DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
By the amendment filed 2026-01-13, Claims 1, 2, 6, and 7 are amended to clarify that it is the mass ratios of the nitrogen atoms of the nitrogen-containing compounds in the silica particles of the toner and the resin coating layer of the carrier which are limited, and not the mass ratios of the whole nitrogen-containing compounds in those structures. Claim 3 has been amended to specify that “Ry” represents the maximum height of irregularities on the surface of the ferrite particles. Claim 19 remains withdrawn, and new Claims 20 and 21 have been added. The Specification has been amended to remedy typographical errors in condensed chemical formulae. No new subject matter has been added.
Response to Arguments
First, Applicant helpfully points out a typographical error in the citation of Sasaki et al in the body of the prior office action, which should be US PGP 2022/0017723, and which was cited correctly in the notice of references cited attached to that office action. The error has been remedied in the rejections below.
Applicant's arguments filed 2026-01-13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues against the position taken in the prior office action (non-final rejection dated 2025-10-17) that the hydrophobized silica particles of Kudo are produced in a substantially similar way to those of the instant application, and would therefore necessarily possess similar properties, namely, the ratio of pore volumes B/A. To support this argument, Applicant points out the step in Kudo’s production method of treating the silica particles with hexamethyldisilazane (HMDS), which occurs after treatment with methyltrimethoxysilane (MTMS, a trifunctional silane coupling agent), and before treatment with a quaternary ammonium salt. Applicant then asserts that the HMDS treatment step (which is absent from the procedure of the instant application) would prevent absorption/adsorption of another nitrogen-containing compound.
This assertion is made without evidence, however, and is not clearly true to one of ordinary skill in the art. In order for HMDS treatment to preclude the absorption/adsorption of a nitrogen-containing compound (such as a quaternary ammonium salt) onto the surface of the pores of the silica particles, the HMDS would need to occupy all available sites of absorption/adsorption on the surface of the MTMS-treated particles. No evidence is provided that such a saturated state is reached in the procedure of Kudo, and the treatment amount of HMDS required to reach such a saturated point cannot be easily estimated. Therefore, while it is possible that treatment with HMDS before treatment with another nitrogen-containing compound would have the effect of reducing the absorption/adsorption amount of that nitrogen-containing compound onto the surface of the pores of the particles, the extent of that effect is not known, and does not necessarily cause the ratio of pore volumes B/A to fall outside the claimed range.
Further, Applicant asserts that HMDS (which, having a chemical formula of C6H19NSi2, is a nitrogen-containing compound) is not able to enter the pores of the silica particles, and therefore could not be absorbed/adsorbed onto the surface of the pores. This assertion is made without evidence, and in the absence of such, appears far more likely to be untrue than true to one of ordinary skill in the art. Without being provided with evidence or a convincing chemical rationale as to why HMDS specifically, among the universe of possible nitrogen-containing compounds which may be used, would not be able to penetrate the pores of MTMS-treated silica particles, would certainly expect that HMDS would be able to enter the pores of the silica particles and become absorbed/adsorbed onto the surface of the pores. Therefore, where HMDS is a nitrogen-containing compound, it would be able to enter the pores of the silica particles and affect the ratio of pore volumes B/A.
Applicant also argues that, where the claims are now amended to clearly recite the mass of nitrogen atoms belonging to the nitrogen-containing compound of the silica particles, the cited references fail to teach this feature. However, as detailed in the updated rejection below, the silica particles of Kudo would read on this limitation as well.
