DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 7-13, and 16-26 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 12, 18, 21-23, and 25 are amended.
Claims 5, 6, 14 and 15 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, 21, and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to the applicant’s argument that dependent claims 2, 3, 8, 17, 21 and 24 are allowable because of their dependency on independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for the dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22. Therefor for at least the reasons above presented for claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the dependent claims are rejected.
In response to the applicant’s argument that dependent claims 4 and 13 are allowable because of their dependency on independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for the dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22. Therefor for at least the reasons above presented for claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the dependent claims are rejected.
In response to the applicant’s argument that dependent claims 7 and 16 are allowable because of their dependency on independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for the dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22. Therefor for at least the reasons above presented for claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the dependent claims are rejected.
In response to the applicant’s argument that dependent claims 9 and 18 are allowable because of their dependency on independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for the dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22. Therefor for at least the reasons above presented for claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the dependent claims are rejected.
In response to the applicant’s argument that dependent claims 10, 11, 19, 20, 25 and 26 are allowable because of their dependency on independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for the dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 22. Therefor for at least the reasons above presented for claims 1, 12, 21, and 22, the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 12, 17, 21, 22, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11160053 B2); further in view of Shin (US 20230362893 A1); further in view of Zhou (US 20240340790 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) from a network entity, wherein the DCI indicates multiple sidelink resources including a first sidelink resource and a second sidelink resource, wherein the first sidelink resource is for transmission of a sidelink communication to a second UE, wherein the second sidelink resource is for retransmission of the sidelink communication after a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the sidelink communication on the first sidelink resource ((column 25 lines 39-42) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE (first user equipment (UE)) may receive first radio resource information used for the sidelink data transmission (first sidelink resource) and second radio resource information reserved for sidelink data retransmission (second sidelink resource), at step S1410). (column 27 lines 6-10) Referring back to FIG. 14, when retransmission is triggered according to the reception of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the sidelink data, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data based on the reserved second radio resource information, at step S1430. (column 19 lines 49-54) When a UE transmits a scheduling request (SR) to a base station over a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the base station transmits a PSCCH index of 6 bits and time/frequency resource information of the data region using downlink control information (DCI) Format 5 over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (This shows the resource information (first and second sidelink resources) is received by DCI from the network entity.)); and
transmitting the sidelink communication to the second UE on at least one of the multiple sidelink resources ((column 26 lines 59-61) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE may transmit sidelink data (sidelink communication to the second UE) based on the first radio resource information (on the first sidelink resource), at step S1420).
receiving the NACK from the second UE after transmitting the sidelink communication to the second UE on the first sidelink resource ((column 26 lines 1-5) The receiver UE (the second UE) may monitor sidelink data over a first radio resource indicated by the control information. The receiver UE may transmit HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information to the transmitter UE over a PSFCH according to whether the sidelink data are received. (column 27 lines 11-14) When the HARQ NACK feedback information is received (by the first UE) for the transmitted sidelink data, the transmitter UE (the first UE) may perform the retransmission of sidelink data identical to the transmitted sidelink data (This last statement demonstrates the NACK was received from the second UE).
Kim does not teach wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource, and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts and refraining, during a time period associated with the DCI and a sleep mode of the network entity, from transmitting the NACK to the network entity.
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications teaches wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource ([0097] SL scheduling information included in the DCI may include parameters related to transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and a frequency allocation location information field. [0112] In particular, referring to FIG. 6, resource allocation information indicating a time gap between initial transmission and retransmission is illustrated in terms of an information field. However, reservation information regarding resource allocation may include both transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and frequency allocation location information.), and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts ([0112] Referring to FIG. 6, a case 6-10 in which the number of resource reservations is 2 when the maximum number of retransmissions is 2 (e.g., Case 1-4 and Case 2-4 of Table 1). Here, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via one time gap. Also, when the maximum number of retransmissions is 4 (e.g., Case 1-1, Case 2-1, and Case 2-3 of Table 1), the number of resource reservations may be 4 (case 6-20). In this case, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via three time gaps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim to include the SL resource reservation method of Shin. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method to reduce the signaling overhead for the resource allocation information (Shin; [0114]).
