DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 10880921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims by not claiming some claim elements (i.e., an uplink grant for the LAA cell).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of US 10880921
A method comprising:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device: radio resource control (RRC) messaging comprising one or more channel access procedure configuration parameters for a cell operating in the shared spectrum; and
receiving, by a wireless device from a base station: one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising listen before talk (LBT) configuration parameters for a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell; an uplink grant for the LAA cell; and
a parameter indicating one starting symbol, of a plurality of configured starting symbols within an uplink time interval, to use for transmission of one or more transport blocks (TBs);
a parameter identifying one starting symbol position, of a plurality of configured starting symbol positions within an uplink subframe, to use for transmission of one or more transport blocks (TBs);
performing, based on the one or more channel access configuration parameters, a channel access procedure for the cell; and
performing, based on the LBT configuration parameters, an LBT procedure for the LAA cell; and
transmitting, based on the channel access procedure indicating an idle channel and starting from the one starting symbol indicated by the parameter, the one or more TBs via the cell.
based on the LBT procedure indicating a clear channel, transmitting, based on the uplink grant and starting from the one starting symbol position identified by the parameter, the one or more TBs via the LAA cell.
Claims 1-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-65 of U.S. Patent No. 11582799. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims by not claiming some claim elements (i.e., listen before talk (LBT) configuration parameters).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of US 11582799
A method comprising:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device: radio resource control (RRC) messaging comprising one or more channel access procedure configuration parameters for a cell operating in the shared spectrum; and
receiving, by a wireless device: one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising one or more listen before talk (LBT) configuration parameters for an unlicensed cell; and
a parameter indicating one starting symbol, of a plurality of configured starting symbols within an uplink time interval, to use for transmission of one or more transport blocks (TBs);
a parameter indicating one starting symbol position, of a plurality of configured starting symbol positions within an uplink time interval, to use for transmission of one or more transport blocks (TBs);
performing, based on the one or more channel access configuration parameters, a channel access procedure for the cell; and
performing, based on the one or more LBT configuration parameters, an LBT procedure for the unlicensed cell; and
transmitting, based on the channel access procedure indicating an idle channel and starting from the one starting symbol indicated by the parameter, the one or more TBs via the cell.
transmitting, based on the LBT procedure indicating a clear channel and starting from the one starting symbol position indicated by the parameter, the one or more TBs via the unlicensed cell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-12, 16, 17, 19, 23-28, 32, 33, 35, 39-44 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhorkar et al. (US Pub. 2018/0234886) in view of Nory et al. (US 10,299,262).
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 33, Bhorkar teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device: radio resource control (RRC) messaging comprising one or more channel access procedure configuration parameters for a cell operating in a shared spectrum (“the ED threshold that should be used at UE 110 to perform LBT may be indicated by eNB 136” in [0061]); performing, based on the one or more channel access configuration parameters, a channel access procedure for the cell (“the ED threshold that should be used at UE 110 to perform LBT may be indicated by eNB 136” in [0061]). Bhorkar, however, does not teach receiving a parameter indicating one starting symbol, of a plurality of configured starting symbols within an uplink time interval, to use for transmission of one or more transport blocks (TBs) and transmitting, based on the channel access procedure indicating an idle channel and starting from the one starting symbol indicated by the parameter, the one or more TBs via the cell. Nory teaches receiving a parameter indicating one starting symbol, of a plurality of configured starting symbols within an uplink time interval, to use for transmission of one or more transport blocks (TBs) (see “the grant includes an indication of a starting symbol of the physical uplink shared channel transmissions” in claim 8) and transmitting, based on the channel access procedure indicating an idle channel and starting from the one starting symbol indicated by the parameter, the one or more TBs via the cell (see transmitting PUSCH in step 260 after LBT in step 250 in Figure 2 and “transmitting the physical uplink shared channel transmissions starting with … the indicated starting symbol” in claim 8). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bhorkar to have receiving a parameter indicating one starting symbol, of a plurality of configured starting symbols within an uplink time interval, to use for transmission of one or more transport blocks (TBs) and transmitting, based on the channel access procedure indicating an idle channel and starting from the one starting symbol indicated by the parameter, the one or more TBs via the cell as taught by Nory in order to use uplink grant received (step 220 in Figure 2).
Regarding claims 3, 19 and 35, Nory teaches the receiving the parameter indicating the one starting symbol is via a licensed cell (“The grant in response to which the UE transmits PUSCH on the unlicensed carrier can be received by the UE on either the Pcell, such as on a licensed carrier” in Column 4 Lines 63-66).
Regarding claims 7, 23 and 39, Bhorkar teaches the one or more channel access procedure configuration parameters comprises an indication of an energy detection threshold (“the ED threshold that should be used at UE 110 to perform LBT may be indicated by eNB 136” in [0061]); and the performing the channel access procedure comprises performing, based on the energy detection threshold, the channel access procedure (step 530 in Figure 5).