Finally, Applicant argues that unexpected results arise from the claimed range of nitrogen atom content by mass with respect to the silica particles. However, the evaluation results in Table 1 (Specification, [0184]) do not show a reliable relationship between the variable C (N atom content of silica particles by mass, %) and the evaluation results. Example 5 and Comparative Example 2 possess values for C of 0.005% and 0.004%, respectively, but achieve different results in the evaluations. Where these two values are very nearly the same, but the two preparative examples have much more different values for the ratio B/A (4.00 and 2.58, respectively), the difference in evaluation results between those two examples appears to be driven more by the ratio B/A than by the value of C. In addition, Example 8 and Example 11 achieve the same scores in the evaluations, but possess values for C of 0.32% and 0.005%, respectively. Where these examples possess such drastically different values for C, but achieve identical evaluation results, the results do not appear to be reliably driven by the value of C. These therefore do not represent unexpected results over the prior art.
An additional rejection is made over at least Kudo in view of Sakai et al (see below). As discussed in that rejection, Sakai teaches that silica particles surface-treated with a charge control agent, such as a quaternary ammonium salt, stabilize the charging of a toner. This effect is essentially the same thing as the narrowing of the charge distribution of the toner particles described in Applicant’s arguments. Sakai then describes at least improved developability, transferability, and fixing of the toner as effects flowing from the stabilized charging. These effects would result in improvement of printed image unevenness, which flow, as argued by Applicant, from the narrowed charge distribution. Therefore, where Sakai teaches essentially the same effects flowing from the charge control agent (quaternary ammonium salt), these results cannot be considered unexpected.
For these reasons, the rejections below are not withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Namely, while a preferred range for the degree of hydrophobicity and its method of measurement are given in the Specification ([0075] – [0076]), measured values for the degree of hydrophobicity are not reported for any of the disclosed preparative examples ([0177] – [0179], Table 1). Thus, a practitioner of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to tell which disclosed embodiments do or do not achieve the preferred degree of hydrophobicity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13 – 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo et al (JP 2001-194825) in view of Watanabe et al (JP 2021-051216) (machine translations of each referred to henceforth).
Kudo teaches silica fine particles used as an external additive for a toner ([0008]), and a toner bearing the externally added silica particles ([0050], [0061]). The silica particles may be prepared by the sol-gel method ([0012]), and they may be made hydrophobic by treatment with an alkyl(trialkoxy)silane (trifunctional silane) ([0012], [0019]). The hydrophobized silica particles may then be treated with a quaternary ammonium salt ([0026]), which is a nitrogen-containing compound. Kudo teaches a preferred treatment amount of the quaternary ammonium salts of 0.1 – 10% by mass relative to the mass of the silica particles ([0047]). Each of Examples 1 – 20, except for Examples 4, 8, and 10 of the preparative examples disclosed in the instant application have addition amounts of a nitrogen-containing compound lying inside the range taught by Kudo (Specification, Table 1). These examples also all possess a value for C (content of nitrogen atoms in the silica particles, %) lying in the range stated in Claim 1. Therefore, the silica particles of Kudo would necessarily possess a value for C lying in a range encompassing that stated in Claim 1.
Kudo teaches that the addition amount of trifunctional silane to the silica particles in the hydrophobization step is preferably 0.01 – 0.1 moles per mole of SiO2 units in the silica particles ([0020]). In a preparative example, Kudo discloses addition of 11.6 g of methyltrimethoxysilane (MTMS) to silica particles prepared from 1163.7 g of tetramethoxysilane (TMSO), and states that this represents an addition amount of 0.01 moles of MTMS per mole of TMSO ([0053] – [0054]). Therefore, Kudo’s preferred addition amount of trifunctional silane would have a range of about 10 – 100 parts by mass per 1000 parts of silica particles. All of the preparative Examples 1 – 20 disclosed in the instant application have an addition amount of MTMS lying in this range (Specification, page 70, Table 1), and also have values for the ratio B/A lying in the range stated in Claim 1. They also all have values for B lying in the range stated in Claim 1. Therefore, the hydrophobized silica particles of Kudo, being produced by substantially the same method, would necessarily possess values for B and the ratio B/A lying in the ranges stated in Claim 1.
Kudo teaches that the toner may be used as part of a two-component developer, being mixed with a carrier, which may have a resin coating layer ([0051]). However, Kudo does not appear to provide further details regarding the carrier.
