DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 2/10/2026 has been entered. Furthermore, in a simple mechanical invention a broad spectrum of prior art must be explored and it is reasonable to permit inquiry into other areas where one of ordinary skill in the art would be aware that similar problems exist Stevenson v. Int'l Trade Comm., 612 F.2d 546, 550, 204 USPQ 276, 280 (CCPA 1979).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not look to Cafaro to modify Jenkins as they are related to different arts. The examiner interprets this as an argument against the analogousness of the art. It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Cafaro teaches a section which is removable for the purpose of recharging a device which is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that Jenkins and Cafaro fail to teach the newly added “coupled to one or more printed circuit board (PCB) controllers,” the examiner disagrees. The examiner points out that Jenkins discloses a power supply member is coupled to one or more PCB controllers as noted in this action.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that the cited references fail to teach the limitations of newly added claims 43 and 44, the examiner disagrees. The new claims are addressed in this action including how the prior art applies to the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23-26, 28, 29, 31-33, 36-39, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins (US 20160051078 A1), hereinafter Jenkins, in view of Cafaro (US 5170525 A), hereinafter Cafaro.
Regarding claims 21 and 29, Jenkins discloses a device for operational control of a cooking apparatus comprising:
a motor disposed in a base member and removably attached to an operational shaft of the cooking apparatus (“a base assembly 1242 including among other features, a drive motor 1250, a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 1256, and a power supply 1264. The control knob 1240 is configured to be fixedly secured directly to a cooking unit (e.g., via non-marking adhesive 1266 or the like) and is operable to rotate an internal drive shaft 1270 of the control knob 1240 via a drive gear 1254 meshed with a pinion 1252 of the drive motor 1250. The internal drive shaft 1270 is coupleable via one or more couplers or adapters 1280 to a control shaft of the cooking unit (not shown) which is associated with a respective burner or cooking location” paragraph [0100]);
a removable top knob encapsulating a power supply member and removably attached to a top of the base member to supply a power to the motor (“A control knob cover 1244 is provided to cover the base assembly 1242 and provides a user-manipulatable control for alternatively adjusting the control knob 1240 manually” paragraph [0100]), wherein the power supply member is coupled to one or more printed circuit board (PCB) controllers (“the control knob 1240 shown therein includes a base assembly 1242 including among other features, a drive motor 1250, a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 1256, and a power supply 1264” paragraph [0100]); and
the removable top knob is detached from the base member without causing the motor to detach from the operational shaft (“The control knob 1240 is configured to be fixedly secured directly to a cooking unit (e.g., via non-marking adhesive 1266 or the like)” paragraph [0100] and “the power source (two of four AAA batteries being illustrated), which may be removably received therein” paragraph [0104] suggests that the cover 1244 is removable to access the batteries without removing motor housed in the control knob 1240).
Jenkins does not disclose:
wherein the power supply member is inseparable from the removable top knob; and
a charger connection connecting the removable top knob to a power source when the removable top knob is detached from the base member;
wherein the power supply member comprises a rechargeable battery.
However, Cafaro teaches:
wherein the power supply member (23) is inseparable from the removable top portion (7); and
a charger connection connecting the removable top portion to a power source when the removable top portion is detached from the base member (“When prongs 15 are inserted into a household mains socket, AC voltage is regulated by the capacitor 65 to charge the battery 23” column 4, line 12);
wherein the power supply member comprises a rechargeable battery (“a battery case having two ends and housing a rechargeable battery and a recharging circuit for recharging said rechargeable battery, said battery case being detachably attached, at one end thereof, to the other end of said gripping member whereby electric power is provided from said battery to said motor for driving said motor” column 2, line 38).
In view of Cafaro’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include:
wherein the power supply member is inseparable from the removable top portion; and
a charger connection connecting the removable top portion to a power source when the removable top portion is detached from the base member;
wherein the power supply member comprises a rechargeable battery as is taught in Cafaro, in the device disclosed by Jenkins because Cafaro teaches a configuration wherein the power supply member is rechargeable. Therefore, including a removable top containing the power supply and charger connection will reduce battery waste in Jenkins.
Regarding claim 23, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 21, wherein the motor is configured to rotate an operational shaft of the cooking apparatus (“The control knob 1240 is configured to be fixedly secured directly to a cooking unit (e.g., via non-marking adhesive 1266 or the like) and is operable to rotate an internal drive shaft 1270 of the control knob 1240 via a drive gear 1254 meshed with a pinion 1252 of the drive motor 1250. The internal drive shaft 1270 is coupleable via one or more couplers or adapters 1280 to a control shaft of the cooking unit (not shown) which is associated with a respective burner or cooking location” paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claim 24, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 23, wherein the base member comprises an opening for receiving the operational shaft of the cooking apparatus (The opening in element 1248).
