DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed August 19, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 14, and 16-20 have been amended.
Claims 3 and 10 are cancelled.
Claims 21 and 22 have been newly added.
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, and 11-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 14-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Guo teaches and discloses a terminal (UE, figures 3, 8, and 9), comprising a processor (processor, figure 3), a memory (memory, figure 3), and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, steps of a connection establishment method, performed by the first terminal (UE, figures 3, 8, and 9) and comprising:
sending first information to a radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9) in a case that there are no valid access stratum (AS) security parameters ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends first information such as a RCC Connection request; depicted in figures 8-9); wherein the first information is used to obtain an indication of a connection state operation via the radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9) from a core network side device (AMF, figure 8) ([0066]; teaches the UE sends a RRC connection request indicating a RRC connection state; figure 8);
a core network management state of the first terminal is an idle state ([0066]; teaches the wireless device/UE is an RRC idle state prior to RRC connection);
the connection state operation comprises at least one of: a release operation, a connection operation, a core network-connection operation of the first terminal, a release operation of an inter-device connection, a connection operation of an inter-device connection, or a core network-connection operation of a second terminal ([0088]; “…the RRC layer of a UE may be configured to process…set of messages could include RRC connection request/setup/setup complete messages, uplink/downlink information transfer messages, RRC connection release messages, RRC connection reject messages, and RRC connection re-establishment reject messages…sending UE capability information after successfully receiving an AS security mode command (SMC) message when the message can be protected using the security context, regardless of when a UE capability enquiry is received by the UE…”; teaches the connection state may include one of a RRC connection request/setup, RRC connection release, or reestablishment); and
the case that there are no valid AS security parameters refers to the following case: the first terminal requests a radio resource control (RRC) connection from the radio access network side device, the radio access network side device agrees to establish the RRC connection, and the first terminal enters a connected state from an idle state, but AS security has not been activated ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated; depicted in figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 2, Guo teaches and discloses wherein the first information is non-access stratum (NAS) information ([0078]; “…once security is activated, all RRC messages on signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) and signaling radio bearer 2 (SRB2), including those containing non-access stratum (NAS) or non-3GPP messages, are integrity protected and ciphered by PDCP. Additionally, the NAS may independently apply integrity protection and ciphering to the NAS messages…” teaches the first information may be NAS security messages).
Regarding claim 4, Guo further teaches and discloses wherein after the sending first information to a radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9), the method further comprises: receiving second information (RRC connection setup response) sent by the radio access network side device; and performing a connection state related operation based on the second information ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response);
wherein the performing a connection state related operation based on the second information comprises at least one of: entering a wirelessly disconnected state, or releasing a wireless connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly connected state, or maintaining a wireless connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response).
Regarding claim 14, Guo teaches and discloses a connection establishment method, performed by a radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9) and comprising at least one of:
receiving first information from a first terminal (UE, figures 3, 8, and 9) ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends first information such as a RCC Connection request/setup; depicted in figures 8-9), and sending or refusing to send the first information to a core network side device (AMF, figure 8), wherein the first information is used by the core network side device to send or refuse to send third information (UE context setup request; figure 8) to the radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9) based on the first information; or receiving the first information from the first terminal, and sending or refusing to send the first information to the core network side device, wherein the first information is used by the core network side device to send or refuse to send fifth information to the radio access network side device based on the first information (UE, figures 3, 8, and 9) ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; [0084]; [0087]; teaches the BS/gNB further transmits an initial UE message to the AMF and the AMF further transmits a UE context setup request to the BS/gNB in response; as depicted in figures 8-9)
wherein the first information is used to obtain an indication of a connection state operation via the radio access network side device (BS/gNB, figures 2, 8, and 9) from the core network side device (AMF, figure 8) ([0066]; teaches the UE sends a RRC connection request indicating a RRC connection state; figure 8);
a core network management state of the first terminal is an idle state ([0066]; teaches the wireless device/UE is an RRC idle state prior to RRC connection);
the connection state operation comprises at least one of: a release operation, a connection operation, a core network-connection operation of the first terminal, a release operation of an inter- device connection, a connection operation of an inter-device connection, or a core network- connection operation of a second terminal ([0088]; “…the RRC layer of a UE may be configured to process…set of messages could include RRC connection request/setup/setup complete messages, uplink/downlink information transfer messages, RRC connection release messages, RRC connection reject messages, and RRC connection re-establishment reject messages…sending UE capability information after successfully receiving an AS security mode command (SMC) message when the message can be protected using the security context, regardless of when a UE capability enquiry is received by the UE…”; teaches the connection state may include one of a RRC connection request/setup, RRC connection release, or reestablishment).