Watanabe teaches a carrier ([0001]), which comprises a core material and a coating layer covering the core material, which includes at least nitrogen-containing resin particles ([0021]). Watanabe teaches that the carrier suppresses the formation of voids in developed electrostatic latent images ([0007]). This is due at least in part to the uniform positive charge imparted to the surface of the carrier by the nitrogen-containing resin particles, which improves charging of a toner ([0027]).
In preparing the developer of Kudo, but lacking guidance as to an appropriate carrier for use alongside the toner in a two-component developer, one of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to the prior art for a workable carrier having a resin coating layer. Being motivated to suppress the formation of voids in printed images, it would have thus been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a developer comprising the toner of Kudo and the developer of Watanabe, resulting in a developer described by Claim 1.
Many of the preparative examples disclosed in the instant application have a value of B lying in the range stated in Claim 13. Therefore, as discussed above, the hydrophobized silica particles of Kudo, being produced by substantially the same method, would necessarily possess a value for B lying in the range stated in Claim 13.
Many of the preparative examples disclosed in the instant application have a value for the ratio B/A lying in the range stated in Claim 14. Therefore, as discussed above, the hydrophobized silica particles of Kudo, being produced by substantially the same method, would necessarily possess a value for the ratio B/A lying in the range stated in Claim 14.
Kudo teaches a preferred average particle diameter of the hydrophobized silica fine particles of 10 – 5,000 nm ([0011], [0025]), encompassing the range stated in Claim 15.
The silica fine particles of Kudo, being first hydrophobized by an alkyl(trialkoxy)silane ([0012], [0019]), and then treated with a quaternary ammonium compound ([0026]), would thus comprise a silica base particle covered by the reaction product of a trifunctional silane, and a nitrogen-containing compound adsorbed onto the pores of such a reaction product, satisfying Claim 16.
Kudo does not appear to teach a process cartridge or image forming apparatus. However, Watanabe teaches a process cartridge and an image forming apparatus for use with a two-component developer ([0001]). The process cartridge of Watanabe is detachably attached to an image forming apparatus, and is equipped with a developing unit ([0104]). The process cartridge contains a developer, and develops an electrostatic latent image held on the surface of an image bearing member.
The image forming apparatus of Watanabe comprises at least an image carrier, a charging means, an image forming means, a developing means containing a developer, a transfer means, and a fixing means ([0101]).
Lacking guidance from Kudo regarding an image forming apparatus, one of skill in the art would have been motivated to use the apparatus taught by Watanabe. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the developer described above, comprising the toner of Kudo and the carrier of Watanabe, in the process cartridge and the apparatus taught by Watanabe, satisfying Claim 17 and Claim 18.
The silica particles of Kudo as described above would have at least part of the surface of the silica base particles covered by the reaction product of a trifunctional silane, and a nitrogen-containing compound, which may be a quaternary ammonium salt, adsorbed onto the pores of that structure, satisfying the structural features of Claim 20.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo et al (JP 2001-194825) in view of Watanabe et al (JP 2021-051216) (machine translations of each referred to henceforth), further in view of Mizutani et al (US PGP 2009/0245858).
The above discussions of Kudo and Watanabe are incorporated herein.
Neither Kudo nor Watanabe appears to teach a preferred thickness of the resin coating layer covering the carrier core particles.
Mizutani teaches a carrier comprising a core material and a resin coating layer covering the core ([0008]). Mizutani also teaches a preferred average thickness of the coating layer is greater than 0.1 µm, preventing the resin coating layer from peeling off the carrier core particles, and less than 10 µm, keeping the charging rate from slowing ([0195]). This is the same as the range stated as the preferred thickness of the resin coating layer in the instant application (Specification, [0141]).
Watanabe teaches that the content of nitrogen-containing resin particles in the coating layer of the carrier is preferably 5 – 20% by mass relative to the whole mass of the coating layer ([0053]). This range lies inside the preferred range of 5 – 30% by mass stated in the instant application (Specification, [0144]).