Regarding claims 8, 24 and 40, Bhorkar teaches the receiving at least one of the RRC messaging or the parameter indicating the one starting symbol is from one or more of: a transceiver; a base station; a base station sector; a node; or a relay node (“the ED threshold that should be used at UE 110 to perform LBT may be indicated by eNB 136” in [0061]).
Regarding claims 9, 25 and 41, Nory teaches the cell comprises one or more of: a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell; a cell that is configured to use an unlicensed spectrum for transmission; a cell that is configured to use an unlicensed spectrum for transmission in accordance with one or more Third Generation Partnership Project standards; a cell that is configured to use an unlicensed spectrum for transmission in accordance with one or more regulatory requirements; a primary cell; a secondary cell; or a primary secondary cell (“the UE can be configured with a Primary cell (Pcell) that can operate on a licensed carrier and a Secondary cell (Scell) that can operate on an unlicensed carrier. The grant in response to which the UE transmits PUSCH on the unlicensed carrier can be received by the UE on either the Pcell, such as on a licensed carrier, or the Scell, such as on an unlicensed carrier” in Column 4 Lines 60-66)).
Regarding claims 10, 26 and 42, Bhorkar teaches the uplink time interval comprises one or more of: a frame; a subframe; or a slot [0028].
Regarding claims 11, 27 and 43, Nory teaches receiving an uplink grant for the cell (“uplink DCI grants to the one or more UEs for an uplink transmission on one or more LAA cells” in [0138]), wherein the transmitting is based on the uplink grant (“The grant in response to which the UE transmits PUSCH on the unlicensed carrier can be received by the UE on either the Pcell, such as on a licensed carrier” in Column 4 Lines 63-66).
Regarding claims 12, 28 and 44, Nory teaches the receiving the uplink grant is via a licensed cell (“The grant in response to which the UE transmits PUSCH on the unlicensed carrier can be received by the UE on either the Pcell, such as on a licensed carrier” in Column 4 Lines 63-66).
Regarding claims 16, 32 and 48, Bhorkar teaches the wireless device supports one or more of: multiple wireless technology standards; or multiple releases of a wireless technology standard (“compatible with one or more radio technologies” in [0070]).
Claims 2, 18 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhorkar et al. in view of Nory et al. and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 2017/0311322).
Regarding claims 2, 18 and 34, Bhorkar in view of Nory teaches the limitations in claims 1, 17 and 33 as shown above. Bhorkar in view of Nory, however, does not teach the cell operates according to frame structure Type 3. Kim teaches the cell operates according to frame structure Type 3 [0368]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bhorkar in view of Nory to have the cell operates according to frame structure Type 3 as taught by Kim in order to use a new frame structure used in LAA [0369].
Claims 4-6, 13-15, 20-22, 29-31, 36-38 and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhorkar et al. in view of Nory et al. and further in view of Xiong et al. (US Pub. 2018/0359762).
Regarding claims 4, 20 and 36, Bhorkar in view of Nory teaches the limitations in claims 1, 17 and 33 as shown above. Bhorkar in view of Nory, however, does not teach the receiving the parameter indicating the one starting symbol is via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or via an enhanced physical downlink control channel (ePDCCH). Xiong teaches the receiving the parameter indicating the one starting symbol is via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or via an enhanced physical downlink control channel (ePDCCH) (see “a DCI may be included in or may be transmitted as part of a 5G physical downlink control channel (xPDCCH)” in [0063] and “the DCI format may include a starting symbol of an xPDSCH or xPUSCH” in [0076]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bhorkar in view of Nory to have the receiving the parameter indicating the one starting symbol is via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or via an enhanced physical downlink control channel (ePDCCH) as taught by Xiong in order to explicitly signal starting symbols for the transmission of the xPDSCH and/or xPUSCH [0086].
Regarding claims 5, 21 and 37, Xiong teaches receiving the parameter indicating the one starting symbol comprises receiving downlink control information (DCI) that comprises the parameter indicating the one starting symbol (“the DCI format may include a starting symbol of an xPDSCH or xPUSCH” in [0076]).
Regarding claims 6, 22 and 38, Xiong teaches the receiving the DCI is in a first time interval (“xPDCCH on subframe n” in [0079]).
Regarding claims 13, 29 and 45, Xiong teaches the receiving the uplink grant is via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or via an enhanced physical downlink control channel (ePDCCH) (see “a DCI may be included in or may be transmitted as part of a 5G physical downlink control channel (xPDCCH)” in [0063] and “a DCI for DL assignment and UL grant may be used to explicitly signal starting symbols” in [0086]).
Regarding claims 14, 30 and 46, Xiong teaches the receiving the uplink grant comprises receiving downlink control information (DCI) that comprises the uplink grant (“a DCI for DL assignment and UL grant may be used to explicitly signal starting symbols” in [0086]).
Regarding claims 15, 31 and 47, Xiong teaches the uplink grant is for k time intervals after a first time interval that comprises downlink control information (DCI) (“the gap between xPDCCH and xPDSCH/xPUSCH may be indicated in the DCI format. For instance, when xPDSCH on sub-frame n+k is scheduled by xPDCCH on subframe n, the gap k may be indicated in the DCI format” in [0079]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414