DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 18/153,622 filed on 01/12/2023 were examined. A non-Final action was filed on 02/11/2025.
Application filed remarks and amendments on 03/18/2025, Claims 1-16 and 20 have been amended, claims 17-19 have been cancelled and new claims 21-23 have been added. Claims 1-16 and 20-23 are presented and pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the Objections to Drawings: applicant’s arguments filed 03/18/2025 (hereinafter referred to as the “Remarks”) have been fully considered and they are persuasive. The previously given objections to Drawings are withdrawn.
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103: Applicant's arguments filed 03/18/2025 with respect to Maury et al. (US 20220072962 A1) in view of Muller et al. (US9499157B2) and in further view of Kong et al. (US 20230110889 A1) have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 10-12 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maury et al. (US 20220072962 A1) in view Makino (US20120274131A1), hereinafter referred to as Maury and Makino respectively.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 21, Maury discloses A method of managing a vehicle electrical system (“A list of devices and functions using these management technologies includes, but is not limited to: battery management systems for main batteries and backup batteries, electronic control units for engine management, electronic control units for management of vehicle electronic systems, controllers for electric motors, power converters (DC-DC, DC-AC and AC-DC), hydrogen fuel cell management, power collection systems, regenerative power sources (solar, aero, vibration, thermoelectric), HVAC systems, entertainment systems, communication systems, dashboard electronics, and all manner of sensor systems.” [0013]), the method comprising:
detecting an anomalous condition associated with at least one energy source of the vehicle electric system (“the controller 15 is capable of detecting with high reliability the electrical insulation degradation” [0042]);
determining an estimated power consumption associated with one or more loads coupled to an electrical grid of the vehicle electrical system; (“Furthermore, electric power consumption using an electric heater is calculated for obtaining the same heating capacity as that obtained by the refrigerating cycle.” [0009]);
determining a condition of the at least one energy source by: obtaining a current voltage and a current electrical current consumption associated with the electrical grid (“an actual generated power calculating unit for calculating an actual generated power of the electric motor from the armature current of the electric motor and the voltage of the power supply of the electric motor,” [0011]);
obtaining a current voltage output and a current temperature associated with the at least one energy source (“a current sensor that detects a current input to and output from the power storage device, and a temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the power storage device.” [0024]);
obtaining electrical current flowing to and electrical current flowing from the at least one energy source (“a current detector for detecting the current flowing through the motor,” [0011];
obtaining a current state of health and a current state of charge of the at least one energy source (“the charging type information transmitted and received between the DC fast charging equipment and the bidirectional charging unit includes at least one piece of information among supporting application protocol request and response information, session configuration request and response information, service search request and response information, service detail request and response information, payment service selection request and response information, payment detail information request and response information, authentication request and response information, DC charging parameter search request and response information, power detail information request and response information, charging state information request and response information, metering reception information request and response information, and session termination request and response information.” [0019]);
identifying an expected duration associated with each of a sequence of operating states of the vehicle electrical system leading to termination of vehicle operation, defined by a vehicle manufacturer, in response to detection of the anomalous condition (“Taking all of the pertinent information into consideration, it can be determined how much energy will be needed by the air conditioning system through the remainder of the planned trip, assuming that the air conditioning system operates in its normal mode for the duration.” [0108]),
wherein the sequence of operating states comprise:
a normal operating state (“The normal times refers to a situation in which no failure occurs in the first control device or the second control device.” [0052]);
a first degradation state (“an electrical insulation degradation detector for detecting an electrical insulation degradation of the high-voltage part; a power supply cutoff unit for cutting off the supply of the power to the high-voltage part” [0010]);
a second degradation state (“the second first power supply cutoff condition being that the running speed of the vehicle detected by the vehicle speed detector is lower than a preset speed” [0010]);
a third degradation state having an expected duration of five minutes (“the power supply controller may cause the power supply cutoff unit to cut off the supply of the power to the high-voltage part, when a third power supply cutoff condition is satisfied in addition to the first and second power supply cutoff conditions being satisfied” [0012]);
