DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on May 11, 2026 for the application filed January 09, 2023. Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 16, and 19 have been amended; claims 21-24 have been newly canceled. Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 16, and 19 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US2024/0414799A1) in view of Cecilia Elköf et al. (WO2021/242157A1) hereinafter Cecilia, Mattias Bergström et al. (US2023/0044291A1) hereinafter Mattias, and Choi (US2023/0198716A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting capability information indicating that the UE supports a radio resource control (RRC) segmentation of an RRC message for an application layer measurement report (Paragraph [0065]: UE establishes SRB1 based on RRCSetup. GNB may request UE to report capability by sending UECapabilityEnquiry. UE set the contents of UECapabilityInformation according to its capability and contents of UECapabilityEnquiry. UECapabilityEnquiry is sent via SRB1. Paragraph [0066]: In step 2A-19, UE transmits to GNB-DU UECapabilityInformation. The message is used to transfer UE radio access capabilities requested by the network. Paragraph [0067]: It can also include capability information regarding application layer measurement, qoe-Streaming-MeasReport and qoc-MTSI-MeasReport. qoe-Streaming-MeasReport defines whether the UE supports QoE Measurement Collection for streaming services. This field is ENUMERATED with a single value of “supported”. If this field is included, UE supports QoE Measurement Collection for streaming services. Paragraph [0076]: rrc-SegAllowed is defined as enumerated with a single value of “enabled”. If it is present in otherConfig with one or more measConfigAppLayer IE, UE can apply RRC segmentation for the UL RRC message containing the application measurement result generated according to one of the plurality of measConfigAppLayer IEs. Paragraph [0085]: In step 2A-37, UE transmits to GNB-DU via SRB4 a ULDedicatedMessageSegment. The ULDedicatedMessageSegment message is used to transfer segments of the UECapabilityInformation message or to transfer segments of the MeasurementReportAppLayer message. ULDedicatedMessageSegment includes segmentNumber, rrc-MessageSegmentContainer and rrc-MessageSegmentType. segmentNumber is set to 0 and rrc-MessageSegmentType is set to notLastSegment. Paragraph [0093]: In step 2B-11, UE receives from GNB a DL RRC message including rrc-SegAllowed. The DL RRC message could be UECapabilityEnquiry or RRCReconfiguration including first otherConfig (or at least one measConfigAppLayer IE). The DL RRC message is received via SRB1. Paragraph [0095]: In step 2B-15, UE checks if the UL RRC message can be segmented. If the UL RRC message is UECapabilityInformation and the DL RRC message is UECapabilityEnquiry, or if the UL RRC message is MeasurementReportAppLayer and the DL RRC message is RRCReconfiguration including first otherConfig, the UL RRC message can be segmented. Paragraph [0096]: In step 2B-17, UE checks if the UL RRC message should be segmented. If the UL RRC message can be segmented and the size of the encoded RRC message is larger than maximum supported size of a PDCP SDU, the UL RRC message should be segmented. Paragraph [0099]: In step 2B-21, UE transmits to GNB all the ULDedicatedMessageSegment messages generated for the segmented RRC message via SRB1 or SRB4 in ascending order based on the segmentNumber. If the DL RRC message is UECapabilityEnquiry and the UL RRC message is UECapabilityInformation, then the ULDedicatedMessageSegments are transmitted via SRB1.)
