DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to amendment filed on June 17, 2026. Claims 1-10 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ishii (WO 2020/059633).
Regarding claim 7, Ishii discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 8 [UE/IAB Child node]), wherein the communication apparatus comprises a processor (paragraph 15 discloses a processor) coupled to a memory (paragraph 15 discloses a memory), the memory is configured to store a non-transitory instructions, and the processor is configured to execute the non-transitory instructions to thereby cause the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising:
receiving first information from a first communication device (see at least paragraphs 38 and 42 and fig. 8 discloses the UE/IAB child node, which corresponds to second device, receiving an Upstream RLF notification from Node A), wherein the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to send a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment request message, or the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to receive system information from the first communication device, the second communication device is configured to communicate with a first donor network device via the first communication device (see at least paragraphs 38 and 42 and fig. 8 discloses the UE/IAB child node receiving an Upstream RLF notification from Node A; RRC reestablishment procedure initiated based on the Upstream RLF notification ); sending the radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment request message based on the first information (see at least paragraphs 38 and 42 and fig. 8 discloses the UE/IAB child node sending RRC reestablishment request); and the communication apparatus is the second communication device or is included in the second communication device (see at least fig. 8 [UE/IAB Child node]).
Regarding claim 8, Ishii discloses the sending the RRC re-establishment request message based on the first information comprises: receiving the system information from the first communication device based on the first information; determining that a second donor network device and the first donor network device are different network devices; and sending the RRC re-establishment request message (paragraph 42-43).
Regarding claim 9, Ishii discloses the system information comprises an identifier of the second donor network device or length information of the identifier of the second donor network device (paragraph 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 38.874 0.7.0 (2018-11) Study on Integrated Access and Backhaul (release 15) (hereinafter 3GPP) in view of Ishii (WO 2020/059633).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 9.7.13-6, [IAB-node 5]), wherein the communication apparatus comprises a processor (fig. 9.7.13-6 network node inherently includes processor) coupled to a memory (fig. 9.7.13-6 network node inherently includes memory), the memory is configured to store a non-transitory instructions, and the processor is configured to execute the non-transitory instructions to thereby cause the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising: performing a radio link failure (RLF) recovery process, and connecting to a second donor network device (fig. 9.7.13-6, [IAB-Donor DU2]) in response to an RLF occurring on a first communication device (fig. 9.7.13-6, [IAB-node 5]) connected to a first donor network device (fig. 9.7.13-6, [IAB-Donor DU1]) (fig. 9.7.13-6, [step 4] and page 97 [step 4] discloses recover step corresponding performing RRC connection reestablishment procedure); determining that the first donor network device and the second donor network device are different network devices (fig. 9.7.13-6 [Adapt Route B]); and the communication apparatus is the first communication device or is included in the first communication device (fig. 9.7.13-6, [IAB-node 5]).
3GPP specifically does not disclose sending first information to a second communication device, wherein the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to send a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment request message, or the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to receive system information from the first communication device, the second communication device is configured to communicate with the first donor network device via the first communication device. However, Ishii from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches sending first information to a second communication device, wherein the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to send a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment request message based on the first information, or the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to receive system information from the first communication device, the second communication device is configured to communicate with the first donor network device via the first communication device (see at least paragraphs 38 and 42 and fig. 9A discloses Node A sending to the UE/IAB child node, which corresponds to second device, an Upstream RLF notification; RRC reestablishment procedure initiated based on the Upstream RLF notification ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP with Ishii as they both related RLF recovery procedure; and notifying the UE to perform RRC reestablishment procedure based on RLF detection.
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP discloses the system information comprises an identifier of the second donor network device or length information of the identifier of the second donor network device (section 9.7.13 [scenario 3]).
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP discloses the determining that the first donor network device and the second donor network device are different network devices comprises: determining, based on an identifier of a newly accessed cell, that an accessed second donor network device is a network device different from the first donor network device (page 97 [step B]).
