DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are rejected for the following reasons.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the lower branch non-mechanical device and/or the upper branch non-mechanical device are operated to increase or decrease the passage of said heat carrier particles in response to changes in pressure PR1, PR2, PR3, PR4, PR5, PR6, PR7, PR8, and/or PR9, and optionally one or more of PR7A and PR8A” which renders the claim indefinite because the claim does not specify what the terms PR1, PR2, PR3, PR4, PR5, PR6, PR7, PR8, PR9, PR7A, and PR8A are intended to signify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 9,255,232) in view of Tsangaris et al. (US 2008/0147241).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Jiang et al. discloses a dual-bed gasification apparatus (see col. 6, lines 59-65; Fig. 1) comprising: a gasifier (20) having a bed and a freeboard (see col. 8, lines 15-23; Fig. 1); a combustor (30) having a bottom end and a top end (see col. 13, lines 13-28; Fig. 1); a lower branch conduit (25) connecting the gasifier (20) to the combustor (30); the lower branch conduit (25) configured to allow transfer of heat carrier particles from the gasifier (20) to the combustor (30)(see col. 13, lines 20-23; Fig. 1); an upper branch conduit (35) connecting the combustor (30) to the gasifier (20); the upper branch conduit (35) configured to allow transfer of heat carrier particles from the combustor (20) to the gasifier (20) (see col. 13, lines 20-23; Fig. 1); the upper branch conduit (35) having an upper portion, a middle portion, and a lower portion (see col. 13, lines 20-23; Fig. 1). The reference Jiang et al., however, does not specifically disclose a solid circulation monitoring system comprising a plurality of pressure sensors, each measuring a pressure at a location within the dual-bed gasification apparatus while the dual-bed gasification apparatus is in operation.
The reference Tsangaris et al. teaches a control system for use in controlling one or more processes implemented in a gasification system for the conversion of carbonaceous feedstock into a gas, which may be used for one or more downstream applications (see Abstract). The reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that the control system operatively controls various local, regional and/or global processes related to the overall gasification process, and thereby adjusts various control parameters thereof adapted to affect these processes for a selected result (see Abstract). The reference Tsangaris et al. further teaches that various sensing elements and response elements are therefore distributed throughout the controlled system and used to acquire various process, reactant and/or product characteristics, compare these characteristics to suitable ranges of such characteristics conducive to achieving the desired result, and respond by implementing changes to in one or more of the ongoing processes via one or more controllable process devices (see Abstract; paras. [0141]; [0168]). The reference Tsangaris et al. further teaches that the various sensing elements include pressure sensors to monitor the pressure throughout the entire gasification system, and data relating to the pressure of the system can be used by the control system to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see para. [0188]). The reference Tsangaris et al. further teaches that pressure drop across each individual component of the gasification system can also be monitored via a plurality of pressure sensing elements to rapidly pinpoint developing problems during an ongoing process to generate gas suitable for use in a selected downstream operation, or to maximize process outputs and efficiencies (see para. [0190]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., and modified the dual-bed gasification apparatus of Jiang et al. to include a plurality of pressure sensors at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at various locations where pressure fluctuations are likely to occur while the dual-bed gasification apparatus is in operation, and predictably arrived at the instantly claimed solid circulation monitoring system, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]). Furthermore, the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, the reference Jiang et al. is silent with respect to the dual-bed gasification apparatus further comprising a plurality of temperature sensors located at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, as required in claims 2 and 4.