receiving, from a base station while the UE is in an RRC inactive state, an RRC resume message (Abstract: A Method and Apparatus for application layer measurement reporting in RRC_INACTIVE is provided. Paragraph [0132]: In step 2C-17, UE initiates RRC connection resume procedure. Paragraph [0133]: Upon initiating the procedure, UE releases the second otherConfig such as drx-PreferenceConfig, releasePreferenceConfig etc and keeps the first otherConfig. Paragraph [0135]: GNB generates RRCResume based on the determination. GNB recognizes from the UE context which application layer measurement configuration is configured for the UE. Paragraph [0136]: In step 2C-21, UE receives RRCResume message. Paragraph [0139]: If otherConfig is included and srb4-release IE is not included in the RRCResume message, UE ….. informs third upper layers that application measurement reporting is enabled. Paragraph [0172]: In the first other configuration, one segmentation-permission (rrc-Allowed) field, one measurement configuration application layer addition list field, and one measurement configuration application layer release list field are selectively present. Paragraph [0173]: The segmentation-permission indicates whether RRC message segmentation for RRC messages relating to measurement configuration application layer addition list. Paragraph [0068]: GNB-CU refers to the UE capability and determines the configurations to be applied to the UE. Paragraph [0073]: In step 2A-29, UE receives RRCReconfiguration message from GNB-DU. RRCReconfiguration message includes a SRB-ToAddMod IE, a first otherConfig and a Second otherConfig. Paragraph [0075]: First otherConfig is to configure application measurement. First otherConfig may include measConfigAppLayerToAddList, measConfigAppLayerToReleaseList and a rrc-SegAllowed IE. measConfigAppLayerToAddList includes one or more measConfigAppLayer IEs. Paragraph [0076]: rrc-SegAllowed is defined as enumerated with a single value of “enabled”. If it is present in otherConfig with one or more measConfigAppLayer IE, UE can apply RRC segmentation for the UL RRC message containing the application measurement result generated according to one of the plurality of measConfigAppLayer IEs. Paragraph [0082]: If the RRC message segmentation is enabled based on the field rrc-SegAllowed received in the first otherConfig, which contains the measConfigAppLayer IE corresponds to application layer measurement report information included in the encoded RRC message, and the encoded RRC message is larger than the maximum supported size of a PDCP SDU, then UE initiates UL message segment procedure to generates one or more ULDedicatedMessageSegment. Each ULDedicatedMessageSegment includes a segment of the encoded RRC message.)
performing the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than a maximum supportable size of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) and the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed (Paragraph [0075]: First otherConfig is to configure application measurement. First otherConfig may include measConfigAppLayerToAddList, measConfigAppLayerToReleaseList and a rrc-SegAllowed IE. measConfigAppLayerToAddList includes one or more measConfigAppLayer IEs. Paragraph [0076]: rrc-SegAllowed is defined as enumerated with a single value of “enabled”. If it is present in otherConfig with one or more measConfigAppLayer IE, UE can apply RRC segmentation for the UL RRC message containing the application measurement result generated according to one of the plurality of measConfigAppLayer IEs. Paragraph [0081]: In step 2A-35, UE checks if RRC segmentation is needed. If RRC segmentation is needed, UE proceeds to 2A-37. Paragraph [0082]: If the RRC message segmentation is enabled based on the field rrc-SegAllowed received in the first otherConfig, which contains the measConfigAppLayer IE corresponds to application layer measurement report information included in the encoded RRC message, and the encoded RRC message is larger than the maximum supported size of a PDCP SDU, then UE initiates UL message segment procedure to generates one or more ULDedicatedMessageSegment. Each ULDedicatedMessageSegment includes a segment of the encoded RRC message. Paragraph [0096]: In step 2B-17, UE checks if the UL RRC message should be segmented. If the UL RRC message can be segmented and the size of the encoded RRC message is larger than maximum supported size of a PDCP SDU, the UL RRC message should be segmented. Paragraph [0135]: GNB generates RRCResume based on the determination. GNB recognizes from the UE context which application layer measurement configuration is configured for the UE. Paragraph [0136]: In step 2C-21, UE receives RRCResume message. Paragraph [0139]: If otherConfig is included and srb4-release IE is not included in the RRCResume message, UE ….. informs third upper layers that application measurement reporting is enabled. Paragraph [0172]: In the first other configuration, one segmentation-permission (rrc-Allowed) field, one measurement configuration application layer addition list field, and one measurement configuration application layer release list field are selectively present. Paragraph [0173]: The segmentation-permission indicates whether RRC message segmentation for RRC messages relating to measurement configuration application layer addition list.)
wherein performing the RRC segmentation includes segmenting the RRC message for the application layer measurement report and transmitting segmented RRC messages to the base station (Paragraph [0079]: In step 2A-31, UE determines whether to generate MeasurementReportAppLayer message. If configured with application layer measurement, and SRB4 is configured, and the UE has received, but not sent, application layer measurement report information from upper layers, UE determines to generates MeasurementReportAppLayer message and proceeds to 2A-33. Paragraph [0082]: If the RRC message segmentation is enabled based on the field rrc-SegAllowed received in the first otherConfig, which contains the measConfigAppLayer IE corresponds to application layer measurement report information included in the encoded RRC message, and the encoded RRC message is larger than the maximum supported size of a PDCP SDU, then UE initiates UL message segment procedure to generates one or more ULDedicatedMessageSegment. Each ULDedicatedMessageSegment includes a segment of the encoded RRC message. Paragarph [0097]: In step 2B-19, UE performs UL RRC message segmentation to generate a series of ULDedicatedMessageSegments. Paragraph [0099]: In step 2B-21, UE transmits to GNB all the ULDedicatedMessageSegment messages generated for the segmented RRC message. If the DL RRC message is RRCReconfiguration including at least one measConfigAppLayer IE and the UL RRC message is MeasurementReportAppLayer, then the ULDedicatedMessageSegments are transmitted via SRB4.)
