DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 13, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouhnik et al. (US PGPUB No. 2021/0279953; Pub. Date: Sep. 9, 2021) in view of Otero et al. (US PGPUB No. 2014/0340419; Pub. Date: Nov. 20, 2014), KIM (US PGPUB NO. 2021/0173340; Pub. Date: Jun. 10, 2021) and SCHWARTZ et al. (International Publication Number: WO 2021191683 A1; Pub. Date: Sep. 30, 2021).
Regarding independent claim 1,
Bouhnik discloses a method for providing an electronic map, comprising: receiving, by a computing device, a request to access content of an electronic map from a software application running on a client device or an online service being used by the client device; See Paragraph [0232], (Disclosing a cross-reality system configured to receive tracking information in a tracking map. Information about the physical world may be pulled from a world reconstruction component 516 in response to a use request from an application, i.e. receiving, by a computing device, a request to access content of an electronic map from a software application running on a client device or an online service being used by the client device;)
performing operations, by a computing device, to edit and generate vector tiles for the electronic map based on changes of another electronic map in a first data format that is different than a second data format of the electronic map, See Paragraph [0405]-[0406], (Disclosing a cross-reality system configured to receive tracking information in a tracking map. A stored map relevant to a user task may be identified based on criteria indicating comparisons of a tracking map/other location information generated by a user device. The comparisons may be performed based on comparisons of vectors computed from map content. Note [0409] wherein maps are associated with attributes that may themselves be associated with a tile representing an area of a map.) See Paragraph [0565], (The system may define new tiles for a tracking map according to the location of a user device.) See Paragraphs [0471]-[0472], (FIG. 46A-46B illustrates a process of localizing a map "Map 2" to a canonical map, which includes a process of expanding Map 2 to include persistent coordinate frames (PCFs) of the canonical map. Note [0582] wherein each tile may contain multiple PCFs, i.e. performing operations, by a computing device, to edit and generate vector tiles for an electronic map based on changes of another electronic map in a first data format that is different than a second data format of the electronic map (e.g. Map 2 may be in one format while the canonical map may be in a format that may be natively used by the AR framework).
the second data format comprises a standardized format, See Paragraph [0135], (The system includes a service for processing location metadata in conjunction with local map information to facilitate selection of map segments based on location metadata. Location metadata from multiple sources (e.g. first data format comprising a non-standardized format) may be converted to a common format such as a geohash (e.g. a second format comprising a standardized format).)
creating, by the computing device, at least one geometry artifact by converting a format of the at least one first data object from the first data format to the different second data format, See Paragraphs [0021]-[0022], (Location metadata indicates a prior location of a portable device with respect to a plurality of wireless access points, a second type of location metadata corresponds to geo-location metadata indicative of a prior GPS location of a second portable device. Wireless location metadata may be converted to geo-location metadata.) See Paragraph [0135], (Location metadata from multiple sources may be converted to a common format such as geohash, i.e. creating, by the computing device, at least one geometry artifact by converting a format of the at least one first data object from the first data format to the different second data format.)
the at least one geometry artifact comprising 2D grid coordinates for a point, a line or a polygon; See Paragraph [0012], (The process of receiving location metadata associated with a portion of a tracking map comprises receiving GPS location information within a 3D environment)
The examiner notes that while Bouhnik discloses a 3D environment, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to discern that a 3D environment may be used in both 2D and 3D contexts because the 3D environment includes the necessary dimensions (e.g. longitude and latitude), i.e. the at least one geometry artifact comprising 2D grid coordinates for a point.
Bouhnik does not disclose the step wherein the first data format comprises a non-standardized format that is incompatible with the software application or online service,
identifying, by the computing device, at least one of the vector tiles of the electronic map…, the vector tiles being in the standardized format.
