DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended.
Claims 1-3, 9-11, and 17-19 are presently pending.
1. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20230209538, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of GAO et al. (US 20250062818, hereinafter, “GAO”), and further in view of ZHOU et al. (US 20230171837, hereinafter, “ZHOU”).
Claim 1. Cirik teaches: A user equipment (UE), comprising: - See Fig. 15A, ¶ [0189], (“wireless device”)
a processor; - See Fig. 15A, ¶ [0189] and a transceiver operably coupled with the processor, the transceiver configured to: - See Fig. 15A, ¶ [0189]
receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling – See Fig. 17, ¶ [0591- 0593], (“One or more unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state(s) may be indicated using a parameter, field, message, and/or signaling. The unified TCI state(s) may be associated with control resource set (CORESET)….One or more configuration parameter(s) may be received…by a wireless device (and/or transmitted by a base station…in a radio resource control (RRC) message.”) including a control resource set (CORESET) related parameter, - See Fig. 26A, ¶ [0593 -0594], (“One or more configuration parameter(s) received by the wireless device may…comprise one or more PDCCH configuration parameters (e.g., PDCCH-Config) indicating the one or more CORESETS (e.g., by a higher layer parameter ControlResourceSet”)
wherein the CORESET related parameter includes configuration information indicating one of two indicated unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for a CORESET; - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0593], (“One or more configuration parameter(s) received by the wireless device may indicate (e.g., for the CORESET) a field…comprising a value…The value may indicate common/unified TCI state(s) among the at least two common/unified TCI states. For example, a first value (e.g., 00) of the field may indicate a first common/unified TCI state…A second value (e.g., 01) of the field may indicate a second common/unified TCI state…The wireless device may apply/use the (indicated) common/unified TCI state(s) to monitor the CORESET”); See Fig. 26A, 26B, ¶ [0669], (“…the field is ‘Unified TCI state ID’ in ControlResourceSet…the field is ‘Unified TCI state ID’ in Coreset. A value of the field (e.g., Unified TCI state ID in FIG. 26B) may indicate the at least one TCI state.”)
receive, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) including information indicating the two indicated unified (TCI) states; - in ¶ [0589], (“a wireless device may receive one or more messages…(e.g., DCI, MAC-CE), indicating activation of at least two common/unified TCI states…a first common/unified TCI state and a second common/unified TCI state.”) and
receive, from the base station, the CORESET - in ¶ [0588], (“At least some wireless devices may apply/use the common/unified TCI state to monitor (e.g., for PDCCH transmissions/receptions) a CORESET of a downlink BWP of a cell.”) by applying one of the two indicated unified TCI states – See Fig. 26A, 26B, ¶ [0607], (“The one or more configuration parameters may comprise, for the CORESET…a parameter (e.g., ApplyTCI-State-UL-List, ApplyTCI-State-DL-List, ApplyTCI-State-List, Use-Indicated-TCI-State, Use-Indicated-UL-TCI-State, Use-Indicated-DL-TCI-State, Follow-Unified-TCI-State, Follow-Unified-UL-TCI-State, Follow-Unified-DL-TCI-State…indicating to apply/use common/unified TCI state(s). The parameter may be set to ‘enabled’…the parameter may comprise ‘followUnifiedTCIstate’ in ControlResourceSet.”) based on the configuration information; – in ¶ [0611], (“The wireless device may apply/use the common/unified TCI state(s) for the CORESET, for example, based on the one or more configuration parameters comprising, for the CORESET, the parameter that is set to ‘enabled’.”) and
Cirik does not explicitly teach:
after 28 symbols from a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception with a DCI format scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission with a same hybrid automatic request (HARQ) process number as for another PUSCH transmission and having a toggled new data indicator (NDI) field value, transmit a PUSCH and a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) using a same spatial domain filter,
However, GAO teaches:
after 28 symbols – See Fig. 3, ¶ [0176], (“X is a positive integer…X may be at least one of {7, 14, 28…}.”) from a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception with a DCI format scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission with a same hybrid automatic request (HARQ) process number as for another PUSCH transmission – in ¶ [0180], (“after X symbols from a last symbol of a PDCCH reception with a DCI scheduling a PUSCH with a same HARQ process number as for the transmission of a first PUSCH”) and having a toggled new data indicator (NDI) field value, - in ¶ [0180], (“after X symbols from a last symbol of a PDCCH reception with a DCI scheduling a PUSCH with a same HARQ process number as for the transmission of a first PUSCH…and having a toggled new data indication (NDI) field value”) transmit a PUSCH and a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) using a same spatial domain filter, - in ¶ [0180], (“after X symbols from a last symbol of a PDCCH reception with a DCI scheduling a PUSCH with a same HARQ process number as for the transmission of a first PUSCH…and having a toggled new data indication (NDI) field value, the terminal device 120 may transmit PUCCH and/or PUSCH…using the same spatial domain filter”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CIRIK with GAO to include after a PDCCH scheduled a PUSCH with the same HARQ process and a toggled NDI, transmit PUSCH and PUCCH using the same spatial domain filter, as taught by GAO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification improve efficiency by resulting in consistent beam/spatial alignment, as suggested by GAO, features to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management to support a larger number of configured TCI states. - ¶ [0034]
Combination of Cirik and GAO does not explicitly teach:
wherein a subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration for the 28 symbols is a smallest of SCS configurations of an active downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) for the PDCCH reception and of an active DL BWP of a serving cell.
