DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-24 in the reply filed on September 22, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuhl (US 2017/0051210 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kuhl discloses a device (see figure 2), comprising: an outer chamber (7/5); a first inlet (hydrocarbon inlet, 21) configured to obtain a first gas stream into a first space in the outer chamber; a second inlet (inlet, 15) configured to obtain a second gas stream into the first space in the outer chamber, through (23/17) (see figure 2); and a cooling unit (see heat exchanger, 33) associated with the outer chamber, wherein the cooling unit is configured to absorb thermal energy from the first gas stream (see Abstract; figure 2; and paragraphs 0023-0060).
Regarding claim 2, Kuhl discloses a device wherein the cooling unit (33) is disposed adjacent to the first inlet (21) (see Abstract; figure 2; and paragraphs 0023-0060).
Regarding claim 24, Kuhl discloses a device wherein the device includes an integrated reformer that is included with a plasma carbon conversion unit (PCCU), the PCCU including a plasma reactor in fluid communication with the integrated reformer (see Abstract; figure 2; and paragraphs 0023-0060), since the hydrocarbon converter (7) comprises a process chamber having an inlet for a hydrocarbon-containing fluid, at least one unit for introducing decomposing energy into the fluid and at least the above-mentioned C-outlet (23); the decomposing energy is made available at least partially by the heat which is produced e.g. by a plasma (plasma reactor) (see paragraph 0030) and if hydrocarbon is methane (CH4) in the hydrocarbon converter (7) to produce hydrogen (see paragraph 0040).
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11, 15-16, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 8,216,323 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al. discloses a device (see figure 2), comprising: an outer chamber (single vessel, 82); a first inlet (146) configured to obtain a first gas stream into a first space in the outer chamber (82); a second inlet (138) configured to obtain a second gas stream into the first space in the outer chamber (82); and a cooling unit (heat exchanger zone (153) comprising heat exchangers (132, 134, 136, 168) used to produced cooled reformate stream (158)) associated with the outer chamber (82), wherein the cooling unit (153) is configured to absorb thermal energy from the first gas stream (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64), where oxidant line (146) and heated steam line (138) mixes in the vessel (82) before entering a static mixer (88).
Regarding claim 3, Liu et al. discloses a device wherein the cooling unit is configured to receive coolant, the coolant including at least one of: H2O (water), oil, CO2, or CH4 (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 4, Liu et al. discloses a device wherein the cooling unit includes a tube (138, 140, 148, 100, 98, 130, 104) disposed around the outer chamber (82) (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 5, Liu et al. discloses a device wherein: the tube (138, 140, 148, 100, 98, 130, 104) includes a coolant inlet (102) configured to receive coolant, and the tube includes a coolant outlet (104, 130, 138) configured to output the coolant that absorbed the thermal energy from the first gas stream (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 6, Liu et al. discloses a device wherein: the coolant received by the coolant inlet (102) includes H2O in a liquid state, and the coolant from the coolant outlet (104, 130, 138) includes H2O in a gas state (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 7, Liu et al. discloses a device wherein: the coolant from the coolant outlet (104, 130, 138) is provided to the first space in the outer chamber (82) (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al. discloses a device further comprising: a reaction chamber (shift zone, 164) in the outer chamber (82), wherein the coolant from the coolant outlet (104, 130, 138), the first gas stream, and the second gas stream are provided to a second space in the reaction chamber (164) (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 9, Liu et al. disclose a device further comprising: a catalyst (shift catalyst) in the reaction chamber (164), wherein the coolant from the coolant outlet (104, 130, 138), the first gas stream, and the second gas stream pass through the catalyst (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 11, Liu et al. discloses a device further comprising: an outlet (172) configured to output a third gas stream from the reaction chamber (164), wherein the third gas stream is based on reactions occurred with the first gas stream, the second gas stream, and the coolant from the coolant outlet (104, 130, 138) (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 15, Liu et al. discloses a device further comprising: an outlet (172), wherein the outlet outputs a third gas stream based on reactions occurred with the first gas stream, the second gas stream, and the coolant from the coolant outlet (104, 130, 138) (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 16, Liu et al. discloses a device further comprising: a catalyst (shift catalyst in shift zone (164)) between the first inlet (146) and the outlet (172) (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 20, Liu et al. discloses a device wherein: steam from a steam generating unit (108) is provided to the first space in the outer chamber (82) (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 21, Liu et al. discloses a device further comprising: an outlet (172), wherein the outlet outputs a third gas stream based on reactions occurred with the first gas stream, the second gas stream, and the steam from the steam generating unit (108) (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 22, Liu et al. discloses a device further comprising: a reaction chamber (shift zone, 164) in the outer chamber (82), wherein steam from a steam generating unit (108), the first gas stream, and the second gas stream are provided to a second space in the reaction chamber (164) (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Regarding claim 23, Liu et al. discloses a device further comprising: an outlet (172), wherein the outlet outputs a third gas stream based on reactions occurred with the first gas stream, the second gas stream, and the steam (see figure 2 and column 4, line 54 through column 7, line 64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 8,216,323 B2) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Matsui et al. (US 6,814,944 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu et al. fails to disclose a device wherein the catalyst includes a porous material.
Matsui et al. disclose a shift conversion catalyst of the shift reaction section (10) can be applied to or supported on porous material (see column 2, line 64 through column 3, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu et al. with the teachings of Matsui et al. resulting in a device wherein the catalyst includes a porous material for increased reactivity and improved efficiency of heat radiation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 12 and 17, Liu et al. fails to disclose or suggest a device wherein: the first gas stream includes first synthesis gas, the second gas stream includes hydrocarbon fuel, and the third gas stream includes third synthesis gas; and wherein: the first gas stream includes first synthesis gas, the second gas stream includes hydrocarbon fuel, and the third gas stream includes second synthesis gas.
Claims 13-14 depend on claim 12.
Claims 18-17 depend on claim 17.
Conclusion
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774