Shin does not teach refraining, during a time period associated with the DCI and a sleep mode of the network entity, from transmitting the NACK to the network entity.
Zhou in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches refraining, during a time period associated with the DCI and a sleep mode of the network entity, from transmitting the NACK to the network entity ([0394] Based on the determination of the transition from the normal power state to the energy saving state, the base station may transmit the DCI, in the PDCCH transmission occasion of the search space, indicating that the base station will be turned off (silent/muted/dormant/sleep, etc.) for a time duration of the plurality of time durations. [0395] In response to receiving the DCI indicating the energy saving for the base station, the wireless device(s) (WD1 and/or WD2) may determine that there is no downlink transmission from the base station in the time duration and the wireless device(s) will not be allowed to transmit uplink signals to the base station in the time duration. [0396] The wireless device(s), after the time duration or when the time window/timer expires, may resume transmitting to and/or receiving from the base station. In an example, the wireless device(s) may receive DCI(s) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant. The wireless device(s) may receive downlink data packets via PDSCH of the downlink assignment or transmit uplink data packets via PUSCH of the uplink grant. [0405] In an example, in a time duration when a base station is in an energy saving state, a first wireless device may transmit sidelink signals (PSCCH/PSSCH) to a second wireless device via a sidelink radio resource.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim and Shin to include the network energy saving methods of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for environmental sustainability, to reduce environmental impact (greenhouse gas emissions), and for operational cost savings. (Zhou; [0332]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the sidelink communication to the second UE includes transmitting the sidelink communication to the second UE on the first sidelink resource and retransmitting the sidelink communication on the second sidelink resource as a result of at least one of receiving the NACK from the second UE and without receiving a subsequent DCI from the network entity ((column 26 lines 59-61) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE may transmit sidelink data based on the first radio resource information, at step S1420. (column 27 lines 6-10) Referring back to FIG. 14, when retransmission is triggered according to the reception of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the sidelink data, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data based on the reserved second radio resource information, at step S1430).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving an indication of a number of retransmission attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources ((column 32 lines 1-5) The gNB may set the number of resource pools taking into account the number of retransmissions suitable for a communication link from the transmitter UE to at least one receiver UE based on such feedback information. (column 28 lines 16-24) The number of multiple resource pools, N, allocated by the base station or the scheduling UE according to the scheduling request of the transmitter UE may correspond to the sum of the first and second radio resources. That is, i) one radio resource allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data and ii) N−1 radio resources reserved for retransmission up to N−1 times when the initially transmitted sidelink data are not received, may be simultaneously allocated as multiple resource pools. (The number of resource pools indicates to the first UE how many times it is allowed to retransmit the initial sidelink communication to the second UE)).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising:
receiving a sidelink grant request between a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE ((column 25 lines 16-19) Referring to FIG. 14, a transmitter UE (e.g., transmitting UE) may transmit a radio resource allocation request message (to the network entity) for requesting the allocation of a radio resource used for sidelink data transmission, at step S1400);
outputting downlink control information (DCI) for the first UE, wherein the DCI indicates multiple sidelink resources including a first sidelink resource and a second sidelink resource, the first sidelink resource is for transmission of a sidelink communication from the first UE to the second UE, the second sidelink resource is for retransmission of the sidelink communication after a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the sidelink communication on the first sidelink resource ((column 25 lines 39-42) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE (first user equipment (UE)) may receive first radio resource information used for the sidelink data transmission (first sidelink resource) and second radio resource information reserved for sidelink data retransmission (second sidelink resource), at step S1410). (column 27 lines 6-10) Referring back to FIG. 14, when retransmission is triggered according to the reception of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the sidelink data, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data based on the reserved second radio resource information, at step S1430. (column 19 lines 49-54) When a UE transmits a scheduling request (SR) to a base station over a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the base station transmits a PSCCH index of 6 bits and time/frequency resource information of the data region using downlink control information (DCI) Format 5 over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (This shows the resource information (first and second sidelink resources) is received by DCI from the network entity).
Kim does not teach the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource, and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts and in response to outputting the DCI for the first UE, entering a sleep mode.
