Response to Amendments / Arguments
Regarding the rejection(s) of claims under 35 USC 103:
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/05/2026, in view of the amended claims, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Reznik et al. (US 20150241962 A1) in further view of Cavallini (US 20150310289 A1).
DETAILED ACTION
This is a reply to the arguments filed on 03/05/2026, in which, claims 1-30 are pending. Claims 1, 11, 21, and 26 are independent.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reznik et al. (US 20150241962 A1, referred to as Reznik) in further view of Cavallini (US 20150310289 A1, Cavallini).
In reference to claim 1, A method performed by an electronic device, comprising: receiving multiple inputs that each indicate current sensor information related to a liveness state associated with a human user (Reznik: [0030]-[0038] and [0054] Provides for receiving multiple sensor inputs (camera, accelerometer, gyroscope, proximity sensor, etc.) that collectively teach determining whether a user is present and active.)
Wherein the multiple inputs include one or more motion detection inputs, one or more tilt recognition inputs and one or more biometric inputs (Reznik: [0035]-[0038], [0048] and [0064] Provides for motion detection (accelerometer variance), tilt recognition (gyroscope and device orientation/angle detection for viewing posture), and biometric inputs (face detection via camera).)
The one or more biometric inputs comprising a human proximity detection input indicating whether one or more humans are present within a threshold distance of the electronic device (Reznik: [0067]-[0069] Provides for face detection as a biometric input that determines whether a human is present within a defined threshold distance.)
generating, based at least in part on the multiple inputs, liveness information that includes a liveness assessment word (Reznik: [0054]-[0063] Provides for generating a structured output (uad_result_1) based on fused multi-sensor inputs that encodes user presence information.)
a liveness indicator that indicates whether a human user is actively handling the electronic device (Reznik: [0063]-[0065] Provides for detecting and distinguishing whether a user is actively holding/handling the device versus the device being stationary.)
Reznik does not explicitly teach wherein the generating includes one or more bits, wherein each bit of the one or more bits represents the liveness state associated with a respective input of the multiple inputs and wherein the liveness indicator is based at least in part on a ratio of inputs of the multiple inputs, that indicate liveness satisfying a threshold. However, Cavallini teaches:
Wherein the generating includes one or more bits, wherein each bit of the one or more bits represents the liveness state associated with a respective input of the multiple inputs (Cavallini: [0063]-[0064] Provides for individual binary (TRUE/FALSE) results for each liveness indicator corresponding to each respective input.)
Wherein the liveness indicator is based at least in part on a ratio of inputs of the multiple inputs, that indicate liveness satisfying a threshold (Cavallini: [0064]-[0070] Provides for threshold-based determination that depends on the proportion of liveness indicators returning TRUE out of the total set.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Reznik, which provides a method for receiving multiple sensor inputs including motion, tilt, and biometric data to generate liveness information indicating whether a human user is actively handling an electronic device, with the teachings of Cavallini, which introduces binary bit representation for individual liveness states and ratio-based threshold determination for overall liveness assessment. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Cavallini's structured binary encoding and statistical threshold approach into Reznik's multi-sensor liveness detection system to provide more robust and quantifiable liveness determination. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve liveness detection accuracy by requiring a statistically significant proportion of sensors to indicate human presence rather than relying on any single input.
In reference to claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein generating the liveness information includes analyzing the current sensor information associated with one or more of the multiple inputs using a liveness assessment algorithm to determine the liveness state (Reznik: Fig. 6, [0054] and [0066]-[0068] Provides for a defined algorithmic process (fusion logic) that analyzes sensor data.)
In reference to claim 3, The method of claim 1, wherein the liveness information is generated using one or more machine learning models that are trained to detect whether the human user is actively handling the electronic device from the current sensor information (Reznik: [0046] and [0066] Provides for Viola-Jones algorithm, which is a machine-learning-based classifier.)
In reference to claim 4, The method of claim 1, the liveness information associated with the current sensor information is based at least in part on patterns associated with historical sensor information (Reznik: [0053] and [0069]-[0072] Provides for maintaining historical sensor data in circular buffers with timestamps and computing statistics over accumulated samples.)
