DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 11/13/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-15 are cancelled. Claims 16-33 are newly added. In view of amendment filed. 11/13/2025, rejections to claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is withdrawn. Claims 16-33 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Chincholi describes direct link discovery and setup between multi-RAT devices but limits its disclosure to MAC address and RAT capability exchanges, without teaching inclusion of both a station identifier and an EHT capability field with a setup request message (page 8).
Regarding the inclusion of a station identifier, Chincholi 0082 discloses a multi-RAT device may use an individual MAC address for each RAT. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the inclusion of an EHT capability field, arguments are moot as the new grounds of rejection does not rely on previously applied art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19, 22-25, and 28-31 recite “the first multi-link,” there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Examiner recommends amending “a direct link setup response message sent by the first multi-link device” in the second limitation of claims 16, 22, and 28 to recite “a direct link setup response message sent by a first multi-link device.”
Claims 20-21, 26-27, and 32-33 are rejected as dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chincholi et al. (WO 2014/152853), Chincholi hereinafter, in view of Chu et al. (US 2021/0211871), Chu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 16. A method for setting up a direct link in a wireless local area network (Chincholi, Figs. 2-3, 6, 12 & 0006/0069; Fig. 2 is a diagram illustrating a flow of messages of an example direct link setup (DLS) procedure between two stations (STAs). Fig. 3 is a diagram illustrating a flow of messages of an example TDLS procedure between two stations (STAs). Fig. 6 is a flow call of a basic example DL/RAT capability discovery procedure. Fig. 12 is a flow call of a basic example DL Setup procedure.), the method comprising:
sending, by a second device, a direct link setup request message (Chincholi, Figs. 2 and 12: S1220; 0096: To establish a DL, the initiating multi-RAT device, i.e., the DL initiator STA 1205, may send a setup request message to the intended peer multi-RAT OMMA device, i.e., the DL responder STA 1210. The setup request message may be a DL Setup Request frame. [STA 1205 corresponds to the second multi-link device.]),
wherein the direct link setup request message comprises an identifier of a first station capability field of the first station belonging to the second and an address of a third device (Chincholi, Figs. 12-14; 0098: Referring to FIG. 13, the address fields in the MAC layer frame may be formatted to include address field 1305, which may be the AP's MAC Address of the selected common RAT, as chosen by the DL initiator STA; address field 1310, which may be the DL initiator STA's MAC address of the selected common RAT between the AP and the DL initiator STA; address field 1315, which may be the DL responder STA's MAC address for the selected common RAT chosen by the DL initiator STA; and address field 1320, which may be the DL initiator STA's MAC address for the selected common RAT with the DL responder STA. And 0099: The example TDLS setup request frame format 1400 illustrated in FIG. 14 may include the following information element fields: Category, Action, Dialog Token, Capability, Supported Rates, Country, Extended Supported Rates, Supported Channels, RSNIE, Extended Capabilities, Quality of Service (QoS) Capability, FTIE, Timeout Interval, Supported Regulatory Classes, HT Capabilities, 20/40 BSS Coexistence, and Link Identifier. [STA 1210 of Fig. 12 corresponds to the third multi-link device.]);
receiving, by the second device, a direct link setup response message sent by the first device (Chincholi, Figs. 2 and 12: S1250; 0109: The AP 1201 may forward the DL Setup Response frame to the DL initiator STA 1205 using the common enabled RAT (S1250). [AP 1201 corresponds to the first multi-link device.]).
Chincholi teaches first, second, and third devices participating in the direct link setup process and discloses that the first, second, and third devices are multi-RAT capable device, but Chincholi is silent as to whether the devices are multi-link devices. Chincholi does not explicitly teach wherein the direct link setup request message comprises an extremely high throughput (EHT) capability field
However, in the related art, Chu discloses tunneled direct link setup (TDLS) between multi-link devices (Chu, Fig. 1, 0042: FIG. 1 depicts a multi-link communications system 100 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1, the multi-link communications system includes at least one AP (MLD) 102, and multiple non-AP MLDs 104-1, 104-2, 104-3.) And 0069: Other multi-link operations that can be executed using techniques described herein include tunneled direct link setup (TDLS) establishment for two non-AP MLDs to communicate with each other directly, and TDLS teardown.).
