DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-16, 19-20 and 22-24 are pending in this office action.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are amended.
Claims 3-4, 10-11, 17-18 and 21 are cancelled.
Claim 24 is new added claims
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In relation to double patenting, the double patenting is still maintained in view of Kanai et al and Chen et al based on the amendment.
Applicant’s argument:
Therefore, Hu fails to teach or suggest at least "sending the wireless network configuration information to the image forming device as selected via a Bluetooth connection; acquiring a configuration result performed by the image forming device based on the wireless network configuration information; and determining whether to install a driver corresponding to the image forming device as selected according to the configuration result," as recited in amended claim 1 as well as similarly recited in amended claims 8 and 15. (Emphasis added.) Kanai, Chen and Chapin are cited to reject certain other claim features. …. also fail to teach or suggest at least "sending the wireless network configuration information to the image forming device as selected via a Bluetooth connection; acquiring a configuration result performed by the image forming device based on the wireless network configuration information; and determining whether to install a driver corresponding to the image forming device as selected according to the configuration result," as recited in amended claim 1 as well as similarly recited in amended claims 8 and 15. (Emphasis added.) For example, as disclosed in paragraph [0075] of Chen, Chen transmits the stored SSID and password of the Wi-Fi network to the image forming device via a USB cable. In Chen, "the user may know that the image forming device and the terminal may need to be connection through the USB cable first, and then the terminal may be connected to the wireless network." See paragraph [0075] of Chen. In contrast, the claimed invention sends the wireless network configuration information to the image forming device as selected via a Bluetooth connection. By requiring a USB cable connection first, Chen would enhance the user's operation burden, whereas the claimed invention can reduce the user's operation burden and improve driver installation efficiencies.
Examiner’s response:
In order to respond to the argument, let walk step by step how the connection is established, how the devices are selected using Bluetooth technology based on vicinity and how the driver is installed.
At first we are looking for devices that have Bluetooth. And not just Bluetooth but turned on for discovery:
Kanai:
Check if the Bluetooth exist:
[0078]“In S901, the CPU 111 judges whether the wireless communication function using the Bluetooth® interface 123 has been set to valid, as operation settings of the communication terminal 102. The cooperative application 310 queries the OS 300 whether the wireless communication function is valid. In a case of having judged to be valid based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S904. In a case of having judged to be not valid (i.e., invalid) based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S902.”
and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on:
[0079] In S902, the CPU 111 displays an error notification screen relating to Bluetooth® functions. FIG. 6C illustrates an example of an error notification screen displayed in S902. A pop-up 621 notifying the user that the Bluetooth® of the communication terminal 102 should be turned ON is displayed in the error notification screen.
wherein the detection result indicates that the terminal is equipped with the Bluetooth module and the Bluetooth module is turned on:
[0078] “The cooperative application 310 queries the OS 300 whether the wireless communication function is valid. In a case of having judged to be valid based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S904.
[0079] In S902, the CPU 111 displays an error notification screen relating to Bluetooth® functions. FIG. 6C illustrates an example of an error notification screen displayed in S902. A pop-up 621 notifying the user that the Bluetooth® of the communication terminal 102 should be turned ON is displayed in the error notification screen”;
After authenticating (putting configuration) a list of MFPs is displayed:
[0089] The registration screen displays items indicating MFPs in the vicinity of the communication terminal 102. Illustrated here is an example of a case where the MFP 101, and an MFP 104 that is an external device separate from the MFP 101, have been found by searching advertising packets. The user can select item 721 or 722 to register the MFP 101 corresponding to this item as the cooperating external device.
This process of displaying is the same as displaying the printer in the display of the terminal in Hu and Chen.
Now on the screen there are option of installing the driver: through any medium available, authenticated and able to successfully install the driver. Here we will focus only on the wireless connection and installation.
The applicant’s representative pointed to paragraph:” [0043], [0045], [0047], and [0049]-[0055], and FIG. 3 of the originally filed application.” And this is after the list of images forming devices is displayed.ie. the Bluetooth connection provide the list and displayed on the screen:
The user select the one image for driver installation(wireless,) the configuration information is entered by the user: here that is SSID and the password.
Based on wireless network obtain the result as either connected or not.
