and retransmission is illustrated in terms of an information field. However, reservation information regarding resource allocation may include both transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and frequency allocation location information.), and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts ([0112] Referring to FIG. 6, a case 6-10 in which the number of resource reservations is 2 when the maximum number of retransmissions is 2 (e.g., Case 1-4 and Case 2-4 of Table 1). Here, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via one time gap. Also, when the maximum number of retransmissions is 4 (e.g., Case 1-1, Case 2-1, and Case 2-3 of Table 1), the number of resource reservations may be 4 (case 6-20). In this case, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via three time gaps).
Shin also teaches the maximum number of automatically granted sidelink attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources is indicated via radio resource control signaling ([0097] Referring to FIG. 4, a transmission UE 4-01 that is camped on at step 4-05 and a reception UE 4-02 may receive, from the gNB 4-03, SL SIB at step 4-10. SL SIB may include SL resource pool information for SL transmission and reception, parameter configuration information for a sensing operation. [0118] The maximum number of retransmissions may be configured via SL SIB. In particular, the maximum number of retransmissions may be configured for resource pool configuration in SIB. [0276] In particular, Nmax resources may be reserved for one TB. When the value of Nmax is configured to be 3, three resources may be reserved including initial transmission. [0276] A value of Nmax may be configured in a resource pool. [0094] the resource pool information may be updated via RRC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim to include the SL resource reservation method of Shin. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method to reduce the signaling overhead for the resource allocation information (Shin; [0114]).
Shin does not teach enter a sleep mode.
Zhou in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches enter a sleep mode ([0394] Based on the determination of the transition from the normal power state to the energy saving state, the base station may transmit the DCI, in the PDCCH transmission occasion of the search space, indicating that the base station will be turned off (silent/muted/dormant/sleep, etc.) for a time duration of the plurality of time durations. [0395] In response to receiving the DCI indicating the energy saving for the base station, the wireless device(s) (WD1 and/or WD2) may determine that there is no downlink transmission from the base station in the time duration and the wireless device(s) will not be allowed to transmit uplink signals to the base station in the time duration. [0396] The wireless device(s), after the time duration or when the time window/timer expires, may resume transmitting to and/or receiving from the base station. In an example, the wireless device(s) may receive DCI(s) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant. The wireless device(s) may receive downlink data packets via PDSCH of the downlink assignment or transmit uplink data packets via PUSCH of the uplink grant. [0405] In an example, in a time duration when a base station is in an energy saving state, a first wireless device may transmit sidelink signals (PSCCH/PSSCH) to a second wireless device via a sidelink radio resource.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim and Shin to include the network energy saving methods of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for environmental sustainability, to reduce environmental impact (greenhouse gas emissions), and for operational cost savings. (Zhou; [0332]).
Regarding claim 25, Zhou teaches the network entity of claim 22 wherein the processor is further configured to cause the network entity to ignore, while the network entity operates in the sleep mode, an acknowledgement (ACK) of the retransmission of the sidelink communication ([0348] In an example embodiment, a base station, when in an energy saving (or sleep/silent/dormant/inactive/power-off) state (mode, configuration, period, etc.), may…stop uplink receptions (e.g., RACH, PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS etc.). This means the base station will not receive the acknowledgement of the retransmission of the sidelink communication, which is the same as ignoring it if it did receive it.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim and Shin to include the network energy saving methods of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for environmental sustainability, to reduce environmental impact (greenhouse gas emissions), and for operational cost savings. (Zhou; [0332]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11160053 B2); further in view of Shin (US 20230362893 A1); further in view of Zhou (US 20240340790 A1); further in view of Sarkis (US 20210099918 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim, Shin and Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, but do not teach wherein the DCI allocates an increasing number of slots between retransmission attempts.
Sarkis, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the DCI allocates an increasing number of slots between retransmission attempts ([0052] As shown at 402 and 404, a BS 110 may transmit control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) to a first UE 120a and a second UE 120b, respectively. The control signaling may include a configuration that indicates whether control information (e.g., SCI) includes resource reservations with different frequency resource allocations, as further described herein [0053] In certain cases, the resource reservations may include resources for an initial transmission at slot X and subsequent feedback based retransmissions at slots X+5, X+10, and X+16, where the subsequent retransmission have increasing frequency resource allocations (e.g., an increase number of RBs).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DCI in the method of SL resource reservation of Kim, Shin and Zhou to include the flexible resource reservation method of Sarkis. The motivation to do so would have been to enable desirable spectral efficiency and desirable performance (such as desirable data rates and/or latencies), especially in cases where feedback based retransmissions are enabled (Sarkis; [0050]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 1 but do not teach wherein the DCI indicates the predetermined number of slots.
