DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, “claims 2” should apparently read --claim 2--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the application" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gauntlett (U.S. No. 5,458,559).
Regarding claim 1, Gauntlett discloses an inflatable single-use sexual aid device for stimulating male genitalia and collecting semen (Abstract; col. 2, lines 49-51), prior to inflation the sexual aid device comprising: an inner chamber 12, an elongated extension 8/14 extending from the inner chamber; and an inflation passage 2 extending from the inner chamber and opposite the elongated extension, where the inflation passage is in fluid communication with the inner chamber (col. 1, line 60 – col. 2, line 28).
Regarding claim 2, Gauntlett discloses that the elongated extension is arranged to be inserted into the inner chamber prior to inflation of the sexual aid device (col. 2, lines 9-16).
Regarding claim 3, Gauntlett discloses that wherein upon inflation: the inner chamber inflates and the elongated extension inserted into the inner chamber forms a passageway 14 internal to the inner chamber (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Gauntlett discloses that the passageway is not in fluid communication with the inner chamber (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Gauntlett discloses that the inner chamber is inflated by passing air or other gases through the inflation passage and into the inner chamber (while Gauntlett teaches the use of warm water, it also teaches “another suitable fluid”; the inner chamber of Gauntlett is capable of being inflated by air or other gases).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Gauntlett discloses that the inflation passage is arranged to be sealed once the sexual aid device is inflated and that once the inflation passage is sealed, the inflation passage is arranged to be unsealed to deflate the sexual aid device (col. 1, lines 62-66; col. 2, lines 37-40).
Regarding claim 8, Gauntlett discloses that the inflation passage is arranged to be sealed by tying off the inflation passage and is arranged to be deflated by snipping the inflation passage below the location that the inflation passage is tied off (while Gauntlett teaches the use of a stopper, the inflation passage is made of rubber or elastomeric plastic and would be able to be sealed by tying, as well as able to be snipped for deflation).
Regarding claim 9, Gauntlett discloses that the inflation passage is arranged to be sealed by the application of a clip and is arranged to be deflated by removal of the clip (again, while Gauntlett teaches the use of a stopper, the inflation passage is made of rubber or elastomeric plastic and would be able to be sealed with a clip and deflated with removal of the clip).
Regarding claims 10-12, Gauntlett discloses that the passageway includes a series of features, wherein the series of features include (i) a plurality of protrusions and a plurality of recessions or (ii) a plurality of undulations that form ribs (Fig. 2; col. 2, lines 3-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yap (U.S. No. 6,113,522) discloses a similar inflatable device for stimulating male genitalia and collecting sperm.
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791