DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-20, in the reply filed on 7 October 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 21-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonnette et al. (US 2006/0229645; hereinafter “Bonnette”).
Regarding claim 1, Bonnette discloses a system for inserting a collapsible blood pump into a patient, the system comprising: an introducer (e.g. Fig. 8, #16a), the introducer comprising an introducer hub (e.g. Fig. 8, #152 and proximal) and an introducer sheath extending distally from the introducer hub (e.g. Fig. 8, #54), the introducer sheath comprising an introducer sheath lumen (e.g. ¶¶ 48-52; Fig. 5b – where there is clearly a passage or central lumen for 14 to pass through), the introducer hub comprising a hub connector and a distal hub lumen surrounding a proximal end of the introducer shaft (e.g. Fig. 8, elements proximal to and including 152); and a transfer tool (e.g. Fig. 89, #12) comprising a transfer sheath, the transfer sheath comprising a transfer sheath lumen having a diameter substantially equal to a diameter of the introducer sheath lumen (e.g. Fig. 8, catheter tube 14 having substantially equal to the introducer sheath lumen) and a transfer tool connector adapted to connect to the hub connector, a distal portion of the transfer sheath extending into the hub when the transfer tool connector is connected to the hub connector (e.g. ¶¶ 61-66; Fig. 8, #160/162 connect to 166).
Regarding claim 2, Bonnette discloses the distal portion of the transfer sheath extends into the distal hub lumen when the transfer tool connector is connected to the hub connector (e.g. ¶¶ 61-66).
Regarding claim 3, Bonnette discloses the distal end of the transfer sheath abuts a proximal end of the introducer sheath when the transfer tool connector is connected to the hub connector (e.g. as shown in Fig.7).
Regarding claim 4, Bonnette discloses the introducer hub further comprises a tapered surface extending proximally and radially outwardly from the distal hub lumen (e.g. Fig. 8, wher e the threaded portion is tapered to a smaller diameter than element 152).
Regarding claim 5, Bonnette discloses the introducer further comprises a one-way valve disposed in the introducer hub proximal to the introducer sheath lumen and configured to seal against vascular pressure (e.g. ¶¶ 66).
Regarding claim 6, Bonnette discloses the introducer further comprises a seal disposed in the introducer hub proximal to the introducer sheath and configured to seal against vascular pressure around a range of diameters of devices inserted through the seal (e.g. ¶¶ 47).
Regarding claim 7, Bonnette discloses the introducer further comprising a disc valve disposed in the introducer hub proximal to the introducer sheath and configured to seal against vascular pressure around a range of diameters of devices inserted through the valve (e.g. ¶¶ 47 – “catheter tube 14 extends through and seals against the interior of a strain relief 32 and through the connector 30 to communicate with the manifold 12”).
Regarding claim 8, Bonnette discloses the introducer hub further comprises a purge fluid port in fluid communication with the distal hub lumen (e.g. ¶¶ X).
Regarding claim 9, Bonnette discloses the hub connector comprises threads disposed on the introducer hub (e.g. Fig. 8, #166).
Regarding claim 10, Bonnette discloses the hub connector and transfer tool connector are configured to provide an axial force to move the transfer sheath and introducer sheath toward each other (e.g. ¶¶ 52, 54 – exhaust branch 22).
Regarding claim 11, Bonnette discloses the transfer tool further comprises a proximal hub surrounding a proximal portion of the transfer sheath (e.g. Fig. 8, #20).
Regarding claim 12, Bonnette discloses the transfer tool proximal hub comprises a central lumen, the proximal portion of the transfer sheath being disposed in the central lumen, the central lumen having a reduced diameter portion proximal to a proximal end of the transfer sheath (e.g. Fig. 8 – ¶¶ 60-66 – where the lumen sizing is reduced in diameter to fit within the introducer lumen).
Regarding claim 13, Bonnette discloses the transfer tool proximal hub further comprises a purge fluid port communicating with the central lumen (e.g. ¶¶ 52, 54 – exhaust branch 22).
Regarding claim 14, Bonnette discloses the transfer tool proximal hub further comprises a seal adapted to seal around a catheter portion of a blood pump (e.g. ¶¶ 51).
Regarding claim 15, Bonnette discloses the transfer tool further comprises a handle surrounding the transfer sheath (e.g. ¶¶ 48-52).
Regarding claim 16, Bonnette discloses the handle extends proximally from the transfer tool connector (e.g. ¶¶ Fig. 8, #64/66).
Regarding claim 17, Bonnette discloses the transfer tool further comprises a proximal hub, the handle extending from the transfer tool connector to the proximal hub (e.g. ¶¶ 51).
Regarding claim 18, Bonnette discloses the transfer tool connector comprises threads disposed at a distal end of the handle, the distal portion of the transfer sheath extending distally beyond the transfer tool connector (e.g. ¶¶ 60-66).
Regarding claim 19, Bonnette discloses the transfer tool connector comprises a rotatable ring with internal threads (e.g. ¶¶ 60-66).
Regarding claim 20, Bonnette discloses the distal portion of the transfer sheath is radially expandable (e.g. ¶¶ 54-55).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796