Back to the art in
In Chen [0075]:
[0075] For example, FIG. 11 is another exemplary display diagram illustrating a connection method prompt message according to various embodiments of the present disclosure and FIG. 12 is another exemplary display diagram illustrating a connection method prompt message according to various embodiments of the present disclosure. The user may click the play button above the wireless network connection type in FIG. 3 and the terminal may display the images of FIG. 11 and FIG. 12. Further, the user may know that the image forming device and the terminal may need to be connection through the USB cable first, and then the terminal may be connected to the wireless network. At this point, the user may need to manually input a Service Set Identifier (SSID) and password of the Wi-Fi network for installation. Therefore, it means that during the driver installation process, the terminal may automatically transmit the stored SSID and password of the Wi-Fi network to the image forming device, so a Wi-Fi module of the image forming device may automatically connect to the wireless network based on the SSID and the password. In particular, reference numeral 1 in FIG. 11 indicates the connection sequence, and reference numerals 1 and 2 in FIG. 12 indicate the connection sequence.
The configuration entered above is not for the USB connection: it is the configuration of the Wi-Fi connection.
At this step either connection is confirmed or not the installation may proceed or stop: if the connection is successful, the installation of the driver continues if the connection fails it stop.
The objective of Chen is not to select an incorrect connection between the peripheral device and the terminal device, which may lead to the user not being able to successfully install the driver in the terminal device.
At [0056] :
[0056]”For example, the terminal device may detect whether the terminal device and the peripheral device may be correctly connected. When the terminal device determines that the terminal device and the peripheral device may be correctly connected, a prompt message may be displayed, thereby facilitating the user to select a driver installation option.
Correct connection (successful connection)[Wingdings font/0xE0] this is the option to install the driver successfully.
Therefore, the terminal device can obtain the installation mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device supported by the terminal device and can install the driver in an installation mode supported by the terminal device, thereby preventing a situation in which the connection between the peripheral device and the terminal device is incorrect. Thus, the peripheral device and the terminal device can be connected correctly to ensure that the driver is successfully installed.
NB: the examiner encourages the applicant’s representative for an interview using the information at the bottom of this office action.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1, 8, 15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of U.S. Patent No.11,579,858. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Mapping independents 1, 8 and 15 claims are as follow where the corresponding limitation have same cues. underlined-bald limitation constitutes the difference between the claims.
Application: 18,153,995
Patent: 11,579,858
1. A driver installation guiding control method executed on a driver installation guiding control program installed on a terminal, comprising:
sending a detection command to obtain whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on
obtaining a detection result of whether a terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module; and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on;
And according to the detection result, generating, by the terminal, a driver installation guiding control user interface to be displayed..
wherein the detection result indicates that the terminal is equipped with the Bluetooth module and the Bluetooth module is turned on, method further comprises:
generating, via Bluetooth connection, a list of one or more image forming devices that are each configured with a Bluetooth module, and whose model corresponds to and is supported by the driver;
acquiring wireless network configuration information configured for an image forming device selected by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password. sending the wireless network configuration information to the image forming device as selected via a Bluetooth connection;acquiring a configuration result performed by the image forming device based on the wireless network configuration information;anddetermining whether to install a driver corresponding to the image forming device as selected according to the configuration result
And installing, via wireless network connection having network name SSID, the driver that corresponds to the image forming device as selected.
1. A method for presenting driver installation options on a terminal device side, comprising: …
obtaining connection information of a connection between the peripheral device and the terminal device, wherein the obtaining of connection information includes analyzing ports of the terminal device;….
after determining connection modes between the terminal device and the peripheral device based on the port analysis and driver installation options corresponding to the connection modes capable of successfully installing the driver, displaying the driver installation options corresponding to the connection modes capable of successfully installing the driver, wherein displaying the driver installation options corresponding to the connection modes capable of successfully installing the driver includes displaying driver installation options corresponding to allowed connection modes between the terminal device.
And clicking one connection mode capable of successfully installing the driver to cause the terminal to use the one connection mode to connect the peripheral device.
Independent claim 8.
Independent claim 8.
Independent claim 15.
Independent claim 15.
The patent does not explicitly disclose that:
obtaining, by the driver installation guiding control program, a detection result of whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on;
wherein the detection result indicates that the terminal is equipped with the Bluetooth module and the Bluetooth module is turned on ,the method further comprises:
generating, via Bluetooth connection, a list of one or more image forming devices that are each configured with a Bluetooth module, and whose model corresponds to and is supported by the driver;
acquiring wireless network configuration information configured for an image forming device selected from the list by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password;
sending the wireless network configuration information to the image forming device as selected via a Bluetooth connection; acquiring a configuration result performed by the image forming device based on the wireless network configuration information; and determining whether to install a driver corresponding to the image forming device as selected according to the configuration result.
