DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/152,875 filed on 01/11/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claim 11 is amended. Claim 12-19 are cancelled. Claims 1-11 and 20-28 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed on 03/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-11 and 20-28 have been considered but are not persuasive because the arguments do not apply to the references as used in the current rejection. Examiner provides a new ground(s) of rejections to address Applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0140323 A1 hereinafter Wang) in view of Nam et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0098590 A1 hereinafter Nam), and further in view of Sang et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0176656 A1 hereinafter Sang).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches “a method for determining synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) search information, performed by a terminal” as [(Para. 0062), The UE could be configured with periodic reference signal from the serving cell, e.g., CSI-RS or SS/PBCH Block (SSB), for beam failure detection.] “and comprising: obtaining target information comprising frequency domain information of SSB, the frequency domain information of SSB comprising a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of SSB;” [(Para. 0169-0171), Example 10 may include a method of a UE, the method comprising: receiving configuration information for a pathloss reference signal associated with an uplink signal to be transmitted using inter-cell multi-transmission-reception point (TRP) operation, wherein the configuration information includes a cell ID and a frequency domain of an SSB associated with the pathloss reference signal; and measuring or causing measurement of a pathloss on the pathloss reference signal based on the configuration information.] “and determining related information of SSB search based on the target information;” [(Para. 0045), In 5G NR Rel-15/Rel-16, SS/PBCH Block (SSB) which contains synchronization signals is transmitted periodically and could be used for beam management purpose.].
However, Wang does not specifically disclose wherein: the related information of SSB search comprises at least one of: parameter information of SSB; or a parameter for the terminal to perform cell reselection; the parameter information of SSB comprises an SSB periodicity assumed when the terminal performs initial cell selection; the parameter for the terminal to perform cell reselection comprises at least one of: a scaling value of a parameter required for cell reselection; or whether the terminal performs scaling on the parameter required for cell reselection during cell reselection; the determining related information of SSB search based on the target information comprises determining, based on the SCS of SSB, at least one of following: the SSB periodicity assumed when the terminal performs initial cell selection; the scaling value of the parameter required for cell reselection; or whether the terminal performs scaling on the parameter required for cell reselection during cell reselection.
In an analogous art, Nam teaches “wherein: the related information of SSB search comprises at least one of: parameter information of SSB; or a parameter for the terminal to perform cell reselection;” as [(Para. 0155), SSB periodicity] “the parameter information of SSB comprises an SSB periodicity assumed when the terminal performs initial cell selection;” [(Para. 0155), When the full SSBs are mapped (according to the value of L), up to 5 msec duration is occupied. Hence, a common offset value, oRMSI, that can always be used for TDM mapping is the slot number corresponding to 5 msec. If mapping of both SSBs and RMSIs in a same half-frame is desired, the slot number corresponding to 2 or 3 msec in the RMSI numerology can also be considered to be signaled. This second number may be necessary for 5 msec SSB periodicity and TDM is desired by the network. Similarly, the slot number corresponding to 7 or 8 msec in the RMSI numerology can also be considered. … (Para. 0123), For facilitating minimum capability UE's reception of SSBs and other initial access signals, it could be considered such that the intra-frequency SMTC configuration (i.e., periodicity, offset and duration) is provided in the early stage of initial access, e.g., RMSI or SIBx.] “the determining related information of SSB search based on the target information comprises determining, based on the SCS of SSB, at least one of following: the SSB periodicity assumed when the terminal performs initial cell selection” [(Para. 0155), When the full SSBs are mapped (according to the value of L), up to 5 msec duration is occupied. Hence, a common offset value, oRMSI, that can always be used for TDM mapping is the slot number corresponding to 5 msec. If mapping of both SSBs and RMSIs in a same half-frame is desired, the slot number corresponding to 2 or 3 msec in the RMSI numerology can also be considered to be signaled. This second number may be necessary for 5 msec SSB periodicity and TDM is desired by the network. Similarly, the slot number corresponding to 7 or 8 msec in the RMSI numerology can also be considered.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Wang to provide an effective technique as taught by Nam to configuring control resource set for common and/or specific control information in next generation wireless communication systems to provide flexibility to support various applications meeting part on a use case basis [Nam: Para. 0002-0003].
However, the combination of Wang and Nam does not specifically disclose the parameter for the terminal to perform cell reselection comprises at least one of: a scaling value of a parameter required for cell reselection; or whether the terminal performs scaling on the parameter required for cell reselection during cell reselection; the determining related information of SSB search based on the target information comprises determining, based on the SCS of SSB, at least one of following: the SSB periodicity assumed when the terminal performs initial cell selection; the scaling value of the parameter required for cell reselection; or whether the terminal performs scaling on the parameter required for cell reselection during cell reselection.
