DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
In response to 35 USC 101 on pages 6-8, filed 01/22/26, the 35 USC 101 rejection is still maintained, please also see the 35 USC 101 rejection.
Applicant indicates (1) that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea, especially performed in the mind and/or with pen and paper and (2) any such judicial exception is integrated into a practical application, at least in that the claims no longer recite features at a high level of generality, but instead recite a specific processing sequence that has a number of technical improvements.
The Examiner does not concede. Examiner has fully shown that the claims are directed to an abstract idea. More specifically directed to mental group. The claims as drafted, are directed to mental process. Please see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) recites “Examples of claims that recite mental processes include: a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis." Unclear how the “inter-device networked communication , storage querying, conditional control of display, and registering in storage”, cannot be performed in the mind and/or with pen and paper. The registering in storage is merely storing data. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. The claims fail to integrate the improvement of the technology into a practical application. The data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and a claim to collecting and comparing known information (claim 1), which are steps that can be practically performed in the human mind, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1067, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 2011)” and MPEP 2106(d) recites “first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. Second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement”.
Applicant further argues that obtaining usage request is not data gathering. However, gathering information is data gathering. Therefore, the feature is an extra-solution activity of data gathering.
Applicant further argues that display control is not a pre-solution or post-solution activity, that it is the solution, in which an improvement of eliminating unnecessary user interactions by conditionally displaying registration screens only when needed based on device-account association queries is achieved. The Examiner does not concede. It would appear that displaying registration screens only when needed based on device-account association queries is not an improvement. The displaying steps are a pre-solution or post-solution activity, especially in selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. MPEP 2106.05(g) recites “Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016)”. Therefore, the 35 USC 101 rejection is maintained.
In response to 35 USC 103 on pages 6-8, filed 01/22/2026, for independent claims 1 and 11 along with their respective dependent claims. Applicant argues Hwang-Patel fails to teach “determining whether a user account of the user inputting the usage request has already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service”, "causing a display to display, according to the usage request, a first input screen where account information of the user account is to be input" and "registering, in the storage, the user account of the user inputting the usage request in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service based on the account information input on the first input screen".
The Examiner does not concede. Hwang teaches “determining whether a user account of the user inputting the usage request has already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service”. Hwang discloses “the host image forming apparatus 100 may collect the information of the peripheral image forming apparatuses on the same network having Internet Protocol (IP) addresses of “15.40.152.2”, “15.40.152.3”, and“15.40.152.4” and display a screen (e.g., a user interface (Ul)) indicating a search result on the user interface unit 110. The host image forming apparatus 100 may receive a user input for selecting the plurality of image forming apparatuses to be registered in the account of the cloud server 200 from among the peripheral image forming apparatuses displayed on the user interface unit 110. As shown in FIG. 4, the user may select the plurality of image forming apparatuses by checking a respective plurality of check boxes corresponding to the plurality of image forming apparatuses to be registered in the account of the cloud server 200, through the user interface unit 110. However, the disclosure is not limited to [0038][0040][0044]. Third instructions used to receive a user account list from the cloud server 200 using the device verification information and the user verification information, and fourth instructions used to register the plurality of image forming apparatuses in an account of the received account list [0086][0080] ”. Hwang discloses receiving the user account to register the image forming apparatuses in an account of the received account list associated with the IP device. The user can only register if it is authenticated. By registering means that that it was determine there was no account listed.
Patel teaches but Patel teaches “causing a display to display, according to the usage request, a first input screen where account information of the user account is to be input”. Patel discloses “where the user is not an existing customer of the financial institution associated with the server computer system 120, the user may be required to create an account. the computing device 110 may display one or more input fields that may be used to enter information associated with creating an account [0073]”. Patel further teaches “registering the user account of the user in association with the device identification information based on the account information input screen”. Patel discloses “where the user is not an existing customer of the financial institution associated with the server computer system 120, the user may be required to create an account. the computing device 110 may display one or more input fields that may be used to enter information associated with creating an account [0073]”. Patel discloses “where the user is not an existing customer of the financial institution associated with the server computer system 120, the user may be required to create an account. the computing device 110 may display one or more input fields that may be used to enter information associated with creating an account [0073]”. Patel discloses creating an account when the user account is not registered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed limitation is directed to non-statutory matter.
