DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-16 and 19-23 are pending in this office action.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are amended.
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 are cancelled.
Claims 21-23 are new added claims
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In relation to double patenting , the double patenting is still maintained in view of Kanai et al and Chen et al based on the amendment..
In response to 35 USC 102/103 rejection, the applicant’s argued that the art of record do not teach or render obvious the amended limitation and pointed “Because Bluetooth technology does not use SSIDs, the driver installation on the terminal is not conducted through Bluetooth”.
Kanai discloses for example in Fig. 9 a set of steps to check first that the terminal is equipped with Bluetooth and allow the user to turn-on the blue tooth.
Check for Bluetooth existence:
[0078]” In S901, the CPU 111 judges whether the wireless communication function using the Bluetooth® interface 123 has been set to valid, as operation settings of the communication terminal 102. The cooperative application 310 queries the OS 300 whether the wireless communication function is valid. In a case of having judged to be valid based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S904. In a case of having judged to be not valid (i.e., invalid) based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S902”;
If not valid , alert the user to turn on the Bluetooth
[0079] “In S902, the CPU 111 displays an error notification screen relating to Bluetooth® functions. FIG. 6C illustrates an example of an error notification screen displayed in S902. A pop-up 621 notifying the user that the Bluetooth® of the communication terminal 102 should be turned ON is displayed in the error notification screen”;
While the blue tooth is turned on, the terminal discovery process(scanning) check for any packets advertisement from peripheral devices using Bluetooth and display a list of near devices( vicinity that can communicate with the terminal using Bluetooth( if not adjust the signal strength)) See for example Fig 5B.
Above also the list 511 is a list if available printers in vicinity of the terminal and equipped with Bluetooth module.
back to the installation using (SSID:configuration):
Among the installation and connection mode provided by either HU or Chen are:
“The connection mode can be a USB connection mode, a wired network connection mode, a wireless network connection mode, etc. The wireless connection mode can include a wireless broadband (Wireless-Fidelity, abbreviated as “Wi-Fi”) network connection mode, a Bluetooth connection mode, etc. “
And installation mode are based on connection mode:
[0050] In another exemplary implementation method of Step 103, only the driver installation options capable of successfully installing the driver are displayed, and driver installation options uncapable of successfully installing the driver is not displayed.”
Where the driver is supported by devices(printers):
[0041] “ When a connected peripheral device is obtained, model information of the peripheral device can be further obtained to determine whether the peripheral device is a peripheral device supported by the current driver and which driver installation mode the peripheral device supports. Of course, this embodiment is not limited to the above assumptions”;
For installing using the wireless mode (HU 0044: When all the network channels belong to wireless network connections, determining the driver installation option described below can only determine driver installation options that support connections that can successfully follow the wireless network.”,
an SSID of the network is entered Chen 0075 : At this point, the user may need to manually input a Service Set Identifier (SSID) and password of the Wi-Fi network for installation. Therefore, it means that during the driver installation process, the terminal may automatically transmit the stored SSID and password of the Wi-Fi network to the image forming device, so a Wi-Fi module of the image forming device may automatically connect to the wireless network based on the SSID and the password.”;
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1, 8, 15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of U.S. Patent No.11,579,858. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Mapping of independents 1, 8 and 15 claims is as follow where the corresponding limitation have same cues. underlined-bald limitation constitute the difference between the claims.
Application: 18,153,995
Patent: 11,579,858
1. A driver installation guiding control method executed on a driver installation guiding control program installed on a terminal, comprising:
sending a detection command to obtain whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on
obtaining a detection result of whether a terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module; and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on;
And according to the detection result, generating, by the terminal, a driver installation guiding control user interface to be displayed..
wherein the detection result indicates that the terminal is equipped with the Bluetooth module and the Bluetooth module is turned on, method further comprises:
generating, via Bluetooth connection, a list of one or more image forming devices that are each configured with a Bluetooth module, and whose model corresponds to and is supported by the driver;
acquiring wireless network configuration information configured for an image forming device selected by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password.
And installing, via wireless network connection having network name SSID, the driver that corresponds to the image forming device as selected.
1. A method for presenting driver installation options on a terminal device side, comprising:…
obtaining connection information of a connection between the peripheral device and the terminal device, wherein the obtaining of connection information includes analyzing ports of the terminal device;….
after determining connection modes between the terminal device and the peripheral device based on the port analysis and driver installation options corresponding to the connection modes capable of successfully installing the driver, displaying the driver installation options corresponding to the connection modes capable of successfully installing the driver, wherein displaying the driver installation options corresponding to the connection modes capable of successfully installing the driver includes displaying driver installation options corresponding to allowed connection modes between the terminal device.