KIM discloses the step wherein the first data format comprises a non- standardized format that is incompatible with the software application or online service, See Paragraph [0049], (Disclosing a method for displaying a mixed-reality environment via selection of a 3D map to invoke a mixed-reality environment using a 3D map decoding device such as a smartphone or other portable electronic device executing a mixed-reality visualization application. A 3D map file compatibility detector module 415 may determine whether the 3D map decoding device 419 is compatible with a native 3D map file, wherein the system may determine that 3D map decoding device 419 is incompatible with decoding the native 3D map file, i.e. wherein the first data format comprises a non- standardized format that is incompatible with the software application or online service.)
identifying, by the computing device, at least one of the vector tiles of the electronic map…, the vector tiles being in the standardized format; See Paragraph [0048], (The system utilizes a mixed-reality 3D map standardization scheme and an XML file synthesizer 107 to generate an XML-based 3D map format structure that can be flexibly converted into a proprietary 3D map format on the fly depending on graphics format compatibilities provided by the 3D map encoding device. A newly-created native 3D map file is encoded as an XML-compliant 3D map format, i.e. the vector tiles being in the standardized format (e.g. the map data is formatted as an XML file which is a known markup language format).)
Bouhnik and KIM are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, electronic map management. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Bouhnik to include the method of processing incompatible map data formats as disclosed by KIM. Paragraph [0048] of KIM discloses that the mixed-reality space mapping is implemented in order to enhance compatibility between multiple disparate map formats using the dual file structures to process data into a required map format in order to provide the map content to a requesting device.
Bouhnik-KIM does not disclose the step wherein the operations comprise: identifying, by the computing device, at least one first data object of the another electronic map that was changed during a last update of the another electronic map in the first data format;
identifying, by the computing device, at least one of the vector tiles of the electronic map that is associated with the at least one first data object of the another electronic map, the vector tiles being in the standardized format;
receiving, by the computing device, a request for a vector tile of the electronic map from a software application or online service, wherein the vector tile represents a portion of the another electronic map;
converting, by the computing device, the request into a spatial query;
using, by the computing device, the spatial query to obtain the edited spatial data;
encoding, by the computing device, the edited spatial data to generate at least one first one of the vector tiles on-the-fly in the second data format, wherein the at least one first one of the vector tiles generated for the electronic map reflects changes made to the another electronic map;
and selectively providing, by the computing device, the at least one first one of the vector tiles in the second data format based on characteristics of the software application or the online service requesting access to the contents of the electronic map.
Otero discloses the step wherein the operations comprise: identifying, by the computing device, at least one first data object of the another electronic map that was changed during a last update of the another electronic map in the first data format; See Paragraph [0024], (Disclosing a system for rendering images corresponding to selected geographic regions at a client device. The system comprises a map server configured to provide the client device with one or more different tiles in a raster format, non-raster format or hybrid format. The client device may process the difference tiles to identify the changes to be made to the base map tiles, i.e. identifying, by the computing device, at least one first data object of the another electronic map that was changed during a last update of the another electronic map in the first data format (e.g. the difference tiles indicate changes to a map. Note [0081] wherein the system may perform the method 400 of FIG. 8 comprising step 402 of receiving an indication that a map image is to be updated at or sent to a client device).)
identifying, by the computing device, at least one of the vector tiles of the electronic map that is associated with the at least one first data object of the another electronic map; See Paragraphs [0023]-[0024], (A set of base map tiles having basic map feature data and a set of difference tiles defining changes to be made to the basic map feature data within the basic map tiles. The map server may provide the client device with one or more difference tils in a raster format, non-raster format or hybrid format, i.e. identifying, by the computing device, at least one of the vector tiles of the electronic map that is associated with the at least one first data object of the another electronic map (e.g. the difference tiles are associated with map information for a particular portion of a base map that may be updated using said difference tiles).)
the vector tiles being in the standardized format; See Paragraph [0041], (Map database 18A may store a set of base map data tiles 40 defining map data in a vector graphics format or raster image format, i.e. the vector tiles being in the standardized format (e.g. the vector graphics format and raster image format are not proprietary formats of the system of Otero. Map tiles in these formats are also further processed for rendering by the system of Otero as described in [0040]).)
