Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19, line 17 discloses “the monitor,” which lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, “the monitor” is treated as “the display.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberg (US 11627675 B2) modified by Bryant (US 20210080999 A1), Sullivan et al. (US 10248158 B2) and further in view of Moon et al. (US 7633577 B2).
Re claim 1: Eisenberg discloses an auxiliary display system comprising:
an enclosure (housing of screen assembly 21D in fig 13) having side walls (i.e., left and right side walls), a base (i.e., bottom wall), a top (i.e., top comprising recess to receive screen display device 211D), at least one port (see column 9, lines 17-29; herein, the data transmission unit 23 can be implemented as a built-in docking station, wherein the built-in docking station is arranged on the screen support assembly 22 of the screen display device 20 or the power supply device 10, and the screen assembly 21 is communicatively connected to the mobile electronic device through the built-in docking station);
a telescoping neck (extensible frame 50D in fig 13) comprising a plurality of nesting segments extending upward from the base;
a cavity (recess formed in housing of screen assembly 21D to receive screen display device 211D) positioned in the enclosure;
a slot (i.e., slot formed in top of enclosure 21D that allows screen display device 211D to extend out of/or retract into the recess) in the top that provides access to the cavity;
a cord (see column 8, lines 63-67; herein, the screen assembly 21 can be communicatively connected with the mobile electronic device wirely via data cable, through which the mobile electronic device transmits display information to the screen assembly 21) extending from the enclosure; and
a monitor (screen display device 211D that is received in recess formed in 21D in fig 13) stored within the cavity and attached to one of the nesting segments (extension bar 52D) of the telescoping neck that is repositionable between a contracted position within the cavity and an expanded position through the slot and out of the cavity via the telescoping neck.
Eisenberg fails to disclose the at least one port of enclosure comprising a Universal Serial Bus port and a High-Definition Multimedia Interface port.
Bryant discloses an auxiliary display system (supplemental computing display assembly 10 in fig 1 and paragraph 75) comprising: an enclosure (main housing 100 in figs 1-2) having a Universal Serial Bus port and a High-Definition Multimedia Interface port (see paragraph 85; herein, there may be a data transmission cable aperture 151 adjacent to the PCB holding pen 402, through which a data transmission cable 60 (e.g., USB, HDMI, DVI, Thunderbolt®, etc.) may pass and connect to a suitable data transmission port on a portable computing device. While not shown in the drawings, the main body may include multiple data transmission ports on either side of the main body that may allow a data transmission cable to connect to any available port on a user's personal device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the built-in docking station of enclosure with USB and HDMI ports in order to allow the auxiliary display system to communicate high-quality video and audio signals with an external electronic device via the HDMI port, and transmit data and/or power between the auxiliary display system and an external electronic device via the USB port.
Eisenberg in view of Bryant fails to disclose that the enclosure is an aluminum enclosure.
Sullivan discloses a display device comprising an aluminum enclosure (enclosure cover 32 in fig 1 and column 9, lines 47-64; herein, enclosure cover 32 may be a metal such as an aluminum (e.g., Al 5052-O)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the enclosure using aluminum material since aluminum has a relatively high strength to weight ratio; hence, providing sufficient support to avoid substantial deflection, e.g., bending or twisting, of display accommodated in the enclosure (Sullivan: column 5, lines 61-65). Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
Eisenberg in view of Bryant and Sullivan fails to disclose that the monitor is a thin-film-transistor, liquid-crystal-display with light emitting diode backlighting.
Moon discloses a thin-film-transistor (see column 7, lines 10-11; herein, a switching device such as a TFT is provided on each pixel), liquid-crystal-display with light emitting diode backlighting (see column 6, lines 55-56).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide monitor with a thin-film-transistor, liquid-crystal-display with light emitting diode backlighting for superior energy efficiency, brighter, sharper images with better color/contrast, slimmer designs, faster response times for dynamic content, longer life, and environmentally friendlier operation (no mercury) compared to older CCFL backlights.
