DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-26 are currently pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed June 30, 2023; September 01, 2023; and August 08, 2025 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16, is considered vague and indefinite for the following reasons:
In line 2 of the claim, the term “substantially” is unclear and confusing. The term
“substantially” is not defined in the specification, so one would not be able to tell when the signal data corresponding to each of the two primer extensions is obtained; Is the signal data acquired at the same time? Or can the signal data be obtained at separate times? If so how much time?
Claim 25, is considered vague and indefinite for the following reasons:
In claim 25, line 4, the term “substantially” is unclear and confusing. The term
“substantially” is not defined in the specification, so one would not be able to tell when the signal data corresponding to each of the two primer extensions is obtained; Is the signal data acquired at the same time? Or can the signal data be obtained at separate times? If so how much time?
Claim 26, is considered vague and indefinite for the following reasons:
In claim 26, line 3, the term “substantially” is unclear and confusing. The term
“substantially” is not defined in the specification, so one would not be able to tell when the exciting unique labels on labeled nucleotide bases should occur; Are the unique labels excited at the same time? Or can they be excited at separate times? If so how much time may separate the excitation?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-14, 16-20, 22 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Brennan et al. (United States Patent No.: US 6,632,641 B1, published October 14, 2003).
Regarding claim 1, Brennan teaches a method for determining the sequence of at least one nucleic acid (Column 4, Lines 21-24 and Column 9, Lines 25-28). Brennan teaches performing primer extensions on a same strand of nucleic acid of the at least one nucleic acid at each of at least two primers hybridized to the same strand of nucleic acid in the presence of labeled nucleotide bases to result in two primer extensions (Column 9, Lines 25-28, Column 28, Lines 14-19, Column 29, Lines 49-67 and Figs. 5A-5D). Brennan teaches obtaining signal data corresponding to at least one labeled nucleotide base incorporated at each of the two primer extensions (Column 1, Liens 55-61, Column 28, Lines 14-19, Column 29, Lines 49-67, Column 40, Line 64—Column 41, Line 26, Example 10, and Fig. 17 and Fig. 20). Brennan teaches determining from said signal data the identity of the nucleotide bases and allocating said bases to an extension read to determine the sequence of the at least one nucleic acid (Column 55, Line 66—Column 56, Line 14 and Figs 17 and 20 (CCD camera to detect signal data and the computer to process the data)).
Regarding claim 2, Brennan teaches the method comprises contacting the at least one nucleic acid with an enzyme in the presence of the at least two primers and four labelled nucleotide analogues selected from dGTP, dCTP, dTTP, dUTP, and dATP (Column 29, Line 49—Column 30, Line 22).
Regarding claim 3, Brennan teaches each of the four labelled nucleotide analogues have a unique label which is different from the unique labels of the other three labelled nucleotide analogues (Column 29, Line 40—Column 30, Line 22, Column 40, Line 64—Column 41, Line 26 and Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Brennan teaches the unique label comprises a dye, a fluorophore, a chromophore, a combinatorial fluorescence energy transfer tag, a mass tag, or an electrophore (Column 40, Line 64—Column 41, Line 26, and Column 30, Lines 23-32).
Regarding claim 5, Brennan teaches removing unbound labelled nucleotide analogues (Column 33, Lines 58-59 and Column 39, Lines 20-23, ).
Regarding claim 6, Brennan teaches the four labelled nucleotide analogues each comprises a single reversibly terminating nucleotide analogue or reversible terminator analogue (Column 30, Lines 1-32).
Regarding claim 7, Brennan teaches the enzyme comprises a polymerase or ligase (Column 26, Lines 60-64, Column 28, Lines 10-19, Column 42, Lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 8, Brennan teaches the same set of four labelled nucleotide analogues are used for each extension read (Column 29, Line 49—Column 30, Line 32).
Regarding claim 12, Brennan teaches the at least one nucleic acid is bound to a support comprising a chip or a bead (Column 3, Lines 55-63, column 41, Lines 6-14).
Regarding claim 13, Brennan teaches the least two primers have overlapping sequences (Column 5, Lines 42-45, Column 29, Line 49—Column 30, line 22 and Column 38, Line 65—Column 39, Line 8).