discarding the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating the RRC segmentation (Paragraph [0055]: The application layer measurement collection enables collection of application layer measurements from the UE. The supported service types are QoE Measurement Collection for streaming services and QoE Measurement Collection for MTSI services. Paragraph [0056]: Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services. Paragraph [0057]: Application layer measurement report received from UE's higher layer are encapsulated in a transparent container and sent to the network in MeasurementReportAppLayer message 1E-15 and 1E-17. Paragraph [0058]: The UE discards the reports received from application layer when it has no associated QoE configuration configured. Paragraph [0066]: In step 2A-19, UE transmits to GNB-DU UECapabilityInformation. Paragraph [0067]: It can also include capability information regarding application layer measurement, qoe-Streaming-MeasReport and qoc-MTSI-MeasReport. qoe-Streaming-MeasReport defines whether the UE supports QoE Measurement Collection for streaming services. This field is ENUMERATED with a single value of “supported”. If this field is included, UE supports QoE Measurement Collection for streaming services. Paragraph [0068]: GNB-CU refers to the UE capability and determines the configurations to be applied to the UE. Paragraph [0073]: In step 2A-29, UE receives RRCReconfiguration message from GNB-DU. RRCReconfiguration message includes a SRB-ToAddMod IE, a first otherConfig and a Second otherConfig. Paragraph [0075]: First otherConfig is to configure application measurement. First otherConfig may include measConfigAppLayerToAddList, measConfigAppLayerToReleaseList and a rrc-SegAllowed IE. Paragraph [0076]: rrc-SegAllowed is defined as enumerated with a single value of “enabled”. If it is present in otherConfig with one or more measConfigAppLayer IE, UE can apply RRC segmentation for the UL RRC message containing the application measurement result generated according to one of the plurality of measConfigAppLayer IEs. Paragraph [0081]: In step 2A-35, UE checks if RRC segmentation is needed. If RRC segmentation is needed, UE proceeds to 2A-37. Paragraph [0082]: If the RRC message segmentation is enabled based on the field rrc-SegAllowed received in the first otherConfig, which contains the measConfigAppLayer IE corresponds to application layer measurement report information included in the encoded RRC message, and the encoded RRC message is larger than the maximum supported size of a PDCP SDU, then UE initiates UL message segment procedure to generates one or more ULDedicatedMessageSegment. Each ULDedicatedMessageSegment includes a segment of the encoded RRC message. Paragraph [0096]: In step 2B-17, UE checks if the UL RRC message should be segmented. If the UL RRC message can be segmented and the size of the encoded RRC message is larger than maximum supported size of a PDCP SDU, the UL RRC message should be segmented.)
Kim does not explicitly teach the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message.
However, Cecilia teaches the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message (Paragraph [0075]: In a similar way, the RRC message may contain other type(s) of information related to the new gNB, e.g. whether RRC segmentation is allowed or not, whether QoE reporting is allowed in that gNB or not, etc. In one embodiment, this information is included in the RRC message RRCResume, when transferring from RRC_INACTIVE to RRC_CONNECTED. Examiner’s note: Also see end of Paragraph [0086] under figure/table titled “RRCResume-IEs field descriptions”. RRCResume message has several fields, one of which is the “rrcSegmentationAllowedQoE”. Row 6 mentions “rrcSegmentationAllowedQoE” – indicates whether RRC segmentation of QoE report files is allowed or not.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed, and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message, as taught by Cecilia in the system of Kim, so that the segmentation can be performed based on the RRCResume message (Cecilia: Paragraphs [0075], [0086]).
The combination of Kim and Cecilia does not explicitly teach discarding the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed.
However, Mattias teaches discarding the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed (Paragraph [0034]: Segmentation of RRC messages is being introduced for 3GPP Release 16. This is needed to support transmitting large RRC messages that exceed the PDCP SDU size limit. Paragraph [0058]: In another embodiment, transmitting the QoE measurement comprises one or more of: discarding the QoE measurement in response to a contradiction related to transmitting the QoE measurement based on RRC segmentation. Paragraph [0151]: However, the UE may have already stored the QoE measurements of a size larger than what can be sent in a single RRC segment. In this regard, in one embodiment, the UE may take one or more of the following actions: Paragraph [0152]: UE discards the QoE measurements.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide discarding the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed, as taught by Mattias in the combined system of Kim and Cecilia, so that the UE can discard the report of if it is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU, and segmentation is not included (Mattias: Paragraphs [0034], [0058], [0151], [0152]).