The reference Tsangaris et al. teaches a control system for use in controlling one or more processes implemented in a gasification system for the conversion of carbonaceous feedstock into a gas, which may be used for one or more downstream applications (see Abstract). The reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that the control system operatively controls various local, regional and/or global processes related to the overall gasification process, and thereby adjusts various control parameters thereof adapted to affect these processes for a selected result (see Abstract). The reference Tsangaris et al. further teaches that various sensing elements and response elements are therefore distributed throughout the controlled system and used to acquire various process, reactant and/or product characteristics, compare these characteristics to suitable ranges of such characteristics conducive to achieving the desired result, and respond by implementing changes to in one or more of the ongoing processes via one or more controllable process devices (see Abstract; paras. [0141]; [0168]). The reference Tsangaris et al. further teaches that the various sensing elements can include a plurality of temperature sensors for sensing the temperature at various locations throughout the gasification system so as to monitor and adjust, via response elements, the ongoing process to generate a product gas suitable for use in the selected downstream application and maximize process outputs and efficiencies (see paras. temperature [0106]; [0147]; [0180]; [0187]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly provide a plurality of temperature sensors at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., including a temperature sensor T1 measuring a temperature TP1 at the bottom end of the combustor (30); a temperature sensor T2 measuring a temperature TP2 in the top end of the combustor (30); a temperature sensor T3 measuring a temperature TP3 directly upstream of the gasifier bed; and a temperature sensor T4 measuring a temperature TP4 within the gasifier bed, as claimed by applicant, to help monitor temperature fluctuations that may arise at the various locations within the gasifier and combustor, as doing so would amount to nothing more than a use of a known device for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result. As evidence by the reference Tsangaris et al. (see paras. [0147]; [0180]; [0181]; [0187]), it is typical in the art to arrange a plurality of temperature sensors to monitor the temperature at various locations within a gasification system.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation in the claim with respect to the particular locations where the plurality of pressure sensors is arranged does not patentably distinguish the claim over the prior art because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., to provide the plurality of pressure sensors at suitable locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at the various locations as recited in claim 3, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 5, the recitation in the claim with respect to the particular locations where the plurality of pressure sensors is arranged does not patentably distinguish the claim over the prior art because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., to provide the plurality of pressure sensors at suitable locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at the various locations as recited in claim 5, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 6, the recitation in the claim with respect to the particular locations where the plurality of pressure sensors is arranged does not patentably distinguish the claim over the prior art because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., to provide the plurality of pressure sensors at suitable locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at the various locations as recited in claim 6, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 7, the recitation in the claim with respect to the particular locations where the plurality of pressure sensors is arranged does not patentably distinguish the claim over the prior art because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., to provide the plurality of pressure sensors at suitable locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at the various locations as recited in claim 6, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 8, the recitation in the claim with respect to the particular locations where the plurality of pressure sensors is arranged does not patentably distinguish the claim over the prior art because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., to provide the plurality of pressure sensors at suitable locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at the various locations as recited in claim 8, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 9, the recitation in the claim with respect to the particular locations where the plurality of pressure sensors is arranged does not patentably distinguish the claim over the prior art because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., to provide the plurality of pressure sensors at suitable locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at the various locations as recited in claim 9, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 10, the recitation in the claim with respect to the particular locations where the plurality of pressure sensors is arranged does not patentably distinguish the claim over the prior art because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., to provide the plurality of pressure sensors at suitable locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at the various locations as recited in claim 10, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 11, the recitation in the claim with respect to the particular locations where the plurality of pressure sensors is arranged does not patentably distinguish the claim over the prior art because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., to provide the plurality of pressure sensors at suitable locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at the various locations as recited in claim 11, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 12, the recitation in the claim with respect to the particular locations where the plurality of pressure sensors is arranged does not patentably distinguish the claim over the prior art because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., to provide the plurality of pressure sensors at suitable locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at the various locations as recited in claim 12, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 13, the reference Jiang et al. discloses a system for controlling solids circulation in a dual-bed gasification apparatus, the dual-bed gasification apparatus (see col. 6, lines 59-65; Fig. 1) comprising: a gasifier (20) having a bed and a freeboard (see col. 8, lines 15-23; Fig. 1); a combustor (30) having a bottom end and a top end (see col. 13, lines 13-28; Fig. 1); a lower branch conduit (25) connecting the gasifier (20) to the combustor (30); the lower branch conduit (25) configured to allow transfer of heat carrier particles from the gasifier (20) to the combustor (30) (see col. 13, lines 20-23; Fig. 1); the lower branch conduit (25) optionally having a lower branch non-mechanical device (70) permitting control of rate of passage of the heat carrier particles from the gasifier (20) to the combustor (30) (see col. 13, lines 20-28; Fig. 1); an upper branch conduit (35) connecting the combustor (30) to the gasifier (20); the upper branch conduit (35) configured to allow transfer of heat carrier particles from the combustor (20) to the gasifier (20) (see col. 13, lines 20-23; Fig. 1); the upper branch conduit (35) having an upper portion, a middle portion, and a lower portion (see col. 13, lines 20-23; Fig. 1); the lower portion of the upper branch conduit (35) optionally having an upper branch non-mechanic device (80) permitting control of rate of passage of the heat carrier particles from the combustor (30) to the gasifier (20) (see col. 13, lines 20-23; col. 17, lines 5-11; Fig. 1). The reference Jiang et al., however, does not specifically disclose a solid circulation monitoring system comprising a plurality of pressure sensors, each measuring a pressure at a location within the dual-bed gasification apparatus while the dual-bed gasification apparatus is in operation.
