CTNF 18/154,074 CTNF 100933 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/13/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 15 is directed to “a computer program product” and is not limited to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which under BRI encompasses signals per se and software per se . MPEP 2106.03(I). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudar et al. (US20180061148A1) in view of Park (US2020005650A1), and further in view of Stanek et al. (US20160016663A1), hereinafter Dudar, Park, and Stanek . Regarding claim 1, Dudar teaches of a computer-implemented method of enabling collaboration between autonomous vehicles and drivers of non-autonomous vehicles ( "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101", [0020], [0008], shows interaction with surrounding vehicles and shared situational awareness ), the computer-implemented method comprising: deploying an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to an environment comprising the autonomous vehicles and the non-autonomous vehicles driving on a roadway ( "the server 130 instructs the UAV 140 to move to the location of the vehicle 101", [0038], "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ); attaching the UAV to one or more of the non-autonomous vehicles ( "The UAV 140 may include at least one foot 165. The foot 165 allows the UAV 140 to attach to the vehicle 101, e.g., on a roof 185 of the vehicle 101", [0025] ); scanning, by the UAV, the environment and vehicles surrounding the UAV attached to one or more non-autonomous vehicles (“ The UAV 140 may include at least one surrogate sensor 150… The surrogate sensor 150 may be, e.g., a radar, a LIDAR, a camera, an ultrasonic transducer, etc.”, [0017], “the surrogate sensor 150 can collect data from in front of, behind, and to the sides of the vehicle 101”, [0027] ); and transmitting, by the UAV, images or sensor data collected by scanning the environment and the vehicles surrounding the UAV attached to the one or more non-autonomous vehicles ( "The UAV computing device 145 is further programmed to provide the collected data 115 to the vehicle computer 105, e.g., via wireless communications such as are known", [0016] ). However, Dudar does not teach of pairing the UAV with one or more of the autonomous vehicles within the environment; receiving, by the UAV, a driving decision from one or more of the autonomous vehicles; and projecting, by the UAV, the driving decision of the one or more autonomous vehicles onto a windshield or display device of the one or more non-autonomous vehicles attached to the UAV. Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of pairing the UAV with one or more of the autonomous vehicles within the environment ( "the UAV, having moved to the platooning position transmits a pilot signal to the leader vehicle LV", [0261], "The vehicle 10 may be an autonomous vehicle", [0134] ); receiving, by the UAV, a driving decision from one or more of the autonomous vehicles ( "the leader vehicle LV provides a control signal to the UAV, and the UAV relays the control signal to transmit the control signal to the following vehicle FV", [0265], "The vehicle 10 may be an autonomous vehicle", [0134] ); and the driving decision of the one or more autonomous vehicles ( "the leader vehicle LV provides a control signal to the UAV, and the UAV relays the control signal to transmit the control signal to the following vehicle FV", [0265], "The vehicle 10 may be an autonomous vehicle", [0134] ). However, Park does not teach of projecting, by the UAV, onto a windshield or display device of the one or more non-autonomous vehicles attached to the UAV. Stanek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of projecting, by the UAV, onto a windshield or display device of the one or more non-autonomous vehicles attached to the UAV ( "information received from the drone device 200 may be displayed within the vehicle cabin by, for example, displaying on a display unit within the vehicle cabin (e.g., center consoles, heads up display, infotainment display, navigation display, etc.)", [0044] ). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the UAV attached to a vehicle of Dudar and in communication with vehicle systems of Dudar with the teachings of Park to pair a UAV with autonomous vehicles and share driving decisions and the teaching of Stanek to display drone-assisted vehicle information with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the communication capacity and coordination between vehicles and to improve coordination ( Park, [0251], [0249] ), and to present the autonomous vehicle driving decision to the driver to improve driver awareness ( Stanek, [0037] ). Regarding claim 2, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein scanning the environment and the vehicles surrounding the UAV is performed using a scanning device selected from the group consisting of an infrared camera, thermal camera, light detection and ranging (LiDAR) and combinations thereof ( The UAV 140 may include at least one surrogate sensor 150… The surrogate sensor 150 may be, e.g., a radar, a LIDAR, a camera, an ultrasonic transducer, etc.”, [0017], “the surrogate sensor 150 can collect data from in front of, behind, and to the sides of the vehicle 101”, [0027] ). Regarding claim 3, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. However, modified Dudar does not teach of wherein the display device is a heads-up display visible on the windshield of the non-autonomous vehicle or an augmented reality device. Stanek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the display device is a heads-up display visible on the windshield of the non-autonomous vehicle or an augmented reality device ( "information received from the drone device 200 may be displayed within the vehicle cabin by, for example, displaying on a display unit within the vehicle cabin (e.g., center consoles, heads up display, infotainment display, navigation display, etc.)", [0044] ). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Dudar with the teaching of Stanek to display drone-assisted vehicle information with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to present the autonomous vehicle driving decision to the driver to improve driver awareness ( Stanek, [0037] ). Regarding claim 4, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein deploying the UAV to the environment occurs upon one or more of the autonomous vehicles having difficulty driving within the environment ( "A computing device in a vehicle can detect a failure in a sensor and send a request for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) carrying a surrogate sensor", [0008] ) due to environmental conditions or presence of the non-autonomous vehicles ( "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ), and upon alleviation of the difficulty driving, the computer-implemented method further comprises: detaching the UAV from the one or more non-autonomous vehicles; and flying the UAV away from the environment comprising the autonomous vehicles and the non-autonomous vehicles driving on the roadway ( "The UAV and the surrogate sensor allow the vehicle to move to a repair location to repair the failed sensor", [0008], implies that UAV being attached is just temporary assistance, once the sensor is repaired then the UAV is no longer needed ). Regarding claim 5, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein upon a changing of environmental conditions of the roadway or composition of the non-autonomous vehicles present within the environment ( "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ), the computer-implemented further comprises: detaching the UAV from the one or more non-autonomous vehicles the UAV is currently attached to; flying the UAV toward a different non-autonomous within the environment of the roadway ( "The UAV and the surrogate sensor allow the vehicle to move to a repair location to repair the failed sensor", [0008], implies that UAV being attached is just temporary assistance, once the sensor is repaired then the UAV is no longer needed and it would have been obvious to redeploy it to assist another vehicle ); re-attaching the UAV to a different non-autonomous vehicle within the environment of the roadway ( "The UAV 140 may include at least one foot 165. The foot 165 allows the UAV 140 to attach to the vehicle 101, e.g., on a roof 185 of the vehicle 101", [0025] ); and scanning, by the UAV, the environment and the vehicles surrounding the UAV attached to the different non-autonomous vehicle ( The UAV 140 may include at least one surrogate sensor 150… The surrogate sensor 150 may be, e.g., a radar, a LIDAR, a camera, an ultrasonic transducer, etc.”, [0017], “the surrogate sensor 150 can collect data from in front of, behind, and to the sides of the vehicle 101”, [0027] ). Regarding claim 8, Dudar teaches of a computer system ( “A computing device in a vehicle can detect failure in a sensor and send a request for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) carrying a surrogate sensor”, [0008] ) comprising: a processor; and a computer-readable storage media coupled to the processor, wherein the computer-readable storage media contains program instructions executing, via the processor ( “In general, a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) receives instructions, e.g., from a memory, a computer-readable medium, etc., and executes these instructions, thereby performing one or more processes, including one or more of the processes described herein. Such instructions and other data may be stored and transmitted using a variety of computer-readable media. A file in the computing device 105 is generally a collection of data stored on a computer readable medium, such as a storage medium, a random access memory, etc.”, [0048] ), a computer-implemented method comprising: deploying an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to an environment comprising the autonomous vehicles and the non-autonomous vehicles driving on a roadway ( "the server 130 instructs the UAV 140 to move to the location of the vehicle 101", [0038], "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ); attaching the UAV to one or more of the non-autonomous vehicles ( "The UAV 140 may include at least one foot 165. The foot 165 allows the UAV 140 to attach to the vehicle 101, e.g., on a roof 185 of the vehicle 101", [0025] ); scanning, by the UAV, the environment and vehicles surrounding the UAV attached to one or more non-autonomous vehicles ( The UAV 140 may include at least one surrogate sensor 150… The surrogate sensor 150 may be, e.g., a radar, a LIDAR, a camera, an ultrasonic transducer, etc.”, [0017], “the surrogate sensor 150 can collect data from in front of, behind, and to the sides of the vehicle 101”, [0027] ); and transmitting, by the UAV, images or sensor data collected by scanning the environment and the vehicles surrounding the UAV attached to the one or more non-autonomous vehicles ( "The UAV computing device 145 is further programmed to provide the collected data 115 to the vehicle computer 105, e.g., via wireless communications such as are known", [0016] ). However, Dudar does not teach of pairing the UAV with one or more of the autonomous vehicles within the environment; receiving, by the UAV, a driving decision from one or more of the autonomous vehicles; and projecting, by the UAV, the driving decision of the one or more autonomous vehicles onto a windshield or display device of the one or more non-autonomous vehicles attached to the UAV. Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of pairing the UAV with one or more of the autonomous vehicles within the environment ( "the UAV, having moved to the platooning position transmits a pilot signal to the leader vehicle LV", [0261], "The vehicle 10 may be an autonomous vehicle", [0134] ); receiving, by the UAV, a driving decision from one or more of the autonomous vehicles ( "the leader vehicle LV provides a control signal to the UAV, and the UAV relays the control signal to transmit the control signal to the following vehicle FV", [0265], "The vehicle 10 may be an autonomous vehicle", [0134] ); and the driving decision of the one or more autonomous vehicles ( "the leader vehicle LV provides a control signal to the UAV, and the UAV relays the control signal to transmit the control signal to the following vehicle FV", [0265], "The vehicle 10 may be an autonomous vehicle", [0134] ). However, Park does not teach of projecting, by the UAV, onto a windshield or display device of the one or more non-autonomous vehicles attached to the UAV. Stanek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of projecting, by the UAV, onto a windshield or display device of the one or more non-autonomous vehicles attached to the UAV ( "information received from the drone device 200 may be displayed within the vehicle cabin by, for example, displaying on a display unit within the vehicle cabin (e.g., center consoles, heads up display, infotainment display, navigation display, etc.)", [0044] ). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the UAV attached to a vehicle of Dudar and in communication with vehicle systems of Dudar with the teachings of Park to pair a UAV with autonomous vehicles and share driving decisions and the teaching of Stanek to display drone-assisted vehicle information with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the communication capacity and coordination between vehicles and to improve coordination ( Park, [0251], [0249] ), and to present the autonomous vehicle driving decision to the driver to improve driver awareness ( Stanek, [0037] ). Regarding claim 9, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 8 as stated above, additionally, wherein scanning the environment and the vehicles surrounding the UAV is performed using a scanning device selected from the group consisting of an infrared camera, thermal camera, light detection and ranging (LiDAR) and combinations thereof ( The UAV 140 may include at least one surrogate sensor 150… The surrogate sensor 150 may be, e.g., a radar, a LIDAR, a camera, an ultrasonic transducer, etc.”, [0017], “the surrogate sensor 150 can collect data from in front of, behind, and to the sides of the vehicle 101”, [0027] ). Regarding claim 10, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 8 as stated above. However, modified Dudar does not teach of wherein the display device is a heads-up display visible on the windshield of the non-autonomous vehicle or an augmented reality device. Stanek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the display device is a heads-up display visible on the windshield of the non-autonomous vehicle or an augmented reality device ( "information received from the drone device 200 may be displayed within the vehicle cabin by, for example, displaying on a display unit within the vehicle cabin (e.g., center consoles, heads up display, infotainment display, navigation display, etc.)", [0044] ). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Dudar with the teaching of Stanek to display drone-assisted vehicle information with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to present the autonomous vehicle driving decision to the driver to improve driver awareness ( Stanek, [0037] ). Regarding claim 11, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 8 as stated above, additionally, wherein deploying the UAV to the environment occurs upon one or more of the autonomous vehicles having difficulty driving within the environment ( "A computing device in a vehicle can detect a failure in a sensor and send a request for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) carrying a surrogate sensor", [0008] ) due to environmental conditions or presence of the non-autonomous vehicles ( "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ), and upon alleviation of the difficulty driving, the computer-implemented method further comprises: detaching the UAV from the one or more non-autonomous vehicles; and flying the UAV away from the environment comprising the autonomous vehicles and the non-autonomous vehicles driving on the roadway ( "The UAV and the surrogate sensor allow the vehicle to move to a repair location to repair the failed sensor", [0008], implies that UAV being attached is just temporary assistance, once the sensor is repaired then the UAV is no longer needed ). Regarding claim 12, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 8 as stated above, additionally, wherein upon a changing of environmental conditions of the roadway or composition of the non-autonomous vehicles