Regarding claim 14, Brennan teaches the at least two primers differ by a single base addition (Column 2, Lines 52-61).
Regarding claim 16, Brennan teaches the signal data corresponding to each of the two primer extensions is obtained substantially simultaneously (Column 4, Lines 18-19, Column 12, Lines 51-61, Column 31, Lines 15-24, Column 56, Lines 26-32 and Example 11).
Regarding claim 17, Brennan teaches the step of determining the identity of the nucleotide bases comprises analyzing a signal intensity profile corresponding to unique labels detected at each of the extension reads (Column 31, Lines 45-49, Column 39, Lines 45-55, Column 39, Line 61—Column 40, Line 49, Column 53, Lines 29-38, Column 58, Lines 21-26 and Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 18, Brennan teaches the signal data comprises one or more images (Column 55, Line 66—Column 56, Line 12 and Figs. 20-21).
Regarding claim 19, Brennan teaches the signal data is detected as color signals corresponding to a plurality of nucleotide analogues incorporated at the primer extensions and wherein each color signal corresponds to a different nucleotide analogue or combination of nucleotide analogues (Column 32, Lines 17-19 and Column 40, Line 64—Column 41, Line 26).
Regarding claim 20, Brennan teaches comprising a step of signal processing comprising one or more of signal deconvolution, signal refinement and signal selection (Column 39, Line 26—Column 40, Line 63).
Regarding claim 22, Brennan teaches the step of allocating the bases to an extension read comprises determining the position of the nucleotide bases (Column 21, Lines 60-63, Column 28, Lines 3-33, Column 29, Lines 6-11, Column 53, Lines 29-38, Column 55, Line 66—Column 56, Line14).
Regarding claim 25, Brennan teaches a method for determining the sequence of at least one nucleic acid (Column 4, Lines 21-24 and Column 9, Lines 25-28). Brennan teaches exciting fluorescence from the at least one nucleic acid (Column 55, Lines 23-43 and Example 13). Brennan teaches substantially simultaneously, obtaining signal data corresponding to labeled nucleotide bases incorporated at each of two primer extensions on a same strand of nucleic acid of the at least one nucleic acid (Column 1, Liens 55-61, Column 4, Lines 18-19, Column 9, Lines 25-28, Column 12, Lines 51-61, Column 28, Lines 14-19, Column 29, Lines 49-67, Column 31, Lines 15-24, Column 40, Line 64—Column 41, Line 26, Column 56, Lines 26-32, Examples 10-11 and Figs. 5A-5D, 17 and 20). Brennan teaches determining from said signal data the identity of the nucleotide bases and allocating said bases to an extension read to determine the sequence of the at least one nucleic acid (Column 55, Line 66—Column 56, Line 14 and Figs 17 and 20 (CCD camera to detect signal data and the computer to process the data)).
Regarding claim 26, Brennan teaches a method for determining the sequence of at least one nucleic acid (Column 4, Lines 21-24 and Column 9, Lines 25-28). Brennan teaches substantially simultaneously exciting unique labels on labeled nucleotide bases incorporated at each of two primer extensions on a same strand of nucleic acid of the at least one nucleic acid (Column 1, Liens 55-61, Column 4, Lines 18-19, Column 9, Lines 25-28, Column 12, Lines 51-61, Column 28, Lines 14-19, Column 29, Lines 49-67, Column 31, Lines 15-24, Column 40, Line 64—Column 41, Line 26, Column 56, Lines 26-32, Examples 10-13 and Figs. 5A-5D, 17 and 20). Brennan teaches obtaining signal data from said excitation (Examples 12 and 13). Brennan teaches determining from said signal data the identity of the nucleotide bases and allocating said bases to an extension read to determine the sequence of the at least one nucleic acid (Column 55, Line 66—Column 56, Line 14 and Figs 17 and 20 (CCD camera to detect signal data and the computer to process the data)).
Brennan teaches each and every claim limitation of claims 1-8, 12-14, 16-20, 22 and 25-26, therefore Brennan anticipates claims 1-8, 12-14, 16-20, 22 and 25-26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11, 15, 21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brennan et al. (United States Patent No.: US 6,632,641 B1, published October 14, 2003), as applied to claims 1-8, 12-14, 16-20, 22 and 25-26 above, in view of Leamon et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2006/0040297 A1, published February 23, 2006).
