DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to at least independent claims 1, 22 and 32 have been considered, but are not persuasive.
The new ground of rejection cites Trisnadi US 2021/0311310 (with addition fig.22B-23C and para.179-181, 183, 234-235, 245-246 and 251) as teaching the amended claim limitations in claims 1 and 32.
For argument about claim 22, The new ground of rejection cites secondary reference Hong US 20210373337 or Mukawa US 2013/0242555 teaches the newly amended claim limitations in claim 22.
Also, for argument about Mukawa US 2013/0242555 fails to discloses claim limitation “the first light corresponds with a first subset of angles of a field of view of the image, and the second light corresponds to a second subset of angles of the field of view of the image that is different than the first subset of angles” in claim 22. The Examiner respectively disagrees.
The Examiner finds Mukawa discloses “the first light corresponds with a first subset of angles of a field of view of the image (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6 disclose three light beam r1-r3 has different angles), and the second light corresponds to a second subset of angles of the field of view of the image that is different than the first subset of angles (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6 disclose three light beam r1-r3 has different angles)”.
Therefore, The Examiner maintains the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8, 10-13, 15-17, 19, 28 and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trisnadi US 2021/0311310.
Regarding claim 1, Trisnadi discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.9A-9F, 11A-11C, 14-23C, 26A-26C, 30A, 32A and 32B, para.276, comprising:
a microLED display (1030a, 1030b or 1030c) including a plurality of pixels, the plurality of pixels being configured to generate light of at least one color and associated with an image (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B);
a single microlens (1302, 1070, or any of 1070a-1070c) configured to receive the light from the plurality of pixels (see figs.14, 26C, 30A and 32A and 32B. Also, when figs.14 and 30A use embodiment of fig.26C will having three input coupling elements and three output coupling elements, see para.276);
an input coupling element (1122a, 1022a, 1022b or 1022c) configured to incouple the light into a lightguide (1020a, 1020b, or 1020c or combination) (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B), the single microlens configured to relay the light to the input coupling element (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B); and
an output coupling element (800, 810, 820, 1281,1282,1283 or combination) being configured to outcouple portions of the light at a plurality of locations along the lightguide to define at least a portion of an image (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B), the light being replicated at least three times by the lightguide before being outcoupled by the output coupling element (see para.179-181, 183, 234-235, 245-246 and 251 disclose the lightguide can include an orthogonal pupil expander (730,740,750) to replicate light (see figs.9C, 17, 20A,22A-22C) or the output coupler can be exit pupils (EP's), exit pupil expanders (EPE's) or orthogonal pupil expanders (OPE's) to replicate light as well (see figs.9D, 18, 20B,23A-23C)).
Regarding claim 3, Trisnadi discloses less than 10% of the light is outcoupled by the input coupling element (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Regarding claim 5, Trisnadi discloses the single microlens (1032) is monolithically integrated with the microLED display (see fig.26(C)).
Regarding claim 8, Trisnadi discloses the microLED display and the microlens are included in a microlens array projector (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B) comprising a plurality of elemental microlens relays (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B) are arranged in a non-rectilinear pattern (see fig.9E).
Regarding claim 10, Trisnadi discloses the light includes between 5% and 50% of the image (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Regarding claim 11, Trisnadi discloses the input coupling element includes a plurality of separate input coupling elements (1022a to 1022c)(see figs.14, 26C, 30A and 32A and 32B. Also, when figs.14 and 30A use embodiment of fig.26C).
Regarding claim 12, Trisnadi discloses a first input coupling element of the plurality of separate input coupling elements has a first shape (para.251); and
a second input coupling element of the plurality of separate input coupling elements has a second shape that is different than the first shape (para.251).
Regarding claim 13, Trisnadi discloses the plurality of separate input coupling elements are regularly or irregularly spaced (see figs.22A, 23A, 32A and 32B and para.251).
Regarding claim 15, Trisnadi discloses the lightguide has a world-side surface opposite a user-side surface (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B); and
the microLED display and the single microlens are included in a microlens array projector disposed on the world-side surface (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Regarding claim 16, Trisnadi discloses the lightguide is a first lightguide (one side of lightguide, see figs.9F, 14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B), the wearable display system further comprising a second lightguide (the other side of lightguide, see figs.9F, 14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Regarding claim 17, Trisnadi discloses the second lightguide is disposed in a coplanar or wrapped position relative to the first lightguide (see figs.9F, 14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Regarding claim 19, Trisnadi discloses the light is one of:
red light of the image in a wavelength range of 590-680 nanometers (nm);
green light of the image in a wavelength range of 510-570 nm; or
blue light of the image in a wavelength range of 430-490 nm (para.222, see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Regarding claim 28, Trisnadi discloses at least one of the input coupling element or the output coupling element is diffractive (para.159, 216 and 250).
