DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 7/17/2020. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2020-122621 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/21/2023, 5/2/2023, 11/10/2023, 1/16/2024, 1/31/2024,3/5/2024, 4/9/2024, 7/22/2024, 1/27/2025, 4/14/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting-Warning
Applicant is advised that should claims 1-8 be found allowable, claims 9-16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 1 and claim 9 only differ in one word, “preventive agent” vs. “vaccine agent” in preamble, and comprises exact same components in the body of the claim. Given broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), a vaccine agent and a preventive agent for the Japanese encephalitis virus are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, a microneedle array that carries inactivated virus. Dependent claims 2-8 and 10-16 also covers same thing using same wording.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 and 11 recites the limitation "the number of administration" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claims 1 and 9 do not recite any limitation that directed to number of administration.
Claim 8 and 16 recites the limitation "the neutralizing antibody" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claims 1 and 9 do not recite any antibody.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) (a2) as being anticipated by Shimada et al (US2021/0121674).
Shimada teaches a JEV vaccine containing microneedle array that comprises a sheet portions and a plurality of needle portions on the upper surface of the sheet portion (abstract). Shimada teaches the needle portion comprises a JEV vaccine that is an inactivated JEV (paragraph [0071] and [0072]).
Therefore, the teaching from Shimada et al. anticipates claims 1 and 9.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 5, 10, 12, 13, the wherein clause is directed to intended use of the claimed product, which does not further limit the product, a JEV preventive/vaccine agent. Therefore, the teaching from Shimada et al. anticipates these claims.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Shimada et al. teach the microneedle array is autolytic (paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Shimada et al. teach the needle portion comprise a water soluble polymer, a disaccharide, a surfactant, and sheet portion comprises at least water soluble polymer and a disaccharide (paragraph [0014] and [0015]).
Note: The 102(a1) rejection applied above is based on the priority of PCT/JP2021/026729, which is 7/16/2021 because the foreign priority document is not submitted (and perfected).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being anticipated by Machida (US 2016/0000898).
Machida teaches a microneedle device that includes a plurality of microneedles and a based structure (Figure 1, and paragraph [0024] and [0025]). Machida teaches Japanese encephalitis vaccine composition is contained in the coating that is applied on the microneedle (paragraph [0026]). Therefore, the teaching from Machida anticipates the claimed invention of claims 1 and 9.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 5, 10, 12, 13, the wherein clause is directed to intended use of the claimed product, which does not further limit the product, a JEV preventive/vaccine agent. Therefore, the teaching from Machida et al. anticipates these claims.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Machida teaches that the material for sheet and microneedle is preferably a biodegradable polymer (paragraph 0029]), which meets the limitation of autolytic.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) (a2) as being anticipated by Cigarini (US 8,790,658).
Cigarini teaches an antigen-adjuvant composition that is a vitreous composition may be used for coating of microneedle arrays (1st and 2nd col., bridging paragraph). Cigarini teaches that the antigens may include or be parts of cell, bacteria and viruses (col.4, line 63-65), wherein the virus includes Japanese Encephalitis virus (col.5, line 25-26). Therefore, the teaching from Cigarini anticipates the claimed invention of claims 1 and 9.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 5, 10, 12, 13, the wherein clause is directed to intended use of the claimed product, which does not further limit the product, a JEV preventive/vaccine agent. Therefore, the teaching from Cigarini et al. anticipates these claims.
Regarding claim 7 and 15, Cigarini teaches the composition containing antigen and adjuvant further comprises surfactants (col.6, line 35-36), water soluble polymer such as polyethylene glycol (col.8, line 30), and disaccharides (col.8, line 15).
No claims are allowed.
/CELINE X QIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637