DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed June 24, 2026. Claims 1-21 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-16, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki et al. (US 2021/0392651, “Futaki”) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0306739, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Futaki teaches a method of wireless communication performed by an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 1, UE), comprising:
receiving an indication that a first cell is to transition to a dormant state, wherein the first cell is associated with a second cell, the second cell being an anchor cell, the anchor cell being a non-dormant cell at least when the first cell is operating in the dormant state ([0043] “the UE 2 is configured with one or more DL BWPs (e.g., up to four DL BWPs) for each of the serving cells, such as the PCell 10 and the SCell 20. ” Note: Scell 220 teaches claimed “first cell”, Pcell 10 teaches claimed “second cell/anchor cell” [0044] “In step 201, the UE 2 changes the SCell 20 to the dormancy mode. The change of the SCell 20 to the dormancy mode may be instructed from the gNB 1 to the UE 2 by means of a notification of state transition regarding dormant state (i.e., Hibernation Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE)), or via both a notification of state transition regarding activation (i.e., Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) and a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE). In other words, the UE 2 may change the SCell 20 to the dormant state in response to receiving, in any of the serving cells, a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE), or both a notification of state transition regarding activation (i.e., Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) and a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE)”); and
transmitting, as a result of the first cell being dormant and the second cell being the anchor cell of the first cell, measurement reporting regarding the second cell ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell”), {wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell}.
Futaki does not teach wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell.
However, Kim teaches wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell ([0371] “For the SCell configured as the dormant state, the UE may perform frequency measurement (CQI or RRM measurement) according to the DRX of the Pcell and trigger the frequency measurement report so as to provide the report to the eNB. That is, the UE may perform frequency measurement in an on-duration interval in which the UE should turn on the RF to monitor the PDCCH in the DRX of the Pcell. The frequency measurement result report may be provided from the UE to the eNB through the RRC message.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell, as taught by Kim in Futaki to efficiently perform measurement.
Regarding claim 2, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the method further comprises transitioning the first cell to the dormant state prior to transmitting the measurement reporting ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell”).
Regarding claim 3, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 1, and further teaches 3 wherein the measurement reporting does not include measurements of the first cell ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell”).
Regarding claim 4, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein:
the method further comprises transitioning the first cell to the dormant state prior to transmitting the measurement reporting ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell”), and
transmitting the measurement reporting includes transmitting, to the anchor cell, a measurement of a channel state information reference signal received on the first cell while the first cell is in the dormant state ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell”).
Regarding claim 5, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein transmitting the measurement reporting includes transmitting a measurement of a channel state information reference signal received on the second cell ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell” [0110] “For example, CSI measurements may be performed for a CSI-RS”).
Regarding claim 6, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the first cell is associated with the second cell via radio resource control signaling ([0014] “One or more BWP configurations for each component carrier are semi-statically signaled to the UE. To be specific, for each UE-specific serving cell, one or more DL BWPs (e.g., up to four DL BWPs) and one or more UL BWPs (e.g., up to four UL BWPs) can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message. One or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs configured for the UE are referred to as a DL BWP set and a UL BWP set, respectively” [0050] “The first active BWP is a DL BWP that the UE 2 should use from (or immediately after) when a radio connection establishment (RRC Connection Setup) is completed in a certain serving cell (e.g., PCell 10), or a DL BWP that the UE 2 should first use when a serving cell (e.g., SCell 20) is activated. The first active BWP is indicated via RRC signalling by the gNB 1.” [0110] “The RS-type used for the CSI measurements for the SCell in the dormant state may be specified by an NG-RAN node (e.g., the gNB 1) to the UE 2 via RRC signaling (e.g., csi-RS-Resource Set List, or csi-SSB-Resource Set List)”).
