DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 and 17-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 11, 17, 18, 22, 23, 26, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson et al (US 2015/0009897 A1) in view of Beale et al(US 2024/0357626 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 29, Wilhelmsson ‘897 teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at an energy harvesting wireless device ([0046], [0087]-[0088] and Figs. 1-3, 9, terminal device 200/200’ energy harvesting for wireless communication), comprising: at least one processor; memory coupled with the at least one processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to( [0046], [0087]-[0088] and Figs. 1-3, 9, terminal device 200/200’ comprising processor150 and memory 160 coupled to the processor):
transmit energy status information for the energy harvesting wireless device ([0048], [0049] and Figs. 1-3, the terminal device 200 transmitting message 302, the message includes parameter (time F) indicating the energy harvesting status “an estimated amount of energy this energy harvesting can provide in a given period of time”), receive, during the wireless communication mode, control signaling indicating to apply a first feedback process type of a plurality of different feedback process types based at least in part on the energy status information([0051], [0052] and Fig. 3, the terminal device receiving message 304, message 304 indicating value of the feedback time F that is determined/selected based the energy status message 302):
receive a control message scheduling transmission of a message to the energy harvesting wireless device in a resource of a shared data channel: monitor the resource for the message based at least in part on the control message ([0052], [0053] and Fig. 3, terminal receiving message 304 comprising control message(PDCCH) for scheduling data message 307 transmission); and transmit feedback information for the message in accordance with the indicated first feedback process type ([0053, [0055]- [0056] and Fig. 3, the terminal transmitting feedback information to the BS based on the feedback type (time F)).
Wilhelmsson ‘897 does not explicitly teach, wherein the energy harvesting wireless device cycles between an energy harvesting mode and a wireless communication mode, wherein the energy status information comprises an energy status profile, a charging rate profile, a discharging rate profile, a battery leakage rate profile, or a combination thereof; wherein the first feedback process type is based at least in part on at least one of the energy status profile, the charging rate profile, the discharging rate profile. or the battery leakage rate profile.
Beale ‘626 teaches, wherein the energy harvesting wireless device cycles between an energy harvesting mode and a wireless communication mode ([0158]-[0163] and Fig. 10B, the device (MT) cycles between an Energy Harvesting(EH) period/state and a comms(communication) period/state), wherein the energy status information comprises an energy status profile, a charging rate profile, a discharging rate profile, a battery leakage rate profile, or a combination thereof ([0074]-[0084], [0087]-[0091], [0119], the energy status information includes the rate of discharging, the rate of charging, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitation);
wherein the first feedback process type is based at least in part on at least one of the energy status profile, the charging rate profile, the discharging rate profile. or the battery leakage rate profile ([0118], [0141] and [0155]-[0166], the eNB sending control signaling (e.g. DCI) or MAC CE to schedule the UE and trigger different reporting/feedback configuration based on energy status information, for example MAC CE in a PDSCH may indicate to the UE to transmit feedback in MAC CE within uplink transmission or to send indications within UCI via the PUCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy status information of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the rate of discharging and the rate of charging as taught by Beale ‘626, since such modification would provide devices with sufficient energy to communicate with the network, able to use the energy efficiently, and are able to use radio resources efficiently, as suggested by Beale ‘626([0004]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations, Wilhelmsson ‘897 further teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: transmit updated energy status information for the energy harvesting wireless device; and receive the control signaling indicating to change from applying the first feedback process type to a second feedback process type based at least in part on the updated energy status information([0051], [0052] and Fig. 3, the terminal device receiving message 304, message 304 indicating value of the feedback time F that is determined/selected based the energy status message 302), wherein the first feedback process type comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request process and the second feedback process type comprises an automatic repeat request process( [0090], [0097] and Figs.3, 4, 10 and 11, based on the energy harvesting status the network adjusting ARQ and HARQ intervals).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations, Wilhelmsson ‘897 further teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: receive a low-power signal indicating a change to a round trip time timer, a retransmission timer, or both ([0041], [0045], [0058], terminal 200 receiving retransmission timer update/change from the BS).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations, Wilhelmsson ‘897 further teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: receive capability signaling indicating a capability to support the change to the round-trip time timer, the retransmission timer, or both ([0041], [0045], [0058], terminal 200 capability to changing retransmission timer being communicated with the BS).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations, Wilhelmsson ‘897 further teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: monitor a control channel for receiving a retransmission of the message during a duration of a retransmission timer([0052]-[0053, [0055]- [0056] and Fig. 3, monitoring control channel); perform energy harvesting during the duration of the retransmission timer and based at least in part on entering the energy harvesting mode([0052]-[0053, [0055]- [0056] and Fig. 3, entering into energy harvesting mode during the F time); and suspend the retransmission timer based at least in part on entering the energy harvesting mode([0053, [0055]- [0056] and Fig. 3, entering into energy harvesting mode during the F time).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations, Wilhelmsson ‘897 further teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to receive the control signaling by being executable by the processor to: receive the control signaling indicating a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes based at least in part on the energy status information([0053, [0055]- [0056] and Fig. 3, the terminal transmitting HARQ(feedback) to the BS based on the feedback type (time F)).