And clicking one connection mode capable of successfully installing the driver to cause the terminal to use the one connection mode to connect the peripheral device.
Independent claim 8.
Independent claim 8.
Independent claim 15.
Independent claim 15.
The patent does not explicitly disclose that:
obtaining, by the driver installation guiding control program, a detection result of whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on;
wherein the detection result indicates that the terminal is equipped with the Bluetooth module and the Bluetooth module is turned on ,the method further comprises:
generating, via Bluetooth connection, a list of one or more image forming devices that are each configured with a Bluetooth module, and whose model corresponds to and is supported by the driver;
acquiring wireless network configuration information configured for an image forming device selected from the list by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password;
Kanai discloses
obtaining, by the driver installation guiding control program, a detection result of whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module
[0078]“In S901, the CPU 111 judges whether the wireless communication function using the Bluetooth® interface 123 has been set to valid, as operation settings of the communication terminal 102. The cooperative application 310 queries the OS 300 whether the wireless communication function is valid. In a case of having judged to be valid based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S904. In a case of having judged to be not valid (i.e., invalid) based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S902.”
and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on;
[0079] In S902, the CPU 111 displays an error notification screen relating to Bluetooth® functions. FIG. 6C illustrates an example of an error notification screen displayed in S902. A pop-up 621 notifying the user that the Bluetooth® of the communication terminal 102 should be turned ON is displayed in the error notification screen.
wherein the detection result indicates that the terminal is equipped with the Bluetooth module and the Bluetooth module is turned on:
[0078] “The cooperative application 310 queries the OS 300 whether the wireless communication function is valid. In a case of having judged to be valid based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S904.
[0079] In S902, the CPU 111 displays an error notification screen relating to Bluetooth® functions. FIG. 6C illustrates an example of an error notification screen displayed in S902. A pop-up 621 notifying the user that the Bluetooth® of the communication terminal 102 should be turned ON is displayed in the error notification screen.
Examiner interpretation:
Valid indicates that the terminal has a Bluetooth module and is turned on. Invalid means that the Bluetooth should be activated.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kanai into teachings of the patent to enable wireless communication functions by the near-field communication unit and controlling to display a predetermined notification before displaying a screen for performing a login request upon condition that a user operation to transition to a screen for performing a login request to an external device has been received [Kanai 0024].
But not explicitly:
generating, via Bluetooth connection, a list of one or more image forming devices that are each configured with a Bluetooth module, and whose model corresponds to and is supported by the driver;
acquiring wireless network configuration information configured for an image forming device selected from the list by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password;
Chen discloses:
generating, via Bluetooth connection, a list of one or more image forming devices that are each configured with a Bluetooth module, and whose model corresponds to and is supported by the driver:
[0050] “When a connected peripheral device is obtained, model information of the peripheral device can be further obtained to determine whether the peripheral device is a peripheral device supported by the current driver and which driver installation mode the peripheral device supports.”;
acquiring wireless network configuration information on configured for an image forming device selected by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password:
[0075] “At this point, the user may need to manually input a Service Set Identifier (SSID) and password of the Wi-Fi network for installation. Therefore, it means that during the driver installation process, the terminal may automatically transmit the stored SSID and password of the Wi-Fi network to the image forming device, so a Wi-Fi module of the image forming device may automatically connect to the wireless network based on the SSID and the password. In particular, reference numeral 1 in FIG. 11 indicates the connection sequence, and reference numerals 1 and 2 in FIG. 12 indicate the connection sequence.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chen into teachings of the patent and Kanai to detect whether the terminal device and the peripheral device may be correctly connected, thereby facilitating the user to select a driver installation option. Therefore, the user may know the connection operation method such as the connection operation sequence, the connection process, and the like between the terminal device and the peripheral device, so it may be convenient for the user to connect the peripheral device with the terminal device to avoid the connection error between the peripheral device and the terminal device. Further, the user may successfully install the driver in the terminal device.[Chen 0095].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 15 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al US20200026504A1(from IDS) in view of Kanai et al US20190339916A1 and Chen et al US20200026526A1(from IDS).
