DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s amendment which was received by the office on January 20, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and under examination.
Specification
In view of the response received on 1/20/2026 amending the abstract to clarify the language the objections made against the specification in the office action of 10/22/2025 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of the amendment received on 1/20/2026 amending claims 15 and 20 to clarify the language the 112 rejections made against claims 15-20 in the office action of 10/22/2025 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2009/0018422 to Banet et al. (Banet) (previously cited).
In reference to at least claims 1 and 20
Banet discloses a system (e.g. system includes body sensor 1, optical sensor and monitor 50; “conventional personal digital assistant”, para. [0011]) comprising: a memory (e.g. “saved in memory”, para. [0041]; “stored in memory”, para. [0053]); and processing circuitry (e.g. “microprocessor”, para. [0032], [0051]) communicatively coupled to the memory, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive a blood pressure value (e.g. receiving “the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]); receive, from a sensor, an electrical representation of a first optical signal (e.g. “microprocessor processes the digitized pressure, optical and electrical waveforms”, para. [0032], [0050]-[0051]; pressure-free measurement 205 and 213a is the “first optical signal”, Figs. 8A, 9); control a pressure device, based on the received blood pressure value, to apply pressure to the patient in order to affect one or more physiological parameters proximate to the sensor (e.g. “a small mechanical pump 4 for inflating the bladder on the armband”, para. [0032]; “a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]); receive, from the sensor after applying the pressure to the patient, an electrical representation of a second optical signal (e.g. pressure-dependent measurement 205’ and 213b is the “second optical signal”, Figs. 8A,9); and determine, based on the electrical representation of the first optical signal and the electrical representation of the second optical signal, one or more patient conditions (e.g. “Typically the microprocessor determines both PTT.sub.1 and PTT.sub.2 by calculating the time difference between the peak of the QRS complex in the electrical waveform 204, 204' and the foot (i.e. onset) of the optical waveform 205, 205'.”, para. [0051], “ Working in concert, these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time without requiring an external calibration device,”, para. [0050]; “These waveforms are processed as described below to determine blood pressure.”, para. [0055]; “blood pressures….are often used to identify patients in need of anti-hypertension therapy”, para. [0046]). Banet further discloses software configurations (e.g. para. [0063]).
In reference to at least claim 2
Banet discloses wherein the electrical representation of the first optical signal indicates a first plurality of optical wavelength signals (e.g. “Typically, multiple optical modules are used in the sensor to increase the probability that an underlying (or proximal) artery is measured,”, para. [0035], pressure-free measurement 205 and 213a is the “first optical signal”, Figs. 8A, 9, “these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time”, para. [0050], therefore multiple optical modules with multiple photodetectors providing multiple optical wavelength signals are collected during the extended time period), wherein the electrical representation of the second optical signal indicates a second plurality of optical wavelength signals (e.g. “Typically, multiple optical modules are used in the sensor to increase the probability that an underlying (or proximal) artery is measured,”, para. [0035], pressure-dependent measurement 205’ and 213b is the “second optical signal”, Figs. 8A,9; “these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time”, para. [0050], therefore multiple optical modules with multiple photodetectors providing multiple optical wavelength signals are collected during the extended time period), and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the one or more patient conditions based on the first plurality of optical wavelength signals and the second plurality of optical wavelength signals (e.g. “Typically the microprocessor determines both PTT.sub.1 and PTT.sub.2 by calculating the time difference between the peak of the QRS complex in the electrical waveform 204, 204' and the foot (i.e. onset) of the optical waveform 205, 205'.”, para. [0051], “ Working in concert, these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time without requiring an external calibration device,”, para. [0050]; “These waveforms are processed as described below to determine blood pressure.”, para. [0055]; “blood pressures….are often used to identify patients in need of anti-hypertension therapy”, para. [0046]).
