DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11, filed 03/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20220159689 A1, hereinafter "Huang") in view of Chavva et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210351885 A1, hereinafter "Chavva") and Muruganathan et al. (WO 2021161223 A1, hereinafter "Muruganathan") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20170041118-A1 to Liu.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11, filed 03/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-3, 12-13, and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chavva and Muruganathan in view of Yerramalli et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210409086 A1, hereinafter "Yerramalli") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20170041118-A1 to Liu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220159689 A1 to Huang et al., from hereon Huang in view of US20210351885-A1 to Chavva et al., from hereon Chavva and US-11984958B2 to Huang et al., from hereon Huang-958.
Regarding claim 1 Huang teaches…a method, comprising: receiving, by a UE, a first Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); receiving, by the UE, a second CSI-RS(P.17 discloses…the terminal device reports the information about at least two types of the CSI and/or the CQIs, the method further includes: receiving, by the terminal device, a CSI-RS by using a second receiving state, and calculating first CSI and/or a first CQI that correspond/corresponds to the first receiving state and second CSI and/or a second CQI that correspond/corresponds to the second receiving state ); but does not teach… calculating, by the UE, a first predicted channel state information based on the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS; and transmitting, to a network node (gNB), a first precoding matrix corresponding to the first predicted channel state information.
Chavva teaches…… calculating, by the UE, a first predicted channel state information based on the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS(Fig. 13 A, P. 177 discloses… and P. 33 further discloses… generating Channel State Information (CSI) reports, the method comprising: determining, by a User Equipment (UE) (601), a plurality of radio parameters for a connection between the UE (601) and a Next Generation node B (gNB) (607); computing, by a neural network (602c) in the UE (601), values of CSI feedback parameters at a current time instance based on the determined plurality of radio parameters; predicting, by the neural network (602c), probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at a future time instance; generating, by the neural network (602c), a CSI report, by compiling at least one of the computed values of the CSI feedback parameters and the predicted values the CSI feedback parameters; and transmitting, by the UE (601), the CSI report to the gNB (607);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Huang by incorporating the teachings of Chavva because the method and device allow for reporting CSI which includes parameters using machine language and computing predictive values using the channel variation and the measurements which are reported in the measurement reports transmitted to the network devices (Chavva, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 4 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the method of claim 1, Chavva teaches…wherein the first predicted channel state information is predicted for a first point in time, the first point in time being a set time interval after the transmitting of a legacy channel state information(Fig. 13a, P177, discloses… UE 601 can compute the feedback parameters (such as RI, PMI, CQI, CRI, RSRP, and so on), to be included in the CSI report, using the CSI-RS. The UE 601 can generate the plurality of CSI reports based on the computed and predicted feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration included in the RRC message.. 179 further discloses… The UE 601 can compute and predict the feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration, for generating ‘M’ CSI reports, during a reporting slot after the time instance ‘t+(M−1)*Δ’. As the UE 601 had generated CSI reports, which need to be sent to the gNB 607 at future time instances, ).
Regarding claim 5 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the method of claim 1, Chavva teaches…wherein the first predicted channel state information is predicted for a first point in time, the first point in time being a set time interval after a time of receipt, by the UE, of a most recent CSI-RS(Fig. 13a, P177, discloses… UE 601 can compute the feedback parameters (such as RI, PMI, CQI, CRI, RSRP, and so on), to be included in the CSI report, using the CSI-RS. The UE 601 can generate the plurality of CSI reports based on the computed and predicted feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration included in the RRC message.. 179 further discloses… The UE 601 can compute and predict the feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration, for generating ‘M’ CSI reports, during a reporting slot after the time instance ‘t+(M−1)*Δ’. As the UE 601 had generated CSI reports, which need to be sent to the gNB 607 at future time instances, ).