Regarding claim 15, Guo further teaches and discloses wherein the first information is non-access stratum (NAS) information ([0078]; “…once security is activated, all RRC messages on signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) and signaling radio bearer 2 (SRB2), including those containing non-access stratum (NAS) or non-3GPP messages, are integrity protected and ciphered by PDCP. Additionally, the NAS may independently apply integrity protection and ciphering to the NAS messages…” teaches the first information may be NAS security messages).
Regarding claim 16, Guo further teaches and discloses at least one of: sending second information (RRC connection setup response) to the first terminal (UE, figures 3, 8, and 9), wherein the second information is used for indicating a connection state operation; or receiving the third information sent by the core network side device, and sending second information to the first terminal based on the third information, wherein the second information is used for indicating a connection state operation ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response).
Regarding claim 18, Guo further teaches and discloses wherein the second information (RRC connection setup response) comprises at least one of: an indication of the release operation; an indication of the connection operation; an indication of the core network-connection operation of the first terminal; an indication of the release operation of an inter-device connection; an indication of the connection operation of an inter-device connection; or an indication of the core network-connection operation of a second terminal ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1) in view of Tiwari et al. (hereinafter Tiwari) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0041493 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Guo teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose wherein after the sending first information to a radio access network side device, the method further comprises: performing a default operation in a case that second information is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises one of: entering a wirelessly disconnected state, or releasing a wireless connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly connected state, or maintaining a wireless connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches and suggests wherein after the sending first information to a radio access network side device, the method further comprises: performing a default operation in a case that second information is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises one of: entering a wirelessly disconnected state, or releasing a wireless connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly connected state, or maintaining a wireless connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process ([0295]; “…the UE's modem sends the registration request message to the network…Based on the registration request message, the network (600) sends a registration reject message with cause #11 to the UE's modem…a NAS timer T3247 is started. After expiry of the T3247 timer, the restart registration procedure is started…”; [0296]; teaches performing a default operation such as performing a core network-connection establishment process after a NAS timer has expired).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate performing a default operation such as performing a core network-connection establishment process after a NAS timer has expired as taught by Tiwari with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Tiwari.
Regarding claim 17, Guo teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose performing a default operation in a case that at least one of the third information or the fifth information are/is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises: sending or refusing to send second information to the first terminal, wherein the second information is used to indicate the connection state operation.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches and suggests performing a default operation in a case that at least one of the third information or the fifth information are/is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises: sending or refusing to send second information to the first terminal, wherein the second information is used to indicate the connection state operation ([0295]; “…the UE's modem sends the registration request message to the network…Based on the registration request message, the network (600) sends a registration reject message with cause #11 to the UE's modem…a NAS timer T3247 is started. After expiry of the T3247 timer, the restart registration procedure is started…”; [0296]; teaches performing a default operation such as sending second information/registration information after a NAS timer has expired).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate performing a default operation such as performing a core network-connection establishment process after a NAS timer has expired as taught by Tiwari with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Tiwari.
Claims 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1) in view of Talebi Fard et al. (hereinafter Talebi) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0353799 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Guo teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose receiving fourth information sent by the second terminal; and sending the first information to the radio access network side device.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches and suggests receiving fourth information sent by the second terminal (second, relay UE); and sending the first information to the radio access network side device ([0105]; [0179]; [0266]; [0271]; [0290]; teaches a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB as taught by Talebi with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Talebi.
Regarding claim 7, Guo teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the second terminal.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches and suggests wherein the fourth information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the second terminal (second, relay UE) ([0105]; [0179]; [0266]; [0271]; [0290]; teaches a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB as taught by Talebi with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo, as modified by Talebi, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Talebi.
