DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: interface 158 and spring connector 156. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. These reference numbers (156 and 158) are only shown in the block diagram and not shown in the illustrations.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: foot is configured to lock in place at two or more distinct positions relative to the bearing housing (claim 9) and “formation of a hole in the workpiece at an angle relative to a normal direction of a surface of the workpiece contacted by the interface, and wherein the angle is greater than 0 degrees and less than five degrees” (claim 15) are found in the specification with reference numbers only shown in block diagram with not structural features. How does the interface allow the formation of a hole at a particular angle? How is the foot secured in place after rotating? How does the foot rotate? Also, it is not clear how the pump can “provide lubrication to the bearings of the bearing housing” (claim 17) and also not clear what the pair of bearings (claims 1, 11, and 16) are since no structural mechanism is shown/illustrated to how the fluid reaches the bearings and what/where the pair of bears is/are and the bearings and bearing housing is only shown in block diagram.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, 15-16, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Padget et al. (US 20180036852 A1) and further in view of HALVORSEN et al. (US 20180326507 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 11, and 16, Padget et al. discloses a drilling apparatus (100, fig. 1) comprising an attachment box (102, fig. 1) configured to couple to a machine tool (170 and configured to couple to another machine tool such as rotary tool etc. [0035]), wherein the attachment box includes a plate (electric motor 110/noncircular recess 114); a bearing housing (quick-disconnect system [0036] and/or spring-like bend protectors 124, 126)
an extension tube (sheath or casing 122) positioned between the attachment box and the bearing housing, the extension tube having a flange (fig. 1 flange shown that couples to 102 at 114) at a first end of the extension tube;
a plurality of spring (coil support, spring-like bend protector 124) and a shoulder clips (190/adapter clip 200) combinations that couple the flange to the plate (electric motor 110/noncircular recess 114) a shaft (120) positioned through the bearing housing to couple to the bearings of the bearing housing,
wherein the shaft includes an end effector interface (106) configured to couple to one or more end effectors (drill bit 150 [0037]) of the machine tool at a first end (at 114 or 130) of the shaft, and wherein the shaft includes a tool interface (106) configured to couple to a tool at a second end of the shaft (via bit holder 148); and a foot (170/172) coupled to the bearing housing (figs. 1 and 3-5);
a drill bit (150) configured to couple to a second end (144) of the shaft; wherein a contact tip (240/attachment member 250) of the foot (170) is configured to contact a workpiece during use ([0037-0045], figs. 1-11).
Padget et al. also teaches having a flange/outlet connector 182 attached to connecting hose 172 [0038], figs. 1 and 5) but Padget et al. fails to disclose the bearing housing includes a pair of bearings and a plurality of spring and shoulder screw combinations that couple the flange to the plate.
HALVORSEN et al. teaches a similar drilling apparatus (robotic drilling apparatus 100) comprising an attachment box (501, fig. 6), wherein the attachment box includes a plate (603/605); a bearing housing (613, fig. 4) coupled to the attachment box, wherein the bearing housing includes a pair of bearings (604) and a plurality of spring (606) and shoulder screw (preload adjuster nut [0102]) combinations (606/604 with adjuster nut) that couple a flange (603/609) of wrist (23) to the plate ([0081, 0097-0108], figs. 2 and 5-6). HALVORSEN et al. also teaches foot/shroud 70 with vacuum port 702 is provided for connection to a vacuum source 132, with telescopic body of mating parts 761, 762 with spring (765) to press upper part 761 away and the shroud removes cuttings produced by the drill bit from the workpiece during use [0121-0136], fig. 7).
ZHU et al. also teaches a (handheld electric impact drill, fig. 1) comprising an attachment box (6 and/or 21/16, fig. 6) configured to couple to a machine tool, wherein the attachment box includes a plate (9); a bearing housing (13, fig. 4) coupled to the attachment box, wherein the bearing housing includes a pair of bearings (13); an extension (supporting block 7) positioned between the attachment box and the bearing housing: a flange (6) at a first end of the extension; a plurality of spring and shoulder screw combinations (12/14) that couple the flange to the plate (pages 1-8, figs. 1-10).