Regarding claim 25, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 23, wherein the base member comprises a bottom surface secured to a surface of the cooking apparatus surrounding the operational shaft of the cooking apparatus (“base housing portion 1248 may provide a base flange 1261 upon which the adhesive 1266 is provided for attaching the control knob 1240 to a host cooking appliance” paragraph [0104]).
Regarding claim 26, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 21, further comprising:
an adapter configured to attach the motor to an operational shaft of the cooking apparatus (“one or more couplers or adapters 1280” paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claim 28, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 21, wherein the customizable top knob is separable from the motor (Figures 14 and 15 shows 1244 may be separated from base 1242 which houses the motor 1250).
Regarding claim 31, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 21 further comprising a controller, wherein the controller is configured to modulate heating by the cooking apparatus (“A computing device 1150 in the form of a tablet computer is shown in the vicinity of the cooking environment 1112, namely on a shelf 1152 next to the grille 1168. Aspects and/or modules of the ACC systems described herein may execute on the computing device 1150 to provide at least some of the functionalities described herein. As an example, the ACC system may execute on the computing device 1150 and may be configured to receive temperature information wirelessly from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or from a communication module or control module 1174 that is in electrical communication with one or more temperature sensors 1172 embedded in or otherwise coupled to the grille 1168, as indicated by the wireless signal labeled 1158 in FIG. 11. The ACC system may also be configured to provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting one or more of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140c during the cooking episode based at least in part on the received temperature information. For example, in some embodiments, the ACC system may receive temperature information from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or the embedded temperature sensors 1172 throughout at least a portion of a cooking episode from which a temperature profile history may be monitored and recorded for each of the cooking locations 1120a-1120c. The temperature profile history may be directly or indirectly indicative of the temperature of respective food items 1132 received on the grille 1168. The ACC system may then provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting a corresponding one of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140d during the cooking episode for approaching and arriving at a desired temperature and/or maintaining a desired temperature for a select period of time in connection with one or more cooking activities, for example” paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 32, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 31, wherein the controller is configured to modulate heating by the cooking apparatus in response to receiving a control signal from a sensor, a user device, or the cooking apparatus (“A computing device 1150 in the form of a tablet computer is shown in the vicinity of the cooking environment 1112, namely on a shelf 1152 next to the grille 1168. Aspects and/or modules of the ACC systems described herein may execute on the computing device 1150 to provide at least some of the functionalities described herein. As an example, the ACC system may execute on the computing device 1150 and may be configured to receive temperature information wirelessly from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or from a communication module or control module 1174 that is in electrical communication with one or more temperature sensors 1172 embedded in or otherwise coupled to the grille 1168, as indicated by the wireless signal labeled 1158 in FIG. 11. The ACC system may also be configured to provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting one or more of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140c during the cooking episode based at least in part on the received temperature information. For example, in some embodiments, the ACC system may receive temperature information from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or the embedded temperature sensors 1172 throughout at least a portion of a cooking episode from which a temperature profile history may be monitored and recorded for each of the cooking locations 1120a-1120c. The temperature profile history may be directly or indirectly indicative of the temperature of respective food items 1132 received on the grille 1168. The ACC system may then provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting a corresponding one of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140d during the cooking episode for approaching and arriving at a desired temperature and/or maintaining a desired temperature for a select period of time in connection with one or more cooking activities, for example” paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 33, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 31, wherein the controller is configured to modulate heating by the cooking apparatus by causing the motor to turn an operational shaft of the cooking apparatus to a different one of a plurality of ON positions (“A computing device 1150 in the form of a tablet computer is shown in the vicinity of the cooking environment 1112, namely on a shelf 1152 next to the grille 1168. Aspects and/or modules of the ACC systems described herein may execute on the computing device 1150 to provide at least some of the functionalities described herein. As an example, the ACC system may execute on the computing device 1150 and may be configured to receive temperature information wirelessly from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or from a communication module or control module 1174 that is in electrical communication with one or more temperature sensors 1172 embedded in or otherwise coupled to the grille 1168, as indicated by the wireless signal labeled 1158 in FIG. 11. The ACC system may also be configured to provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting one or more of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140c during the cooking episode based at least in part on the received temperature information. For example, in some embodiments, the ACC system may receive temperature information from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or the embedded temperature sensors 1172 throughout at least a portion of a cooking episode from which a temperature profile history may be monitored and recorded for each of the cooking locations 1120a-1120c. The temperature profile history may be directly or indirectly indicative of the temperature of respective food items 1132 received on the grille 1168. The ACC system may then provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting a corresponding one of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140d during the cooking episode for approaching and arriving at a desired temperature and/or maintaining a desired temperature for a select period of time in connection with one or more cooking activities, for example” paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 36, Jenkins discloses a device for operational control of a cooking apparatus comprising:
a motor removably attached to an operational shaft of the cooking apparatus (“a base assembly 1242 including among other features, a drive motor 1250, a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 1256, and a power supply 1264. The control knob 1240 is configured to be fixedly secured directly to a cooking unit (e.g., via non-marking adhesive 1266 or the like) and is operable to rotate an internal drive shaft 1270 of the control knob 1240 via a drive gear 1254 meshed with a pinion 1252 of the drive motor 1250. The internal drive shaft 1270 is coupleable via one or more couplers or adapters 1280 to a control shaft of the cooking unit (not shown) which is associated with a respective burner or cooking location” paragraph [0100]); and
a removable top knob encapsulating a power supply member and removably attached on top of the motor (“A control knob cover 1244 is provided to cover the base assembly 1242 and provides a user-manipulatable control for alternatively adjusting the control knob 1240 manually” paragraph [0100]), the removable top knob is detached from the motor without causing the motor to detach from the operational shaft (“The control knob 1240 is configured to be fixedly secured directly to a cooking unit (e.g., via non-marking adhesive 1266 or the like)” paragraph [0100] and “the power source (two of four AAA batteries being illustrated), which may be removably received therein” paragraph [0104] suggests that the cover 1244 is removable to access the batteries without removing motor housed in the control knob 1240), wherin the power supply member is coupled to one or more printed circuit board (PCB) controllers (“the control knob 1240 shown therein includes a base assembly 1242 including among other features, a drive motor 1250, a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 1256, and a power supply 1264” paragraph [0100]).
Jenkins does not disclose a removable top knob comprising a charger connection connecting the power supply member to a power source when the removable top knob is detached from the motor, wherein the power supply member is inseparable from the removable top knob.
However, Cafaro teaches a removable top portion comprising a charger connection connecting the power supply member to a power source when the removable top portion is detached from the motor, wherein the power supply member is inseparable from the removable top portion (“When prongs 15 are inserted into a household mains socket, AC voltage is regulated by the capacitor 65 to charge the battery 23” column 4, line 12 and “a battery case having two ends and housing a rechargeable battery and a recharging circuit for recharging said rechargeable battery, said battery case being detachably attached, at one end thereof, to the other end of said gripping member whereby electric power is provided from said battery to said motor for driving said motor” column 2, line 38).
In view of Cafaro’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a removable top portion comprising a charger connection connecting the power supply member to a power source when the removable top portion is detached from the motor, wherein the power supply member is inseparable from the removable top portion as is taught in Cafaro, in the device disclosed by Jenkins because Cafaro teaches a configuration wherein the power supply member is rechargeable. Therefore, including a removable top containing the power supply and charger connection will reduce battery waste in Jenkins.
Regarding claim 37, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 36, further comprising a controller, wherein the controller is configured to modulate heating supplied by the cooking apparatus (“A computing device 1150 in the form of a tablet computer is shown in the vicinity of the cooking environment 1112, namely on a shelf 1152 next to the grille 1168. Aspects and/or modules of the ACC systems described herein may execute on the computing device 1150 to provide at least some of the functionalities described herein. As an example, the ACC system may execute on the computing device 1150 and may be configured to receive temperature information wirelessly from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or from a communication module or control module 1174 that is in electrical communication with one or more temperature sensors 1172 embedded in or otherwise coupled to the grille 1168, as indicated by the wireless signal labeled 1158 in FIG. 11. The ACC system may also be configured to provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting one or more of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140c during the cooking episode based at least in part on the received temperature information. For example, in some embodiments, the ACC system may receive temperature information from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or the embedded temperature sensors 1172 throughout at least a portion of a cooking episode from which a temperature profile history may be monitored and recorded for each of the cooking locations 1120a-1120c. The temperature profile history may be directly or indirectly indicative of the temperature of respective food items 1132 received on the grille 1168. The ACC system may then provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting a corresponding one of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140d during the cooking episode for approaching and arriving at a desired temperature and/or maintaining a desired temperature for a select period of time in connection with one or more cooking activities, for example” paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 38, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 37, wherein the controller is configured to modulate heating supplied by the cooking apparatus in