receiving, by the computing device, a request for a vector tile of the electronic map from a software application or online service, wherein the vector tile represents a portion of the another electronic map; See Paragraph [0026], (The client device may request map data for rendering a map image in response to a user command indicating a selection of a map type, zoom level, etc. For example, a user may select a geographic region and a basic map type which form the basis of the request for rendering a map image. The map server receives the request from the client device and provides map data including a set of one or more base map data tiles in a vector graphics format, i.e. receiving, by the computing device, a request for a vector tile of the electronic map from a software application or online service (e.g. the client device provides user request data to a map server), wherein the vector tile represents a portion of the another electronic map (e.g. the difference tiles represent sections of a base map).)
converting, by the computing device, the request into a spatial query; See Paragraph [0026], (A user may select a geographic region and a basic map type using a client device. The map server receives the request from the client device and provides map data including a set of one or more base map data tiles in a vector graphics format to the client device, i.e. converting, by the computing device, the request into a spatial query (e.g. the user request indicates a geographic region and map type, the request is interpreted into a query for map data tiles).)
encoding, by the computing device, the edited spatial data to generate at least one first one of the vector tiles on-the-fly in the second data format, See Paragraph [0026], (A user may select a geographic region and a basic map type using a client device. The map server receives the request from the client device and provides map data including a set of one or more base map data tiles in a vector graphics format to the client device.) See Paragraph [0028], (The map server may generate difference tiles in response to a user request. For example, a user may select another map view within a currently displayed geographic region, the client device may request this view from the map server which may then generate a set of one or more difference tiles to be provided to the client device which generates the new map view. The difference tiles may include vector descriptors for features to be added to the base map tiles and may describe features of the base map tiles to be changed, levels and/or labels to be used in the map image to be rendered on the client device, i.e. encoding, by the computing device, the edited spatial data to generate at least one first one of the vector tiles on-the-fly in the second data format (e.g. the system receives difference map tile data as vector descriptors which are rendered as map image data, which represents a process of encoding the vector data into the rendered map format).)
wherein the at least one first one of the vector tiles generated for the electronic map reflects changes made to the another electronic map; See Paragraph [0023], (Difference tiles define changes to be made to the basic map feature data within basic map tiles upon rendering the map at a client device, i.e. wherein the at least one first one of the vector tiles generated for the electronic map reflects changes made to the another electronic map;)
and selectively providing, by the computing device, the at least one first one of the vector tiles in the second data format based on characteristics of the software application or the online service requesting access to the contents of the electronic map. See FIG. 8 & Paragraph [0081], (FIG. 8 illustrates method 400 comprising step 402 of determining that a map image is to be updated at or sent to the client device, i.e. selectively providing, by the computing device, the at least one first vector tile in the second data format (e.g. difference map tiles are delivered to the client device and used to modify a base map for display, i.e. the at least one first vector tile (e.g. the difference map tile) in the second data format (e.g. the base map).) See Paragraph [0026], (A user may select a geographic region and a basic map type using a client device. The map server receives the request from the client device and provides map data including a set of one or more base map data tiles in a vector graphics format to the client device, i.e. based on characteristics of the software application or online service requesting access to contents of the electronic map (e.g. the updated map is delivered based on a request to access the contents of the map according to the user request).)
Bouhnik, KIM and Otero are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, electronic map management. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Bouhnik-KIM to include the method of updating a digital map via difference tiles as disclosed by Otero. Paragraph [0040] of Otero discloses that the rendering system at the client device results in vastly improved performance at all levels of the system architecture as it reduces serialization work on the server, reduces bandwidth required and transfer time across the network and reduces preparation time on the client.
