DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 7, 8 and 12 have been cancelled. Claims 1-5 and 9-11 have been amended. Claims 6 is as previously presented. Claims 13-19 have been newly added. Therefore, claims 1-6, 9-11 and 13-19 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 3/9/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11, paras 2 and 3, applicant makes remarks regarding the claim interpretation of claim 12 pertinent to Ko’s disclosure in para. 55 - "an optical filter arranged and set between the plurality of lamps and the wafer" and "different materials blocking rays of light with a wavelength longer than a wavelength by temperature sensor or infrared cameras". Applicant challenges the rejection in the previous Office Action on claim 12 under 35 U.S.C 103, through arguing the reference relied upon does not teach one feature of the claimed invention: “wherein the optical filter blocks rays of light having a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera”.
Regarding the argument, the requirements for the technical content of the reference, either explicitly or inherently asserted are discussed in MPEP 2112, and the requirements for the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim language are discussed in MPEP 2111. As shown in para. 55 of Ko cited in the previous Office Action, Ko discloses quartz optical filter to transmit light and teaches: “the quartz is a material that transmits light having a wavelength of 0.18 μm to 3.5 μm”. Inherently, an optical filter blocks rays of light when reaching zero transmission. Thus, the optical filter blocks rays of light having a wavelength longer than 3.5 μm. "The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness." In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995). See MPEP 2112. Moreover, Ko teaches that the infrared camera may accurately measure the temperature of the semiconductor wafer under heating with the wavelength of the infrared rays irradiated from 3 μm to 9 μm [para. 55], meaning the maximum wavelength to be detected by Ko’ infrared camera is at least 9 μm. The claim language “a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the infrared camera” in the claim 12 would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as “the maximum wavelength to be detected by the infrared camera”, in light of paras 50 and 57 of the specification of the claimed invention. ‘Upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." ’In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). See MPEP 2111. Therefore, a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the Ko’s infrared camera is at least 9 μm. Ko’s quartz optical filter that blocks rays of light in wavelength longer than 3.5 μm would block rays of light in wavelength longer than at least 9 μm. Thus, Ko’s quartz optical filter blocks rays of light having a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the Ko’s infrared camera. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Ko teaches the claim feature “wherein the optical filter blocks rays of light having a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera”. The rejection in the previous Office Action on claim 12 under 35 U.S.C 103 as obvious over Kasai in view of Kim, Mizojiri and Ko is maintained.
Pertinent to claim 12, from page 11, bottom para. 1, through page 13, para. 1, plus on page 13, para. 3, applicant argues that the optical filter of the claimed invention has blocking function of preventing radiant heat-infrared rays of light from reaching the lamps, thereby avoiding undesirable heating of the VCSEL elements, and asserts that this limitation is different from the Ko’s optical filter’s function of accurately measuring the temperature of the semiconductor wafer under heating. In addition, on page 14, paras 2- 4, applicant further argues that the reference Ko cited by examiner fails to teach the detection wavelength range of 1.0 μm to 8.0 μm spanning the full range of infrared detection wavelengths as taught in the specification of the claimed invention. However, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because the arguing limitations are not claimed. “Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.” In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See MPEP 2145.VI.
From page 13, para. 1, through page 14, para. 2, applicant’s arguments are about amended claims 1 and 2, which are fully considered in the section of Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 of this Office Action.
From page 14, para. 3, through page 15, para. 1, applicant’s arguments are about amended claims 4 and 14, which are fully considered in the section of Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 of this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 13,15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai et al. (WO 2008-029742) in view of Kim et al. (KR 2020-0082699), Joseph et al. (US 9065239), Mizojiri et al. (US 2021-0183671) and Ko et al. (US 2021-0335748).