Regarding claims 17 and 30, Wilhelmsson ‘897 teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node ([0082], [0084] and Figs. 1-3, 8, BS 100), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to ([0082], [0084] and Figs. 1-3, 8, BS 100 comprising a processor 150 and memory 160): receive energy status information for an energy harvesting wireless device ([0048], [0049] and Figs. 1-3, BS receiving from the terminal device 200 message 302, the message includes parameter (time F) indicating the energy harvesting status “an estimated amount of energy this energy harvesting can provide in a given period of time”);
transmit control signaling indicating to apply a first feedback process type of a plurality of different feedback process types based at least in part on the energy status information([0051], [0052] and Fig. 3, the BS transmitting message 304, message 304 indicating value of the feedback time F that is determined/selected based the energy status message 302); transmit a control message scheduling transmission of a message to the energy harvesting wireless device in a resource of a shared data channel([0052], [0053] and Fig. 3, BS transmitting message 304 comprising control message(PDCCH) for scheduling data message 307 transmission); transmit the message based at least in part on the control message ([0052], [0053] and Fig. 3, BS transmitting message 304 comprising control message (PDCCH) for scheduling data message 307 transmission); and receive feedback information for the message in accordance with the indicated first feedback process type ([0053, [0055]- [0056] and Fig. 3, the BS receiving feedback information to the BS based on the feedback type (time F)).
Wilhelmsson ‘897 does not explicitly teach, wherein the energy harvesting wireless device cycles between an energy harvesting mode and a wireless communication mode, wherein the energy status information comprises an energy status profile, a charging rate profile, a discharging rate profile, a battery leakage rate profile, or a combination thereof; wherein the first feedback process type is based at least in part on at least one of the energy status profile, the charging rate profile, the discharging rate profile. or the battery leakage rate profile.
Beale ‘626 teaches, wherein the energy harvesting wireless device cycles between an energy harvesting mode and a wireless communication mode ([0158]-[0163] and Fig. 10B, the device (MT) cycles between an Energy Harvesting(EH) period/state and a comms(communication) period/state), wherein the energy status information comprises an energy status profile, a charging rate profile, a discharging rate profile, a battery leakage rate profile, or a combination thereof ([0074]-[0084], [0087]-[0091], [0119], the energy status information includes the rate of discharging, the rate of charging, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitation);
wherein the first feedback process type is based at least in part on at least one of the energy status profile, the charging rate profile, the discharging rate profile. or the battery leakage rate profile ([0118], [0141] and [0155]-[0166], the eNB sending control signaling (e.g. DCI) or MAC CE to schedule the UE and trigger different reporting/feedback configuration based on energy status information, for example MAC CE in a PDSCH may indicate to the UE to transmit feedback in MAC CE within uplink transmission or to send indications within UCI via the PUCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy status information of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the rate of discharging and the rate of charging as taught by Beale ‘626, since such modification would provide devices with sufficient energy to communicate with the network, able to use the energy efficiently, and are able to use radio resources efficiently, as suggested by Beale ‘626([0004]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations, Wilhelmsson ‘897 further teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: receive updated energy status information for the energy harvesting wireless device([0051], [0052] and Fig. 3, BS receiving updated energy status 304 indicating value of the feedback time F that is determined/selected based the energy status message 302); and transmit the control signaling indicating to change from applying the first feedback process type to a second feedback process type based at least in part on the updated energy status information, wherein the first feedback process type comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request process and the second feedback process type comprises an automatic repeat request process( [0090], [0097] and Figs.3, 4, 10 and 11, based on the energy harvesting status the network adjusting ARQ and HARQ intervals).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations, Wilhelmsson ‘897 further teaches transmit a low-power signal indicating a change to a round-trip time timer, a retransmission timer, or both ([0041], [0045], [0058], BS transmitting to the terminal 200 retransmission timer update/change).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations, Wilhelmsson ‘897 further teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: receive capability signaling indicating a capability to support the change to the round trip time timer, the retransmission timer, or both( [0041], [0045], [0058], BS and terminal 200 communicating capability to changing retransmission timer being).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations, Wilhelmsson ‘897 further teaches, transmit a retransmission of the message via a control channel during a duration of a retransmission timer ([0052]-[0053, [0055]- [0056] and Fig. 3, entering into energy harvesting mode during the F time); suspend the retransmission timer based at least in part on the energy harvesting wireless device entering the energy harvesting mode ([0053, [0055]- [0056] and Fig. 3, entering into energy harvesting mode during the F time).