Regarding claim 1
Step 2A-Prong1: Regarding claim 1, the claim recites obtaining a usage request based on an input from a user, the usage request being a request of the user to use a service using a particular device; obtaining device identification information identifying the particular device from an external device through the communication interface in response to obtaining the usage request from the user; determining whether a user account of the user inputting the usage request has been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service; when determining that the user account of the user inputting the usage request has not already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service: causing a display to display, according to the usage request, a first input screen where account information of the user account is to be input; registering, in the storage, the user account of the user inputting the usage request in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service based on the account information input on the first input screen; and when determining that the user account of the user inputting the usage request has already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device: not causing the display to display the first input screen where the account information of the user account is to be input for registering the user account of the user inputting the usage request in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind and/or with pen and paper, there is nothing the claim element precludes the step from being performed in the mind and with pen and paper. For example, determining whether a user account is registered and registering the user account. The mere nominal recitation of a generic information processing device, controller, communication interface, input screen, external device, and a storage do not the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. Thus claim 1 recites a mental process.
Step 2A-Prong2: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements such as generic information processing device, controller, communication interface, input screen, external device and a storage, which are well -know parts of a computer system. The generic computer components (e.g., processing device, controller, communication interface, input screen, external device and a storage) are recited at a high-level of generality (e.g. determining whether a user account of the user inputting the usage request has been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service) such that its amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The obtaining a usage request step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e., data gathering), which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and merely automates the obtaining request step. The obtaining device identification information from an external device through the communication interface step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means data gathering), which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and merely automates the obtaining device identification information step. The causing to displaying step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means pre-solution activity or post solution), which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and merely automates the causing to displaying step. The not causing to displaying step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means pre-solution activity or post solution), which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and merely automates the not causing to displaying step. The registering the user account step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means pre-solution or post-solution activity), which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and merely automates registering the user account step. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, obtaining a usage request; obtaining device identification; determining whether a user account of the user inputting the usage request is registered, displaying and not displaying, and registering the user account of the user with the device identification information based on the account information, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Claim 1 is not patent eligible. Therefore claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Dependent claims 2-10 have also been fully analyzed. Each of these dependent claims are mere recites additional abstract idea or an insignificant, extra-solution activity. Therefore, the dependent claims also fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Moreover, the claims have also been analyzed regarding whether they recite significantly more than the abstract idea. The dependent claims fail to add significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, dependent claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Regarding claim 11
Step 2A-Prong1: Regarding claim 11, the claim recites obtaining a usage request based on an input from a user, the usage request being a request of the user to use a service using a particular device; obtaining device identification information identifying the particular device from an external device through the communication interface in response to obtaining the usage request from the user; determining whether a user account of the user inputting the usage request has been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service; when determining that the user account of the user inputting the usage request has not already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service: causing a display to display, according to the usage request, a first input screen where account information of the user account is to be input; registering, in the storage, the user account of the user inputting the usage request in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service based on the account information input on the first input screen; and when determining that the user account of the user inputting the usage request has already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device: not causing the display to display the first input screen where the account information of the user account is to be input for registering the user account of the user inputting the usage request in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind and/or with pen and paper, there is nothing the claim element precludes the step from being performed in the mind and with pen and paper. For example, determining whether a user account is registered and registering the user account. The mere nominal recitation of a generic non-transitory computer storage medium, information processing device, controller, communication interface, input screen, external device and a storage do not the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. Thus claim 1 recites a mental process.
Step 2A-Prong2: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements such as generic non-transitory computer storage medium, information processing device, controller, communication interface, input screen, external device and a storage, which are well -know parts of a computer system. The generic computer components (e.g., non-transitory computer storage medium, information processing device, controller, communication interface, input screen, external device and a storage) are recited at a high-level of generality (e.g., determining whether a user account of the user inputting the usage request has been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service) such that its amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The obtaining a usage request step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e., data gathering), which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and merely automates the obtaining request step. The obtaining device identification information from an external device through the communication interface step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means data gathering), which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and merely automates the obtaining device identification information step. The causing to displaying step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means pre-solution activity or post solution), which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and merely automates the causing to displaying step. The not causing to displaying step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means pre-solution activity or post solution), which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and merely automates the not causing to displaying step. The registering the user account step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means pre-solution or post-solution activity), which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and merely automates registering the user account step. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, obtaining a usage request; obtaining device identification; determining whether a user account of the user inputting the usage request is registered, displaying and not displaying, and registering the user account of the user with the device identification information based on the account information, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Claim 1 is not patent eligible. Therefore claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (WO 2021194546, hereinafter Hwang) in view of Patel et al. (US 20220294792, hereinafter Patel).