Given the teachings of Padget et al. to have a drilling apparatus/system with machine tool attachment box configured to couple to a machine tool with coil support, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the bearing housing to includes a pair of bearings and a plurality of spring and shoulder screw combinations that couple the flange to the plate to reduce friction for the motor shaft and support the shaft at the noncircular recess, reducing vibration with dampening springs with screw adjustments for different length tools/drill bits, guiding the tool/drill bit for stability, an adjustable protective shroud from dust with dust removal, and/or for having flexible spring coupling adjustment for the flexible drill shaft as taught by HALVORSEN et al. and ZHU et al.
Regarding claim 4, Padget et al. fails to discloses the machine tool is a robot and wherein the attachment box is coupled to a tool arm of the robot. HALVORSEN et al. discloses the machine tool is a robot and wherein the attachment box is coupled to a tool arm of the robot (abstract, [0081, 0097-0108], figs. 2 and 5-6).
Given the teachings of Padget et al. to have a drilling apparatus/system with machine tool attachment box configured to couple to a machine tool with coil support, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the machine tool is a robot wherein the attachment box is coupled to a tool arm of the robot for automating purposes, providing accurate tooling on a workpiece and/or for reaching difficult areas as taught by HALVORSEN et al.
Regarding claim 5, Padget et al. discloses the tool includes one of a drill bit, a touch probe, and a pen tool (“a drill bit, a polishing disk, a grinding wheel, a sanding wheel, a cutting wheel or bit, a wire brush, a saw or other rotary tool attachment”, [0037], figs. 1-2 and 5).
Regarding claims 9, 18, and 20, Padget et al.’s foot (170/172) is rotatable about a longitudinal axis of the bearing housing, and wherein the foot is configured to lock in place at two or more distinct positions relative to the bearing housing (plurality of ribs 184 allow some rotation and flex back into place [0041-0042] and teaches having articulating hoses (410/430, [0058-0059], figs. 6-7) and the tool comprises a drill bit and the foot (170) is configured to attach to a first fluid line (vacuum housing 170) that connects to vacuum blower (180 [0038], figs. 1-5). HALVORSEN et al. also teaches a (robotic drilling apparatus 100) with an offset foot (110/120) rotatable about a longitudinal axis of the bearing housing, and wherein the offset foot is configured to lock in place at two or more distinct positions relative to the bearing housing wherein the offset foot includes a position sensor to detect a position of the offset foot relative to the bearing housing with an interface configured to couple to the contact tip, wherein the interface enables formation of a hole in the workpiece at an angle relative to a normal direction of a surface of the workpiece contacted by the interface [0149, 0158], and a vacuum system (132) coupled to the offset foot by a hose (138, abstract, [0045, 0065-0121, 0149, 0170-0171, 0189, 0199-0205], figs. 1-14).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 15, 19, and 21, Padget et al.’s foot (170/172) is rotatable about a longitudinal axis of the bearing housing, and wherein the foot is configured to lock in place at two or more distinct positions relative to the bearing housing (plurality of ribs 184 allow some rotation and flex back into place [0041-0042] and teaches having articulating hoses (410/430, [0058-0059], figs. 6-7).
Padget et al. fails to teach the offset foot includes a position sensor to detect a position of the offset foot relative to the bearing housing with an interface configured to couple to the contact tip, wherein the interface enables formation of a hole in the workpiece at an angle relative to a normal direction of a surface of the workpiece contacted by the interface wherein the attachment box includes sensors and a spring system configured to detect deflection of the bearing housing relative to the attachment box.
HALVORSEN et al. also teaches a (robotic drilling apparatus 100) having an attachment box (24/603) includes sensors and a spring system (vibration reducing assembly 501, position sensor, linear sensors on mount 501/mounting plate 605, sensors to detect linear displacement of suspension system, arm joint positions [0045, 0106-0108, 0114-0117, 0170, 0189, 0200-0201]) configured to detect deflection of the bearing housing relative to the attachment box (spring resistance, position sensors, [0045, 0102-0109, 0170], figs. 1-14) and an offset foot (110/120) rotatable about a longitudinal axis of the bearing housing, and wherein the offset foot is configured to lock in place at two or more distinct positions relative to the bearing housing wherein the offset foot includes a position sensor to detect a position of the offset foot relative to the bearing housing with an interface configured to couple to the contact tip, wherein the interface enables formation of a hole in the workpiece at an angle relative to a normal direction of a surface of the workpiece contacted by the interface [0149, 0158], and a vacuum system (132) coupled to the offset foot by a hose (138, abstract, [0045, 0065-0121, 0149, 0170-0171, 0189, 0199-0205], figs. 1-14).