As per claim 1, HU discloses a driver installation guiding control method executed on a driver installation guiding control program installed on a terminal, the method being for installing a driver on the terminal and comprising:
[0044] For example, at least one installation option may be provided on the driver installation interface displayed by the terminal device, and the user may select the installation option on the driver installation interface.”
obtaining, by the driver installation guiding control program, a detection result of whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module:
[0046]”For example, the terminal device in Step 101 can obtain whether at least one port of the terminal device has a peripheral device connected thereto, and at a status that a peripheral device is connected, can also obtain which connection mode the peripheral device supports. In a preferred implementation manner, the terminal device determines, according to the obtained connection information, a connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device, e.g., a connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device supportable by the terminal device, or an allowed connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device. The connection mode can be a USB connection mode, a wired network connection mode, a wireless network connection mode, etc. The wireless connection mode can include a wireless broadband (Wireless-Fidelity, abbreviated as “Wi-Fi”) network connection mode, a Bluetooth connection mode, etc.
and according to the detection result, generating, by the terminal, a driver installation guiding control user interface to be displayed:
[0051]”Being capable of successfully installing the driver indicates that the terminal device and peripheral device include hardware required by a driver installation option in the driver that satisfies a predetermined requirement, and the terminal device and the peripheral device are connected according to a predetermined requirement, such that the prerequisite for the successful installation of the driver installation option is already available”;
[0052] “For example, the terminal device can display driver installation options by which the current terminal device can successfully install the driver at a first status”;
[0054]”Further, the terminal device can provide a driver installation interface, and the terminal device displays the driver installation options on the driver installation interface.”;
wherein the detection result indicates that the terminal is equipped with the Bluetooth module:
[0046]” or an allowed connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device. The connection mode can be a USB connection mode, a wired network connection mode, a wireless network connection mode, etc. The wireless connection mode can include a wireless broadband (Wireless-Fidelity, abbreviated as “Wi-Fi”) network connection mode, a Bluetooth connection mode, etc”;
generating, via Bluetooth connection, a list of one or more image forming devices that are each configured with a Bluetooth module, and whose model corresponds to and is supported by the drive:
[0041] “When a connected peripheral device is obtained, model information of the peripheral device can be further obtained to determine whether the peripheral device is a peripheral device supported by the current driver and which driver installation mode the peripheral device supports.”;
But not explicitly:
sending, by the driver installation guiding control program to the terminal, a detection command to obtain whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on;
wherein the detection result indicates that the Bluetooth module is turned on
acquiring wireless network configuration information configured for an image forming device selected from the list by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password;
and installing, via wireless network connection having network name SSID, the driver that corresponds to the image forming device as selected:
Chen discloses:
acquiring wireless network configuration information configured for an image forming device selected from the list by a user, the wireless network configuration information being entered by the user via the driver installation guiding control user interface, and the wireless network configuration information including a password;
Chen [0075] “ Further, the user may know that the image forming device and the terminal may need to be connection through the USB cable first, and then the terminal may be connected to the wireless network. At this point, the user may need to manually input a Service Set Identifier (SSID) and password of the Wi-Fi network for installation. Therefore, it means that during the driver installation process, the terminal may automatically transmit the stored SSID and password of the Wi-Fi network to the image forming device, so a Wi-Fi module of the image forming device may automatically connect to the wireless network based on the SSID and the password”.
and installing, via wireless network connection having network name SSID, the driver that corresponds to the image forming device as selected:
[0080]“Therefore, the user may know the connection operation method such as the connection operation sequence, the connection process, and the like between the terminal device and the peripheral device, so it may be convenient for the user to connect the peripheral device with the terminal device to avoid the connection error between the peripheral device and the terminal device. Further, the user may successfully install the driver in the terminal device.”;
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chen into teachings of HU to detect whether the terminal device and the peripheral device may be correctly connected, thereby facilitating the user to select a driver installation option. Therefore, the user may know the connection operation method such as the connection operation sequence, the connection process, and the like between the terminal device and the peripheral device, so it may be convenient for the user to connect the peripheral device with the terminal device to avoid the connection error between the peripheral device and the terminal device. Further, the user may successfully install the driver in the terminal device.[Chen 0095].
But not explicitly:
sending, by the driver installation guiding control program to the terminal, a detection command to obtain whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on;
wherein the detection result indicates that the Bluetooth module is turned on
Kanai discloses:
sending, by the driver installation guiding control program to the terminal, a detection command to obtain whether the terminal is equipped with a Bluetooth module
[0078]“In S901, the CPU 111 judges whether the wireless communication function using the Bluetooth® interface 123 has been set to valid, as operation settings of the communication terminal 102. The cooperative application 310 queries the OS 300 whether the wireless communication function is valid. In a case of having judged to be valid based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S904. In a case of having judged to be not valid (i.e., invalid) based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S902.”
and whether the Bluetooth module is turned on:
[0079] In S902, the CPU 111 displays an error notification screen relating to Bluetooth® functions. FIG. 6C illustrates an example of an error notification screen displayed in S902. A pop-up 621 notifying the user that the Bluetooth® of the communication terminal 102 should be turned ON is displayed in the error notification screen.
wherein the detection result indicates that the terminal is equipped with the Bluetooth module and the Bluetooth module is turned on:
[0078] “The cooperative application 310 queries the OS 300 whether the wireless communication function is valid. In a case of having judged to be valid based on the result of the query, the flow advances to S904.