Bouhnik-KIM-Otero does not disclose the step of decoding, by the computing device, the at least one of the vector tiles to obtain decoded vector tile information in a different third data format;
obtaining, by the computing device, spatial data by converting the third data format of the decoded identified at least one of the vector tile information into a spatial format;
modifying the spatial data to obtain edited spatial data, based on the at least one geometry artifact;
SCHWARTZ discloses the step of decoding, by the computing device, the at least one of the vector tiles to obtain decoded vector tile information in a different third data format;
obtaining, by the computing device, spatial data by converting the third data format of the decoded identified at least one of the vector tile information into a spatial format; See FIG. 32 & Paragraph [0367], (FIG. 32 illustrates method 3200 comprising step 3203 of sending one or more map segments including map information for a geographical region that partially overlaps with the potential travel envelope of the vehicle. Vehicle 2702 may retrieve a portion of map data from a local storage and load the retrieved data into a memory for processing. Note [0365] wherein the vehicle 2702 may decode tile data before loading into memory.) See Paragraph [0377], (Map information sent to vehicle 2702 may include a polynomial representation of a target trajectory along the one or more road segments, i.e. obtaining, by the computing device, spatial data by converting the third data format of the decoded identified at least one of the vector tile information into a spatial format (e.g. tile data is sent to a vehicle which may be embodied as a polynomial representation of a portion of a road segment);)
modifying the spatial data to obtain edited spatial data, based on the at least one geometry artifact; See FIG. 24E & Paragraph [0328], (A navigation model or sparse map for a corresponding road segment includes mapped lane marks comprising a target trajectory for a vehicle.) See Paragraph [0330], (Mapped lane marks may be updated within the model using crowdsourcing techniques. A vehicle may upload location identifiers while travelling a same road segment such that the sparse map 800 may be updated or refined and subsequently distributed to a plurality of autonomous vehicles. a location identifier may include a real-word location represented by coordinates of points associated with a detected lane mark, i.e. modifying the spatial data to obtain edited spatial data, based on the at least one geometry artifact (e.g. elements of a map may be updated based on attributes of a location represented by coordinates).)
Bouhnik-KIM-Otero and SCHWARTZ are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, electronic map management. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Bouhnik-KIM-Otero to include the method of decoding and updating map data obtained from a plurality of vehicles or systems as disclosed by SCHWARTZ. Paragraph [0350] of SCHWARTZ discloses that the system allows a vehicle to dynamically receive and load map data pertinent to a desired travel route. This process allows for a reduction in transmission costs of data exchanged between a vehicle and a central server that deploys map data.
Regarding dependent claim 3,
As discussed above with claim 1, Bouhnik-KIM-Otero-SCHWARTZ discloses all of the limitations.
Otero further discloses the step of storing the at least one first vector tile or the at least one first vector tile in a datastore accessible to the computing device. See Paragraph [0058], (Server 106 is configured to process requests for a set of base map data. Note [0030] wherein base map data is stored in a base map database 18A configured to store base map tiles for various geographical regions, i.e. storing the at least one first vector tile or the at least one first vector tile in a datastore accessible to the computing device.)
Regarding dependent claim 7,
As discussed above with claim 1, Bouhnik-KIM-Otero-SCHWARTZ discloses all of the limitations.
Otero further discloses the step wherein the at least one first vector tile comprises part of a web-based map. See Paragraph [0058], (Server 106 is configured to process requests for a set of base map data. Note [0030] wherein base map data is stored in a base map database 18A configured to store base map tiles for various geographical regions, i.e. wherein the at least one first vector tile comprises part of a web-based map (e.g. the base map tiles and difference tiles represent regions of a geographical map that are provided to a client device via a network for rendering).)
Regarding dependent claim 10,
As discussed above with claim 1, Bouhnik-KIM-Otero-SCHWARTZ discloses all of the limitations.
SCHWARTZ does not disclose the step of using the at least one vector tile to control operations of a robot. See Paragraph [0455], (Navigation system 3970 may implement an autonomous vehicle navigation system configured to control the movement of a vehicle. Note [0358] wherein map segments sent to a vehicle include one or more tiles representing a region of real-world space, i.e. using the at least one vector tile to control operations of a robot.
Paragraph [0027] of Applicant's Specification defines the robot as including an AV (autonomous vehicle). Therefore, the examiner is interpreting the term "robot" to refer to autonomous vehicles or similar devices such as those of SCHWARTZ as discussed above.