Regarding claim 6 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the method of claim 1, Chavva teaches…wherein the transmitting of the first precoding matrix comprises transmitting an array of coefficients, the first precoding matrix being a portion of an array product of the array of coefficients with a plurality of bases(P.50 discloses…the dominant Eigen vector is determined based on a plurality of feature vectors generated based on content derived from at least one of at least one CSI-R) and at least one SSB; quantizing the dominant Eigen vector to a nearest valid PMI value, wherein the gNB (607) provides a plurality of valid PMI values to the UE (601); and generating at least one of a Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) beam, amplitude coefficients and phase coefficients, based on the quantized dominant Eigen vector, wherein the predicted value of PMI comprises at least one of the DFT beam, amplitude coefficients and phase coefficients. ).
Regarding claim 7 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the method of claim 6, Chavva teaches…wherein: the first predicted channel state information is predicted for a first point in time; and the method further comprises: calculating, by the UE, a second predicted channel state information for a second point in time, different from the first point in time, based on the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS, and transmitting, to the network node, a second precoding matrix corresponding to the second predicted channel state information, the second precoding matrix and the first precoding matrix being transmitted in one CSI report(P. 177 discloses… UE 601 can compute the feedback parameters (such as RI, PMI, CQI, CRI, RSRP, and so on), to be included in the CSI report, using the CSI-RS. The UE 601 can generate the plurality of CSI reports based on the computed and predicted feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration included in the RRC message.. 179 further discloses… The UE 601 can compute and predict the feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration, for generating ‘M’ CSI reports, during a reporting slot after the time instance ‘t+(M−1)*Δ’. As the UE 601 had generated CSI reports, which need to be sent to the gNB 607 at future time instances,).
Regarding claim 8 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the of claim 7, Chavva teaches…wherein: the second precoding matrix is a portion of the array product of the array of coefficients with the plurality of bases; and the plurality of bases includes a single set of Doppler domain bases commonly selected for all spatial domain bases and for all frequency domain bases per layer(P.178 discloses… The number of CSI reports that can be generated by the UE 601 can be dynamically updated based on the channel conditions. Based on the predicted Doppler spread and performance limitations of the neural network 602c, the UE 601 can choose to generate an optimal number of CSI reports, such that each report is accurate enough by a predefined threshold. The UE 601 may not predict CSI reports until all ‘M’ reports have been transmitted ).
Regarding claim 11 Huang teaches…a User Equipment (UE) comprising(P. 67 discloses… a device that provides voice and/or data connectivity for a user, and may also be referred to as user equipment (user equipment, UE), an access terminal, a subscriber unit, a subscriber station, a mobile station, a remote station, a remote terminal, a mobile device, a user terminal, a terminal, a wireless communication device, a user agent, or a user apparatus): one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause performance of(P.236 ): receiving a first Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS);receiving a second CSI-RS RS (P.17 discloses…the terminal device reports the information about at least two types of the CSI and/or the CQIs, the method further includes: receiving, by the terminal device, a CSI-RS by using a second receiving state, and calculating first CSI and/or a first CQI that correspond/corresponds to the first receiving state and second CSI and/or a second CQI that correspond/corresponds to the second receiving state ); but does not teach…calculating a first predicted channel state information based on the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS; and transmitting, to a network node, a first precodinq matrix corresponding to the first predicted channel state information.
