DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-5, 18, 32, 34 and 37 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, “the drive scree” in line 4 should read as “the drive screw”.
Regarding claim 3, “the inner convex ribs” in lines 3-4 should read as “the several inner convex ribs”.
Regarding claim 4, “an transition convex rib” in line 2 should read as “a transition convex rib”
Regarding claim 18, “the thread grooves” in line 4 should read as “the several thread grooves”.
Regarding claim 32, “Wherin” in line 2 should read “wherein”.
Regarding claim 34, “the squeezing head” in line 4 should read as “the juicing head”.
Regarding claim 5 and claim 37, “the squeezing cover” in line 4 of claim 5 and in line 6 of claim 37 should read ad “the juicing cover”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7, 11-13, 22, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “small hole” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “close to” in each of claims 7, 11, and 33 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, each of the claims recites the limitation "the juicing cup". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 22, claim recites “wherein a width of a coil of the last turn of the coil thread insert is less than a width of a coil of the previous turn of the coil thread insert, and a width of a coil of the last turn of the coil thread insert gradually decreases towards a width of the tail end part” is unclear. In this case, it is unclear whether if “a width of a coil of the last turn of the coil thread insert gradually decreases towards a width of the tail end part” is the same or different from “a width of a coil of the last turn of the coil thread insert is less than a width of a coil of the previous turn of the coil thread insert”. In other words, it is not clear if there are different widths and different coils are intended to be claimed. It should be noted that based on the ambiguity and obscurity of the claim language, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as best as can be understood and applied prior art accordingly.
Regarding claim 34, claim recites the limitation "the edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Cosenza (US 5456145 A).
Regarding claim 18, Cosenza discloses, a drive screw (see tool 10 in Fig. 1), comprising:
a screw body (see rod 20 in Fig. 1), an outer wall of the screw body (20) being provided with an outer thread section (see lead end 18 in Fig. 1) formed by several thread grooves (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 9 and disclosed in Col. 3 lines 16-18 “The lead end 18 of the rod 20 is threaded and has a diameter according to the inner diameter of insert 16 prior to installation”);
a coil thread insert (see tangless insert 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 9), partially rotatably clamped in the thread grooves on the outer thread section (see Fig. 9 and disclosed in Col. 3 lines 16-18 “The lead end 18 of the rod 20 is threaded and has a diameter according to the inner diameter of insert 16 prior to installation”), wherein a groove width of each of the thread grooves is matched with a width of the coil thread insert (see Fig. 9), and a depth of each of the thread grooves is less than a thickness of the coil thread insert (see Fig. 9 and disclosed in Col. 3 lines 16-19 “The lead end 18 of the rod 20 is threaded and has a diameter according to the inner diameter of insert 16 prior to installation. This means the diameter of lead end 18 is somewhat smaller than the inner coil diameter of insert 16”), so that the coil thread insert is exposed out of the thread grooves to form a drive thread (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 19, Cosenza discloses, the drive screw according to claim 18, wherein the coil thread insert (16) comprises a compression section located at a tail part of the coil thread insert (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 9), the compression section extends to an insert tail end of the coil thread insert (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 9), the compression section is rotatably arranged on the screw body outside the thread grooves, and the compression section is capable of being compressed along an axial direction of the screw body under the condition of being stressed, such that the insert tail end of the coil thread insert is compressed toward the adjacent previous turn of the coil thread insert (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 20, Cosenza discloses, the drive screw according to claim 19, wherein an outer end face of the tail end of the coil thread insert is an inclined surface inclining toward the adjacent previous turn of the coil thread insert (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 23, Cosenza discloses, the drive screw according to claim 19, further comprising: wherein a surrounding angle of the compression section on the screw body is between 180 degrees and 360 degrees (see Fig. 9).
Claims 26-27, 31, 33-35, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Rivera (US 20100058938 A1).