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications teaches wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource ([0097] SL scheduling information included in the DCI may include parameters related to transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and a frequency allocation location information field. [0112] In particular, referring to FIG. 6, resource allocation information indicating a time gap between initial transmission and retransmission is illustrated in terms of an information field. However, reservation information regarding resource allocation may include both transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and frequency allocation location information.), and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts ([0112] Referring to FIG. 6, a case 6-10 in which the number of resource reservations is 2 when the maximum number of retransmissions is 2 (e.g., Case 1-4 and Case 2-4 of Table 1). Here, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via one time gap. Also, when the maximum number of retransmissions is 4 (e.g., Case 1-1, Case 2-1, and Case 2-3 of Table 1), the number of resource reservations may be 4 (case 6-20). In this case, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via three time gaps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim to include the SL resource reservation method of Shin. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method to reduce the signaling overhead for the resource allocation information (Shin; [0114]).
Shin does not teach in response to outputting the DCI for the first UE, entering a sleep mode.
Zhou in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches in response to outputting the DCI for the first UE, entering a sleep mode ([0394] Based on the determination of the transition from the normal power state to the energy saving state, the base station may transmit the DCI, in the PDCCH transmission occasion of the search space, indicating that the base station will be turned off (silent/muted/dormant/sleep, etc.) for a time duration of the plurality of time durations. [0395] In response to receiving the DCI indicating the energy saving for the base station, the wireless device(s) (WD1 and/or WD2) may determine that there is no downlink transmission from the base station in the time duration and the wireless device(s) will not be allowed to transmit uplink signals to the base station in the time duration. [0396] The wireless device(s), after the time duration or when the time window/timer expires, may resume transmitting to and/or receiving from the base station. In an example, the wireless device(s) may receive DCI(s) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant. The wireless device(s) may receive downlink data packets via PDSCH of the downlink assignment or transmit uplink data packets via PUSCH of the uplink grant. [0405] In an example, in a time duration when a base station is in an energy saving state, a first wireless device may transmit sidelink signals (PSCCH/PSSCH) to a second wireless device via a sidelink radio resource.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim and Shin to include the network energy saving methods of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for environmental sustainability, to reduce environmental impact (greenhouse gas emissions), and for operational cost savings. (Zhou; [0332]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising outputting or configuring an indication of a number of retransmission attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources ((column 32 lines 1-5) The gNB may set the number of resource pools taking into account the number of retransmissions suitable for a communication link from the transmitter UE to at least one receiver UE based on such feedback information. (column 28 lines 16-24) The number of multiple resource pools, N, allocated by the base station or the scheduling UE according to the scheduling request of the transmitter UE may correspond to the sum of the first and second radio resources. That is, i) one radio resource allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data and ii) N−1 radio resources reserved for retransmission up to N−1 times when the initially transmitted sidelink data are not received, may be simultaneously allocated as multiple resource pools. (The number of resource pools indicates to the first UE how many times it is allowed to retransmit the initial sidelink communication to the second UE)).
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communications, comprising:
a memory ((column 38 lines lines 14-15) Software code may be stored in a memory unit); and
a processor configured to cause the UE to ((column 38 lines lines 15-18) …and may be driven by the processor. The memory unit may be provided inside or outside the processor, and may exchange data with the processor by any of various well-known means):
receive downlink control information (DCI) from a network entity, wherein the DCI indicates multiple sidelink resources including a first sidelink resource and a second sidelink resource, wherein the first sidelink resource is for transmission of a sidelink communication to a second UE, wherein the second sidelink resource is for retransmission of the sidelink communication after a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the sidelink communication on the first sidelink resource ((column 25 lines 39-42) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE (first user equipment (UE)) may receive first radio resource information used for the sidelink data transmission (first sidelink resource) and second radio resource information reserved for sidelink data retransmission (second sidelink resource), at step S1410). (column 27 lines 6-10) Referring back to FIG. 14, when retransmission is triggered according to the reception of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the sidelink data, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data based on the reserved second radio resource information, at step S1430. (column 19 lines 49-54) When a UE transmits a scheduling request (SR) to a base station over a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the base station transmits a PSCCH index of 6 bits and time/frequency resource information of the data region using downlink control information (DCI) Format 5 over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (This shows the resource information (first and second sidelink resources) is received by DCI from the network entity.); and
transmit the sidelink communication to the second UE on at least one of the multiple sidelink resources ((column 26 lines 59-61) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE may transmit sidelink data (sidelink communication to the second UE) based on the first radio resource information (on the first sidelink resource), at step S1420).