Regarding claim 8, Guo teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose wherein after the sending first information to a radio access network side device, the method further comprises: receiving second information sent by the radio access network side device; and sending sixth information to the second terminal based on the second information; wherein the sixth information is used to indicate that the second terminal performs a connection state related operation.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches and suggests wherein after the sending first information to a radio access network side device, the method further comprises: receiving second information sent by the radio access network side device; and sending sixth information to the second terminal (second, relay UE) based on the second information; wherein the sixth information is used to indicate that the second terminal performs a connection state related operation ([0105]; [0179]; [0266]; [0271]; [0290]; teaches a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a second, relay UE receives information and sending NAS information to the gNB as taught by Talebi with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo, as modified by Talebi, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Talebi.
Claims 9, 11, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi Fard et al. (hereinafter Talebi) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0353799 A1) in view of Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Talebi teaches and discloses a terminal (second, relay UE; figures 3, 14, and 26), comprising a processor (processor, figure 3), a memory (memory, figure 3), and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, steps of a connection establishment method, performed by the second terminal (second, relay UE; figures 3, 14, and 26) and comprising: sending fourth information to a first terminal (first, remote UE; figures 3, 14, and 26); wherein the fourth information is used to obtain an indication of a connection state operation via the first terminal from a core network side device (AMF, figures 17 and 26/core network figure 20) ([0105]; [0179]; [0266]; [0271]; [0290]; teaches a second, relay UE sending information to the first, remote UE and the information is used to obtain connection state operation and NAS security context).
However, Talebi may not explicitly disclose in a case that there are no valid access stratum (AS) security parameters; a core network management state of the second terminal is an idle state; the connection state operation comprises at least one of: a release operation of an inter-device connection, a connection operation of an inter-device connection, or a core network-connection operation of the second terminal; and the case that there are no valid AS security parameters refers to the following case: the second terminal requests, via the first terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) connection from the radio access network side device, the radio access network side device agrees to establish the RRC connection, and the second terminal enters a connected state from an idle state, but AS security has not been activated.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Guo teaches and discloses in a case that there are no valid access stratum (AS) security parameters ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters; depicted in figures 8-9); a core network management state of the second terminal is an idle state ([0066]; teaches the wireless device/UE is an RRC idle state prior to RRC connection); the connection state operation comprises at least one of: a release operation of an inter-device connection, a connection operation of an inter-device connection, or a core network-connection operation of the second terminal ([0088]; “…the RRC layer of a UE may be configured to process…set of messages could include RRC connection request/setup/setup complete messages, uplink/downlink information transfer messages, RRC connection release messages, RRC connection reject messages, and RRC connection re-establishment reject messages…sending UE capability information after successfully receiving an AS security mode command (SMC) message when the message can be protected using the security context, regardless of when a UE capability enquiry is received by the UE…”; teaches the connection state may include one of a RRC connection request/setup, RRC connection release, or reestablishment); and the case that there are no valid AS security parameters refers to the following case: the second terminal requests, via the first terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) connection from the radio access network side device, the radio access network side device agrees to establish the RRC connection, and the second terminal enters a connected state from an idle state, but AS security has not been activated ([0066]; [0067]; “…capability enquiry may be received during an initial cell access by a wireless device, or at any of various other times, e.g., after RRC connection setup is complete…while access stratum security has not been established (e.g., prior to access stratum security establishment…”; teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated; depicted in figures 8-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated as taught by Guo with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Talebi for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Guo.
Regarding claim 11, Talebi disclose a second, relay UE sending information to the first, remote UE and the information is used to obtain connection state operation and NAS security context, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the second terminal.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Guo further teaches and suggests wherein the fourth information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the second terminal ([0078]; “…once security is activated, all RRC messages on signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) and signaling radio bearer 2 (SRB2), including those containing non-access stratum (NAS) or non-3GPP messages, are integrity protected and ciphered by PDCP. Additionally, the NAS may independently apply integrity protection and ciphering to the NAS messages…” teaches the first information may be NAS security messages).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first information may be NAS security messages as taught by Guo with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Talebi, as modified by Guo, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Guo.