The combination of Kim, Cecilia, and Mattias does not explicitly teach second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information.
However, Choi teaches second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message (Paragraph [0070]: In accordance with the setting in the UECapabilityEnquiry message (e.g., RAT type, capability filter) the UE compiles and transfers the requested UE capability information to the network in the UECapabilityInformation message. Paragraph [0071]: When the network suspects/assumes that the requested UE capability information exceeds the RRC PDU size limit, the network includes a “rrc-SegAllowed” flag in the UECapabilityEnquiry message to signal to the UE that the network supports the reception of the segmented UECapabilityInformation message. If the UE supports the segmentation of the UECapabilityInformation message as well, then it performs segmentation of the UECapabilityInformation message if the size of the compiled UE capability information exceeds the RRC PDU size and sends each segment per ULDedicatedMessageSegment message.
wherein the first information is different from second information (Paragraph [0073]: Furthermore, in UL a new MeasurementReportAppLayer message will be introduced to carry one or multiple QoE measurement reports which the UE created in accordance with the received QoE measurement configurations. Paragraph [0140]: In one embodiment, one of the RRC messages is a UECapabilityInformation message sent from UE to the network upon reception (by the UE) of a UECapabilityEnquiry message from the network, in which UE capability information is requested (e.g., support for LTE). In another embodiment, one of the RRC messages is a MeasurementReportAppLayer message which carries one QoE measurement report.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Kim, Cecilia, and Mattias, to perform segmentation of the UECapabilityInformation message if the size of the compiled UE capability information exceeds the RRC PDU size, and where the UE capability information is requested in the UECapabilityEnquiry message from the network, and the MeasurementReportAppLayer message which carries QoE measurement report based on application layer measurement configurations (Choi: Paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0073], [0140] – [0143]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim, Cecilia, Mattias, and Choi teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kim further teaches wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is for a quality of experience (QoE) report (Paragraph [0055]: The application layer measurement collection enables collection of application layer measurements from the UE. The supported service types are QoE Measurement Collection for streaming services and QoE Measurement Collection for MTSI services. Paragraph [0056]: Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services. Paragraph [0057]: Application layer measurement report received from UE's higher layer are encapsulated in a transparent container and sent to the network in MeasurementReportAppLayer message 1E-15 and 1E-17. It is further forwarded to the relevant CN entity which collects the measurement reports. An RRC identifier conveyed in the RRC signalling is used to identify the QoE configuration and report between the gNB and the UE. The RRC identifier is mapped to the QoE Reference in the gNB. The QoE measurement report is forwarded to OAM together with the QoE Reference. Paragraph [0065]: UE establishes SRB1 based on RRCSetup. GNB may request UE to report capability by sending UECapabilityEnquiry. UE set the contents of UECapabilityInformation according to its capability and contents of UECapabilityEnquiry. UECapabilityEnquiry is sent via SRB1. Paragraph [0066]: In step 2A-19, UE transmits to GNB-DU UECapabilityInformation. The message is used to transfer UE radio access capabilities requested by the network. It can include various capability information such as L1 capability, L2 capability, carrier aggregation related capability etc. Paragraph [0067]: It can also include capability information regarding application layer measurement, qoe-Streaming-MeasReport and qoc-MTSI-MeasReport. qoe-Streaming-MeasReport defines whether the UE supports QoE Measurement Collection for streaming services. This field is ENUMERATED with a single value of “supported”. If this field is included, UE supports QoE Measurement Collection for streaming services. qoe-MTSI-MeasReport defines whether the UE supports QoE Measurement Collection for MTSI services. This field is ENUMERATED with a single value of “supported”. If this field is included, UE supports QoE Measurement Collection for MTSI services. UE reports above fields for NR and for E-UTRA separately. That is, UE reports qoe-Streaming-MeasReport and qoc-MTSI-MeasReport for E-UTRA, if Network requested E-UTRA capability, and reports qoe-Streaming-MeasReport and qoe-MTSI-MeasReport for NR, if Network requested NR capability. Paragraph [0079]: In step 2A-31, UE determines whether to generate MeasurementReportAppLayer message. If configured with application layer measurement, and SRB4 is configured, and the UE has received, but not sent, application layer measurement report information from upper layers, UE determines to generates MeasurementReportAppLayer message and proceeds to 2A-33.)