Regarding claim 1, Kasai discloses a heating apparatus (see Fig.1 and Fig.2), comprising:
a plurality of lamps for heating (a plurality of “LED arrays 34” for heating, see Fig.2), each of the plurality of lamps comprising:
a heat dissipation substrate made of metal (Figs. 1 and 2, “cooling member 4a or 4b” taught to be made of copper [Paragraph [0048] of attached translation]; see also annotated Fig.2);
an insulating layer disposed on the heat dissipation substrate (Figs. 1 and 2, “the support 32” taught to be made of a high thermal conductivity insulating material, ceramic [Paragraph [0048] of attached translation]; see also annotated Fig.2);
a plurality of wiring patterns disposed on the insulating layer (Figs. 2 and 3, “electrode 35” shown to be a plurality and to be disposed on the insulating support [Paragraph [0048] of attached translation]; see also annotated Fig.2);
a plurality of light source elements disposed on the plurality of wiring patterns on a one-to-one basis (Figs. 2 and 3, “light emitting element 33” shown to be a plurality and to be disposed on a one-to-one basis on the plurality of “electrode 35” [Paragraph [0032] of attached translation]; see also annotated Fig.2);
a joining material electrically joining each of the plurality of wiring patterns and each of the plurality of light source elements (Figs. 2 and 3, the material taught electrically joining each of the plurality of “electrodes 35” and each of the plurality of “light source elements 33” by soldering; For an enlarged view, see Fig. 3, each of a plurality of electrode rods 38 is taught provided for each of the plurality of “light source elements 33”, and the tip of each electrode rod is taught connected to each “electrodes 35” by soldering [Paragraph [0034] of attached translation].);
a metal wiring electrically connecting each adjacent pair of the plurality of light source elements (Figs. 2 and 3, “wire 36” taught to electrically connect each adjacent pairs of the plurality of light emitting elements [Paragraph [0032] of attached translation]; see also annotated Fig.2).
a heat dissipation member to which the each of the plurality of lamps is attached through a thermally conductive material (The heat dissipation member is taught to be arranged with “cooling medium supply pipe 22a or 22b” and “cooling medium discharge pipe 23a or 23b”, which circulates the cooling medium to “the cooling medium flow paths 21a or 21b” [Fig1, and Paragraphs [0021] [0030] of attached translation]. Each of the plurality of lamps is attached to the heat dissipation member through “cooling member 4a or 4b” made of copper, “screw 84” and a paste of good thermally conductive “silicon grease or silver paste layer 72” [Figs. 1 and 11, and Paragraph [0060] of attached translation]); and
an electric driver driving the plurality of light source elements (a power supply taught to feed power to a large number of light-emitting elements [Paragraphs [0018] [0033] [0051] of attached translation]).
Fig. 2 of Kasai, annotated
wherein using screws (73, Fig.11 of Kasai) to hold the plurality of lamps together onto the dissipation substrate attached to the heat dissipation member [Paragraph [0060] of attached translation of Kasai;
wherein a temperature sensor (14, Fig. 1) disposed in the space between the wafer (W, Fig.1) and the plurality of lamps (34, Fig.2) disposed on a substrate (4a, Fig.2) for measuring the temperature of the wafer under heating [Paragraph [0026] of the attached translation].
Kasai does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of lamps is attached to the heat dissipation member such that the each of the plurality of lamps produces a gap at part or entirety of a circumference thereof against one adjacent thereto of the plurality of lamps.
However, Kim discloses wherein each of the plurality of lamps produces a gap at part or entirety of a circumference thereof against one adjacent thereto of the plurality of lamps, by using screws (70, Fig.4) with a cylindrical hollow space (75, Fig. 4) to hold the plurality of lamps together onto the dissipation substrate (“cooling block 50”, Figs. 3-5) attached to the heat dissipation member (55, Fig. 5) [Paragraphs [0011] and [0012] of the attached translation]. Examiner notes that the hollow space 75 in Fig.4 of Kim is being interpreted to read on a gap at a part of the circumference as this interpretation is consistent with Paragraph [0043] and Fig. 5 of applicant’s specification. A gap at part or entirety of a circumference thereof against one adjacent thereto of the plurality of lamps of Kasai can be produced by substituting the screw of Kasai to the screw of Kim.
Moreover, Joseph discloses that keeping a gap between VCSEL arrays or devices has the advantages to improve heat dissipation for more efficient heat sinking as well as to allow for easier manufacturing and electrical isolation. Joseph teaches that the spacing between the laser arrays is essential for high-power arrays in order to prevent thermal issues, maintain performance, and enable features like independent control of subarrays and better alignment with optical elements. [Abstract; Col.4, Lines 48-63; Col.5 Lines 34-50].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kasai to incorporate the teachings of Kim and Joseph to include wherein the plurality of lamps is attached to the heat dissipation member such that the each of the plurality of lamps produces a gap at part or entirety of a circumference thereof against one adjacent thereto of the plurality of lamps, in order to improve heat dissipation and to achieve easier manufacturing and electrical isolation as taught by Joseph.
The combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim and Joseph does not expressly disclose wherein at least either a temperature sensor or an infrared camera is disposed in the gap so as to measure a temperature of a wafer under heating.