Sarkis, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the DCI indicates the predetermined number of slots ([0052] As shown at 402 and 404, a BS 110 may transmit control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) to a first UE 120a and a second UE 120b, respectively. The control signaling may include a configuration that indicates whether control information (e.g., SCI) includes resource reservations with different frequency resource allocations, as further described herein [0053] In certain cases, the resource reservations may include resources for an initial transmission at slot X and subsequent feedback based retransmissions at slots X+5, X+10, and X+16, where the subsequent retransmission have increasing frequency resource allocations (e.g., an increase number of RBs).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DCI in the method of SL resource reservation of Kim, Shin and Zhou to include the flexible resource reservation method of Sarkis. The motivation to do so would have been to enable desirable spectral efficiency and desirable performance (such as desirable data rates and/or latencies), especially in cases where feedback based retransmissions are enabled (Sarkis; [0050]).
Regarding claim 23, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach the UE of claim 21, but do not teach wherein the DCI indicates the predetermined number of slots and an increasing number of slots between retransmission attempts.
Sarkis, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the DCI indicates the predetermined number of slots and an increasing number of slots between retransmission attempts. ([0052] As shown at 402 and 404, a BS 110 may transmit control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) to a first UE 120a and a second UE 120b, respectively. The control signaling may include a configuration that indicates whether control information (e.g., SCI) includes resource reservations with different frequency resource allocations, as further described herein [0053] In certain cases, the resource reservations may include resources for an initial transmission at slot X and subsequent feedback based retransmissions at slots X+5, X+10, and X+16, where the subsequent retransmission have increasing frequency resource allocations (e.g., an increase number of RBs).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DCI in the method of SL resource reservation of Kim, Shin and Zhou to include the flexible resource reservation method of Sarkis. The motivation to do so would have been to enable desirable spectral efficiency and desirable performance (such as desirable data rates and/or latencies), especially in cases where feedback based retransmissions are enabled (Sarkis; [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shin and Zhou in view of Lee (US 11477816 B2); hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 13, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 12 but do not teach further comprising receiving the NACK from the first UE.
Lee, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication, teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising receiving the NACK from the first UE ((column 19 lines 49-52) In one embodiment, the first device according to an embodiment may transmit, to the base station, a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) related to the sidelink HARQ feedback for the sidelink grant based on the PSFCH).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of performing sidelink retransmission in NR V2X of Lee with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide enhanced methods of sidelink operation on services and equipment (UE) that are sensitive to reliability and latency. (Lee; (column 1, lines 44 and 45)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 16, 28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shin and Zhou in view of SELVANESAN (US 20240414743 A1); hereinafter SELVANESAN.
Regarding claim 7, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 1 but do not explicitly teach wherein the predetermined number of slots is indicated by another radio resource control configured parameter.
SELVANESAN, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication, teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the predetermined number of slots is indicated by a radio resource control configured parameter ([0498] For example, a UE may be RRC configured with a transmission pattern for a number of transmissions, for example for a transmission in the timeslot 0, in the timeslot 3,in the timeslot 5, and in the timeslot 7, and each pattern has an index which is referenced in a DCI to indicate that the UE is to apply the corresponding pattern).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the management of sidelink communications in the unlicensed spectrum of SELVANESAN with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide the base station with occupancy information regarding the unlicensed spectrum which improves the coexistence between different RATs, e.g., the coexistence between LTE and NR in licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum or licensing light spectrum (e.g., LAA or LSA), or the coexistence between NR and WiFi, etc., and thus improves the overall co-channel coexistence including the overall system performance of sidelink operation wrt. throughput, latency and/or reliability (SELVANESAN; [0051]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 12 but do not explicitly teach further comprising configuring a radio resource control parameter with the predetermined number of slots.
SELVANESAN, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication, teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising configuring a radio resource control parameter with the predetermined number of slots ([0498] For example, a UE may be RRC configured with a transmission pattern for a number of transmissions, for example for a transmission in the timeslot 0, in the timeslot 3,in the timeslot 5, and in the timeslot 7, and each pattern has an index which is referenced in a DCI to indicate that the UE is to apply the corresponding pattern).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the management of sidelink communications in the unlicensed spectrum of SELVANESAN with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide the base station with occupancy information regarding the unlicensed spectrum which improves the coexistence between different RATs, e.g., the coexistence between LTE and NR in licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum or licensing light spectrum (e.g., LAA or LSA), or the coexistence between NR and WiFi, etc., and thus improves the overall co-channel coexistence including the overall system performance of sidelink operation wrt. throughput, latency and/or reliability (SELVANESAN; [0051]).