[0079] In S902, the CPU 111 displays an error notification screen relating to Bluetooth® functions. FIG. 6C illustrates an example of an error notification screen displayed in S902. A pop-up 621 notifying the user that the Bluetooth® of the communication terminal 102 should be turned ON is displayed in the error notification screen”;
Examiner interpretation:
Valid indicates that the terminal has a Bluetooth module and is turned on. Invalid means that the Bluetooth should be activated.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kanai into teachings of HU and Chen to enable wireless communication functions by the near-field communication unit and controlling to display a predetermined notification before displaying a screen for performing a login request upon condition that a user operation to transition to a screen for performing a login request to an external device has been received [Kanai 0024].
As per claim 21, the rejection of claim 1, is incorporated and furthermore, HU discloses:
receiving a configuration result fed back by the image forming device as selected, wherein the configuration result indicates the image forming device as selected successfully connects to a network corresponding to the wireless network configuration information, wherein installing the driver occurs after receiving the configuration result:
[0065] “For example, the terminal device may display an option of the user to select a model, and the driver may determine which types of installation the current terminal device supports, the terminal device may only display the installation types supported by the hardware of the image forming device of the current model, then based on the connection state between the terminal device and the image forming device, “click-to-install” may appear for the port which has been connected to the corresponding installation option and “unconnected” may be displayed for the port which has not been connected to the corresponding installation option”;
As per claim 22, the rejection of claim 1, is incorporated and furthermore, HU discloses:
obtaining connection information between the terminal and the image forming device as selected, the connection information indicates a USB connection, a wired connection, or a wireless connection:
[0046] “ In a preferred implementation manner, the terminal device determines, according to the obtained connection information, a connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device, e.g., a connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device supportable by the terminal device, or an allowed connection mode between the terminal device and the peripheral device. The connection mode can be a USB connection mode, a wired network connection mode, a wireless network connection mode, etc. The wireless connection mode can include a wireless broadband (Wireless-Fidelity, abbreviated as “Wi-Fi”) network connection mode, a Bluetooth connection mode, etc”;
determining driver installation options to successfully install the driver according to the connection information:
[0046]“Further, driver installation options by which the terminal device can successfully install the driver and driver installation options by which the terminal device cannot successfully install the driver are determined”;
As per claim 23, the rejection of claim 22, is incorporated and furthermore, HU discloses:
wherein the driver installation options include an allowed connection mode between the terminal and the image forming device as selected, and include a disallowed connection mode between the terminal and the image forming device as selected, wherein the allowed connection mode is selectable and the disallowed connection mode is not selectable.
[0052]” For example, the terminal device can display driver installation options by which the current terminal device can successfully install the driver at a first status. Meanwhile, the driver installation options are driver installation options corresponding to allowed connection modes between the terminal device and the peripheral device. For these driver installation options, the user can make a selection. Further the terminal device displays the driver installation options by which the current terminal device cannot successfully install the driver at a second status. Meanwhile, the driver installation options are driver installation options corresponding to the connection modes unallowed between the terminal device and the peripheral device. For these driver installation options, the user cannot make a selection. Thus, the terminal device displays the allowed connection modes between the terminal device and the peripheral device, and the connection modes that are unallowed between the terminal device and the peripheral device.
Claim 8 is the device claim corresponding to method claim 1 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claim 1above.
Claim 15 is the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to method claim 1 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 2-7, 9, 12-14, 16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al US20200026504A1(from IDS) in view of Kanai et al US20190339916A1 and Chen et al US20200026526A1(from IDS) and further in view of Chapin et al US20110099264A1.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1, is incorporated and furthermore, HU does not explicitly disclose:
displaying on the driver installation guiding control user interface the list of one or more image forming devices;
Chapin discloses:
displaying on the driver installation guiding control user interface the list of one or more image forming devices;
[0048] “The invoked software application running discovery on the notebook 210 will thus detect any Bluetooth™ or other ancillary wireless communication equipped printing and scanning or fax device within nearby proximity, as per step 320.