Re claim 9: Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan and Moon discloses the auxiliary display system, wherein the enclosure further comprises a docking station for connection to a laptop (Eisenberg: see column 9, lines 17-29; herein, the data transmission unit 23 can be implemented as a built-in docking station, wherein the built-in docking station is arranged on the screen support assembly 22 of the screen display device 20, and the screen assembly 21 is communicatively connected to the mobile electronic device through the built-in docking station).
Re claim 11: Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan and Moon discloses the auxiliary display system, wherein movement of the monitor from the contracted position to the expanded position is linear (Eisenberg: see fig 13).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberg (US 11627675 B2) modified by Bryant (US 20210080999 A1), Sullivan et al. (US 10248158 B2), Moon et al. (US 7633577 B2) and further in view of Park (US 7583987 B2).
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan and Moon discloses the auxiliary display system.
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan and Moon fails to disclose that the auxiliary display system comprising a lock for holding the monitor within the cavity.
Park Discloses an electronic device (10 in fig 2) comprising a lock (50 in fig 6) for holding a display (20 in figs 3-4) within a cavity (i.e., accommodating space of 10 that receives display 20 in figs 2-4) of the electronic device.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the auxiliary display system with a lock for holding the monitor within the cavity in order to prevent unintentional removal of the monitor from the cavity when the monitor is not in use.
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberg (US 11627675 B2) modified by Bryant (US 20210080999 A1), Sullivan et al. (US 10248158 B2), Moon et al. (US 7633577 B2) and further in view of Kuo (US 20080092941 A1).
Re claim 3: Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan and Moon discloses the auxiliary display system.
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan and Moon fails to disclose a battery contained within the enclosure.
Kuo discloses an electronic device (laptop computer in fig 4) comprising a rechargeable battery (16 in fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the enclosure with a battery in order to supply power to the auxiliary display system for operation.
Re claim 4: Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan and Moon discloses the auxiliary display system.
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan and Moon fails to disclose a solar panel provided on an exterior surface of the enclosure.
Kuo discloses an electronic device (laptop computer in fig 4) comprising a solar panel (solar cell module 50 in fig 1) provided on an exterior surface of an enclosure.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a solar panel on an exterior surface the enclosure so that when the auxiliary display system is exposed to sunlight, the solar panel can convert solar energy into electric energy for supplying power to the auxiliary display system (Kuo: see paragraph 17).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberg (US 11627675 B2) modified by Bryant (US 20210080999 A1), Sullivan et al. (US 10248158 B2), Moon et al. (US 7633577 B2), Kuo (US 20080092941 A1) and further in view of Ulla et al. (US 20050213297 A1).
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan, Moon and Kuo discloses the auxiliary display system.
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan, Moon and Kuo fails to disclose a display for showing a charge in the battery.
Ulla discloses an electronic device comprising a display (battery indicator light 51 in fig 7) for showing a charge in a battery (see paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the auxiliary display system with a display for showing a charge in the battery, as shown in the device of Ulla, in order to alert the user to the battery charge status while the auxiliary display system is in use.
Claim(s) 6-7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberg (US 11627675 B2) modified by Bryant (US 20210080999 A1), Sullivan et al. (US 10248158 B2), Moon et al. (US 7633577 B2) and further in view of Erad et al. (US 20150378393 A1).
Re claim 6: Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan, Moon discloses the auxiliary display system.
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan, Moon fails to disclose that the monitor is foldable.
Erad discloses a display system (mobile device 400 in figs 4a-4d) comprising a monitor (display units 425+427 in fig 4D) that is foldable (i.e., foldable via connector 426 in fig 4D).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the auxiliary display system with a foldable monitor, as shown in the device of Erad, in order to provide the auxiliary display system with additional monitors for increasing the display area.
Re claim 7: Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan, Moon and Erad discloses the auxiliary display system, wherein the monitor (Erad: display units 425+427 in fig 4D) is folded in a bi-fold configuration.