Given the teachings of Padget et al. to have a drilling apparatus/system with machine tool attachment box configured to couple to a machine tool with coil support, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the offset foot includes a position sensor to detect a position of the offset foot relative to the bearing housing with an interface configured to couple to the contact tip, wherein the interface enables formation of a hole in the workpiece at an angle relative to a normal direction of a surface of the workpiece contacted by the interface wherein the attachment box includes sensors and a spring system configured to detect deflection of the bearing housing relative to the attachment box for providing accurate tooling on a workpiece, prevent overloading/overstrain the workpiece and/or tool, and/or for feedback purposes as taught by HALVORSEN et al.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Padget et al. (US 20180036852 A1) in view of HALVORSEN et al. (US 20180326507 A1) and further in view of Pomeroy et al. (US 4487271 A)
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Padget et al. discloses the tool comprises a drill bit and the foot (170) is configured to attach to a first fluid line (vacuum housing 170) that connects to vacuum blower (180 [0038], figs. 1-5). HALVORSEN et al. also teaches the adjustable protective foot (shroud 70 with vacuum port 702 with adjustable bellows 706) is provided for connection to a vacuum source 132, with telescopic body of mating parts 761, 762 with spring (765) to press upper part 761 away) with a contact tip (707) and the contact tip of the foot is configured to contact a workpiece during use and the shroud removes cuttings produced by the drill bit from the workpiece during use [0121-0136], fig. 7).
Padget et al. fails to disclose the fluid line is to provide a lubricant to the bearings of the bearing housing during use and wherein the foot is configured to attach to one or more fluid lines to provide a mist of lubrication
fluid to the drill bit during use of the drill bit to form a hole in the workpiece.
Pomeroy et al. teaches fluid line is to provide a lubricant to the bearings of the bearing housing during use and wherein the foot is configured to attach to one or more fluid lines to provide a mist of lubrication
fluid to the drill bit during use of the drill bit to form a hole in the workpiece (“fluid admitted through the bearing case is transmitted to the interior of the rotating drill bit and also serves to cool the moving parts of the spindle member” col. 3, lines 39-68, col. 8, lines 1-60, figs. 1-3).
Given the teachings of Padget et al. to have a drilling apparatus/system with machine tool attachment box configured to couple to a machine tool with coil support, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the fluid line to provide a lubricant to the bearings of the bearing housing during use and wherein the foot is configured to attach to one or more fluid lines to provide a mist of lubrication fluid to the drill bit during use of the drill bit to form a hole in the workpiece for having parts lubricated adequately, aid in the keeping tool bit cool, introduction of fluid coolant and/or for having a lubricant refill supply as taught by Pomeroy et al.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 11, and 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over FRASER (US 1210299 A) and further in view of Raimondi (US 7121357 B1) and further in view of HALVORSEN et al. (US 20180326507 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 7, 11, and 16, FRASER discloses a drilling apparatus (fig. 1) comprising an attachment box (1/2, fig. 1) configured to couple to a machine tool (steam or air chest casing 87 and configured to couple to another machine tool such as rotary tool etc. absent any particular structural mechanism or tool claimed), wherein the attachment box includes a plate (50/lateral projection 56 or either head 36 or 51); a bearing housing (14) wherein the bearing housing includes a pair of bearings (17,washer 22 and end portions 13 of rods 8 with tubes 11 and washers 16)
an extension tube (dominant cylinder head 51 with reduced portion 52 or auxiliary head 53 with reduced extension 54, or head 36 with reduced portion 37 each having lateral projection 56) positioned between the attachment box (1/2) and the bearing housing (14), the extension tube (51/56) having a flange (reduced portion 52 forms flange with 51 and/or lateral projection 56) at a first end of the extension tube (figs. 1-3);
a plurality of spring (springs 61) and a shoulder screw combination (rods 57 with heads 58 and nuts 60) combinations that couple the flange (reduced portions 52/54/37 forms flange with 51/53/36 and/or lateral projections 56) to the plate (50); a shaft (18) positioned through the bearing housing to couple to the bearings of the bearing housing (at collar 27 with bearing 17 and/or washer 22),
wherein the shaft includes an end effector interface (shoulder 21/24) configured to couple to one or more end effectors (crank 24) of the machine tool at a first end (20) of the shaft, and
wherein the shaft includes a tool interface (piston 32/piston rod 33 is provided with an extension 35 threaded into a tool head 76) configured to couple to a tool (85) at a second end of the shaft (at collar 71); and a foot (2) coupled to the bearing housing (via tubes 11);
a drill bit (85) configured to couple to a second end (at collar 71) of the shaft; wherein a contact tip (240/attachment member 250) of the foot (170) is configured to contact a workpiece during use ([0037-0045], figs. 1-11).
