Status of Claims
Claim 2 and 4 are cancelled.
Claim 8 is newly added.
Overall, claims 1, 3, 5-8 are pending.
Claims 5-7 are withdrawn from examination for being directed to nonelected invention.
Claims 1, 3 and 8 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 1, 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (JP2021158949, published 2021.10.11).
Regarding claim 1: Yamaguchi teaches a soymilk containing beverage. [Claim 1] The beverage of Yamaguchi has a pH of 4.6 or less. The acidic pH range is any value below 7 on the standard 0 to 14 scal. The beverage of Yamaguchi also contains magnesium. [Claim 1] Magnesium is a divalent cation. The beverage of Yamaguchi also contains soybean solid content. [Claim 1] The soybean solid that Yamaguchi teaches includes soybean protein. [Paragraphs 8 and 13] Yamaguchi teaches that the solid content can be 0.05 to 0.3% by mass. The 0.05 to 0.3% by mass is within with the claimed range of .05 to 5% by weight. Yamaguchi also teaches that the beverage contains stabilizers. [Paragraph 23] The stabilizer that Yamaguchi teaches includes water soluble soybean polysaccharide. [Paragraph 24] With respect to the magnesium, a divalent cation, Yamaguchi does not teach a concentration of 7.5mM-20 mM. Instead, Yamaguchi teaches that magnesium may be present at concentration of 5-40 % by mass. Yamaguchi also teaches that magnesium concentration may be adjusted to improve the soymilk flavor and bring out the advantage of providing a preferable salty and aftertaste. [Paragraph 12]
In the instant case, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have adjust the concentration of magnesium, including the claimed mM. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to improve the soymilk flavor and bring out the advantage of providing a preferable salty and aftertaste. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for doing so because Yamaguchi establishes that magnesium is a result effective variable.
Regarding claim 3: Yamaguchi teaches a water-soluble soy polysaccharide. [Paragraph 24]
Regarding claim 8: Yamaguchi teaches that the water-soluble soy polysaccharide may be present in the amount of 4-8 g/L, which translates to .4-.8 % by weight. [Paragraph 25] The .4-.8 % by weight of Yamaguchi is within the claimed range of 0.03-4%.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793