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), capability information indicating that the terminal UE supports a radio resource control (RRC) segmentation of an RRC message for an application layer measurement report; transmitting, to the UE in an RRC inactive state, an RRC resume message; and receiving, from the UE, segmented RRC messages associated with the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than a maximum supportable size of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) and the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is discarded if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation (see rejection for claim 1).
Kim does not explicitly teach the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report message is allowed; and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message.
However, Cecilia teaches the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report message is allowed; and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report message is allowed; and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message, as taught by Cecilia in the system of Kim, so that the segmentation can be performed based on the RRCResume message (Cecilia: Paragraphs [0075], [0086]).
The combination of Kim and Cecilia does not explicitly teach wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is discarded if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed.
However, Mattias teaches wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is discarded if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is discarded if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed, as taught by Mattias in the combined system of Kim and Cecilia, so that the UE can discard the report of if it is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU, and segmentation is not included (Mattias: Paragraphs [0034], [0058], [0151], [0152]).
The combination of Kim, Cecilia, and Mattias does not explicitly teach second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information.
However, Choi teaches second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Kim, Cecilia, and Mattias, to perform segmentation of the UECapabilityInformation message if the size of the compiled UE capability information exceeds the RRC PDU size, and where the UE capability information is requested in the UECapabilityEnquiry message from the network, and the MeasurementReportAppLayer message which carries QoE measurement report based on application layer measurement configurations (Choi: Paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0073], [0140] – [0143]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kim, Cecilia, Mattias, and Choi teaches the method of claim 6 (see rejection for claim 6);
Kim further teaches wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is for a quality of experience (QoE) report (see rejection for claim 4).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to (Paragraph [0177]: Referring to the diagram, the UE includes a controller 4A-01, a storage unit 4A-02, a transceiver 4A-03, a main processor 4A-04 and I/O unit 4A-05. Paragraph [0178]: The controller 4A-01 controls the overall operations of the UE in terms of mobile communication. For example, the controller 4A-01 receives/transmits signals through the transceiver 4A-03. In addition, the controller 4A-01 records and reads data in the storage unit 4A-02. To this end, the controller 4A-01 includes at least one processor. For example, the controller 4A-01 may include a communication processor (CP) that performs control for communication and an application processor (AP) that controls the upper layer, such as an application program. The controller controls storage unit and transceiver such that UE operations illustrated in FIG. 2A and FIG. 3A are performed. Paragraph [0179]: The storage unit 4A-02 stores data for operation of the UE, such as a basic program, an application program, and configuration information. The storage unit 4A-02 provides stored data at a request of the controller 4A-01.)
transmit capability information indicating that the UE supports a radio resource control (RRC) segmentation of an RRC message for an application layer measurement report, receive, from a base station while the UE is in an RRC inactive state, an RRC resume message, perform the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than a maximum supportable size of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) and the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed, wherein performing the RRC segmentation includes segmenting the RRC message for the application layer measurement report and transmitting segmented RRC messages to the base station, and discard the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating the RRC segmentation (see rejection for claim 1);
Kim does not explicitly teach the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message.
However, Cecilia teaches the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed, and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message, as taught by Cecilia in the system of Kim, so that the segmentation can be performed based on the RRCResume message (Cecilia: Paragraphs [0075], [0086]).
The combination of Kim and Cecilia does not explicitly teach to discard the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed.
However, Mattias teaches to discard the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discard the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed, as taught by Mattias in the combined system of Kim and Cecilia, so that the UE can discard the report of if it is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU, and segmentation is not included (Mattias: Paragraphs [0034], [0058], [0151], [0152]).
The combination of Kim, Cecilia, and Mattias does not explicitly teach second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information.