Where, as discussed above, the silica particles of Kudo are treated with a similar amount of nitrogen-containing compound to those of the instant application, they would necessarily possess a similar value for the parameter C. Where the resin coating layer covering the carrier core particles has a similar thickness and content of nitrogen-containing resin particles to those of the instant application, they would necessarily possess a similar value for the parameter E. Such a developer would therefore necessarily possess a value for the ratio C/E lying in the range stated in Claim 2.
Lacking guidance from Watanabe regarding an appropriate thickness for the resin coating layer covering the carrier core particles, a skilled practitioner would have looked to the prior art for an acceptable range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare a developer comprising the toner of Kudo and the carrier of Watanabe, wherein the thickness of the resin coating layer is in the range taught by Mizutani, resulting in a developer described by Claim 2.
As mentioned above, Kudo teaches that the hydrophobized silica particles may be treated with a quaternary ammonium salt, reading on the list of nitrogen-containing compounds recited in Claim 4.
As discussed above, Kudo teaches a preferred treatment amount of the quaternary ammonium salts of 0.1 – 10% by mass relative to the mass of the silica particles ([0047]). Preparative Examples 1 – 3, 6 – 9, and 12 - 20 disclosed in the instant application have addition amounts of a nitrogen-containing compound lying inside the range taught by Kudo (Specification, Table 1). These examples also all possess a value for C (content of nitrogen atoms in the silica particles, %) lying in the range stated in Claim 6. Therefore, the silica particles of Kudo would necessarily possess a value for C lying in a range encompassing that stated in Claim 6.
Watanabe teaches that the nitrogen-containing resin particles contained in the resin coating layer of the carrier particles may be obtained by polymerizing, for example, (dimethylamino)ethyl (meth)acrylate, dimethylacrylamide, acrylonitrile, or other types of resins. These monomer units contain nitrogen, satisfying Claim 8.
Watanabe teaches that the nitrogen-containing resin particles contained in the resin coating layer of the carrier particles preferably have a volume-average diameter of 100 – 800 nm ([0055]). Where, as discussed above, the thickness of the resin coating layer taught by Mizutani is 0.1 – 10 µm, the carrier would possess a value for the ratio D/T in the range 0.01 – 8, encompassing the range stated in Claim 10.
100
n
m
p
a
r
t
i
c
l
e
s
10,000
n
m
c
o
a
t
i
n
g
l
a
y
e
r
=
0.01
800
n
m
p
a
r
t
i
c
l
e
s
100
n
m
c
o
a
t
i
n
g
l
a
y
e
r
=
8
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo et al (JP 2001-194825) in view of Watanabe et al (JP 2021-051216) (machine translations of each referred to henceforth), further in view of Tsurumi et al (US PGP 2017/0184997).
The above discussions of Kudo and Watanabe are incorporated herein.
Watanabe teaches that the core material of the carrier particles may be a magnetic powder ([0035]), which may be ferrite ([0036]).
Neither Kudo nor Watanabe appears to teach preferred parameters of surface roughness of carrier core particles.
Tsurumi teaches that ferrite particles are preferable for use as magnetic particles as carrier cores ([0026] – [0028]). Tsurumi teaches that the average spacing of irregularities in the surface of the magnetic particles, Sm, is preferably in the range of 1.0 – 3.5 µm, reading on the range stated in Claim 3. Tsurumi also teaches that the surface roughness, Ra, is in the range of 0.2 – 0.7 µm, reading on the range stated in Claim 3. Controlling these parameters in their respective ranges prevents fluctuation in image density ([0033]).
In preparing the developer of Kudo comprising the toner of Kudo and the carrier of Watanabe, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prevent fluctuations in image density by controlling Sm and Ra in the ranges taught by Tsurumi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare the developer of Kudo comprising the toner of Kudo and the carrier of Watanabe, wherein the surface roughness was controlled as taught by Tsurumi, resulting in a developer described by Claim 3.