However, Mizojiri discloses a temperature sensor disposed in the gap between heating lamps to measure a temperature of a wafer under heating (Figs. 1A and 4, [Paragraph [0025]]). Mizojiri teaches that the radiation thermometer need only be disposed such that the lighting element is outside the light receiving area so that the infrared light from the LED element as the heat source does not enter the light receiver of the radiation thermometer [Paragraph [0025]]. Mizojiri also teaches that the heating apparatus may include a plurality of lamps (“LED units 13”, Figs. 1A and 4), each lamp includes a plurality of the light elements disposed on a same substrate, the plurality of lamps being disposed with a space there between in a direction parallel to a surface of the substrate [Paragraph [0026]].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim and Joseph to incorporate the teachings by Mizojiri to include wherein at least either a temperature sensor or an infrared camera is disposed in the gap so as to measure a temperature of a wafer under heating, by disposing either a temperature sensor or an infrared camera in the gap between heating lamps so as to measure a temperature of a wafer under heating. This modification is rearrangement of parts. Shifting location of a temperature sensor or an infrared camera to the gap (the particular placement) was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C).
The combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim, Joseph and Mizojiri does not expressly disclose wherein the heating apparatus further comprises an optical filter arranged and set between the plurality of lamps and the wafer, and wherein the optical filter blocks radiant heat rays of light having a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera.
However, Ko discloses the usage of VCSEL device further comprising an optical filter arranged and set between the plurality of lamps and the wafer, and teaches different materials blocking rays of light [Paragraph [0055]]. Ko teaches: “the quartz is a material that transmits light having a wavelength of 0.18 μm to 3.5 μm” [Paragraph [0055]]. Inherently, an optical filter blocks rays of light when reaching zero transmission. See MPEP 2112. Thus, Ko teaches the optical filter blocks rays of light having a wavelength longer than 3.5 μm. Moreover, Ko teaches that the infrared camera may accurately measure the temperature of the semiconductor wafer under heating with the wavelength of the infrared rays irradiated from 3 μm to 9 μm [Paragraph [0055]], meaning the maximum wavelength to be detected by Ko’ infrared camera is at least 9 μm. The claim language “a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the infrared camera” in the claim 12 would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as “the maximum wavelength to be detected by the infrared camera”, in light of paras 50 and 57 in the specification of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111. Ko’s quartz optical filter that blocks rays of light in wavelength longer than 3.5 μm would block rays of light in wavelength longer than at least 9 μm. Thus, Ko’s quartz optical filter blocks rays of light having a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the Ko’s infrared camera. Moreover, Ko teaches that the temperature of the semiconductor wafer under heating may be accurately measured by the infrared camera through usage of the optical filter [Paragraph [0055]].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim, Joseph and Mizojiri to incorporate the teachings by Ko to include wherein the heating apparatus further comprises an optical filter arranged and set between the plurality of lamps and the wafer, and wherein the optical filter blocks radiant heat rays of light having a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera, in order to accurately measure the temperature of the semiconductor wafer under heating as taught by Ko.
Regarding claim 2, Kasai discloses a heating apparatus (see Fig.1 and Fig.2), comprising:
a plurality of lamps for heating (a plurality of “LED arrays 34” for heating, see Fig.2), each of the plurality of lamps comprising:
an insulating material made of ceramic (Figs. 1 and 2, “the support 32” taught to be made of ceramic such as A1N [Paragraph [0048] of attached translation]; see also annotated Fig.2);
a plurality of wiring patterns disposed on the insulating layer (Figs. 2 and 3, “electrode 35” shown to be a plurality and to be disposed on the insulating support [Paragraph [0048] of attached translation]; see also annotated Fig.2);
a plurality of light source elements disposed on the plurality of wiring patterns on a one-to-one basis (Figs. 2 and 3, “light emitting element 33” shown to be a plurality and to be disposed on a one-to-one basis on the plurality of “electrode 35” [Paragraph [0032] of attached translation]; see also annotated Fig.2);
a joining material electrically joining each of the plurality of wiring patterns and each of the plurality of light source elements (Figs. 2 and 3, the material taught electrically joining each of the plurality of “electrodes 35” and each of the plurality of “light source elements 33” by soldering; For an enlarged view, see Fig. 3, each of a plurality of electrode rods 38 is provided for each of the plurality of “light source elements 33”, and the tip of each electrode rod is connected to each “electrodes 35” by soldering [Paragraph [0034] of attached translation].);
a metal wiring electrically connecting each adjacent pair of the plurality of light source elements (Figs. 2 and 3, “wire 36” taught to electrically connect each adjacent pairs of the plurality of light emitting elements [Paragraph [0032] of attached translation]; see also annotated Fig.2).