Regarding independent claim 11,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of independent claim 1 directed to a computer system and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 13,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 3 directed to a computer system and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 17,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 7 directed to a computer system and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding independent claim 20,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of independent claim 1 directed to a non-transitory, computer readable medium and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouhnik in view of KIM and Otero as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WARD et al. (US PGPUB No. 2022/0107926; Pub. Date: Apr. 7, 2022).
Regarding dependent claim 2,
As discussed above with claim 1, Bouhnik-KIM- Otero-SCHWARTZ discloses all of the limitations.
Bouhnik-KIM- Otero-SCHWARTZ does not disclose the step wherein the first data format comprises a proprietary format and the different second data format comprises a standard geospatial format.
WARD discloses the step wherein the first data format comprises a proprietary format and the different second data format comprises a standard geospatial format. See Paragraph [0136], (The scalable geospatial platform stores machine data received from sensors of various types mounted on agricultural machines, i.e. the first data format comprises a proprietary format (e.g. the sensor data format.) See Paragraph [0138], (Raw machine data may be processed and transformed into intermediate data types and stored in the scalable geospatial platform. Note [0143] wherein data may be stored in a principal data format comprising a geospatial vector and a geospatial raster data format, i.e. the different second data format comprises a standard geospatial format.)
Bouhnik, KIM, Otero, SCHWARTZ and WARD are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, electronic map processing. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Bouhnik-KIM-Otero-SCHWARTZ to include the method of managing data in a variety of formats as disclosed by WARD. Paragraph [0143] of WARD discloses that the use of principal data formats allows the system to represent environmental and machine data for vector type, imagery, typically multispectral data, and raster data while also maintaining the on-demand datasets in their native formats and resolutions before applying a suite of filtering processes to the on-demand datasets.
Regarding dependent claim 12,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 2 directed to a computer system and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouhnik in view of KIM, Otero and SCHWARTZ as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nehrenberg et al. (US PGPUB No. 2021/0224466; Pub. Date: Jul. 22, 2021) and Liu et al. (US PGPUB No. 2014/0040761; Pub. Date: Feb. 6, 2014).
Regarding dependent claim 4,
As discussed above with claim 1, Bouhnik-KIM-Otero-SCHWARTZ discloses all of the limitations.
Bouhnik-KIM-Otero-SCHWARTZ does not disclose the step of storing a start time of the search session;
Nehrenberg discloses the step of storing a start time of the search session; See Paragraph [0095], (Users may interact with a user interface to request information regarding a track mileage comprising routes and/or route segments of a geographic region.) See Paragraph [0087], (Traveled miles for a user may be collected and stored in a table which may be used to generate a second table “time_map table” which records a start time and end time for each of a plurality of tracks, i.e. storing a start time of the search session (e.g. users may request information, i.e. search for, route information which includes a particular start time associated with the information being searched.).)
Bouhnik, KIM, Otero, SCHWARTZ and Nehrenberg are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, electronic map processing. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Bouhnik-KIM-Otero-SCHWARTZ to include the method of submitting spatial queries to a database in order to retrieve geographic information as disclosed by Nehrenberg. Paragraph [0068] of Nehrenberg discloses that the system allows for precomputation of certain index tiles or responses for frequently requested index tiles which may be stored in a cache such that they can be more easily retrieved. This represents an improvement in system performance.
Bouhnik-KIM- Otero-SCHWARTZ-Nehrenberg does not disclose the step of receiving, by the computing device, a request for any data objects of the electronic map that were changed within a particular period of time;
initiating a search session in response to reception of the request;
and obtaining a last time that the electronic map was updated;
wherein the last time that the electronic map was updated is used to identify the at least one first data object.