However, Choi teaches second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Kim, Cecilia, and Mattias, to perform segmentation of the UECapabilityInformation message if the size of the compiled UE capability information exceeds the RRC PDU size, and where the UE capability information is requested in the UECapabilityEnquiry message from the network, and the MeasurementReportAppLayer message which carries QoE measurement report based on application layer measurement configurations (Choi: Paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0073], [0140] – [0143]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kim, Cecilia, Mattias, and Choi teaches the UE of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Kim further teaches wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is for a quality of experience (QoE) report (see rejection for claim 4)
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station to (Paragraph [0184]: As illustrated in the diagram, the base station includes a controller 4B-01, a storage unit 4B-02, a transceiver 4B-03 and a backhaul interface unit 4B-04. Paragraph [0185]: The controller 4B-01 controls the overall operations of the main base station. For example, the controller 4B-01 receives/transmits signals through the transceiver 4B-03, or through the backhaul interface unit 4B-04. In addition, the controller 4B-01 records and reads data in the storage unit 4B-02. To this end, the controller 4B-01 may include at least one processor. The controller controls transceiver, storage unit and backhaul interface such that base station operation illustrated in FIG. 2A are performed. Paragraph [0186]: The storage unit 4B-02 stores data for operation of the main base station, such as a basic program, an application program, and configuration information.)
receive, from a user equipment (UE), capability information indicating that the UE supports a radio resource control (RRC) segmentation of an RRC message for an application layer measurement report, transmit, to the UE in an RRC inactive state, an RRC resume message; and receive, from the UE, segmented RRC messages associated with the RRC message for the application layer measurement report if the RRC message is larger than a maximum supportable size of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) and the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is discarded if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation (see rejection for claim 1).
Kim does not explicitly teach the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report message is allowed; and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message.
However, Cecilia teaches the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report message is allowed; and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the RRC resume message includes first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report message is allowed; and the RRC resume message does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed; wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message, as taught by Cecilia in the system of Kim, so that the segmentation can be performed based on the RRCResume message (Cecilia: Paragraphs [0075], [0086]).
The combination of Kim and Cecilia does not explicitly teach wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is discarded if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed.
However, Mattias teaches wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is discarded if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is discarded if the RRC message is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU; does not include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed, as taught by Mattias in the combined system of Kim and Cecilia, so that the UE can discard the report of if it is larger than the maximum supportable size of the PDCP SDU, and segmentation is not included (Mattias: Paragraphs [0034], [0058], [0151], [0152]).
The combination of Kim, Cecilia, and Mattias does not explicitly teach second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information.
However, Choi teaches second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Kim, Cecilia, and Mattias, to perform segmentation of the UECapabilityInformation message if the size of the compiled UE capability information exceeds the RRC PDU size, and where the UE capability information is requested in the UECapabilityEnquiry message from the network, and the MeasurementReportAppLayer message which carries QoE measurement report based on application layer measurement configurations (Choi: Paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0073], [0140] – [0143]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kim, Cecilia, Mattias, and Choi teaches the base station of claim 16 (see rejection for claim 16);
Kim further teaches wherein the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is for a quality of experience (QoE) report (see rejection for claim 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 11, 2026 with respect to claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 16, 19 and 21-24 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US2024/0414799A1) in view of Cecilia Elköf et al. (WO2021/242157A1) hereinafter Cecilia, and Mattias Bergström et al. (US2023/0044291A1) hereinafter Mattias, have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that the combination of the cited references does not teach "wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in an application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message, and wherein the first information is different from second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in UE capability enquiry message", as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Cecilia Elköf et al. (WO2021/242157A1) hereinafter Cecilia teaches “wherein the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed is included in application layer measurement configuration information in the RRC resume message”. Cecilia teaches in paragraphs [0075], [0086], that the “RRCResume-IEs field descriptions” includes the “rrcSegmentationAllowedQoE”, which indicates whether RRC segmentation of QoE report files is allowed or not. RRCResume message has several fields, one of which is the “rrcSegmentationAllowedQoE”. The “rrcSegmentationAllowedQoE” – indicates whether RRC segmentation of QoE report files is allowed or not.
Choi (US2023/0198716A1) teaches second information indicating that an RRC segmentation of an RRC message for UE capability information is allowed, the second information being included in a UE capability enquiry message; wherein the first information is different from second information. Choi teaches in paragraph [0071] that the network includes a “rrc-SegAllowed” flag in the UECapabilityEnquiry message to signal to the UE that the network supports the reception of the segmented UECapabilityInformation message. Choi also teaches in paragraph [0140] that the UE capability information is requested in the UECapabilityEnquiry message (second information) from the network, and the MeasurementReportAppLayer message which carries QoE measurement report is based on application layer measurement configurations (first information from the network). Thus, the first information is different from the second information. Cecilia also teaches (paragraph [0075] that the application layer measurement configurations include the first information indicating that the RRC segmentation of the RRC message for the application layer measurement report is allowed.
Thus, the combination of Kim, Cecilia, Mattias, and Choi teaches all the limitations of amended independent claim 1, and also amended independent claims 6, 11, and 16, which recite similar limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461