Regarding claim 7, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 1, and further wherein the first cell is associated with the second cell via the indication that the first cell is to transition to the dormant state (([0043] “the UE 2 is configured with one or more DL BWPs (e.g., up to four DL BWPs) for each of the serving cells, such as the PCell 10 and the SCell 20. ”[0044] “The change of the SCell 20 to the dormancy mode may be instructed from the gNB 1… the UE 2 may change the SCell 20 to the dormant state in response to receiving, in any of the serving cells, a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state”).
Regarding claim 10, Futaki teaches a method of wireless communication performed by an apparatus of a network entity (FIG. 1- gnB), comprising:
outputting an indication that a first cell is to transition to a dormant state, wherein the first cell is associated with a second cell, the second cell being an anchor cell, the anchor cell being a non-dormant cell at least when the first cell is operating in the dormant state ([0043] “the UE 2 is configured with one or more DL BWPs (e.g., up to four DL BWPs) for each of the serving cells, such as the PCell 10 and the SCell 20. ” Note: Scell 220 teaches claimed “first cell”, Pcell 10 teaches claimed “second cell/anchor cell” [0044] “In step 201, the UE 2 changes the SCell 20 to the dormancy mode. The change of the SCell 20 to the dormancy mode may be instructed from the gNB 1 to the UE 2 by means of a notification of state transition regarding dormant state (i.e., Hibernation Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE)), or via both a notification of state transition regarding activation (i.e., Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) and a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE). In other words, the UE 2 may change the SCell 20 to the dormant state in response to receiving, in any of the serving cells, a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE), or both a notification of state transition regarding activation (i.e., Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) and a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE)”); and
receiving, as a result of the first cell being dormant and the second cell being the anchor cell of the first cell, measurement reporting regarding the second cell ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell”) {wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell}.
Futaki does not teach wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell.
However, Kim teaches wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell ([0371] “For the SCell configured as the dormant state, the UE may perform frequency measurement (CQI or RRM measurement) according to the DRX of the Pcell and trigger the frequency measurement report so as to provide the report to the eNB. That is, the UE may perform frequency measurement in an on-duration interval in which the UE should turn on the RF to monitor the PDCCH in the DRX of the Pcell. The frequency measurement result report may be provided from the UE to the eNB through the RRC message.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell, as taught by Kim in Futaki to efficiently perform measurement
Regarding claim 11, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 10, and further teaches wherein the method further comprises transitioning the first cell to the dormant state prior to receiving the measurement reporting ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell”).
Regarding claim 12, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 10, and further teaches 3 wherein the measurement reporting does not include measurements of the first cell ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell”).
Regarding claim 13, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 10, and further teaches wherein receiving the measurement reporting includes receiving, on the anchor cell, a measurement of a channel state information reference signal on the first cell while the first cell is in the dormant state ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell” [0110] “For example, CSI measurements may be performed for a CSI-RS”).
Regarding claim 14, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 10, and further teaches wherein receiving the measurement reporting includes receiving a measurement of a channel state information reference signal received on the second cell ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell” [0110] “For example, CSI measurements may be performed for a CSI-RS”).
Regarding claim 15, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 10, and further teaches wherein the first cell is associated with the second cell via radio resource control signaling ([0014] “One or more BWP configurations for each component carrier are semi-statically signaled to the UE. To be specific, for each UE-specific serving cell, one or more DL BWPs (e.g., up to four DL BWPs) and one or more UL BWPs (e.g., up to four UL BWPs) can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message. One or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs configured for the UE are referred to as a DL BWP set and a UL BWP set, respectively” [0050] “The first active BWP is a DL BWP that the UE 2 should use from (or immediately after) when a radio connection establishment (RRC Connection Setup) is completed in a certain serving cell (e.g., PCell 10), or a DL BWP that the UE 2 should first use when a serving cell (e.g., SCell 20) is activated. The first active BWP is indicated via RRC signalling by the gNB 1.” [0110] “The RS-type used for the CSI measurements for the SCell in the dormant state may be specified by an NG-RAN node (e.g., the gNB 1) to the UE 2 via RRC signaling (e.g., csi-RS-Resource Set List, or csi-SSB-Resource Set List)”).
