DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 11/05/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-22 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Previous objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments. New rejection to claim 1 and response to arguments below.
Priority
It is noted that the instant application is a Continuation-In-Part of U.S. Application No. 16/707,693
. MPEP 211.05 I. B. first paragraph states, “A continuation-in-part application may include matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application. See MPEP § 201.08. Only the claims of the continuation-in-part application that are disclosed in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) in the prior-filed application are entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the prior-filed application.”
Claim 1 of the instant application recites, “wherein the imaging sensor comprises an infrared transmitter and an infrared receiver.” There is no support for an infrared transmitter and an infrared receiver in U.S. 16/707,693. Therefore, claim 1 and all dependent claims thereof will be treated with a priority date of 01/10/2023.
Claim 13 of the instant application recites, “an imaging sensor at the distal end, wherein the imaging sensor comprises an infrared transmitter and an infrared receiver.” There is no support for an infrared transmitter and an infrared receiver in U.S. 16/707,693. Therefore, claim 13 and all dependent claims thereof will be treated with a priority date of 01/10/2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the controller (claim 1, 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A controller configured to control the imaging sensor to capture infrared images and to control the distance sensor to determine a distance between the distal end and an object in claims 1 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 13, and all dependent claims thereof is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 13 have been amended to recite inter alia “a controller configured to control the imaging sensor to capture infrared images and to control the distance sensor to determine a distance between the distal end and an object.” MPEP 2161.01 I. 6th para states, “claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed.” There is no support in the specification for the specific structure of the controller or what functions it performs to control the image sensor and distance sensor. Therefore claim 1 and all dependent claims thereof are rejected for failing the written description requirement.
Claim limitation “a controller configured to control the imaging sensor to capture infrared images and to control the distance sensor to determine a distance between the distal end and an object” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 and 12-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dacosta et al. (U.S. 2022/0248944) in view of Hsia (U.S. 2021/0169310) and Ushijima et al. (U.S. 2021/0099645).
With respect to claim 1, Dacosta et al. teaches an imaging catheter comprising:
a shaft (140) extending along a longitudinal axis between a proximal end and a distal end;
a plug (150) at the proximal end, the plug comprising electrical terminals (para [0065]); and
an imaging sensor at the distal end, the imaging sensor comprises an infrared imaging sensor transmitter (170) and an infrared imaging sensor receiver (190, para [0073]);
a distance sensor (175); and
a controller configured to control the imaging sensor to capture infrared images and to control the distance sensor to determine a distance between the distal end and an object (para [0109], [0112], [0118]-[0125] for example).
However, Dacosta does not show the orientation of the electrical terminals of the plug. Further, Dacosta et al. does not expressly teach the distance sensor is an infrared transmitter and receiver.
With respect to claim 1, Hsia teaches a plug comprising electrical terminals oriented perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 1, Ushijima et al. teaches a distance sensor comprises an infrared transmitter and another infrared receiver (para [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the plug of Dacosta et al. to utilize the configuration of Hsia in order to maximizes the amount of data from the distal sensor that can be communicated through its connection to the handle (para [0018] of Hsia).
Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the distance sensor of Dacosta et al. to utilize the infrared transmitter and receiver in the manner taught by Ushijima et al. teaches it is one of a known set of options that can be substituted for one another such that the results of such a substitution would have been predictable (para [0038] of Ushijima et al.).
With respect to claim 2, Dacosta et al. teaches the infrared imaging sensor transmitter is configured to transmit near infrared light and the infrared imaging sensor receiver is configured to receive the near infrared light (para [0082] for example).
With respect to claim 3, Hsia teaches at least some electrical terminals of the electrical terminals are longitudinally or circumferentially offset from at least some other electrical terminals of the electrical terminals (FIG. 4B for example).
With respect to claim 4, Hsia teaches the plug comprises a curved outer wall and apertures extending through the curved outer wall, and the apertures respectively accommodate the electrical terminals (FIG. 4B for example).
With respect to claim 5, Dacosta et al. teaches a the distance sensor is configured to detect a signal; and the controller is configured to determine a distance between the distal end and the object based on the signal (para [0124] for example)).
With respect to claims 7-10, these limitations are considered intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
With respect to claim 12, Hsia teaches markers located along the longitudinal axis the distal end (para [0053]).
