DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 filed on 03/18/2026 in Application 18/153,418 are presently examined. Claims 1, 9, and 15 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 USC 103, Applicant's arguments filed 03/18/2026 regarding the switch being a toggle or push-button switch have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Oh does disclose a physical, manually activated button switch used to energize the vehicle outlet.
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/18/2026 regarding the new limitation extending the first time period is moot, since it changed the scope of the invention and required a new ground of rejection. New reference Salter teaches this limitation. Salter uses a range around the vehicle and a repeating communication between the driver’s device along with a timer based on whether the driver is in or out of the range in order to power outlets. When the driver and mobile device are within range, the outlets are powered. When the driver and mobile device are out of range, the timer begins and eventually disables the outlets if the driver and device do not re-enter the range of the vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 13-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 20210053460 A1), in view of Thompson et al. (US 20210387528 A1) and Salter et al. (US 10384626 B2), hereinafter referred to as Oh, Thompson, and Salter, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses A method comprising:
determining, by a processor in a vehicle, that the vehicle is in a key-off state ([0003] “The indoor authentication of the smart key is completed when a parking (P) stage button is pressed” [0006] “supply power when a plug is connected to an outlet provided in the electric vehicle while entering a leisure mode” when parked and in leisure mode the system may then begin determining whether the outlet should be powered or not.);
detecting, by the processor, at least one of a first door of the vehicle being opened or the first door being unlocked by an individual ([0009] “The controller may be configured to supply power to the outlet when a driver seat door is opened and the outlet is plugged in in the leisure mode.”); and
Oh discloses allow an individual to energize an electrical power outlet in the vehicle based on manually activating a switch after the first door is one of opened or unlocked and the vehicle is in the key-off state, wherein energizing the electrical power outlet comprises activating the switch to couple an electrical power source to the electrical power outlet … manually activating a switch, wherein the switch is one of a toggle switch or a push-button switch ([0011] “The controller may also be configured to supply power to the outlet mounted on an outside of the electric vehicle when the outlet is plugged in and a permission signal is received from an input button mounted on an inside of the electric vehicle.” Oh uses a manually activated push button switch to energize the outlet. Oh discloses supplying power to the outlet and also the blocking of power to the outlet in certain circumstances. This would include coupling and decoupling the outlet to and from the power source by the controller.).
Oh fails to explicitly disclose providing, by the processor, a first time period to allow an individual to energize an electrical power outlet in the vehicle based on manually activating a switch.
However, Thompson teaches providing, by the processor, a first time period to allow an individual to energize an electrical power outlet in the vehicle based on manually activating a switch ([0131] “Proceeding to 625, method 600 judges whether confirmation has been received within a first predetermined duration … confirmation comprises the operator selecting one of the prompted options at the screen or personal computing device” selection an option on a screen is considered manually activating a switch.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Thompson to provide first threshold duration for the user to confirm the powering of the outlet. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to provide a duration threshold in order to disconnect the outlet from power if a response is not received from the user (Thompson [0122] “the DCAC converter was operating in the low power output mode and where the request is to transition to the high power output mode, if the response is not received within the predetermined threshold duration then the DCAC converter system operation may be discontinued, such that the DCAC converter no longer converts power.”).
Oh discloses automatically placing the electrical power outlet in an unpowered state ([0047] “stop power supply when a plug-off occurs during power supply through the outlet 170 (e.g., the plug is unplugged), a power supply time set by a user expires”).
Oh fails to explicitly disclose extending, by the processor, the first time period based on detecting at least one of a presence of the individual or a passive entry device carried by the individual inside a boundary defined around the vehicle.
However, Salter teaches extending, by the processor, the first time period based on detecting at least one of a presence of the individual or a passive entry device carried by the individual inside a boundary defined around the vehicle ([abstract] “a vehicle power socket includes a wireless node, a plug, a switch, an accessory power socket and a controller” [column 5, lines 56-57] “the wireless node 208 also pairs with a mobile device 216” [column 6, lines 13-15] “the processor or controller 204 controls the state of the switch 210 based on the service messages from the mobile device.” [column 6, lines 17-29] “the device plugged into the switched power plug 124 may receive power when the ignition switch 104 is set to off when the application is activated by the user. For example, a dashboard camera receive power when the mobile device 216 is within range (e.g., 33 feet, etc.) of the wireless node 208 of the switched power plug 124, but does not receive power when mobile device moves past the range of the wireless node 208. As illustrated in the example of FIG. 3, upon receiving the service message, the processor or controller 204 closes the switch 210. The processor or controller 204 causes the switch 210 to remain closed until the service message is not received for a threshold period of time.” As long as the mobile device carried by the user is within range of the vehicle, it transmits a service message. Once outside the range, a timer is used to disconnect the outlet from power. Providing power on the outlet indefinitely when in range is reads on extending a time duration.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Salter to provide power to the outlet while a mobile device held by the driver is within range of the vehicle, and use a timer after they exit the range of the vehicle to disable the outlet after the time expires. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to provide such a timer based on the presence of the user and/or device in order to prevent battery drain when the driver is away ([column 1 lines 16-17] “the battery of the vehicle may drain while the driver is away.”).