Claims 3, 4, 12, 19, 20, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Ho (US 8,656,239 B2)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: transmit a report indicating a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes supported by the energy harvesting wireless device.
Ho ‘239 teaches, transmit a report indicating a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes supported by the energy harvesting wireless device(col 4, line 45-67, col 7 lines 1-9, and Fig. 5, UE transiting a report to BS indicating the number of HARQ supported), wherein the quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes indicates the first feedback process type(col 4, line 45-67, col 7 lines 1-9, and Fig. 5, the number of HARQ supported indicating one of the feedback type).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Ho ‘239, since such modification would provide an efficient technique for controlling data transmission in a wireless communication system based on hybrid automatic retransmission (HARQ) as suggested by Ho ‘239(col 1 lines 56-67).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the report indicates a maximum quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes.
Ho ‘239 teaches, wherein the report indicates a maximum quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes (col 4, line 45-67, col 7 lines 1-9, and Fig. 5, UE indicating the Max number of HARQ processes it can support).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Ho ‘239, since such modification would provide an efficient technique for controlling data transmission in a wireless communication system based on hybrid automatic retransmission (HARQ) as suggested by Ho ‘239(col 1 lines 56-67).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: receive a request to increase a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes based at least in part on the energy status information.
Ho ‘239 teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: receive a request to increase a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes based at least in part on the energy status information (col 6 lines 1-15 and Fig. 7, Node B indicating to the UE to increase the number of HARQ process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Ho ‘239, since such modification would provide an efficient technique for controlling data transmission in a wireless communication system based on hybrid automatic retransmission (HARQ) as suggested by Ho ‘239(col 1 lines 56-67).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, receive a report indicating a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes supported by the energy harvesting wireless device, wherein the quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes indicates the first feedback process type.
Ho ‘239 teaches, receive a report indicating a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes supported by the energy harvesting wireless device, (col 4, line 45-67, col 7 lines 1-9, and Fig. 5, BS receiving a report from the terminal indicating the number of HARQ supported), wherein the quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes indicates the first feedback process type (col 4, line 45-67, col 7 lines 1-9, and Fig. 5, the number of HARQ supported indicating one of the feedback type).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Ho ‘239, since such modification would provide an efficient technique for controlling data transmission in a wireless communication system based on hybrid automatic retransmission (HARQ) as suggested by Ho ‘239(col 1 lines 56-67).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except: transmit the control signaling indicating a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes based at least in part on the energy status information.
Ho ‘239 teaches, transmit the control signaling indicating a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes based at least in part on the energy status information (col 6 lines 1-15 and Fig. 7, Node B indicating to the UE to increase the number of HARQ process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Ho ‘239, since such modification would provide an efficient technique for controlling data transmission in a wireless communication system based on hybrid automatic retransmission (HARQ) as suggested by Ho ‘239(col 1 lines 56-67).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, transmit a request to increase a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes based at least in part on the energy status information.
Ho ‘239 teaches, transmit a request to increase a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request processes based at least in part on the energy status information (col 4, line 45-67, col 7 lines 1-9, and Fig. 5, BS transmitting number of HARQ change/increase indicator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Ho ‘239, since such modification would provide an efficient technique for controlling data transmission in a wireless communication system based on hybrid automatic retransmission (HARQ) as suggested by Ho ‘239(col 1 lines 56-67).
Claims 5 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Babaei et al(US 11,233,606 B2)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: monitor for a retransmission of the message based at least in part on an expiration of a round trip time timer.
Babaei ‘606 teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: monitor for a retransmission of the message based at least in part on an expiration of a round-trip time timer (col 30. lines 45-54, when the HARQ RTT expires the UE starts monitoring for the retransmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Babaei ‘606, since such modification would provide an efficient signal timing in a multicarrier communication system, as suggested by Babaei ‘606(col 2 lines 16-22).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: transmit a retransmission of the message based at least in part on an expiration of a round-trip time timer.
Babaei ‘606 teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: transmit a retransmission of the message based at least in part on an expiration of a round-trip time timer (col 30, lines 45-54, when the HARQ RTT expires the BS transmits a retransmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Babaei ‘606, since such modification would provide an efficient signal timing in a multicarrier communication system, as suggested by Babaei ‘606(col 2 lines 16-22).
Claims 8, 9, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Salkintzis et al (US 2022/0303854 A1)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, transmit a message indicating a plurality of round trip time timers, wherein a round trip time timer of the plurality of round trip time timers is based at least in part on the energy status information.