In an analogous art, Sang teaches “the parameter for the terminal to perform cell reselection” [(Para. 0293), does a UE camping on a CD-SSB see only the initial BWP during cell reselection (based on SIB1˜SIB3) … (Para. 0175), The UE shall only perform cell reselection evaluation] “comprises at least one of: a scaling value of a parameter required for cell reselection;” [(Para. 0054), scale the mobility measurements in accordance with at least one BWP parameter] “or whether the terminal performs scaling on the parameter required for cell reselection during cell reselection;” [(Para. 0328), scaling is performed using RSRP's BW on the RSRP threshold for cell reselection, with the BWP's BW being used to differentiate] “the determining related information of SSB search based on the target information comprises determining, based on the SCS of SSB, at least one of following: the scaling value of the parameter required for cell reselection; or whether the terminal performs scaling on the parameter required for cell reselection during cell reselection” [(Para. 0133), The parameters to construct a BWP include: numerology (i.e., subcarrier spacing, cyclic prefix (CP), symbol duration) … (Para. 0054), scale the mobility measurements in accordance with at least one BWP parameter].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Wang and Nam to provide an effective technique as taught by Sang for supporting measurements and mobility in a wireless communications system to support larger numbers of users and to meet the ever-increasing demand for greater data rates [Sang: Para. 0002-0003].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wang, Nam and Sang, specifically Nam teaches “wherein the frequency domain information of SSB further comprises: a frequency range in which a search frequency of SSB falls; or the related information of SSB search further comprises: parameter information of synchronization signal and PBCH block measurement timing configuration (SMTC)” as [(Para. 0123), For facilitating minimum capability UE's reception of SSBs and other initial access signals, it could be considered such that the intra-frequency SMTC configuration (i.e., periodicity, offset and duration) is provided in the early stage of initial access, e.g., RMSI or SIBx. For the minimum capability UEs, the intra-frequency SMTC duration may be regarded as measurement gap, similarly to the legacy inter-frequency case.].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang, Nam and Sang, specifically Nam teaches “wherein the parameter information of SSB further comprises: configured parameter information of SSB; or the parameter information of SMTC comprises at least one of: an SMTC value assumed when the terminal performs SSB measurement; or configured parameter information of SMTC” as [(Para. 0131), Periodicity: For the CSS, the periodicity does not need to be explicitly configured in PBCH. It is noted that for individual SIBx, this periodicity and SSB-common slot offset can be signalled or predefined in the spec.].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wang, Nam and Sang, specifically Nam teaches “wherein the configured parameter information of SMTC comprises at least one of an SMTC periodicity or an SMTC length.” as [(Para. 0057), During the SMTC window duration in which UE performs measurement on SS blocks based on one of the SSB composition indications, the UL transmissions should be overridden to ensure that the UE performs measurement (i.e., the UL transmissions need to be dropped or rate matched around on the indicated SSB OFDM symbols). On the other hand, outside the SMTC window duration in which UE receives UL/DL data, it could be allowed so that the UE transmits PUSCH/PUCCH on an SS block which is turned on by the indication (i.e., the SMTC configuration is overridden and transmission direction configuration is prioritized).].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wang, Nam and Sang, specifically Nam teaches “wherein in a case that the target information is in a first state, the related information of SSB search further comprises at least one of: parameter information of SSB being first SSB parameter information; or a parameter for the terminal to perform cell reselection being a first parameter;” as [(Para. 0123), For facilitating minimum capability UE's reception of SSBs and other initial access signals, it could be considered such that the intra-frequency SMTC configuration (i.e., periodicity, offset and duration) is provided in the early stage of initial access, e.g., RMSI or SIBx.] “wherein that the target information is in the first state means that the target information satisfies at least one of: a search frequency of SSB being in a preset frequency range; or an SCS of the SSB being a first preset frequency value” [(Para. 0152), The SSB location in time domain is dependent upon the subcarrier spacing value. The shaded areas correspond to the SSB locations. For example, for 15 kHz SCS, OFDM symbols {2,3,4,5} and {8,9,10,11} are used for SSB mapping in a 14-symbol slot.].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wang, Nam and Sang, specifically Nam teaches “wherein the first SSB parameter information comprises at least one of: an SSB periodicity assumed when the terminal performs initial cell selection being a first periodicity; or configured parameter information of SSB being first SSB configuration parameter information; or the related information of SSB search further comprises: parameter information of SMTC being first SMTC parameter information, and the first SMTC parameter information comprises at least one of: configured parameter information of SMTC being first SMTC configuration parameter information; or an SMTC value assumed when the terminal performs SSB measurement being a first numerical value; or in a case that the target information is in a second state, the related information of SSB search comprises at least one of: parameter information of SSB being second SSB parameter information; or a parameter for the terminal to perform cell reselection being a second parameter; wherein the second state is a state different from the first state” as [(Para. 0123), For facilitating minimum capability UE's reception of SSBs and other initial access signals, it could be considered such that the intra-frequency SMTC configuration (i.e., periodicity, offset and duration) is provided in the early stage of initial access, e.g., RMSI or SIBx.].