Oh fails to explicitly disclose automatically placing the electrical power outlet in an unpowered state based on detecting a failure of the individual to manually activate the switch within the first time period.
However, Thompson teaches automatically placing the electrical power outlet in an unpowered state based on detecting a failure of the individual to manually activate the switch within the first time period ([FIG. 6] steps 625 and 630. [0122] “the DCAC converter was operating in the low power output mode and where the request is to transition to the high power output mode, if the response is not received within the predetermined threshold duration then the DCAC converter system operation may be discontinued, such that the DCAC converter no longer converts power.” [0131]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Thompson to disable the DCAC power when a user does not provide confirmation within a threshold duration. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to provide a duration threshold in order to provide AC power only when desired (Thompson [0047] “DC power is converted via the generator 160 to AC power for powering power box 191 under situations where AC power is desired.”).
Regarding claim 2, Oh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein
the first door is a driver-side door of the vehicle ([0013] “when a driver seat door is opened”),
the individual is a driver of the vehicle ([0010] “indoor authentication of a smart key possessed by the user” the user owns the key to the vehicle, therefore is the driver of the vehicle.).
Regarding claim 3, Oh discloses The method of claim 1 wherein the switch is one of a toggle switch or a push-button switch ([0011] “supply power to the outlet mounted on an outside of the electric vehicle when the outlet is plugged in and a permission signal is received from an input button mounted on an inside of the electric vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 7, Oh discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising:
extending, by the processor, the first time period based on at least one of detecting a presence of the individual inside a boundary defined around the vehicle or detecting, based on evaluating an image, that an electrical power cord of a device located outside the vehicle is plugged into the electrical power outlet ([0035] “the left camera may be disposed under the left side mirror of the electric vehicle” [FIG. 4] outlet on left side of the vehicle with tent in background [0039] “The outlet 170 allows the user to use the power for leisure” [0041] “determine whether the user participates in a leisure activity based on the surrounding information of the electric vehicle, and when the plug is connected to the outlet provided in the electric vehicle” [0043] “determine whether the user participate in a leisure activity based on the SVM image obtained using the SVM system 120.”).
Regarding claim 8, Oh discloses The method of claim 7, wherein energizing the electrical power outlet comprises activating the switch to couple a battery of the vehicle to the electrical power outlet, and wherein the method further comprises:
issuing, by the processor, an alert upon at least one of an expiration of a second period of time or detecting a charge level of the battery dropping below a threshold charge; and disconnecting, by the processor, the battery from the electrical power outlet ([0054] “the power management apparatus 100 may be configured to block the power supply to the outlet 170 in response to determining that the drivable distance is equal to or less than the distance from the current location to the nearest charging station during the power supply through the outlet 170. The power management apparatus 100 may be configured to operate the buzzer 190 to output the warning sound indicating that the leisure power supplied through the outlet 170 is blocked.”.).
Oh fails to disclose disconnecting, by the processor, the battery from the electrical power outlet after a wait period has expired since issuing of the alert.
However, Thompson teaches disconnecting, by the processor, the battery from the electrical power outlet after a wait period has expired since issuing of the alert. ([claim 15] “indicate that a level of fuel is below a threshold fuel level, notify an operator of the vehicle of the level of fuel, and request confirmation to continue operating the direct current to alternating current power converter; and disable the direct current to alternating current power converter if confirmation is not received within a predetermined time duration.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Thompson to notify the driver that a fuel level is below a threshold value and disconnect the outlet from power if the driver does not respond within a predetermined duration. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to provide this warning to the user order to enable the user to adjust operation of the DCAC as desired (Thompson [0018] “FIG. 6 shows a flow chart illustrating an example method that can be implemented to alert a vehicle operator of fuel level in a fuel tank, so that the customer may adjust operation of a DCAC converter system as desired”).