Regarding independent claim 26, Rivera discloses, a juicing assembly for a juicer (see juicer 10 in Figs. 1-4), wherein the juicing assembly comprises
a juicing head (see juicing cone 26 in Fig. 2) and a drive screw (see drive shaft 42 with thread 45 in Fig. 5) connected to the juicing head (see Fig. 2), an outer surface (see outer surface of juicing cone 26 in Fig. 2) of the juicing head (26) being an arc-shaped surface (see Fig. 2) and being provided with a plurality of outer convex ribs (see ridges 25 I Fig. 5C); and the juicing assembly further comprises:
an elastic part (see spring 98 in Fig. 17A and 17B), arranged in the juicing head or on the drive screw (see annotated Fig. 2 with spring 98 as the same configuration shown in Fig. 17A-B is located on the bottom of the drive screw/center column assembly 30), the elastic part (98) enabling the outer surface of the juicing head (26) to retract to the other side (see DOWN arrow in Fig. 2) when a squeezing force from one side is greater than an elastic force of the elastic part (see Fig. 2 and disclosed in para 0057 “The spring 98 further provides a relief from exerting too great a downward force on the gearing assembly 22 or too much upward force on the juicing cone 26”).
Regarding claim 27, Rivera discloses, the juicing assembly for the juicer according to claim 26, and wherein the juicing head (26) is internally provided with an inner cavity (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 5C), a connecting head (see driven shaft 38 in Fig. 6) is restrained in the concave cavity (see Fig. 2), the connecting head and the concave cavity are in key groove fit and are capable of sliding forward (see Fig.2 ) and backward relatively (see Fig. 3), a front end of the drive screw (42) inserted in the connecting head (see Fig. 2), and the elastic part (98) acts on the connecting head (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 31, Rivera discloses, the juicing assembly for the juicer according to claim 26, wherein an inserting rod (see stop 23 in Fig. 7) for hanging fruit is arranged at the transverse top of the outer surface of the juicing head (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 33, Rivera discloses, the juicing assembly for the juicer according to claim 26, wherein each of the outer convex ribs (25) extends from the top of the juicing head (see Fig. 2) to an edge of the arc-shaped surface (see Fig. 2), and a recessed part (see Fig. 2) is arranged between one end (see Fig. 2), close to the inserting rod (23), of each of the outer convex ribs (25) and the inserting rod (23).
Regarding independent claim 34, Rivera discloses, a juicing assembly for a juicer (see juicer 10 in Figs. 1-4), comprising a juicing head (see juicing cone 26 in Fig. 2), and further comprising a juicing cover (see lid 12 in Fig. 2), wherein the juicing cover (12) is provided with an arc-shaped concave squeezing cavity (see fruit holder 24 in Fig.2), the squeezing cavity (24) is capable of accommodating the squeezing head (see Fig. 2), and an inner wall (see annotated Fig. 3) of the squeezing cavity (24) is provided with several inner convex ribs (see ridges 24’ in Fig. 3) extending from a middle part (see annotated Fig. 3) of the squeezing cavity (24) to the edge (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 35, Rivera discloses, the juicing assembly for the juicer according to claim 34, wherein the inner convex ribs (24’) are uniformly distributed along the inner wall of the squeezing cavity (see Fig. 3), and a transition convex rib (see annotated Fig. 3) is arranged between two adjacent ones (see annotated Fig. 3) of the inner convex ribs (24’).
