DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 12, 14, 16-20, 22, 25, 27, 29 and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Wittberg et al. (US 2020/0351983 A1, hereinafter “Wittberg”).
Regarding claims 1, 14, 27 and 29, Wittberg teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a receiver device (figs. 6, 8, ¶ [0110], ¶ [0111], ¶ [0127]), comprising: receiving a first packet of a plurality of packets at a first time, wherein the first packet has a first sequence number (figs. 1, 2, 9, 10, ¶ [0015]-¶ [0018]); receiving a second packet of the plurality of packets at a second time, wherein a third packet of the plurality of packets, to be received between the first packet and the second packet based at least in part on a third sequence number of the third packet, has not arrived at the second time (e.g., step 102 of fig. 1. Figs. 2, 7, 9, 10, ¶ [0015]-¶ [0018]), starting a timer based at least in part on the third packet having not arrived at the second time e.g., step 102 of fig. 1 where t-Reordering is started. Figs. 2, 7, 9, 10, ¶ [0016],The t-Reordering timer is started.); receiving the third packet at a third time after the second time (step 204 of fig. 2, ¶ [0015]-¶ [0018]); providing the first packet, the second packet, and the third packet in an order based at least in part on whether the third packet is received within the timer, wherein the third packet is provided between the first packet and the second packet if the third packet is received within the timer ( ¶ [0017] If more PDCP PDUs, e.g. some of the one or more missing PDCP PDUs, are received out-of-sequence before t-Reordering expire, they are buffered and not immediately forwarded to an upper layer. ¶ [0018] If the one or more missing PDCP PDUs are all received before the t-Reordering timer expire, they are immediately forwarded in-sequence to the upper layer, followed by an in-sequence delivery of buffered PDUs to the upper layer), and wherein the third packet is provided after the second packet if the third packet is not received within the timer (fig. 2, ¶ [0069], In action 203, the t-reordering timer expires, the buffered PDU N is forwarded to one or more upper layers and the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer is started. In action 204, the PDU N-2 arrives and is forwarded, e.g. immediately forwarded, to one or more upper layers. Since the PDU N-2 is arrived out of the receiving window it is forwarded to the upper layer out of order, i.e. it will be forwarded out of sequence number order. ¶ [0071]); and providing a remainder of packets, of the plurality of packets other than the first packet, the second packet, and the third packet, prior to an end of a reordering window, wherein the reordering window corresponds to a reordering timer, different from the timer, to the higher layer (figs. 1-4, 7A, 7B, ¶ [0017], If more PDCP PDUs, e.g. some of the one or more missing PDCP PDUs, are received out-of-sequence before t-Reordering expire, they are buffered and not immediately forwarded to an upper layer. ¶ [0018] If the one or more missing PDCP PDUs are all received before the t-Reordering timer expire, they are immediately forwarded in-sequence to the upper layer, followed by an in-sequence delivery of buffered PDUs to the upper layer. ¶ [0071], it is the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer that is responsible for moving the lower edge of the receiving window once the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer expires. During the time when the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer is running, any late PDUs that are received by the PDCP receiver, will immediately be forwarded to higher layers. Thus, they will be forwarded in any order to the higher layers, i.e. they may be forwarded out of sequence number order to the higher layers. ¶ [0072], ¶ [0073], ¶ [0074], a t-Reordering timer (i.e., the timer) set to 20 ms and a t-WaitForLatePDUs timer (i.e., the reordering timer different from the timer) set to 120 ms to wait for late PDUs are used. ¶ [0075], ¶ [0104], the network node associates a window with the second time period, ¶ [0106], The network node may forward, to the upper layer and in any order, the one or more second data units received from the lower layer during the second time period.).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Wittberg teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of packets omits a fourth packet, and wherein providing the remainder of packets further comprises providing the remainder of packets after an end of a reordering timer based at least in part on having not received the fourth packet within the reordering timer (figs. 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, ¶ [0018] If the one or more missing PDCP PDUs are all received before the t-Reordering timer expire, they are immediately forwarded in-sequence to the upper layer, followed by an in-sequence delivery of buffered PDUs to the upper layer. ¶ [0069], In action 203, the t-reordering timer expires, the buffered PDU N is forwarded to one or more upper layers and the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer is started. In action 204, the PDU N-2 arrives and is forwarded, e.g. immediately forwarded, to one or more upper layers. Where it is implicit that the process of starting the t-Reordering and/or t-WaitForLatePDU and forwarding the received/buffered PDUs is repeated for the next missing/late (fourth) PDU).