Regarding claim 9, Oh discloses A method comprising:
determining, by a processor in a vehicle, that the vehicle is in a key-off state ([0003] “The indoor authentication of the smart key is completed when a parking (P) stage button is pressed” [0006] “supply power when a plug is connected to an outlet provided in the electric vehicle while entering a leisure mode” when parked and in leisure mode the system may then determine whether the outlet is powered or not.);
detecting, by the processor, a presence of a passive entry device within a threshold distance of the vehicle ([0063] “When the user opens the passenger seat door or the rear seat door to use the outlet 170 mounted on the outside of the electric vehicle, based on the detection signal from the door sensor 130, the controller 30 … receives, from the smart key system 150, a message indicating that the indoor authentication of the smart key 310 is successful.” [0037] “The smart key system 150 may be mounted on the electric vehicle to authenticate the smart key of the user and detect the location of the smart key (e.g., indoor or outdoor of the vehicle).” Here the individual is accessing the interior portion of the vehicle by opening the door(s) as well as a threshold distance of the passive entry device (smart key) being close enough to the vehicle to open the door(s).); and
Oh fails to explicitly disclose energizing, by the processor, an electrical power outlet provided in the vehicle and accessible from outside the vehicle based on detecting the presence of the passive entry device within the threshold distance while the vehicle is in the key-off state;
retaining, by the processor, the electrical power outlet in an energized state beyond a first time period based on determining that the passive entry device is located within the threshold distance of the vehicle
However, Salter teaches energizing, by the processor, an electrical power outlet provided in the vehicle and accessible from outside the vehicle based on detecting the presence of the passive entry device within the threshold distance while the vehicle is in the key-off state, retaining, by the processor, the electrical power outlet in an energized state beyond a first time period based on determining that the passive entry device is located within the threshold distance of the vehicle ([abstract] “a vehicle power socket includes a wireless node, a plug, a switch, an accessory power socket and a controller” [column 5, lines 56-57] “the wireless node 208 also pairs with a mobile device 216” [column 6, lines 13-15] “the processor or controller 204 controls the state of the switch 210 based on the service messages from the mobile device.” [column 6, lines 17-29] “the device plugged into the switched power plug 124 may receive power when the ignition switch 104 is set to off when the application is activated by the user. For example, a dashboard camera receive power when the mobile device 216 is within range (e.g., 33 feet, etc.) of the wireless node 208 of the switched power plug 124, but does not receive power when mobile device moves past the range of the wireless node 208. As illustrated in the example of FIG. 3, upon receiving the service message, the processor or controller 204 closes the switch 210. The processor or controller 204 causes the switch 210 to remain closed until the service message is not received for a threshold period of time.” As long as the mobile device carried by the user is within range of the vehicle, it transmits a service message. Once outside the range, a timer is used to disconnect the outlet from power. Providing power on the outlet indefinitely when in range is reads on extending a time duration.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Salter to provide power to the outlet while a mobile device held by the driver is within range of the vehicle, and use a timer after they exit the range of the vehicle to disable the outlet after the time expires. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to provide such a timer based on the presence of the user and/or device in order to prevent battery drain when the driver is away ([column 1 lines 16-17] “the battery of the vehicle may drain while the driver is away.”).
Regarding claim 13, Oh discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: disconnecting, by the processor, the electrical power coupled to the electrical power outlet ([0066] “The power relay 40 may be configured to supply or block power to the outlet 170 under the operation of the controller 30.”).
Oh discloses a user-definable time period ([0047] “a power supply time set by a user”) but this is not same as a time period within which the user may enable the electrical outlet. Oh’s user defined time appears to control how long the outlet may remain powered.
Oh fails to disclose at least one of the first time period or the threshold distance is definable by the individual.
However, Thompson teaches the first time period is definable by the individual ([0123] “the predetermined threshold duration may be a function of onboard energy storage device size and power consumption over the low power output threshold” where the user is controlling the power consumption via the tools or equipment plugged into the activated outlets of the vehicle, therefore the threshold duration is user-definable.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Thompson to make the threshold duration of time a function of the user’s power consumption. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to establish the duration threshold as a function of at least power consumption to the outlet in order to prevent DCAC system faults caused by the SOC dropping below a threshold (Thompson [0123] “if battery SOC drops below a predetermined threshold SOC, the DCAC system may fault.”).
Oh discloses receiving, by the processor, from a security system of the vehicle, an alarm ([0065] “the controller 30 may be configured to operate the buzzer 190 to output a warning sound indicating that the leisure power supplied through the outlet 170 is blocked.”).