Regarding claim 31, Trisnadi discloses the at least one color includes at least one of red, green, or blue (para.222 and 276, see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Regarding claim 32, Trisnadi discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.9A-9F, 11A-11C, 14-22C, 23A, 26A-26C, 30A, 32A and 32B, para.276, comprising:
a microLED display (1030a, 1030b or 1030c) including a plurality of pixels, the plurality of pixels being configured to generate light associated with an image (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B);
a single microlens (1302, 1070, or any of 1070a-1070c) configured to receive the light from the plurality of pixels (see figs.14, 26C, 30A and 32A and 32B. Also, when figs.14, 30A, 32A and 32B use embodiment of fig.26C with different color of light emitters, see para.276), the light including a red color, a green color, and a blue color; (para.222 and 276, see fig.26C).
an input coupling element (1122a, 1022a, 1022b or 1022c) configured to incouple the light into a lightguide (1020a, 1020b, or 1020c or combination) (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B), the single microlens configured to relay the light to the input coupling element (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B); and
an output coupling element (800, 810, 820, 1281,1282,1283 or combination) being configured to outcouple portions of the light at a plurality of locations along the lightguide to define at least a portion of an image (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B), the light being replicated at least three times by the lightguide before being outcoupled by the output coupling element (see para.179-181, 183, 234-235, 245-246 and 251 disclose the lightguide can include an orthogonal pupil expander (730,740,750) to replicate light (see figs.9C, 17, 20A,22A-22C) or the output coupler can be exit pupils (EP's), exit pupil expanders (EPE's) or orthogonal pupil expanders (OPE's) to replicate light as well (see figs.9D, 18, 20B,23A-23C)).
Regarding claim 33, Trisnadi discloses the output coupling element is a leaky output coupler configured to replicate (para.179 discloses the output coupler can be exit pupils (EP's), exit pupil expanders (EPE's) or orthogonal pupil expanders (OPE's), so that, the output coupling element is a leaky output coupler configured to replicate).
Claim(s) 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mukawa US 2013/0242555.
Regarding claim 22, Mukawa discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.10, 18, 20, 22 and 27, comprising:
a first elemental microlens relay (EMR) including a first microdisplay (511R) including a first plurality of pixels (see fig.22, and para.93 and 181) and configured to generate a first light associated with an image, and a first microlens (a first microlens array 512) configured to receive the first light from the first plurality of pixels (See fig.22);
a second EMR including a second microdisplay (511G) including a second plurality of pixels (see fig.22, and para.93 and 181) and configured to generate a second light associated with the image, and a second microlens (a second microlens array 512) configured to receive the second light from the second plurality of pixels (See fig.22);
a lightguide (321);
a first input coupling element (a first region of 330) configured to incouple the first light into the lightguide;
a second input coupling element (a second region of 330) configured to incouple the second light into the lightguide;
an output coupling element (340) configured to outcouple the first light and the second light to display the image (see figs.10, 22 and 27, para.181 and 201-204), the first light corresponds with a first subset of angles of a field of view of the image (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6), and the second light corresponds to a second subset of angles of the field of view of the image that is different than the first subset of angles (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6).
Regarding claim 23, Mukawa discloses a third EMR including a third microdisplay (511B) including a third plurality of pixels (see fig.22, and para.93 and 181) and configured to generate a third light associated with the image, and a third microlens (512) configured to receive the third light from the third plurality of pixels (see fig.22); and
the third light corresponds to a third subset of angles of the field of view of the image that is different than the first subset of angles and the second subset of angles (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6).
Regarding claim 24, Mukawa discloses the first input coupling element is configured to incouple light of the first subset of angles (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6); and
the second input coupling element is configured to incouple light of the second subset of angles (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6);
the wearable display system further comprising:
a third EMR including a third microdisplay (511B) including a third plurality of pixels (see fig.22, and para.93 and 181) and configured to generate a third light associated with the image, and a third microlens (512) configured to receive the third light from the third plurality of pixels (see fig.22); and
a third input coupling element (third region of 330) configured to incouple the third light into the lightguide;
the third input coupling element is configured to incouple light of a third subset of angles of a field of view of the image that is different than the first subset of angles and the second subset of angles (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6).
Regarding claim 25, Mukawa discloses the first light includes red light of the image; the second light includes green light or blue light of the image (see figs.10 and 22 and para.204).
