DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Non-compliant Amendment
Please note that the filed amendment fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.121 because it fails to include a properly marked-up copy of the amended claims showing the changes made to the previous version of the claims. Additionally, the claim numbering and/or status identifiers, specifically for new claim 28 and claims 40-42 is also incompliant. Claim 28 should have been canceled and the new claim should have been labeled as a New claim 43. Applicant is required to submit a corrected amendment that complies with the claim amendment formatting requirements of 37 CFR 1.121, including a properly marked-up copy of the claims and accurate claim numbering and status identifiers. In order to expedite prosecution, no notice of non-compliance was sent by the office. It was interpreted that claims 29-42 are canceled and the new claim in the current claim set filed on 8/6/2026 is claim number 43 (see claim set of 12/18/2025 regarding claims 29-42 as being cancelled).
Claim Objections
Claims 28 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 28 recites the limitation “at least one of the first magnet and the second magnet bonded by glue, by a mechanical attachment, or by a material similar to the plastic of the body”. It should instead be recited as “at least one of the first magnet is bonded to the to the appliance or the second magnet is configured to be bonded to the tooth, by glue, by a mechanical attachment, or by a material similar to the plastic of the body”, for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 (herein understood as claim number 43) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 28 (herein understood to be claim number 43) recited the limitation “at least one of the first magnet and the second magnet is bonded…by a material similar to the plastic of the body”. There is not support in the specification for said limitation. In paragraphs [026], [029] of the specification, it is discussed that the magnets may be bonded by composite adhesives or by mechanical means. The composite adhesives listed are ceramics, epoxies and the like. In paragraph [024], it is disclosed that the material of the appliance may be a plastic or polymer (e.g., polyethylene terephthalate enhanced with glycol (BIOSTAR) polyethylene terephthalate (BenQ), thermoplastic polyurethanes, polyvinyl chloride, or other suitable biocompatible polymers), metals, alloys and/or other magnetic or magnetizable material(s). However, there is no disclosure of the magnets being bonded by a material similar to the plastic body.
Claims 21-22, 25-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “wherein a second magnet is disposed within the pocket and configured to be bonded to the tooth”. It is unclear how the second magnet is within the pocket and bonded to the tooth. It should be clarified that the second magnet is configured to be bonded to the tooth and configured to be disposed in the pocket during use.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “wherein the first and second magnets have the same polarity or an opposite polarity”. In claim 21, it is recited that the magnets are spaced apart from one another when they interact during use of the aligner. It is unclear how a pair of magnets with opposite polarities would be spaced apart from each other during use since they would inherently attract each other in order to interact. For examining purposes, the limitation was understood as “wherein the first and second magnets have the same polarity ”, such that the magnets of claim 21 have the same polarity and they repel to remain spaced apart during engagement.
Claim 27 recites the limitation “wherein the pocket is spaced apart from the second magnet”. It is unclear how the pocket is spaced apart from the second magnet when it is recited in claim 21 that the second magnet is configured to be disposed in the pocket”. It should be clarified that “the pocket is spaced apart from the second magnet when the appliance is not in use”.
Claim 28 (herein understood to be claim number 43) recites the limitation “at least one of the first magnet and the second magnet is bonded…by a material similar to the plastic of the body”. It is unclear what is meant by the limitation because the scope of the term “similar” is vague and it’s unclear how they are similar. It was understood that the limitation is omitted. Clarification is required.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-22, 25, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Darendeliller (US 2010/0183997 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Darendeliler teaches an orthodontic aligner (17), comprising:
a clear, plastic body having a plurality of indentations for accepting teeth (see Figures and [0045]) and at least one pocket, wherein the pocket is closed on one side by the body and is configured to be closed on the opposite side by a tooth when the aligner is worn by the patient , thereby defining a closed space of the pocket volume when in use (see annotated Fig. below; such that the pocket is closed on one side by the shell and on the other side by the tooth when it is engaged with the teeth and houses a pair of magnets, see 19 and 21),
wherein a first magnet (21) is disposed within the pocket and bonded to an inner surface of the body (see Figures and [0028], [0044], such that the antagonist magnet can be incorporated in or fixed to the appliance inner surface),
wherein a second magnet (19) is disposed within the pocket and configured to be bonded to the tooth (see Fig. 1b, [0046]),
wherein the first magnet and the second magnet are positioned within the pocket such that a space is maintained between them throughout use of the aligner by virtue of their respective bonds to the body and to the tooth ([0046] and see Figures; such that the magnets repel each other and therefore inherently have a gap between them when they interact),
the size of the pocket maintaining the space and preventing the magnets from contacting each other (see Figures; such that the repulsive magnets, which inherently have a gap between them during interaction, are enclosed with the pocket during use), and
wherein the first magnet and the second magnet interact with one another to apply orthodontic force ([0046]).