In reference to at least claim 3
Banet discloses wherein to determine the one or more patient conditions based on the first plurality of optical wavelength signals and the second plurality of optical wavelength signals, the processing circuitry is configured to: analyze the electrical representation of the first optical signal in order to determine a first set of optical wavelength signals of the first plurality of optical wavelength signals (e.g. pressure-free measurement 205 and 213a is the “first optical signal”, Figs. 8A, 9, “these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time”, para. [0050], therefore multiple optical wavelength signals are collected during the extended time period); determine, based on the first set of optical wavelength signals, one or more parameters corresponding to the electrical representation of the first optical signal (e.g. “A microprocessor and analog-to-digital converter within the body sensor detects and analyzes the electrical 204, 204' and optical 205, 205' waveforms to determine both (from the pressure-free measurement)”, para. [0051]); analyze the electrical representation of the second optical signal in order to determine a second set of optical wavelength signals of the second plurality of optical wavelength signals (e.g. pressure-dependent measurement 205’ and 213b is the “second optical signal”, Figs. 8A,9; “these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time”, para. [0050], therefore multiple optical wavelength signals are collected during the extended time period) and determine, based on the second set of optical signal wavelength signals, one or more parameters corresponding to the electrical representation of the second optical signal (e.g. “A microprocessor and analog-to-digital converter within the body sensor detects and analyzes the electrical 204, 204' and optical 205, 205' waveforms to determine both (from the pressure-free measurement) and PTT.sub.2 (from the pressure-dependent measurement).”, para. [0051]), wherein the first set of optical wavelength signals and the second set of optical wavelength signals correspond to a low end of an optical wavelength spectrum (e.g. “ During a measurement, a microprocessor analyses both red and infrared radiation measured by the photodetector to determine the patient's blood oxygen saturation level and a time-dependent waveform called an optical waveform or plethysmograph”, para. [0003]; “the optical and electrical waveforms can be further processed to determine other properties, such as heart rate, respiratory rate, and pulse oximetry (step 168)…(in the red spectral range and in the infrared).”, para. [0049]).
In reference to at least claim 4
Banet discloses wherein the one or more parameters corresponding to the electrical representation of the first optical signal and the one or more parameters corresponding to the electrical representation of the second optical signal may include a heart rate, a respiration rate, a pulse oximetry (SpO2) value (e.g. “the optical and electrical waveforms can be further processed to determine other properties, such as heart rate, respiratory rate, and pulse oximetry (step 168)”, para. [0049])., a regional oxygen saturation (rSO2) value, a pulse transit time (PTT) value (e.g. “ A microprocessor and analog-to-digital converter within the body sensor detects and analyzes the electrical 204, 204' and optical 205, 205' waveforms to determine both PTT.sub.1 (from the pressure-free measurement) and PTT.sub.2 (from the pressure-dependent measurement).”, para. [0051]), a photoplethysmography (PPG) value, a hemoglobin content value, or any combination thereof.
In reference to at least claim 5
Banet discloses wherein to control the pressure device to apply pressure to the patient, the processing circuitry is configured to: determine, based on the received blood pressure value, an amount of pressure to apply to the patient (e.g. “a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]); and control the pressure device to apply the amount of pressure to the patient (e.g. “inflates the bladder to a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]).
In reference to at least claim 6
Banet discloses wherein the physiological parameter value of the patient includes a blood pressure of the patient (e.g. “the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]); and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the amount of pressure to apply to the patient based on the blood pressure of the patient (e.g. “inflates the bladder to a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]).
In reference to at least claim 7
Banet discloses wherein the sensor comprises a wearable optical sensor, the wearable optical sensor comprising: one or more light emitters (e.g. “The optical modules within the optical sensor typically include an LED operating near 570 nm”, para. [0035]); and one or more light detectors (e.g. “The optical modules within the optical sensor typically include an LED operating near 570 nm, a photodetector”, para. [0035]), and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the wearable optical sensor to sense each optical signal of a set of optical signals (e.g. “The optical sensor detects reflected radiation, which is further processed with a second amplifier/filter circuit within the body sensor.”, para. [0053]) by: controlling the one or more light emitters to emit an output optical signal comprising a plurality of output optical wavelength signals to the area of the patient’s body (e.g. “The optical modules within the optical sensor typically include an LED operating near 570 nm,” and “The optical sensor can additionally include LEDs operating near 650 nm and 950 nm in order to make a pulse oximetry measurement.”, para. [0035]); and controlling the one or more light detectors to receive a return optical signal comprising a plurality of return optical wavelength signals from the area of the patient’s body (e.g. “The optical modules within the optical sensor typically include an LED operating near 570 nm, a photodetector”, para. [0035]),, wherein the return optical signal comprises the respective optical signal of the set of optical signals (e.g. “The optical sensor detects reflected radiation, which is further processed with a second amplifier/filter circuit within the body sensor.”, para. [0053]).