Oh fails to disclose receiving, by the processor, from a security system of the vehicle, an alarm during the first time period.
However, Thompson teaches receiving, by the processor, from a security system of the vehicle, an alarm during the first time period ([claim 15] “indicate that a level of fuel is below a threshold fuel level, notify an operator of the vehicle of the level of fuel, and request confirmation to continue operating the direct current to alternating current power converter”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Thompson to notify the driver that a fuel level is below a threshold value and request confirmation during the first threshold time duration. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to provide this alarm during the threshold duration in order to disable the outlet if a response is not received (Thompson [claim 15] “and disable the direct current to alternating current power converter if confirmation is not received within a predetermined time duration.”).
Regarding claim 14, Oh discloses The method of claim 13, further comprising:
reconnecting, by the processor, the electrical power to the electrical power outlet upon detecting at least one of a door of the vehicle being opened or a cancellation of the alarm ([0003] “a power management device provided within the electric vehicle automatically turns the power of the electric vehicle on or off when a particular condition is met. When a driver seat door is open … a power management device turns on the power of an electric vehicle (e.g., power is supplied to an electric load).” The power is only available when the door is open.).
Regarding claim 15, Oh discloses A vehicle comprising:
a vehicle controller ([0058] “the power management apparatus 100 for an electric vehicle according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may include storage 10, an information collector 20, a controller 30”);
a detector system ([0029] “surround view monitoring (SVM) system 120” [0036] “The door sensor 130, which is a sensor configured to detect the opening and closing of each door” [0037] “The plug sensor 140 … The smart key system 150 may … detect the location of the smart key”); and
a parking assistance system comprising: a memory that stores computer-executable instructions; and a processor configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to perform operations ([0023] “controller/control unit refers to a hardware device that includes a memory and a processor. The memory is configured to store the modules and the processor is specifically configured to execute said modules to perform one or more processes”) comprising:
determining, based on information received from the vehicle controller, that the vehicle is in a key-off state ([0003] “The indoor authentication of the smart key is completed when a parking (P) stage button is pressed” [0006] “supply power when a plug is connected to an outlet provided in the electric vehicle while entering a leisure mode” when parked and in leisure mode the system may then determine whether the outlet should be powered or not.);
detecting, based on information received from the detector system, at least one of a first door of the vehicle being opened or the first door being unlocked by use of a passive entry device ([column 1 line 65] “a door adjacent to the driver's seat is opened”); and
allow an individual to energize an electrical power outlet in the vehicle based on manually activating a switch after the first door is one of unlocked or opened wherein energizing the electrical power outlet comprises activating the switch to couple an electrical power source to the electrical power outlet, wherein the switch is one of a toggle switch or a push-button switch ([0013] “supplying power to an outlet mounted on an outside of the electric vehicle when the outlet mounted on the outside of the electric vehicle is plugged in and a permission signal is received from an input button mounted on the inside of the electric vehicle.” Oh teaches supplying power to the outlet and also the blocking of power to the outlet in certain circumstances. This would include coupling and decoupling the outlet to and from the power source by the controller. The user would have to open the door, plug something into the outside outlet, and press the input button inside the vehicle.).
Oh fails to teach providing a first time period to allow an individual to energize an electrical power outlet in the vehicle based on manually activating a switch.
However, Thompson teaches providing a first time period to allow an individual to energize an electrical power outlet in the vehicle based on manually activating a switch ([0131] “Proceeding to 625, method 600 judges whether confirmation has been received within a first predetermined duration … confirmation comprises the operator selecting one of the prompted options at the screen or personal computing device” selection an option on a screen is considered manually activating a switch. [0131] “If confirmation is not received within the first threshold duration, method 600 proceeds to 630. At 630, method 600 includes disabling DCAC converter system operation.” [0046] “The power outlets may be external to a cabin of the vehicle (e.g. bed of truck)”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Thompson to disconnect the outlet from power if a response is not received within the threshold time period. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to disable the power to the outlet in order to discontinue providing power to auxiliary loads (Thompson [0131] “Specifically, the DCAC converter system may be commanded to discontinue providing power to auxiliary loads.”).
Oh fails to explicitly disclose extending, by the processor, the first time period based on detecting at least one of a presence of the individual or a passive entry device carried by the individual inside a boundary defined around the vehicle.
