DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed April 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 9, 14, and 18 have been amended.
Claims 3 and 10 are cancelled as previously indicated.
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, and 11-22 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 14-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1) in view of Yilmaz et al. (hereinafter Yilmaz) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0243597 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Guo teaches and discloses a terminal (UE, figures 3, 8, and 9), comprising a processor (processor, figure 3), a memory (memory, figure 3), and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, steps of a connection establishment method, performed by the first terminal (UE, figures 3, 8, and 9) and comprising:
sending first information to a radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9) in a case that there are no valid access stratum (AS) security parameters ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends first information such as a RCC Connection request; depicted in figures 8-9); wherein the first information is used to obtain an indication of a connection state operation via the radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9) from a core network side device (AMF, figure 8) ([0066]; [0088]; teaches the UE sends a RRC connection request indicating a RRC connection state; figure 8);
a core network management state of the first terminal is an idle state ([0066]; teaches the wireless device/UE is an RRC idle state prior to RRC connection); and
the case that there are no valid AS security parameters refers to the following case: the first terminal requests a radio resource control (RRC) connection from the radio access network side device, the radio access network side device agrees to establish the RRC connection, and the first terminal enters a connected state from an idle state, but AS security has not been activated ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated; depicted in figures 8-9).
However, Guo may not explicitly disclose the connection state operation comprises at least one of: a core network-connection operation of the first terminal, or a core network-connection operation of a second terminal (although Guo does teach and suggest the connection state may include one of a RRC connection request/setup, RRC connection release, or reestablishment; [0088]).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yilmaz does teach and suggest the connection state operation comprises at least one of: a core network-connection operation of the first terminal, or a core network-connection operation of a second terminal ([0098]; “…initiate AS security context setup for a first RAT and a second RAT in a common signaling procedure. For example, the informing component 320 of CN element 300 informs in step S302 a RAN element, e.g. RAN element 200, of the wireless communication network, to initiate AS security context setup for a first RAT and a second RAT in a common signaling procedure…”; [0126]; [0128]; teaches a connection state operation comprises a core network connection operation of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a connection state operation comprises a core network connection operation of the first terminal as taught by Yilmaz with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo for the purpose of supporting security context setup in the wireless network, as suggested by Yilmaz.
Regarding claim 2, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, teaches and discloses wherein the first information is non-access stratum (NAS) information ([0078]; “…once security is activated, all RRC messages on signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) and signaling radio bearer 2 (SRB2), including those containing non-access stratum (NAS) or non-3GPP messages, are integrity protected and ciphered by PDCP. Additionally, the NAS may independently apply integrity protection and ciphering to the NAS messages…” teaches the first information may be NAS security messages).
Regarding claim 4, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, further teaches and discloses wherein after the sending first information to a radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9), the method further comprises: receiving second information (RRC connection setup response) sent by the radio access network side device; and performing a connection state related operation based on the second information ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response);
wherein the performing a connection state related operation based on the second information comprises at least one of: entering a wirelessly disconnected state, or releasing a wireless connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly connected state, or maintaining a wireless connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response).
Regarding claim 14, Guo teaches and discloses a connection establishment method, performed by a radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9) and comprising at least one of:
receiving first information from a first terminal (UE, figures 3, 8, and 9) ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends first information such as a RCC Connection request/setup; depicted in figures 8-9), and sending or refusing to send the first information to a core network side device (AMF, figure 8), wherein the first information is used by the core network side device to send or refuse to send third information (UE context setup request; figure 8) to the radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9) based on the first information; or receiving the first information from the first terminal, and sending or refusing to send the first information to the core network side device, wherein the first information is used by the core network side device to send or refuse to send fifth information to the radio access network side device based on the first information (UE, figures 3, 8, and 9) ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; [0084]; [0087]; teaches the BS/gNB further transmits an initial UE message to the AMF and the AMF further transmits a UE context setup request to the BS/gNB in response; as depicted in figures 8-9)
wherein the first information is used to obtain an indication of a connection state operation via the radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9) from the core network side device (AMF, figure 8) ([0066]; teaches the UE sends a RRC connection request indicating a RRC connection state; figure 8);
a core network management state of the first terminal is an idle state ([0066]; teaches the wireless device/UE is an RRC idle state prior to RRC connection).