In reference to at least claim 8
Banet discloses wherein the first optical signal corresponds to a first measurement (e.g. pressure-free measurement 205 and 213a is the “first optical signal”, Figs. 8A, 9), wherein the second optical signal corresponds to a second measurement (e.g. pressure-dependent measurement 205’ and 213b is the “second optical signal”, Figs. 8A,9), and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: control the sensor to perform the first measurement while the pressure device is not applying pressure to the patient (e.g. pressure-free measurement 205 and 213a is the “first optical signal”, Figs. 8A, 9); and control the sensor to perform the second measurement while the pressure device is applying pressure to the patient (e.g. pressure-dependent measurement 205’ and 213b is the “second optical signal”, Figs. 8A,9).
In reference to at least claim 9
Banet discloses wherein the pressure device is placed at a first location on a first extremity of the patient (e.g. “a small mechanical pump 4 for inflating the bladder on the armband”, para. [0032]) and a wherein the sensor is placed at a second location on a second extremity of the patient (e.g. “the optical sensor typically operates in a transmission or reflection-mode geometry near the patient's brachial, radial or ulnar arteries.”, para. [0013]; “optical sensor (worn on the patient's wrist)”, para. [0031]), wherein the second location is closer to a distal end of a limb of the patient than the first location (e.g. optical sensor located on wrist is closer to a distal end of a limb than bladder located on armband), and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the pressure device to apply pressure to the first location (e.g. “a small mechanical pump 4 for inflating the bladder on the armband”, para. [0032]), affecting the one or more physiological parameters proximate to the second location (e.g. “ then generates a pressure wave that propagates through the patient's vasculature at a significantly slower speed. Immediately after the heartbeat, the pressure wave leaves the heart 248 and aorta 249, passes through the subclavian artery 250, to the brachial artery 244, and from there through the radial and ulnar arteries 245 to smaller arteries in the patient's fingers.”, para. [0053]; “The model assumes that pressure applied by the armband occludes the patient's brachial artery, and thus temporarily decreases blood flow. This, in turn, increases blood pressure directly underneath the armband, and reduces blood pressure in the downstream radial, ulnar, and finger arteries. “, para. [0058]).
In reference to at least claim 12
Banet discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
control the pressure device to release the pressure to the patient over a first period of time (e.g. “controlling the bladder's inflation and deflation rates”, para. [0032]); receive, from the sensor after releasing the pressure to the patient, an electrical representation of the third optical signal (e.g. “for measurements done on deflation, the pump 4 inflates the bladder to a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure. Once this pressure is reached, the microprocessor opens the first solenoid valve 3a, which couples to the `bleeder` valve 17 to slowly release the pressure”; para. [0033], therefore measurements are performed while the pressure is slowly released) and determine, based on any one or combination of the electrical representation of the first optical signal, the electrical representation of the second optical signal, and the electrical representation of the third optical signal, the one or more patient conditions (e.g. “Typically the microprocessor determines both PTT.sub.1 and PTT.sub.2 by calculating the time difference between the peak of the QRS complex in the electrical waveform 204, 204' and the foot (i.e. onset) of the optical waveform 205, 205'.”, para. [0051], “ Working in concert, these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time without requiring an external calibration device,”, para. [0050]; “These waveforms are processed as described below to determine blood pressure.”, para. [0055]; “blood pressures….are often used to identify patients in need of anti-hypertension therapy”, para. [0046]).
In reference to at least claim 13
Banet discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: control the pressure device to release the pressure over a first period of time (e.g. “for measurements done on deflation, the pump 4 inflates the bladder to a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure. Once this pressure is reached, the microprocessor opens the first solenoid valve 3a, which couples to the `bleeder` valve 17 to slowly release the pressure”; para. [0033], therefore the pressure is slowly released over a “first period of time”); and control the sensor to sense the third optical signal over a second period of time, wherein the second period of time at least partially overlaps with the first period of time (e.g. “for measurements done on deflation, the pump 4 inflates the bladder to a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure. Once this pressure is reached, the microprocessor opens the first solenoid valve 3a, which couples to the `bleeder` valve 17 to slowly release the pressure”; para. [0033], therefore measurements are performed while the pressure is slowly released during a “second period of time” which overlaps the “first period of time”).