In reference to claim 5, The method of claim 1, wherein the liveness indicator has a value that is based at least in part on whether a threshold number or a threshold proportion of the multiple inputs indicate that the human user is actively handling the electronic device (Reznik: [0054] and [0065]-[0068] Provides for a fusion logic that requires multiple conditions to be simultaneously satisfied to confirm user presence.)
In reference to claim 6, The method of claim 1, wherein the liveness indicator has a value that indicates a probability that the human user is actively handling the electronic device (Cavallini: [0064]-[0070] Provides for liveness indicator expressed as a numerical score (e.g., 55 out of a possible weighted total) that reflects the degree of confidence in liveness.)
In reference to claim 7,The method of claim 1, wherein the liveness indicator includes a flag that has a first value to indicate that a human user is actively handling the electronic device or a second value to indicate that the electronic device is not being actively handled by a human user (Reznik: [0062]-[0064] Provides for a boolean field “user_detected” that takes one of two values (true/false).)
In reference to claim 8, The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the liveness information to a network node (Cavallini: [0050] and [0069] Provides for transmitting liveness-related information (an alert indicating the liveness determination result) over a network interface to a remote node.)
In reference to claim 10, The method of claim 8, the liveness information is transmitted to the network node in connection with a data campaign to assess usage patterns associated with live human users and simulated human activity (Cavallini: [0050] and [0069]-[0070] Provides for transmitting liveness results to a remote node and for using test data to optimize the system's ability to distinguish live humans from simulated.)
In reference to claim 11, A electronic device for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: receive multiple inputs that each indicate current sensor information related to a liveness state associated with a human user (Reznik: [0030]-[0038] and [0054] Provides for receiving multiple sensor inputs (camera, accelerometer, gyroscope, proximity sensor, etc.) that collectively teach determining whether a user is present and active.)
Wherein the multiple inputs include one or more motion detection inputs, one or more tilt recognition inputs and one or more biometric inputs (Reznik: [0035]-[0038], [0048] and [0064] Provides for motion detection (accelerometer variance), tilt recognition (gyroscope and device orientation/angle detection for viewing posture), and biometric inputs (face detection via camera).)
The one or more biometric inputs comprising a human proximity detection input indicating whether one or more humans are present within a threshold distance of the electronic device (Reznik: [0067]-[0069] Provides for face detection as a biometric input that determines whether a human is present within a defined threshold distance.)
generating, based at least in part on the multiple inputs, liveness information that includes a liveness assessment word (Reznik: [0054]-[0063] Provides for generating a structured output (uad_result_1) based on fused multi-sensor inputs that encodes user presence information.)
a liveness indicator that indicates whether a human user is actively handling the electronic device (Reznik: [0063]-[0065] Provides for detecting and distinguishing whether a user is actively holding/handling the device versus the device being stationary.)
Reznik does not explicitly teach wherein the generating includes one or more bits, wherein each bit of the one ore more bits represents the liveness state associated with a respective input of the multiple inputs and wherein the liveness indicator is based at least in part on a ratio of inputs of the multiple inputs, that indicate liveness satisfying a threshold. However, Cavallini teaches:
Wherein the generating includes one or more bits, wherein each bit of the one ore more bits represents the liveness state associated with a respective inpute of the multiple inputs (Cavallini: [0063]-[0064] Provides for individual binary (TRUE/FALSE) results for each liveness indicator corresponding to each respective input.)
Wherein the liveness indicator is based at least in part on a ratio of inputs of the multiple inputs, that indicate liveness satisfying a threshold (Cavallini: [0064]-[0070] Provides for threshold-based determination that depends on the proportion of liveness indicators returning TRUE out of the total set.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Reznik, which provides a method for receiving multiple sensor inputs including motion, tilt, and biometric data to generate liveness information indicating whether a human user is actively handling an electronic device, with the teachings of Cavallini, which introduces binary bit representation for individual liveness states and ratio-based threshold determination for overall liveness assessment. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Cavallini's structured binary encoding and statistical threshold approach into Reznik's multi-sensor liveness detection system to provide more robust and quantifiable liveness determination. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve liveness detection accuracy by requiring a statistically significant proportion of sensors to indicate human presence rather than relying on any single input.