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Wittberg teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the omission of the fourth packet triggers a second instance of the timer (figs. 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, ¶ [0018] If the one or more missing PDCP PDUs are all received before the t-Reordering timer expire, they are immediately forwarded in-sequence to the upper layer, followed by an in-sequence delivery of buffered PDUs to the upper layer. ¶ [0069], In action 203, the t-reordering timer expires, the buffered PDU N is forwarded to one or more upper layers and the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer is started. In action 204, the PDU N-2 arrives and is forwarded, e.g. immediately forwarded, to one or more upper layers. Where it is implicit that the process of starting the t-Reordering and/or t-WaitForLatePDU and forwarding the received/buffered PDUs is repeated for the next missing/late (fourth) PDU).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Wittberg teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of packets includes a fourth packet with a fourth sequence number that is higher than a fifth sequence number of a fifth packet received after the fourth packet, and wherein providing the remainder of packets further comprises providing the remainder of packets including the fourth packet after the fifth packet (figs. 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, ¶ [0017] If more PDCP PDUs, e.g. some of the one or more missing PDCP PDUs, are received out-of-sequence before t-Reordering expire, they are buffered and not immediately forwarded to an upper layer. ¶ [0018] If the one or more missing PDCP PDUs are all received before the t-Reordering timer expire, they are immediately forwarded in-sequence to the upper layer, followed by an in-sequence delivery of buffered PDUs to the upper layer. ¶ [0069]. ¶ [0117]. Where it is implicit that the process of forwarding the received/buffered PDUs based on t-Reordering and/or t-WaitForLatePDU is repeated for the next missing/late (fourth) PDUs).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Wittberg teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of packets includes a fourth packet with a fourth sequence number that is higher than a fifth sequence number of a fifth packet received after the fourth packet, and wherein providing the remainder of packets further comprises providing the remainder of packets including the fourth packet in a position in which the fourth packet was received (figs. 1, 2, 9, 10, ¶ [0017], ¶ [0018], ¶ [0069], In action 203, the t-reordering timer expires, the buffered PDU N is forwarded to one or more upper layers and the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer is started. In action 204, the PDU N-2 arrives and is forwarded, e.g. immediately forwarded, to one or more upper layers. ¶ [0071]. During the time when the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer is running, any late PDUs that are received by the PDCP receiver, will immediately be forwarded to higher layers. Thus, they will be forwarded in any order to the higher layers, i.e. they may be forwarded out of sequence number order to the higher layers. ¶ [0118]. Where it is implicit that the process of forwarding the received/buffered PDUs based on t-Reordering and/or t-WaitForLatePDU is repeated for the next missing/late (fourth) PDUs).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Wittberg teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the timer is shorter than a length of the reordering timer (¶ [0074], a t-Reordering timer (i.e., the timer) set to 20 ms and a t-WaitForLatePDUs timer (i.e., the reordering timer different from the timer) set to 120 ms to wait for late PDUs are used. ¶ [0015]-¶ [0018], [0146], In some other embodiments, the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer is started at the same time as the t-Reordering timer. ¶ [0157] t-Reordering=3*HARQ RTT (e.g. 3*HARQ transmissions round trip time in a 3GPP system like LTE, ˜16 ms). ¶ [0158] t-WaitForLatePDUs=2*RLC ARQ RTT (e.g. 2*RLC ARQ transmissions round trip time in a 3GPP system like LTE, ˜72 ms)).
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Wittberg teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising starting the timer and the reordering timer based at least in part on detecting that the third packet is out of order (¶ [0015]-¶ [0018], [0146], In some other embodiments, the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer is started at the same time as the t-Reordering timer).
Regarding claims 12 and 25, Wittberg teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a length of the timer is based at least in part on a hybrid automatic repeat request round trip time of the receiver device (¶ [0146], ¶ [0148], ¶ [0157] t-Reordering=3*HARQ RTT (e.g. 3*HARQ transmissions round trip time in a 3GPP system like LTE, ˜16 ms). ¶ [0158] t-WaitForLatePDUs=2*RLC ARQ RTT (e.g. 2*RLC ARQ transmissions round trip time in a 3GPP system like LTE, ˜72 ms)).