Regarding claim 37, Rivera discloses, the juicing assembly for the juicer according to claim 34, wherein an inserting rod (23) for hanging fruit is arranged between the juicing head (26) and the juicing cover (12); an outer surface (see annotated Fig. 3) of the juicing head (26) is an arc-shaped surface (see Fig. 3) and is provided with a plurality of outer convex ribs (see ridges 25 in Fig. 5C); when the inserting rod (23) abuts against the inner wall of the squeezing cavity (see Fig. 7), a gap (see gap G in Fig. 7) is still present between the inner convex ribs and the outer convex ribs (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 7); and when the squeezing cover (12) is overturned and opened (see Fig. 4), an end part of the inserting rod (23) passes through a sliding groove (see seat 21 in Fig. 7) between two adjacent ones (see annotated Fig. 3) of the inner convex ribs (24’) and is capable of sliding out of the sliding groove (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 38, Rivera discloses, the juicing assembly for the juicer according to claim 37, wherein an inner end of each of the inner convex ribs (24’) has a certain distance from a center point (see annotated Fig. 3) of the squeezing cavity (see Fig. 3), so that an accommodating cavity (see Fig. 3) is surrounded by the inner ends of the inner convex ribs (see Fig. 3), and the accommodating cavity is capable of accommodating the end part of the inserting rod (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera (US 20100058938 A1) in view of Foley (US 20150296861 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Rivera discloses, a juicer (see juicer 10 in Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a shell (see base 14 in Fig. 1);
a juicing head (see juicing cone 26 in Fig. 4), wherein an outer surface (see annotated Fig. 5C) of the juicing head (26) is an arc-shaped surface (see Fig. 5C) and is provided with a plurality of outer convex ribs (see ridges 25 in Fig. 5C), and an inserting rod (see stop 23 in Fig. 5C) for hanging fruit is arranged at the transverse top of the juicing head (see Fig. 5C and disclosed in para 0048 “The juicing cone 26 includes a stop 23 at the peak of the cone, and the fruit holder 24 includes a seat 21 above the stop 23”);
a juicing cover (see lid 12 in Figs. 3-4), connected to the shell (see Fig. 3), wherein the juicing cover (12) is provided with an arc-shaped concave squeezing cavity (see fruit holder 24 in Figs. 3-4), and the squeezing cavity (24) is capable of accommodating the juicing head (see Fig. 3); and
a drive screw (see center column assembly 30 in Fig. 2 with drive shaft 42 and driven shaft 38 in Fig. 6, wherein drive shaft 42 with thread 45 in Fig. 5), capable of rotating around an axis of the drive screw (disclosed in para 0053 “The driven shaft includes two keys 48 for cooperation with the key ways 43 in the drive shaft 42, causing the driven shaft 38 to rotate with the drive shaft 42 but allowing the driven shaft 38 to translate vertically with respect to the drive shaft 42”) and moving forward (see Fig. 2 and disclosed in para 0054 “The lift tube is lifted and rotated by the driven shaft 38 and lifts and rotates the juicing cone 26”) and backward (see Fig. 3), wherein a rear end of the drive screw is connected to a gearing assembly and a motor (see a gearing assembly 22 includes a motor 82 in Fig. 2 and Figs. 17A-B), and the juicing head (24) is connected to a front end (see lift tube 32 in Fig. 6) of the drive screw (see Fig. 2) and capable of rotating along with the drive screw (30) and moving forward (see Fig. 2) and backward (see Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0054 “The lift tube is lifted and rotated by the driven shaft 38 and lifts and rotates the juicing cone 26”).
Rivera does not explicitly disclose, an operator handle where the rear end of the drive screw is connected thereto so as obtaining a hand-operated juicer.
Nonetheless, Foley teaches, an operator handle (see handle 15 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 4) where the rear end (see drive coupler 75 of the drive shaft 17 in Fig. 4) of the drive screw (see drive shaft 17 in Fig. 4) is connected to so as obtaining a hand-operated juicer (see Figs. 1 and Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to replace or substitute the motor of Rivera with the operator handle of Foley where the rear end of the drive screw is connected thereto so as rotating the gears via the operator handle as taught/suggested by Foley in order to obtain a handle-operated juicer. Since pressing juice does not require precise control or speed, using the handle operated juicer instead of motor operated juicer would be simpler and more user-friendly. Moreover, handle-operated juicer would help to lower the cost of manufacturing, and to save on electricity expenses.