Kanai discloses
obtaining, by the driver installation guiding control program, a detection result of whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module
[0078]“In S901, the CPU 111 judges whether the wireless communication function using the Bluetooth® interface 123 has been set to valid, as operation settings of the communication terminal 102. The cooperative application 310 queries the OS 300 whether the wireless communication function is valid. In a case of having judged to be valid based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S904. In a case of having judged to be not valid (i.e., invalid) based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S902.”
and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on;
[0079] In S902, the CPU 111 displays an error notification screen relating to Bluetooth® functions. FIG. 6C illustrates an example of an error notification screen displayed in S902. A pop-up 621 notifying the user that the Bluetooth® of the communication terminal 102 should be turned ON is displayed in the error notification screen.
wherein the detection result indicates that the terminal is equipped with the Bluetooth module and the Bluetooth module is turned on:
[0078] “The cooperative application 310 queries the OS 300 whether the wireless communication function is valid. In a case of having judged to be valid based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S904.
[0079] In S902, the CPU 111 displays an error notification screen relating to Bluetooth® functions. FIG. 6C illustrates an example of an error notification screen displayed in S902. A pop-up 621 notifying the user that the Bluetooth® of the communication terminal 102 should be turned ON is displayed in the error notification screen.
Examiner interpretation:
Valid indicates that the terminal has a Bluetooth module and is turned on. Invalid means that the Bluetooth should be activated.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kanai into teachings of the patent to enable wireless communication functions by the near-field communication unit and controlling to display a predetermined notification before displaying a screen for performing a login request upon condition that a user operation to transition to a screen for performing a login request to an external device has been received [Kanai 0024].
But not explicitly:
generating, via Bluetooth connection, a list of one or more image forming devices that are each configured with a Bluetooth module, and whose model corresponds to and is supported by the driver;
acquiring wireless network configuration information configured for an image forming device selected from the list by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password.
sending the wireless network configuration information to the image forming device as selected via a Bluetooth connection; acquiring a configuration result performed by the image forming device based on the wireless network configuration information; and determining whether to install a driver corresponding to the image forming device as selected according to the configuration result
Chen discloses:
generating, via Bluetooth connection, a list of one or more image forming devices that are each configured with a Bluetooth module, and whose model corresponds to and is supported by the driver:
[0050] “When a connected peripheral device is obtained, model information of the peripheral device can be further obtained to determine whether the peripheral device is a peripheral device supported by the current driver and which driver installation mode the peripheral device supports.”;
acquiring wireless network configuration information on configured for an image forming device selected by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password:
[0075] “At this point, the user may need to manually input a Service Set Identifier (SSID) and password of the Wi-Fi network for installation. Therefore, it means that during the driver installation process, the terminal may automatically transmit the stored SSID and password of the Wi-Fi network to the image forming device, so a Wi-Fi module of the image forming device may automatically connect to the wireless network based on the SSID and the password. In particular, reference numeral 1 in FIG. 11 indicates the connection sequence, and reference numerals 1 and 2 in FIG. 12 indicate the connection sequence.
sending the wireless network configuration information to the image forming device as selected via a Bluetooth connection.
Chen [0075] “Therefore, it means that during the driver installation process, the terminal may automatically transmit the stored SSID and password of the Wi-Fi network to the image forming device, so a Wi-Fi module of the image forming device may automatically connect to the wireless network based on the SSID and the password”.”.
acquiring a configuration result performed by the image forming device based on the wireless network configuration information:
[0075] “…so a Wi-Fi module of the image forming device may automatically connect to the wireless network based on the SSID and the password…”
determining whether to install a driver corresponding to the image forming device as selected according to the configuration result
[0053] “In particular, the wireless connection type may include a wireless-fidelity (Wi-Fi) network connection type, a Bluetooth connection type, and the like. Subsequently, the driver installation option that may and may not allow the terminal device to successfully install the driver may be determined.”
[0080]“ In the present embodiment, by displaying the driver installation interface, where the driver installation interface may provide the connection method prompt message prompting the user to connect the terminal device to the peripheral device…... Further, the user may successfully install the driver in the terminal device.”;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chen into teachings of the patent and Kanai to detect whether the terminal device and the peripheral device may be correctly connected, thereby facilitating the user to select a driver installation option. Therefore, the user may know the connection operation method such as the connection operation sequence, the connection process, and the like between the terminal device and the peripheral device, so it may be convenient for the user to connect the peripheral device with the terminal device to avoid the connection error between the peripheral device and the terminal device. Further, the user may successfully install the driver in the terminal device. [Chen 0095].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 15 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al US20200026504A1(from IDS) in view of Chen et al US20200026526A1(from IDS) and further in view of Kanai et al US20190339916A1.
