DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: bristle mounting means in claim 1 and 15 and mounting means in claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the elongated member" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Carrington (USPN 4248543).
Carrington teaches a body (14) having mounting means (not labeled but corresponds to 24) for mounting a powder cartridge (12) thereon; and a brush head assembly (38) attachable to an operative front end of the body, the brush head assembly defining bristle mounting means (42) for retaining a plurality of circumferentially arranged bristles therein.
With regards to claim 2, a powder dispensing arrangement (squeeze), in use, operable selectively to dispense powder from the powder cartridge onto the plurality of bristles.
With regards to claim 3, the powder dispensing arrangement is operable to dispense measured doses of powder from the powder cartridge (dispenses based on squeeze).
With regards to claim 4, the applicant does not positively claim bristles in the claims. Therefore this claim holds no patentable weight.
With regards to claim 5, an interchangeable, tubular powder cartridge mountable (12) onto the body, the powder cartridge being filled with a forensic powder (13).
With regards to claim 6, the brush head assembly includes a powder dispensing aperture (top of 30) disposed on an operative front end thereof and a powder cartridge mounting portion on an operative rear end thereof, the brush head assembly including a duct (30) extending between the powder cartridge mounting portion and the powder dispensing aperture, for dispensing powder from the powder cartridge onto the plurality of bristles, in use.
With regards to claim 7, a dispensing arrangement operable selectively to dispense measured doses of powder from the powder cartridge (dispenses based on squeeze).
With regards to claim 8, the dispensing arrangement includes an agitator (28) disposed inside the powder cartridge.
With regards to claim 15, a body (14) having mounting means (not labeled but corresponds to 24) for mounting a powder cartridge (12) thereon; and a brush head assembly (38) attachable to an operative front end of the body, the brush head assembly defining bristle mounting means (via 42) capable of retaining a plurality of circumferentially arranged bristles therein; and a powder dispensing device (squeeze), operable to dispose powder from the cartridge onto the plurality of bristles.
Claim(s) 1-8, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Laxalt (USPN 3256550).
Laxalt teaches a body (10) having mounting means for mounting a powder cartridge (40) thereon; and a brush head assembly (34) attachable to an operative front end of the body, the brush head assembly defining bristle mounting means for retaining a plurality of circumferentially arranged bristles therein.
With regards to claim 2, a powder dispensing arrangement (22), in use, operable selectively to dispense powder from the powder cartridge onto the plurality of bristles.
With regards to claim 3, the powder dispensing arrangement is operable to dispense measured doses of powder from the powder cartridge (dispenses based on a shake).
With regards to claim 4, the applicant does not positively claim bristles in the claims. Therefore this claim holds no patentable weight.
With regards to claim 5, an interchangeable, tubular powder cartridge mountable (40) onto the body, the powder cartridge being filled with a forensic powder (56).
With regards to claim 6, the brush head assembly includes a powder dispensing aperture (22) disposed on an operative front end thereof and a powder cartridge mounting portion on an operative rear end thereof, the brush head assembly including a duct (46) extending between the powder cartridge mounting portion and the powder dispensing aperture, for dispensing powder from the powder cartridge onto the plurality of bristles, in use.
With regards to claim 7, a dispensing arrangement operable selectively to dispense measured doses of powder from the powder cartridge (dispenses based on a shake).
With regards to claim 8, the dispensing arrangement includes an agitator (60) disposed inside the powder cartridge.
With regards to claim 14, the powder cartridge is factory filled with the powder and includes a breakable seal (40), operable to break upon insertion of the powder cartridge into the body.
With regards to claim 15, a body (10) having mounting means for mounting a powder cartridge (40) thereon; and a brush head assembly (34) attachable to an operative front end of the body, the brush head assembly defining bristle mounting means capable of retaining a plurality of circumferentially arranged bristles therein; and a powder dispensing device (shake), operable to dispose powder from the cartridge onto the plurality of bristles.
With regards to claim 16, the powder dispensing device includes an agitator (60) removably inserted into an operative rear end of the cartridge.
With regards to claim 17, the agitator includes an attachment means (threading on 14) on an operative rear end thereof, allowing an elongated member (14) to be secured to an operative rear end of the cartridge.