Regarding claims 9-10, Brennan teaches the at least two primers as discussed above.
Regarding claim 11, Brennan teaches the signal intensity as discussed above.
Regarding claim 15, Brennan teaches allocating the bases to the extension read as discussed above.
Regarding claims 21 and 23-24, Brennan teaches the method of claim as discussed above.
Brennan does not teach or suggest at least two primers comprise blocked and unblocked primers to differentiate between each extension read. Brennan does not teach or suggest the at least two primers comprise a first unblocked primer having a first nucleotide sequence and a second mixture of unblocked and blocked primers having a second nucleotide sequence. Brennan does not teach or suggest determining the identity of the nucleotides bases comprises determining the signal intensity of newly added labeled nucleotide bases from the first unblocked primer and the second mixture of blocked and unblocked primers. Brennan does not teach or suggest bioinformatics information is used to allocate the bases to the extension read. Brennan does not teach or suggest multiple base calls are made at each hybridization cycle. Brennan does not teach or suggest the step of allocating the bases to an extension read comprises providing a preliminary base call and a final base call for each extension read. Brennan does not teach or suggest the final base call is provided by comparison of the preliminary base call data with a reference genome.
Leamon teaches a method for determining the sequence of at least one nucleic acid (Page 2, [0020] and Page 3, [0024]). Leamon teaches performing primer extensions on a same strand of nucleic acid of the at least one nucleic acid at each of at least two primers hybridized to the same strand of nucleic acid (Page 3, [0024], Page 6, [0043] and Fig. 25). Leamon teaches obtaining and determining signal data from nucleotides (Pages 5-6, [0041]-[0042], Page 7, [0066] and Figs. 45 and 52). Leamon teaches using fluorescence (Page 7, [0066], Page 27, [0284] and Page 51, [0664]). Leamon teaches at least two primers comprise blocked and unblocked primers to differentiate between each extension read (Page 3, [0024], Page 6, [0043] and Page 35, [0349]). Leamon teaches the at least two primers comprise a first unblocked primer having a first nucleotide sequence and a second mixture of unblocked and blocked primers having a second nucleotide sequence (Page 3, [0024], Page 6, [0043] and Page 35, [0349]). Leamon teaches determining the identity of the nucleotides bases comprises determining the signal intensity of newly added labeled nucleotide bases from the first unblocked primer and the second mixture of blocked and unblocked primers (Page 8, [0096], Page 64, [0801], Page 66, [0814], Page 74, [0907], Pages 75-76, [0916]-[0917] and Page 77, [0924]). Leamon teaches bioinformatics information is used to allocate the bases to the extension read (Pages 64-66, [0801]-[0810] and Pages 75-76, [0917]-[0922]). Leamon teaches multiple base calls are made at each hybridization cycle (Pages 17-18, [0191], Pages 64-66, [0801]-[0810] and Pages 75-76, [0917]-[0922]). Leamon teaches the step of allocating the bases to an extension read comprises providing a preliminary base call and a final base call for each extension read as well as the final base call is provided by comparison of the preliminary base call data with a reference genome (Pages 64-66, [0801]-[0810] and Pages 75-76, [0917]-[0922]). Leamon teaches using these methods supports a massively parallel approach to sequencing whole genomes containing up to hundreds of millions of bases as well as the simplicity of the disclosed method would drastically reduce costs for sequencing (Page 60, [0761]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Brennan with the teachings of Leamon, to use blocked and unblocked primers as wells as base callings to allocate the bases to an extension read. Using these methods supports a massively parallel approach to sequencing whole genomes containing up to hundreds of millions of bases as well as the simplicity of the disclosed method would drastically reduce costs for sequencing as taught by Leamon (Page 60, [0761]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,555,218.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the preambles are almost identical, it appears that the steps of the claims are identical, so it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a method for determining the sequence of a nucleic acid or determine the sequence of at least one nucleic acid using those same steps. Therefore, the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
Conclusion
/JESSICA D PARISI/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/HEATHER CALAMITA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1684