DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/153,113, amendment and remarks, dated on 02/24/2026.
Claims 16-20 limitations use the word “means” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) according to previous office action and being agreed by the applicant.
Examiner suggests amending the independent claims to identify the time, the packets are provided in order (in sequence) and the time, the packets are provided out of order (out of sequence) according to the instant application Fig. 7 based on the reordering timer status, and providing the out of order (out of sequence) packets within the threshold range of the highest sequence number in a specified limited condition or time. The other option for amendment would be the detection of the hole and triggering up to a number N instances of the timer 606 as disclosed in the ¶111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or alternatively unpatentable over Shao et al. (US 2009/0046626 A1).
Claim 1, Shao discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a receiver device (For the MAC sub-layer, the structure at the User Equipment (UE) side is different from the structure at the UTRAN side, as shown respectively in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4. As specified in WCDMA R6, the receiving side can employ the following mechanisms for the reordering solution; ¶9; The device can be in an E-NodeB or a UE; ¶61), comprising:
receiving a first packet of a set of packets at a first time, the first packet having a first sequence number, wherein the set of packets is associated with a respective set of sequence numbers including a highest sequence number and the receiver device is configured for in-order delivery of packets; receiving a second packet of the set of packets at a second time, the second packet having a second sequence number (receiving a first and a second packet of a set of packets having sequence numbers including a highest sequence number and the UE configured for transmitting the packets to upper layer ; The window is (VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size, VR(UDH)), where VR(UDH) represents the highest SN among the SNs of received PDUs, and the maximum buffer size is configured by upper layers. The actual window is (VR(UDR), VR(UDH)), where VR(UDR) is the SN of the next PDU to be transmitted to upper layers sequentially. In other words, all PDUs with SN smaller than that SN have been transmitted to upper layers sequentially. VR(UDR)≥ VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size. When a PDU with an SN within the window is received, the PDU is stored in the buffer. When a PDU with an SN greater than the upper boundary of the window, the window is updated. Also, the movement of the upper boundary of the window drives the update of the window; ¶21; When the PDU with an SN=VR(UDR) is received, the SN of the PDU with the smallest SN among the PDUs which are not received correctly in the window is determined, and the VR(UDR) is updated to that value and all PDUs with an SN smaller than the updated VR(UDR) are transmitted to upper layers for reassembly. If the window moves forward and causes VR(UDR)‹VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size+1, the VR(UDR) is updated to the smallest SN among the SNs of the PDUs that are not received in the updated window (VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size, VR(UDH)), and all PDUs with an SN smaller than the updated VR(UDR) are transmitted to upper layers for reassembly; ¶22);
providing the first packet and the second packet based at least in part on expiration of a reordering timer (transmitting the PDNs to the upper layer when timer times out ; The timer Timer_DAR and the state variable VR(UDT) control the receiving window not to move within a long time. The VR(UDT) is initially set as the highest SN in the window, and at the same time the timer Timer_DAR is activated. When a PDU with an SN=VR(UDT) is transmitted to upper layers for reassembly before the timer times out, the timer is reset, and the VR(UDT) is reset to the highest SN in the window. If the timer times out, all PDUs with an SN ≤ VR(UDT) and PDUs with an SN consecutive to VR(UDT) are transmitted to the upper layer, VR(UDR) is updated to the smallest SN among the SNs of the PDUs that are not received in the buffer, VR(UDT) is reset to the highest SN among the SNs of the PDUs in the window, and the timer is reset; ¶23);
receiving a third packet of the set of packets after the expiration of the reordering timer (Timer_DAR time out; ¶23), the third packet having a third sequence number that is between the first sequence number and the second sequence number, and wherein the third packet is received within a threshold range of the highest sequence number; and providing the third packet, after the expiration of the reordering timer (Timer_DAR time out; ¶23), based at least in part on the third packet being received within the threshold range of the highest sequence number (receiving a third PDN of the set of packets having a third sequence number within a threshold range of the highest sequence number, among the sequence number of one of the PDNs already being transmitted to the upper layer after time out of the timer Timer_DAR; The window is (VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size, VR(UDH)), where VR(UDH) represents the highest SN among the SNs of received PDUs, and the maximum buffer size is configured by upper layers. The actual window is (VR(UDR), VR(UDH)), where VR(UDR) is the SN of the next PDU to be transmitted to upper layers sequentially. In other words, all