Chavva teaches… calculating a first predicted channel state information based on the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS(Fig. 13 A, P. 177 discloses… and P. 33 further discloses… generating Channel State Information (CSI) reports, the method comprising: determining, by a User Equipment (UE) (601), a plurality of radio parameters for a connection between the UE (601) and a Next Generation node B (gNB) (607); computing, by a neural network (602c) in the UE (601), values of CSI feedback parameters at a current time instance based on the determined plurality of radio parameters; predicting, by the neural network (602c), probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at a future time instance; generating, by the neural network (602c), a CSI report, by compiling at least one of the computed values of the CSI feedback parameters and the predicted values the CSI feedback parameters; and transmitting, by the UE (601), the CSI report to the gNB (607);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Huang by incorporating the teachings of Chavva because the method and device allow for reporting CSI which includes parameters using machine language and computing predictive values using the channel variation and the measurements which are reported in the measurement reports transmitted to the network devices (Chavva, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Huang-958 teaches…and transmitting, to a network node, a first precodinq matrix corresponding to the first predicted channel state information (Col. 14, Lns. 16-35 discloses the transmitting to a network node a first precoding matrix… A downlink precoding matrix for downlink transmissions from the base station may be determined based on the measurement report. Full-duplex communications using the uplink and downlink precoding matrices may thus mitigate self-interference and enhance throughput of the full-duplex communications…(15) Additionally or alternatively, a UE may receive a downlink reference signal (e.g., a CSI-RS) and determine a downlink precoding matrix. Based on the downlink precoding matrix, the UE may determine a subset of uplink precoding matrices based on self-interference estimates associated with uplink transmissions using the subset of uplink precoding matrices and downlink transmissions that use the downlink precoding matrix. The UE may transmit a CSI report and indicate the determined downlink precoding matrix and the subset of uplink precoding matrices. The UE may transmit an uplink reference signal, and the base station may select one of the subset of uplink precoding matrices for use in full-duplex communications with the UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Huang by incorporating the teachings of Huang-958 because the method and device allow for calculating precoders based on received CSI report and specifically in full-duplex communication using uplink and downlink precoding matrices may thus mitigate self-interference and enhance throughput of the full-duplex communication (Huang-958,Col. 2, Lns. 9-13). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 20 Huang teaches…a User Equipment (UE) comprising (P. 15): means for processing; and a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the means for processing, cause performance of (P.15 ): receiving a first Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); receiving a second CSI-RS(P.17 discloses…the terminal device reports the information about at least two types of the CSI and/or the CQIs, the method further includes: receiving, by the terminal device, a CSI-RS by using a second receiving state, and calculating first CSI and/or a first CQI that correspond/corresponds to the first receiving state and second CSI and/or a second CQI that correspond/corresponds to the second receiving state ); but does not teach…calculating a first predicted channel state information based on the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS; and transmitting, to a network node, a first precodinq matrix corresponding to the first predicted channel state information.
Chavva teaches… calculating a first predicted channel state information based on the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS(Fig. 13 A, P. 177 discloses… and P. 33 further discloses… generating Channel State Information (CSI) reports, the method comprising: determining, by a User Equipment (UE) (601), a plurality of radio parameters for a connection between the UE (601) and a Next Generation node B (gNB) (607); computing, by a neural network (602c) in the UE (601), values of CSI feedback parameters at a current time instance based on the determined plurality of radio parameters; predicting, by the neural network (602c), probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at a future time instance; generating, by the neural network (602c), a CSI report, by compiling at least one of the computed values of the CSI feedback parameters and the predicted values the CSI feedback parameters; and transmitting, by the UE (601), the CSI report to the gNB (607);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Huang by incorporating the teachings of Chavva because the method and device allow for reporting CSI which includes parameters using machine language and computing predictive values using the channel variation and the measurements which are reported in the measurement reports transmitted to the network devices (Chavva, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Huang-958 teaches…and transmitting, to a network node, a first precodinq matrix corresponding to the first predicted channel state information (Col. 14, Lns. 16-35 discloses the transmitting to a network node a first precoding matrix… A downlink precoding matrix for downlink transmissions from the base station may be determined based on the measurement report. Full-duplex communications using the uplink and downlink precoding matrices may thus mitigate self-interference and enhance throughput of the full-duplex communications…(15) Additionally or alternatively, a UE may receive a downlink reference signal (e.g., a CSI-RS) and determine a downlink precoding matrix. Based on the downlink precoding matrix, the UE may determine a subset of uplink precoding matrices based on self-interference estimates associated with uplink transmissions using the subset of uplink precoding matrices and downlink transmissions that use the downlink precoding matrix. The UE may transmit a CSI report and indicate the determined downlink precoding matrix and the subset of uplink precoding matrices. The UE may transmit an uplink reference signal, and the base station may select one of the subset of uplink precoding matrices for use in full-duplex communications with the UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Huang by incorporating the teachings of Huang-958 because the method and device allow for calculating precoders based on received CSI report and specifically in full-duplex communication using uplink and downlink precoding matrices may thus mitigate self-interference and enhance throughput of the full-duplex communication (Huang-958,Col. 2, Lns. 9-13). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Claim(s) 2-3, 12-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220159689 A1 to Huang et al., from hereon Huang, US20210351885-A1 to Chavva et al., from hereon Chavva and WO-2021161223-A1 to Muruganathan in view of US-20210409086-A1 to Yerramalli et al, from hereon Yerramalli.