Claims 5, 7, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo et al (JP 2001-194825) in view of Watanabe et al (JP 2021-051216) (machine translations of each referred to henceforth), further in view of Mizutani et al (US PGP 2009/0245858), further in view of Sasaki et al (US PGP 2022/0017723).
The above discussions of Kudo, Watanabe, and Mizutani are incorporated herein.
Kudo does not appear to teach a quaternary ammonium salt containing molybdenum.
Sasaki teaches resin base particles with externally added silica particles, wherein the silica particles are surface-hydrophobized and contain a quaternary ammonium salt (Abstract). Sasaki teaches that the quaternary ammonium salt contained in the silica particles limits the charge amount of the silica, which in turn limits the charge amount of the resin particles to which the silica particles are externally added ([0029]). Sasaki describes the general structure of quaternary ammonium salts effective at reducing the charge amount of silica particles ([0073] – [0090]), and give the molybdate anion (MoO42-) as an example counterion to the quaternary ammonium ([0087]). In addition, examples S3, S10, and SA13 (page 14, Table 1, and page 15, Table 2) include TP-415 as the quaternary ammonium salt, the same molybdenum-containing quaternary ammonium salt used in the instant application.
In preparing the developer comprising the toner of Kudo and the developer of Watanabe having the resin coating layer thickness taught by Mizutani, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to control the charge amount of the externally added silica particles by treating them with the quaternary ammonium salts taught by Sasaki. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare a developer comprising the toner of Kudo and the developer of Watanabe having the resin coating layer thickness taught by Mizutani, wherein the externally added silica particles are treated with a molybdenum-containing quaternary ammonium salt, satisfying Claim 5.
As discussed above, Kudo teaches a preferred treatment amount of the quaternary ammonium salts of 0.1 – 10% by mass relative to the mass of the silica particles ([0047]), overlapping the range stated in Claim 7.
As discussed above, Watanabe teaches that the nitrogen-containing resin particles contained in the resin coating layer of the carrier particles may be obtained by polymerizing, for example, (dimethylamino)ethyl (meth)acrylate, dimethylacrylamide, acrylonitrile, or other types of resins. These monomer units contain nitrogen, satisfying Claim 9.
As discussed above, Watanabe teaches that the nitrogen-containing resin particles contained in the resin coating layer of the carrier particles preferably have a volume-average diameter of 100 – 800 nm ([0055]). Where, as discussed above, the thickness of the resin coating layer taught by Mizutani is 0.1 – 10 µm, the carrier would possess a value for the ratio D/T in the range 0.01 – 8, encompassing the range stated in Claim 11 and Claim 12.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo et al (JP 2001-194825) in view of Sakai et al (JP 2005-202132), further in view of Watanabe et al (JP 2021-051216) (machine translations of each referred to henceforth).
Kudo teaches silica fine particles used as an external additive for a toner ([0008]), and a toner bearing the externally added silica particles ([0050], [0061]). Kudo teaches that the silica fine particles comprise hydrophobic silica fine particles treated with an agent selected from a group containing at least quaternary ammonium salts ([0009]). The silica particles may be prepared by the sol-gel method ([0012]), and they may be made hydrophobic by treatment with an alkyltrialkoxysilane (trifunctional silane) ([0012], [0019]). The hydrophobized silica particles may also be treated with a quaternary ammonium salt ([0026]).
Sakai teaches a toner comprising toner particles comprising at least a binder resin, a colorant, a release agent, and an external additive ([0015]). The external additive includes large-diameter particles which are surface-treated with a charge control agent ([0015]). Sakai teaches that externally added particles surface-treated with a charge control agent stabilize charging, thereby improving the fluidity, charging properties, developability, transferability, cleaning properties, and fixing of the toner ([0020]).