The reference Tsangaris et al. teaches a control system for use in controlling one or more processes implemented in a gasification system for the conversion of carbonaceous feedstock into a gas, which may be used for one or more downstream applications (see Abstract). The reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that the control system operatively controls various local, regional and/or global processes related to the overall gasification process, and thereby adjusts various control parameters thereof adapted to affect these processes for a selected result (see Abstract). The reference Tsangaris et al. further teaches that various sensing elements and response elements are therefore distributed throughout the controlled system and used to acquire various process, reactant and/or product characteristics, compare these characteristics to suitable ranges of such characteristics conducive to achieving the desired result, and respond by implementing changes to in one or more of the ongoing processes via one or more controllable process devices (see Abstract; paras. [0141]; [0168]). The reference Tsangaris et al. further teaches that the various sensing elements include pressure sensors to monitor the pressure throughout the entire gasification system, and data relating to the pressure of the system can be used by the control system to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see para. [0188]). The reference Tsangaris et al. further teaches that pressure drop across each individual component of the gasification system can also be monitored via a plurality of pressure sensing elements to rapidly pinpoint developing problems during an ongoing process to generate gas suitable for use in a selected downstream operation, or to maximize process outputs and efficiencies (see para. [0190]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., and modified the system of Jiang et al. to include a plurality of pressure sensors at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at various locations where pressure fluctuations are likely to occur while the dual-bed gasification apparatus is in operation, and predictably arrived at the instantly claimed system for controlling solids circulation, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]). Furthermore, the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 14, references Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al. teach the system for controlling solids circulation, wherein the lower branch non-mechanical device (70) and/or the upper branch non-mechanical device (80) is an L-valve, a J-valve, an approximated J-valve, or a seal pot (see col. 20, lines 11-26), and the operating of the non-mechanical device comprises adjusting a rate of flow of aeration gas through the non-mechanical device (see col. 14, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 15, references Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al. teach the system for controlling solids circulation further comprises upper aeration ports (141d and distribution nozzles in the GSP) in the upper branch conduit (35) (see col. 10, lines 25-30; col. 20, lines 5-10; Fig. 1) and/or lower aeration ports (141b, 141c, and distribution nozzles in the CSP) in the lower branch conduit (25) (see col. 10, lines 25-30; col. 20, lines 5-10; Fig. 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the upper aeration ports and/or lower aeration ports of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al. to increase or decrease the passage of the heat carrier particles in response to changes in pressure at the various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including to pressure changes at the various locations as recited in claim 15, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 16, references Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al. do not specifically disclose wherein the operating of the lower branch non-mechanical device (70) and/or the upper branch non-mechanical device occurs (80) in an automated fashion. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the operations of the lower branch non-mechanical device (70) and/or the upper branch non-mechanical device (80) occur in an automated fashion in response to the change in pressure at the various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including to pressure changes at the various locations as recited in claim 16, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that the gasification system can be provided with a control system which can operatively control various local, regional and/or global processes related to the overall gasification process, and thereby adjusts various control parameters thereof adapted to affect these processes for a selected result (see Abstract; para. [0141]).