Regarding claims 31 and 33, Wittberg teaches the method of claim 12, wherein a length of the timer is equal to the hybrid automatic repeat request round trip time (¶ [0146], where the timer is set to approximately equal or preferably slightly less than a Round-trip Time (RTT) used by the higher layer, such as the TCP RTT).
Regarding claims 32 and 34, Wittberg teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the length of the timer is greater than the hybrid automatic repeat request round trip time (¶ [0148], [0157] t-Reordering=3*HARQ RTT (e.g. 3*HARQ transmissions round trip time in a 3GPP system like LTE, ˜16 ms). ¶ [0158] t-WaitForLatePDUs=2*RLC ARQ RTT (e.g. 2*RLC ARQ transmissions round trip time in a 3GPP system like LTE, ˜72 ms)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 10, 11, 13, 23, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittberg in view of Dalmiya et al. (US 2021/0314270 A1, hereinafter “Dalmiya”).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 23 and 24, Wittberg teaches the method of claim 1.
Wittberg does not explicitly teach further comprising starting the timer based at least in part on a traffic type of one or more of the plurality of packets.
Dalmiya teaches starting the timer based at least in part on a traffic type of one or more of the plurality of packets, wherein the traffic type is associated with a loss-based congestion configuration (¶ [0061], ¶ [0089], ¶ [0067], ¶ [0070], and ¶ [0086]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to start the timer based at least in part on a traffic type of one or more of the plurality of packets, wherein the traffic type is associated with a loss-based congestion configuration, in the system of Wittberg to further enhance system efficiency and reliability (¶ [0070] of Dalmiya).
Regarding claims 13 and 26, Wittberg teaches the method of claim 1.
Wittberg does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the timer is based at least in part on a number of hybrid automatic repeat request retransmissions of the receiver device.
Dalmiya teaches wherein a length of the timer is based at least in part on a number of hybrid automatic repeat request retransmissions of the receiver device (¶ [0086], ¶ [0087], ¶ [0088], ¶ [0089]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to determine a length of the timer based at least in part on a number of hybrid automatic repeat request retransmissions of the receiver device in the system of Wittberg to further enhance system efficiency and reliability (¶ [0070] of Dalmiya).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 8 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant's arguments filed November 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
13. Applicant argues “…Applicant respectfully submits that WITTBERG does not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1. For example, WITTBERG does not disclose "providing a remainder of packets, of the plurality of packets other than the first packet, the second packet, and the third packet, prior to an end of a reordering window, wherein the reordering window corresponds to a reordering timer, different from the timer, to the higher layer," as recited in amended claim 1…”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Wittberg teaches providing a remainder of packets, of the plurality of packets other than the first packet, the second packet, and the third packet, prior to an end of a reordering window, wherein the reordering window corresponds to a reordering timer, different from the timer, to the higher layer (figs. 1-4, 7A, 7B, ¶ [0017], If more PDCP PDUs, e.g. some of the one or more missing PDCP PDUs, are received out-of-sequence before t-Reordering expire, they are buffered and not immediately forwarded to an upper layer. ¶ [0018] If the one or more missing PDCP PDUs are all received before the t-Reordering timer expire, they are immediately forwarded in-sequence to the upper layer, followed by an in-sequence delivery of buffered PDUs to the upper layer. ¶ [0071], it is the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer that is responsible for moving the lower edge of the receiving window once the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer expires. During the time when the t-WaitForLatePDUs timer is running, any late PDUs that are received by the PDCP receiver, will immediately be forwarded to higher layers. Thus, they will be forwarded in any order to the higher layers, i.e. they may be forwarded out of sequence number order to the higher layers. ¶ [0072], ¶ [0073], ¶ [0074], a t-Reordering timer (i.e., the timer) set to 20 ms and a t-WaitForLatePDUs timer (i.e., the reordering timer different from the timer) set to 120 ms to wait for late PDUs are used. ¶ [0075], ¶ [0104], the network node associates a window with the second time period, ¶ [0106], The network node may forward, to the upper layer and in any order, the one or more second data units received from the lower layer during the second time period.).
Therefore, the amended claim amended claims 1, 14, 27 and 29 are anticipated by Wittberg, as set forth above.
Conclusion
14 Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action (e.g., claims 7 and 20). Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477