Regarding claim 16, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 10, and further wherein the first cell is associated with the second cell via the indication that the first cell is to transition to the dormant state (([0043] “the UE 2 is configured with one or more DL BWPs (e.g., up to four DL BWPs) for each of the serving cells, such as the PCell 10 and the SCell 20. ”[0044] “The change of the SCell 20 to the dormancy mode may be instructed from the gNB 1… the UE 2 may change the SCell 20 to the dormant state in response to receiving, in any of the serving cells, a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state”).
Regarding claim 19, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 10, and further teaches comprising outputting a channel state information reference signal over the first cell ([0110] “The RS-type used for the CSI measurements for the SCell in the dormant state may be specified by an NG-RAN node (e.g., the gNB 1) to the UE 2 via RRC signaling (e.g., csi-RS-Resource Set List, or csi-SSB-Resource Set List)”).
Regarding claim 20, Futaki teaches a user equipment (FIG. 1, UE) configured for wireless communications, comprising:
a memory; and a processor configured to (FIG. 7, [0098]-[0106]) and cause the user equipment to:
receive an indication that a first cell is to transition to a dormant state, wherein the first cell is associated with a second cell, and the second cell being an anchor cell, the anchor cell being a non dormant cell at least when the first cell is operating in the dormant state ([0043] “the UE 2 is configured with one or more DL BWPs (e.g., up to four DL BWPs) for each of the serving cells, such as the PCell 10 and the SCell 20. ” Note: Scell 220 teaches claimed “first cell”, Pcell 10 teaches claimed “second cell/anchor cell” [0044] “In step 201, the UE 2 changes the SCell 20 to the dormancy mode. The change of the SCell 20 to the dormancy mode may be instructed from the gNB 1 to the UE 2 by means of a notification of state transition regarding dormant state (i.e., Hibernation Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE)), or via both a notification of state transition regarding activation (i.e., Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) and a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE). In other words, the UE 2 may change the SCell 20 to the dormant state in response to receiving, in any of the serving cells, a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE), or both a notification of state transition regarding activation (i.e., Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) and a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE)”); and
transmit, as a result of the first cell being dormant and the second cell being the anchor cell of the first cell, measurement reporting regarding the second cell ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell”) {wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell}.
Futaki does not teach wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell.
However, Kim teaches wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell ([0371] “For the SCell configured as the dormant state, the UE may perform frequency measurement (CQI or RRM measurement) according to the DRX of the Pcell and trigger the frequency measurement report so as to provide the report to the eNB. That is, the UE may perform frequency measurement in an on-duration interval in which the UE should turn on the RF to monitor the PDCCH in the DRX of the Pcell. The frequency measurement result report may be provided from the UE to the eNB through the RRC message.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell, as taught by Kim in Futaki to efficiently perform measurement
Regarding claim 21, Futaki teaches a network entity (FIG. 1- gnB ) configured for wireless communications, comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to (FIG. 6, [0094] –[0097]) cause the network entity to:
output an indication that a first cell is to transition to a dormant state, wherein the first cell is associated with a second cell, the second cell being an anchor cell, the anchor cell being a non-dormant cell at least when the first cell is operating in the dormant state([0043] “the UE 2 is configured with one or more DL BWPs (e.g., up to four DL BWPs) for each of the serving cells, such as the PCell 10 and the SCell 20. ” Note: Scell 220 teaches claimed “first cell”, Pcell 10 teaches claimed “second cell/anchor cell” [0044] “In step 201, the UE 2 changes the SCell 20 to the dormancy mode. The change of the SCell 20 to the dormancy mode may be instructed from the gNB 1 to the UE 2 by means of a notification of state transition regarding dormant state (i.e., Hibernation Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE)), or via both a notification of state transition regarding activation (i.e., Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) and a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE). In other words, the UE 2 may change the SCell 20 to the dormant state in response to receiving, in any of the serving cells, a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE), or both a notification of state transition regarding activation (i.e., Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) and a notification of state transition regarding the dormant state (i.e., Hibernation MAC CE)”) ; and
receive, as a result of the first cell being dormant and the second cell being the anchor cell of the first cell, measurement reporting regarding the second cell ([0046] “when the SCell 20 is in the dormancy mode, the UE 2 measures CSI in a target DL BWP selected from one or a plurality of DL BWPs (i.e., a DL BWP set) configured for the SCell 20. The UE 2 then transmits the CSI measured in the target DL BWP to the gNB 1 via the PCell 10 or another activated serving cell”) {wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell}.
