Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/13/23;6/12/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b). Accordingly, the IDSs are being considered by the Examiner.
Acknowledgments
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 11/5/25. In the reply,
the applicant elected Invention I, claims 1-15, with traverse. The traversal was based on applicant’s submission that a serious search burden does not exist. Examiner agrees and withdraws the restriction. Claims 1-19 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 12 is further objected to based on dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kujawa et al. (US 2021/0244920) (“Kujawa”). Kujawa discloses:
(claim 1) A vascular access device (Fig. 7), comprising: a catheter insertion apparatus including: a housing 102 having a distal housing end and a proximal housing end and defining a longitudinal passage therein; a needle 104 slideably mounted within the longitudinal passage and defining a needle lumen; and a catheter assembly comprising a frame 110 (210) and a catheter 106 retained by the frame, the frame being slideably mounted within the housing to advance the catheter within the needle lumen; wherein the catheter insertion apparatus is operable in an initial configuration where the needle extends distally from the distal housing end and the catheter is proximally retracted within the needle lumen (Fig. 7, 8a, 19a, 20a [0083]), and is operable in an actuated configuration where the needle is retracted back into the longitudinal passage of the housing and the catheter extends through the needle lumen and distally from the distal housing end (Fig. 19c, 20c [0102-0103]); and a needleless access connector (NAC) unit 108 (218, 318) positioned at a proximal end of the frame of the catheter assembly, the NAC unit providing an access port (luer) 116 [0082] to the catheter.
Claim 2: the NAC unit comprises a connector portion 116 including a proximal coupler, the proximal coupler comprising a split-septum 334 NAC. (Fig. 22a)
Claim 5: the NAC unit further comprises a stabilization portion 216 coupled to the connector portion, the stabilization portion configured to be placed in contact with a skin surface of a patient. (Fig. 21b)
Claim 6: positioning of the NAC unit at the proximal end of the frame of the catheter assembly provides a closed-system VAD. (Fig. 7)
Claim 7: the frame has a distal frame end and a proximal frame end, the frame comprising: a push member 118a (208a) positioned at the proximal frame end; and a plurality of arms 110 extending distally from the push member to the distal frame end, the plurality of arms engaging with the housing to form a sliding engagement between the frame and the housing; wherein the push member is configured to be pushed distally to slide the plurality of arms into the housing and thereby advance the catheter within the needle lumen. (Figs. 8a-c, 19a-c, 20a-c)
Claim 8: the NAC unit is integrated with the push member of the frame. Figs. 8a
Claim 14: the access port and the catheter form an instrument compatible fluid path. (See abstract, last sentence)
Claim 15: in transitioning from the initial configuration to the actuated configuration, the push member is pushed distally and into contact with the housing, with the plurality of arms sliding into the housing as the push member is pushed distally. (Figs. 19a-c, 20a-c)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kujawa in view of Burkholz et al. (US 2019/0021640) (“Burkholz”).
Kujawa discloses the invention as substantially claimed but does not directly disclose a side port provided on the connector portion, the side port in fluid communication with the proximal coupler via a lumen defined in the connector portion; and an extension tube coupled to the side port to provide a fluid path into the connector portion; wherein the connector portion of the NAC unit comprises a flush enhancing feature. Burkholz, in the analogous art, teaches these features (integrated extension tube 22) Fig. 1A-c. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the device of Kujawa with the side port and extension tube to provide an additional fluid path and flush to the system as is well known in the art.
Claims 9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kujawa in view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0362523) (“Huang”).
Kujawa discloses the invention as substantially claimed but does not directly disclose the NAC unit is separate from the catheter insertion apparatus and coupleable to the push member. Huang, in the analogous art, teaches the first and second portion engaged via a separable configuration [0053] Fig. 4A. The NAC unit is coupled to the push member 49 with the catheter insertion apparatus in the initial configuration or in the actuated configuration, Fig. 4A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the device of Kujawa with the separable configuration as taught by Huang to optimize use and reuse of the device at a cost savings or to fit specific design need.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kujawa in view of Burkholz.
(claim 16) As above with claim 1, Kujawa discloses the invention as substantially claimed: (Fig. 7) a catheter insertion apparatus including: a housing 102 having a distal housing end and a proximal housing end and defining a longitudinal passage therein; a needle 104 slideably mounted within the longitudinal passage and defining a needle lumen; and a catheter assembly comprising a frame 110 (210) and a catheter 106 retained by the frame, the frame being slideably mounted within the housing to advance the catheter within the needle lumen; wherein the catheter insertion apparatus is operable in an initial configuration where the needle extends distally from the distal housing end and the catheter is proximally retracted within the needle lumen (Fig. 7, 8a, 19a, 20a [0083]), and is operable in an actuated configuration where the needle is retracted back into the longitudinal passage of the housing and the catheter extends through the needle lumen and distally from the distal housing end (Fig. 19c, 20c [0102-0103]); and a needleless access connector (NAC) unit 108 (218, 318) positioned at a proximal end of the frame of the catheter assembly, the NAC unit providing an access port (luer) 116 [0082] to the catheter.
Kujawa does not directly disclose an instrument delivery device or blood draw device coupled to the access port of the NAC unit. Burkholz, in the analogous art, teaches this feature ([0063] Fig. 1C, instrument 12 being inserted via extension 10 to the NAC unit 14. Also (claim 18), the instrument in Burkholz is a catheter or other probe instrument [0005]. (claim 17) The instrument is advanced out distally 42 past the catheter [0055]. (claim 19) The instrument comprises a lock to secure the instrument to the NAC unit [0063]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the device of Kujawa with the instrument delivery as taught by Burkholz such that blood samples can be taken without additional needle sticks (Burkholz [0005]).
Conclusion
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783