In reference to claim 12, The electronic device of claim 11, the one or more processors, to generate the liveness information, are configured to analyze the current sensor information associated with one or more of the multiple inputs using a liveness assessment algorithm to determine the liveness state (Reznik: Fig. 6, [0054] and [0066]-[0068] Provides for a defined algorithmic process (fusion logic) that analyzes sensor data.)
In reference to claim 13, The electronic device of claim 11, the liveness information is generated using one or more machine learning models that are trained to detect whether the human user is actively handling the electronic device from the current sensor information (Reznik: [0046] and [0066] Provides for Viola-Jones algorithm, which is a machine-learning-based classifier.)
In reference to claim 14, The electronic device of claim 11, the liveness information associated with the current sensor information is based at least in part on patterns associated with historical sensor information (Reznik: [0053] and [0069]-[0072] Provides for maintaining historical sensor data in circular buffers with timestamps and computing statistics over accumulated samples.)
In reference to claim 15, The electronic device of claim 11, the liveness indicator has a value that is based at least in part on whether a threshold number or a threshold proportion of the multiple inputs indicate that the human user is actively handling the electronic device (Reznik: [0054] and [0065]-[0068] Provides for a fusion logic that requires multiple conditions to be simultaneously satisfied to confirm user presence.)
In reference to claim 16, The electronic device of claim 11, the liveness indicator has a value that indicates a probability that the human user is actively handling the electronic device (Cavallini: [0064]-[0070] Provides for liveness indicator expressed as a numerical score (e.g., 55 out of a possible weighted total) that reflects the degree of confidence in liveness.)
In reference to claim 17,The electronic device of claim 11, the liveness indicator includes a flag that has a first value to indicate that the human user is actively handling the electronic device or a second value to indicate that the electronic device is not being actively handled by the human user (Reznik: [0062]-[0064] Provides for a boolean field “user_detected” that takes one of two values (true/false).)
In reference to claim 18, The electronic device of claim 11, the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit the liveness information to a network node (Cavallini: [0050] and [0069] Provides for transmitting liveness-related information (an alert indicating the liveness determination result) over a network interface to a remote node.)
In reference to claim 20,The electronic device of claim 18, the liveness information is transmitted to the network node in connection with a data campaign to assess usage patterns associated with live human users and simulated human activity (Cavallini: [0050] and [0069]-[0070] Provides for transmitting liveness results to a remote node and for using test data to optimize the system's ability to distinguish live humans from simulated.)
In reference to claim 21, A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to: receive multiple inputs that each indicate current sensor information related to a liveness state associated with a human user (Reznik: [0030]-[0038] and [0054] Provides for receiving multiple sensor inputs (camera, accelerometer, gyroscope, proximity sensor, etc.) that collectively teach determining whether a user is present and active.)
Wherein the multiple inputs include one or more motion detection inputs, one or more tilt recognition inputs and one or more biometric inputs (Reznik: [0035]-[0038], [0048] and [0064] Provides for motion detection (accelerometer variance), tilt recognition (gyroscope and device orientation/angle detection for viewing posture), and biometric inputs (face detection via camera).)
The one or more biometric inputs comprising a human proximity detection input indicating whether one or more humans are present within a threshold distance of the electronic device (Reznik: [0067]-[0069] Provides for face detection as a biometric input that determines whether a human is present within a defined threshold distance.)
generating, based at least in part on the multiple inputs, liveness information that includes a liveness assessment word (Reznik: [0054]-[0063] Provides for generating a structured output (uad_result_1) based on fused multi-sensor inputs that encodes user presence information.)
a liveness indicator that indicates whether a human user is actively handling the electronic device (Reznik: [0063]-[0065] Provides for detecting and distinguishing whether a user is actively holding/handling the device versus the device being stationary.)