response to receiving a control signal from a sensor, a user device or the cooking apparatus (“A computing device 1150 in the form of a tablet computer is shown in the vicinity of the cooking environment 1112, namely on a shelf 1152 next to the grille 1168. Aspects and/or modules of the ACC systems described herein may execute on the computing device 1150 to provide at least some of the functionalities described herein. As an example, the ACC system may execute on the computing device 1150 and may be configured to receive temperature information wirelessly from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or from a communication module or control module 1174 that is in electrical communication with one or more temperature sensors 1172 embedded in or otherwise coupled to the grille 1168, as indicated by the wireless signal labeled 1158 in FIG. 11. The ACC system may also be configured to provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting one or more of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140c during the cooking episode based at least in part on the received temperature information. For example, in some embodiments, the ACC system may receive temperature information from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or the embedded temperature sensors 1172 throughout at least a portion of a cooking episode from which a temperature profile history may be monitored and recorded for each of the cooking locations 1120a-1120c. The temperature profile history may be directly or indirectly indicative of the temperature of respective food items 1132 received on the grille 1168. The ACC system may then provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting a corresponding one of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140d during the cooking episode for approaching and arriving at a desired temperature and/or maintaining a desired temperature for a select period of time in connection with one or more cooking activities, for example” paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 39, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 37, wherein the controller is configured to modulate heating by the cooking apparatus by causing the motor to turn the operational shaft of the cooking apparatus to a different one of a plurality of ON positions (“A computing device 1150 in the form of a tablet computer is shown in the vicinity of the cooking environment 1112, namely on a shelf 1152 next to the grille 1168. Aspects and/or modules of the ACC systems described herein may execute on the computing device 1150 to provide at least some of the functionalities described herein. As an example, the ACC system may execute on the computing device 1150 and may be configured to receive temperature information wirelessly from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or from a communication module or control module 1174 that is in electrical communication with one or more temperature sensors 1172 embedded in or otherwise coupled to the grille 1168, as indicated by the wireless signal labeled 1158 in FIG. 11. The ACC system may also be configured to provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting one or more of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140c during the cooking episode based at least in part on the received temperature information. For example, in some embodiments, the ACC system may receive temperature information from a piece of cooking equipment (not shown) or the embedded temperature sensors 1172 throughout at least a portion of a cooking episode from which a temperature profile history may be monitored and recorded for each of the cooking locations 1120a-1120c. The temperature profile history may be directly or indirectly indicative of the temperature of respective food items 1132 received on the grille 1168. The ACC system may then provide cooking adjustment information for adjusting a corresponding one of the plurality of control devices 1140a-1140d during the cooking episode for approaching and arriving at a desired temperature and/or maintaining a desired temperature for a select period of time in connection with one or more cooking activities, for example” paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 44, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 21, wherein at least one of the one or more PCB controllers is programmed to actuate the motor to rotate the operational shaft (“the cooking information generated by the ACC system may include instructions for automatically manipulating the control devices 640a-640d based at least in part on the received temperature information. In such instances, each of the control devices 640a-640d may be provided with a motor (e.g., a stepper motor) that is configured to rotate a shaft of a heat source adjustment assembly of the cooking unit 610 in response to the cooking adjustment information provided by the ACC system” paragraph [0100] and “electrical contacts 1249 that are electrically coupled to the PCBA 1256 for supplying power to the electrical components of the control knob 1240” paragraph [0104]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins, in view of Cafaro, and further in view of Neil (US 1343086 A), hereinafter Neil.
Regarding claim 27, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 26.
Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, does not disclose wherein the adapter comprises a plurality of gripping jaws.
However, Neil teaches wherein the adapter comprises a plurality of gripping jaws (“wedge-shaped members 6 provided with gripping teeth 7” page 1, line 52).
In view of Neil’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adapter comprises a plurality of gripping jaws as is taught in Neil, in the device disclosed by Jenkins because Neil states “My invention aims to provide a valve handle which will fit any size of valve stem” (page 1, line 21). Therefore, replacing the adapter of Jenkins with the adapter taught by Neil will permit the device of Jenkins to fit any size of valve stem.
Claims 34 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins, in view of Cafaro, and further in view of Yu (US 20060234177 A1), hereinafter Yu.
Regarding claim 34, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 31.
Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, does not disclose wherein the controller receives a timer expiration signal from a timer when an expiration time of the timer elapses, wherein the controller is configured to cause the motor to turn an operational shaft of the cooking apparatus to an OFF position or to a different one of a plurality of ON positions when the controller receives the timer expiration signal.