Regarding claim 2 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the method of claim 1, but do not teach…further comprising reporting, by the UE, a capability to predict a channel state information.
Yerramalli teaches…further comprising reporting, by the UE, a capability to predict a channel state information (P.91 discloses… a UE may be capable of predicting CSI for future time slots and determining whether the predicted CSI represents a significant change in previously reported CSI using channel prediction algorithms. In addition, a UE may be capable of interpolating CSI between frequency bands or using downlink CSI to predict uplink CSI on the same or different frequency band ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 by incorporating the teachings of Yerramalli because the method and device allow for dynamically modify channel state information settings utilized by an UE in reporting CSI to a base station (Yarramalli, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 3 Huang, Chavva, Huang-958, and Yerramalli teach the method of claim 2, wherein the reporting comprises reporting a greatest time in the future at which the UE is able to predict the channel state information(P. 127 discloses… The CSI optimization circuitry 948 may further be configured to receive a capability of the scheduled entity to provide the recommendation 918 to modify the CSI setting(s) 915. For example, the scheduled entity may indicate its capability to provide the recommendation 918 in one or more scenarios. In some examples, the scheduled entity may indicate its capability to predict CSI for future time slots, determine whether the predicted CSI represents a significant change with respect to previously reported CSI using channel prediction algorithms).
Regarding claim 12 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the UE of claim 11, but do not teach…wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause performance of reporting, by the UE, a capability to predict a channel state information.
Yarramalli teaches… wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause performance of reporting, by the UE, a capability to predict a channel state information(P.91 discloses… a UE may be capable of predicting CSI for future time slots and determining whether the predicted CSI represents a significant change in previously reported CSI using channel prediction algorithms. In addition, a UE may be capable of interpolating CSI between frequency bands or using downlink CSI to predict uplink CSI on the same or different frequency band ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 by incorporating the teachings of Yerramalli because the method and device allow for dynamically modify channel state information settings utilized by an UE in reporting CSI to a base station (Yarramalli, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 13 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the UE of claim 12, Yarramali teaches…wherein the reporting comprises reporting a greatest time in the future at which the UE is able to predict the channel state information P.91 discloses… a UE may be capable of predicting CSI for future time slots and determining whether the predicted CSI represents a significant change in previously reported CSI using channel prediction algorithms. In addition, a UE may be capable of interpolating CSI between frequency bands or using downlink CSI to predict uplink CSI on the same or different frequency band ).
Regarding claim 15 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the UE of claim 13, Chavva teaches…wherein the first predicted channel state information is predicted for a first point in time, the first point in time being a set time interval after the transmitting of a legacy channel state information(Fig. 13a, P177, discloses… UE 601 can compute the feedback parameters (such as RI, PMI, CQI, CRI, RSRP, and so on), to be included in the CSI report, using the CSI-RS. The UE 601 can generate the plurality of CSI reports based on the computed and predicted feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration included in the RRC message.. 179 further discloses… The UE 601 can compute and predict the feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration, for generating ‘M’ CSI reports, during a reporting slot after the time instance ‘t+(M−1)*Δ’. As the UE 601 had generated CSI reports, which need to be sent to the gNB 607 at future time instances, ).