Chu further teaches wherein the direct link setup request message comprises an extremely high throughput (EHT) capability field Turning now to FIG. 4, a generic format of an element 400 that can be used in the multi-link communications system 100 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention is illustrated. 0051: The element 400 with the new added field 520 may include capabilities, operating parameters and/or negotiation parameters of the other link(s) in the new added field 520. For example, the Extremely High Throughput (EHT) Capabilities element, the Very High Throughput (VHT) Operation element, Wide Bandwidth Channel Switch etc. are extensible elements. And 0069: Other multi-link operations that can be executed using techniques described herein include tunneled direct link setup (TDLS) establishment for two non-AP MLDs to communicate with each other directly, and TDLS teardown.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chincholi with the new field added to the generic element in action frame of Chu. The resulting invention would provide for TDLS establishment using a single frame exchange (Chu, 0069).
Re. Claim 17. Chincholi in view of Chu teaches claim 16,
[AltContent: textbox (1:Chu, Fig. 1)]Chincholi further teaches wherein at least one access point (AP) of the first device is associated with a station of the second device (Chincholi, 0080: As shown in FIG. 5, the AP 505 is capable of operating on RAT 1 (506), RAT 2 (507), RAT 3 (508), and RAT 4 (509). STA 510 is also capable of operating on RAT 1 (506) and RAT 2 (507) and thus may communicate with AP 505 over those RATs, as shown. STA 515 is capable of operating on RAT 3 (508) and RAT 4 (509), and thus may communicate with the AP 505 over those RATs, as shown. [STA 510 of Fig. 5 corresponds to the second multi-link device. AP 505 corresponds to the first multi-link device.]).
Chincholi discloses the setup of a direct link between multi-RAT capable devices and the association between a station of an AP and a first station of a second device, but Chincholi does not explicitly disclose that the devices are multi-link devices.
However, in the related art, Chu discloses the association between a station of an AP multi-link device and a station of a second (non-AP) multi-link device (Chu, Fig. 1, 0042: FIG. 1 depicts a multi-link communications system 100 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1, the multi-link communications system includes at least one AP (MLD) 102, and multiple non-AP MLDs 104-1, 104-2, 104-3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chincholi with the new field added to the generic element in action frame of Chu. The resulting invention would provide for TDLS establishment using a single frame exchange (Chu, 0069).
Re. Claim 18. Chincholi in view of Chu teaches claim 16,
Chincholi further teaches wherein at least one access point (AP) of the first device is associated with a station of the third device (Chincholi, 0080: As shown in FIG. 5, the AP 505 is capable of operating on RAT 1 (506), RAT 2 (507), RAT 3 (508), and RAT 4 (509). STA 510 is also capable of operating on RAT 1 (506) and RAT 2 (507) and thus may communicate with AP 505 over those RATs, as shown. STA 515 is capable of operating on RAT 3 (508) and RAT 4 (509), and thus may communicate with the AP 505 over those RATs, as shown. [STA 515 of Fig. 5 corresponds to the third multi-link device. AP 505 corresponds to the first multi-link device.]).
Chincholi discloses the setup of a direct link between multi-RAT capable devices and the association between a station of an AP and a station of a third device, but Chincholi does not explicitly disclose that the devices are multi-link devices.
However, in the related art, Chu discloses the association between a station of an AP multi-link device and a station of a (non-AP) multi-link device (Chu, Fig. 1, 0042: FIG. 1 depicts a multi-link communications system 100 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1, the multi-link communications system includes at least one AP (MLD) 102, and multiple non-AP MLDs 104-1, 104-2, 104-3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chincholi with the new field added to the generic element in action frame of Chu. The resulting invention would provide for TDLS establishment using a single frame exchange (Chu, 0069).