Re. claim 1, Hwang discloses an information processing device, comprising a controller, communication interface, and a storage (Hwang discloses an image forming apparatus with a processor [0025]. Implemented on a computer-readable storage medium [0087]. Communication interface [0038]. A memory [0084]), wherein the controller is configured to perform: obtaining a usage request based on an input from a user, the usage request being a request of the user to use a service using a particular device (Kook discloses image forming apparatus may receive a user input for selecting the selecting the plurality of image forming apparatuses [0038]);
obtaining device identification information identifying the particular device from an external device through the communication interface in response to obtaining the usage request from the user (Hwang discloses image forming apparatus collect the information of the image forming apparatuses such as IP addresses and display a screen (e.g., a user interface (Ul)) indicating a search result on the user [0038]. Receive the device identification information from the plurality of selected image forming apparatuses, through the communication interface [0039][0037]);
determining whether a user account of the user inputting the usage request has already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service (Hwang discloses the host image forming apparatus 100 may collect the information of the peripheral image forming apparatuses on the same network having Internet Protocol (IP) addresses of “15.40.152.2”, “15.40.152.3”, and“15.40.152.4” and display a screen (e.g., a user interface (Ul)) indicating a search result on the user interface unit 110. The host image forming apparatus 100 may receive a user input for selecting the plurality of image forming apparatuses to be registered in the account of the cloud server 200 from among the peripheral image forming apparatuses displayed on the user interface unit 110. As shown in FIG. 4, the user may select the plurality of image forming apparatuses by checking a respective plurality of check boxes corresponding to the plurality of image forming apparatuses to be registered in the account of the cloud server 200, through the user interface unit 110. However, the disclosure is not limited to [0038][0040][0044]. Third instructions used to receive a user account list from the cloud server 200 using the device verification information and the user verification information, and fourth instructions used to register the plurality of image forming apparatuses in an account of the received account list [0086][0080]); when determining that the user account of the user inputting the usage request has not already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service (Hwang discloses provide information about the solution that the cloud server 200 may provide and provide an interface to the cloud server 200 by linking the solution to the account of the cloud server 200 such that the solution is provided to the image forming apparatus 100 registered in the account [0022]. Register the image forming apparatus 100 in the account of the cloud server 200 such that the image forming apparatus 100 may be provided with the solution from the cloud server 200, various processes such as authenticating each of the image forming apparatus 100 and the user and registering the image forming apparatus 100 in an account used in the cloud server 200 [0023]. The host image forming apparatus 100 may receive an account list of the user from the cloud server 200 through the communication interface unit 130, using the device verification information and the user verification information. The host image forming apparatus 100 may register a plurality of image forming apparatuses in an account of the received account list [0031]):
and when determining that the user account of the user inputting the usage request has already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device: not causing the display to display the first input screen where the account information of the user account is to be input for registering the user account of the user inputting the usage request in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device (Hwang discloses the host image forming apparatus 100 may receive IP addresses of “15.40.152.2”, “15.40.152.3”, and Ί5.40.155.1 ” from a user input or a received file and display a screen indicating a result obtained by collecting information of the peripheral image forming apparatuses corresponding to the IP addresses on the user interface unit 110 [0041]. Display a screen indicating a result obtained by collecting information about the peripheral image forming apparatuses belonging to the range on the user interface unit [0047]).
Although Hwang discloses adding an image forming apparatus ([0044][0051]), Hwang does not explicitly teach but Patel teaches causing a display to display, according to the usage request, a first input screen where account information of the user account is to be input (Patel teaches where the user is not an existing customer of the financial institution associated with the server computer system 120, the user may be required to create an account. the computing device 110 may display one or more input fields that may be used to enter information associated with creating an account [0073], claim language “to be” is an intended result);
registering, in the storage, the user account of the user inputting the usage request in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service based on the account information input on the first input screen (Patel teaches where the user is not an existing customer of the financial institution associated with the server computer system 120, the user may be required to create an account. the computing device 110 may display one or more input fields that may be used to enter information associated with creating an account [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Hwang to include causing a display to display, according to the usage request, a first input screen where account information of the user account is to be input; registering, in the storage, the user account of the user inputting the usage request in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service based on the account information input on the first input screen as disclosed by Patel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of determining whether the device is an authorized user and identify one or more accounts the user is trying to access (Patel [0044]).