receiving the NACK from the second UE after transmitting the sidelink communication to the second UE on the first sidelink resource ((column 26 lines 1-5) The receiver UE (the second UE) may monitor sidelink data over a first radio resource indicated by the control information. The receiver UE may transmit HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information to the transmitter UE over a PSFCH according to whether the sidelink data are received. (column 27 lines 11-14) When the HARQ NACK feedback information is received (by the first UE) for the transmitted sidelink data, the transmitter UE (the first UE) may perform the retransmission of sidelink data identical to the transmitted sidelink data (This last statement demonstrates the NACK was received from the second UE).
Kim does not teach wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource, and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts and refrain, during a time period associated with the DCI and a sleep mode of the network entity, from transmitting the NACK to the network entity.
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications teaches wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource ([0097] SL scheduling information included in the DCI may include parameters related to transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and a frequency allocation location information field. [0112] In particular, referring to FIG. 6, resource allocation information indicating a time gap between initial transmission and retransmission is illustrated in terms of an information field. However, reservation information regarding resource allocation may include both transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and frequency allocation location information.), and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts ([0112] Referring to FIG. 6, a case 6-10 in which the number of resource reservations is 2 when the maximum number of retransmissions is 2 (e.g., Case 1-4 and Case 2-4 of Table 1). Here, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via one time gap. Also, when the maximum number of retransmissions is 4 (e.g., Case 1-1, Case 2-1, and Case 2-3 of Table 1), the number of resource reservations may be 4 (case 6-20). In this case, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via three time gaps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim to include the SL resource reservation method of Shin. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method to reduce the signaling overhead for the resource allocation information (Shin; [0114]).
Shin does not teach refrain, during a time period associated with the DCI and a sleep mode of the network entity, from transmitting the NACK to the network entity.
Zhou in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches refrain, during a time period associated with the DCI and a sleep mode of the network entity, from transmitting the NACK to the network entity ([0394] Based on the determination of the transition from the normal power state to the energy saving state, the base station may transmit the DCI, in the PDCCH transmission occasion of the search space, indicating that the base station will be turned off (silent/muted/dormant/sleep, etc.) for a time duration of the plurality of time durations. [0395] In response to receiving the DCI indicating the energy saving for the base station, the wireless device(s) (WD1 and/or WD2) may determine that there is no downlink transmission from the base station in the time duration and the wireless device(s) will not be allowed to transmit uplink signals to the base station in the time duration. [0396] The wireless device(s), after the time duration or when the time window/timer expires, may resume transmitting to and/or receiving from the base station. In an example, the wireless device(s) may receive DCI(s) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant. The wireless device(s) may receive downlink data packets via PDSCH of the downlink assignment or transmit uplink data packets via PUSCH of the uplink grant. [0405] In an example, in a time duration when a base station is in an energy saving state, a first wireless device may transmit sidelink signals (PSCCH/PSSCH) to a second wireless device via a sidelink radio resource.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim and Shin to include the network energy saving methods of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for environmental sustainability, to reduce environmental impact (greenhouse gas emissions), and for operational cost savings. (Zhou; [0332]).