Liu discloses the step of receiving, by the computing device, a request for any data objects of the electronic map that were changed within a particular period of time; See Paragraph [0023], (Users can search for a point of interest via an electronic map in order to view the latest set of updates for a point of interest. The most recent number of updates are shown including time and text of each update, i.e. receiving, by the computing device, a request for any data objects of the electronic map that were changed within a particular period of time.)
initiating a search session in response to reception of the request; See Paragraph [0018], (Users may create a point of interest based on a specified location. The electronic map enables a user to interactively choose a desired geolocation for the point of interest by performing a search query, i.e. initiating a search session in response to reception of the request.)
and obtaining a last time that the electronic map was updated; See Paragraph [0023], (Users can search for a point of interest via an electronic map in order to view the latest set of updates for a point of interest. The most recent number of updates are shown including time and text of each update, obtaining a last time that the electronic map was updated (e.g. the listing of prior updates would include the most recent updates).)
wherein the last time that the electronic map was updated is used to identify the at least one first data object. See Paragraph [0023], (Users can search for a point of interest via an electronic map in order to view the latest set of updates for a point of interest. The most recent number of updates are shown including time and text of each update, i.e. wherein the last time that the electronic map was updated is used to identify the at least one first data object (e.g. the updates of the point of interest represent characteristics or information about the specified geolocation).)
Bouhnik, KIM, Otero, SCHWARTZ, Nehrenberg and Liu are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, electronic map processing. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Bouhnik-KIM-Otero-SCHWARTZ-Nehrenberg to include the method of processing updates and modifications to location data of a virtual map as disclosed by Liu. Doing so would allow users to perform search operations to retrieve recently updated location information which allows a user to obtain the most recent information about a particular location of interest.
Regarding dependent claim 5,
As discussed above with claim 4, Bouhnik-KIM- Otero-SCHWARTZ -Nehrenberg-Liu discloses all of the limitations.
Liu further discloses the step of completing the search session after the at least one geometry artifact is stored in a datastore. See FIG. 2 & Paragraph [0018], (Users may provide a search request for one or more points of interest of a visual map. FIG. 2 illustrates method 200 comprising step 230 of providing poi information responsive to the search query matching a generated point of interest. POIs may be represented as pins dropped on a geographical location on the user interface illustrating a visual map, i.e. completing the search session after the at least one geometry artifact is stored in a datastore (e.g. the method ends following the generation and display of the point of interest).)
Regarding dependent claim 14,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 4 directed to a computer system and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 15,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 5 directed to a computer system and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouhnik in view of KIM, Otero and SCHWARTZ as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sims et al. (US PGPUB No. 2017/0308549; Pub. Date: Oct. 26, 2017).
Regarding dependent claim 8,
As discussed above with claim 1, Bouhnik-KIM-Otero-SCHWARTZ discloses all of the limitations.
Otero further discloses the step of wherein the operations further comprise identifying at least one second vector tile from the vector tiles that is associated with at least one second data object of the another electronic map which was changed; See Paragraph [0043], (Dynamic feature controller 23 may generate a difference tile based on a comparison of vector data between a particular map image and a base map image to indicate differences in map features, i.e. identifying at least one second vector tile from the vector tiles that is associated with at least one second data object of the another electronic map which was changed (e.g. the difference tile indicates changes between a particular map tile (e.g. such as a map of a specific user) and a base map tile).)
generating second geospatial data by adding, removing or modifying a geographic feature of the first geospatial data; See Paragraph [0043], (The difference tile is determined according to serialized representations of vector data corresponding to the map image of both the certain map image and the base map data tile(s). Dynamic feature controller 34 generates the difference tile indicating the data to be added or removed to render the map while incorporating the necessary updates, i.e. generating second geospatial data by adding, removing or modifying a geographic feature of the first geospatial data;)
and encoding the second geospatial data to generate a modified vector tile. See Paragraph [0043], (The process of generating a difference tile includes processing tile data in the form of serialized representations of vector data for both the certain map image and the map image provided by the base map data tile to determine modifications to be made to a map. The difference tile includes instructions/indications of the determined changes such as by identifying an operation and an operand, i.e. encoding the second geospatial data to generate a modified vector tile.)