Re. claim 2, the combination of Hwang-Patel teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when the user account is not registered, the controller is configured to, in the registering, perform creating a new account based on the account information input on the first input screen and registering the new account in association with the device identification information (Patel teaches where the user is not an existing customer of the financial institution associated with the server computer system 120, the user may be required to create an account. the computing device 110 may display one or more input fields that may be used to enter information associated with creating an account [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Hwang to include wherein, when the user account is not registered, the controller is configured to, in the registering, perform creating a new account based on the account information input on the first input screen and registering the new account in association with the device identification information as disclosed by Patel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of determining whether the device is an authorized user and identify one or more accounts the user is trying to access (Patel [0044]).
Re. claim 3, the combination of Hwang-Patel teaches the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the information processing device is a server configured to communicate with at least one of a terminal device of the user and the particular device (Hwang discloses a cloud server and an authentication server and image forming apparatus [0051]); wherein the controller is further configured to perform: obtaining the usage request from the at least one of the terminal device of the user and the particular device (Hwang obtaining request authentication of image forming apparatuses [0050]); obtaining the device identification information from the at least one of the terminal device of the user and the particular device (Hwang discloses image forming apparatus transmit the device information from plurality of image forming apparatuses to the cloud server [0049]); and in the first obtaining, transmitting, to the at least one of the terminal device of the user and the particular device, information used to display the first input screen, and wherein the first input screen is displayed on a display of the at least one of the terminal device of the user and the particular device (Hwang discloses receive an input for selecting a plurality of image forming apparatuses to be registered in an account of the cloud server 200 from among the displayed peripheral image forming apparatuses [0074]).
Re. claim 4, the combination of Hwang-Patel teaches the information processing device according to claim 3, wherein the controller is configured to perform: transmitting
a token used to use the service to the terminal device in response to registering the user account when the user account is not registered (Hwang discloses the registration screen may be used to register the image forming apparatuses in the account of the cloud server if the host image forming apparatus receives a token necessary for performing an operation from the cloud server [0068]); and transmitting the token to the terminal device without registering the user account when the user account is registered (Hwang discloses the cloud server 200 may provide the generated token to the host image forming apparatus 100 that is authenticated as a device capable of registering the image forming apparatuses [0063]).
Re. claim 5, the combination of Hwang-Patel teaches the information processing device according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to perform: transmitting an approval request for the user to use the service to a destination associated to the user account based on account information of the user account when the user account is registered; and transmitting the token to the terminal device when receiving a response indicating approval of the approval request (Hwang discloses the cloud server 200 may provide the generated token to the host image forming apparatus 100 that is authenticated as a device capable of registering the image forming apparatuses [0063]).
Re. claim 11, Hwang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for an information processing device having a controller, a communication interface, and a storage the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing computer-executable instructions which cause, when executed by the controller, the information processing device to perform controller (Hwang discloses an image forming apparatus with a processor [0025]. Implemented on a computer-readable storage medium [0087]. Communication interface [0038]. A memory [0084]): obtaining a usage request based on an input from a user, the usage request being a request of the user to use a service using a particular device (Kook discloses image forming apparatus may receive a user input for selecting the selecting the plurality of image forming apparatuses [0038]);
obtaining device identification information identifying the particular device from an external device through the communication interface in response to obtaining the usage request from the user (Hwang discloses image forming apparatus collect the information of the image forming apparatuses such as IP addresses and display a screen (e.g., a user interface (Ul)) indicating a search result on the user [0038]. Receive the device identification information from the plurality of selected image forming apparatuses, through the communication interface [0039][0037]);
determining whether a user account of the user inputting the usage request has already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service (Hwang discloses the host image forming apparatus 100 may collect the information of the peripheral image forming apparatuses on the same network having Internet Protocol (IP) addresses of “15.40.152.2”, “15.40.152.3”, and“15.40.152.4” and display a screen (e.g., a user interface (Ul)) indicating a search result on the user interface unit 110. The host image forming apparatus 100 may receive a user input for selecting the plurality of image forming apparatuses to be registered in the account of the cloud server 200 from among the peripheral image forming apparatuses displayed on the user interface unit 110. As shown in FIG. 4, the user may select the plurality of image forming apparatuses by checking a respective plurality of check boxes corresponding to the plurality of image forming apparatuses to be registered in the account of the cloud server 200, through the user interface unit 110. However, the disclosure is not limited to [0038][0040][0044]. Third instructions used to receive a user account list from the cloud server 200 using the device verification information and the user verification information, and fourth instructions used to register the plurality of image forming apparatuses in an account of the received account list [0086][0080]); when determining that the user account of the user inputting the usage request has not already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service (Hwang discloses provide information about the solution that the cloud server 200 may provide and provide an interface to the cloud server 200 by linking the solution to the account of the cloud server 200 such that the solution is provided to the image forming apparatus 100 registered in the account [0022]. Register the image forming apparatus 100 in the account of the cloud server 200 such that the image forming apparatus 100 may be provided with the solution from the cloud server 200, various processes such as authenticating each of the image forming apparatus 100 and the user and registering the image forming apparatus 100 in an account used in the cloud server 200 [0023]. The host image forming apparatus 100 may receive an account list of the user from the cloud server 200 through the communication interface unit 130, using the device verification information and the user verification information. The host image forming apparatus 100 may register a plurality of image forming apparatuses in an account of the received account list [0031]):