a heat dissipation member to which the each of the plurality of lamps is attached through a thermally conductive material (The heat dissipation member is taught to be arranged with “cooling medium supply pipe 22a or 22b” and “cooling medium discharge pipe 23a or 23b”, which circulates the cooling medium to “the cooling medium flow paths 21a or 21b” [Fig1, and Paragraphs [0021] [0030] of attached translation]. Each of the plurality of lamps is attached to the heat dissipation member through “cooling member 4a or 4b” made of copper, “screw 84” and a paste of good thermally conductive “silicon grease or silver paste layer 72” [Figs. 1 and 11, and Paragraph [0060] of attached translation]); and
an electric driver driving the plurality of light source elements (a power supply taught to feed power to a large number of light-emitting elements [Paragraphs [0018] [0033] [0051] of attached translation]).
wherein using screws (73, Fig.11 of Kasai) to hold the plurality of lamps together onto the dissipation substrate attached to the heat dissipation member [Paragraph [0060] of attached translation of Kasai;
wherein a temperature sensor (14, Fig. 1) disposed in the space between the wafer (W, Fig.1) and the plurality of lamps (34, Fig.2) disposed on a substrate (4a, Fig.2) for measuring the temperature of the wafer under heating [Paragraph [0026] of the attached translation].
Kasai does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of lamps is attached to the heat dissipation member such that the each of the plurality of lamps produces a gap at part or entirety of a circumference thereof against one adjacent thereto of the plurality of lamps.
However, Kim discloses wherein each of the plurality of lamps produces a gap at part or entirety of a circumference thereof against one adjacent thereto of the plurality of lamps, by using screws (70, Fig.4) with a cylindrical hollow space (75, Fig. 4) to hold the plurality of lamps together onto the dissipation substrate (“cooling block 50”, Figs. 3-5) attached to the heat dissipation member (55, Fig. 5) [Paragraphs [0011] and [0012] of the attached translation]. Examiner notes that the hollow space 75 in Fig.4 of Kim is being interpreted to read on a gap at a part of the circumference as this interpretation is consistent with Paragraph [0043] and Fig. 5 of applicant’s specification. A gap at part or entirety of a circumference thereof against one adjacent thereto of the plurality of lamps of Kasai can be produced by substituting the screw of Kasai to the screw of Kim.
Moreover, Joseph discloses that keeping a gap between VCSEL arrays or devices has the advantages to improve heat dissipation for more efficient heat sinking as well as to allow for easier manufacturing and electrical isolation. Joseph teaches that the spacing between the laser arrays is essential for high-power arrays in order to prevent thermal issues, maintain performance, and enable features like independent control of subarrays and better alignment with optical elements. [Abstract; Col.4, Lines 48-63; Col.5 Lines 34-50].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kasai to incorporate the teachings of Kim and Joseph to include wherein the plurality of lamps is attached to the heat dissipation member such that the each of the plurality of lamps produces a gap at part or entirety of a circumference thereof against one adjacent thereto of the plurality of lamps, in order to improve heat dissipation and to achieve easier manufacturing and electrical isolation as taught by Joseph.
The combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim and Joseph does not expressly disclose wherein at least either a temperature sensor or an infrared camera is disposed in the gap so as to measure a temperature of a wafer under heating.
However, Mizojiri discloses a temperature sensor disposed in the gap between heating lamps to measure a temperature of a wafer under heating (Figs. 1A and 4, [Paragraph [0025]]). Mizojiri teaches that the radiation thermometer need only be disposed such that the lighting element is outside the light receiving area so that the infrared light from the LED element as the heat source does not enter the light receiver of the radiation thermometer [Paragraph [0025]]. Mizojiri also teaches that the heating apparatus may include a plurality of lamps (“LED units 13”, Figs. 1A and 4), each lamp includes a plurality of the light elements disposed on a same substrate, the plurality of lamps being disposed with a space there between in a direction parallel to a surface of the substrate [Paragraph [0026]].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim and Joseph to incorporate the teachings by Mizojiri to include wherein at least either a temperature sensor or an infrared camera is disposed in the gap so as to measure a temperature of a wafer under heating, by disposing either a temperature sensor or an infrared camera in the gap between heating lamps so as to measure a temperature of a wafer under heating. This modification is rearrangement of parts. Shifting location of a temperature sensor or an infrared camera to the gap (the particular placement) was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C).
The combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim, Joseph and Mizojiri does not expressly disclose wherein the heating apparatus further comprises an optical filter arranged and set between the plurality of lamps and the wafer, and wherein the optical filter blocks radiant heat rays of light having a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera.