Re claim 10: Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan, Moon and Erad discloses the auxiliary display system, wherein the monitor (Erad: display units 425+427 in fig 4D) fits within the slot (Erad: i.e., space formed in body 405 for accommodating display units 425+427) when in a folded condition (Erad: see fig 4A).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberg (US 11627675 B2) modified by Bryant (US 20210080999 A1), Sullivan et al. (US 10248158 B2), Moon et al. (US 7633577 B2), Erad et al. (US 20150378393 A1) and further in view of Schilling (US 8432331 B2).
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan, Moon and Erad discloses the auxiliary display system.
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan, Moon and Erad fails to disclose that the monitor comprises a central panel, a right panel and a left panel when the monitor is in a tri-fold configuration.
Schilling discloses an auxiliary display system (display system 54 in figs 1-4), wherein a monitor (64 in fig 4) comprises a central panel (64b), a right panel (64a) and a left panel (64c) when the monitor is in a tri-fold configuration (see fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the auxiliary display system of Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Sullivan, Moon and Erad with a foldable monitor that can be folded in a tri-fold configuration in order to provide the monitor with additional display area for the user’s convenience.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberg (US 11627675 B2) modified by Bryant (US 20210080999 A1), Moon et al. (US 7633577 B2) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20040243940 A1).
Re claim 12: Eisenberg discloses a combination monitor and electronic device comprising: a docking station (screen assembly 21D in fig 13 and column 9, lines 17-29; herein, the data transmission unit 23 can be implemented as a built-in docking station, wherein the built-in docking station is arranged on the screen support assembly 22 of the screen display device 20 or the power supply device 10, and the screen assembly 21 is communicatively connected to the mobile electronic device through the built-in docking station);
a telescoping neck (extensible frame 50D in fig 13) comprising a plurality of nesting segments extending upward from the docking station;
a monitor (screen display device 211D that is received in recess formed in 21D in fig 13) attached to a topmost of the nesting segments of the telescoping neck (extension bar 52D) that is repositionable between a first position (i.e., when screen display device 211D is extended out of screen assembly 21D) and a second position (i.e., when screen display device 211D is completely received in screen assembly 21D) via the telescoping neck connecting the monitor to the docking station;
an electronic device (mobile electronic device in column 9, lines 17-29) connectable to the docking station, wherein the docking station provides an auxiliary display for the electronic device; and
a slot in the docking station (i.e., slot formed in top of screen assembly 21D that allows screen display device 211D to extend out of/or retract into a recess formed in 21D) that is sized and configured to receive the monitor when the telescoping neck is extended or retracted (see fig 13).
Eisenberg fails to disclose the docking station comprising a Universal Serial Bus port and a High-Definition Multimedia Interface port.
Bryant discloses an auxiliary display system (supplemental computing display assembly 10 in fig 1 and paragraph 75) comprising a Universal Serial Bus port and a High-Definition Multimedia Interface port (see paragraph 85; herein, there may be a data transmission cable aperture 151 adjacent to the PCB holding pen 402, through which a data transmission cable 60 (e.g., USB, HDMI, DVI, Thunderbolt®, etc.) may pass and connect to a suitable data transmission port on a portable computing device. While not shown in the drawings, the main body may include multiple data transmission ports on either side of the main body that may allow a data transmission cable to connect to any available port on a user's personal device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the docking station with USB and HDMI ports in order to allow the monitor to communicate high-quality video and audio signals with the electronic device via the HDMI port, and transmit data and/or power between the monitor and external electronic devices via the USB port.
Eisenberg in view of Bryant fails to disclose that the monitor is a thin-film- transistor, liquid-crystal-display with light emitting diode backlighting.