and when determining that the user account of the user inputting the usage request has already been registered in the storage in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device: not causing the display to display the first input screen where the account information of the user account is to be input for registering the user account of the user inputting the usage request in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device (Hwang discloses the host image forming apparatus 100 may receive IP addresses of “15.40.152.2”, “15.40.152.3”, and Ί5.40.155.1 ” from a user input or a received file and display a screen indicating a result obtained by collecting information of the peripheral image forming apparatuses corresponding to the IP addresses on the user interface unit 110 [0041]. Display a screen indicating a result obtained by collecting information about the peripheral image forming apparatuses belonging to the range on the user interface unit [0047]).
Although Hwang discloses adding an image forming apparatus ([0044][0051]), Hwang does not explicitly teach but Patel teaches causing a display to display, according to the usage request, a first input screen where account information of the user account is to be input (Patel teaches where the user is not an existing customer of the financial institution associated with the server computer system 120, the user may be required to create an account. the computing device 110 may display one or more input fields that may be used to enter information associated with creating an account [0073], claim language “to be” is an intended result);
registering, in the storage, the user account of the user inputting the usage request in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service based on the account information input on the first input screen (Patel teaches where the user is not an existing customer of the financial institution associated with the server computer system 120, the user may be required to create an account. the computing device 110 may display one or more input fields that may be used to enter information associated with creating an account [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Hwang to include causing a display to display, according to the usage request, a first input screen where account information of the user account is to be input; registering, in the storage, the user account of the user inputting the usage request in association with the device identification information identifying the particular device used by the service based on the account information input on the first input screen as disclosed by Patel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of determining whether the device is an authorized user and identify one or more accounts the user is trying to access (Patel [0044]).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (WO 2021194546, hereinafter Hwang) in view of Patel et al. (US 20220294792, hereinafter Patel) and in further view of Heidari (US 20200045041).
Re. claim 6, the combination of Hwang-Patel teaches the information processing device according to claim 5, the combination of Hwang-Patel do not explicitly teach but Heidari teaches wherein the controller is configured to perform, when the user account is registered, causing display of a second input screen where user information is to be input, wherein the user information is information different from the account information, the user information being information related to the user, and wherein the approval request includes the user information input on the second input screen (Heidari teaches the registration application may provide (e.g., via a second registration screen) various prompts requesting that the user input various personal user information including, for example, first name, last name, email address, username, password, cell phone number, a personal identification number (e.g., PIN) and the like. The web application may also provide the user with ability to upload one or more images or documents, such as a picture (e.g., a selfie), document (e.g., Driver's License) scan, etc. In some embodiments, the registration application may request (e.g., via a third registration screen) bank account information that links the user with one or more bank accounts in respective one or more banks. The registration application may request (e.g., via a fourth registration screen) user account information that may be used to identify the user at servers of one or more merchants or services to which the user wishes to connect via centralized gateway server 102 [0030][0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by the combination of Hwang-Patel to include wherein the controller is configured to perform, when the user account is registered, second displaying of displaying a second input screen where user information is to be input, wherein the user information is information different from the account information, the user information being information related to the user, and wherein the approval request includes the user information input on the second input screen as disclosed by Heidari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of providing access to services (Heidari [0048]).
Re. claim 7, the combination of Hwang-Patel-Heidari teaches the information processing device according to claim 6, Heidari further teaches wherein the controller is configured to perform transmitting the token to the terminal device based on the user information (Heidari [0030][0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by the combination of Hwang-Patel to include wherein the controller is configured to perform, when the user account is registered, second displaying of displaying a second input screen where user information is to be input, wherein the user information is information different from the account information, the user information being information related to the user, and wherein the approval request includes the user information input on the second input screen as disclosed by Heidari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of providing access to services (Heidari [0048]).