Regarding claim 22, Kim teaches a network entity configured for wireless communications, configured to:
receive a sidelink grant request between a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE ((210) Referring to FIG. 14, a transmitter UE (e.g., transmitting UE) may transmit a radio resource allocation request message (to the network entity) for requesting the allocation of a radio resource used for sidelink data transmission, at step S1400); and
output downlink control information (DCI) for the first UE, wherein the DCI indicates multiple sidelink resources including a first sidelink resource and a second sidelink resource, the first sidelink resource is for transmission of a sidelink communication from the first UE to the second UE, the second sidelink resource is for retransmission of the sidelink communication after a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the sidelink communication on the first sidelink resource ((column 25 lines 39-42) Referring back to FIG. 14, the transmitter UE (first user equipment (UE)) may receive first radio resource information used for the sidelink data transmission (first sidelink resource) and second radio resource information reserved for sidelink data retransmission (second sidelink resource), at step S1410). (column 27 lines 6-10) Referring back to FIG. 14, when retransmission is triggered according to the reception of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the sidelink data, the transmitter UE may retransmit the sidelink data based on the reserved second radio resource information, at step S1430. (column 19 lines 49-54) When a UE transmits a scheduling request (SR) to a base station over a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the base station transmits a PSCCH index of 6 bits and time/frequency resource information of the data region using downlink control information (DCI) Format 5 over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (This shows the resource information (first and second sidelink resources) is received by DCI from the network entity.)
Kim does not teach a network entity configured for wireless communications, comprising: a memory and a processor, and wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource, and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts and in response to the DCI for the first UE being output, enter a sleep mode.
Shin, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications teaches a network entity configured for wireless communications, comprising:
a memory ([0367] a memory 1530 [0371] Various embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented by software including an instruction stored in a machine-readable storage media readable by a machine (e.g., a computer). The machine may be a device that calls the instruction from the machine-readable storage media and operates depending on the called instruction); and
a processor ([0368] processor 1510 [0371] When the instruction is executed by the processor, the processor may perform a function corresponding to the instruction directly), and
wherein the second sidelink resource occurs a predetermined number of slots after the first sidelink resource ([0097] SL scheduling information included in the DCI may include parameters related to transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and a frequency allocation location information field. [0112] In particular, referring to FIG. 6, resource allocation information indicating a time gap between initial transmission and retransmission is illustrated in terms of an information field. However, reservation information regarding resource allocation may include both transmission time points of initial transmission and retransmission and frequency allocation location information.), and the predetermined number of slots is based at least in part on a number of retransmission attempts ([0112] Referring to FIG. 6, a case 6-10 in which the number of resource reservations is 2 when the maximum number of retransmissions is 2 (e.g., Case 1-4 and Case 2-4 of Table 1). Here, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via one time gap. Also, when the maximum number of retransmissions is 4 (e.g., Case 1-1, Case 2-1, and Case 2-3 of Table 1), the number of resource reservations may be 4 (case 6-20). In this case, SA may indicate a transmission time point between initial transmission and retransmission via three time gaps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim to include the SL resource reservation method of Shin. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method to reduce the signaling overhead for the resource allocation information (Shin; [0114]).
Shin does not teach in response to the DCI for the first UE being output, enter a sleep mode.
Zhou in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches in response to the DCI for the first UE being output, enter a sleep mode ([0394] Based on the determination of the transition from the normal power state to the energy saving state, the base station may transmit the DCI, in the PDCCH transmission occasion of the search space, indicating that the base station will be turned off (silent/muted/dormant/sleep, etc.) for a time duration of the plurality of time durations. [0395] In response to receiving the DCI indicating the energy saving for the base station, the wireless device(s) (WD1 and/or WD2) may determine that there is no downlink transmission from the base station in the time duration and the wireless device(s) will not be allowed to transmit uplink signals to the base station in the time duration. [0396] The wireless device(s), after the time duration or when the time window/timer expires, may resume transmitting to and/or receiving from the base station. In an example, the wireless device(s) may receive DCI(s) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant. The wireless device(s) may receive downlink data packets via PDSCH of the downlink assignment or transmit uplink data packets via PUSCH of the uplink grant. [0405] In an example, in a time duration when a base station is in an energy saving state, a first wireless device may transmit sidelink signals (PSCCH/PSSCH) to a second wireless device via a sidelink radio resource.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim and Shin to include the network energy saving methods of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for environmental sustainability, to reduce environmental impact (greenhouse gas emissions), and for operational cost savings. (Zhou; [0332]).