However, Salter teaches extending, by the processor, the first time period based on detecting at least one of a presence of the individual or a passive entry device carried by the individual inside a boundary defined around the vehicle ([abstract] “a vehicle power socket includes a wireless node, a plug, a switch, an accessory power socket and a controller” [column 5, lines 56-57] “the wireless node 208 also pairs with a mobile device 216” [column 6, lines 13-15] “the processor or controller 204 controls the state of the switch 210 based on the service messages from the mobile device.” [column 6, lines 17-29] “the device plugged into the switched power plug 124 may receive power when the ignition switch 104 is set to off when the application is activated by the user. For example, a dashboard camera receive power when the mobile device 216 is within range (e.g., 33 feet, etc.) of the wireless node 208 of the switched power plug 124, but does not receive power when mobile device moves past the range of the wireless node 208. As illustrated in the example of FIG. 3, upon receiving the service message, the processor or controller 204 closes the switch 210. The processor or controller 204 causes the switch 210 to remain closed until the service message is not received for a threshold period of time.” As long as the mobile device carried by the user is within range of the vehicle, it transmits a service message. Once outside the range, a timer is used to disconnect the outlet from power. Providing power on the outlet indefinitely when in range is reads on extending a time duration.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Salter to provide power to the outlet while a mobile device held by the driver is within range of the vehicle, and use a timer after they exit the range of the vehicle to disable the outlet after the time expires. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to provide such a timer based on the presence of the user and/or device in order to prevent battery drain when the driver is away ([column 1 lines 16-17] “the battery of the vehicle may drain while the driver is away.”).
Regarding claim 20, Oh discloses The vehicle of claim 15, receiving from the security system, an alarm; and disconnecting, electrical power coupled to the electrical power outlet ([0054] “the power management apparatus 100 may be configured to block the power supply to the outlet 170 in response to determining that the drivable distance is equal to or less than the distance from the current location to the nearest charging station during the power supply through the outlet 170. The power management apparatus 100 may be configured to operate the buzzer 190 to output the warning sound indicating that the leisure power supplied through the outlet 170 is blocked.”.).
Oh fails to disclose receiving from the security system, an alarm during the first time period; and
disconnecting, electrical power coupled to the electrical power outlet based on receiving the alarm.
However, Thompson teaches receiving from the security system, an alarm during the first time period; and disconnecting, electrical power coupled to the electrical power outlet based on receiving the alarm ([claim 15] “indicate that a level of fuel is below a threshold fuel level, notify an operator of the vehicle of the level of fuel, and request confirmation to continue operating the direct current to alternating current power converter; and disable the direct current to alternating current power converter if confirmation is not received within a predetermined time duration.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Thompson to notify the driver that a fuel level is below a threshold value and disconnect the outlet from power if the driver does not respond within a predetermined duration. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to provide this warning to the user order to enable the user to adjust operation of the DCAC as desired (Thompson [0018] “FIG. 6 shows a flow chart illustrating an example method that can be implemented to alert a vehicle operator of fuel level in a fuel tank, so that the customer may adjust operation of a DCAC converter system as desired”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Thompson and Salter, further in view of Morita et al. (JP 2010064607 A), hereinafter referred to as Morita.
Regarding claim 4, Oh discloses The method of claim 2, further comprising:
detecting a user around the vehicle using a camera system ([0035] “the left camera may be disposed under the left side mirror of the electric vehicle” [FIG. 4] outlet on left side of the vehicle with tent in background ” [0043] “determine whether the user participate in a leisure activity based on the SVM image obtained using the SVM system 120.”).
Oh fails to disclose disconnecting, by the processor, the electrical power outlet from the electrical power source based on detecting a movement of the individual outside a boundary defined around the vehicle.
However, Morita teaches disconnecting, by the processor, the electrical power outlet from the electrical power source based on detecting a movement of the individual outside a boundary defined around the vehicle ([0019] “the user position determination means determines that the user is outside the vehicle near the vehicle” [0048] “If a person is photographed in the image data from the exterior peripheral camera 32, it is determined that the user is near the vehicle. If no person is photographed in either image data, it is determined that the user has left the vehicle, provided that it cannot be determined based on other information that the user's location is inside the vehicle or near the vehicle” [0058] “If it is determined that the user has left the vehicle … the time until the power supply state is turned off is set to … 0 minutes if it can be determined with certainty that the user has left the vehicle.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Morita to use internal and external cameras to determine a position of a user and control the power supply state according to whether or not the user as left. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to use images to detect whether or not a user has left the vehicle and is not nearby and turn off the power supply in order to reduce battery power consumption (Morita [0061] “battery power consumption can be reduced compared to when the vehicle power supply is not turned off … regardless of the user's location.”).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Thompson, Salter, and Morita, further in view of Manickam et al. (US 20220348164 A1), hereinafter referred to as Manickam.