Reznik does not explicitly teach wherein the generating includes one or more bits, wherein each bit of the one ore more bits represents the liveness state associated with a respective input of the multiple inputs and wherein the liveness indicator is based at least in part on a ratio of inputs of the multiple inputs, that indicate liveness satisfying a threshold. However, Cavallini teaches:
Wherein the generating includes one or more bits, wherein each bit of the one ore more bits represents the liveness state associated with a respective inpute of the multiple inputs (Cavallini: [0063]-[0064] Provides for individual binary (TRUE/FALSE) results for each liveness indicator corresponding to each respective input.)
Wherein the liveness indicator is based at least in part on a ratio of inputs of the multiple inputs, that indicate liveness satisfying a threshold (Cavallini: [0064]-[0070] Provides for threshold-based determination that depends on the proportion of liveness indicators returning TRUE out of the total set.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Reznik, which provides a method for receiving multiple sensor inputs including motion, tilt, and biometric data to generate liveness information indicating whether a human user is actively handling an electronic device, with the teachings of Cavallini, which introduces binary bit representation for individual liveness states and ratio-based threshold determination for overall liveness assessment. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Cavallini's structured binary encoding and statistical threshold approach into Reznik's multi-sensor liveness detection system to provide more robust and quantifiable liveness determination. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve liveness detection accuracy by requiring a statistically significant proportion of sensors to indicate human presence rather than relying on any single input.
In reference to claim 22, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, the one or more instructions, that cause the electronic device to generate the liveness information, cause the electronic device to analyze the current sensor information associated with one or more of the multiple inputs using a liveness assessment algorithm to determine the liveness state (Reznik: Fig. 6, [0054] and [0066]-[0068] Provides for a defined algorithmic process (fusion logic) that analyzes sensor data.)
In reference to claim 23, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, the liveness information is generated using one or more machine learning models that are trained to detect whether the human user is actively handling the electronic device from the current sensor information (Reznik: [0046] and [0066] Provides for Viola-Jones algorithm, which is a machine-learning-based classifier.)
In reference to claim 24, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, the liveness indicator has a value that is based at least in part on whether a threshold number or a threshold proportion of the multiple inputs indicate that the human user is actively handling the electronic device (Reznik: [0054] and [0065]-[0068] Provides for a fusion logic that requires multiple conditions to be simultaneously satisfied to confirm user presence.)
In reference to claim 25, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, the liveness indicator has a value that indicates a probability that the human user is actively handling the electronic device (Cavallini: [0064]-[0070] Provides for liveness indicator expressed as a numerical score (e.g., 55 out of a possible weighted total) that reflects the degree of confidence in liveness.)
In reference to claim 26, An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for receiving multiple inputs that each indicate current sensor information related to a liveness state associated with a human user (Reznik: [0030]-[0038] and [0054] Provides for receiving multiple sensor inputs (camera, accelerometer, gyroscope, proximity sensor, etc.) that collectively teach determining whether a user is present and active.)
Wherein the multiple inputs include one or more motion detection inputs, one or more tilt recognition inputs and one or more biometric inputs (Reznik: [0035]-[0038], [0048] and [0064] Provides for motion detection (accelerometer variance), tilt recognition (gyroscope and device orientation/angle detection for viewing posture), and biometric inputs (face detection via camera).)
The one or more biometric inputs comprising a human proximity detection input indicating whether one or more humans are present within a threshold distance of the electronic device (Reznik: [0067]-[0069] Provides for face detection as a biometric input that determines whether a human is present within a defined threshold distance.)
Means for generating, based at least in part on the multiple inputs, liveness information that includes a liveness assessment word (Reznik: [0054]-[0063] Provides for generating a structured output (uad_result_1) based on fused multi-sensor inputs that encodes user presence information.)
a liveness indicator that indicates whether a human user is actively handling the electronic device (Reznik: [0063]-[0065] Provides for detecting and distinguishing whether a user is actively holding/handling the device versus the device being stationary.)