Regarding claim 16 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the UE of claim 13, Chavva teaches…wherein the first predicted channel state information is predicted for a first point in time, the first point in time being a set time interval after a time of receipt, by the UE, of a most recent CSI-RS(Fig. 13a, P177, discloses… UE 601 can compute the feedback parameters (such as RI, PMI, CQI, CRI, RSRP, and so on), to be included in the CSI report, using the CSI-RS. The UE 601 can generate the plurality of CSI reports based on the computed and predicted feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration included in the RRC message.. 179 further discloses… The UE 601 can compute and predict the feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration, for generating ‘M’ CSI reports, during a reporting slot after the time instance ‘t+(M−1)*Δ’. As the UE 601 had generated CSI reports, which need to be sent to the gNB 607 at future time instances, ).
Regarding claim 17 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the UE of claim 13, Chavva teaches…wherein the transmitting of the first precoding matrix comprises transmitting an array of coefficients, the first precoding matrix being a portion of an array product of the array of coefficients with a plurality of bases(P.50 discloses…the dominant Eigen vector is determined based on a plurality of feature vectors generated based on content derived from at least one of at least one CSI-R) and at least one SSB; quantizing the dominant Eigen vector to a nearest valid PMI value, wherein the gNB (607) provides a plurality of valid PMI values to the UE (601); and generating at least one of a Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) beam, amplitude coefficients and phase coefficients, based on the quantized dominant Eigen vector, wherein the predicted value of PMI comprises at least one of the DFT beam, amplitude coefficients and phase coefficients. ).
Regarding claim 18 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the UE of claim 17, Chavva teaches…wherein: the first predicted channel state information is predicted for a first point in time; and the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause performance of: calculating, by the UE, a second predicted channel state information for a second point in time, different from the first point in time, based on the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS, and transmitting, to the network node, a second precoding matrix corresponding to the second predicted channel state information, the second precoding matrix and the first precoding matrix being transmitted in one CSI report(P. 177 discloses… UE 601 can compute the feedback parameters (such as RI, PMI, CQI, CRI, RSRP, and so on), to be included in the CSI report, using the CSI-RS. The UE 601 can generate the plurality of CSI reports based on the computed and predicted feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration included in the RRC message.. 179 further discloses… The UE 601 can compute and predict the feedback parameters, as per the feedback configuration, for generating ‘M’ CSI reports, during a reporting slot after the time instance ‘t+(M−1)*Δ’. As the UE 601 had generated CSI reports, which need to be sent to the gNB 607 at future time instances,). .
Regarding claim 19 Huang, Chavva, and Huang-958 teach the UE of claim 18, wherein: the second precoding matrix is a portion of the array product of the array of coefficients with the plurality of bases; and the plurality of bases includes a single set of Doppler domain bases commonly selected for all spatial domain bases and for all frequency domain bases per layer(P.178 discloses… The number of CSI reports that can be generated by the UE 601 can be dynamically updated based on the channel conditions. Based on the predicted Doppler spread and performance limitations of the neural network 602c, the UE 601 can choose to generate an optimal number of CSI reports, such that each report is accurate enough by a predefined threshold. The UE 601 may not predict CSI reports until all ‘M’ reports have been transmitted ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the main reason for objecting the claim under discussion is the inclusion of “: the set of Doppler domain bases is a set of Q Doppler domain bases; and the method further comprises receiving a radio resource control (RRC) transmission, the RRC transmission specifying Q.” as the prior art of record in stand-alone form nor in combination read into the discloses claim as supported by the specification. Furthermore, the nearest prior art of record such as WO-2023042945-A1 to Jong, US-20210175937-A1 to Yamada, US-20210051508-A1 to Chung andUS-20220231740-A1 to Bhat discloses...prediction of CSI for different points in time but there are silent on the set of Doppler domain bases is a set of Q Doppler domain bases; and the method further comprises receiving a radio resource control (RRC) transmission, the RRC transmission specifying Q .Claim 10 is allowed as it depends from claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: US-20220322239-A1 To Huang, WO-2016134783-A1 to Kapetanovic, WO-2023042945-A1 to Jong, US-20210175937-A1 to Yamada, US-20210051508-A1 to Chung andUS-20220231740-A1 to Bhat discloses...prediction of CSI for different points in time.
/L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476