However, Guo may not explicitly disclose the connection state operation comprises at least one of: a core network-connection operation of the first terminal, or a core network-connection operation of a second terminal (although Guo does teach and suggest the connection state may include one of a RRC connection request/setup, RRC connection release, or reestablishment; [0088]).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yilmaz does teach and suggest the connection state operation comprises at least one of: a core network-connection operation of the first terminal, or a core network-connection operation of a second terminal ([0098]; “…initiate AS security context setup for a first RAT and a second RAT in a common signaling procedure. For example, the informing component 320 of CN element 300 informs in step S302 a RAN element, e.g. RAN element 200, of the wireless communication network, to initiate AS security context setup for a first RAT and a second RAT in a common signaling procedure…”; [0126]; [0128]; teaches a connection state operation comprises a core network connection operation of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a connection state operation comprises a core network connection operation of the first terminal as taught by Yilmaz with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo for the purpose of supporting security context setup in the wireless network, as suggested by Yilmaz.
Regarding claim 15, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, further teaches and discloses wherein the first information is non-access stratum (NAS) information ([0078]; “…once security is activated, all RRC messages on signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) and signaling radio bearer 2 (SRB2), including those containing non-access stratum (NAS) or non-3GPP messages, are integrity protected and ciphered by PDCP. Additionally, the NAS may independently apply integrity protection and ciphering to the NAS messages…” teaches the first information may be NAS security messages).
Regarding claim 16, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, further teaches and discloses at least one of: sending second information (RRC connection setup response) to the first terminal (UE, figures 3, 8, and 9), wherein the second information is used for indicating a connection state operation; or receiving the third information sent by the core network side device, and sending second information to the first terminal based on the third information, wherein the second information is used for indicating a connection state operation ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response).
Regarding claim 18, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, further teaches and discloses wherein the second information (RRC connection setup response) comprises at least one of: an indication of a release operation; an indication of a connection operation; an indication of a core network-connection operation of the first terminal; an indication of a release operation of an inter-device connection; an indication of a connection operation of an inter-device connection; or an indication of a core network-connection operation of a second terminal ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response).
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1) in view of Yilmaz et al. (hereinafter Yilmaz) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0243597 A1), and further in view of Tiwari et al. (hereinafter Tiwari) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0041493 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose wherein after the sending first information to a radio access network side device, the method further comprises: performing a default operation in a case that second information is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises one of: entering a wirelessly disconnected state, or releasing a wireless connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly connected state, or maintaining a wireless connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches and suggests wherein after the sending first information to a radio access network side device, the method further comprises: performing a default operation in a case that second information is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises one of: entering a wirelessly disconnected state, or releasing a wireless connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly connected state, or maintaining a wireless connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process ([0295]; “…the UE's modem sends the registration request message to the network…Based on the registration request message, the network (600) sends a registration reject message with cause #11 to the UE's modem…a NAS timer T3247 is started. After expiry of the T3247 timer, the restart registration procedure is started…”; [0296]; teaches performing a default operation such as performing a core network-connection establishment process after a NAS timer has expired).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate performing a default operation such as performing a core network-connection establishment process after a NAS timer has expired as taught by Tiwari with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Tiwari.
Regarding claim 17, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose performing a default operation in a case that at least one of the third information or the fifth information are/is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises: sending or refusing to send second information to the first terminal, wherein the second information is used to indicate the connection state operation.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches and suggests performing a default operation in a case that at least one of the third information or the fifth information are/is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises: sending or refusing to send second information to the first terminal, wherein the second information is used to indicate the connection state operation ([0295]; “…the UE's modem sends the registration request message to the network…Based on the registration request message, the network (600) sends a registration reject message with cause #11 to the UE's modem…a NAS timer T3247 is started. After expiry of the T3247 timer, the restart registration procedure is started…”; [0296]; teaches performing a default operation such as sending second information/registration information after a NAS timer has expired).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate performing a default operation such as performing a core network-connection establishment process after a NAS timer has expired as taught by Tiwari with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Tiwari.