Regarding claim 5, Oh fails to disclose The method of claim 4, wherein detecting the movement of the individual outside the boundary defined around the vehicle comprises evaluating, by the processor, an image captured by a camera provided on the vehicle ([0029] “surround view monitoring (SVM) system 120” [0033] “the SVM system 120 may include a camera” [0043] “determine whether the user participate in a leisure activity based on the SVM image obtained using the SVM system 120.”) Oh fails to explicitly disclose that it is detecting an individual within a boundary.
However, Manickam teaches detecting the movement of the individual outside the boundary defined around the vehicle comprises evaluating, by the processor, an image captured by a camera provided on the vehicle ([0014] “based at least in part on processing of the captured image data, the ECU may determine that the user has moved beyond a threshold distance from the vehicle”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Manickam to provide a camera on a vehicle used to detect an individual moving from outside the boundary of the vehicle. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to detect an individual using a camera on a vehicle moving outside the boundary in order to determine vehicle functions based on whether the individual is inside or outside the boundary (Manickam [0014]).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Thompson, Salter, and Morita, further in view of Cikalo et al. (US 10328940 B2) hereinafter referred to Cikalo.
Regarding claim 6, Oh fails to disclose The method of claim 4, further comprising:
reconnecting, by the processor, the electrical power outlet to the electrical power source based on detecting at least one of the first door of the vehicle being re-opened, a second door of the vehicle being opened, or a presence of the individual inside the boundary defined around the vehicle.
However, Cikalo teaches reconnecting, by the processor, the electrical power outlet to the electrical power source based on detecting at least one of the first door of the vehicle being re-opened, a second door of the vehicle being opened, or a presence of the individual inside the boundary defined around the vehicle ([reference FIG. 4] start at block 410, which is energized outlets, being the second (higher) level of power. [column 9 lines 28-36] the vehicle enters SHIVAC state, block 424, [column 7 lines 52-53] “In the SHIVAC state 308, the power inverter 106 continues to supply high power to the outlets”; [column 9 lines 37-49] the vehicle’s gear selector is shifted out of park; [column 2 lines 62-66] “In the SHIVAC state … the vehicle automatically shuts down the engine if the transmission is shifted out of “PARK”)” and therefore the outlets are disconnected from the power source. The system moves to block 426 for authentication which transitions to either PHIVAC or LVAC with low power to outlets [column 8 lines 7-8] “In the PHIVAC state 312, the power inverter 106 supplies low power to the outlets” [column 6 lines 52-53] “In the LVAC state 302, (a) the power inverter 106 supplies low power to the outlets” [see FIG. 4 again] auth state 426 is next. [column 3, lines 1-3] “the vehicle shuts down the vehicle when the user does not produce the authorized key within an amount of time (e.g. 30 to 60 seconds, etc.).” This is interpreted to be the user is within a boundary of the vehicle, the key must be produced. After completing auth state 426 and getting through LVAC 430, user can guide vehicle back to high power outlet state 410 by going through 402, 404, 406, 408, and finally 410 and eventually getting back to secured SHVAC state 422 and 424. It is a cyclical process. Therefore, the outlets can get disconnected and reconnected back to high power.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Cikalo to provide a cyclical process which includes reconnecting the outlets to high power when the user produces the key within the vehicle. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to reconnect the outlets to high power when the user produces the keys in the vehicle in the auth state in order to prevent unauthorized use of the vehicle (Cikalo [column 2, lines 53-55] “By transitioning through these states, the security handler secures the vehicle while idling to prevent an unauthorized user from driving away in an unattended vehicle.”).
Claim(s) 10-12, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Thompson and Salter, further in view of Park (US 20200189460 A1), hereinafter referred to as Park.
Regarding claim 10, Oh fails to explicitly disclose The method of claim 9, wherein detecting the individual exiting from the interior portion of the vehicle comprises:
detecting, by the processor, a first door of the vehicle being opened by the individual.
However, Park teaches detecting the individual exiting from the interior portion of the vehicle comprises:
detecting, by the processor, a first door of the vehicle being opened by the individual [0096] “determine the number of the exiting passengers who leave from the predetermined area when at least one of the rear doors 16L and 16R is opened”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Park to detect when passengers exit the vehicle when the door is opened. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to detect the exit of a passengers in order to use cameras to acquire images of a predetermined area to collect the positional relationship between the vehicle and the key (Park [0024] “acquire the image of the predetermined area by unfolding a side view mirror based on the positional relationship between the smart key and the vehicle before the opening of the front doors.”).