Regarding claim 26, Mukawa discloses the output coupling element includes a plurality of outcoupling element regions (see fig.10, para.204).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisnadi US 2021/0311310 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Trisnadi discloses the microLED display is located at a distance from the lightguide (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the distance of less than 15 millimeters. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to have the distance of less than 15 millimeters through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the distance of less than 15 millimeters in the wearable display system of Trisnadi for the purpose of reducing the overall wearable display system size by reducing the distance as small as possible.
Regarding claim 6, Trisnadi discloses the microLED display and the single microlens are included in a microlens array projector having a volume (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the volume of less than 0.1 cubic centimeter. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to have the volume of less than 0.1 cubic centimeter through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the volume of less than 0.1 cubic centimeter in the wearable display system of Trisnadi for the purpose of reducing the overall wearable display system size by reducing the volume as small as possible.
Regarding claim 7, Trisnadi discloses the microLED display is configured to emit light with a brightness (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the brightness of at least 0.5 million nits. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to have the brightness of at least 0.5 million nits through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the brightness of at least 0.5 million nits in the wearable display system of Trisnadi for the purpose of displaying with sufficient brightness.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisnadi US 2021/0311310 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li US 20210096283.
Regarding claim 9, Trisnadi discloses the microLED display and the microlens are included in a microlens array projector (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B) comprising a plurality of elemental microlens relays (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the plurality of elemental microlens relays are unequally spaced from each other.
Li discloses a display system, in at least fig.2B, the plurality of elemental microlens relays (260 and 270) are unequally spaced from each other (see figs.2B and para.70 discloses can be other patterns/arrangements) for the purpose of providing light for the display (para.69).
According, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of elemental microlens relays are unequally spaced from each other as taught by Li in the wearable display system of Trisnadi for the purpose of providing light for the display.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisnadi US 2021/0311310 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grundmann US 2021/0159373.
Regarding claim 9, Trisnadi discloses the microLED display and the microlens are included in a microlens array projector (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B) comprising a plurality of elemental microlens relays (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B).
Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the plurality of elemental microlens relays are unequally spaced from each other.
Grundmann discloses a wearable display system, in at least fig.11, the plurality of elemental microlens relays (1130 and 1120) are unequally spaced from each other (para.110-111) for the purpose of providing light for the display.
According, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of elemental microlens relays are unequally spaced from each other as taught by Grundmann in the wearable display system of Trisnadi for the purpose of providing light for the display.
Claim(s) 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisnadi US 2021/0311310 in view of Mukawa US 2013/0242555.
Regarding claim 22, Trisnadi discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.9A-9F, 11A-11C, 32A and 32B, comprising:
a first elemental microlens relay (EMR) including a first microdisplay (1030a) including a first plurality of pixels and configured to generate a first light associated with an image (see figs.32A and 32B and para.184), and a first microlens (1070a) configured to receive the first light from the first plurality of pixels (See figs.32A and 32B);
a second EMR including a second microdisplay (1030b) including a second plurality of pixels and configured to generate a second light associated with the image (see figs.32A and 32B and para.184), and a second microlens (1070b) configured to receive the second light from the second plurality of pixels (see figs.32A and 32B);
a lightguide (1020, or 1020a to 1020c);
a first input coupling element (1022a) configured to incouple the first light into the lightguide;
a second input coupling element (1022b) configured to incouple the second light into the lightguide;
an output coupling element (800, 810, 820, 1281,1282,1283 or combination) configured to outcouple the first light and the second light to display the image (see figs.32A and 32B), the first light corresponds with a first subset of angles of a field of view of the image and the second light corresponds to a second subset of angles of the field of view of the image (see figs.32A and 32B).
Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the second subset of angles is different than the first subset of angles.
Mukawa discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.10, 18, 20, 22 and 27, the second subset of angles (angle of r2) is different than the first subset of angles (angle of r1)(see figs.10 and 27 and para.6) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.6 and figs.10 and 27).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second subset of angles is different than the first subset of angles as taught by Mukawa in the wearable display system of Trisnadi for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle.
Regarding claim 23, Trisnadi discloses further comprising:
a third EMR including a third microdisplay (1030c) including a third plurality of pixels and configured to generate a third light associated with the image (see figs.32A and 32B and para.184), and a third microlens (1070c) configured to receive the third light from the third plurality of pixels (see figs.32A and 32B); and
the third light corresponds to a third subset of angles of the field of view of the image (see figs.32A and 32B).
Mukawa discloses the third subset of angle that is different than the first subset of angles (angle of r3) and the second subset of angles (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.6 and figs.10 and 27). The reason for combining is the same as claim 22.