The externally added particles may be inorganic particles, and silica is pointed out as an example ([0025]). Sakai describes a method of pre-treating the particles with an alkoxysilane or polysiloxane before treatment with the charge control agent, resulting in more uniform treatment of the particles with the charge control agent ([0027]). Sakai gives as examples of alkoxysilane treatment agents methyltrichlorosilane, octyltrichlorosilane, and octyltrimethoxysilane ([0030]). It is preferable to add 0.15 – 45 parts by mass of alkoxysilane surface treatment agent relative to 100 parts of inorganic particles to be treated ([0033]).
A charge control agent is then added to the particles that have been treated with the alkoxysilane agent ([0034]). Sakai points out quaternary ammonium salts as preferable charge control agents ([0035]). The charge control agent is preferably added in an amount of 3 – 30 parts by mass relative to 100 parts of particles to be treated, which ensures a resultant content of 0.1 – 10% by mass of the charge control agent in the treated particles ([0038]). Sakai describes a heating and drying step in which the treated particles are heated at 40 - 150°C, resulting in conversion of the alkoxysilane treatment agent into an organosilane reaction product ([0039]).
The silica particles of the present invention are prepared by the sol-gel method from 1,000 parts of tetramethoxysilane (TMOS) (Specification, [0177]), and then treated with methyltrimethoxysilane (MTMS) in an amount of 22 – 100 parts (Specification, [0178], Table 1). Thus, the instant silica particles are treated with roughly 5.6 – 25.3 parts of MTMS relative to 100 parts of silica particles.
1,000
p
a
r
t
s
T
M
O
S
*
60
g
m
o
l
S
i
O
2
152
g
m
o
l
T
M
O
S
=
395
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
22
p
a
r
t
s
M
T
M
S
395
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
*
100
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
=
5.6
p
a
r
t
s
M
T
M
S
p
e
r
100
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
100
p
a
r
t
s
M
T
M
S
395
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
*
100
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
=
25.3
p
a
r
t
s
M
T
M
S
p
e
r
100
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
The instant silica particles are then treated with a quaternary ammonium charge control agent in an amount of 0.5 – 19 parts per 100 parts of solid silica particles (Specification, [0178], Table 1). Where the silica particles hydrophobized as taught by Sakai are treated with a silane coupling agent in an amount having a range encompassing that of the presently disclosed particles, and subsequently treated with a quaternary ammonium charge control agent in an amount having a range encompassing that of the presently disclosed particles, such particles would necessarily possess values for C (the N atom content of the silica particles), B (the pore volume after baking), and the ratio B/A lying in ranges reading on those stated in Claim 1.
Kudo teaches that the toner may be used as part of a two-component developer, being mixed with a carrier, which may have a resin coating layer ([0051]). However, Kudo does not appear to provide further details regarding the carrier. Sakai discloses a carrier which may have a resin coating layer ([0054]), but does not appear to teach a nitrogen element being contained in the resin.
Watanabe teaches a carrier ([0001]), which comprises a core material and a coating layer covering the core material, which includes at least nitrogen-containing resin particles ([0021]). Watanabe teaches that the carrier suppresses the formation of voids in developed electrostatic latent images ([0007]). This is due at least in part to the uniform positive charge imparted to the surface of the carrier by the nitrogen-containing resin particles, which improves charging of a toner ([0027]).
In preparing the toner of Kudo, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the fluidity, charging properties, developability, transferability, cleaning properties, and fixing of the toner by adopting the surface treatment method for externally added silica particles taught by Sakai. Having prepared the toner of Kudo having externally added silica particles treated as taught by Sakai, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to suppress the formation of voids in printed images by mixing the toner of Kudo and Sakai with the developer taught by Watanabe.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare a developer comprising the toner of Kudo, wherein the externally added silica particles are surface treated by the method taught by Sakai, and the carrier of Watanabe, resulting in a developer reading on Claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT STEVEN SEILER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/PETER L VAJDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 02/24/2026