a penultimate degradation state having an expected duration of forty seconds (“the power supply control apparatus for use in the vehicle may further comprise a timer for counting a duration of satisfying the first and second power supply cutoff conditions” [0015]);
and a final degradation state having an expected duration of twelve seconds (“the power supply control apparatus for use in the vehicle may further comprise a timer for counting a duration of satisfying the first and second power supply cutoff conditions” [0015]);
determining an estimated amount of energy capacity for each of the operating states based on the estimated power consumption over the expected duration associated with the respective operating state and the condition of the at least one energy source (“An average value of actual electric power consumption using the refrigerating cycle for a predetermined period is calculated.”[0009]);
identifying a desired remaining energy margin following the termination of vehicle operation (“Taking all of the pertinent information into consideration, it can be determined how much energy will be needed by the air conditioning system through the remainder of the planned trip, assuming that the air conditioning system operates in its normal mode for the duration. This forms one component in the overall calculation of the total energy needed for trip completion.” [0108]);
determining an energy capacity threshold associated with transitioning into each of the operating states based the desired remaining energy margin and the estimated amount of energy capacity associated with each of the operating states (“Another consideration is the impact of traffic delays. Since delays are frequently unpredictable, having a threshold set as a function of traffic delays can significantly aid in protecting a vehicle from running out of energy short of the destination. As an example, if the traffic delay is projected to deplete 25% (or some other threshold level) of the energy reserve, the power management system can be set to conclude that there is a risk to completion of the trip and power reduction measures can be implemented. In similar fashion, if a traffic delay is encountered that delays a trip by more than a delay threshold, perhaps 10%, of the time originally calculated as the duration of the trip, it can be indicative of the need to take precautionary steps and to introduce a first set of power reductions.” [0118]);
and autonomously operating the vehicle electrical system in accordance with the energy capacity thresholds associated with the operating states leading to the termination of vehicle operation in response to the anomalous condition (“In the autonomous driving control device configured as described above, executing an autonomous driving control process makes it possible to, even if the first control device or the second control device has failed, suppress a decrease in the continuity of the autonomous driving function and suppress upsizing of the autonomous driving control device and an increase in power consumption.” [0064]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Maury discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising determining a current energy capacity associated with an energy source coupled to the electrical grid, wherein autonomously operating the vehicle electrical system comprises autonomously operating the vehicle electrical system based on a relationship between the current energy capacity and the energy threshold(“Another consideration is the impact of traffic delays. Since delays are frequently unpredictable, having a threshold set as a function of traffic delays can significantly aid in protecting a vehicle from running out of energy short of the destination. As an example, if the traffic delay is projected to deplete 25% (or some other threshold level) of the energy reserve, the power management system can be set to conclude that there is a risk to completion of the trip and power reduction measures can be implemented. In similar fashion, if a traffic delay is encountered that delays a trip by more than a delay threshold, perhaps 10%, of the time originally calculated as the duration of the trip, it can be indicative of the need to take precautionary steps and to introduce a first set of power reductions.” [0118]).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Maury discloses The method of claim 3, wherein autonomously operating the vehicle electrical system comprises adjusting operation of at least one of the one or more loads based on the relationship between the current energy capacity and the energy threshold (“Thus, even if there has been a first threshold adjustment of vehicle systems, reducing power to certain low priority systems, and a second threshold adjustment of vehicle systems, reducing power to a second set of vehicle systems having a second priority, there can be a third threshold adjust reducing the power provided to still more vehicle systems. Also, as each incremental threshold is reached, incremental power reductions of previously reduced systems can be implemented. Since reducing vehicle speed is generally considered a major disruption of a planned trip, this step is preferably only implemented if energy reserves fall below a mission threshold—a level at which the destination can only be reached by taking such extreme measures. Typically, a mission threshold is less than or equal to 100% of the energy calculated as being required for completion of the planned trip.” [0114]).
Regarding claims 22, Maury discloses The vehicle of claim 21, wherein the desired remaining energy margin is 5 amp-hours (“recharging any back-up batteries and then excess power will be provided to the operating on-board systems which can draw power from the regenerative braking system instead of from the batteries and any remaining excess power can be provided to the high capacity capacitors” [0011]).