Regarding claim 2, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 1, Rivera discloses further comprising: a clamping connection piece (see outer tube 34 connected with nut 40 in Fig. 6 and disclosed in para 0047 “The nut 40 …includes at least one outside notch 44 (see FIG. 11B) to engage a vertical rail 39 (see FIG. 9D) in the outer tube 34”) capable of sliding left and right (see annotated Fig. 6 and disclosed in para 0051 “Because the outer tube 34 prevents rotation of the nut 40, rotation of the drive shaft 42 causes the nut 40 to translate vertically”) wherein the clamping connection piece is provided with a small hole part (see hole part formed by the threaded interior 47 in Fig. 11B) and a big hole part (see hole part formed by the interior of the outer tube 34 in Fig. 9D) which communicate with each other (see Fig. 6), the drive scree (42 and 38) passes through the small hole part (42 is passing through 40 and disclosed in para 0051 “The drive shaft 42 includes threads 45 on a cylindrical exterior for cooperation with a threaded interior 47 (see FIG. 11B) of the nut 40”), a hole wall (threads of 47) of the small hole part (40) is clamped into a thread groove (45) of the drive screw (30) to achieve threaded fit (see Fig. 6 and disclosed in para 0051 “The drive shaft 42 includes threads 45 on a cylindrical exterior for cooperation with a threaded interior 47 (see FIG. 11B) of the nut 40”), and when the drive screw (30) moves backward (38 is moves backward), the drive screw (30) is capable of passing through the big hole part (38 and 42 are passing through 34) and a hole wall of the big hole part (32) is unable to be clamped into the thread groove (45) of the drive screw (only 47 is threaded with 45, 34 is not threaded with 38 and 45 of 42).
Regarding claim 3, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 1, Rivera further discloses wherein several inner convex ribs (see ridges 24' in Fig. 3) extending from a middle part (see Fig. 3) of the squeezing cavity (24) to an edge are arranged on an inner wall of the squeezing cavity (see Fig. 3), and the inner convex ribs (24’) are distributed uniformly along the inner wall (see Fig. 3) of the squeezing cavity (24).
Regarding claim 5, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 3, Rivera further discloses wherein the juicing cover is hinged on the shell (see Fig. 1 with hinge 16 and Fig. 4); when the inserting rod (23) abuts against the inner wall of the squeezing cavity (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 7), a gap (see gap G in Fig. 7) is still present between the inner convex ribs (24’) and the outer convex ribs (25); and when the squeezing cover (12) is overturned and opened (see Fig. 4), an end part of the inserting rod (23) passes through a sliding groove (see seat 21 in Fig. 7) between two adjacent ones of the inner convex ribs (24’) and is capable of sliding out of the sliding groove (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 3, Rivera further discloses wherein an inner end (see Fig. 3) of each of the inner convex ribs (24’) has a certain distance (see Fig. 3) from a center point of the squeezing cavity (see Fig. 3), so that an accommodating cavity (see seat 21 in Fig. 7 and Fig. 3) is surrounded by the inner ends of the inner convex ribs (see Figs. 3 and 7), and the accommodating cavity (23) is capable of accommodating the end part of the inserting rod (23, see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 1, Rivera further discloses wherein each of the outer convex ribs (25 in Fig. 5C) extends from the top of the juicing head (26) to an edge of the arc-shaped surface (see Fig. 5C), and a recessed part (see Fig. 5C) is arranged between one end (see Fig. 5C), close to the inserting rod (23), of each of the outer convex ribs and the inserting rod (see Fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 8, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 2, Rivera further discloses wherein one end of the clamping connection piece (34 and 40) is connected to a key (see annotated Fig. 3) on the shell (14), and the other end of the clamping connection piece (34 and 40) is provided with a spring (see spring 36 in Fig. 6) that keeps the clamping connection piece moving toward a direction of the key (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 8, Rivera further discloses a shaft sleeve (see strainer 28 in Fig. 5D) is fixed in the shell (see Fig. 3), the drive screw (30) penetrates into the shaft sleeve (see Fig. 3), and the shaft sleeve (28) is provided with a notch (see annotated Fig. 5D) for the small hole part (40) of the clamping connection part to enter therethrough (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 9, Rivera further discloses wherein a mounting box (see bowl 29 in Fig. 5E) is fixed in the shell (see Fig. 3), the key, the clamping connection piece and the spring are arranged in the mounting box (see Fig. 3), and the shaft sleeve (28) passes through the mounting box (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 2, Rivera further discloses wherein the small hole part (40) is an arc-shaped clamping groove (see Fig. 11B), the big hole part (34) is a rectangular hole (see Fig. 9E), and the arc-shaped clamping groove is formed in a side wall of one side (see Fig. 6), close to the spring (36), of the rectangular hole (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 1, Rivera further discloses wherein the juicing cup (see bowl 29 in Fig. 5E) is inserted into a lower part (see Fig. 4) of the shell (14), and the lower part of the shell (14) is provided with a cup inlet (opening top of base 14) for the juicing cup (29) to move in and out of an inner cavity of the shell (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 1, Rivera further discloses wherein a lower part of the squeezing cavity is provided with an inclined guide surface for downward guiding juice to the juicing cup (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 1, Rivera further discloses wherein a lock catch (see latch 18 in Fig. 1) for locking the juicing cover (12) at a closed position is arranged between the juicing cover and the shell (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera (US 20100058938 A1) in view of Foley (US 20150296861 A1) and in further view of Durris (US 20060207445 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 3, Rivera further discloses wherein an transition convex rib (see annotated Fig. 3 wherein middle ridge 24’ located between two ridges 24’ in Fig. 3) is arranged between two adjacent ones of the inner convex ribs (see annotated Fig. 3).
However, Rivera in view of Foley does not explicitly disclose the inner convex ribs and the transition convex rib are provided with clamping thorns.
Nonetheless, Durris teaches, the inner convex ribs and the transition convex rib (see rib 64 in Fig. 4) are provided with clamping thorns (see peaks 66 in Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the inner convex ribs and the transition convex rib of Rivera so that the inner convex ribs and the transition convex rib are provided with clamping thorns as taught/suggested by Durris in order to sink into the skin of a fruit half so as optimizing retention of the fruit half in a stationary position relative to juicing head (see para 0064 by Durris).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera (US 20100058938 A1) in view of Foley (US 20150296861 A1) and in further view of Cosenza (US 5456145 A).
Regarding claim 15, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 1, wherein the drive screw comprises: a screw body (see body of 42 in Fig. 6).
However, Rivera in view of Foley does not explicitly disclose, an outer wall of the screw body being provided with an outer thread section formed by several thread grooves; a coil thread insert, rotatably clamped in the thread grooves and exposed out of the thread grooves to form a drive thread and a limiting joint formed at a front end of the screw body and limiting and restraining the coil thread insert.
Nonetheless, Cosenza teaches, a drive screw (see tool 10 in Fig. 1), comprising:
a screw body (see rod 20 in Fig. 1), an outer wall of the screw body (20) being provided with an outer thread section (see lead end 18 in Fig. 1) formed by several thread grooves (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 9 and disclosed in Col. 3 lines 16-18 “The lead end 18 of the rod 20 is threaded and has a diameter according to the inner diameter of insert 16 prior to installation”);
a coil thread insert (see tangless insert 16 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 9), rotatably clamped in the thread grooves on the outer thread section (see Fig. 9 and disclosed in Col. 3 lines 16-18 “The lead end 18 of the rod 20 is threaded and has a diameter according to the inner diameter of insert 16 prior to installation”), so that the coil thread insert is exposed out of the thread grooves to form a drive thread (see Fig. 9);
a limiting joint (see hook portion 34 in Fig. 5), arranged at an end part of the screw body and limiting and restraining a head end of the coil thread insert (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the screw body of Rivera such that the screw body has an outer wall of the screw body being provided with an outer thread section formed by several thread grooves so as the coil thread insert, rotatably clamped in the thread grooves and exposed out of the thread grooves to form a drive thread and a limiting joint formed at a front end of the screw body and limiting and restraining the coil thread insert as taught/suggested by Cosenza in order to obtain a tangless screw structure to prevent axial movement during installation, allowing the insert to be properly installed rapidly in a cost efficient manner (see Col. 5 lines 49-53 by Cosenza).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera (US 20100058938 A1) in view of Foley (US 20150296861 A1) and in further view of Wang (CN 208192730 U).