Salkintzis ‘854 teaches, transmit a message indicating a plurality of round trip time timers, wherein a round trip time timer of the plurality of round trip time timers is based at least in part on the energy status information ([0091]-[0094], UE transmitting reconfiguration request of RTT timers for saving energy resources) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Salkintzis ‘854, since such modification would provide a method for measuring RTT including establishing a multi-access data connection with a mobile communication network, as suggested by Salkintzis ‘854([0006]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: start a round trip time timer based at least in part on transmitting the feedback information, wherein a duration of the round trip time timer is based at least in part on the energy status information.
Salkintzis ‘854 teaches, start a round trip time timer based at least in part on transmitting the feedback information ([0091]- [0094], [0158], starting RTT timers for sending feedback) , wherein a duration of the round trip time timer is based at least in part on the energy status information( [0091]-[0094], [0158], reconfiguring RTT timers for saving energy resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Salkintzis ‘854, since such modification would provide a method for measuring RTT including establishing a multi-access data connection with a mobile communication network, as suggested by Salkintzis ‘854([0006]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, receive a message indicating a plurality of round trip time timers, wherein a round trip time timer of the plurality of round trip time timers is based at least in part on the energy status information.
Salkintzis ‘854 teaches, receive a message indicating a plurality of round trip time timers, wherein a round trip time timer of the plurality of round trip time timers is based at least in part on the energy status information ([0091]-[0094], BS receiving reconfiguration request of RTT timers for saving energy resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Salkintzis ‘854, since such modification would provide a method for measuring RTT including establishing a multi-access data connection with a mobile communication network, as suggested by Salkintzis ‘854([0006]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to: start a round trip time timer based at least in part on transmitting the feedback information, wherein a duration of the round trip time timer is based at least in part on the energy status information.
Salkintzis ‘854 teaches, start a round trip time timer based at least in part on transmitting the feedback information ([0091]- [0094], [0158], starting RTT timers for sending feedback) , wherein a duration of the round trip time timer is based at least in part on the energy status information ( [0091]-[0094], [0158], reconfiguring RTT timers for saving energy resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Salkintzis ‘854, since such modification would provide a method for measuring RTT including establishing a multi-access data connection with a mobile communication network, as suggested by Salkintzis ‘854([0006]).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Yeo et al(US 10,298,362 B2).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the feedback information indicates one or more symbols of the message the energy harvesting wireless device failed to receive and the instructions are further executable by the processor to: receive a second control message that indicates a hybrid automatic repeat request process and the one or more symbols based at least in part on the feedback information.
Yeo ‘362 teaches, wherein the feedback information indicates one or more symbols of the message the energy harvesting wireless device failed to receive( col 37, lines 49-65; col 38, lines 14-32 and Col 39 lines 3-28, UE transmitting decoding failure of the message associated with plurality of symbols) and the instructions are further executable by the processor to: receive a second control message that indicates a hybrid automatic repeat request process and the one or more symbols based at least in part on the feedback information(col 37, lines 49-65; col 38, lines 14-32 and Col 39 lines 3-28, UE transmitting decoding failure of the message associated with plurality of symbols and in response receiving a retransmission from the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Yeo ‘362, since such modification would provide wireless communication system, for performing retransmission with respect to a code block requiring the retransmission among transport blocks, if retransmission of the initially transmitted transport blocks is required, as suggested by Yeo ‘362 (col 1 lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to receive the second control message by being executable by the processor to: receive the second control message that indicates a bitmap, wherein the bitmap indicates the one or more symbols.
Yeo ‘362 teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to receive the second control message by being executable by the processor to: receive the second control message that indicates a bitmap, wherein the bitmap indicates the one or more symbols(( col 37, lines 49-65; col 38, lines 14-32 and Col 39 lines 3-28, control message including which code blocks or symbol groups are to be retransmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Yeo ‘362, since such modification would provide wireless communication system, for performing retransmission with respect to a code block requiring the retransmission among transport blocks, if retransmission of the initially transmitted transport blocks is required, as suggested by Yeo ‘362 (col 1 lines 20-25).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Vannithamby (US 9,271,242 B2)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wilhelmsson ‘897 and Beale ‘626 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to transmit the energy status information by being executable by the processor to: transmit the energy status information indicating that the energy harvesting wireless device corresponds to a class of wireless devices that support energy harvesting.
Vannithamby ‘242 teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to transmit the energy status information by being executable by the processor to: transmit the energy status information indicating that the energy harvesting wireless device corresponds to a class of wireless devices that support energy harvesting (col 4 lines 12-34, col 5 lines 1-15, transmitting EH status including a device classification (e.g. “energy harvesting sensor node” vs conventional).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Wilhelmsson ‘897, by incorporating the teaching of Vannithamby ‘242, since such modification would enable a network device to receive a message that includes an indication that the user equipment is an energy-harvesting device and enable to differentiate the energy-harvesting device from other non-energy-harvesting devices in the wireless communication network based on the indication, as suggested by Vannithamby ‘242 (abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474