As per claim 1, HU discloses a driver installation guiding control method executed on a driver installation guiding control program installed on a terminal, the method being for installing a driver on the terminal and comprising:
[0044] For example, at least one installation option may be provided on the driver installation interface displayed by the terminal device, and the user may select the installation option on the driver installation interface.”
obtaining, by the driver installation guiding control program, a detection result of whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module:
[0046]” For example, the terminal device in Step 101 can obtain whether at least one port of the terminal device has a peripheral device connected thereto, and at a status that a peripheral device is connected, can also obtain which connection mode the peripheral device supports. In a preferred implementation manner, the terminal device determines, according to the obtained connection information, a connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device, e.g., a connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device supportable by the terminal device, or an allowed connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device. The connection mode can be a USB connection mode, a wired network connection mode, a wireless network connection mode, etc. The wireless connection mode can include a wireless broadband (Wireless-Fidelity, abbreviated as “Wi-Fi”) network connection mode, a Bluetooth connection mode, etc.
and according to the detection result, generating, by the terminal, a driver installation guiding control user interface to be displayed:
[0051]” Being capable of successfully installing the driver indicates that the terminal device and peripheral device include hardware required by a driver installation option in the driver that satisfies a predetermined requirement, and the terminal device and the peripheral device are connected according to a predetermined requirement, such that the prerequisite for the successful installation of the driver installation option is already available”.
[0052] “For example, the terminal device can display driver installation options by which the current terminal device can successfully install the driver at a first status”;
[0054]” Further, the terminal device can provide a driver installation interface, and the terminal device displays the driver installation options on the driver installation interface.”;
wherein the detection result indicates that the terminal is equipped with the Bluetooth module:
[0046]” or an allowed connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device. The connection mode can be a USB connection mode, a wired network connection mode, a wireless network connection mode, etc. The wireless connection mode can include a wireless broadband (Wireless-Fidelity, abbreviated as “Wi-Fi”) network connection mode, a Bluetooth connection mode, etc”;
generating, via Bluetooth connection, a list of one or more image forming devices that are each configured with a Bluetooth module, and whose model corresponds to and is supported by the drive:
[0041] “When a connected peripheral device is obtained, model information of the peripheral device can be further obtained to determine whether the peripheral device is a peripheral device supported by the current driver and which driver installation mode the peripheral device supports.”;
But not explicitly:
sending, by the driver installation guiding control program to the terminal, a detection command to obtain whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on.
wherein the detection result indicates that the Bluetooth module is turned on
acquiring wireless network configuration information configured for an image forming device selected from the list by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password.
sending the wireless network configuration information to the image forming device as selected via a Bluetooth connection.
acquiring a configuration result performed by the image forming device based on the wireless network configuration information; and
determining whether to install a driver corresponding to the image forming device as selected according to the configuration result
Chen discloses:
acquiring wireless network configuration information configured for an image forming device selected from the list by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password.
Chen [0075] “Further, the user may know that the image forming device and the terminal may need to be connection through the USB cable first, and then the terminal may be connected to the wireless network. At this point, the user may need to manually input a Service Set Identifier (SSID) and password of the Wi-Fi network for installation. Therefore, it means that during the driver installation process, the terminal may automatically transmit the stored SSID and password of the Wi-Fi network to the image forming device, so a Wi-Fi module of the image forming device may automatically connect to the wireless network based on the SSID and the password”.
sending the wireless network configuration information to the image forming device as selected via a Bluetooth connection.
Chen [0075] “Therefore, it means that during the driver installation process, the terminal may automatically transmit the stored SSID and password of the Wi-Fi network to the image forming device, so a Wi-Fi module of the image forming device may automatically connect to the wireless network based on the SSID and the password”.”.
acquiring a configuration result performed by the image forming device based on the wireless network configuration information:
[0075] “…so a Wi-Fi module of the image forming device may automatically connect to the wireless network based on the SSID and the password…”
determining whether to install a driver corresponding to the image forming device as selected according to the configuration result
[0053] “In particular, the wireless connection type may include a wireless-fidelity (Wi-Fi) network connection type, a Bluetooth connection type, and the like. Subsequently, the driver installation option that may and may not allow the terminal device to successfully install the driver may be determined.”