Moon discloses a thin-film-transistor (see column 7, lines 10-11; herein, a switching device such as a TFT is provided on each pixel), liquid-crystal-display with light emitting diode backlighting (see column 6, lines 55-56).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the monitor with a thin-film-transistor, liquid-crystal-display with light emitting diode backlighting for superior energy efficiency, brighter, sharper images with better color/contrast, slimmer designs, faster response times for dynamic content, longer life, and environmentally friendlier operation (no mercury) compared to older CCFL backlights.
Eisenberg in view of Bryant and Moon fails to disclose that the monitor comprises a plurality of display preference control buttons configured to (i.e., functional language) adjust brightness, contrast, and color settings for the monitor.
Lee discloses a monitor comprising a plurality of display preference control buttons (OSD button 932 in fig 1) configured to adjust brightness, contrast, and color settings for the monitor (see fig 1 and paragraph 7; herein, the conventional display apparatus 920 employs the OSD generator 929 and the OSD control part 930 to adjust display settings such as the size, the position, the contrast, the color temperature, the resolution, etc. of a picture area).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the monitor with a plurality of display preference control buttons, as shown in the device of Lee, in order to provide user interface to adjust the display settings of the picture area.
Re claim 13: Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Moon and Lee discloses the combination monitor and electronic device, comprising a battery (Eisenberg: power supply device 10 in fig 13; column 8, lines 22-25).
Re claim 16: Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Moon and Lee discloses the combination monitor and electronic device, wherein the monitor may be connected to the electronic device by a cord or wirelessly (Eisenberg: see column 9, lines 17-36).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberg (US 11627675 B2) modified by Bryant (US 20210080999 A1), Moon et al. (US 7633577 B2), Lee et al. (US 20040243940 A1) and further in view of Ulla et al. (US 20050213297 A1).
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Moon and Lee discloses the combination monitor and electronic device.
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Moon and Lee fails to disclose that the docking station comprises a light indicator.
Ulla discloses an electronic device comprising a light indicator (battery indicator light 51 in fig 7) for showing a charge in a battery (see paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combination monitor and electronic device with a light indicator for showing a charge in the battery, as shown in the device of Ulla, in order to alert the user to the battery charge status while the combination monitor and electronic device is in use.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberg (US 11627675 B2) modified by Bryant (US 20210080999 A1), Moon et al. (US 7633577 B2), Lee et al. (US 20040243940 A1) and further in view of Park (US 7583987 B2).
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Moon and Lee discloses the combination monitor and electronic device.
Eisenberg in view of Bryant, Moon and Lee fails to disclose that the docking station comprises a lock for holding the monitor within the docking station.
Park Discloses an electronic device (10 in fig 2) comprising a lock (50 in fig 6) for holding a display (20 in figs 3-4) within a slot (i.e., accommodating space of 10 that receives display 20 in figs 2-4) of the electronic device.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the docking station with a lock for holding the monitor within the slot in order to prevent unintentional removal of the monitor from the slot when the monitor is not in use.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberg (US 11627675 B2) modified by DE 202010013105 U1 (hereinafter, DE’105), Erad et al. (US 20150378393 A1), Kuo (US 20080092941 A1), Lee et al. (US 20040243940 A1), Ulla et al. (US 20050213297 A1) and further in view of Shindo et al. (US 20150362953 A1).