Futaki does not teach wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell.
However, Kim teaches wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell ([0371] “For the SCell configured as the dormant state, the UE may perform frequency measurement (CQI or RRM measurement) according to the DRX of the Pcell and trigger the frequency measurement report so as to provide the report to the eNB. That is, the UE may perform frequency measurement in an on-duration interval in which the UE should turn on the RF to monitor the PDCCH in the DRX of the Pcell. The frequency measurement result report may be provided from the UE to the eNB through the RRC message.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the measurement reporting includes a measurement on the second cell representing an estimated measurement on the first cell, as taught by Kim in Futaki to efficiently perform measurement.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki in view of Kim and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0167445, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 8, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the first cell is associated with the second cell via an index.
Wang teaches wherein the first cell is associated with the second cell via an index ([0124] FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a format of a 4-byte MAC CE. The MAC CE includes one reserved bit (denoted as R in the figure) and 31 activation/deactivation bits. The network side may provide the configuration of the PSCell for the UE by using a radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) message. The configuration of the PSCell includes a serving cell identifier or index (ServCellIndex) of the PSCell. In addition, the network side may further provide a configuration of the SCell for the UE by using a radio resource control message. The configuration of the SCell includes a correspondence between an SCell identifier and an index (index) indicating the SCell. As shown in FIG. 5, for an SCell whose index is i, Ci indicates an activated/deactivated state of the SCell. For example, Ci=0 indicates that the SCell i is deactivated, and Ci=1 indicates that the SCell i is activated. A capability of the terminal is to support a maximum of 32 component carriers (component carrier, CC), including the PCell, the PSCell, and all SCells in the MCG and the SCG. If a reserved bit is used as the deactivation indication, R=0 may be set. If a bit corresponding to the serving cell ID of the PSCell (assuming that the bit is C20 in the figure) is used as the deactivation indication, C20=0 may be set).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first cell is associated with the second cell via an index, as taught by Wang in Liu, to facilitate cell group deactivation thereby reducing energy consumption and improving communication efficiency.
Regarding claim 17, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 10 but fails to teach wherein the first cell is associated with the second cell via an index.
Wang teaches wherein the first cell is associated with the second cell via an index ([0124] FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a format of a 4-byte MAC CE. The MAC CE includes one reserved bit (denoted as R in the figure) and 31 activation/deactivation bits. The network side may provide the configuration of the PSCell for the UE by using a radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) message. The configuration of the PSCell includes a serving cell identifier or index (ServCellIndex) of the PSCell. In addition, the network side may further provide a configuration of the SCell for the UE by using a radio resource control message. The configuration of the SCell includes a correspondence between an SCell identifier and an index (index) indicating the SCell. As shown in FIG. 5, for an SCell whose index is i, Ci indicates an activated/deactivated state of the SCell. For example, Ci=0 indicates that the SCell i is deactivated, and Ci=1 indicates that the SCell i is activated. A capability of the terminal is to support a maximum of 32 component carriers (component carrier, CC), including the PCell, the PSCell, and all SCells in the MCG and the SCG. If a reserved bit is used as the deactivation indication, R=0 may be set. If a bit corresponding to the serving cell ID of the PSCell (assuming that the bit is C20 in the figure) is used as the deactivation indication, C20=0 may be set).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first cell is associated with the second cell via an index, as taught by Wang in Liu, to facilitate cell group deactivation thereby reducing energy consumption and improving communication efficiency.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki in view of Kim and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0189383, “Liu”).