present within the environment ( "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ): detaching the UAV from the one or more non-autonomous vehicles the UAV is currently attached to; flying the UAV toward a different non-autonomous within the environment of the roadway ( "The UAV and the surrogate sensor allow the vehicle to move to a repair location to repair the failed sensor", [0008], implies that UAV being attached is just temporary assistance, once the sensor is repaired then the UAV is no longer needed and it would have been obvious to redeploy it to assist another vehicle ); re-attaching the UAV to a different non-autonomous vehicle within the environment of the roadway ( "The UAV 140 may include at least one foot 165. The foot 165 allows the UAV 140 to attach to the vehicle 101, e.g., on a roof 185 of the vehicle 101", [0025] ); and scanning, by the UAV, the environment and the vehicles surrounding the UAV attached to the different non-autonomous vehicle ( The UAV 140 may include at least one surrogate sensor 150… The surrogate sensor 150 may be, e.g., a radar, a LIDAR, a camera, an ultrasonic transducer, etc.”, [0017], “the surrogate sensor 150 can collect data from in front of, behind, and to the sides of the vehicle 101”, [0027] ). Regarding claim 15, Dudar teaches of a computer program product ( “A computing device in a vehicle can detect failure in a sensor and send a request for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) carrying a surrogate sensor”, [0008] ) comprising: one or more computer readable storage media having computer-readable program instructions stored on the one or more computer readable storage media ( “In general, a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) receives instructions, e.g., from a memory, a computer-readable medium, etc., and executes these instructions, thereby performing one or more processes, including one or more of the processes described herein. Such instructions and other data may be stored and transmitted using a variety of computer-readable media. A file in the computing device 105 is generally a collection of data stored on a computer readable medium, such as a storage medium, a random access memory, etc.”, [0048] ), said program instructions executes a computer-implemented method comprising: deploying an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to an environment comprising the autonomous vehicles and the non-autonomous vehicles driving on a roadway ( "the server 130 instructs the UAV 140 to move to the location of the vehicle 101", [0038], "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ); attaching the UAV to one or more of the non-autonomous vehicles ( "The UAV 140 may include at least one foot 165. The foot 165 allows the UAV 140 to attach to the vehicle 101, e.g., on a roof 185 of the vehicle 101", [0025] ); scanning, by the UAV, the environment and vehicles surrounding the UAV attached to one or more non-autonomous vehicles ( The UAV 140 may include at least one surrogate sensor 150… The surrogate sensor 150 may be, e.g., a radar, a LIDAR, a camera, an ultrasonic transducer, etc.”, [0017], “the surrogate sensor 150 can collect data from in front of, behind, and to the sides of the vehicle 101”, [0027] ); and transmitting, by the UAV, images or sensor data collected by scanning the environment and the vehicles surrounding the UAV attached to the one or more non-autonomous vehicles ( "The UAV computing device 145 is further programmed to provide the collected data 115 to the vehicle computer 105, e.g., via wireless communications such as are known", [0016] ). However, Dudar does not teach of pairing the UAV with one or more of the autonomous vehicles within the environment; receiving, by the UAV, a driving decision from one or more of the autonomous vehicles; and projecting, by the UAV, the driving decision of the one or more autonomous vehicles onto a windshield or display device of the one or more non-autonomous vehicles attached to the UAV. Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of pairing the UAV with one or more of the autonomous vehicles within the environment ( "the UAV, having moved to the platooning position transmits a pilot signal to the leader vehicle LV", [0261], "The vehicle 10 may be an autonomous vehicle", [0134] ); receiving, by the UAV, a driving decision from one or more of the autonomous vehicles ( "the leader vehicle LV provides a control signal to the UAV, and the UAV relays the control signal to transmit the control signal to the following vehicle FV", [0265], "The vehicle 10 may be an autonomous vehicle", [0134] ); and the driving decision of the one or more autonomous vehicles ( "the leader vehicle LV provides a control signal to the UAV, and the UAV relays the control signal to transmit the control signal to the following vehicle FV", [0265], "The vehicle 10 may be an autonomous vehicle", [0134] ). However, Park does not teach of projecting, by the UAV, onto a windshield or display device of the one or more non-autonomous vehicles attached to the UAV. Stanek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of projecting, by the UAV, onto a windshield or display device of the one or more non-autonomous vehicles attached to the UAV ( "information received from the drone device 200 may be displayed within the vehicle cabin by, for example, displaying on a display unit within the vehicle cabin (e.g., center consoles, heads up display, infotainment display, navigation display, etc.)", [0044] ). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the UAV attached to a vehicle of Dudar and in communication with vehicle systems of Dudar with the teachings of Park to pair a UAV with autonomous vehicles and share driving decisions and the teaching of Stanek to display drone-assisted vehicle information with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the communication capacity and coordination between vehicles and to improve coordination ( Park, [0251], [0249] ), and to present the autonomous vehicle driving decision to the driver to improve driver awareness ( Stanek, [0037] ). Regarding claim 16, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 15 as stated above, additionally, wherein scanning the environment and the vehicles surrounding the UAV is performed using a scanning device selected from the group consisting of an infrared camera, thermal camera, light detection and ranging (LiDAR) and combinations thereof ( The UAV 140 may include at least one surrogate sensor 150… The surrogate sensor 150 may be, e.g., a radar, a LIDAR, a camera, an ultrasonic transducer, etc.”, [0017], “the surrogate sensor 150 can collect data from in front of, behind, and to the sides of the vehicle 101”, [0027] ). Regarding claim 17, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 15 as stated above. However, modified Dudar does not teach of wherein the display device is a heads-up display visible on the windshield of the non-autonomous vehicle or an augmented reality device. Stanek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the display device is a heads-up display visible on the windshield of the non-autonomous vehicle or an augmented reality device ( "information received from the drone device 200 may be displayed within the vehicle cabin by, for example, displaying on a display unit within the vehicle cabin (e.g., center consoles, heads up display, infotainment display, navigation display, etc.)", [0044] ). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Dudar with the teaching of Stanek to display drone-assisted vehicle information with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to present the autonomous vehicle driving decision to the driver to improve driver awareness ( Stanek, [0037] ). Regarding claim 18, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 15 as stated above, additionally, wherein deploying the UAV to the environment occurs upon one or more of the autonomous vehicles having difficulty driving within the environment ( "A computing device in a vehicle can detect a failure in a sensor and send a request for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) carrying a surrogate sensor", [0008] ) due to environmental conditions or presence of the non-autonomous vehicles ( "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ), and upon alleviation of the difficulty driving, the computer-implemented method further comprises: detaching the UAV from the one or more non-autonomous vehicles; and flying the UAV away from the environment comprising the autonomous vehicles and the non-autonomous vehicles driving on the roadway ( "The UAV and the surrogate sensor allow the vehicle to move to a repair location to repair the failed sensor", [0008], implies that UAV being attached is just temporary assistance, once the sensor is repaired then the UAV is no longer needed ). Regarding claim 19, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 15 as stated above, additionally, wherein upon a changing of environmental conditions of the roadway or composition of the non-autonomous vehicles present within the environment ( "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ): detaching the UAV from the one or more non-autonomous vehicles the UAV is currently attached to; flying the UAV toward a different non-autonomous within the environment of the roadway ( "The UAV and the surrogate sensor allow the vehicle to move to a repair location to repair the failed sensor", [0008], implies that UAV being attached is just temporary assistance, once the sensor is repaired then the UAV is no longer needed and it would have been obvious to redeploy it to assist another vehicle ); re-attaching the UAV to a different non-autonomous vehicle within the environment of the roadway ( "The UAV 140 may include at least one foot 165. The foot 165 allows the UAV 140 to attach to the vehicle 101, e.g., on a roof 185 of the vehicle 101", [0025] ); and scanning, by the UAV, the environment and the vehicles surrounding the UAV attached to the different non-autonomous vehicle ( The UAV 140 may include at least one surrogate sensor 150… The surrogate sensor 150 may be, e.g., a radar, a LIDAR, a camera, an ultrasonic transducer, etc.”, [0017], “the surrogate sensor 150 can collect data from in front of, behind, and to the sides of the vehicle 101”, [0027] ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6-7, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudar in view of Park in view of Stanek, and in further view of Sham (US20170195038A1), hereinafter Sham . Regarding claim 6, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, further comprising: describing environmental conditions of the roadway and one or more vehicles within the environment ( "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ). However, modified Dudar does not teach of receiving, by a processor, data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles; and identifying, by the processor, which of the one or more vehicles within the environment are the non-autonomous vehicles. Sham, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of receiving, by a processor, data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles ( "information intended for the vehicle, for example from another vehicle, can be forwarded to the vehicle by UAV", [0006] ); and identifying, by the processor, which of the one or more vehicles within the environment are the non-autonomous vehicles ( "the vehicle identification component 606 may be configured to identify the vehicle 106 by transmitting a request to vehicle 106 to inquire about its identification", [0053] ). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Dudar with the teachings of Sham to forward information between vehicles and identifying the vehicles in the environment with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve vehicle communication capability by sharing information between vehicles ( Sham, [0008] ), and to confirm if the vehicle has communication capabilities ( Sham, [0006] ). Regarding claim 7, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 6 as stated above, further comprising: receiving, a request from one or more of the autonomous vehicles requesting deployment of UAVs ( "the computing device 105 sends a request to the server 130 over the network 125 for an unmanned aerial vehicle 140", [0034] ); and assigning, by the processor, each UAV being deployed, to a non-autonomous vehicle within the environment ( "The server 130 may store a location for a plurality of UAVs 140 and select the UAV 140 that has a location closest to the location of the vehicle 101", [0037] ). However, modified Dudar does not teach to assist with collaboration between the autonomous vehicles and non-autonomous vehicles within the environment; and based on the data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles and the identified non-autonomous vehicles. Sham, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of to assist with collaboration between the autonomous vehicles and non-autonomous vehicles within the environment ( "Embodiments are provided for facilitating communications with a vehicle through an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). The UAV can be configured to track vehicles traveling in an area covered by the UAV", [0006] ); and based on the data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles and the identified non-autonomous vehicles ( "information intended for the vehicle, for example from another vehicle, can be forwarded to the vehicle by UAV", [0006] ). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Dudar with the teachings of Sham to forward information between vehicles and identifying the vehicles in the environment with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve vehicle communication capability by sharing information between vehicles ( Sham, [0008] ), and to confirm if the vehicle has communication capabilities ( Sham, [0006] ). Regarding claim 13, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 8 as stated above, further comprising: describing environmental conditions of the roadway and one or more vehicles within the environment ( "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ). However, modified Dudar does not teach of receiving, by a processor, data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles; and identifying, by the processor, which of the one or more vehicles within the environment are the non-autonomous vehicles. Sham, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of receiving, by a processor, data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles ( "information intended for the vehicle, for example from another vehicle, can be forwarded to the vehicle by UAV", [0006] ); and identifying, by the processor, which of the one or more vehicles within the environment are the non-autonomous vehicles ( "the vehicle identification component 606 may be configured to identify the vehicle 106 by transmitting a request to vehicle 106 to inquire about its identification", [0053] ). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Dudar with the teachings of Sham to forward information between vehicles and identifying the vehicles in the environment with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve vehicle communication capability by sharing information between vehicles ( Sham, [0008] ), and to confirm if the vehicle has communication capabilities ( Sham, [0006] ). Regarding claim 14, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 13 as stated above, further comprising: receiving, a request from one or more of the autonomous vehicles requesting deployment of UAVs ( "the computing device 105 sends a request to the server 130 over the network 125 for an unmanned aerial vehicle 140", [0034] ); and assigning, by the processor, each UAV being deployed, to a non-autonomous vehicle within the environment ( "The server 130 may store a location for a plurality of UAVs 140 and select the UAV 140 that has a location closest to the location of the vehicle 101", [0037] ). However, modified Dudar does not teach to assist with collaboration between the autonomous vehicles and non-autonomous vehicles within the environment; and based on the data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles and the identified non-autonomous vehicles. Sham, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of to assist with collaboration between the autonomous vehicles and non-autonomous vehicles within the environment ( "Embodiments are provided for facilitating communications with a vehicle through an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). The UAV can be configured to track vehicles traveling in an area covered by the UAV", [0006] ); and based on the data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles and the identified non-autonomous vehicles ( "information intended for the vehicle, for example from another vehicle, can be forwarded to the vehicle by UAV", [0006] ). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Dudar with the teachings of Sham to forward information between vehicles and identifying the vehicles in the environment with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve vehicle communication capability by sharing information between vehicles ( Sham, [0008] ), and to confirm if the vehicle has communication capabilities ( Sham, [0006] ). Regarding claim 20, modified Dudar teaches of all limitations of claim 15 as stated above, further comprising: describing environmental conditions of the roadway and one or more vehicles within the environment ( "The LIDAR sensor 110 may collect data 115 from a laser reflecting off of obstacles, pedestrians, and/or other vehicles 101 in front of the vehicle 101. The computing device 105 can use the data 115 collected by the LIDAR sensor 110 to operate", [0020] ); receiving, a request from one or more of the autonomous vehicles requesting deployment of UAVs ( "the computing device 105 sends a request to the server 130 over the network 125 for an unmanned aerial vehicle 140", [0034] ); and assigning, by the processor, each UAV being deployed, to a non-autonomous vehicle within the environment ( "The server 130 may store a location for a plurality of UAVs 140 and select the UAV 140 that has a location closest to the location of the vehicle 101", [0037] ). However, modified Dudar does not teach of receiving, by a processor, data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles; identifying, by the processor, which of the one or more vehicles within the environment are the non-autonomous vehicles; to assist with collaboration between the autonomous vehicles and non-autonomous vehicles within the environment; and based on the data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles and the identified non-autonomous vehicles. Sham, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of receiving, by a processor, data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles ( "information intended for the vehicle, for example from another vehicle, can be forwarded to the vehicle by UAV", [0006] ); identifying, by the processor, which of the one or more vehicles within the environment are the non-autonomous vehicles ( "the vehicle identification component 606 may be configured to identify the vehicle 106 by transmitting a request to vehicle 106 to inquire about its identification", [0053] ); to assist with collaboration between the autonomous vehicles and non-autonomous vehicles within the environment ( "Embodiments are provided for facilitating communications with a vehicle through an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). The UAV can be configured to track vehicles traveling in an area covered by the UAV", [0006] ); and based on the data collected by one or more of the autonomous vehicles and the identified non-autonomous vehicles ( "information intended for the vehicle, for example from another vehicle, can be forwarded to the vehicle by UAV", [0006] ). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Dudar with the teachings of Sham to forward information between vehicles and identifying the vehicles in the environment with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve vehicle communication capability by sharing information between vehicles ( Sham, [0008] ), and to confirm if the vehicle has communication capabilities ( Sham, [0006] ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABIGAIL LEE ESPINOZA whose telephone number is (571)272-4889. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Adam Mott can be reached at (571) 270-5376. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. ABIGAIL LEE ESPINOZA Examiner Art Unit 3657 /ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 2 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 3 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 4 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 5 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 6 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 7 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 8 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 9 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 10 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 11 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 12 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 13 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 14 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 15 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 16 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 17 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 18 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 19 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 20 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 21 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 22 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 23 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 24 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 25 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 26 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/154,074 Page 27 Art Unit: 3657