Regarding claim 16, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 1, Rivera further discloses wherein the juicing head (26) further comprises an elastic part (see spring 98 in Fig. 17A-B) arranged below the juicing head (see Fig. 3), and the elastic part (98) enables the outer surface of the juicing head (26) to retract to a rear side (see down in Fig. 2) when a squeezing force from a front side is greater than an elastic force of the elastic part (disclosed in para 0057 “In the compressed (or DOWN) position, the spring 98 is compressed allowing the gears 90 and 86 to move downward, and the gear 86 engages the gear 88 to provide high torque. The spring 98 further provides a relief from exerting too great a downward force on the gearing assembly 22 or too much upward force on the juicing cone 26. The springs 98 and 36 (see FIG. 6) combine to limit the force exerted on the fruit to preferably between one pound and 50 pounds, and more preferably limit the force exerted on the fruit to between ten pounds and 25 and most preferably limit the force exerted on the fruit to approximately 18 pounds”).
However, Rivera in view of Foley does not explicitly disclose the elastic part arranged in the juicing head.
Nonetheless, Wang teaches, the juicing head (see cover 4 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) further comprises an elastic part (see elastic valve 5 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) arranged in the juicing head (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3), and the elastic part (5) enables the outer surface of the juicing head (see cover 10 in Fig. and Fig. 3) to retract to a rear side when a squeezing force from a front side is greater than an elastic force of the elastic part (disclosed in the specification “2 extruding screw and material for valve 5 forward thrust so that the valve moves forward, valve 5 reduces the covering area of the slag 8 so as to gradually open the slag 8, and gradually increasing the slag, 8 of effective discharging area, and adjusting an elastic connection of the adjusting cover 10 the valve 5 applies a reaction force and counteract some forward thrust applied to the valve 5 when the extrusion screw 2 and material of the thrust is small, for connected with the adjusting cover elastic valve will move backwards under the action of the elastic force. the slag outlet 8 of adaptability of the smaller effective area, prevent the juice discharged from the slag. the magnitude of the force, the user manually operates the adjusting cover side can control the limit position of the valve 5 to move axially, but also can adjust the elastic connection of the adjusting cover is applied to adjusting the backward elasticity to make slag self-adaptive adjustment is more intelligent, juice slag discharging adaptability is stronger”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the juicing head of Rivera wherein the juicing head further comprises the elastic part arranged in the juicing head as taught/suggested by Wang in order to obtain a self-adaptive adjustment for the juicing head.
Regarding claim 17, Rivera in view of Foley discloses, the hand-operated juicer according to claim 16, Rivera further discloses wherein when the inserting rod (23) does not hang fruit (see Fig. 3), the juicing cover (12) is closed (see Fig. 3) and the drive screw (30) drives the juicing head (26) to move forward to a limit position (see Fig. 2), the inserting rod (23) abuts against an inner wall (21) of the squeezing cavity (see Fig. 7 and Fig. 2) so as to block the juicing head (see Fig. 2), and the juicing head (26) is rotatable relative to the juicing cover (see Fig. 2) and the elastic part (98) is deformed (see down in Fig. 2) to make the insert rod apply a thrust to the inner wall of the squeezing cavity (see Fig. 2).
Claims 28-30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera (US 20100058938 A1) in view of Wang (CN 208192730 U).