Bouhnik-KIM-Otero-SCHWARTZ does not disclose the step of decoding the at least one second vector tile;
generating first geospatial data by converting a different third data format of the decoded at least one second vector tile into the second data format;
Sims disclose the step of decoding the at least one second vector tile; See Paragraph [0069], (The system for searching land parcels includes access to geographical information system (GIS) data stored in databases. The GIS server allows access to map-tile data that may be converted into and exported in a geospatial data format, i.e. decoding the at least one second vector tile (e.g. the received map-tile data).)
generating first geospatial data by converting a different third data format of the decoded at least one second vector tile into the second data format; See Paragraph [0069], (The GIS server allows access to map-tile data that may be converted into and exported in a geospatial data format, Note [0081-89] describe raw geospatial data that is stored in the GIS database and therefore provided to the system for exporting and conversion into the geospatial data format, i.e. generating first geospatial data by converting a different third data format of the decoded at least one second vector tile (e.g. the raw geospatial data stored in the GIS database which is different from the data formats disclosed by Bouhnik and Otero ) into the second data format (e.g. the geospatial data format).)
Bouhnik, KIM, Otero, SCHWARTZ and Sims are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, geospatial data processing. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Bouhnik-KIM-Otero-SCHWARTZ to include the method of providing and transforming map data into a geospatial format as disclosed by Sims. Paragraph [0103] of Sims discloses that the GIS server may provide users with data from regional datasets for each data query which results in a substantive improvement in performance by allowing the system to process much less land parcel data for frequent data queries such as a user zooming in or out or panning the map view on a user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 9,
As discussed above with claim 8, Bouhnik-KIM- Otero-SCHWARTZ-Sims discloses all of the limitations.
Otero further discloses the step of receiving, by the computing device, a request for a vector tile from the software application or online service; ; See Paragraph [0026], (The client device may request map data for rendering a map image in response to a user command indicating a selection of a map type, zoom level, etc. For example, a user may select a geographic region and a basic map type which form the basis of the request for rendering a map image, i.e. receiving, by the computing device, a request for a vector tile from the software application or online service (e.g. a user may make a request for map data to a server device).)
and providing the modified vector tile to the software application or online service in response to the request for a vector tile. See FIG. 2, (FIG. 2 illustrates the method 100 wherein a user interface 102 of a client device may request a display of a base map for a region R1 to a dynamic map rendering engine 104. Server106 provides base map tiles and difference tiles for rendering at the user interface in response to the request, i.e. providing the modified vector tile to the software application or online service in response to the request for a vector tile.)
Regarding dependent claim 14,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 4 directed to a computer system and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 15,
The claim is analogous to the subject matter of dependent claim 5 directed to a computer system and is rejected under similar rationale.
Examiner’s Input
The following represents the examiner's suggestions and/or feedback regarding potential claim amendments and clarifications that may distinguish the claimed invention over the currently cited prior art:
Regarding independent claim 1,
Claim 1 recites the following limitation:
encoding, by the computing device, the edited spatial data to generate at least one first one of the vector tiles on-the-fly in the second data format,
As discussed in the rejection above, the system of Otero is may process vector map tile data and transform said data into a displayable form for rendering, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a process of encoding data by transforming it from one format to another.
Paragraph [0036] of Applicant’s Specification describes the system as allowing for “the ability to maintain an up-to-date representation of vector map geometry that can be consumed by different applications. Because the geometric artifacts are stored in a standard format and are up-to-date, they enable the system to perform real time visualization and/or spatial searches of the vector map.”
Paragraph [0041] additionally states the following: “Generating vector tiles at request time instead of in a batch job reduces complexity and cost while improving a user experience in relation to the maps.” “Using an on-the-fly solution for generating vector tiles solves these drawbacks.”
While the claim currently recites a process of generating updated vector tiles “on the fly”, the process of “selectively providing, …, the at least one first one of the vector tiles…” the real time aspect of the step is not present in the current claim language.
Therefore, the examiner suggests clarifying independent claims 1, 11 and 20 to describe the process of selectively providing the vector tiles generated on-the-fly as being provided in real time or as the vector tiles are generated in order to clarify that the map is updated without delay and that the on-the-fly vector tiles are generated at request time and displayed/provided to an application or service.
Any amendments would require further search and/or consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action. Changes in claim scope required further search and/or consideration of both previously cited references and newly uncovered references as presented in the rejections above.
Conclusion
/FMMV/Examiner, Art Unit 2159
/ANN J LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2159