However, Ko discloses the usage of VCSEL device further comprising an optical filter arranged and set between the plurality of lamps and the wafer, and teaches different materials blocking rays of light [Paragraph [0055]]. Ko teaches: “the quartz is a material that transmits light having a wavelength of 0.18 μm to 3.5 μm” [Paragraph [0055]]. Inherently, an optical filter blocks rays of light when reaching zero transmission. See MPEP 2112. Thus, Ko teaches the optical filter blocks rays of light having a wavelength longer than 3.5 μm. Moreover, Ko teaches that the infrared camera may accurately measure the temperature of the semiconductor wafer under heating with the wavelength of the infrared rays irradiated from 3 μm to 9 μm [Paragraph [0055]], meaning the maximum wavelength to be detected by Ko’ infrared camera is at least 9 μm. The claim language “a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the infrared camera” in the claim 12 would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as “the maximum wavelength to be detected by the infrared camera”, in light of paras 50 and 57 in the specification of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111. Ko’s quartz optical filter that blocks rays of light in wavelength longer than 3.5 μm would block rays of light in wavelength longer than at least 9 μm. Thus, Ko’s quartz optical filter blocks rays of light having a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the Ko’s infrared camera. Moreover, Ko teaches that the temperature of the semiconductor wafer under heating may be accurately measured by the infrared camera through usage of the optical filter [Paragraph [0055]].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim, Joseph and Mizojiri to incorporate the teachings by Ko to include wherein the heating apparatus further comprises an optical filter arranged and set between the plurality of lamps and the wafer, and wherein the optical filter blocks radiant heat rays of light having a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera, in order to accurately measure the temperature of the semiconductor wafer under heating as taught by Ko.
Regarding claim 3, Kasai discloses an embodiment using LED as light source and teaches that other light-emitting elements such as semiconductor lasers may be used to the embodiment as light source (Figs. 1 and 2, [Paragraph [0074] of attached translation]). Note that VCSEL (Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser) is one type of semiconductor lasers.
Kasai does not expressly disclose wherein a VCSEL element is used as the each of the plurality of light source elements.
Kim is directed to a lamp for heating using VCSEL, and discloses wherein a VCSEL (Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser) element is used as the each of the plurality of light source elements of the lamp(Figs. 2-5) , comprising: a heat dissipation substrate made of metal (“cooling block 50”, Figs. 3 and 4), an insulating layer disposed on the heat dissipation substrate (“ceramic substrate 13”, Figs. 3 and 4), a plurality of wiring patterns disposed on the insulating layer (“bonding plate 15”, in Figs. 3-5), a plurality of VCSEL light source elements disposed on the plurality of wiring patterns (“plurality of laser chips 30”, Figs. 2-5), a joining material electrically joining the plurality of wiring patterns and light source elements (“plurality array fixing parts 17 and 70”, Fig. 4), and a metal wiring electrically connecting each adjacent pair of the plurality of light source elements (“wire 35” in Figs. 3 and 5). Kim teaches that the usage of VCSEL reduces heat shrinkage or deformation of a flat substrate, shortens processing time, and is capable of realizing a large area heat treatment [Paragraphs [0004] - [0006] of attached translation].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kasai to incorporate the teachings of Kim to include wherein a VCSEL (Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser) element is used as the each of the plurality of light source elements, in order to reduce heat shrinkage or deformation of a flat substrate, shorten processing time, and realize a large area heat treatment as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 5, Kasai discloses wherein
the plurality of light source elements disposed in the each of the plurality of lamps are divided into a plurality of groups (see Fig.5, the light emitting elements in each lamp is shown divided into six power supply regions for two groups, where each group contains three power regions [Paragraphs [0036] [0037] of attached translation]), and
the electric driver separately drives the plurality of light source elements on a group basis (Fig.6, power is taught to be supplied to the lamps “33” in two groups using a parallel connection and each group has three power regions serially connected [Paragraph [0039] of attached translation]).
Regarding claim 9, Ko discloses that wherein the electric driver regulates values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of lamps based on the temperature of the wafer detected by the infrared camera (Fig. 4, “infrared camera 700” [Paragraph [0047]]). Ko teaches using the electric driver to adjust the blinking of each of the VCSEL devices and the intensity of the output infrared laser light according to the measured temperature to achieve the purpose of controlling the temperature of the wafer under heating [Paragraph [0028]].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the electric driver regulate the values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of lamps based on the temperature of the wafer detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera, in order to control the temperature of the wafer under heating within a desired range as taught by Ko.
Regarding claim 13, Kasai discloses an embodiment using LED as light source and teaches that other light-emitting elements such as semiconductor lasers may be used to the embodiment as light source (Figs. 1 and 2, [Paragraph [0074] of attached translation]). Note that VCSEL (Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser) is one type of semiconductor lasers.