[0080]“ In the present embodiment, by displaying the driver installation interface, where the driver installation interface may provide the connection method prompt message prompting the user to connect the terminal device to the peripheral device…... Further, the user may successfully install the driver in the terminal device.”;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chen into teachings of HU to detect whether the terminal device and the peripheral device may be correctly connected, thereby facilitating the user to select a driver installation option. Therefore, the user may know the connection operation method such as the connection operation sequence, the connection process, and the like between the terminal device and the peripheral device, so it may be convenient for the user to connect the peripheral device with the terminal device to avoid the connection error between the peripheral device and the terminal device. Further, the user may successfully install the driver in the terminal device.[Chen 0095].
But not explicitly:
sending, by the driver installation guiding control program to the terminal, a detection command to obtain whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on;
wherein the detection result indicates that the Bluetooth module is turned on
Kanai discloses:
sending, by the driver installation guiding control program to the terminal, a detection command to obtain whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module
[0078]“In S901, the CPU 111 judges whether the wireless communication function using the Bluetooth® interface 123 has been set to valid, as operation settings of the communication terminal 102. The cooperative application 310 queries the OS 300 whether the wireless communication function is valid. In a case of having judged to be valid based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S904. In a case of having judged to be not valid (i.e., invalid) based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S902.”
and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on:
[0079] In S902, the CPU 111 displays an error notification screen relating to Bluetooth® functions. FIG. 6C illustrates an example of an error notification screen displayed in S902. A pop-up 621 notifying the user that the Bluetooth® of the communication terminal 102 should be turned ON is displayed in the error notification screen.
wherein the detection result indicates that the terminal is equipped with the Bluetooth module and the Bluetooth module is turned on:
[0078] “The cooperative application 310 queries the OS 300 whether the wireless communication function is valid. In a case of having judged to be valid based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S904.
[0079] In S902, the CPU 111 displays an error notification screen relating to Bluetooth® functions. FIG. 6C illustrates an example of an error notification screen displayed in S902. A pop-up 621 notifying the user that the Bluetooth® of the communication terminal 102 should be turned ON is displayed in the error notification screen”;
Examiner interpretation:
Valid indicates that the terminal has a Bluetooth module and is turned on. Invalid means that Bluetooth should be activated.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kanai into teachings of HU and Chen to enable wireless communication functions by the near-field communication unit and controlling to display a predetermined notification before displaying a screen for performing a login request upon condition that a user operation to transition to a screen for performing a login request to an external device has been received [Kanai 0024].
As per claim 22, the rejection of claim 1, is incorporated and furthermore, HU discloses:
obtaining connection information between the terminal and the image forming device as selected, the connection information indicates a USB connection, a wired connection, or a wireless connection:
[0046] “ In a preferred implementation manner, the terminal device determines, according to the obtained connection information, a connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device, e.g., a connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device supportable by the terminal device, or an allowed connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device. The connection mode can be a USB connection mode, a wired network connection mode, a wireless network connection mode, etc. The wireless connection mode can include a wireless broadband (Wireless-Fidelity, abbreviated as “Wi-Fi”) network connection mode, a Bluetooth connection mode, etc”;
determining driver installation options to successfully install the driver according to the connection information:
[0046] “Further, driver installation options by which the terminal device can successfully install the driver and driver installation options by which the terminal device cannot successfully install the driver are determined”;
As per claim 23, the rejection of claim 22, is incorporated and furthermore, HU discloses:
wherein the driver installation options include an allowed connection mode between the terminal and the image forming device as selected and include a disallowed connection mode between the terminal and the image forming device as selected, wherein the allowed connection mode is selectable and the disallowed connection mode is not selectable.
[0052]” For example, the terminal device can display driver installation options by which the current terminal device can successfully install the driver at a first status. Meanwhile, the driver installation options are driver installation options corresponding to allowed connection modes between the terminal device and the peripheral device. For these driver installation options, the user can make a selection. Further the terminal device displays the driver installation options by which the current terminal device cannot successfully install the driver at a second status. Meanwhile, the driver installation options are driver installation options corresponding to the connection modes unallowed between the terminal device and the peripheral device. For these driver installation options, the user cannot make a selection. Thus, the terminal device displays the allowed connection modes between the terminal device and the peripheral device, and the connection modes that are unallowed between the terminal device and the peripheral device.
