Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 12/10/2025 have been entered. Claim 1 is amended and Claims 12 and 13 are new.
Support for the amendments can be found in Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0031, 0044, 0045, 0049 and 0051 of the instant specification.
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the amendments to Claim 1 (see page 8 of Applicant’s Remarks – side portion integrally formed with the upper section), Nakanishi teaches that the lid and cylinder are welded together (0078). Welding can be viewed as integrally forming the side and upper portions of the case. Additionally, examiner notes that “the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice” (See MPEP 2144.04 V. B.)
Regarding new Claim 12 (see page 10 of Applicant’s Remarks), Nakanishi teaches that the cap plate (part 53) is electrically connected to the second current collector plate via the terminal connector part (part 9). As the terminal connector part forms an outermost surface of the battery housing, it can be viewed as part of the case. Therefore, the cap plate would be electrically connected to the second current collector plate via the case.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: “the protrusion of cap plate” should read “the protrusion of the cap plate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claims 7-10, it is unclear whether “the protrusion” refers to the protrusion in the cap plate or the protrusion protruding along an edge of the terminal hole.
For the purposes of examination, it is interpreted that “the protrusion” refers to the protrusion protruding along an edge of the terminal hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakanishi (US 20040023107 A1, cited in the 8/24/2023 IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakanishi teaches a battery (Title) comprising an electrode assembly (part 4) and a case (part 5) accommodating the electrode assembly (Fig. 1). The case has a side portion (part 51) and an upper surface portion (0052) closing one end of the side portion (Fig. 1). The side portion and upper surface portion are welded together (0078) and can thus be viewed as integrally formed. The case has an opening at a first end opposite to the upper surface portion sized to accommodate the electrode assembly (part 53) and a terminal hole (parts 52 and 8) in the upper surface portion at a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 1 - the case has openings covered by lids and the lids have terminal holes). A first current collector plate (part 6) is electrically coupled to the electrode assembly (0082) and a terminal (part 7) is electrically connected to the current collector plate (0088) and extends through the terminal hole (Fig. 1). A cap plate (cover) seals the opening of the case (Fig. 1 – part 53). Due to the grooves (part 54) in the cap plate, the cap plate can be viewed as having protrusions.
Regarding Claim 2, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 1. The terminal comprises a head outside the case (part 8) and a fastening part (part 76) coupled to an inner surface of the case through the terminal hole in the case (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 2. The fastening part has a larger diameter than the terminal hole in the case (Fig. 1 – parts 76 and 52)
Regarding Claim 4, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 3. The battery comprises insulation members between the terminal and the case (parts 72 and 73; 0088).
Regarding Claim 6, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 1. The stepped portions of the lid 52 can be viewed as protrusions protruding in one direction (horizontally) along an edge of the terminal hole (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 6. The battery comprises an insulation member between the terminal and the case (insulators 72 and 73). The insulation member is coupled around an outer peripheral surface of the protrusion (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 9. Nakanishi teaches that the insulation member is under pressure and forms an airtight seal between the lid and the terminal (0091). As the insulation member is in contact with both the protrusion and the terminal (Fig. 1), there would be pressure on both the protrusion and the terminal and therefore the protrusion can be seen as being compressed with the insulation member according to a shape of the terminal on the outside of the insulation member.
Regarding Claim 11, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 6. The terminal is a negative terminal and the case has a positive polarity (0078).
Regarding Claim 12, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 1. The battery comprises a second current collector plate (part 61) coupled to the electrode assembly and the case (Fig. 1). The cap plate is electrically connected to the second current collector plate via a terminal connecting part (Fig. 1 – parts 53, 61, and 9). As the terminal connector part forms an outermost surface of the case (Fig. 1), it can be viewed as part of the case. Thus, the cap plate is electrically connected to the second current collector via the case.
Regarding Claim 13, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 1. The protrusion of the cap forms a bottom-most surface of the secondary battery (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Wu (US 20210328313 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 4. Nakanishi does not teach that the insulation member has a diameter gradually increasing toward the inside of the case according to a shape of the fastening part in a region where the terminal is inserted into the inside of the case.
Wu teaches a battery with a terminal with a conical section (Figs. 11 and 30, part 130).
Nakanishi and Wu are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they relate to the same field of endeavor, namely secondary battery cases.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the terminal shape of Nakanishi with the conical terminal shape taught by Wu as it is a known terminal shape for a battery and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved (see MPEP 2143 B). Doing so would provide nothing more than the predictable results of a terminal with a shape suitable for a battery.
Modified Nakanishi teaches that the insulation member forms an airtight seal with the terminal and the case (0091).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the insulation member to conform with the conical shape of the terminal of modified Nakanishi as changes in shape, absent any unexpected results, have been held to be obvious (See MPEP 2144.04 IV. B).
This would result in the insulation member also having a conical shape, meaning that at least a portion of the insulation member would have a diameter gradually increasing toward the inside of the case according to a shape of the fastening part in a region where the terminal is inserted into the inside of the case.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Nemoto (US 20180130995 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 6. The protrusion of Nakanishi protrudes horizontally rather than toward the inside of the case.
Nemoto teaches a battery where the lid comprises a protrusion toward the inside of the case (Fig. 2, part 11c1). The protrusion digs in to the insulating material and helps keep the lid sealed around the mounting/terminal hole (0058).
Nakanishi and Nemoto are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they relate to the same field of endeavor, namely secondary battery cases.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the case of Nakanishi to comprise a protrusion protruding toward the inside of the case along an edge of the terminal hole in order improve the sealing around the terminal hole.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Huang (US 20210234220 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Nakanishi teaches the battery of Claim 6. The protrusion of Nakanishi protrudes horizontally rather than toward the outside of the case.
Huang teaches a battery comprising a case with a terminal hole (part 13), a terminal extending through the terminal hole (part 11), and an insulating/sealing member between the terminal and the case (parts 12 and 14) (Figs. 3 and 4). The case, along the edge of the terminal hole comprises a protrusion protruding toward the outside of the case (0066; Fig. 4)
The protrusion clamps the insulating/sealing member (part 12) and allows for a more stable arrangement of the insulating /sealing member (0066).
Nakanishi and Huang are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they relate to the same field of endeavor, namely secondary battery cases.
The insulators of Nakanishi are used to maintain an airtight seal between the lid of the case and the terminal (0091) similar to the insulating/sealing members of Huang and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the case of Nakanishi to comprise a protrusion protruding toward the outside of the case along an edge of the terminal hole in order to allow for a more stable arrangement of the insulator/sealing member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wong (US 20200212372 A1) teaches a battery housing where the side and upper surface portion are integrally formed and where the bottom plate/cap plate has a protrusion (Fig. 1).
Phillips (US 20110086252 A1) teaches a battery housing where the side and upper surface portion are integrally formed and where the bottom plate/cap plate has a protrusion (Fig. 2F).
Sumihiro (US 20100221599 A1) teaches a battery housing where the side and upper surface portion are integrally formed and where the bottom plate/cap plate has a protrusion (Fig. 1A).
Wang (US 20200168884 A1) teaches a battery housing where the side and upper surface portions are integrally formed and the upper surface portion comprises a terminal hole (Fig. 2)
Yokoo (US 20210066697 A1) teaches a battery where the electrode current collector is electrically connected to both the sides and bottom of the case (Fig. 1, parts 24a and 50).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZIHENG LU/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752