[0019] “The installation program screen is the first screen the installation program presents. This screen displays the printer 20's IP address and asks the user to confirm installation of the printer driver. If the user confirms by clicking on install link, the installer files are downloaded from either printer 20 (if the installer files are located there) or the other location of the printer driver files. The installer uses the driver data source address to automatically download the correct driver files from the data source and the printer's address to install the printer on the user's host device 10.”;
Examiner interpretation:
Kanai also display a list of peripheral devices equipped with Bluetooth that allow the user to select after a discovery process(0066-0071);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chapin into teachings of HU, Kanai and Chen to enable end user mobile device connection to a network connected device by activating a device discovery software application on an end user mobile device. Furthermore, it would be desirable if an end user with a mobile device, being physically located in proximity with a printer or other network connected device, could properly configure the mobile device for utilization of the printer or other network connected device. Such a system for installing a network connected device upon an end user mobile device may include a network connected device enabled with ancillary wireless communication as well as a device driver [Chapin 0023].
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 2, is incorporated and furthermore, HU discloses:
obtaining the image forming device selected by the user through the driver installation guiding control user interface:
[0080]“FIG. 4 is another display diagram of driver installation options provided by various embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 4, the user can select “click to install” displayed on the driver installation option, and further the terminal device performs the driver installation mode indicated by the driver installation option”;
and sending the wireless network configuration information to the image forming device as selected:
[0044] “For example, on the terminal device loaded with the above-described driver installation package, after “start” of the driver installation package in clicked, the driver calls the interface resource in the terminal device, and obtains an IP address of the peripheral device through the network protocol. Further, if a wired network card is installed in the peripheral device, the corresponding address range of the wired network card is known. Thus, in the driver installation package, it can be configured in advance to detect whether the network address corresponding to the peripheral device is in the known address range. ….
When all the network channels belong to wireless network connections, determining the driver installation option described below can only determine driver installation options that support connections that can successfully follow the wireless network.”;
Examiner interpretation:
connecting to the device requires an authentication as in Kanai (Fig.7b, 0084 0109) or using wireless configuration such as SIID and password in Chen [0075]. Both are sent the peripheral device that is selected.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5, is incorporated and furthermore, HU discloses:
acquiring a configuration result performed by the image forming device based on the wireless network configuration information; and determining whether to install a driver corresponding to the image forming device as selected according to the configuration result.
[0089] The obtaining module 31 is further configured to obtain, when at least one connection path in the connection information between the peripheral device corresponding to the driver obtained by the obtaining module and the terminal device is usable, type attribute information of the peripheral device”;
[0090] The determining module 32 also determines driver installation options by which the driver cannot be successfully installed based on the type attribute information of the peripheral device; and determines, based on all driver installation options supported by the driver and the driver installation options by which the driver cannot be successfully installed, and driver installation options supported by the connection information between the peripheral device corresponding to the driver and the terminal device, driver installation options capable of successfully installing the driver.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 6, is incorporated and furthermore, HU discloses:
in response to a determination that the configuration result is failure, determining driver installation options according to connection information between the image forming device as selected and the terminal; and displaying the driver installation options for installing the driver.
[0072] “For example, the terminal device determines, according to the type attribute information of the peripheral device, driver installation options that cannot successfully install the driver, and all driver installation options supported by the driver. Then, based on all driver installation options supported by the driver, the driver installation options that cannot successfully install the driver, and driver installation options supported by the connection information between the peripheral device corresponding to the driver and the terminal device, the terminal device determines driver installation options capable of successfully installing the driver and driver installation options that cannot successfully install the driver”;
[0076] “For example, after the terminal device displays driver installation options, the user can send a selection instruction to the terminal device by touching the terminal device, voice interaction, gesture interaction, etc., and the selection instruction indicates the driver installation option selected by the user”;
Claims 9, 12, 13, 14 are the device claim corresponding to method claims 2, 5, 6, 7 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 2, 5, 6, 7 above.
Claims 16,19, 20 are the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims corresponding to method claims 2, 5, 6 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claim 2, 5, 6 above.
Pertinent arts:
US20040218209A1:
Using such printer drivers, however, it is necessary to install a printer driver that is compatible with the printer model onto the computer. That is, if a computer is to carry out printing using different printer models, it is necessary for a user to install printer drivers for the various printer models onto the computer.
US7526482B2:
At least one of the components associated with the first aggregate object is selected, and at least one of a plurality of universal interfaces associated with the at least one selected component is invoked to communicate with at least one other of the components.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/BRAHIM BOURZIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2191 /WEI Y MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2191