Kasai does not expressly disclose wherein a VCSEL element is used as the each of the plurality of light source elements.
Kim is directed to a lamp for heating using VCSEL, and discloses wherein a VCSEL (Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser) element is used as the each of the plurality of light source elements of the lamp(Figs. 2-5) , comprising: a heat dissipation substrate made of metal (“cooling block 50”, Figs. 3 and 4), an insulating layer disposed on the heat dissipation substrate (“ceramic substrate 13”, Figs. 3 and 4), a plurality of wiring patterns disposed on the insulating layer (“bonding plate 15”, in Figs. 3-5), a plurality of VCSEL light source elements disposed on the plurality of wiring patterns (“plurality of laser chips 30”, Figs. 2-5), a joining material electrically joining the plurality of wiring patterns and light source elements (“plurality array fixing parts 17 and 70”, Fig. 4), and a metal wiring electrically connecting each adjacent pair of the plurality of light source elements (“wire 35” in Figs. 3 and 5). Kim teaches that the usage of VCSEL reduces heat shrinkage or deformation of a flat substrate, shortens processing time, and is capable of realizing a large area heat treatment [Paragraphs [0004] - [0006] of attached translation].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kasai to incorporate the teachings of Kim to include wherein a VCSEL (Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser) element is used as the each of the plurality of light source elements, in order to reduce heat shrinkage or deformation of a flat substrate, shorten processing time, and realize a large area heat treatment as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 15, Kasai discloses wherein
the plurality of light source elements disposed in the each of the plurality of lamps are divided into a plurality of groups (see Fig.5, the light emitting elements in each lamp is shown divided into six power supply regions for two groups, where each group contains three power regions [Paragraphs [0036] [0037] of attached translation]), and
the electric driver separately drives the plurality of light source elements on a group basis (Fig.6, power is taught to be supplied to the lamps “33” in two groups using a parallel connection and each group has three power regions serially connected [Paragraph [0039] of attached translation]).
Regarding claim 17, Ko discloses that wherein the electric driver regulates values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of lamps based on the temperature of the wafer detected by the infrared camera (Fig. 4, “infrared camera 700” [Paragraph [0047]]). Ko teaches using the electric driver to adjust the blinking of each of the VCSEL devices and the intensity of the output infrared laser light according to the measured temperature to achieve the purpose of controlling the temperature of the wafer under heating [Paragraph [0028]].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the electric driver regulate the values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of lamps based on the temperature of the wafer detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera, in order to control the temperature of the wafer under heating within a desired range as taught by Ko.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai et al. (WO 2008-029742) in view of Kim et al. (KR 2020-0082699), Joseph et al. (US 9065239), Mizojiri et al. (US 2021-0183671) and Ko et al. (US 2021-0335748) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Manullang et al.("Implementation of Thermal Camera for Non-Contact Physiological Measurement: A Systematic Review", Sensors (Basel). 21(23): 7777, 2021).
Regarding claim 4, Ko discloses that the radiant heat rays of light are infrared rays of light [Paragraph [0055]].
Ko does not expressly disclose wherein the wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera is greater than or equal to 1.0 μm and less than or equal to 8.0 μm.
However, Manullang discloses that the wavelength detected by the infrared camera is from 1 μm to 14 μm [para. 5, Sec. 1.1].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera is greater than or equal to 1.0 μm and less than or equal to 8.0 μm, because the claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by Manullang. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.I. The maximum wavelength to be detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera is 8.0 μm, which corresponds to BRI of “a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera”. Ko’s quartz optical filter that blocks rays of light in wavelength longer than 3.5 μm [Paragraph [0055]] would block rays of light in wavelength longer than 8.0 μm. Therefore, Ko discloses wherein the optical filter blocks rays of light having a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai et al. (WO 2008-029742), Kim et al. (KR 2020-0082699), Joseph et al. (US 9065239), Mizojiri et al. (US 2021-0183671) and Ko et al. (US 2021-0335748) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Möench et al. (US 10159113).
Regarding claim 6, The combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim, Joseph, Mizojiri and Ko does not expressly disclose wherein the electric driver controls the plurality of light source elements on the group basis with shifted timing.