Padget et al. fails to disclose a contact tip of the foot is configured to contact a workpiece during use
Raimondi teaches a similar hammer drill (18) with a foot (elongated tubular member 20) with a contact tip (32) and the contact tip of the foot is configured to contact a workpiece during use (col. 2, lines 20-65, figs. 1-3).
HALVORSEN et al. teaches a similar drilling apparatus (robotic drilling apparatus 100) comprising an attachment box (501, fig. 6) also teaches an adjustable protective foot (shroud 70 with vacuum port 702 with adjustable bellows 706) is provided for connection to a vacuum source 132, with telescopic body of mating parts 761, 762 with spring (765) to press upper part 761 away) with a contact tip (707) and the contact tip of the foot is configured to contact a workpiece during use and the shroud removes cuttings produced by the drill bit from the workpiece during use [0121-0136], fig. 7).
HALVORSEN et al. states: “tip 782 of the protruding central cylindrical part 783 of the dust guard 708 is made a soft material that easily compresses, allowing contact with the workpiece 124, 126” [0169].
Given the teachings of FRASER to have a drilling apparatus comprising an attachment box configured to couple to a machine tool with spring resistance and a dampening spring system, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the tool head/tool holder and extension tube with having a foot with a contact tip and the contact tip of the foot is configured to contact a workpiece during use for depth adjustment purposes, guide the tool/drill bit for stability, dampening, keeping the tool straight/aligned and/or an adjustable protective shroud from dust with dust removal as taught by Raimondi and HALVORSEN et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over FRASER (US 1210299 A) in view of Raimondi (US 7121357 B1) in view of HALVORSEN et al. (US 20180326507 A1) and further in view of Clark et al. (US 5848859 A).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, FRASER teaches having two spring/shoulder combinations but fails to disclose the plurality of spring and shoulder screw combinations comprises four spring and shoulder screw combination.
Clark et al. also teaches a plurality of spring and shoulder screw combinations comprises four spring and shoulder screw combination (346 col. 6, line 41-col. 8, line 34, figs. 1-7).
Given the teachings of FRASER to have a drilling apparatus/system with machine tool an attachment box configured to couple to a machine tool with spring resistance, position sensors and a dampening spring system, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the two spring/shoulder combinations to be four spring and shoulder screw combination (add two more) to have precise adjustment when vibration forces detected, improved dampening, and or for better ergonomic optimal operation of the tool and/or for more precise action on a workpiece (avoid overshoot/damage to the workpiece) and/or for feedback purposes as taught by Clark et al.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over FRASER (US 1210299 A) in view of Raimondi (US 7121357 B1) in view of HALVORSEN et al. (US 20180326507 A1) and further in view of Zeiler et al. (US 20080302549 A1).
Regarding claims 12-13, FRASER teaches a collar coupled to the drill bit.