In reference to at least claim 15
Banet discloses a method comprising: receiving, by processing circuitry communicatively coupled to a memory (e.g. “microprocessor”, para. [0032], [0051]; “saved in memory”, para. [0041]; “stored in memory”, para. [0053]), a blood pressure value (e.g. receiving “the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]); receiving, by the processing circuitry from a sensor worn by the patient, an electrical representation of a first optical signal (e.g. “microprocessor processes the digitized pressure, optical and electrical waveforms”, para. [0032], [0050]-[0051]; pressure-free measurement 205 and 213a is the “first optical signal”, Figs. 8A, 9); controlling, by the processing circuitry, based on the received blood pressure value, a pressure device to apply pressure to the patient in order to affect one or more physiological parameters of the patient proximate to the sensor (e.g. “a small mechanical pump 4 for inflating the bladder on the armband”, para. [0032]); receiving, by the processing circuity from the sensor after applying the pressure to the patient, an electrical representation of a second optical signal (e.g. pressure-dependent measurement 205’ and 213b is the “second optical signal”, Figs. 8A,9); and determining, by the processing circuitry based on the electrical representation of the first optical signal and the electrical representation of the second optical signal, one or more patient conditions (e.g. “Typically the microprocessor determines both PTT.sub.1 and PTT.sub.2 by calculating the time difference between the peak of the QRS complex in the electrical waveform 204, 204' and the foot (i.e. onset) of the optical waveform 205, 205'.”, para. [0051], “ Working in concert, these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time without requiring an external calibration device,”, para. [0050]; “These waveforms are processed as described below to determine blood pressure.”, para. [0055]; “blood pressures….are often used to identify patients in need of anti-hypertension therapy”, para. [0046]); determining, based on the electrical representation of the first or second optical signal a blood pressure value (e.g. “the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]); and controlling the pressure device, based on the received blood pressure value (e.g. “inflates the bladder to a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]).
In reference to at least claim 16
Banet discloses wherein the electrical representation of the first optical signal indicates a first plurality of optical wavelength signals (e.g. “Typically, multiple optical modules are used in the sensor to increase the probability that an underlying (or proximal) artery is measured,”, para. [0035], pressure-free measurement 205 and 213a is the “first optical signal”, Figs. 8A, 9, “these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time”, para. [0050], therefore multiple optical modules with multiple photodetectors providing multiple optical wavelength signals are collected during the extended time period), wherein the electrical representation of the second optical signal indicates a second plurality of optical wavelength signals (e.g. “Typically, multiple optical modules are used in the sensor to increase the probability that an underlying (or proximal) artery is measured,”, para. [0035], pressure-dependent measurement 205’ and 213b is the “second optical signal”, Figs. 8A,9; “these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time”, para. [0050], therefore multiple optical modules with multiple photodetectors providing multiple optical wavelength signals are collected during the extended time period), and wherein the method further comprises determining the one or more patient conditions based on the first plurality of optical wavelength signals and the second plurality of optical wavelength signals (e.g. “Typically the microprocessor determines both PTT.sub.1 and PTT.sub.2 by calculating the time difference between the peak of the QRS complex in the electrical waveform 204, 204' and the foot (i.e. onset) of the optical waveform 205, 205'.”, para. [0051], “ Working in concert, these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time without requiring an external calibration device,”, para. [0050]; “These waveforms are processed as described below to determine blood pressure.”, para. [0055]; “blood pressures….are often used to identify patients in need of anti-hypertension therapy”, para. [0046]).