Eisenberg discloses an enclosure and display combination comprising:
an enclosure (screen assembly 21D in fig 13) having a docking station (column 9, lines 17-29; herein, the data transmission unit 23 can be implemented as a built-in docking station, wherein the built-in docking station is arranged on the screen support assembly 22 of the screen display device 20 or the power supply device 10, and the screen assembly 21 is communicatively connected to the mobile electronic device through the built-in docking station);
a telescoping neck (extensible frame 50D in fig 13) comprising a plurality of nesting segments extending upward from the docking station;
a display (screen display device 211D that is received in recess formed in 21D in fig 13) attached to a topmost of the nesting segments of the telescoping neck (extension bar 52D) and provided in a cavity (recess formed in 21D for receiving screen display device 211D in fig 13) within the enclosure, wherein the display is repositionable between a first position (i.e., when screen display device 211D is extended out of screen assembly 21D) and a second position (i.e., when screen display device 211D is completely received in screen assembly 21D) via the telescoping neck connecting the display to the docking station;
an electronic device (mobile electronic device in column 9, lines 17-29) connectable to the docking station, wherein the docking station provides an auxiliary display for the electronic device; and
a slot in the enclosure (i.e., slot formed in top of screen assembly 21D that allows screen display device 211D to extend out of/or retract into a recess formed in 21D) that is sized and configured such that the display may be repositioned in and out of the enclosure when the telescoping neck is extended or retracted (see fig 13);
a cord for connecting the display to a laptop (see column 8, lines 63-67; herein, the screen assembly 21 can be communicatively connected with the mobile electronic device wirely via data cable, through which the mobile electronic device transmits display information to the screen assembly 21); and
a battery (power supply device 10 in fig 13; column 8, lines 22-25) for providing power to the display.
Eisenberg fails to disclose a moveable flap configured to cover the slot.
DE’105 discloses a moveable flap (flap 7 in figs 1-2, 4a-4b) configured to cover a slot (12 in fig 2) in an enclosure (11 in fig 1) of a docking station (O in fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a moveable flap to cover the slot, as shown in the device of DE’105, in order to prevent the penetration of dust and/or impurities into the enclosure.
Eisenberg in view of DE’105 fails to disclose that the display is foldable.
Erad discloses a display system (mobile device 400 in figs 4a-4d) comprising a display (display units 425+427 in fig 4D) that is foldable (i.e., foldable via connector 426 in fig 4D).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display that is foldable, as shown in the device of Erad, in order to provide the enclosure and display combination with increased display area.
Eisenberg in view of DE’105 and Erad fails to disclose a solar panel for powering the battery attached to the movable flap.
Kuo discloses an electronic device (laptop computer in fig 4) comprising a solar panel (solar cell module 50 in fig 1) provided on an exterior surface of an enclosure.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a solar panel on an exterior surface the enclosure so that when exposed to sunlight, the solar panel can convert solar energy into electric energy for charging the battery supplying power to the enclosure (Kuo: see paragraph 17). Also, since the movable flap and the solar panel are both attached to the enclosure, the solar panel is indirectly attached to the movable flap via the enclosure.
Eisenberg in view of DE’105, Erad and Kuo fails to disclose that the display comprises a plurality of display preference control buttons configured to (i.e., functional language) adjust brightness, contrast, and color settings for the display.
Lee discloses a display comprising a plurality of display preference control buttons (OSD button 932 in fig 1) configured to adjust brightness, contrast, and color settings for the display (see fig 1 and paragraph 7; herein, the conventional display apparatus 920 employs the OSD generator 929 and the OSD control part 930 to adjust display settings such as the size, the position, the contrast, the color temperature, the resolution, etc. of a picture area).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display with a plurality of display preference control buttons, as shown in the device of Lee, in order to provide user interface to adjust the display settings of the picture area.
Eisenberg in view of DE’105, Erad, Kuo and Lee fails to disclose that an exterior of the enclosure comprises a battery charge level indicator.
Ulla discloses an electronic device comprising a light indicator (battery indicator light 51 in fig 7) for showing a charge in a battery (see paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an exterior of the enclosure with a battery charge level indicator, as shown in the device of Ulla, in order to alert the user to the battery charge status while the display is in use.
Eisenberg in view of DE’105, Erad, Kuo, Lee and Ulla fails to disclose that the enclosure is an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene enclosure.
Shindo discloses an electronic device (PC 1 in fig 1A) comprising an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene enclosure (see paragraph 37; i.e., an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer resin forming the outline of the PC 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the enclosure from acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene material since ABS material offers display housings excellent durability, impact resistance, and chemical resistance at a low cost. Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 and 16-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIDHI THAKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841