Regarding claim 28, Rivera discloses, the juicing assembly for the juicer according to claim 26,
Rivera further discloses wherein the juicing head (26) further comprises an elastic part (see spring 98 in Fig. 17A-B) arranged below the juicing head (see Fig. 3), and the elastic part (98) enables the outer surface of the juicing head (26) to retract to a rear side (see down in Fig. 2) when a squeezing force from a front side is greater than an elastic force of the elastic part (disclosed in para 0057 “In the compressed (or DOWN) position, the spring 98 is compressed allowing the gears 90 and 86 to move downward, and the gear 86 engages the gear 88 to provide high torque. The spring 98 further provides a relief from exerting too great a downward force on the gearing assembly 22 or too much upward force on the juicing cone 26. The springs 98 and 36 (see FIG. 6) combine to limit the force exerted on the fruit to preferably between one pound and 50 pounds, and more preferably limit the force exerted on the fruit to between ten pounds and 25 and most preferably limit the force exerted on the fruit to approximately 18 pounds”).
However, Rivera does not explicitly disclose wherein the elastic part is located between the juicing head and the drive screw, one end of the elastic part acts on the juicing head, and the other end of the elastic part acts on the drive screw.
Nonetheless, Wang teaches, the juicing head (see cover 4 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) further comprises an elastic part (see elastic valve 5 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) wherein the elastic part (5) is located between the juicing head (4) and the drive screw (see screw 2 in Fig. 1), one end of the elastic part (5) acts on the juicing head (4), and the other end of the elastic part acts on the drive screw (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the juicing head of Rivera wherein the juicing head further comprises the elastic part, wherein the elastic part is located between the juicing head and the drive screw, one end of the elastic part acts on the juicing head, and the other end of the elastic part acts on the drive screw as taught/suggested by Wang in order to obtain a self-adaptive adjustment for the juicing head.
Regarding claim 29, Rivera discloses, the juicing assembly for the juicer according to claim 27,
Rivera further discloses wherein the juicing head (26) further comprises an elastic part (see wherein a bolt fixing column (see lifting tube 32 in Fig. 6) is arranged in the concave cavity (see Fig. 2).
However, Rivera does not explicitly disclose the elastic part is sleeved on the bolt fixing column and acts on the drive screw.
Nonetheless, Wang teaches, elastic part (see elastic valve 5 in Fig. 1) is sleeved on the bolt fixing column (guide column 18 in Fig. 6) and acts on the drive screw (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the juicing head of Rivera wherein the juicing head further comprises the elastic part, wherein the elastic part is sleeved on the bolt fixing column and acts on the drive screw as taught/suggested by Wang in order to obtain a self-adaptive adjustment for the juicing head.
Regarding claim 30, Rivera in view of Wang discloses, the juicing assembly for the juicer according to claim 29, Rivera further discloses wherein a locking piece (see nut 40 in Fig. 6) is arranged in the concave cavity (see Fig. 1), and the locking piece (40) is connected to the bolt fixing column (32) through a bolt (see driven shaft 38 in Fig. 6) to prevent the connecting head from popping out toward a direction of the drive screw (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 32, Rivera in view of Wang discloses, the juicing assembly for the juicer according to claim 29, Rivera further discloses wherein a reinforcing rib (see blades (or scrapers) 27 in Fig. 5C) is fixedly connected between an outer wall of the concave cavity and an inner concave surface of the juicing head (see Fig. 5C).
Claims 21-22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosenza (US 5456145 A) in view of Hondo (US 20150096160 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Cosenza discloses, the drive screw according to claim 18, wherein the screw body is axially provided with a blocking sheet (see pivotable catch or pawl 30in Fig. 1) for blocking the tail end of the coil thread insert from screwing in along a circumferential direction (see Fig. 1).
However, Cosenza does not explicitly disclose, the blocking sheet is metal.
Nonetheless, Hondo teaches, the blocking sheet (80) is metal (disclosed in para 0051 “the pivotal claw 80 is a slender member, in particular in this embodiment, a plate member made of a metal”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the material for the blocking sheet wherein the blocking sheet is made of metal as taught/suggested by Hondo, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 22, Cosenza discloses, the drive screw according to claim 18.
However, Cosenza does not explicitly disclose, wherein a width of a coil of the last turn of the coil thread insert is less than a width of a coil of the previous turn of the coil thread insert, and a width of a coil of the last turn of the coil thread insert gradually decreases towards a width of the tail end part.