In reference to at least claim 17
Banet discloses wherein determining the one or more patient conditions based on the first plurality of optical wavelength signals and the second plurality of optical wavelength signals comprises: analyzing, by the processing circuity, the electrical representation of the first optical signal in order to determine a first set of optical wavelength signals of the first plurality of optical wavelength signals (e.g. pressure-free measurement 205 and 213a is the “first optical signal”, Figs. 8A, 9, “these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time”, para. [0050], therefore multiple optical wavelength signals are collected during the extended time period); determining, by the processing circuitry based on the first set of optical wavelength signals, one or more parameters corresponding to the electrical representation of the first optical signal (e.g. “A microprocessor and analog-to-digital converter within the body sensor detects and analyzes the electrical 204, 204' and optical 205, 205' waveforms to determine both (from the pressure-free measurement)”, para. [0051]); analyzing, by the processing circuitry, the electrical representation of the second optical signal in order to determine a second set of optical wavelength signals of the second plurality of optical wavelength signals (e.g. pressure-dependent measurement 205’ and 213b is the “second optical signal”, Figs. 8A,9; “these measurements accurately and continuously determine the patient's blood pressure for an extended time”, para. [0050], therefore multiple optical wavelength signals are collected during the extended time period) and determining, by the processing circuitry based on the second set of optical signal wavelength signals, one or more parameters corresponding to the electrical representation of the second optical signal (e.g. “A microprocessor and analog-to-digital converter within the body sensor detects and analyzes the electrical 204, 204' and optical 205, 205' waveforms to determine both (from the pressure-free measurement) and PTT.sub.2 (from the pressure-dependent measurement).”, para. [0051]), wherein the first set of optical wavelength signals and the second set of optical wavelength signals correspond to a low end of an optical wavelength spectrum (e.g. “ During a measurement, a microprocessor analyses both red and infrared radiation measured by the photodetector to determine the patient's blood oxygen saturation level and a time-dependent waveform called an optical waveform or plethysmograph”, para. [0003]; “the optical and electrical waveforms can be further processed to determine other properties, such as heart rate, respiratory rate, and pulse oximetry (step 168)…(in the red spectral range and in the infrared).”, para. [0049]).
In reference to at least claim 18
Banet discloses wherein to controlling the pressure device to apply pressure to determining, by the processing circuitry based on the received blood pressure value, an amount of pressure to apply to the patient (e.g. “a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]); and controlling, by the processing circuity, the pressure device to apply the amount of pressure to the patient (e.g. “inflates the bladder to a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]).
In reference to at least claim 19
Banet discloses wherein the blood pressure of the patient comprises a systolic blood pressure value (e.g. “the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]); and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the amount of pressure to apply to the patient based on the blood pressure of the patient (e.g. “inflates the bladder to a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0018422 to Banet et al. (Banet) in view of US 2019/0328239 to Moon et al. (Moon) (previously cited).
In reference to at least claim 10
Banet discloses a system according to claim 9. Banet further discloses wherein the first extremity comprises an arm of the patient (e.g. “a small mechanical pump 4 for inflating the bladder on the armband”, para. [0032]), wherein the first location comprises a bicep on the arm (e.g. “a small mechanical pump 4 for inflating the bladder on the armband”, para. [0032]). Banet further discloses placing the optical sensor on a wrist (e.g. “the optical sensor typically operates in a transmission or reflection-mode geometry near the patient's brachial, radial or ulnar arteries.”, para. [0013]; “optical sensor (worn on the patient's wrist)”, para. [0031]).
However, Banet does not explicitly teach the second extremity comprises a finger at a distal end of the arm, and wherein the second location comprises a location on the finger.
Moon discloses that pulse transit time PTT can be calculated using “optical sensors disposed on the patient's fingers, wrist, arm, chest, or virtually any other location where an optical signal can be measured using a transmission or reflection-mode optical configuration. In other embodiments, PTT can be calculated using at least one time-dependent waveform measured with an acoustic sensor, typically disposed on the patient's chest. Or it can be calculated using at least one time-dependent waveform measured using a pressure sensor, typically disposed on the patient's bicep, wrist, or finger. “ (e.g. para. [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Banet to include the second extremity comprising a finger at a distal end of the arm, and wherein the second location comprises a location on the finger, as taught by Moon, in order to provide an accurate PPT measurement for continuously determining an accurate representation of blood pressure (‘239, para. [0071]).
In reference to at least claim 11
Banet modified by Moon renders obvious a system according to claim 10. Banet further discloses wherein by controlling the pressure device to apply pressure to the first location on the extremity of the patient, the processing circuitry is configured to induce hypoxia at the second location on the extremity of the patient (e.g. “The model assumes that pressure applied by the armband occludes the patient's brachial artery, and thus temporarily decreases blood flow. This, in turn, increases blood pressure directly underneath the armband, and reduces blood pressure in the downstream radial, ulnar, and finger arteries.”, para. [0058]) during a time when the sensor senses the second optical signal (e.g. pressure-dependent measurement 205’ and 213b is the “second optical signal”, Figs. 8A,9).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0018422 to Banet et al. (Banet) in view of US 2003/0212316 to Leiden et al. (Leiden) (previously cited).