Claims 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1) in view of Yilmaz et al. (hereinafter Yilmaz) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0243597 A1), and further in view of Talebi Fard et al. (hereinafter Talebi) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0353799 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose receiving fourth information sent by the second terminal; and sending the first information to the radio access network side device.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches and suggests receiving fourth information sent by the second terminal (second, relay UE); and sending the first information to the radio access network side device ([0105]; [0179]; [0266]; [0271]; [0290]; teaches a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB as taught by Talebi with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Talebi.
Regarding claim 7, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the second terminal.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches and suggests wherein the fourth information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the second terminal (second, relay UE) ([0105]; [0179]; [0266]; [0271]; [0290]; teaches a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB as taught by Talebi with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo, as modified by Yilmaz and Talebi, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Talebi.
Regarding claim 8, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose wherein after the sending first information to a radio access network side device, the method further comprises: receiving second information sent by the radio access network side device; and sending sixth information to the second terminal based on the second information; wherein the sixth information is used to indicate that the second terminal performs a connection state related operation.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches and suggests wherein after the sending first information to a radio access network side device, the method further comprises: receiving second information sent by the radio access network side device; and sending sixth information to the second terminal (second, relay UE) based on the second information; wherein the sixth information is used to indicate that the second terminal performs a connection state related operation ([0105]; [0179]; [0266]; [0271]; [0290]; teaches a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB as taught by Talebi with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo, as modified by Yilmaz and Talebi, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Talebi.
Claims 9, 11, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi Fard et al. (hereinafter Talebi) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0353799 A1) in view of Yilmaz et al. (hereinafter Yilmaz) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0243597 A1), and further in view of Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Talebi teaches and discloses a terminal (second, relay UE; figures 3, 14, and 26), comprising a processor (processor, figure 3), a memory (memory, figure 3), and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, steps of a connection establishment method, performed by the second terminal (second, relay UE; figures 3, 14, and 26) and comprising: sending fourth information to a first terminal (first, remote UE; figures 3, 14, and 26); wherein the fourth information is used to obtain an indication of a connection state operation via the first terminal from a core network side device (AMF, figures 17 and 26/core network figure 20) ([0105]; [0179]; [0266]; [0271]; [0290]; teaches a second, relay UE sending information to the first, remote UE and the information is used to obtain connection state operation and NAS security context).
However, Talebi may not explicitly disclose the connection state operation comprises a core network-connection operation of a second terminal.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yilmaz does teach and suggest the connection state operation comprises a core network-connection operation of a second terminal ([0098]; “…initiate AS security context setup for a first RAT and a second RAT in a common signaling procedure. For example, the informing component 320 of CN element 300 informs in step S302 a RAN element, e.g. RAN element 200, of the wireless communication network, to initiate AS security context setup for a first RAT and a second RAT in a common signaling procedure…”; [0126]; [0128]; teaches a connection state operation comprises a core network connection operation of the second UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a connection state operation comprises a core network connection operation of the first terminal as taught by Yilmaz with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Talebi for the purpose of supporting security context setup in the wireless network, as suggested by Yilmaz.
However, Talebi, as modified by Yilmaz, may not explicitly disclose in a case that there are no valid access stratum (AS) security parameters; a core network management state of the second terminal is an idle state; and the case that there are no valid AS security parameters refers to the following case: the second terminal requests, via the first terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) connection from the radio access network side device, the radio access network side device agrees to establish the RRC connection, and the second terminal enters a connected state from an idle state, but AS security has not been activated.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Guo teaches and discloses in a case that there are no valid access stratum (AS) security parameters ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters; depicted in figures 8-9); a core network management state of the second terminal is an idle state ([0066]; teaches the wireless device/UE is an RRC idle state prior to RRC connection); and the case that there are no valid AS security parameters refers to the following case: the second terminal requests, via the first terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) connection from the radio access network side device, the radio access network side device agrees to establish the RRC connection, and the second terminal enters a connected state from an idle state, but AS security has not been activated ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated; depicted in figures 8-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated as taught by Guo with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Talebi, as modified by Yilmaz, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Guo.
