DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argued Hsiao fails to disclose that the interfaces (AC-coupled interface and DC-coupled interface) are configured differently as recited in claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully submits that as indicated in the first Table in Remarks (03/16/2026), Hsiao’s path 1 is different from path 2 based on the types of signals (AC and DC signals) being communicated on each path, such as CLK (AC signal) on path 1, CTRL with embedded DC_EN_1 (DC signal) on path 2. The types of signals on path 1 and path 2 match to the claimed types of signals on AC and DC interfaces, and the claim does not recite AC-coupled interface is only for AC signal coupling, DC-coupled interface is only for DC signal coupling, further the claimed DC-coupled interface appears to perform AC signal coupling i.e. the second IF signal. Thus the new limitation is disclosed as path 1 having at least one AC signal (CLK) coupled thereof, path 2 having at least one DC signal (CTRL with embedded DC_EN_1) coupled thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsiao (US 20200287574 A1).
For claim 1. Hsiao discloses An electronic device comprising: an IF transceiver ([0041], figure 3) configured to
output a first IF signal (IF0) and an LO signal (AC signal REF_CLK) via an AC-coupled interface, the AC-coupled interface configured to perform AC-coupling, the first IF signal (IF0) being up-converted from a first baseband signal ([0040]), and the LO signal being generated by at least one processor (REF_CLK), and
output a second IF signal (IF1) and a first control signal ([0067]: DC_EN_1 having a predetermined pattern may be embedded in the control signal CTRL or may be encoded in the control signal CTRL) via a DC-coupled interface, the DC-coupled interface configured to perform DC-coupling (DC signal DC_EN_1), the second IF signal (IF1) being up-converted from a second baseband signal generated by the at least one processor, and the first control signal being generated based on the LO signal ([0064]: the control modem 311 may perform frequency shift on the control signal CTRL via a numerically controlled oscillator (NCO) circuit (not shown), so as to move the center frequency to the low IF band (for example, about 50-60 MHz); [0069] the low-IF control signal CTRL is applied with the reference clock signal REF_CLK transmission; hence control modem 311 modulates CTRL according to REF_CLK); and an RF module configured to separate the first IF signal and the LO signal obtained via the AC-coupled interface ([0053] diplexer circuit 324-1), separate the second IF signal and the first control signal obtained via the DC-coupled interface (diplexer circuit 324-2), generate a first RF signal (RF0) based on the first IF signal for transmission via an antenna array (322), and generate a second RF signal (RF1) based on the second IF signal for transmission via the antenna array (322).
For claim 2. The electronic device of claim 1, Hsiao discloses wherein the IF transceiver comprises: a first signal processing unit configured to process the first baseband signal and the second baseband signal to generate the first IF signal, the second IF signal, the LO signal, and the first control signal (figure 3, IF device 310); a first AC-coupled sub-interface configured to diplex the first IF signal and the LO signal for output to a first channel corresponding to the AC-coupled interface (314-1, 315-1, 324-1, 325-1); and a first DC-coupled sub-interface configured to diplex the second IF signal and the first control signal for output to a second channel corresponding to the DC-coupled interface (314-2, 315-2, 324-2, 325-2).
For claim 11. The electronic device of claim 2, Hsiao discloses wherein both the first channel and the second channel are based on FPCBs ([0005], [0027]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because none of the references, either alone or in combination, discloses or renders obvious claims 3-10 and 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
March 24, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643