Claims 2, 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maury in view of Muller et al. (US9499157B2), hereinafter referred to as Maury and Muller respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Maury discloses The method of claim 1,
Maury does not explicitly teach further comprising updating a calibration table associated with the vehicle electrical system to maintain an association between the energy threshold and the operating state, wherein autonomously operating the vehicle electrical system comprises autonomously operating at least one of the one or more loads in a manner that is influenced by the energy threshold associated with the operating state using the calibration table
However, Muller does teach further comprising updating a calibration table associated with the vehicle electrical system to maintain an association between the energy threshold and the operating state, wherein autonomously operating the vehicle electrical system comprises autonomously operating at least one of the one or more loads in a manner that is influenced by the energy threshold associated with the operating state using the calibration table (“Hybrid vehicle 10 further comprises a control module 26, which is communicatively connected with the internal combustion engine, the motor-generator 24, and navigation system 20. The term "control module", "control", "control", "control unit", "processor" and similar terms refers to an application specific integrated circuit (one or more) (ASIC), electronic circuit (one or more). central processing unit (one or more) of executing one or more software or firmware program or routine (preferably microprocessor (one or more)) and associated memory and storage portion (read-only, programmable read only, random access, the hardware drive, etc.), combination logic circuit (one or more), sequential logic circuit (one or more), an input/output circuit (one or more) and devices, appropriate signal conditioning and buffer circuitry, and other components of one or more of one or various combinations to provide the function. "software", "firmware", "program", "instructions", "routine", "code", "algorithm" and similar terms refers to any controller executable instruction set comprising a calibration and look-up table.” [Col.7 ln 45-65]). Both Maury and Muller teach methods for prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles. However, Muller explicitly teaches updating a calibration table associated with the vehicle electrical system to maintain an association between the energy threshold and the operating state, wherein autonomously operating the vehicle electrical system comprises autonomously operating at least one of the one or more loads in a manner that is influenced by the energy threshold associated with the operating state using the calibration table.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles method of Maury to also include updating a calibration table associated with the vehicle electrical system to maintain an association between the energy threshold and the operating state, wherein autonomously operating the vehicle electrical system comprises autonomously operating at least one of the one or more loads in a manner that is influenced by the energy threshold associated with the operating state using the calibration table, as in Muller. Doing so improves the operation of autonomous vehicles by prolonging battery life duration (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Muller, Col. 1]).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Maury discloses The method of claim 1,
Maury does not explicitly teach further comprising identifying a current status associated with an energy source coupled to the electrical grid, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises determining the energy threshold based at least in part on the current status associated with the energy source
However, Muller does teach further comprising identifying a current status associated with an energy source coupled to the electrical grid, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises determining the energy threshold based at least in part on the current status associated with the energy source (“The SOC threshold is compared to the SOC of the energy storage device and when the SOC threshold exceeds the SOC of the energy storage device, the vehicle is selectively commanded to operate in one of a standard charging mode, a condensed charging mode, and a prolonged charging mode to charge the energy storage device to the SOC threshold in sufficient time to avoid occurrence of the energy deficit defining the minimum energy requirement.” [Col.2 ln 28-36]). Both Maury and Muller teach methods for prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles. However, Muller explicitly teaches identifying a current status associated with an energy source coupled to the electrical grid, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises determining the energy threshold based at least in part on the current status associated with the energy source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles method of Maury to also include identifying a current status associated with an energy source coupled to the electrical grid, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises determining the energy threshold based at least in part on the current status associated with the energy source, as in Muller. Doing so improves the operation of autonomous vehicles by prolonging battery life duration (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Muller, Col. 1]).
Claims 5, 7-9, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maury in view of Muller and in further view of Kong et al. (US 20230110889 A1), hereinafter referred to as Maury, Muller and Kong respectively.
Regarding claims 5, Maury in view of Muller discloses The method of claim 3,
and adjusting operation comprises autonomously operating the actuator device to stop the vehicle when the current energy capacity is less than the energy threshold(“Thus, even if there has been a first threshold adjustment of vehicle systems, reducing power to certain low priority systems, and a second threshold adjustment of vehicle systems, reducing power to a second set of vehicle systems having a second priority, there can be a third threshold adjust reducing the power provided to still more vehicle systems. Also, as each incremental threshold is reached, incremental power reductions of previously reduced systems can be implemented. Since reducing vehicle speed is generally considered a major disruption of a planned trip, this step is preferably only implemented if energy reserves fall below a mission threshold—a level at which the destination can only be reached by taking such extreme measures. Typically, a mission threshold is less than or equal to 100% of the energy calculated as being required for completion of the planned trip.” [0114]).