Regarding claim 11, Talebi disclose a second, relay UE sending information to the first, remote UE and the information is used to obtain connection state operation and NAS security context, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the second terminal.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Guo further teaches and suggests wherein the fourth information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the second terminal ([0078]; “…once security is activated, all RRC messages on signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) and signaling radio bearer 2 (SRB2), including those containing non-access stratum (NAS) or non-3GPP messages, are integrity protected and ciphered by PDCP. Additionally, the NAS may independently apply integrity protection and ciphering to the NAS messages…” teaches the first information may be NAS security messages).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first information may be NAS security messages as taught by Guo with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Talebi, as modified by Yilmaz and Guo, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Guo.
Regarding claim 12, Talebi disclose a second, relay UE sending information to the first, remote UE and the information is used to obtain connection state operation and NAS security context, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the performing a connection state related operation comprises at least one of: entering a wirelessly inter-device disconnected state, or releasing a wireless inter-device connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly inter-device connected state, or maintaining a wireless inter-device connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Guo further teaches and suggests performing a connection state related operation based on the sixth information ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response); wherein the performing a connection state related operation comprises at least one of: entering a wirelessly inter-device disconnected state, or releasing a wireless inter-device connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly inter-device connected state, or maintaining a wireless inter-device connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response as taught by Guo with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Talebi, as modified by Yilmaz and Guo, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Guo.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi Fard et al. (hereinafter Talebi) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0353799 A1) in view of Yilmaz et al. (hereinafter Yilmaz) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0243597 A1) and Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1), and further in view of Tiwari et al. (hereinafter Tiwari) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0041493 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Talebi, as modified by Yilmaz and Guo, teaches when there is no valid security context, such as AS security parameter, the UE sends an initial message to the network element/AMF to obtain connection state operation in response, but may not explicitly disclose wherein after the sending fourth information to a first terminal, the method further comprises: performing a default operation in a case that sixth information is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises any one of: entering a wirelessly inter-device disconnected state, or releasing a wireless inter-device connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly inter-device connected state, or maintaining a wireless inter-device connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches and suggests wherein after the sending fourth information to a first terminal, the method further comprises: performing a default operation in a case that sixth information is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises any one of: entering a wirelessly inter-device disconnected state, or releasing a wireless inter-device connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly inter-device connected state, or maintaining a wireless inter-device connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process ([0295]; “…the UE's modem sends the registration request message to the network…Based on the registration request message, the network (600) sends a registration reject message with cause #11 to the UE's modem…a NAS timer T3247 is started. After expiry of the T3247 timer, the restart registration procedure is started…”; [0296]; teaches performing a default operation such as performing a core network-connection establishment process after a NAS timer has expired).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate performing a default operation such as performing a core network-connection establishment process after a NAS timer has expired as taught by Tiwari with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Talebi, as modified by Yilmaz and Guo, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Tiwari.
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1) in view of Yilmaz et al. (hereinafter Yilmaz) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0243597 A1), and further in view of LIU (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0357350 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the first terminal.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches and suggests wherein the first information (registration request) is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the first terminal ([0009]; [0015]; “…the initial NAS message comprises a registration request message, and the subset of the NAS protocol IEs designated for security-related handling consists of a mobile identity for the UE, a UE security capability indicating one or more NAS security algorithms supported by the UE, a registration type, and a security key set identifier for a NAS security context…”; [0076]; [0081]; teaches the first information is generated based on NAS security parameters of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first information is generated based on NAS security parameters of the UE as taught by Liu with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo, as modified by Yilmaz, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Liu.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1) in view of Yilmaz et al. (hereinafter Yilmaz) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0243597 A1) and Talebi Fard et al. (hereinafter Talebi) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0353799 A1), and further in view of LIU (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0357350 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Guo, as modified by Yilmaz and Talebi, teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first information meets any one of: the first information is the fourth information; or the first information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the first terminal and the fourth information.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches and suggests wherein the first information meets any one of: the first information is the fourth information; or the first information (registration request) is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the first terminal and the fourth information ([0009]; [0015]; “…the initial NAS message comprises a registration request message, and the subset of the NAS protocol IEs designated for security-related handling consists of a mobile identity for the UE, a UE security capability indicating one or more NAS security algorithms supported by the UE, a registration type, and a security key set identifier for a NAS security context…”; [0076]; [0081]; teaches the first information is generated based on NAS security parameters of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first information is generated based on NAS security parameters of the UE as taught by Liu with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo, as modified by Yilmaz and Talebi, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Liu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-9, and 11-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
June 27, 2026