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang, Nam and Sang, specifically Nam teaches “wherein the second SSB parameter information comprises at least one of: an SSB periodicity assumed when the terminal performs initial cell selection being a second periodicity; or configured parameter information of SSB being second SSB configuration parameter information; or the related information of SSB search further comprises parameter information of SMTC being second SMTC parameter information, and the second SMTC parameter information comprises at least one of: configured parameter information of SMTC being second SMTC configuration parameter information; or an SMTC value assumed when the terminal performs SSB measurement being a second numerical value” as [(Para. 0123), For facilitating minimum capability UE's reception of SSBs and other initial access signals, it could be considered such that the intra-frequency SMTC configuration (i.e., periodicity, offset and duration) is provided in the early stage of initial access, e.g., RMSI or SIBx.].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang, Nam and Sang, specifically Nam teaches “wherein the target information further comprises indication signaling, and the indication signaling comprises at least one of following: the parameter information of SSB; parameter information of SMTC; or the parameter for the terminal to perform cell reselection;” as [(Para. 0123), For facilitating minimum capability UE's reception of SSBs and other initial access signals, it could be considered such that the intra-frequency SMTC configuration (i.e., periodicity, offset and duration) is provided in the early stage of initial access, e.g., RMSI or SIBx.] “wherein that the target information is in the first state means that the target information satisfies the indication signaling indicating that the search frequency of SSB is in a preset frequency range and that the SCS of SSB is a second preset frequency value” [(Para. 0152), The SSB location in time domain is dependent upon the subcarrier spacing value. The shaded areas correspond to the SSB locations. For example, for 15 kHz SCS, OFDM symbols {2,3,4,5} and {8,9,10,11} are used for SSB mapping in a 14-symbol slot.].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wang, Nam and Sang, specifically Nam teaches “wherein the parameter information of SSB comprises at least one of: the SSB periodicity assumed when the terminal performs initial cell selection; or configured parameter information of SSB; or the parameter information of SMTC comprises at least one of: an SMTC value assumed when the terminal performs SSB measurement; or configured parameter information of SMTC” as [(Para. 0131), Periodicity: For the CSS, the periodicity does not need to be explicitly configured in PBCH. It is noted that for individual SIBx, this periodicity and SSB-common slot offset can be signalled or predefined in the spec.].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wang, Nam and Sang, specifically Nam teaches “wherein the related information of SSB search further comprises: a first quantity corresponding to branches for performing the SSB search and a second quantity of SSB periodicities corresponding to the SSB search;” as [(Para. 0110), In some embodiments, PBCH indicates the following information for the CORESET: #1) frequency resources; #2) OFDM symbol numbers in each slot; and #3) RMSI slot timing e.g., in terms of slot offset and periodicity.] “and the method further comprises: performing SSB search in the second quantity of SSB periodicities based on the first quantity of branches” [(Para. 0110), In some embodiments, PBCH indicates the following information for the CORESET: #1) frequency resources; #2) OFDM symbol numbers in each slot; and #3) RMSI slot timing e.g., in terms of slot offset and periodicity.].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wang, Nam and Sang, specifically Nam teaches “wherein the method further comprises: determining a frame number or slot number corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (Type 0 PDCCH) for scheduling system information” as [(Para. 0005), determine a slot index n0 as a sum of an offset value and └i*M┘].
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including “a communications device, comprising a processor, a memory,” as [(Wang: Para. 0149), FIG. 22 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 2200 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 2210, one or more memory/storage devices 2220] “and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instructions,” [(Wang: Para. 0153), The instructions 2250 may reside, completely or partially, within at least one of the processors 2210 (e.g., within the processor’s cache memory), the memory/storage devices 2220, or any suitable combination thereof.] “when executed by the processor, causes the communications device to perform…” [(Wang: Para. 0149), FIG. 22 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 2200 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 2210, one or more memory/storage devices 2220].
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Conclusion
/NATALI PASCUAL PEGUERO/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463