DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: RCE & Amendment, filed on 07/06/2026. This action is made FINAL.
2. Claims 1-25 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 9, 17 and 25 are independent claims. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 11, 13-14, 17, 19, 21, 22 and 25 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (claims 1, 9, 17 and 25, p, 10) Hughes fails to disclose an XR device receiving a message comprising a prompt to join an XR room hosted by a local host device with the XR device is located within communication range.
In response, Hughes discloses coworker XR devices (Fig. 7C “712”) are prompted to join an XR room (virtual room) hosted by a local host device (e.g. a user’s XR device, Fig. 7C “726”) that is within the same environment as Hughes invites other users within the XR coworking space to join the virtual conference room, which the users can accept or decline (Fig. 5; Para 72). Applicant’s Specification (Para 6) similarly discloses a user from a host device providing a prompt to join an XR room. Thus, Hughes discloses an XR device receiving a message comprising a prompt to join an XR room hosted by a local host device with the XR device is located within communication range.
Applicant argues (claims 1, 9, 17 and 25, p. 11) Hughes fails to describe a host XR device, distinct from the host device, that generates or inserts synthetic content into the physical 3D scene.
In response, Hughes discloses (Para 61, 66, 90) a local host device (e.g. a user’s XR device) communicating with a remote server to obtain virtual content. Thus, the remote server having corresponding function is equivalent to Applicant’s host XR device. Therefore, Hughes discloses a host XR device, distinct from the host device, that generates or inserts synthetic content into the physical 3D scene.
Applicant argues (claims 1, 9, 17 and 25, p. 11-12) the first virtual representation of the first user is periodically localized within the XR room based on matching image features in the transmitted images with features of a 3D map of the 3D scene of the physical environment stored by the host device to prevent drift of a location of the first virtual representation of the first user in the XR room.
In response, Hughes discloses using IMU, sensors and cameras to track movement and location of the HMD in the real and artificial reality environments. The IMU, sensor/camera data and HMD motion data are used to localize the HMD within a real world environment (Para 44). Hughes discloses, in a dynamic XR coworking space, a user can make motions and corresponding virtual motions can be made in the proper locations (Para 63) based on the mapping of the physical space to the virtual space (Fig. 5 “504”) (e.g. matching image features in the transmitted images with features of a 3D map of the 3D scene of the physical environment). Accordingly, tracking user motions, which would occur periodically, results in camera, IMU data and HMD data being applied for localization, periodically, to maintain alignment of environments, and hence prevent drift, which Applicant’s Specification (Para 38, 86) similarly discloses. Thus, Hughes discloses the first virtual representation of the first user is periodically localized within the XR room based on matching image features in the transmitted images with features of a 3D map of the 3D scene of the physical environment stored by the host device to prevent drift of a location of the first virtual representation of the first user in the XR room.
Applicant argues claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-12, 14-16, 18-20 and 22-24 are in condition for allowance based on dependence from independence claims and their own patentable features.
In response, claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-12, 14-16, 18-20 and 22-24 are not patentable at least based on dependence from a rejected base claim and the prior art teaching of their respective features.
Applicant argues claims 5, 13 and 21 are allowable over the combination of Huges and Bieth for at least the same reasons as presented for claim 1.
In response, claims 5, 13 and 21 are not patentable at least based on dependence from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-20, and 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by James Hughes et al., US 2024/0212290 A1.
Independent claim 1, Hughes discloses a method for providing an extended reality (XR) experience, the method comprising:
receiving, by a first XR device associated with a first user and located within a communication range of a local host device (i.e. users are within a threshold distance of one another – Para 81; Fig. 6; the virtual space corresponds to the real space – Para 79), from the local host device located within a physical environment of the first XR device, a message comprising a prompt to join an XR room hosted by the local host device (i.e. receiving an invite to join a conference room – Para 68, 72);
connecting the first XR device to the local host device based on the message (i.e. user’s join a combined virtual meeting room – Para 91; Fig. 7D);
obtaining, by the first XR device, images of a three-dimensional (3D) scene of the physical environment of the first XR device (Fig. 5 “502”);
transmitting, by the first XR device to the local host device, the images of the 3D scene of the physical environment of the first XR device (i.e. HMDs share input data – Para 36; Fig. 3; Fig. 7C);
receiving, by the first XR device from the local host device, synthetic content generated by a host XR device located within the physical environment of the first XR device, the host XR device being different from the local host device, wherein the synthetic content is associated with the XR room including a first virtual representation of the first user of the first XR device and a second virtual representation of a second user of the host XR device, wherein the first virtual representation of the first user is periodically localized within the XR room based on matching image features in the transmitted images with features of a 3D map of the 3D scene of the physical environment stored by the local host device to prevent drift of a location of the first virtual representation of the first user in the XR room (i.e. receiving synthetic content – Fig. 7A “704A, 704B”; combined virtual workspace 718 from a user's XR device (e.g., XR HMD) where the virtual workspace of the user is combined with the virtual workspace of another user – Para 90; Fig. 7C; localize HMD’s – Para 40, 44); and
rendering, by the first XR device, the synthetic content for the XR room based on a pose of the first XR device (i.e. provide differing perspective views based on an avatar – Para 87, 88; Fig. 7A-7F).
Claim 2, Hughes discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first XR device is one of an augmented reality/virtual reality (AR/VR) head-mounted device (HMD) or an augmented reality (AR) lens (i.e. Artificial reality or extra reality (XR) is a form of reality that has been adjusted in some manner before presentation to a user, which may include, e.g., virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), hybrid reality, or some combination; The artificial reality system that provides the artificial reality content may be implemented on various platforms, including a head-mounted display – Para 34).
Claim 3, Hughes discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the host device is a wireless router (i.e. communicating via a network including WiFi – Para 68).
Claim 4, Hughes discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the message is a broadcast message (i.e. join the virtual conference room by one of two methods: 1) being invited by the current attendees, or 2) simply clicking to join, without permission needed. – Para 32).
Claim 6, Hughes discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first XR device is located within a communication range of the host device (Fig. 3).
Claim 7, Hughes discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the pose of the first user corresponds to at least one of a pose of a head of the first user or a direction of eyes of the first user (i.e. different perspective view displayed based on avatar/user device orientation - Fig. 7A-7F; Para 87, 88).
Claim 8, Hughes discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the synthetic content comprises at least one of one or more synthetic objects (i.e. a combined virtual workspace 718 from a user's XR device (e.g., XR HMD) where the virtual workspace of the user is combined with the virtual workspace of another user corresponding to avatar 712 – Para 90; Fig. 7C) or one or more lighting effects.
Independent claim 9, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Claims 10-12 and 14-16, 18-20 and 22-24, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claims 2-4 and 6-8 apply herein.
Independent claim 17, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Independent claim 25, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 13 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James Hughes et al., US 2024/0212290 A1 as applied to claims 1, 9 and 17 above, and further in view of Scott Beith et al., WO 2022/010732 A1.
Claim 5, Hughes discloses the method of claim 1.
Beith discloses transmitting, by the first XR device to the host device, a password for authentication of the first user (i.e. authorized participant enters login credential – Para 82), which Hughes fails to disclose.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention at the time the invention was made to combine Beith’s known method of transmitting, by the first XR device to the host device, a password for authentication of the first user with the known method of Hughes because adding authorization to participate in a private virtual space is a suitable technique that would yield predictable results when applied to the base technique of Hughes.
Claims 13 and 21, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 5 applies herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANTE E HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615