Regarding claim 24, Trisnadi discloses the first input coupling element is configured to incouple light of the first subset of angles (see figs.32A and 32B); and
the second input coupling element is configured to incouple light of the second subset of angles (see figs.32A and 32B);
the wearable display system further comprising:
a third EMR including a third microdisplay (1030c) including a third plurality of pixels and configured to generate a third light associated with the image (see figs.32A and 32B), and a third microlens (1070c) configured to receive the third light from the third plurality of pixels (see figs.32A and 32B); and
a third input coupling element (1022c) configured to incouple the third light into the lightguide (see figs.32A and 32B);
the third input coupling element is configured to incouple light of a third subset of angles of a field of view of the image (see figs.32A and 32B).
Mukawa discloses the third subset of angle that is different than the first subset of angles (angle of r3) and the second subset of angles (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.6 and figs.10 and 27). The reason for combining is the same as claim 22.
Regarding claim 25, Trisnadi discloses the first light includes red light of the image (para.184); the second light includes green light or blue light of the image (para.184).
Regarding claim 26, Trisnadi discloses the output coupling element includes a plurality of outcoupling element regions (combination of 800, 810 and 820).
Regarding claim 22, Trisnadi discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.9A-9F, 11A-11C, 14-23C, 26A-26C, 30A, 32A and 32B, para.276 (when figs.14 and 30A, 32A and 32B use embodiment of fig.26C with different color of light emitters, see para.276), comprising:
a first elemental microlens relay (EMR) including a first microdisplay (first microdisplay for 1402a) including a first plurality of pixels and configured to generate a first light associated with an image (first light on 1402a), and a first microlens (first 1302 in fig.26C) configured to receive the first light from the first plurality of pixels (see fig.26C);
a second EMR including a second microdisplay (second microdisplay for 1402b) including a second plurality of pixels and configured to generate a second light associated with the image (second light on 1402b), and a second microlens (second 1302 in fig.26C) configured to receive the second light from the second plurality of pixels (see fig.26C);
a lightguide (1020, or 1020a to 1020c);
a first input coupling element (1022a) configured to incouple the first light into the lightguide;
a second input coupling element (1022b) configured to incouple the second light into the lightguide;
an output coupling element (800, 810, 820, 1281,1282,1283 or combination) configured to outcouple the first light and the second light to display the image (see figs.26C, 14, 30A, 32A and 32B).
the first light corresponds with a first subset of angles of a field of view of the image (see figs.26C) and the second light corresponds to a second subset of angles of the field of view of the image (see figs.26C).
Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the second subset of angles is different than the first subset of angles.
Mukawa discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.10, 18, 20, 22 and 27, the second subset of angles (angle of r2) is different than the first subset of angles (angle of r1)(see figs.10 and 27 and para.6) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.6 and figs.10 and 27).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second subset of angles is different than the first subset of angles as taught by Mukawa in the wearable display system of Trisnadi for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle.
Regarding claim 23, Trisnadi discloses further comprising:
a third EMR including a third microdisplay (third microdisplay for 1402c) including a third plurality of pixels and configured to generate a third light associated with the image (third light on 1402c), and a third microlens (third 1302 in fig.26C) configured to receive the third light from the third plurality of pixels (see fig.26C); and
the third light corresponds to a third subset of angles of the field of view of the image (see figs.32A and 32B).
Mukawa discloses the third subset of angle that is different than the first subset of angles (angle of r3) and the second subset of angles (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.6 and figs.10 and 27). The reason for combining is the same as claim 22.
Regarding claim 24, Trisnadi discloses the first input coupling element is configured to incouple light of the first subset of angles (see fig.26C); and
the second input coupling element is configured to incouple light of the second subset of angles (see fig.26C);
the wearable display system further comprising:
a third EMR including a third microdisplay (third microdisplay for 1402c) including a third plurality of pixels and configured to generate a third light associated with the image (third light on 1402c), and a third microlens (third 1302 in fig.26C) configured to receive the third light from the third plurality of pixels (see fig.26C); and
a third input coupling element (1022c) configured to incouple the third light into the lightguide (see figs.32A and 32B);
the third input coupling element is configured to incouple light of a third subset of angles of a field of view of the image (see figs.32A and 32B).
Mukawa discloses the third subset of angle that is different than the first subset of angles (angle of r3) and the second subset of angles (see figs.10 and 27 and para.6) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.6 and figs.10 and 27). The reason for combining is the same as claim 22.
Regarding claim 25, Trisnadi discloses the first light includes red light of the image (para.276); the second light includes green light or blue light of the image (para.276).
Regarding claim 26, Trisnadi discloses the output coupling element includes a plurality of outcoupling element regions (combination of 800, 810 and 820).