PDUs with SN smaller than that SN have been transmitted to upper layers sequentially. VR(UDR)≥ VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size. When a PDU with an SN within the window is received, the PDU is stored in the buffer. When a PDU with an SN greater than the upper boundary of the window, the window is updated. Also, the movement of the upper boundary of the window drives the update of the window; ¶21; When the PDU with an SN=VR(UDR) is received, the SN of the PDU with the smallest SN among the PDUs which are not received correctly in the window is determined, and the VR(UDR) is updated to that value and all PDUs with an SN smaller than the updated VR(UDR) are transmitted to upper layers for reassembly. If the window moves forward and causes VR(UDR)‹VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size+1, the VR(UDR) is updated to the smallest SN among the SNs of the PDUs that are not received in the updated window (VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size, VR(UDH)), and all PDUs with an SN smaller than the updated VR(UDR) are transmitted to upper layers for reassembly; ¶22; The timer Timer_DAR and the state variable VR(UDT) control the receiving window not to move within a long time. The VR(UDT) is initially set as the highest SN in the window, and at the same time the timer Timer_DAR is activated. When a PDU with an SN=VR(UDT) is transmitted to upper layers for reassembly before the timer times out, the timer is reset, and the VR(UDT) is reset to the highest SN in the window. If the timer times out, all PDUs with an SN ≤ VR(UDT) and PDUs with an SN consecutive to VR(UDT) are transmitted to the upper layer, VR(UDR) is updated to the smallest SN among the SNs of the PDUs that are not received in the buffer, VR(UDT) is reset to the highest SN among the SNs of the PDUs in the window, and the timer is reset; ¶23).
Claims 2, 7, 12, Shao discloses further comprising receiving configuration information indicating that delivery of the third packet if the third packet is received within the threshold range of the highest sequence number is enabled (configuring UE to process the PDU with the associated SN being received within the threshold range of the highest sequence number; The window is (VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size, VR(UDH)), where VR(UDH) represents the highest SN among the SNs of received PDUs, and the maximum buffer size is configured by upper layers. The actual window is (VR(UDR), VR(UDH)), where VR(UDR) is the SN of the next PDU to be transmitted to upper layers sequentially. In other words, all PDUs with SN smaller than that SN have been transmitted to upper layers sequentially. VR(UDR)≥ VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size. When a PDU with an SN within the window is received, the PDU is stored in the buffer. When a PDU with an SN greater than the upper boundary of the window, the window is updated. Also, the movement of the upper boundary of the window drives the update of the window; ¶21; When the PDU with an SN=VR(UDR) is received, the SN of the PDU with the smallest SN among the PDUs which are not received correctly in the window is determined, and the VR(UDR) is updated to that value and all PDUs with an SN smaller than the updated VR(UDR) are transmitted to upper layers for reassembly. If the window moves forward and causes VR(UDR)‹VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size+1, the VR(UDR) is updated to the smallest SN among the SNs of the PDUs that are not received in the updated window (VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size, VR(UDH)), and all PDUs with an SN smaller than the updated VR(UDR) are transmitted to upper layers for reassembly; ¶22; ¶23).
Claims 3, 8, 13, 18, Shao discloses wherein providing the third packet further comprises providing the third packet based at least in part on the third packet being received between a packet with a sequence number of the highest sequence number (VR(UDH) minus the threshold range (VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size) and a packet with the highest sequence number (VR(UDH) (The window is (VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size, VR(UDH)), where VR(UDH) represents the highest SN among the SNs of received PDUs, and the maximum buffer size is configured by upper layers. The actual window is (VR(UDR), VR(UDH)), where VR(UDR) is the SN of the next PDU to be transmitted to upper layers sequentially. In other words, all PDUs with SN smaller than that SN have been transmitted to upper layers sequentially. VR(UDR)≥ VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size. When a PDU with an SN within the window is received, the PDU is stored in the buffer. When a PDU with an SN greater than the upper boundary of the window, the window is updated. Also, the movement of the upper boundary of the window drives the update of the window; ¶21; When the PDU with an SN=VR(UDR) is received, the SN of the PDU with the smallest SN among the PDUs which are not received correctly in the window is determined, and the VR(UDR) is updated to that value and all PDUs with an SN smaller than the updated VR(UDR) are transmitted to upper layers for reassembly. If the window moves forward and causes VR(UDR)‹VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size+1, the VR(UDR) is updated to the smallest SN among the SNs of the PDUs that are not received in the updated window (VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size, VR(UDH)), and all PDUs with an SN smaller than the updated VR(UDR) are transmitted to upper layers for reassembly; ¶22; ¶23).