Re. Claim 19. Chincholi in view of Chu teaches claim 16,
Chincholi further teaches wherein a transmitter address of the direct link setup request message is an address of the first station (Chincholi, Figs. 12-13; 0098: address field 1310, which may be the DL initiator STA's MAC address of the selected common RAT between the AP and the DL initiator STA; [STA 1205 corresponds to the first station of the second multi-link device.]), a destination address is an address of the third multi-link device (Chincholi, Figs. 12-13; 0098: address field 1315, which may be the DL responder STA's MAC address for the selected common RAT chosen by the DL initiator STA; and address field 1320, which may be the DL initiator STA's MAC address for the selected common RAT with the DL responder STA. [STA 1210 of Fig. 12 corresponds to the third multi-link device.]), and a receiver address is an address of a first access point (AP) (Chincholi, Figs. 12-13; 0098: Referring to FIG. 13, the address fields in the MAC layer frame may be formatted to include address field 1305, which may be the AP's MAC Address of the selected common RAT, as chosen by the DL initiator STA; [AP 1201 corresponds to the first multi-link device.]),
wherein the first AP is an access point in the first device and is associated with the first station (Chincholi, 0080: As shown in FIG. 5, the AP 505 is capable of operating on RAT 1 (506), RAT 2 (507), RAT 3 (508), and RAT 4 (509). STA 510 is also capable of operating on RAT 1 (506) and RAT 2 (507) and thus may communicate with AP 505 over those RATs, as shown. STA 515 is capable of operating on RAT 3 (508) and RAT 4 (509), and thus may communicate with the AP 505 over those RATs, as shown. [RAT 1 (506) of AP 505 corresponds to the first AP. RAT 1 of STA 510 corresponds to the first station.]).
Chincholi discloses the setup of a direct link between multi-RAT capable devices and the association between a station of an AP and a station of a third device, but Chincholi does not explicitly disclose that the devices are multi-link devices.
However, in the related art, Chu discloses the association between stations of an AP multi-link device and a stations of multiple (non-AP) multi-link devices (Chu, Fig. 1, 0042: FIG. 1 depicts a multi-link communications system 100 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 1, the multi-link communications system includes at least one AP (MLD) 102, and multiple non-AP MLDs 104-1, 104-2, 104-3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chincholi with the new field added to the generic element in action frame of Chu. The resulting invention would provide for TDLS establishment using a single frame exchange (Chu, 0069).
Re. Claim 20. Chincholi in view of Chu teaches claim 19,
Chincholi further teaches wherein the direct link setup request message is a WLAN frame (Chincholi, 0047: In one embodiment, the base station 114b and the WTRUs 102c, 102d may implement a radio technology such as IEEE 802.11 to establish a wireless local area network (WLAN). 0072: DLS in IEEE 802.llz is known as tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS). TDLS may be characterized by the use of signaling frames that are encapsulated in data frames so that the signaling frames can be transmitted through an AP transparently, i.e., the AP does not directly participate therein.), and
the transmitter address, the destination address, and the receiver address are located in a frame header of the direct link setup request message (Chincholi, 0098: FIG. 13 is an example format of the address fields in the MAC layer frame of a DL Setup Request frame sent by a DL initiator STA to an AP. Referring to FIG. 13, the address fields in the MAC layer frame may be formatted to include address field 1305, which may be the AP's MAC Address of the selected common RAT, as chosen by the DL initiator STA; address field 1310, which may be the DL initiator STA's MAC address of the selected common RAT between the AP and the DL initiator STA; address field 1315, which may be the DL responder STA's MAC address for the selected common RAT chosen by the DL initiator STA; and address field 1320, which may be the DL initiator STA's MAC address for the selected common RAT with the DL responder STA. It should be noted that alternative address fields may be used, and those described are only by way of example.).
Yet, Chincholi does not explicitly teach the transmitter address, the destination address, and the receiver address are located in a frame header of the direct link setup request message [Specifically, Chincholi does not teach that the MAC layer is included in the header.]