Claim(s) 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisnadi US 2021/0311310 in view of Hong US 20210373337.
Regarding claim 22, Trisnadi discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.9A-9F, 11A-11C, 32A and 32B, comprising:
a first elemental microlens relay (EMR) including a first microdisplay (1030a) including a first plurality of pixels and configured to generate a first light associated with an image (see figs.32A and 32B and para.184), and a first microlens (1070a) configured to receive the first light from the first plurality of pixels (See figs.32A and 32B);
a second EMR including a second microdisplay (1030b) including a second plurality of pixels and configured to generate a second light associated with the image (see figs.32A and 32B and para.184), and a second microlens (1070b) configured to receive the second light from the second plurality of pixels (see figs.32A and 32B);
a lightguide (1020, or 1020a to 1020c);
a first input coupling element (1022a) configured to incouple the first light into the lightguide;
a second input coupling element (1022b) configured to incouple the second light into the lightguide;
an output coupling element (800, 810, 820, 1281,1282,1283 or combination) configured to outcouple the first light and the second light to display the image (see figs.32A and 32B), the first light corresponds with a first subset of angles of a field of view of the image and the second light corresponds to a second subset of angles of the field of view of the image (see figs.32A and 32B).
Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the second subset of angles is different than the first subset of angles.
Hong discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.1-20, the second subset of angles (angle of L12) is different than the first subset of angles (angle of L11)(see at least fig.1) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.80).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second subset of angles is different than the first subset of angles as taught by Hong in the wearable display system of Trisnadi for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle.
Regarding claim 23, Trisnadi discloses further comprising:
a third EMR including a third microdisplay (1030c) including a third plurality of pixels and configured to generate a third light associated with the image (see figs.32A and 32B and para.184), and a third microlens (1070c) configured to receive the third light from the third plurality of pixels (see figs.32A and 32B); and
the third light corresponds to a third subset of angles of the field of view of the image (see figs.32A and 32B).
Hong discloses the third subset of angle that is different than the first subset of angles (angle of L13) and the second subset of angles (see at least fig.1) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.80). The reason for combining is the same as claim 22.
Regarding claim 24, Trisnadi discloses the first input coupling element is configured to incouple light of the first subset of angles (see figs.32A and 32B); and
the second input coupling element is configured to incouple light of the second subset of angles (see figs.32A and 32B);
the wearable display system further comprising:
a third EMR including a third microdisplay (1030c) including a third plurality of pixels and configured to generate a third light associated with the image (see figs.32A and 32B), and a third microlens (1070c) configured to receive the third light from the third plurality of pixels (see figs.32A and 32B); and
a third input coupling element (1022c) configured to incouple the third light into the lightguide (see figs.32A and 32B);
the third input coupling element is configured to incouple light of a third subset of angles of a field of view of the image (see figs.32A and 32B).
Hong discloses the third subset of angle that is different than the first subset of angles (angle of L13) and the second subset of angles (see at least fig.1) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.80). The reason for combining is the same as claim 22.
Regarding claim 25, Trisnadi discloses the first light includes red light of the image (para.184); the second light includes green light or blue light of the image (para.184).
Regarding claim 26, Trisnadi discloses the output coupling element includes a plurality of outcoupling element regions (combination of 800, 810 and 820).
Regarding claim 22, Trisnadi discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.9A-9F, 11A-11C, 14-23C, 26A-26C, 30A, 32A and 32B, para.276 (when figs.14 and 30A, 32A and 32B use embodiment of fig.26C with different color of light emitters, see para.276), comprising:
a first elemental microlens relay (EMR) including a first microdisplay (first microdisplay for 1402a) including a first plurality of pixels and configured to generate a first light associated with an image (first light on 1402a), and a first microlens (first 1302 in fig.26C) configured to receive the first light from the first plurality of pixels (see fig.26C);
a second EMR including a second microdisplay (second microdisplay for 1402b) including a second plurality of pixels and configured to generate a second light associated with the image (second light on 1402b), and a second microlens (second 1302 in fig.26C) configured to receive the second light from the second plurality of pixels (see fig.26C);
a lightguide (1020, or 1020a to 1020c);
a first input coupling element (1022a) configured to incouple the first light into the lightguide;
a second input coupling element (1022b) configured to incouple the second light into the lightguide;
an output coupling element (800, 810, 820, 1281,1282,1283 or combination) configured to outcouple the first light and the second light to display the image (see figs.26C, 14, 30A, 32A and 32B).
the first light corresponds with a first subset of angles of a field of view of the image (see figs.26C) and the second light corresponds to a second subset of angles of the field of view of the image (see figs.26C).
Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the second subset of angles is different than the first subset of angles.
Hong discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.1-20, the second subset of angles (angle of L12) is different than the first subset of angles (angle of L11)(see at least fig.1) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.80).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second subset of angles is different than the first subset of angles as taught by Hong in the wearable display system of Trisnadi for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle.
Regarding claim 23, Trisnadi discloses further comprising:
a third EMR including a third microdisplay (third microdisplay for 1402c) including a third plurality of pixels and configured to generate a third light associated with the image (third light on 1402c), and a third microlens (third 1302 in fig.26C) configured to receive the third light from the third plurality of pixels (see fig.26C); and
the third light corresponds to a third subset of angles of the field of view of the image (see figs.32A and 32B).
Hong discloses the third subset of angle that is different than the first subset of angles (angle of L13) and the second subset of angles (see at least fig.1) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.80). The reason for combining is the same as claim 22.
Regarding claim 24, Trisnadi discloses the first input coupling element is configured to incouple light of the first subset of angles (see fig.26C); and
the second input coupling element is configured to incouple light of the second subset of angles (see fig.26C);
the wearable display system further comprising:
a third EMR including a third microdisplay (third microdisplay for 1402c) including a third plurality of pixels and configured to generate a third light associated with the image (third light on 1402c), and a third microlens (third 1302 in fig.26C) configured to receive the third light from the third plurality of pixels (see fig.26C); and
a third input coupling element (1022c) configured to incouple the third light into the lightguide (see figs.32A and 32B);
the third input coupling element is configured to incouple light of a third subset of angles of a field of view of the image (see figs.32A and 32B).
Hong discloses the third subset of angle that is different than the first subset of angles (angle of L13) and the second subset of angles (see at least fig.1) for the purpose of having the viewer may view an image with a wide viewing angle (para.80). The reason for combining is the same as claim 22.
Regarding claim 25, Trisnadi discloses the first light includes red light of the image (para.276); the second light includes green light or blue light of the image (para.276).
Regarding claim 26, Trisnadi discloses the output coupling element includes a plurality of outcoupling element regions (combination of 800, 810 and 820).
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10-13, 15-17, 19, 28 and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukawa US 2013/0242555 in view of Trisnadi US 2021/0311310.
Regarding claim 1, Mukawa discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.10, 18, 20, 22 and 27, comprising:
a microLED display (511R, 511G or 511B) including a plurality of pixels (para.93 and 181), the plurality of pixels being configured to generate light of at least one color and associated with an image (para.93 and 181);
a single microlens (512) configured to receive the light from a pixel (501R or 501G or 501B);
an input coupling element (330) configured to incouple the light into a lightguide (321)(see figs.10 and 22), the single microlens configured to relay the light to the input coupling element (see figs.10 and 22 and para.240); and
an output coupling element (340) being configured to outcouple portions of the light at a plurality of locations along the lightguide to define at least a portion of an image (see fig.10).
Mukawa does not explicitly disclose the single microlens configured to receive the light from the plurality of pixels, and the light being replicated at least three times by the lightguide before being outcoupled by the output coupling element.
Trisnadi discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.9A-9F, 11A-23C and 26A-26C, and para.219 and 276, the single microlens (1302) configured to receive the light from the plurality of pixels (1044a-1044c)(see fig.26C) instead of a pixel (1044a or 1044b)(see fig.26A or fig.26B), and the light being replicated at least three times by the lightguide (1020a, 1020b, or 1020c or combination) (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B) before being outcoupled by the output coupling element (800, 810, 820, 1281,1282,1283 or combination)(see para.179-181, 183, 234-235, 245-246 and 251 disclose the lightguide can include an orthogonal pupil expander (730,740,750) to replicate light (see figs.9C, 17, 20A,22A-22C), or the output coupler can be exit pupils (EP's), exit pupil expanders (EPE's) or orthogonal pupil expanders (OPE's) to replicate light as well (see figs.9D, 18, 20B,23A-23C)) for the purpose of having an advantageously simple projection system using a full-color LED micro-display (para.276).
According, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the single microlens configured to receive the light from the plurality of pixels instead of a pixel, and the light being replicated at least three times by the lightguide before being outcoupled by the output coupling element as taught by Trisnadi in the wearable display system of Mukawa in order to have the single microlens configured to receive the light from the plurality of pixels, and the light being replicated at least three times by the lightguide before being outcoupled by the output coupling element for the purpose of having an advantageously simple projection system using a full-color LED micro-display.
Regarding claim 3, Mukawa discloses less than 10% of the light is outcoupled by the input coupling element (see fig.10).