Regarding claim 24, Kim teaches the UE of claim 21, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to receive an indication of a number of retransmission attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources ((column 32 lines 1-5) The gNB may set the number of resource pools taking into account the number of retransmissions suitable for a communication link from the transmitter UE to at least one receiver UE based on such feedback information. (column 28 lines 16-24) The number of multiple resource pools, N, allocated by the base station or the scheduling UE according to the scheduling request of the transmitter UE may correspond to the sum of the first and second radio resources. That is, i) one radio resource allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data and ii) N−1 radio resources reserved for retransmission up to N−1 times when the initially transmitted sidelink data are not received, may be simultaneously allocated as multiple resource pools. (The number of resource pools indicates to the first UE how many times it is allowed to retransmit the initial sidelink communication to the second UE)).
Regarding claim 25, Zhou teaches the network entity of claim 22 wherein the processor is further configured to cause the network entity to ignore, while the network entity operates in the sleep mode, an acknowledgement (ACK) of the retransmission of the sidelink communication ([0348] In an example embodiment, a base station, when in an energy saving (or sleep/silent/dormant/inactive/power-off) state (mode, configuration, period, etc.), may…stop uplink receptions (e.g., RACH, PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS etc.). This means the base station will not receive the acknowledgement of the retransmission of the sidelink communication, which is the same as ignoring it if it did receive it.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of SL resource reservation of Kim and Shin to include the network energy saving methods of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for environmental sustainability, to reduce environmental impact (greenhouse gas emissions), and for operational cost savings. (Zhou; [0332]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11160053 B2); further in view of Shin (US 20230362893 A1); further in view of Zhou (US 20240340790 A1); further in view of Sarkis (US 20210099918 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim, Shin and Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, but do not teach wherein the DCI allocates an increasing number of slots between retransmission attempts.
Sarkis, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the DCI allocates an increasing number of slots between retransmission attempts ([0052] As shown at 402 and 404, a BS 110 may transmit control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) to a first UE 120a and a second UE 120b, respectively. The control signaling may include a configuration that indicates whether control information (e.g., SCI) includes resource reservations with different frequency resource allocations, as further described herein [0053] In certain cases, the resource reservations may include resources for an initial transmission at slot X and subsequent feedback based retransmissions at slots X+5, X+10, and X+16, where the subsequent retransmission have increasing frequency resource allocations (e.g., an increase number of RBs).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DCI in the method of SL resource reservation of Kim, Shin and Zhou to include the flexible resource reservation method of Sarkis. The motivation to do so would have been to enable desirable spectral efficiency and desirable performance (such as desirable data rates and/or latencies), especially in cases where feedback based retransmissions are enabled (Sarkis; [0050]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 1 but do not teach wherein the DCI indicates the predetermined number of slots.
Sarkis, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the DCI indicates the predetermined number of slots ([0052] As shown at 402 and 404, a BS 110 may transmit control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) to a first UE 120a and a second UE 120b, respectively. The control signaling may include a configuration that indicates whether control information (e.g., SCI) includes resource reservations with different frequency resource allocations, as further described herein [0053] In certain cases, the resource reservations may include resources for an initial transmission at slot X and subsequent feedback based retransmissions at slots X+5, X+10, and X+16, where the subsequent retransmission have increasing frequency resource allocations (e.g., an increase number of RBs).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DCI in the method of SL resource reservation of Kim, Shin and Zhou to include the flexible resource reservation method of Sarkis. The motivation to do so would have been to enable desirable spectral efficiency and desirable performance (such as desirable data rates and/or latencies), especially in cases where feedback based retransmissions are enabled (Sarkis; [0050]).
Regarding claim 23, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach the UE of claim 21, but do not teach wherein the DCI indicates the predetermined number of slots and an increasing number of slots between retransmission attempts.
Sarkis, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the DCI indicates the predetermined number of slots and an increasing number of slots between retransmission attempts. ([0052] As shown at 402 and 404, a BS 110 may transmit control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) to a first UE 120a and a second UE 120b, respectively. The control signaling may include a configuration that indicates whether control information (e.g., SCI) includes resource reservations with different frequency resource allocations, as further described herein [0053] In certain cases, the resource reservations may include resources for an initial transmission at slot X and subsequent feedback based retransmissions at slots X+5, X+10, and X+16, where the subsequent retransmission have increasing frequency resource allocations (e.g., an increase number of RBs).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DCI in the method of SL resource reservation of Kim, Shin and Zhou to include the flexible resource reservation method of Sarkis. The motivation to do so would have been to enable desirable spectral efficiency and desirable performance (such as desirable data rates and/or latencies), especially in cases where feedback based retransmissions are enabled (Sarkis; [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shin and Zhou in view of Lee (US 11477816 B2); hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 13, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 12 but do not teach further comprising receiving the NACK from the first UE.