However, Möench is directed to a heating system comprising semiconductor light sources [Title]. Möench discloses a heating apparatus comprising an electrical driver driving a plurality of VCSEL light sources arranged in submodules [Col.3, Lines 47-50], where different sub modules are arranged to illuminate different area elements of the heating surface such that all sub modules together are adapted to heat the whole heating surface [Col.3, Lines 54-57]. Möench teaches that the electrical driver may in this case be arranged in a way that the different sub modules can be driven independently to vary the optical power emitted by the individual sub modules [Col.3, Lines 61-65], indicating that the electric driver controls the plurality of light source elements on the group basis with shifted timing [Col.3, Line 54 – Col.4, Line 3]. Möench teaches that such a control arrangement of the electrical driver has advantageous if there are local effects of or around the heating surface which may cause inhomogeneity as which can be compensated by providing different optical power to different area elements of the heating surface [Col.3, Lines 57-61].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of the teachings by Kasai and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Möench to include wherein the electric driver controls the plurality of light source elements on the group basis with shifted timing, in order to decrease the effects on heating from geometric boundary conditions or from the difference among lighting elements for achieving temperature homogeneity of heating as taught by Möench.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai et al. (WO 2008-029742), Kim et al. (KR 2020-0082699), Joseph et al. (US 9065239), Mizojiri et al. (US 2021-0183671) and Ko et al. (US 2021-0335748) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 8989227).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim, Joseph, Mizojiri and Ko discloses wherein an electric driver drives the plurality of LED or VCSEL light source elements, but does not expressly disclose wherein the electric driver increases values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of light source elements depending on time-dependent deterioration of the plurality of light source elements.
However, Yang discloses a VCSEL electric driver wherein the optical characteristics of the plurality of VCSEL light elements changing depending on time or temperature are compensated by using a feedback loop of electric driver [Fig.1; Abstract; Col.5, lines 4-18]. Yang teaches that by using the feedback loop, the electric driver can electrically compensate for aging of a plurality of VCSEL elements [Col.2, Lines 7-14].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of the teachings by Kasai and Kim to incorporate the teachings by Yang to include wherein the electric driver increases values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of light source elements depending on time-dependent deterioration of the plurality of light source elements, in order to electrically compensate for aging of a plurality of VCSEL elements for a uniform heating as taught by Yang.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim, Joseph, Mizojiri and Ko discloses wherein an electric driver drives the plurality of LED or VCSEL light source elements, but does not expressly disclose wherein the electric driver uniquely regulates values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of lamps on a lamp basis depending on time-dependent deterioration of the plurality of light source elements in the each of the plurality of lamps.
However, Yang discloses an exemplary embodiment wherein by using a feedback loop [Abstract; Fig.1], a VCSEL driver using transmitters with an array structure [Col.3, Lines 13-22] electrically compensates for aging of a plurality of VCSEL elements [Col.2, Lines 7-14; Col.5, lines 4-18] on a lamp basis. Yang teaches that the VCSEL driver may be integrated in a CMOS chip structure [Col.3, Lines 23-38], indicating that optical characteristics of a plurality VCSEL elements changing depending on time can be compensated by using a feedback loop of electric driver on a lamp basis to uniquely regulates values of electric current to be supplied to each of a plurality of lamps [Col.3, Lines 13-38]. Yang teaches a VCSEL driver employing the CMOS photonics technology to make optical elements in a single chip (a lamp), such that optical elements may be miniaturized, enabling low cost and low power consumption, and thereby reducing production costs [Col.3, Lines 23-38].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of the teachings by Kasai and Kim to incorporate the teachings by Yang to include wherein the electric driver uniquely regulates values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of lamps on a lamp basis depending on time-dependent deterioration of the plurality of light source elements in the each of the plurality of lamps, in order to electrically compensate for aging of each of a plurality of VCSEL lamps for a uniform heating meanwhile for enabling low cost and low power consumption as taught by Yang.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai et al. (WO 2008-029742) in view of Kim et al. (KR 2020-0082699), Joseph et al. (US 9065239), Mizojiri et al. (US 2021-0183671) and Ko et al. (US 2021-0335748) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Manullang et al.("Implementation of Thermal Camera for Non-Contact Physiological Measurement: A Systematic Review", Sensors (Basel). 21(23): 7777, 2021).
Regarding claim 14, Ko discloses that the radiant heat rays of light are infrared rays of light [Paragraph [0055]].
Ko does not expressly disclose wherein the wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera is greater than or equal to 1.0 μm and less than or equal to 8.0 μm.
However, Manullang discloses that the wavelength detected by the infrared camera is from 1 μm to 14 μm [para. 5, Sec. 1.1].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera is greater than or equal to 1.0 μm and less than or equal to 8.0 μm, because the claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by Manullang. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.I. The maximum wavelength to be detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera is 8.0 μm, which corresponds to BRI of “a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera”. Ko’s quartz optical filter that blocks rays of light in wavelength longer than 3.5 μm [Paragraph [0055]] would block rays of light in wavelength longer than 8.0 μm. Therefore, Ko discloses wherein the optical filter blocks rays of light having a wavelength longer than a wavelength detected by the at least either the temperature sensor or the infrared camera.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai et al. (WO 2008-029742), Kim et al. (KR 2020-0082699), Joseph et al. (US 9065239), Mizojiri et al. (US 2021-0183671) and Ko et al. (US 2021-0335748) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Möench et al. (US 10159113).