Regarding claim 4, Mukawa discloses the microLED display is located at a distance from the lightguide (see figs.10 and 22).
Mukawa in view of Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the distance of less than 15 millimeters. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to have the distance of less than 15 millimeters through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the distance of less than 15 millimeters in the wearable display system of Mukawa in view of Trisnadi for the purpose of reducing the overall wearable display system size by reducing the distance as small as possible.
Regarding claim 5, Mukawa discloses the single microlens is monolithically integrated with the microLED display (see fig.22).
Regarding claim 6, Mukawa discloses the microLED display and the single microlens are included in a microlens array projector having a volume (see figs.10 and 22).
Mukawa in view of Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the volume of less than 0.1 cubic centimeter. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to have the volume of less than 0.1 cubic centimeter through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the volume of less than 0.1 cubic centimeter in the wearable display system of Mukawa in view of Trisnadi for the purpose of reducing the overall wearable display system size by reducing the volume as small as possible.
Regarding claim 7, Mukawa discloses the microLED display is configured to emit light with a brightness (see figs.10 and 20).
Mukawa in view of Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the brightness of at least 0.5 million nits. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to have the brightness of at least 0.5 million nits through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the brightness of at least 0.5 million nits in the wearable display system of Mukawa in view of Trisnadi for the purpose of displaying with sufficient brightness.
Regarding claim 10, Mukawa discloses the light includes between 5% and 50% of the image (see figs.10 and 22, about 33.3%).
Regarding claim 11, Mukawa does not explicitly disclose the input coupling element includes a plurality of separate input coupling elements.
Trisnadi discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.11A, 12, 22A-23C, 26A and 26C and para.276, the input coupling element includes a plurality of separate input coupling elements (1022a to 1022c)(see figs.11A and 12) for the purpose of selecting the dominant direction of light output for each of the micro display (para.201).
According, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the input coupling element includes a plurality of separate input coupling elements as taught by Trisnadi in the wearable display system of Mukawa for the purpose of selecting the dominant direction of light output for each of the micro display.
Regarding claim 12, Trisnadi discloses a first input coupling element of the plurality of separate input coupling elements has a first shape (para.251); and
a second input coupling element of the plurality of separate input coupling elements has a second shape that is different than the first shape (para.251) for the purpose of selecting the dominant direction of light output for each of the micro display (para.201). The reason for combining is the same as claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Trisnadi discloses the plurality of separate input coupling elements are regularly or irregularly spaced (see figs.11A and 12 and para.251) for the purpose of selecting the dominant direction of light output for each of the micro display (para.201). The reason for combining is the same as claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, Mukawa discloses the lightguide has a world-side surface (323) opposite a user-side surface (321)(see fig.10); and
the microLED display and the single microlens are included in a microlens array projector disposed on the world-side surface (see fig.10).
Regarding claim 16, Mukawa discloses the lightguide is a first lightguide (see figs.18 and 20), the wearable display system further comprising a second lightguide (see figs.18 and 20).
Regarding claim 17, Mukawa discloses the second lightguide is disposed in a coplanar or wrapped position relative to the first lightguide (see fig.20).
Regarding claim 19, Mukawa discloses the light is one of:
red light of the image in a wavelength range of 590-680 nanometers (nm);
green light of the image in a wavelength range of 510-570 nm; or
blue light of the image in a wavelength range of 430-490 nm (see para.204 and fig.20).
Regarding claim 28, Mukawa discloses at least one of the input coupling element or the output coupling element is diffractive (para.204 and 234).
Regarding claim 31, Mukawa discloses the at least one color includes at least one of red, green, or blue (see fig.22).
Regarding claim 31, Trisnadi discloses the at least one color includes at least one of red, green, or blue (see fig.26C) for the purpose of having an advantageously simple projection system using a full-color LED micro-display (para.276). The reason for combining is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 32, Mukawa discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.10, 18, 20, 22 and 27, comprising:
a microLED display (511R, 511G or 511B) including a plurality of pixels (para.93 and 181), the plurality of pixels being configured to generate light associated with an image (para.93 and 181);
a single microlens (512) configured to receive the light from a pixel (501R or 501G or 501B);
an input coupling element (330) configured to incouple the light into a lightguide (321)(see figs.10 and 22), the single microlens configured to relay the light to the input coupling element (see figs.10 and 22 and para.240); and
an output coupling element (340) configured to outcouple portions of the light at a plurality of locations along the lightguide to define at least a portion of an image (see fig.10).
Mukawa does not explicitly disclose the single microlens configured to receive the light from the plurality of pixels, the light including a red color, a green color, and a blue color, and the light being replicated at least three times by the lightguide before being outcoupled by the output coupling element.