Regarding claim 12, Talebi disclose a second, relay UE sending information to the first, remote UE and the information is used to obtain connection state operation and NAS security context, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the performing a connection state related operation comprises at least one of: entering a wirelessly inter-device disconnected state, or releasing a wireless inter-device connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly inter-device connected state, or maintaining a wireless inter-device connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Guo further teaches and suggests performing a connection state related operation based on the sixth information ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response); wherein the performing a connection state related operation comprises at least one of: entering a wirelessly inter-device disconnected state, or releasing a wireless inter-device connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly inter-device connected state, or maintaining a wireless inter-device connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process ([0066]; [0095]; depicted in figures 8-9; teaches the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the wireless device/UE receives a response to the RRC connection request and performs a RRC connection based on the received response as taught by Guo with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Talebi, as modified by Guo, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Guo.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi Fard et al. (hereinafter Talebi) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0353799 A1) in view of Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1), and further in view of Tiwari et al. (hereinafter Tiwari) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0041493 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Talebi, as modified by Guo, teaches when there is no valid security context, such as AS security parameter, the UE sends an initial message to the network element/AMF to obtain connection state operation in response, but may not explicitly disclose wherein after the sending fourth information to a first terminal, the method further comprises: performing a default operation in a case that sixth information is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises any one of: entering a wirelessly inter-device disconnected state, or releasing a wireless inter-device connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly inter-device connected state, or maintaining a wireless inter-device connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches and suggests wherein after the sending fourth information to a first terminal, the method further comprises: performing a default operation in a case that sixth information is not received within time specified in a protocol or configured by a network; wherein the default operation comprises any one of: entering a wirelessly inter-device disconnected state, or releasing a wireless inter-device connection; switching to or maintaining a wirelessly inter-device connected state, or maintaining a wireless inter-device connection; or switching to a core network connected state, or performing a core network-connection establishment process ([0295]; “…the UE's modem sends the registration request message to the network…Based on the registration request message, the network (600) sends a registration reject message with cause #11 to the UE's modem…a NAS timer T3247 is started. After expiry of the T3247 timer, the restart registration procedure is started…”; [0296]; teaches performing a default operation such as performing a core network-connection establishment process after a NAS timer has expired).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate performing a default operation such as performing a core network-connection establishment process after a NAS timer has expired as taught by Tiwari with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Talebi, as modified by Guo, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Tiwari.
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1) in view of LIU (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0357350 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Guo teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the first terminal.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches and suggests wherein the first information (registration request) is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the first terminal ([0009]; [0015]; “…the initial NAS message comprises a registration request message, and the subset of the NAS protocol IEs designated for security-related handling consists of a mobile identity for the UE, a UE security capability indicating one or more NAS security algorithms supported by the UE, a registration type, and a security key set identifier for a NAS security context…”; [0076]; [0081]; teaches the first information is generated based on NAS security parameters of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first information is generated based on NAS security parameters of the UE as taught by Liu with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Liu.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0396598 A1) in view of Talebi Fard et al. (hereinafter Talebi) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0353799 A1), and further in view of LIU (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0357350 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Guo, as modified by Talebi, teaches in a case the wireless device/UE is unsecured and has no valid AS security parameters, the wireless device/UE sends a RCC Connection request to the BS/gNB to establish an RRC connection in order to enter a RRC connected state from an RRC idle state while the UE is unsecured as in the AS security has not been activated, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first information meets any one of: the first information is the fourth information; or the first information is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the first terminal and the fourth information.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches and suggests wherein the first information meets any one of: the first information is the fourth information; or the first information (registration request) is generated based on a non-access stratum (NAS) security parameter of the first terminal and the fourth information ([0009]; [0015]; “…the initial NAS message comprises a registration request message, and the subset of the NAS protocol IEs designated for security-related handling consists of a mobile identity for the UE, a UE security capability indicating one or more NAS security algorithms supported by the UE, a registration type, and a security key set identifier for a NAS security context…”; [0076]; [0081]; teaches the first information is generated based on NAS security parameters of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first information is generated based on NAS security parameters of the UE as taught by Liu with the method and terminal for connection establishment as disclosed by Guo, as modified by Talebi, for the purpose of establishing NAS security and authentication for connection establishment, as suggested by Liu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-9, and 11-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
November 20, 2025
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477