Regarding claim 28, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach the UE of claim 21 but do not explicitly teach, wherein the predetermined number of slots is indicated by another radio resource control configured parameter.
SELVANESAN, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication, teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the predetermined number of slots is indicated by a radio resource control configured parameter ([0498] For example, a UE may be RRC configured with a transmission pattern for a number of transmissions, for example for a transmission in the timeslot 0, in the timeslot 3,in the timeslot 5, and in the timeslot 7, and each pattern has an index which is referenced in a DCI to indicate that the UE is to apply the corresponding pattern).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the management of sidelink communications in the unlicensed spectrum of SELVANESAN with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide the base station with occupancy information regarding the unlicensed spectrum which improves the coexistence between different RATs, e.g., the coexistence between LTE and NR in licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum or licensing light spectrum (e.g., LAA or LSA), or the coexistence between NR and WiFi, etc., and thus improves the overall co-channel coexistence including the overall system performance of sidelink operation wrt. throughput, latency and/or reliability (SELVANESAN; [0051]).
Regarding claim 31, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach the network entity of claim 22, but do not teach wherein the predetermined number of slots is indicated by a radio resource control configured parameter.
SELVANESAN, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication, teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the predetermined number of slots is indicated by a radio resource control configured parameter ([0498] For example, a UE may be RRC configured with a transmission pattern for a number of transmissions, for example for a transmission in the timeslot 0, in the timeslot 3,in the timeslot 5, and in the timeslot 7, and each pattern has an index which is referenced in a DCI to indicate that the UE is to apply the corresponding pattern).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the management of sidelink communications in the unlicensed spectrum of SELVANESAN with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide the base station with occupancy information regarding the unlicensed spectrum which improves the coexistence between different RATs, e.g., the coexistence between LTE and NR in licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum or licensing light spectrum (e.g., LAA or LSA), or the coexistence between NR and WiFi, etc., and thus improves the overall co-channel coexistence including the overall system performance of sidelink operation wrt. throughput, latency and/or reliability (SELVANESAN; [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, 19, 20, 29, 30, 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shin and Zhou in view of Li (US 20220007403 A1); hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 10, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 1 but do not teach wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sideling communications, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset ([0249] For another example, the scheduling DCI may carry one DCI field indicating the timing for transmitting the HARQ feedback from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202, e.g., SL HARQ timing indicator field. [0251] In another approach, the indicated timing may be the time offset between the HARQ feedback (from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202) and the scheduled last repetition/retransmission (in other words repetition or retransmission) for the transmission block (TB) on the sidelink. For example, a UE may be RRC configured with the candidate time offsets through RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK with the content of ‘SEQUENCE (SIZE (8)) OF INTEGER (0 . . . 15)’, where the time offset may be in slots, mini-slots, or symbols. When a UE receives the scheduling DCI or decodes the UL HARQ timing indicator field, the UE may determine the time offset by finding the corresponding entry in the configured RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 1 but do not explicitly teach wherein at least one of a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource ([0267] FIG. 21 shows where the scheduling DCI schedules the initial transmission in slot 0 and two retransmissions in slot 1 and slot 2 respectively. A slot is a time characteristic, therefor this shows a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 12 but do not teach wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sideling communications, teaches the method of claim 12, wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset ([0249] For another example, the scheduling DCI may carry one DCI field indicating the timing for transmitting the HARQ feedback from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202, e.g., SL HARQ timing indicator field. [0251] In another approach, the indicated timing may be the time offset between the HARQ feedback (from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202) and the scheduled last repetition/retransmission (in other words repetition or retransmission) for the transmission block (TB) on the sidelink. For example, a UE may be RRC configured with the candidate time offsets through RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK with the content of ‘SEQUENCE (SIZE (8)) OF INTEGER (0 . . . 