In reference to at least claim 14
Banet discloses a system according to claim 1. However, Banet does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more patient conditions comprise one or more blood conditions such as sickle cell anemia, aplastic anemia, iron deficiency anemia, thalassemia, vitamin deficiency anemia, or any combination thereof.
Leiden discloses an apparatus for applying pressure of varying magnitudes to a body part to induce measurable changes in optical signals (e.g. “The pressure application module 16 performs the function of applying pressure of varying magnitudes to a body part to induce measurable changes in optical signals”, para. [0087]) in which the optical sensor is capable of performing optical measurements of tissue which can be used to “to calculate the concentration of hemoglobin, the hematocrit value, cardiac pulse rate, blood pressure, and other vital signs.” (e.g. para. [0087]). Leiden further discloses that the hematocrit value indicates the anemic status of a patient which can be indicative of internal bleeding before or after surgery (e.g. “The hematocrit value indicates the anemic status of a patient. A decrease in the hematocrit value during or after surgery is indicative of internal bleeding.”, para. [0008]) and that the concentration of hemoglobin and the ratio of oxygenated hemoglobin to total hemoglobin blood are important parameter for indicating the anemic state and wellness of the patient (e.g. para. [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Banet to include utilizing the measured optical wavelength signals to calculate the concentration of hemoglobin and the hematocrit value providing an indication of the anemic status of the patient, as taught by Leiden, in order to provide an indication of the wellness of the patient such as whether internal bleeding is present allowing timely intervention (‘316, para. [0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that the rejections have been updated in view of the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections under 35 USC 102 (a)(1)
Applicant argues “Banet does not teach the elements of amended claim 1. Banet relates to cufflessly measuring blood pressure using a pulse transit time (PTT) and calculating a value using a mathematical model. Banet teaches determining blood parameters measuring time-dependent waveforms, and not controlling pressure of a pressure device based on a blood pressure value. As such, Banet does not anticipate claim 1”, see pg. 11 of response filed 1/20/2026. This is not persuasive. Banet discloses a pressure device (e.g. “a small mechanical pump 4 for inflating the bladder on the armband”, para. [0032]) and controlling pressure of a pressure device based on a blood pressure value (e.g. utilizing the small mechanical pump 4 for inflating the bladder on an armband to “a pre-programmed pressure above the patient's systolic pressure”, para. [0033]), therefore Banet does disclose controlling pressure of a pressure device based on a blood pressure value.
Claim Rejections under 35 USC 103
Applicant argues “Banet fails to teach or suggest each limitation of independent claims 1,15, and 20.”, see pg. 12 of response filed 1/20/2026. This is not persuasive. This argument has been fully addressed above, see response to 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejections above.
Applicant argues “Moon fails to teach or suggest receiving a blood pressure value and controlling a pressure device, based on the received blood pressure value, to apply pressure to the patient in order to affect one or more physiological parameters proximate to the sensor.”, see pg. 12 of response filed 1/20/2026. This is not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Banet discloses controlling pressure of a pressure device based on a blood pressure value, see rejections of claims 1,15 and 20 above. Moon is provided as a secondary reference regarding the second extremity comprising a finger at a distal end of the arm, and wherein the second location comprises a location on the finger, see claim rejection above.
Applicant argues “Leiden fails to teach or suggest a system that receives a blood pressure value and controls a pressure device, based on the received blood pressure value, to apply pressure to the patient in order to affect one or more physiological parameters proximate to the sensor.” see pg. 12 of response filed 1/20/2026. This is not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Banet discloses controlling pressure of a pressure device based on a blood pressure value, see rejections of claims 1,15 and 20 above. Leiden is provided as a secondary reference regarding the one or more patient conditions comprise one or more blood conditions such as sickle cell anemia, aplastic anemia, iron deficiency anemia, thalassemia, vitamin deficiency anemia, or any combination thereof, see claim rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JG/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796