Trisnadi discloses a wearable display system, in at least figs.9A-9F, 11A-23C and 26A-26C, and para.219 and 276, the single microlens (1302) configured to receive the light from the plurality of pixels (1044a-1044c)(see fig.26C) instead of a pixel (1044a or 1044b)(see fig.26A or fig.2B), the light including a red color, a green color, and a blue color (see fig.26C), and the light being replicated at least three times by the lightguide (1020a, 1020b, or 1020c or combination) (see figs.14, 26A-26C, 30A and 32A and 32B) before being outcoupled by the output coupling element (800, 810, 820, 1281,1282,1283 or combination)(see para.179-181, 183, 234-235, 245-246 and 251 disclose the lightguide can include an orthogonal pupil expander (730,740,750) to replicate light (see figs.9C, 17, 20A,22A-22C), or the output coupler can be exit pupils (EP's), exit pupil expanders (EPE's) or orthogonal pupil expanders (OPE's) to replicate light as well (see figs.9D, 18, 20B,23A-23C)) for the purpose of having an advantageously simple projection system using a full-color LED micro-display (para.276).
According, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the single microlens configured to receive the light from the plurality of pixels instead of a pixel, the light including a red color, a green color, and a blue color, and the light being replicated at least three times by the lightguide before being outcoupled by the output coupling element as taught by Trisnadi in the wearable display system of Mukawa in order to have the single microlens configured to receive the light from the plurality of pixels, the light including a red color, a green color, and a blue color, and the light being replicated at least three times by the lightguide before being outcoupled by the output coupling element for the purpose of having an advantageously simple projection system using a full-color LED micro-display.
Regarding claim 33, Trisnadi discloses the output coupling element is a leaky output coupler configured to replicate (para.179 discloses the output coupler can be exit pupils (EP's), exit pupil expanders (EPE's) or orthogonal pupil expanders (OPE's), so that, the output coupling element is a leaky output coupler configured to replicate) for the purpose of having an advantageously simple projection system using a full-color LED micro-display (para.276). The reason for combining is the same as claim 32.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukawa US 2013/0242555 in view of Trisnadi US 2021/0311310 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li US 20210096283.
Regarding claim 8, Mukawa discloses the microLED display and the microlens are included in a microlens array projector (see figs.10 and 22) comprising a plurality of elemental microlens relays (see figs.10 and 22).
Mukawa in view of Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the plurality of elemental microlens relays are arranged in a non-rectilinear pattern.
Li discloses a display system, in at least fig.2B, the plurality of elemental microlens relays (260 and 270) are arranged in a non-rectilinear pattern (see figs.2B and para.70 discloses can be other patterns/arrangements) for the purpose of providing light for the display (para.69).
According, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of elemental microlens relays are arranged in a non-rectilinear pattern as taught by Li in the wearable display system of Mukawa in view of Trisnadi for the purpose of providing light for the display.
Regarding claim 9, Mukawa discloses the microLED display and the microlens are included in a microlens array projector (see figs.10 and 22) comprising a plurality of elemental microlens relays (see figs.10 and 22).
Mukawa in view of Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the plurality of elemental microlens relays are unequally spaced from each other.
Li discloses a display system, in at least fig.2B, the plurality of elemental microlens relays (260 and 270) are unequally spaced from each other (see figs.2B and para.70 discloses can be other patterns/arrangements) for the purpose of providing light for the display (para.69).
According, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of elemental microlens relays are unequally spaced from each other as taught by Li in the wearable display system of Mukawa in view of Trisnadi for the purpose of providing light for the display.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukawa US 2013/0242555 in view of Trisnadi US 2021/0311310 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grundmann US 2021/0159373.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Mukawa discloses the microLED display and the single microlens are included in a microlens array projector (see figs.10 and 22) including a plurality of elemental microlens relays (see figs.10 and 22).
Mukawa in view of Trisnadi does not explicitly disclose the plurality of elemental microlens relays arranged in a non-rectilinear pattern or the plurality of elemental microlens relays unequally spaced from each other.
Grundmann discloses a wearable display system, in at least fig.11, the plurality of elemental microlens relays (1130 and 1120) are arranged in a non-rectilinear pattern (para.110-111) or the plurality of elemental microlens relays (1130 and 1120) are unequally spaced from each other (para.110-111) for the purpose of providing light for the display.
According, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of elemental microlens relays are arranged in a non-rectilinear pattern or the plurality of elemental microlens relays are unequally spaced from each other as taught by Grundmann in the wearable display system of Mukawa in view of Trisnadi for the purpose of providing light for the display.
Contact Information
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871