Claims 4, 9, 14, 19, Shao discloses wherein the threshold range indicates a number of packets (the threshold range indicating the number of PDU packets; ¶21; ¶22; ¶23).
Claims 5, 10, 15, 20, Shao discloses wherein receiving the third packet further comprises receiving the third packet prior to a packet, of the set of packets, with the highest sequence number and after a packet, of the set of packets, that is separated from the packet with the highest sequence number by fewer than the number of packets (receiving the third packet (prior or after) to the packet with the highest sequence number and (after or prior) the packet that is separated from the packet with the highest sequence number by fewer than the number of packets (within range); The window is (VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size, VR(UDH)), where VR(UDH) represents the highest SN among the SNs of received PDUs, and the maximum buffer size is configured by upper layers. The actual window is (VR(UDR), VR(UDH)), where VR(UDR) is the SN of the next PDU to be transmitted to upper layers sequentially. In other words, all PDUs with SN smaller than that SN have been transmitted to upper layers sequentially. VR(UDR)≥ VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size. When a PDU with an SN within the window is received, the PDU is stored in the buffer. When a PDU with an SN greater than the upper boundary of the window, the window is updated. Also, the movement of the upper boundary of the window drives the update of the window; ¶21; When the PDU with an SN=VR(UDR) is received, the SN of the PDU with the smallest SN among the PDUs which are not received correctly in the window is determined, and the VR(UDR) is updated to that value and all PDUs with an SN smaller than the updated VR(UDR) are transmitted to upper layers for reassembly. If the window moves forward and causes VR(UDR)‹VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size+1, the VR(UDR) is updated to the smallest SN among the SNs of the PDUs that are not received in the updated window (VR(UDH)-DAR_Window_Size, VR(UDH)), and all PDUs with an SN smaller than the updated VR(UDR) are transmitted to upper layers for reassembly; ¶22; ¶23).
Claim 6, analyzed with respect to claim 1, the further limitation of claim 6 disclosed by Shao, a receiver device (For the MAC sub-layer, the structure at the User Equipment (UE) side is different from the structure at the UTRAN side, as shown respectively in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4. As specified in WCDMA R6, the receiving side can employ the following mechanisms for the reordering solution; ¶9; The device can be in an E-NodeB or a UE; ¶61) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (memory of the UE) and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (processor of the UE coupled to the memory of the UE; ¶9; ¶61).
Claim 11, analyzed with respect to claim 1, the further limitation of claim 11 disclosed by Shao, a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a receiver device (memory of the UE storing a set of instructions executed by the processor of the UE; ¶9 ; ¶61).
Claim 16, analyzed with respect to claim 1, the further limitation of claim 16 disclosed by Shao, an apparatus for wireless communication (For the MAC sub-layer, the structure at the User Equipment (UE) side is different from the structure at the UTRAN side, as shown respectively in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4. As specified in WCDMA R6, the receiving side can employ the following mechanisms for the reordering solution; ¶9; The device can be in an E-NodeB or a UE; ¶61), comprising means for receiving a first packet, means for receiving a second packet, means for receiving a third packet (transceiver of the UE and the processor of the UE; ¶9; ¶61) and means for providing the first packet and the second packet, means for providing the third packet (the processor of the UE; ¶9; ¶61).
Claim 17, analyzed with respect to claim 2, the further limitation of claim 17 disclosed by Shao, further comprising means for receiving configuration information (transceiver of the UE and the processor of the UE; ¶9; ¶61).
Conclusion
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471