However, in the related art, Chu teaches the transmitter address, the destination address, and the receiver address are located in a frame header of the direct link setup request message (Chu, 0048: As shown in FIG. 3, the frame 300 includes a MAC header 302, a frame body 304 and a frame check sequence (FCS) 306.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chincholi with the new field added to the generic element in action frame of Chu. The resulting invention would provide for TDLS establishment using a single frame exchange (Chu, 0069).
Re. Claim 21. Chincholi in view of Chu teaches claim 16,
Chincholi further teaches wherein the direct link setup response message comprises an identifier of a second station and an extremely high throughput (EHT) capability field of the second station belonging to the third multi-link device (Chincholi, Fig. 18; 0110: Referring to FIG. 18, the address fields in the MAC layer frame of a DL Setup Response frame sent by an AP to a DL initiator STA may be formatted to include address field 1805, which may be the DL initiator STA's MAC address for the selected common RAT chosen by the AP; address field 1810, which may be the AP's MAC Address for selected common RAT with the DL initiator STA; address field 1815, which may be the "Address 3" field of the received response from the DL responder STA; and address field 1820, which may be the "Address 4" field of the received response from the DL responder STA. It should also be noted that alternative address fields may be used, and those described are only by way of example.).
Yet, Chincholi does not explicitly teach wherein the direct link setup response message comprises an identifier of a second station and an extremely high throughput (EHT) capability field of the second station belonging to the third multi-link device
However, in the related art, Chu teaches wherein the direct link setup response message comprises an identifier of a second station and an extremely high throughput (EHT) capability field of the second station belonging to the third multi-link device (Chu, 0049: Turning now to FIG. 4, a generic format of an element 400 that can be used in the multi-link communications system 100 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention is illustrated. 0051: The element 400 with the new added field 520 may include capabilities, operating parameters and/or negotiation parameters of the other link(s) in the new added field 520. For example, the Extremely High Throughput (EHT) Capabilities element, the Very High Throughput (VHT) Operation element, Wide Bandwidth Channel Switch etc. are extensible elements. And 0069: Other multi-link operations that can be executed using techniques described herein include tunneled direct link setup (TDLS) establishment for two non-AP MLDs to communicate with each other directly, and TDLS teardown.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chincholi with the new field added to the generic element in action frame of Chu. The resulting invention would provide for TDLS establishment using a single frame exchange (Chu, 0069).
Re. Claim 22, claim 22 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 16. Claim 22 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 16. Therefore, claim 22 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 16 above.
Re. Claim 23, claim 23 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 17. Claim 23 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 17. Therefore, claim 23 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 17 above.
Re. Claim 24, claim 24 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 18. Claim 24 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 18. Therefore, claim 24 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 18 above.
Re. Claim 25, claim 25 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 19. Claim 25 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 19. Therefore, claim 25 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 19 above.
Re. Claim 26, claim 26 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 20. Claim 22 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 16. Therefore, claim 22 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 16 above.
Re. Claim 27, claim 27 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 21. Claim 27 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 21. Therefore, claim 27 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 21 above.
Re. Claim 28, claim 28 is directed toward a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method of claim 16. Claim 28 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 16. Therefore, claim 22 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 16 above.
Re. Claim 29, claim 29 is directed toward a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method of claim 17. Claim 29 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 17. Therefore, claim 29 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 17 above.
Re. Claim 30, claim 30 is directed toward a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method of claim 18. Claim 30 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 18. Therefore, claim 30 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 18 above.
Re. Claim 31, claim 31 is directed toward a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method of claim 19. Claim 31 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 19. Therefore, claim 31 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 19 above.
Re. Claim 32, claim 32 is directed toward a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method of claim 20. Claim 22 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 16. Therefore, claim 32 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 16 above.
Re. Claim 33, claim 33 is directed toward a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method of claim 21. Claim 33 does not limit or further define over the subject matter of claim 21. Therefore, claim 33 is rejected for similar reason as laid out for claim 21 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.H.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417