Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A1 compr in the reply filed on February 13th, 2026 is acknowledged. However, the Examiner withdraws the requirement for a species election between Species A1 (drawn to a system where a safety vent is formed in the sidewall of a battery; claim 5) and Species A2 (drawn to a system where a safety vent is formed in the cap of a battery; claim 6). Claims 1, 4-6, and 9-12 will be examined.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 4 recites the term an “open end”. In a sealed battery, it is not immediately clear which end is “open”. Paragraph [0030] of the published application states that “a cap or lid is connected to the first open end of the battery can to seal the hollow interior”. This indicates that whatever side is “open” or exposed to the environment when the battery is being first created would be the “open” end. However, based on battery design, it is not always clear which end is the original open end of a battery. Therefore, unless there is a clearly defined cap or lid, any end of a battery may be considered an “open” end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dannar (WO 2021/041935 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dannar discloses a system comprising a container (Fig. 1, 104) containing battery cells (Fig. 1, 108) inside compartments (Fig. 1, 110a) in a battery mounting area. This area is fluidly isolated from the venting area through a wall (Fig. 1, 115) and a lid (Fig. 1, 132) that may be air-tight. Dannar teaches that it may be air-tight (page 7, paragraphs 4 and 5). Dannar continues to disclose battery cells that may have a safety vent (page 8, paragraph 4) within the battery mounting area. This safety vent is coupled to a venting area that is fluidly isolated from the battery mounting area by a conduit (the pipe 114 in the figure below). This pipe meets the limitation of a conduit extending between the safety vent on the battery and the venting area that is recited within claim 9. Dannar continues to disclose a fan (Fig. 1, 124) that helps to ensure that the exhaust from the battery cells reaches the external venting area. Although Dannar teaches that a fan may be used in embodiments that do not have an air-tight lid, Dannar does mention that a fan may “further encourage effluent movement” throughout their venting system (page 8, paragraph 1) This fan meets the limitation of the “movement mechanism” recited in claim 10. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a fan may be used in a closed system to achieve the same effect, especially since the scope of a disclosure is not limited to specific embodiments or configurations described within.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dannar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song (US 2019/0165407 A1).
Regarding claims 4-6, Dannar discloses a battery cell with a safety vent, but does not teach a battery can with a first open end, a second closed end, a cap affixed to the first open end, or a sidewall extending between the first open end and the second closed end. Dannar also does not teach a safety vent in either the cap of the battery cell or the sidewall of the battery cell. Song is analogous art to Dannar because both of their disclosures discuss lithium batteries (Song, title). Song teaches a cylindrical battery can that includes a first open end, a second closed end, and a sidewall extending between the two. Song’s battery also includes a cap (Fig. 4, 220) affixed to battery can adjacent to the first open end. See the figure below:
Song continues to teach that there is a safety vent in the cap which meets the limitations of claim 6 (abstract and Fig. 9, element 30).
Song continues to teach that an alloy member may be included in the sidewall of the battery to crack open and function as a vent in case of a thermal event to prevent ignition of the battery which meets the limitations of claim 5 ([0040], Fig. 4, 230). Song teaches that the usage of these safety vents in a battery cell may prevent ignition (abstract). Additionally, these cylindrical cells one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that these battery cells are suitable to be used as the battery cells in the compartments of Dannar’s battery container. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use Song’s battery cells in Dannar’s battery container in order to prevent ignition of the battery cells during use.
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dannar and Song as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Habitzl (US 2013/0140045 A1). Dannar and Song are silent on the usage of an additional inerting system. Habitzl is analogous art to Dannar and Song because all of their disclosures are concerned with the prevention or management of fires. Habitzl teaches the usage of an inerting system comprising an extinguishing-agent tank, a pipeline, and nozzles [0013]. Habitzl mentions in their disclosure that inert gases such as nitrogen or argon may be used to extinguish fires [0009]. Since modified Dannar’s flammable exhaust would flow into the venting area that is isolated from the battery mounting area, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would be reasonable to use Habitzl’s system in this venting area. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use Habitzl’s system in modified Dannar’s venting area in order to suppress potential fires that may erupt in said area due to the battery’s exhaust with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dannar and Song as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schoenrock (US 2002/0027143 A1). Dannar and Song are silent on the use of an additional suppression system. Schoenrock is analogous art to Dannar and Song because all of their disclosures are concerned with the prevention or management of fires. Schoenrock teaches the usage of a system that pushes a fire suppressant from tank or cylinder [0027] through a pipe system and an atomizing nozzle (abstract) in order to suppress fires [0001]. Since modified Dannar’s flammable exhaust would flow into the venting area that is isolated from the battery mounting area, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would be reasonable to use Schoenrock’s system in this venting area. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use Schoenrock’s system in modified Dannar’s venting area in order to suppress potential fires that may erupt in said area due to the battery’s exhaust with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yebka (US 2010/0055545 A1) discloses a venting system in a battery cell that involves a safety vent in the cap assembly of the battery (Fig. 2A below).
Lelic (US 2010/0294518 A1) discloses a robust fire suppression system that uses inert gas (abstract).
/R.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722