Regarding claim 11, Oh discloses The method of claim 10, wherein the first door is a driver-side door of the vehicle ([0009] “The controller may be configured to supply power to the outlet when a driver seat door is opened and the outlet is plugged in in the leisure mode.”), wherein the individual is a driver of the vehicle ([0010] “indoor authentication of a smart key possessed by the user” the user owns the key to the vehicle, therefore is the driver of the vehicle.), wherein the passive entry device is one of a key fob or a personal device ([0029] “smart key system 150”).
Regarding claim 12, Oh discloses The method of claim 9, wherein retaining, by the processor, the electrical power outlet in a powered-up state beyond the first time period based on determining that the individual is carrying the passive entry device and is located within the threshold distance of the vehicle ([0003] “a power management device provided within the electric vehicle automatically turns the power of the electric vehicle on or off when a particular condition is met. When a driver seat door is open and indoor authentication of a smart key (which is located inside a vehicle) is completed … a power management device turns on the power of an electric vehicle (e.g., power is supplied to an electric load).” Power is maintained when the individual has the key and is in the vehicle (indoor authentication).).
Oh discloses a user-definable power supply time period ([0047] “a power supply time set by a user”) but this is not same as a first time period within which the user may enable the electrical outlet. Oh’s user defined time is in regards to how long the outlet may remain powered.
Oh fails to explicitly disclose at least one of the first time period or the threshold distance is definable by the individual.
However, Thompson teaches the first time period is definable by the individual ([0123] “the predetermined threshold duration may be a function of onboard energy storage device size and power consumption over the low power output threshold” where the user is controlling the power consumption via the tools or equipment plugged into the activated outlets of the vehicle, therefore the threshold duration is user-definable.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Thompson to make the threshold duration of time a function of the user’s power consumption. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to establish the duration threshold as a function of at least power consumption to the outlet in order to prevent DCAC system faults caused by the SOC dropping below a threshold (Thompson [0123] “if battery SOC drops below a predetermined threshold SOC, the DCAC system may fault.”).
Oh fails to explicitly disclose receiving, by the processor, from a camera provided on the vehicle, an image that includes the individual and determining, by the processor, based on evaluating the image that the individual is carrying the passive entry device and is located within the threshold distance of the ([0029] “surround view monitoring (SVM) system 120” [0033] “the SVM system 120 may include a camera” [0043] “determine whether the user participate in a leisure activity based on the SVM image obtained using the SVM system 120.”) Oh fails to explicitly disclose that the SVM is detecting an individual in the image within a boundary.
However, Park teaches receiving, by the processor, from a camera provided on the vehicle, an image that includes the individual and determining, by the processor, based on evaluating the image that the individual is carrying the passive entry device and is located within the threshold distance of the vehicle ([0057] “The controller 200 controls the image acquisition unit 100 to acquire the one of more images of the predetermined area based on the positional relationship between a smart key 400 and the vehicle 1” [0066] “the controller 200 may determine whether the driver holds the smart key 400 and approaches the vehicle 1 within a predetermined distance”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Park to use a camera to detect when an individual is carrying the key and enters a threshold distance from the vehicle. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to determine this in order to open one of the doors of the vehicle (Park [0007] “opening of at least one of rear doors of the vehicle”).
Regarding claim 16, Oh discloses The vehicle of claim 15, wherein the switch is operable to couple an electrical power source to the electrical power outlet ([0011] “The controller may also be configured to supply power to the outlet mounted on an outside of the electric vehicle when the outlet is plugged in and a permission signal is received from an input button mounted on an inside of the electric vehicle.”).
Oh fails to explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle further comprises an image capture system comprising a camera configured to capture an image of at least one of the individual or the passive entry device carried by the individual ([0029] “surround view monitoring (SVM) system 120” [0033] “the SVM system 120 may include a camera” [0043] “determine whether the user participate in a leisure activity based on the SVM image obtained using the SVM system 120.”).
However, Park teaches the vehicle further comprises an image capture system comprising a camera configured to capture an image of at least one of the individual or the passive entry device carried by the individual ([0057] “The controller 200 controls the image acquisition unit 100 to acquire the one of more images of the predetermined area based on the positional relationship between a smart key 400 and the vehicle 1” [0066] “the controller 200 may determine whether the driver holds the smart key 400 and approaches the vehicle 1 within a predetermined distance”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Park to use a camera to detect when an individual is carrying the key and enters a threshold distance from the vehicle. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to determine this in order to open one of the doors of the vehicle (Park [0007] “opening of at least one of rear doors of the vehicle”).