However, Yu teaches wherein the controller receives a timer expiration signal from a timer when an expiration time of the timer elapses, wherein the controller is configured to cause the motor to turn an operational shaft of the cooking apparatus to an OFF position or to a different one of a plurality of ON positions when the controller receives the timer expiration signal (“when the heater 70 is turned on, the user, by operating on the time control unit 23, may pre-set a predetermined time after which the ignition button 10 is driven to shut off the heater 70. After that predetermined time has elapsed, the timer circuitry 231 is arranged to activate the power unit 21 which in turn drives the runner wheel 22 to rotate. Since the runner wheel 22 is fictionally engaged with the runner track 251 of the runner panel 25, when it is driven to rotate, the ignition button 10 is driven to turn in a direction which shuts off the heater 70. As a result, the ignition button 10 `automatically` returns to its normal position where the heater 70 is shut off” paragraph [0037]).
In view of Yu’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the controller receives a timer expiration signal from a timer when an expiration time of the timer elapses, wherein the controller is configured to cause the motor to turn an operational shaft of the cooking apparatus to an OFF position or to a different one of a plurality of ON positions when the controller receives the timer expiration signal as is taught in Yu, in the device disclosed by Jenkins because Yu states “A main object of the present invention is to provide a time knob arrangement for a gas or an electric heater which is capable of automatically shutting off after a predetermined period of time. In other words, the user is able to pre-set a time schedule for a gas or electric heater” (Paragraph [0009]). Therefore, including the teachings of Yu will prevent leaving on the stove longer than intended.
Regarding claim 43, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 21.
Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, does not disclose wherein the one or more PCB controllers comprise a selectable timer.
However, Yu teaches wherein the one or more PCB controllers comprise a selectable timer (“when the heater 70 is turned on, the user, by operating on the time control unit 23, may pre-set a predetermined time after which the ignition button 10 is driven to shut off the heater 70. After that predetermined time has elapsed, the timer circuitry 231 is arranged to activate the power unit 21 which in turn drives the runner wheel 22 to rotate. Since the runner wheel 22 is fictionally engaged with the runner track 251 of the runner panel 25, when it is driven to rotate, the ignition button 10 is driven to turn in a direction which shuts off the heater 70. As a result, the ignition button 10 `automatically` returns to its normal position where the heater 70 is shut off” paragraph [0037]).
In view of Yu’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the one or more PCB controllers comprise a selectable timer as is taught in Yu, in the device disclosed by Jenkins because Yu states “A main object of the present invention is to provide a time knob arrangement for a gas or an electric heater which is capable of automatically shutting off after a predetermined period of time. In other words, the user is able to pre-set a time schedule for a gas or electric heater” (Paragraph [0009]). Therefore, including the teachings of Yu will prevent leaving on the stove longer than intended.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins, in view of Cafaro, and further in view of Lee (US 20170002586 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 41, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 21.
Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, does not disclose wherein the charger connection comprises a solar panel.
However, Lee teaches wherein the charger connection comprises a solar panel (“the forgoing apparatus further comprises one or more rechargeable batteries for receiving, storing, and supplying electrical power, within the housing; and an energy harvester comprising circuitry for harvesting energy from one or more energy sources, selected from the group consisting of: solar energy, radio frequency energy, kinetic motion energy, or any combination thereof; and wherein said energy harvester is configured for receiving energy for harvesting from one or more energy collection devices selected from the group consisting of: solar panel, radio frequency antenna, kinetic motion generator, or any combination thereof” paragraph [0025]).
Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, does not teach the claimed recharging mechanism. Lee teaches the claimed charging mechanism. The substitution of one known element (the prong charger of Cafaro) for another (the solar charger of Lee) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the inductive connection taught in Grutzke would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for receiving recharging energy Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins, in view of Cafaro, and further in view of Grutzke (DE 102013217273 A1), hereinafter Grutzke.
Regarding claim 42, Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, discloses the device of claim 21.
Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, does not disclose wherein the charger connection comprises a wireless charging receiver configured to recharge the power supply member through an inductive power source.
However, Grutzke teaches wherein the charger connection comprises a wireless charging receiver configured to recharge the power supply member through an inductive power source (“It is preferably provided that the operating element has a charging unit, with which the operating element, in particular in the mounted on the control element recording state, can be charged with energy, in particular inductively rechargeable. As a result of such accumulatory functionality, the control element can be supplied specifically with energy” all citations from machine translation appended to foreign reference).
Jenkins, as modified by Cafaro, does not teach the claimed recharging mechanism. Grutzke teaches the claimed charging mechanism. The substitution of one known element (the prong connection of Cafaro) for another (the inductive connection of Grutzke) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the inductive connection taught in Grutzke would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for receiving recharging energy Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Eckhardt (US 1491342 A)
Naimer (US 2888282 A)
Behnisch (DE 3026620 A1)
Huang (US 20030154970 A1)
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762