Regarding claim 4, Ishii discloses the determining that the first donor network device and the second donor network device are different network devices comprises: receiving second information from the second donor network device, wherein the second information is useable to indicate that the second donor network device and the first donor network device are different network devices (paragraph 42-43 of Ishii). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP discloses the second communication device is a first network device, and wherein the first information is further useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to send an internet protocol (IP) address request message; or the apparatus further comprises: sending indication information to the second communication device, wherein the indication information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to send the IP address request message (section 9.7.7 [step A, third paragraph]).
Regarding claim 6, Ishii discloses the first communication device is configured to send the first information via a backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) layer control protocol data unit (PDU) or a media access control (MAC) layer control element (paragraph 39 of Ishii). Same motivation as claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ishii (WO 2020/059633) in view of 3GPP TR 38.874 0.7.0 (2018-11) Study on Integrated Access and Backhaul (release 15) (hereinafter 3GPP).
Regarding claim 10, Ishii specifically does not disclose wherein the second communication device is a first network device, and the operations further comprises: sending an internet protocol (IP) address request message based on the first information; or receiving indication information from the first communication device, wherein the indication information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to send the IP address request message. However, Ishii from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the second communication device is a first network device, and the operations further comprises: sending an internet protocol (IP) address request message based on the first information; or receiving indication information from the first communication device, wherein the indication information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to send the IP address request message (section 9.7.7 [step A, third paragraph]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii with 3GPP as they both related RLF recovery procedure; and notifying the UE to perform RRC reestablishment procedure based on RLF detection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on June 17, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive in regards to the 35 USC § 102 and 103 rejections as the claim is currently written. Arguments and corresponding examiner’s responses are shown below for Claim 7. The same arguments are valid for the Claim 7 and the similar features of other independent claims.
Argument: The Applicant argues on pages 6-8 that Ishii does not disclose “wherein the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to send a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment request message, or the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to receive system information from the first communication device, the second communication device is configured to communicate with a first donor network device via the first communication device; sending the radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment request message based on the first information” of independent claim 7 and similar feature in independent claim 1. Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees because Ishii teaches “wherein the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to send a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment request message, or the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to receive system information from the first communication device, the second communication device is configured to communicate with a first donor network device via the first communication device; and sending the radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment request message based on the first information”. As stated in the previous office action, paragraphs 38 and 42 discloses the UE/IAB child node receiving an Upstream RLF notification from Node A; RRC reestablishment procedure initiated based on the Upstream RLF notification; the UE/IAB child node sending RRC reestablishment request. Upon reception of the RLF notification, the RRC reestablishment procedure is initiated. Additionally, paragraph 40 discloses initiating transmission of RRC reestablishment request based on notification. Therefore, Ishii teaches the above limitation.
Argument: The Applicant argues on pages 8-10 that Ishii does not disclose “sending first information to a second communication device, wherein the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to send a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment request message based on the first information, or the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to receive system information from the first communication device, the second communication device is configured to communicate with the first donor network device via the first communication device” of independent claim 1 and similar feature in independent claim 7. Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees because the combination of 3GPP and Ishii teaches “sending first information to a second communication device, wherein the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to send a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment request message based on the first information, or the first information is useable to indicate that the second communication device is configured to receive system information from the first communication device, the second communication device is configured to communicate with the first donor network device via the first communication device”. As stated in the previous office action, paragraphs 38 and 42 of Ishii discloses the UE/IAB child node receiving an Upstream RLF notification from Node A; RRC reestablishment procedure initiated based on the Upstream RLF notification; the UE/IAB child node sending RRC reestablishment request. Upon reception of the RLF notification, the RRC reestablishment procedure is initiated. Additionally paragraph 40 of Ishii discloses initiating transmission of RRC reestablishment request based on notification. Therefore, the combination of 3GPP and Ishii teaches the above limitation when considered as a whole.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642