Regarding claim 17, the reference Jiang et al. discloses a system for controlling solids circulation in a dual-bed gasification apparatus, the dual-bed gasification apparatus (see col. 6, lines 59-65; Fig. 1) comprising: a gasifier (20) having a bed and a freeboard (see col. 8, lines 15-23; Fig. 1); a combustor (30) having a bottom end and a top end (see col. 13, lines 13-28; Fig. 1); a lower branch conduit (25) connecting the gasifier (20) to the combustor (30); the lower branch conduit (25) configured to allow transfer of heat carrier particles from the gasifier (20) to the combustor (30) (see col. 13, lines 20-23; Fig. 1); the lower branch conduit (25) optionally having a lower branch non-mechanical device (70) permitting control of rate of passage of the heat carrier particles from the gasifier (20) to the combustor (30) (see col. 13, lines 20-28; Fig. 1); an upper branch conduit (35) connecting the combustor (30) to the gasifier (20); the upper branch conduit (35) configured to allow transfer of heat carrier particles from the combustor (20) to the gasifier (20) (see col. 13, lines 20-23; Fig. 1); the upper branch conduit (35) having an upper portion, a middle portion, and a lower portion (see col. 13, lines 20-23; Fig. 1); the lower portion of the upper branch conduit (35) optionally having an upper branch non-mechanic device (80) permitting control of rate of passage of the heat carrier particles from the combustor (30) to the gasifier (20) (see col. 13, lines 20-23; col. 17, lines 5-11; Fig. 1). The reference Jiang et al., however, does not specifically disclose a method comprising monitoring, while the dual-bed gasification apparatus is in operation, a plurality of pressures, each pressure at a location within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, and increasing or decreasing one or more of: (a) the rate of passage of the heat carrier particles from the combustor to the gasifier by operating the upper branch non-mechanic device; and (b) increasing or decreasing the rate of passage of the heat carrier particles from the gasifier to the combustor, by operating the lower branch non-mechanic device; when one or more of the plurality of pressures, or where the difference between two of the plurality of pressures reach a defined threshold.
The reference Tsangaris et al. teaches a control system for use in controlling one or more processes implemented in a gasification system for the conversion of carbonaceous feedstock into a gas, which may be used for one or more downstream applications (see Abstract). The reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that the control system operatively controls various local, regional and/or global processes related to the overall gasification process, and thereby adjusts various control parameters thereof adapted to affect these processes for a selected result (see Abstract). The reference Tsangaris et al. further teaches that various sensing elements and response elements are therefore distributed throughout the controlled system and used to acquire various process, reactant and/or product characteristics, compare these characteristics to suitable ranges of such characteristics conducive to achieving the desired result, and respond by implementing changes to in one or more of the ongoing processes via one or more controllable process devices (see Abstract; paras. [0141]; [0168]). The reference Tsangaris et al. further teaches that the various sensing elements include pressure sensors to monitor the pressure throughout the entire gasification system, and data relating to the pressure of the system can be used by the control system to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see para. [0188]). The reference Tsangaris et al. further teaches that pressure drop across each individual component of the gasification system can also be monitored via a plurality of pressure sensing elements to rapidly pinpoint developing problems during an ongoing process to generate gas suitable for use in a selected downstream operation, or to maximize process outputs and efficiencies (see para. [0190]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., and monitored, while the dual-bed gasification apparatus is in operation, a plurality of pressures, each pressure at a location within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, and increasing or decreasing one or more of: (a) the rate of passage of the heat carrier particles from the combustor (30) to the gasifier (20) by operating the upper branch non-mechanic device (80); and (b) increasing or decreasing the rate of passage of the heat carrier particles from the gasifier (20) to the combustor (30), by operating the lower branch non-mechanic device (70); when one or more of the plurality of pressures, or where the difference between two of the plurality of pressures reach a defined threshold, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [0031; and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 18, the references Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al. do not specifically disclose increasing or decreasing an aeration gas flow to the lower portion and/or the middle portion of the upper branch conduit, when one or more of the plurality of pressures, or where the difference between two of the plurality of pressures, reach a defined threshold, as recited in claim 18. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase or decrease an aeration gas flow to the lower portion and/or the middle portion of the upper branch conduit (35), when one or more of the plurality of pressures, or where the difference between two of the plurality of pressures, reach a defined threshold, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to the pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including within the non-mechanic devices (70, 80), within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Regarding claim 19, the recitation in the claim with respect to the particular locations where the plurality of pressures is monitored does not patentably distinguish the claim over the prior art because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Jiang et al. and Tsangaris et al., to provide a plurality of pressure sensors at suitable locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus, including at the various locations as recited in claim 9, since the reference Tsangaris et al. teaches that data relating to pressures measured at the various locations within the gasification system can be used to determine, on a real time basis, whether adjustments to the various control parameters are required (see paras. [0188]; [0316]; [00319]); and the reference Jiang et al. suggests for the need to maintain the pressure or differential pressures at various locations within the dual-bed gasification apparatus within desired ranges (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 19, line 65 to col. 20, line 40).
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774