However, ZHOU teaches:
wherein a subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration for the 28 symbols is a smallest of SCS configurations of an active downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) for the PDCCH reception and of an active DL BWP of a serving cell. – in ¶ [0042], (“The SCS configuration for the 28 symbols is the smallest of the SCS configurations of the active DL BWP for the PDCCH reception and of the active DL BWP(s) of the at least one serving cell.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CIRIK and GAO with ZHOU to include a subcarrier spacing configuration for the 28 symbols is a smallest of SCS configurations of an active downlink bandwidth part for the PDCCH reception and of an active DL BWP of a serving cell, as taught by ZHOU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification improve efficiency, as suggested by ZHOU, embodiments improve the operations of a wireless device and a communication network by improving the quality and efficiency of communication operations of the wireless device and the communication network. - ¶ [0043]
Claim 2. Combination of Cirik, GAO, and ZHOU teaches The UE of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein: when the configuration information indicates a first value, a first unified TCI state among the two indicated unified TCI states is applied to the CORESET, - in ¶ [0333], (“One or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the SRS resource, a field…indicating the TCI state….a first value (e.g., n=0 in FIG. 18B) of the field may indicate the first TCI state (e.g., TCI state 26). The TCI state may be the first TCI state.”); ¶ [0334], (“A field (or the value of the field) may indicate whether to apply/use the first TCI state or the second TCI state for the SRS resource.”)
when the configuration information indicates a second value, a second unified TCI state among the two indicated unified TCI states is applied to the CORESET, - See Fig. 18B, ¶ [0333], (“a second value (e.g., n=1 in FIG. 18B) of the field may indicate the second TCI state (e.g., TCI state 61). The TCI state may be the second TCI state.”); ¶ [0334], (“A field (or the value of the field) may indicate whether to apply/use the first TCI state or the second TCI state for the SRS resource.”) and
when the CORESET includes a CORESET with index 0, a CORESET associated with a UE-specific search space (USS) set, a CORESET associated with a type 3 PDCCH common search space (CSS) set, or a CORESET associated with other than the type 3 PDCCH CSS set. -in ¶ [0615], (“A wireless device may apply/use the common/unified TCI state(s) for the CORESET, for example, based on the one or more search space sets associated with the CORESET being USS set(s) and/or Type3-PDCCH CSS set(s)….based on each search space set of the one or more search space sets associated with the CORESET being a USS set or a Type3-PDCCH CSS set…based on each search space set of the one or more search space sets being a respective USS set or a Type3-PDCCH CSS set…based on at least one search space set of the one or more search space sets associated with the CORESET being a USS set or a Type3-PDCCH CSS set.”, Note: only one condition needs to be satisfied to meet this limitation)
Claim 3. Combination of Cirik, GAO, and ZHOU teaches The UE of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein the UE is configured with a single DCI based multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) operation. - See Fig. 22, ¶ [0731], (“two TCI states may be activated to support PDSCH repetition among multiple TRPs…The wireless device may use a value of a first field (e.g., a 1-bit field) in a message (e.g., DCI) to indicate using a first TCI state (e.g., value of 0) or using a second TCI state (e.g., value of 1)…or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state”)
Claims 9, 17 are rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 10, 18 are rejected under the same rationale as Claim 2 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 11, 19 are rejected under the same rationale as Claim 3 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475