Regarding claim 9, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 1 but does not teach receiving an indication that a third cell is to transition to a dormant state and transmitting, as a result of the third cell being dormant and the second cell being the anchor cell of the third cell, measurement reporting regarding the second cell.
Liu teaches receiving an indication that a third cell is to transition to a dormant state [0025] The network can first send a first message (RRC or MAC CE or DCI) to UE. The first message can indicate any of:… whether the UE should perform RRM measurement on SCG serving cell when SCG is in deactivated state… [0026] In some embodiments, upon reception of the first message, the UE deactivates the SCG. [0017] - a group of serving cells associated with Secondary Node may be called Secondary Cell Group (SCG), comprising of PSCell and optionally one or more SCells. Note: since SCG includes multiple SCells, one of the cells, i.e., SCells in Secondary Cell Group (SCG) corresponds to claimed “third cell”); and transmitting, as a result of the third cell being dormant and the second cell being the anchor cell of the third cell, measurement reporting regarding the second cell ([0171] - the information for the first action to be performed includes an indication of whether the terminal is to perform a radio resource management (RRM) measurement on a serving cell of the secondary group of cells when the secondary group of cells are in the deactivated state. [0173] - the information for the first action to be performed includes an indication of whether the terminal is to send a notification message to either a master node (MN) or a secondary node (SN). [0175] In some embodiments, the notification message or response message sent by the terminal includes the measurement result relating to the PSCell, wherein the message also includes a measurement result relating to a serving cell of the secondary group of cells).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receiving an indication that a third cell is to transition to a dormant state and transmitting, as a result of the third cell being dormant and the second cell being the anchor cell of the third cell, measurement reporting regarding the second cell, as taught by Liu in Futaki to ensure normal access while reducing the power of the small cell.
Regarding claim 18, Futaki in view of Kim teaches claim 10 but does not teach outputting an indication that a third cell is to transition to a dormant state; and receiving, as a result of the third cell being dormant and the second cell being the anchor cell of the third cell, measurement reporting regarding the second cell.
Liu teaches outputting an indication that a third cell is to transition to a dormant state [0025] The network can first send a first message (RRC or MAC CE or DCI) to UE. The first message can indicate any of:… whether the UE should perform RRM measurement on SCG serving cell when SCG is in deactivated state… [0026] In some embodiments, upon reception of the first message, the UE deactivates the SCG. [0017] - a group of serving cells associated with Secondary Node may be called Secondary Cell Group (SCG), comprising of PSCell and optionally one or more SCells. Note: since SCG includes multiple SCells, one of the cells, i.e., SCells in Secondary Cell Group (SCG) corresponds to claimed “third cell”); and receiving, as a result of the third cell being dormant and the second cell being the anchor cell of the third cell, measurement reporting regarding the second cell ([0171] - the information for the first action to be performed includes an indication of whether the terminal is to perform a radio resource management (RRM) measurement on a serving cell of the secondary group of cells when the secondary group of cells are in the deactivated state. [0173] - the information for the first action to be performed includes an indication of whether the terminal is to send a notification message to either a master node (MN) or a secondary node (SN). [0175] In some embodiments, the notification message or response message sent by the terminal includes the measurement result relating to the PSCell, wherein the message also includes a measurement result relating to a serving cell of the secondary group of cells).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature outputting an indication that a third cell is to transition to a dormant state; and receiving, as a result of the third cell being dormant and the second cell being the anchor cell of the third cell, measurement reporting regarding the second cell, as taught by Liu in Futaki to ensure normal access while reducing the power of the small cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Harris et al. (US 2024/0049024) teaches UE may apply a bias to the measurement of a neighbor cell of the cell undergoing the transmit power change.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642