With regards to claim 18, the attachment means is threaded and matched to a complementary thread on an operative rear end of the cartridge, allowing for screw on attachment and screw off detachment (figure 2).
Claim(s) 1-9, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Wiley (USPN 7153053).
Wiley teaches a body (38) having mounting means for mounting a powder cartridge (12) thereon; and a brush head assembly (14) attachable to an operative front end of the body, the brush head assembly defining bristle mounting means for retaining a plurality of circumferentially arranged bristles therein.
With regards to claim 2, a powder dispensing arrangement (50), in use, operable selectively to dispense powder from the powder cartridge onto the plurality of bristles.
With regards to claim 3, the powder dispensing arrangement is operable to dispense measured doses of powder from the powder cartridge (dispenses amount the user selects).
With regards to claim 4, the applicant does not positively claim bristles in the claims. Therefore this claim holds no patentable weight.
With regards to claim 5, an interchangeable, tubular powder cartridge mountable (12) onto the body, the powder cartridge being filled with a forensic powder (powder is not positively claimed, only the brush).
With regards to claim 6, the brush head assembly includes a powder dispensing aperture (52/54) disposed on an operative front end thereof and a powder cartridge mounting portion on an operative rear end thereof, the brush head assembly including a duct (44/46) extending between the powder cartridge mounting portion and the powder dispensing aperture, for dispensing powder from the powder cartridge onto the plurality of bristles, in use.
With regards to claim 7, a dispensing arrangement operable selectively to dispense measured doses of powder from the powder cartridge (dispenses amount the users selects).
With regards to claim 8, the dispensing arrangement includes an agitator (20) disposed inside the powder cartridge.
With regards to claim 9, the agitator includes a closure in the form of a disk (figure 4 shows that the bottom of 20 is disc shaped) at a front end of the agitator operable to close onto a shoulder at an inside of the cartridge front end.
With regards to claim 15, a body (38) having mounting means for mounting a powder cartridge (12) thereon; and a brush head assembly (14) attachable to an operative front end of the body, the brush head assembly defining bristle mounting means capable of retaining a plurality of circumferentially arranged bristles therein; and a powder dispensing device (20/42), operable to dispose powder from the cartridge onto the plurality of bristles.
With regards to claim 16, the powder dispensing device includes an agitator (20) removably inserted into an operative rear end of the cartridge.
With regards to claim 17, the agitator includes an attachment means (22) on an operative rear end thereof, allowing an elongated member (24) to be secured to an operative rear end of the cartridge.
With regards to claim 18, the attachment means is threaded and matched to a complementary thread on an operative rear end of the cartridge, allowing for screw on attachment and screw off detachment (figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiley (‘053) in view of Huang (CN 117100052).
Wiley teaches a biasing means (24/30) operable to bias the agitator toward a closed position. The biasing means comprises an actuating mechanism (30) (claim 10). Wiley also teaches a rotational ratchet mechanism (24), operable to rotate the agitator when operated and at least one dispensing aperture (42/46), and the shoulder includes a matched dispensing aperture (52/54), which when both apertures are radially in register opens the inside of the cartridge onto the duct in the brush head assembly and, when both apertures are not radially in register, closes the inside of the cartridge onto the duct in the brush head assembly (claim 11). Wiley also teaches that the agitator includes a longitudinal planar portion operable to rotate in unison with the rotational ratchet (bottom of 20) (claim 12). Lastly, Wiley teaches that the disk and shoulder include two opposed cams operable to rotate the agitator when cooperating with the shoulder (22 and 38) (claim 13). Wiley however fails to teach that the biasing means includes a compression spring (claim 10).
Huang teaches a dispensing device that comprises a compression spring to assist in dispensing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wiley so that the biasing means comprises a compression spring as taught by Huang to allow for the agitator to be urged in an engaged position thus allowing for easier dispensing.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laxalt (‘550) in view of Cao (CN 113243909).
Laxalt teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach a light source being attached to the brush head. Cao teaches a forensic brush with a plurality of light emitting diodes (13) on the front end of the brush head. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laxalt so that there are lights on the brush head of Laxalt as taught by Cao to allow for the user to have an all in one forensic finger print collection device without needing separate devices to dust and illuminate.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723