15)’, where the time offset may be in slots, mini-slots, or symbols. When a UE receives the scheduling DCI or decodes the UL HARQ timing indicator field, the UE may determine the time offset by finding the corresponding entry in the configured RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 12 but do not teach wherein at least one of a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications, teaches the method of claim 12, wherein at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource ([0267] FIG. 21 shows where the scheduling DCI schedules the initial transmission in slot 0 and two retransmissions in slot 1 and slot 2 respectively. A slot is a time characteristic, therefor this shows a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Regarding claim 27, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach the method of claim 1, but do not teach further comprising receiving an acknowledgement (ACK) after retransmitting the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications, teaches further comprising receiving an acknowledgement (ACK) after retransmitting the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource ([0267] DCI scheduled HARQ feedback based retransmission on the sidelink: In another case, the scheduling DCI may schedule HARQ feedback based retransmission on the sidelink. An example is shown in FIG. 21 where the scheduling DCI schedules the initial transmission in slot 0 and two retransmissions in slot 1 and slot 2 respectively. The scheduling DCI schedules the transmission of HARQ feedback from Rx UE 203 to Tx UE 202 associated with the initial transmission and the two retransmissions in slot 0, slot 1 and slot 2 respectively. [0269] The Rx UE 203(s) may determine the scheduled initial transmission and retransmission by decoding the SCI. For each transmission, the Rx UE 203 may send HARQ feedback, e.g., ACK/NACK based feedback, using the associated HARQ feedback resources to the Tx UE 202. The Tx UE 202 may perform the scheduled retransmissions for a TB until the Rx UE 203 successfully receives the TB. [0271] if the scheduled sidelink transmission is succeeded before all the scheduled retransmissions are performed, the unused resources, e.g., the resources scheduled for retransmission and the associated HARQ feedback on the sidelink, may be released. (This means that if the Rx UE sends a NACK in slot 0, the Tx UE will send a retransmission in slot 1. If the Rx UE sends an ACK in slot 1, the remaining unused resources may be released. This scenario is shown in Fig. 4, where at step 225 the Rx UE sends HARQ feedback to the Tx UE after the first retransmission.).
Regarding claim 29, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach the UE of claim 21, but do not teach wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sideling communications, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset ([0249] For another example, the scheduling DCI may carry one DCI field indicating the timing for transmitting the HARQ feedback from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202, e.g., SL HARQ timing indicator field. [0251] In another approach, the indicated timing may be the time offset between the HARQ feedback (from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202) and the scheduled last repetition/retransmission (in other words repetition or retransmission) for the transmission block (TB) on the sidelink. For example, a UE may be RRC configured with the candidate time offsets through RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK with the content of ‘SEQUENCE (SIZE (8)) OF INTEGER (0 . . . 15)’, where the time offset may be in slots, mini-slots, or symbols. When a UE receives the scheduling DCI or decodes the UL HARQ timing indicator field, the UE may determine the time offset by finding the corresponding entry in the configured RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Regarding claim 30, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach the UE of claim 21, but do not teach wherein at least one of a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource ([0267] FIG. 21 shows where the scheduling DCI schedules the initial transmission in slot 0 and two retransmissions in slot 1 and slot 2 respectively. A slot is a time characteristic, therefor this shows a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Regarding claim 32, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach the network entity of claim 22, but do not teach wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sideling communications, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset ([0249] For another example, the scheduling DCI may carry one DCI field indicating the timing for transmitting the HARQ feedback from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202, e.g., SL HARQ timing indicator field. [0251] In another approach, the indicated timing may be the time offset between the HARQ feedback (from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202) and the scheduled last repetition/retransmission (in other words repetition or retransmission) for the transmission block (TB) on the sidelink. For example, a UE may be RRC configured with the candidate time offsets through RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK with the content of ‘SEQUENCE (SIZE (8)) OF INTEGER (0 . . . 15)’, where the time offset may be in slots, mini-slots, or symbols. When a UE receives the scheduling DCI or decodes the UL HARQ timing indicator field, the UE may determine the time offset by finding the corresponding entry in the configured RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Regarding claim 33, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach the network entity of claim 22 but do not explicitly teach wherein at least one of a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications, teaches wherein at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource ([0267] FIG. 21 shows where the scheduling DCI schedules the initial transmission in slot 0 and two retransmissions in slot 1 and slot 2 respectively. A slot is a time characteristic, therefor this shows a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Guo (US 20200029318 A1) discloses a method of sidelink communication comprising, receiving, from a base station (BS), configuration information including resource allocation information for a sidelink and an uplink (UL) channel, wherein the sidelink is established between the UE and another UE; receiving, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) including sidelink resource allocation information; identifying resources for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) response of the sidelink based on the configuration information and the sidelink resource allocation information; and transmitting, to the BS, the HARQ response of the sidelink via physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465