Re. claim 8, the combination of Hwang-Patel-Heidari teaches the information processing device according to claim 6, Heidari further teaches wherein the user information is an email address (Heidari [0030][0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by the combination of Hwang-Patel to include wherein the user information is an email address as disclosed by Heidari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of providing access to services (Heidari [0048]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (WO 2021194546, hereinafter Hwang) in view of Patel et al. (US 20220294792, hereinafter Patel) in view of Heidari (US 20200045041) and in further view of Takeo (US 20160226855).
Re. claim 9, the combination of Hwang-Patel-Heidari teaches the information processing device according to claim 6, the combination of Hwang-Patel-Heidari do not explicitly teach but Takeo teaches wherein the token includes a first type token and a second type token, wherein the controller is configured to perform: transmitting the first token to the terminal device when the user account is not registered; and transmitting the second token to the terminal device when the user account is registered, wherein a function that can be used with the first token includes a first function and a second function, and wherein a function that can be used with the second token includes the first function and does not include the second function (Takeo teaches the token list is a list in which generated tokens are sequentially registered. When a generated token is registered in the token list, the authentication information stored in the MFP 101 in advance, such as an ID, a password, and information concerning the type of a user (hereinafter referred to as the “user type information”) are associated with the token. That is, the token is registered in the token list in association with the user [0053]. in a case where a token with which is associated the user type information as the authentication information stored in the MFP 101 in advance is read out from the token list together with the user type information, and the user type information read out and the user type indicated by the attribute ID 911 included in the token-attached command 900 do not match each other (e.g. a case where the user type information read out is administrative user, but the user type indicated by the attribute ID 911 is guest user), the authentication error notification may be generated [0069]. Performing one or more functions [0079][0037][0040][0074][0077], token for the admin another token for user. The function can be print and scan).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by the combination of Hwang-Patel-Heidari to include wherein the token includes a first type token and a second type token, wherein the controller is configured to perform: transmitting the first token to the terminal device when the user account is not registered; and transmitting the second token to the terminal device when the user account is registered, wherein a function that can be used with the first token includes a first function and a second function, and wherein a function that can be used with the second token includes the first function and does not include the second function as disclosed by Takeo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of determining that the execution of the job is terminated or not terminated and user authentication (Takeo [0077] [0052]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (WO 2021194546, hereinafter Hwang) in view of Patel et al. (US 20220294792, hereinafter Patel) and in further view of Huang et al. (CN 113595968, hereinafter Huang).
Re. claim 10, the combination of Hwang-Patel teaches the information processing device according to claim 3, further comprising a storage, wherein the controller is further configured to perform: the combination of Hwang-Patel teaches do not explicitly teach but Huang teaches accommodating a table in which the device identification information and the account information are recorded in an associated manner in the storage; determining whether the user account is registered by determining whether the device information received from the terminal device is recorded in the table (Huang teaches account management node 140 may store the binding relationship between the user’s cloud platform account and the newly created application account in the database [0095]. The account management node 140 records registration information and instance status information, wherein the registration information includes a first correspondence between a cloud platform account and a registration password, and the status information includes a second correspondence between a device identifier of the cloud application instance 200 and a cloud platform account. The account management node 140 can record the second correspondence. Therefore, at step 47, after the account management node 140 receives the login password and device identification sent by the user, it can first determine the cloud platform account corresponding to the device identification based on the device identification and the stored second correspondence, and then obtain the registration password entered by the user when registering based on the first correspondence and the cloud platform account [0116][0129][0130]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by the combination of Hwang-Patel to include accommodating a table in which the device identification information and the account information are recorded in an associated manner in the storage; determining whether the user account is registered by determining whether the device information received from the terminal device is recorded in the table as disclosed by Huong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of further confirm that the cloud platform account is bound to the application account (Huong [00130]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sako (US 20210294550) discloses Upon detecting a registration request made via this screen, the printing apparatus 101 transmits a registration request to the cloud print service. The CPS 102 that has received the registration request registers the printing apparatus 101 as a printer that is usable for a first type of cloud print service. With this registration processing, the account for a cloud print service that is owned by the user who is the administrator or the like, and the printer ID are associated with each other. Also, processing for issuing an access token and an access destination URL needed for acquiring a job from the printer, and the like are performed.
/KEVIN AYALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496