Nonetheless, Hondo teaches, wherein a width of a coil of the last turn of the coil thread insert is less than a width of a coil of the previous turn of the coil thread insert (see Fig. 3), and a width of a coil of the last turn of the coil thread insert gradually decreases towards a width of the tail end part (see Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0080 “rotating the mandrel drive handle 50 in the predetermined direction (clockwise direction), as shown in FIG. 3(c), the inclined section 91 formed on the opposite side (rear face) of the hook section 90 abuts on the end coil section 100b of the coil insert 100, thereby pushing the claw section 81 slightly projecting from the outer periphery of the screw shaft inward against a biasing force imparted by the biasing means 88, which results in smooth screwing of the claw section 81 into the screw shaft 45.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of a coil of the last turn of the coil thread insert of Cosenza wherein a width of a coil of the last turn of the coil thread insert is less than a width of a coil of the previous turn of the coil thread insert and a width of a coil of the last turn of the coil thread insert gradually decreases towards a width of the tail end part as taught/suggested by Hondo in order to smoothly screw the coil thread insert into the screw body (see para 0080 by Hondo).
Regarding claim 24, Cosenza discloses, the drive screw according to claim 21, further comprising: wherein the screw body (20) corresponding to the compression section at the tail end of the coil thread insert (16) is axially provided with an inserting groove (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2), the blocking sheet (30) comprises an inserting part (see hook 34 in Fig. 2). and a protruded part (see Fig. 2), the inserting part (34) is inserted into the inserting groove (see Fig. 2), the tail end of the coil thread insert (16) is capable of abutting against one side of the protruded part (see Fig. 2), and the protruded part is capable of blocking the tail end of the coil thread insert from screwing in along the circumferential direction (see Fig. 2).
However, Cosenza does not explicitly disclose, the blocking sheet is metal.
Nonetheless, Hondo teaches, the blocking sheet (80) is metal (disclosed in para 0051 “he pivotal claw 80 is a slender member, in particular in this embodiment, a plate member made of a metal”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the material for the blocking sheet wherein the blocking sheet is made of metal as taught/suggested by Hondo, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 25, Cosenza discloses,drive screw according to claim 24, further comprising: a polished rod body (see 24 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2), wherein one end of the polished rod body (24) comprises an abutting end connected to the screw body (see Fig. 2), and the abutting end abuts against the other side of the protruded part (see Fig. 2); a metal mandrel (see 22 in Fig. 1), arranged in the screw body and the polished rod body (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2), wherein the metal mandrel (22 and Col. 2 lines 65 “a steel alloyed bolt having conventional threads”), the screw body (20) and the polished rod body (24) integrally form the drive screw (see Fig. 2) through injection molding (In regards to the injection molding process, it has been held that method limitations in a product claim do not serve to patentably distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, even though a product by process claim is limited and defined by a process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Accordingly, if the product in a product by process claim is the same or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process. Thorpe, 777 F.2d at 697, 227 USPQ at 966; In re Marosi, 710 F2.d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983)); and a limiting joint (see hook portion 34 in Fig. 5), arranged at an end part of the screw body and limiting and restraining a head end of the coil thread insert (see Fig. 3).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera (US 20100058938 A1) in view of Durris (US 20060207445 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Rivera discloses, the juicing assembly for the juicer according to claim 35, and wherein the transition convex rib and the inner convex ribs (see annotated Fig. 3).
However, Rivera does not explicitly disclose the inner convex ribs and the transition convex rib are provided with clamping thorns.
Nonetheless, Durris teaches, the inner convex ribs and the transition convex rib (see rib 64 in Fig. 4) are provided with clamping thorns (see peaks 66 in Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the inner convex ribs and the transition convex rib of Rivera such that the inner convex ribs and the transition convex rib are provided with clamping thorns as taught/suggested by Durris in order to sink into the skin of a fruit half so as optimizing retention of the fruit half in a stationary position relative to juicing head (see para 0064 by Durris).
Conclusion
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761