DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 16-18, and 20 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 6-15 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/12/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/16/2023 was filed before the mailing date of the First Office Action on the Merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 20, the phrase “providing a suction control handle according to claim [0036]”, in line 3, is indefinite. For the purposes of this Office Action, and in the interest in compact prosecution, Examiner will treat this claim to recite “providing a suction control handle according to claim 1”. Additionally, in line 10, a period is included in the claim before the end of the claim.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corbett (U.S. Patent No. 3,625,221 A).
Regarding claim 1, Corbett teaches: A suction control handle for a medical suction device (see at least Abstract; see also airway suction catheter 10 in Fig. 1), said medical suction device being configured for creating a vacuum or connected to a vacuum supply (col. 1, lines 25-40 teach controlling suction in a catheter; therefore, the suction catheter is configured for creating a vacuum), such that an airflow is present through the suction control handle during use (see at least col. 1, lines 25-40), the suction control handle comprising:
- an aeration hole for regulating the airflow through the suction control handle during use (see suction control aperture 16 in Figs. 1-6 and at least col. 1, lines 25-40); and
- a cover element attached to the suction control handle (see closure means 18 at least in Fig. 2), and formed such that, in use, the airflow through the suction control handle can be gradually adjusted by covering the aeration hole, wholly or partly, by the cover element (see at least col. 2, lines 48-61).
Regarding claim 2, Corbett teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Corbett teaches wherein the cover element is a bendable flap comprising a fixed end attached to the suction control handle and a free end having at least one degree of freedom (see for example Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Corbett teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Additionally, Corbett teaches wherein the cover element is configured to cover the aeration hole upon applied pressure to the free end, e.g. by a finger (see Figs. 2 and 3), said pressure being directed towards the aeration hole (see at least col. 2, lines 48-61).
Regarding claim 4, Corbett teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Additionally, Corbett teaches wherein the free end of the cover element is configured to return to an equilibrium position above said aeration hole upon release of said pressure (col. 2, lines 42-47 teach that the strip 18 is formed of a resilient material, therefore, when pressure is released, the strip 18 will return to its original position; see also col. 3, line 37 thru col. 4, line 10).
Regarding claim 5, Corbett teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Additionally, Corbett teaches wherein the fixed end of the cover element is attached to a proximal end of the suction control handle, and wherein a distal section of the cover element is configured to cover the aeration hole upon applied pressure on top of the cover element (see at least Fig. 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corbett (U.S. Patent No. 3,625,221 A) in view of Berry (U.S. Patent No. 7,316,034 B1).
Regarding claim 16, Corbett teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Corbett fails to explicitly teach that the cover element comprises an absorbent pad, as required by the claim.
Berry teaches an analogous medical device comprising an absorbent protective finger cover to protect the surface of a user’s skin while performing a medical operation (see Abstract). Berry further teaches that the absorbent protective finger cover comprises a layer of absorbent material (16 in Figs. 1-3 and col. 3, lines 31-34).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Corbett to incorporate the teachings of Berry by including an absorbent pad on the cover element such that the absorbent pad comprises an absorbent material for absorbing liquids or body fluids at least in order to prevent a user’s finger from contacting bodily fluids and to provide absorption capacity to the cover element, as taught by Berry (see col. 3, lines 25-45).
Regarding claim 17, Corbett in view of Berry teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. Additionally, in the device of Corbett in view of Berry, the absorbent pad is placed underneath the cover element in an area that contacts the aeration hole during use at least because Berry teaches that the absorbent material provides absorption capacity to the device (see col. 3, lines 25-45) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been reasonably motivated to place the absorbent material in an area that contacts the aeration hole during use to improve the absorption capacity and to prevent a user’s finger from contacting bodily fluids, as taught by Berry (see col. 3, lines 25-45).
Regarding claim 18, Corbett in view of Berry teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. Additionally, in the device of Corbett in view of Berry, the cover element is a bendable flap comprising a fixed end and a free end (see at least Fig. 2-3 of Corbett), and wherein the absorbent pad is placed near the free end on a lower side of the bendable flap (see col. 3, lines 25-45 of Berry; see also claim 17 above).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corbett (U.S. Patent No. 3,625,221 A) in view of Felix (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2004/0230169 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Corbett teaches A method of adjusting the vacuum force of a medical suction device (see at least Abstract and col. 1, lines 25-40). Additionally Corbett teaches:
- covering the aeration hole, wholly or partly, by the cover element of the suction control handle, such that the airflow is gradually adjusted, thereby adjusting the vacuum force of the medical suction device (see at least col. 2, lines 48-61);
wherein the suction control handle is configured for being operated by a single hand (see Figs. 2-3), and wherein the cover element is configured for being operated by a finger (see Figs. 2-3).
However, Corbett fails to explicitly teach a vacuum supply device as required by the claim.
Felix teaches an analogous suction device for use with a vacuum source (see at least Abstract and para. [0001]) comprising the method steps of:
- providing a suction control handle according to claim 1 (see above; see also suction line assembly 10 in Fig. 1), wherein the suction control handle forms part of the medical suction device (see Figs. 1), said medical suction device being connected to a vacuum supply (see at least Fig. 1);
- running the vacuum supply in order to provide an airflow through the suction control handle (see at least para. [0006]);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Corbett to incorporate the teachings of Felix by including the method steps of providing a suction control handle that forms part of the medical suction device that is connected to a vacuum supply, and running the vacuum supply in order to provide an airflow through the suction control handle at least because Corbett envisions the device to be used concurrently with a suction device (see at least col. 2, lines 48-61) while Felix teaches such a suction device (see at least Fig. 1 and para. [0006]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably recognized that a combination of the suction control handle of Corbett with the medical suction device of Felix would result in the medical device of Corbett being able to function as intended.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schultz (U.S. Patent No. 7,802,574 B2) – Medical Component System
Kurtis (U.S. Patent No. 5,509,408 A) – Neonatal Resuscitation Device
Sauer (U.S. Patent No. 3,834,388 A) – Suction Control Arrangement for a Suction Catheter.
/JIHAD DAKKAK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/ANDREW J MENSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781