Lee, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication, teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising receiving the NACK from the first UE ((column 19 lines 49-52) In one embodiment, the first device according to an embodiment may transmit, to the base station, a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) related to the sidelink HARQ feedback for the sidelink grant based on the PSFCH).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of performing sidelink retransmission in NR V2X of Lee with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide enhanced methods of sidelink operation on services and equipment (UE) that are sensitive to reliability and latency. (Lee; (column 1, lines 44 and 45)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shin and Zhou in view of SELVANESAN (US 20240414743 A1); hereinafter SELVANESAN.
Regarding claim 7, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 1 but do not explicitly teach wherein the predetermined number of slots is indicated by a radio resource control configured parameter.
SELVANESAN, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication, teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the predetermined number of slots is indicated by a radio resource control configured parameter ([0498] For example, a UE may be RRC configured with a transmission pattern for a number of transmissions, for example for a transmission in the timeslot 0, in the timeslot 3,in the timeslot 5, and in the timeslot 7, and each pattern has an index which is referenced in a DCI to indicate that the UE is to apply the corresponding pattern).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the management of sidelink communications in the unlicensed spectrum of SELVANESAN with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide the base station with occupancy information regarding the unlicensed spectrum which improves the coexistence between different RATs, e.g., the coexistence between LTE and NR in licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum or licensing light spectrum (e.g., LAA or LSA), or the coexistence between NR and WiFi, etc., and thus improves the overall co-channel coexistence including the overall system performance of sidelink operation wrt. throughput, latency and/or reliability (SELVANESAN; [0051]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 12 but do not explicitly teach further comprising configuring a radio resource control parameter with the predetermined number of slots.
SELVANESAN, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication, teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising configuring a radio resource control parameter with the predetermined number of slots ([0498] For example, a UE may be RRC configured with a transmission pattern for a number of transmissions, for example for a transmission in the timeslot 0, in the timeslot 3,in the timeslot 5, and in the timeslot 7, and each pattern has an index which is referenced in a DCI to indicate that the UE is to apply the corresponding pattern).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the management of sidelink communications in the unlicensed spectrum of SELVANESAN with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to provide the base station with occupancy information regarding the unlicensed spectrum which improves the coexistence between different RATs, e.g., the coexistence between LTE and NR in licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum or licensing light spectrum (e.g., LAA or LSA), or the coexistence between NR and WiFi, etc., and thus improves the overall co-channel coexistence including the overall system performance of sidelink operation wrt. throughput, latency and/or reliability (SELVANESAN; [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shin and Zhou in view of LEE (US 20230189252 A1); hereinafter LEE.
Regarding claim 9, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 8 but do not teach wherein the number of retransmission attempts is a radio resource control configured parameter.
Lee, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications, teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the number of retransmission attempts is a radio resource control configured parameter ([0307] RRC configures the following parameters when the configured grant Type 2 is configured: [0312] sl-CG-MaxTransNumList: the maximum number of times that a TB can be transmitted using the configured grant. (The same parameter applies for configured grant type 2)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for allocating Sidelink (SL) Configured Grant (CG) resources to a slot in which SL resources can be allocated to the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to properly control transmissions to different receiving UEs or destinations for a UE performing HARQ transmissions on the configured grant.
Regarding claim 18, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 17 but do not teach wherein outputting or configuring the indication of the number of retransmission attempts comprises outputting or configuring radio resource control signaling indicating the number of retransmission attempts.