With respect to claim 13, Dacosta et al. teaches a medical device comprising:
a shaft (140) extending along a longitudinal axis between a proximal end and a distal end;
a plug (150) at the proximal end, the plug comprising first electrical terminals (para [0065]);
an imaging sensor at the distal end, wherein the imaging sensor comprises an infrared imaging sensor transmitter (170) and an infrared imaging sensor receiver (190, para [0073]);
a distance sensor (175);
a controller configured to control the imaging sensor to capture infrared images and to control the distance sensor to determine a distance between the distal end and an object (para [0109], [0112], [0118]-[0125] for example); and
a handle (110) extending along the longitudinal axis and configured to detachably connect to the proximal end (para [0065]), the handle comprising second electrical terminals, wherein the second electrical terminals, when the plug is inserted in the handle establish electrical connections with the first electrical terminals (para [0065]).
However, Dacosta does not show the orientation of the electrical terminals of the plug. Further, Dacosta et al. does not expressly teach the distance sensor is an infrared transmitter and receiver.
With respect to claim 13, Hsia teaches a medical device comprising:
a shaft extending along a longitudinal axis between a proximal end and a distal end (FIG. 2);
a plug at the proximal end (80), the plug comprising first electrical terminals oriented perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (FIG. 2, 4A);
a handle extending along a longitudinal axis (40 FIG. 2, see also FIG. 1A) and configured to detachably connect to the proximal end, the handle comprising second electrical terminals oriented perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (FIG. 4D for example), wherein, when the plug is inserted in the handle, the second electrical terminals establish electrical connections with the first electrical terminals (FIG. 4E for example).
With respect to claim 13, Ushijima et al. teaches a distance sensor comprises an infrared transmitter and another infrared receiver (para [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the plug of Dacosta et al. to utilize the configuration of Hsia in order to maximizes the amount of data from the distal sensor that can be communicated through its connection to the handle (para [0018] of Hsia).
Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the distance sensor of Dacosta et al. to utilize the infrared transmitter and receiver in the manner taught by Ushijima et al. teaches it is one of a known set of options that can be substituted for one another such that the results of such a substitution would have been predictable (para [0038] of Ushijima et al.).
With respect to claim 14, Dacosta et al. teaches the infrared imaging sensor transmitter is configured to transmit near infrared light and the infrared imaging sensor receiver is configured to receive the near infrared light (para [0082] for example).
With respect to claim 15, Hsia teaches at least some electrical terminals of the electrical terminals are longitudinally or circumferentially offset from at least some other electrical terminals of the electrical terminals (FIG. 4B for example), and at least some second electrical terminals of the second electrical terminals are longitudinally or circumferentially offset from at least some other second electrical terminals of the second electrical terminals (FIG. 4D for example).
With respect to claim 16, Hsia teaches the plug comprises a curved outer wall and apertures extending through the curved outer wall, and the apertures respectively accommodate the electrical terminals (FIG. 4B for example).
With respect to claim 17, Hsia teaches the handle comprises an inner wall that defines a cavity configured to receive the plug (FIG. 2, 4E for example).
With respect to claim 18, Hsia teaches the cavity further comprises second apertures (100) that extend through the inner wall, wherein the second apertures respectively accommodate the second electrical terminals (FIG. 4D).
With respect to claim 19, Hsia teaches the second electrical terminals, when the plug is inserted in the cavity, are received the first apertures to establish the electrical connections (FIG. 4E for example).
With respect to claim 20, Hsia teaches electrical conductors extending through the shaft from the proximal end to the distal end, wherein respective electrical conductors are electrically connected to respective first electrical terminals and to the imaging sensor (para [0056]).
With respect to claim 21, Dacosta teaches the imaging sensor is a first imaging sensor and the imaging catheter further comprises a second imaging sensor that is configured to sense visible light (para [0118])
With respect to claim 22, Dacosta teaches the imaging sensor is a first imaging sensor and the medical device further comprises a second imaging sensor that is configured to sense visible light (para [0118]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., allow each sensor to perform its respective function without causing infrared transmission that could interfere with the function of the other sensor) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that Ushijima does not teach a distance sensing unit together with an infrared based imaging sensor, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The primary reference of Dacosta teaches an infrared based imaging sensor and a range finder. The secondary reference of Ushijima is to modify the range finder of Dacosta to utilize the IR based distance sensor disclosed by Ushijima.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799