FRASER fails to disclose the collar including a radio frequency identifier (RFID) chip with data that identifies the drill bit, wherein the offset foot further comprises a RFID sensor to provide an identifier of the drill bit received from the RFID chip to a controller of the machine tool.
Zeiler et al. teaches having a collar (28/29) including a radio frequency identifier (RFID) chip with data that identifies the drill bit (24), wherein the offset foot further comprises a RFID sensor (36, depth sensor 48) to provide an identifier of the drill bit received from the RFID chip to a controller of the machine tool ([0040-0063], figs. 1-11).
Given the teachings of FRASER to have a drilling apparatus/system with machine tool an attachment box configured to couple to a machine tool with a lubricating tap for the drill bit and chuck parts and a dampening spring system, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the collar including a radio frequency identifier (RFID) chip with data that identifies the drill bit, wherein the offset foot further comprises a RFID sensor to provide an identifier of the drill bit received from the RFID chip to a controller of the machine tool for having information/data to be gathered, recorded or communicated, or indexing the power tool a selected number of degrees to have the correct tool bit/accessory attached for more precise operation of the tool and more precise action on a workpiece (avoid overshoot/damage to the workpiece) and/or for feedback purposes as taught by Zeiler et al.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Padget et al. (US 20180036852 A1) in view of HALVORSEN et al. (US 20180326507 A1) and further in view of Zeiler et al. (US 20080302549 A1).
Regarding claims 12-13, Padget et al. teaches a collar (148/250) coupled to the drill bit.
Padget et al. fails to disclose the collar including a radio frequency identifier (RFID) chip with data that identifies the drill bit, wherein the offset foot further comprises a RFID sensor to provide an identifier of the drill bit received from the RFID chip to a controller of the machine tool.
Zeiler et al. teaches having a collar (28/29) including a radio frequency identifier (RFID) chip with data that identifies the drill bit (24), wherein the offset foot further comprises a RFID sensor (36, depth sensor 48) to provide an identifier of the drill bit received from the RFID chip to a controller of the machine tool ([0040-0063], figs. 1-11).
Given the teachings of Padget et al. to have a drilling apparatus/system with machine tool an attachment box configured to couple to a machine tool with a lubricating tap for the drill bit and chuck parts and a dampening spring system, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the collar including a radio frequency identifier (RFID) chip with data that identifies the drill bit, wherein the offset foot further comprises a RFID sensor to provide an identifier of the drill bit received from the RFID chip to a controller of the machine tool for having information/data to be gathered, recorded or communicated, or indexing the power tool a selected number of degrees to have the correct tool bit/accessory attached for more precise operation of the tool and more precise action on a workpiece (avoid overshoot/damage to the workpiece) and/or for feedback purposes as taught by Zeiler et al.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Padget et al. (US 20180036852 A1) in view of HALVORSEN et al. (US 20180326507 A1) in view of Pomeroy et al. (US 4487271 A) and further in view of Braun et al. (US 20110139475 A1).
Regarding claims 17, HALVORSEN et al. fails to disclose a fluid pump to provide lubrication to the bearings of the bearing housing.
Pomeroy et al. teaches fluid line is to provide a lubricant to the bearings of the bearing housing during use and wherein the foot is configured to attach to one or more fluid lines to provide a mist of lubrication
fluid to the drill bit during use of the drill bit to form a hole in the workpiece (“fluid admitted through the bearing case is transmitted to the interior of the rotating drill bit and also serves to cool the moving parts of the spindle member” col. 3, lines 39-68, col. 8, lines 1-60, figs. 1-3).
Braun et al. teaches having a fluid pump (11) lubricating device to provide lubrication to bearings (engine 1/gear mechanism 3 which inherently has bearings) of a bearing housing (2 [0041-0053], figs. 1-5).
Given the teachings of HALVORSEN et al. to have a drilling apparatus/system with machine tool an attachment box configured to couple to a machine tool and chuck parts and a dampening spring system, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the power tool with including a fluid pump to provide lubrication to the bearings of the bearing housing for lubricating and/or maintenance purposes as taught by Braun et al. and Pomeroy et al.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: US 20090145520 A1-carriage assembly 12, US 20080289839 A1 – sleeve sensor and see 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731