Lee, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications, teaches the method of claim 17, wherein outputting or configuring the indication the number of the number of retransmission attempts comprises outputting or configuring radio resource control signaling indicating the number of retransmission attempts ([0307] RRC configures the following parameters when the configured grant Type 2 is configured: [0312] sl-CG-MaxTransNumList: the maximum number of times that a TB can be transmitted using the configured grant. (The same parameter applies for configured grant type 2)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for allocating Sidelink (SL) Configured Grant (CG) resources to a slot in which SL resources can be allocated to the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to properly control transmissions to different receiving UEs or destinations for a UE performing HARQ transmissions on the configured grant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, 19, 20, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Shin and Zhou in view of Li (US 20220007403 A1); hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 10, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 1 but do not teach wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sideling communications, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset ([0249] For another example, the scheduling DCI may carry one DCI field indicating the timing for transmitting the HARQ feedback from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202, e.g., SL HARQ timing indicator field. [0251] In another approach, the indicated timing may be the time offset between the HARQ feedback (from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202) and the scheduled last repetition/retransmission (in other words repetition or retransmission) for the transmission block (TB) on the sidelink. For example, a UE may be RRC configured with the candidate time offsets through RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK with the content of ‘SEQUENCE (SIZE (8)) OF INTEGER (0 . . . 15)’, where the time offset may be in slots, mini-slots, or symbols. When a UE receives the scheduling DCI or decodes the UL HARQ timing indicator field, the UE may determine the time offset by finding the corresponding entry in the configured RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 1 but do not explicitly teach wherein at least one of a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource ([0267] FIG. 21 shows where the scheduling DCI schedules the initial transmission in slot 0 and two retransmissions in slot 1 and slot 2 respectively. A slot is a time characteristic, therefor this shows a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 12 but do not teach wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sideling communications, teaches the method of claim 12, wherein another of the multiple sidelink resources is allocated according to the DCI and a radio resource control configured offset ([0249] For another example, the scheduling DCI may carry one DCI field indicating the timing for transmitting the HARQ feedback from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202, e.g., SL HARQ timing indicator field. [0251] In another approach, the indicated timing may be the time offset between the HARQ feedback (from the Rx UE 203 to the Tx UE 202) and the scheduled last repetition/retransmission (in other words repetition or retransmission) for the transmission block (TB) on the sidelink. For example, a UE may be RRC configured with the candidate time offsets through RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK with the content of ‘SEQUENCE (SIZE (8)) OF INTEGER (0 . . . 15)’, where the time offset may be in slots, mini-slots, or symbols. When a UE receives the scheduling DCI or decodes the UL HARQ timing indicator field, the UE may determine the time offset by finding the corresponding entry in the configured RRC parameter sl-LastDataToSL-ACK).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim, Shin and Zhou teach claim 12 but do not teach wherein at least one of a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource.
Li, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communications, teaches the method of claim 12, wherein at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from at least one of a time characteristic or a frequency characteristic of the first sidelink resource ([0267] FIG. 21 shows where the scheduling DCI schedules the initial transmission in slot 0 and two retransmissions in slot 1 and slot 2 respectively. A slot is a time characteristic, therefor this shows a time characteristic of the second sidelink resource is different from a time characteristic of the first sidelink resource).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the different sidelink resource configurations and allocation schemes of Li with the methods for transmitting/receiving sidelink data of Kim, Shin and Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to support dynamic resource allocation, activation/deactivation based resource allocation, and RRC (pre-)configured resource allocation for the sidelink (Li; [0044]).
Regarding claim 26, Kim teaches the network entity of claim 22, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the network entity to output or configure an indication of a number of retransmission attempts permitted on the multiple sidelink resources ((column 32 lines 1-5) The gNB may set the number of resource pools taking into account the number of retransmissions suitable for a communication link from the transmitter UE to at least one receiver UE based on such feedback information. (column 28 lines 16-24) The number of multiple resource pools, N, allocated by the base station or the scheduling UE according to the scheduling request of the transmitter UE may correspond to the sum of the first and second radio resources. That is, i) one radio resource allocated for initially transmitting sidelink data and ii) N−1 radio resources reserved for retransmission up to N−1 times when the initially transmitted sidelink data are not received, may be simultaneously allocated as multiple resource pools. (The number of resource pools indicates to the first UE how many times it is allowed to retransmit the initial sidelink communication to the second UE)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Examiner, AU 2465B
6 April 2026