Regarding claim 22, Darendeliler teaches the aligner of claim 21, wherein the first and second magnets have the same polarity or opposite polarity ([0046]; the magnets are repulsive and therefore they have the same polarity).
Regarding claim 25, Darendeliler teaches the aligner of claim 21, wherein the first magnet is offset relative to the second magnet (see Figures 3, 8 and [0066]).
Regarding claim 27, Darendeliler teaches aligner of claim 21, wherein the pocket is spaced apart from the second magnet (such that the pocket is not in contact with the second magnet when the appliance is not worn on the teeth).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darendeliler (US 2010/0183997 A1), in view of Dellinger (US 2009/0305182 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Darendeliller teaches the aligner of claim 21 (see rejection above). Darendelliler teaches the magnets may be coated or sealed with any suitable material ([0086]), but is silent to explicitly the magnets are coated in at least one of a metal or a metallic alloy.
Dellinger teaches a system in the same field of endeavor of orthodontic systems comprising magnets (abstract). Dellinger teaches the system comprises magnets (44) that are placed in the patient’s mouth to apply orthodontic forces and may be formed of a biocompatible material to allow its implantation in the mouth for a period of time such that for example, each magnet may have a gold coating ([0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnets to have a gold coating, as taught by Dellinger, such that it is a proper and biologically safe material for magnets used orthodontically.
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darendeliler (US 2010/0183997 A1), in view of Hoyberg (US 9,775,687 B1).
Regarding claim 43 (understood as claim 43 instead of claim 28), Darendeliller teaches the aligner of claim 21, wherein at least one of the first magnet is bonded to the appliance and the second magnet is configured to be bonded to the tooth but does not teach them being bonded by glue, by a mechanical attachment, or by a material similar to the plastic of the body.
Hoyberg teaches a pair of magnets comprising a first magnet bonded to a holder (e.g., an appliance) and a second magnet bonded to a tooth such that the magnets interact with one another to apply orthodontic forces to the teeth (abstract and see Figures). Hoyberg teaches the magnet may be placed on the teeth with a flue, cement or other material capable of bonding/coupling the magnet to the tooth and the second magnet may be retained in the holder tray with glue or cement (Col. 4 lines 31-36 and Col. 7 lines 34-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnets to be bonded to their respective surfaces using glue or cement, as taught by Hoyberg, because it is a well-known and commonly used material to bond an orthodontic attachment to the teeth and to an appliance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments that Darendeliller does not teach the pocket being sized such that the magnets remain spaced apart are not persuasive. Although the pocket of the instant invention may be sized and the magnets are bonded relative to one another in a manner that keeps them spaced apart, the claims, as recited, require the magnets to be spaced apart and the pocket to be sized such that it can enclose them when they interact (including the space/gap between them). Therefore, since Darendeliller teaches the magnets being repulsive, they are inherently spaced apart. Darendeliller also teaches the pocket enclosing the interacting magnets during use, and therefore it also reads on said limitation.
The claim amendments overcome the previous claim objections, 112 rejections and 101 rejections. However, please note the new claim objections and 35 USC 112(b) rejections above.
Conclusion
/LINA FARAJ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/HEIDI M EIDE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
10/28/2026