Regarding claim 18, Oh discloses The vehicle of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to perform further operations comprising:
retaining the electrical power outlet in an energized condition beyond the first time period based on evaluating the image received from the camera ([0048] “leisure mode refers to a state in which the power management apparatus 100 determines that the user participates in a leisure activity through the AVN system 110 or the SVM system 120.” SVM system containing the camera(s). [0009] “supply power to the outlet when a driver seat door is opened and the outlet is plugged in in the leisure mode” where power is retained in the outlet when the vehicle is in leisure mode as determined by the camera.),
the evaluating comprising at least one of detecting a presence of the individual inside a boundary defined around the vehicle or detecting a usage of the electrical power outlet to power a device located outside the vehicle ([0009] “supply power to the outlet when a driver seat door is opened and the outlet is plugged in in the leisure mode” where when the outlet is plugged in, it is in use.).
Regarding claim 19, Oh discloses a user-definable power supply time period ([0047] “a power supply time set by a user”) but this is not same as a first time period within which the user may enable the electrical outlet. Oh’s user defined time is in regards to how long the outlet may remain powered.
Oh fails to disclose The vehicle of claim 16, wherein the first time period is definable by the individual.
However, Thompson teaches the first time period is definable by the individual ([0123] “the predetermined threshold duration may be a function of onboard energy storage device size and power consumption over the low power output threshold” where the user is controlling the power consumption via the tools or equipment plugged into the activated outlets of the vehicle, therefore the threshold duration is user-definable.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Thompson to make the threshold duration of time a function of the user’s power consumption. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to establish the duration threshold as a function of at least power consumption to the outlet in order to prevent DCAC system faults caused by the SOC dropping below a threshold (Thompson [0123] “if battery SOC drops below a predetermined threshold SOC, the DCAC system may fault.”).
Oh discloses allow an individual to energize an electrical power outlet in the vehicle after the first door is one of opened or unlocked and the vehicle is in the key-off state ([0011] “The controller may also be configured to supply power to the outlet mounted on an outside of the electric vehicle when the outlet is plugged in and a permission signal is received from an input button mounted on an inside of the electric vehicle.”).
Oh fails to disclose detecting an activation of the switch within the first time period; and
coupling the electrical power source to the electrical power outlet based on the activation of the switch within the first time period.
However, Thompson teaches providing, by the processor, a first time period to allow an individual to energize an electrical power outlet in the vehicle; and coupling the electrical power source to the electrical power outlet based on the activation of the switch within the first time period ([0131] “Proceeding to 625, method 600 judges whether confirmation has been received within a first predetermined duration … confirmation comprises the operator selecting one of the prompted options at the screen or personal computing device”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Thompson to provide first threshold duration for the user to confirm the powering of the outlet. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to provide a duration threshold in order to disconnect the outlet from power if a response is not received from the user (Thompson [0122] “the DCAC converter was operating in the low power output mode and where the request is to transition to the high power output mode, if the response is not received within the predetermined threshold duration then the DCAC converter system operation may be discontinued, such that the DCAC converter no longer converts power.”).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Thompson, Salter, and Park, further in view of Morita et al. (JP 2010064607 A), hereinafter referred to as Morita.
Regarding claim 17, Oh fails to disclose The vehicle of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to perform further operations comprising:
disconnecting the electrical power outlet from the electrical power source based on detecting a movement of the individual outside a boundary defined around the vehicle based on evaluating the image received from the camera.
However, Morita teaches disconnecting the electrical power outlet from the electrical power source based on detecting a movement of the individual outside a boundary defined around the vehicle based on evaluating the image received from the camera. ([0019] “the user position determination means determines that the user is outside the vehicle near the vehicle” [0048] “If a person is photographed in the image data from the exterior peripheral camera 32, it is determined that the user is near the vehicle. If no person is photographed in either image data, it is determined that the user has left the vehicle, provided that it cannot be determined based on other information that the user's location is inside the vehicle or near the vehicle” [0058] “If it is determined that the user has left the vehicle … the time until the power supply state is turned off is set to … 0 minutes if it can be determined with certainty that the user has left the vehicle.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh with the teaching from Morita to use internal and external cameras to determine a position of a user and control the power supply state according to whether or not the user as left. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to use images to detect whether or not a user has left the vehicle and is not nearby and turn off the power supply in order to reduce battery power consumption (Morita [0061] “battery power consumption can be reduced compared to when the vehicle power supply is not turned off … regardless of the user's location.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668