Maury in view of Muller does not explicitly teach wherein: the one or more loads includes an actuator device associated with autonomous operation of a vehicle
However, Kong does teach wherein: the one or more loads includes an actuator device associated with autonomous operation of a vehicle (“As shown in FIG. 3B, a first set of vehicle electrical components operates using one of the two or more operating voltages of the MODACS 208. For example, the first set of vehicle electrical components may be connected to the second and third positive terminals 214 and 216. Some of the first set of vehicle electrical components may be connected to the second positive terminal 214, and some of the first set of vehicle electrical components may be connected to the third positive terminal 216. The first set of vehicle electrical components may include, for example but not limited to, the VCM and/or BCM 306 and other control modules of the vehicle, the starter motor 202, and/or other electrical loads, such as first 12 V loads 307, second 12 V loads 308, other control modules 312, third 12 V loads 316, and fourth 12 V loads 320. In various implementations, a switching device 324 may be connected to both of the first and second positive terminals 214. The switching device 324 may connect the other control modules 312 and the third 12 V loads 316 to the second positive terminal 214 or the third positive terminal 216.” [0087]). Both Maury in view of Muller and Kong teach methods for prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles. However, Kong explicitly teaches one or more loads includes an actuator device associated with autonomous operation of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles method of Maury in view of Muller to also include one or more loads includes an actuator device associated with autonomous operation of a vehicle, as in Kong. Doing so improves the operation of autonomous vehicles by prolonging battery life duration (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Kong, 0005]).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 23, Maury in view of Muller discloses The method of claim 6,
Maury in view of Muller does not explicitly teach wherein identifying the current status comprises identifying a current state of health associated with the energy source, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises scaling the energy threshold based at least in part on the current state of health
However, Kong does teach wherein identifying the current status comprises identifying a current state of health associated with the energy source, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises scaling the energy threshold based at least in part on the current state of health(“The MODACS 208 includes cells and/or blocks of cells, such as a first block (or string) 224-1 to an N-th block (or string) 224-N (“blocks 224”), where N is an integer greater than or equal to 2. Each of the blocks 224 may include one or more cells. Each block may also be separately replaceable within the MODACS 208. For example only, each of the blocks 224 may be an individually housed 12 V DC battery. The ability to individually replace the blocks 224 may enable the MODACS 208 to include a shorter warranty period and have a lower warranty cost. The blocks 224 are also individually isolatable, for example, in the event of a fault in a block. In various implementations, the MODACS 208 may have the form factor of a standard automotive grade 12 V battery.” [0082]). Both Maury in view of Muller and Kong teach methods for prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles. However, Kong explicitly teaches identifying the current status comprises identifying a current state of health associated with the energy source, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises scaling the energy threshold based at least in part on the current state of health.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles method of Maury in view of Muller to also include identifying the current status comprises identifying a current state of health associated with the energy source, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises scaling the energy threshold based at least in part on the current state of health, as in Kong. Doing so improves the operation of autonomous vehicles by prolonging battery life duration (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Kong, 0005]).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Maury in view of Muller discloses The method of claim 6,
Maury in view of Muller does not explicitly teach wherein identifying the current status comprises identifying a current number of available strings of battery cells associated with the energy source, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises scaling the energy threshold based at least in part on the current number of available strings of battery cells
However, Kong does teach wherein identifying the current status comprises identifying a current number of available strings of battery cells associated with the energy source, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises scaling the energy threshold based at least in part on the current number of available strings of battery cells (“The MODACS 208 includes cells and/or blocks of cells, such as a first block (or string) 224-1 to an N-th block (or string) 224-N (“blocks 224”), where N is an integer greater than or equal to 2. Each of the blocks 224 may include one or more cells. Each block may also be separately replaceable within the MODACS 208. For example only, each of the blocks 224 may be an individually housed 12 V DC battery. The ability to individually replace the blocks 224 may enable the MODACS 208 to include a shorter warranty period and have a lower warranty cost. The blocks 224 are also individually isolatable, for example, in the event of a fault in a block. In various implementations, the MODACS 208 may have the form factor of a standard automotive grade 12 V battery.” [0082]). Both Maury in view of Muller and Kong teach methods for prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles. However, Kong explicitly teaches identifying the current status comprises identifying a current number of available strings of battery cells associated with the energy source, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises scaling the energy threshold based at least in part on the current number of available strings of battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles method of Maury in view of Muller to also include identifying the current status comprises identifying a current number of available strings of battery cells associated with the energy source, wherein determining the energy threshold comprises scaling the energy threshold based at least in part on the current number of available strings of battery cells, as in Kong. Doing so improves the operation of autonomous vehicles by prolonging battery life duration (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Kong, 0005]).
Regarding claims 9, 16 and 20, Maury in view of Muller discloses The method of claim 6,
Maury in view of Muller does not explicitly teach wherein the energy source comprises a multiple output dynamically adjustable capacity storage system (MODACS)
However, Kong does teach wherein the energy source comprises a multiple output dynamically adjustable capacity storage system (MODACS) (“A vehicle system is provided and includes a modular dynamically allocated capacity storage system (MODACS) and an active management module.” [0006]). Both Maury in view of Muller and Kong teach methods for prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles. However, Kong explicitly teaches a multiple output dynamically adjustable capacity storage system (MODACS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prolonging operation of autonomous electric vehicles method of Maury in view of Muller to also include a multiple output dynamically adjustable capacity storage system (MODACS), as in Kong. Doing so improves the operation of autonomous vehicles by prolonging battery life duration (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Kong, 0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AHMED ALKIRSHExaminer, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668