Regarding claim 16, The combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim, Joseph, Mizojiri and Ko does not expressly disclose wherein the electric driver controls the plurality of light source elements on the group basis with shifted timing.
However, Möench is directed to a heating system comprising semiconductor light sources [Title]. Möench discloses a heating apparatus comprising an electrical driver driving a plurality of VCSEL light sources arranged in submodules [Col.3, Lines 47-50], where different sub modules are arranged to illuminate different area elements of the heating surface such that all sub modules together are adapted to heat the whole heating surface [Col.3, Lines 54-57]. Möench teaches that the electrical driver may in this case be arranged in a way that the different sub modules can be driven independently to vary the optical power emitted by the individual sub modules [Col.3, Lines 61-65], indicating that the electric driver controls the plurality of light source elements on the group basis with shifted timing [Col.3, Line 54 – Col.4, Line 3]. Möench teaches that such a control arrangement of the electrical driver has advantageous if there are local effects of or around the heating surface which may cause inhomogeneity as which can be compensated by providing different optical power to different area elements of the heating surface [Col.3, Lines 57-61].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of the teachings by Kasai and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Möench to include wherein the electric driver controls the plurality of light source elements on the group basis with shifted timing, in order to decrease the effects on heating from geometric boundary conditions or from the difference among lighting elements for achieving temperature homogeneity of heating as taught by Möench.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai et al. (WO 2008-029742), Kim et al. (KR 2020-0082699), Joseph et al. (US 9065239), Mizojiri et al. (US 2021-0183671) and Ko et al. (US 2021-0335748) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 8989227).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim, Joseph, Mizojiri and Ko discloses wherein an electric driver drives the plurality of LED or VCSEL light source elements, but does not expressly disclose wherein the electric driver increases values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of light source elements depending on time-dependent deterioration of the plurality of light source elements.
However, Yang discloses a VCSEL electric driver wherein the optical characteristics of the plurality of VCSEL light elements changing depending on time or temperature are compensated by using a feedback loop of electric driver [Fig.1; Abstract; Col.5, lines 4-18]. Yang teaches that by using the feedback loop, the electric driver can electrically compensate for aging of a plurality of VCSEL elements [Col.2, Lines 7-14].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of the teachings by Kasai and Kim to incorporate the teachings by Yang to include wherein the electric driver increases values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of light source elements depending on time-dependent deterioration of the plurality of light source elements, in order to electrically compensate for aging of a plurality of VCSEL elements for a uniform heating as taught by Yang.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of the teachings by Kasai, Kim, Joseph, Mizojiri and Ko discloses wherein an electric driver drives the plurality of LED or VCSEL light source elements, but does not expressly disclose wherein the electric driver uniquely regulates values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of lamps on a lamp basis depending on time-dependent deterioration of the plurality of light source elements in the each of the plurality of lamps.
However, Yang discloses an exemplary embodiment wherein by using a feedback loop [Abstract; Fig.1], a VCSEL driver using transmitters with an array structure [Col.3, Lines 13-22] electrically compensates for aging of a plurality of VCSEL elements [Col.2, Lines 7-14; Col.5, lines 4-18] on a lamp basis. Yang teaches that the VCSEL driver may be integrated in a CMOS chip structure [Col.3, Lines 23-38], indicating that optical characteristics of a plurality VCSEL elements changing depending on time can be compensated by using a feedback loop of electric driver on a lamp basis to uniquely regulates values of electric current to be supplied to each of a plurality of lamps [Col.3, Lines 13-38]. Yang teaches a VCSEL driver employing the CMOS photonics technology to make optical elements in a single chip (a lamp), such that optical elements may be miniaturized, enabling low cost and low power consumption, and thereby reducing production costs [Col.3, Lines 23-38].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of the teachings by Kasai and Kim to incorporate the teachings by Yang to include wherein the electric driver uniquely regulates values of electric current to be supplied to the plurality of lamps on a lamp basis depending on time-dependent deterioration of the plurality of light source elements in the each of the plurality of lamps, in order to electrically compensate for aging of each of a plurality of VCSEL lamps for a uniform heating meanwhile for enabling low cost and low power consumption as taught by Yang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ Zunjing J Wang /Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761