Claim 8 is the device claim corresponding to method claim 1 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 15 is the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to method claim 1 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 2, 5-7, 9, 12-14, 16, 19-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al US20200026504A1(from IDS) in view of Chen et al US20200026526A1(from IDS) and Kanai et al US20190339916A1, and further in view of Chapin et al US20110099264A1.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore, HU, Chen and Kanai do not explicitly disclose:
displaying on the driver installation guiding control user interface the list of one or more image forming devices.
Chapin discloses:
displaying on the driver installation guiding control user interface the list of one or more image forming devices;
[0048] “The invoked software application running discovery on the notebook 210 will thus detect any Bluetooth™ or other ancillary wireless communication equipped printing and scanning or fax device within nearby proximity, as per step 320.
[0019] “The installation program screen is the first screen the installation program presents. This screen displays the printer 20's IP address and asks the user to confirm installation of the printer driver. If the user confirms by clicking on install link, the installer files are downloaded from either printer 20 (if the installer files are located there) or the other location of the printer driver files. The installer uses the driver data source address to automatically download the correct driver files from the data source and the printer's address to install the printer on the user's host device 10.”;
Examiner interpretation:
Kanai also display a list of peripheral devices equipped with Bluetooth that allow the user to select after a discovery process(0066-0071);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chapin into teachings of HU, Chen and Kanai to enable end user mobile device connection to a network connected device by activating a device discovery software application on an end user mobile device. Furthermore, it would be desirable if an end user with a mobile device, being physically located in proximity to a printer or other network connected device, could properly configure the mobile device for utilization of the printer or other network connected device. Such a system for installing a network connected device upon an end user mobile device may include a network connected device enabled with ancillary wireless communication as well as a device driver [Chapin 0023].
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 2, is incorporated and furthermore, HU discloses:
obtaining the image forming device selected by the user through the driver installation guiding control user interface:
[0080]“FIG. 4 is another display diagram of driver installation options provided by various embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 4, the user can select “click to install” displayed on the driver installation option, and further the terminal device performs the driver installation mode indicated by the driver installation option”;
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5, is incorporated and furthermore, HU discloses:
in response to a determination that the configuration result is a success, installing, via wireless network connection having network name SSID, the driver that corresponds to the image forming device as selected .
[0060] “Thus, the peripheral device and the terminal device can be connected correctly, and successful installation of the driver is ensured. By displaying, to the user, the driver installation options capable of successfully installing the driver, the user can directly know the network functions supported by the peripheral device, and unnecessary disputes between the user and the provider for the peripheral device may be prevent from occurring.”;
Examiner interpretation: See also Chen [0060] and [0075]: the correct connection (success connection) associated with the configuration entered by the user such as :SSID and password.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 6, is incorporated and furthermore, HU discloses:
in response to a determination that the configuration result is failure, determining driver installation options according to connection information between the image forming device as selected and the terminal; and displaying the driver installation options for installing the driver.
[0072] “For example, the terminal device determines, according to the type attribute information of the peripheral device, driver installation options that cannot successfully install the driver, and all driver installation options supported by the driver. Then, based on all driver installation options supported by the driver, the driver installation options that cannot successfully install the driver, and driver installation options supported by the connection information between the peripheral device corresponding to the driver and the terminal device, the terminal device determines driver installation options capable of successfully installing the driver and driver installation options that cannot successfully install the driver”;
[0076] “For example, after the terminal device displays driver installation options, the user can send a selection instruction to the terminal device by touching the terminal device, voice interaction, gesture interaction, etc., and the selection instruction indicates the driver installation option selected by the user”;
Claims 9, 12, 13, 14 are the device claim corresponding to method claims 2, 5, 6, 7 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 2, 5, 6, 7 above.
Claims 16,19, 20, 24 are the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims corresponding to method claims 2, 5, 6, 7 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claim 2, 5, 6, 7 above.
Pertinent arts:
US20040218209A1:
Using such printer drivers, however, it is necessary to install a printer driver that is compatible with the printer model onto the computer. That is, if a computer is to carry out printing using different printer models, it is necessary for a user to install printer drivers for the various printer models onto the computer.
US7526482B2:
At least one of the components associated with the first aggregate object is selected, and at least one of a plurality of universal interfaces associated with the at least one selected component is invoked to communicate with at least one other of the components.
Conclusion
/BRAHIM BOURZIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2191 /WEI Y MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2191