Continuation
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 16/663,276, filed 24 October 2019, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, second to last line the phrase “least out outlet” should be replaced by --least one outlet--.
In claim 1, last line the phrase “to the opposing” should be replaced by --to opposing--.
In claim 8, line 2, the term “receptacles” should be replaced by --receptacle--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nekhala (US 11,596,239).
Regarding claim 1, Nekhala discloses an apparatus comprising:
a cord (200) including a drawstring (201) and an elastic band (202);
a rigid coupler (100) having an upper surface , a lower surface and four sides including (Figs. 9A-10B):
a lower portion (104);
an upper portion (102) mateable with the lower portion;
a first inlet and a second inlet (140a, 140b), each defined by the upper and lower portions, the first and second inlets being unobstructed, a portion of the drawstring and the elastic band of the cord entering through the first inlet and second inlet from opposing sides of the four sides (Fig. 11b as shown); and
at least one outlet (130a) defined by the upper portion and the lower portion, a portion of the drawstring of the cord exiting through the at least out outlet on a third side perpendicular to the opposing ends that define the first inlet and the second inlet (Fig. 11b as shown).
Regarding claim 2, Nekhala further discloses wherein the at least one outlet includes two outlets (130a, 130b).
Regarding claim 3, Nekhala further discloses wherein the first inlet and the second inlet each have a central region of a first height, and side regions of a second height, the first height and the second height being uneven (Figs. 9C and 9D as shown).
Regarding claim 4, Nekhala further discloses wherein the first inlet and the second inlet include narrow extremities for receiving the drawstring and a region that is taller than the narrow extremities for receiving both the drawstring and the elastic band (Figs. 9C and 9D as shown).
Regarding claim 5, Nekhala further discloses wherein each of the at least one outlet is circular (Fig. 9B as shown).
Regarding claim 6, Nekhala further discloses a plurality of pins (120) on one of the upper and lower portions, and a plurality of receivers (110) on another of the upper and lower portions, the plurality of pins and the plurality of receivers being aligned with one another (Figs. 10A-10B as shown).
Regarding claim 7, Nekhala further discloses wherein the plurality of pins and the plurality of receivers are cylindrical (Figs. 10A-10B as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Nekhala further discloses at least one projection (112) on one of the upper and lower portions, and at least one receptacles (122) on another of the upper and lower portions, the at least one projection and the at least one receptacle being aligned with one another (Figs. 10A-10B as shown), each of the at least one projection and the at least one receptacles defining a hole (114, 124) for accepting a fastener.
Regarding claim 12, Nekhala further discloses wherein the upper and lower portions form a coupler in the shape of a rectangular prism (Figs. 9A-11B as shown).
Regarding claim 14, Nekhala further discloses wherein the upper and lower portions are of a same size and shape (Figs. 9A-11B as shown).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,596,239. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claim 1 appears of the instant application appears to be completely anticipated within claim 1 of the U.S. Patent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677