Reznik does not explicitly teach wherein the generating includes one or more bits, wherein each bit of the one ore more bits represents the liveness state associated with a respective input of the multiple inputs and wherein the liveness indicator is based at least in part on a ratio of inputs of the multiple inputs, that indicate liveness satisfying a threshold. However, Cavallini teaches:
Wherein the generating includes one or more bits, wherein each bit of the one ore more bits represents the liveness state associated with a respective inpute of the multiple inputs (Cavallini: [0063]-[0064] Provides for individual binary (TRUE/FALSE) results for each liveness indicator corresponding to each respective input.)
Wherein the liveness indicator is based at least in part on a ratio of inputs of the multiple inputs, that indicate liveness satisfying a threshold (Cavallini: [0064]-[0070] Provides for threshold-based determination that depends on the proportion of liveness indicators returning TRUE out of the total set.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Reznik, which provides a method for receiving multiple sensor inputs including motion, tilt, and biometric data to generate liveness information indicating whether a human user is actively handling an electronic device, with the teachings of Cavallini, which introduces binary bit representation for individual liveness states and ratio-based threshold determination for overall liveness assessment. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Cavallini's structured binary encoding and statistical threshold approach into Reznik's multi-sensor liveness detection system to provide more robust and quantifiable liveness determination. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve liveness detection accuracy by requiring a statistically significant proportion of sensors to indicate human presence rather than relying on any single input.
In reference to claim 27, The apparatus of claim 26, the means for generating the liveness information includes means for analyzing the current sensor information associated with one or more of the multiple inputs using a liveness assessment algorithm to determine the liveness state (Reznik: Fig. 6, [0054] and [0066]-[0068] Provides for a defined algorithmic process (fusion logic) that analyzes sensor data.)
In reference to claim 28, The apparatus of claim 26, the liveness information is generated using one or more machine learning models that are trained to detect whether the human user is actively handling the apparatus from the current sensor information (Reznik: [0046] and [0066] Provides for Viola-Jones algorithm, which is a machine-learning-based classifier.)
In reference to claim 29, The apparatus of claim 26, the liveness indicator has a value that is based at least in part on whether a threshold number or a threshold proportion of the multiple inputs indicate that the human user is actively handling the apparatus (Reznik: [0054] and [0065]-[0068] Provides for a fusion logic that requires multiple conditions to be simultaneously satisfied to confirm user presence.)
In reference to claim 30, The apparatus of claim 26, the liveness indicator has a value that indicates a probability that the human user is actively handling the apparatus (Cavallini: [0064]-[0070] Provides for liveness indicator expressed as a numerical score (e.g., 55 out of a possible weighted total) that reflects the degree of confidence in liveness.)
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reznik et al. (US 20150241962 A1, referred to as Reznik) in further view of Cavallini (US 20150310289 A1, Cavallini) in further view of Hanna et al. (US 20140270404 A1, referred to as Hanna).
In reference to claim 9, Reznik in view of Cavallini teaches the method of claim 8. However they do not explicitly disclose information being in connection with a short message service (SMS). However, Hanna discloses:
The method of claim 8, wherein the liveness information is transmitted to the network node in connection with a short message service (Hanna: [0133]-[0135] Provides for liveness detection information being sent and in connection with a short message service (SMS).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Reznik in view of Cavallini, which provides a system for liveness detection using multiple sensor inputs and composite assessments, with the teachings of Hanna, which introduces transmitting liveness information via SMS. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate SMS transmission into the existing liveness detection system to enable more flexible communication options. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to leverage widely available SMS infrastructure, ensure delivery of liveness information
In reference to claim 19, Reznik in view of Cavallini teaches the method of claim 8. However they do not explicitly disclose information being in connection with a short message service (SMS). However, Hanna discloses:
The electronic device of claim 18, wherein the liveness information is transmitted to the network node in connection with a short message service. (Hanna: [0133]-[0135] Provides for liveness detection information being sent and in connection with a short message service (SMS).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Reznik in view of Cavallini, which provides a system for liveness detection using multiple sensor inputs and composite assessments, with the teachings of Hanna, which introduces transmitting liveness information via SMS. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate SMS transmission into the existing liveness detection system to enable more flexible communication options. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to leverage widely available SMS infrastructure, ensure delivery of liveness information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2432
/Jeffrey Nickerson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2432