Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are currently pending;
Claims 1, 13, and 15 are currently amended;
Claim 16 is new.
Status of Rejections and Objections Pending Since the Office Action of 03/06/2026
The objection to claim 1 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The 112(b) rejections of claims 13 and 15 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The 103 rejections of claims 1-15 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s argument and amendment and replaced with new 103 rejections for claims 1-12, 14, and newly added claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection for claims 1-12, 14, and 16 is made in view of Wang in view of Pflueger and Wang in view of Pfleuger and Schüssler.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US-20220123423-A1), hereinafter Wang, in view of Pflueger et al. (US-20140127537-A1), hereinafter Pflueger.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a power storage device comprising: an electrode body ([0076]; fig. 2; battery cell 5); a case accommodating the electrode body ([0076]; fig. 2; first box body 1 with upper box cover 2 forms the case);
wherein the case has a rectangular parallelepiped box shape, and includes; a top wall having a rectangular shape (figs. 2-5 base plate 11 is interpreted as the top wall [0078]); a bottom wall having a rectangular shape and being opposed to the top wall (fig. 2; [0076] upper box cover 2); and a side wall joining the top wall and the bottom wall (figs. 2-5 side wall 12 [0077]),
the electrode body includes electrode sheets and separators (it would be inherent to a cell to include electrode sheets and separators), which overlap each other (the electrode sheets and separators would inherently overlap each regardless of a stacked or wound assembly), in which the electrode sheets or the separators have peripheral end portions arranged in a thickness direction to form a peripheral facing surface that faces the side wall of the case (the battery cells of Wang would inherently have “end portions”, and the peripheral facing surface is interpreted as shown in annotated fig. 8 below),
the power storage device further includes a gas guiding part for guiding the gas when the gas spouts from the electrode body (figs. 5-10 shows gas guiding part 13 guiding the gas towards the exhaust passage 112 out of the battery pack; [0110]), the gas guiding part is placed between the side wall of the case and the peripheral facing surface of the electrode body and is configured to guide the gas toward the top wall when the gas spouts from the peripheral facing surface toward the side wall (base plate 11 in fig. 5; [0078] is interpreted as the top wall; the gas guiding part 13 guides the gas towards base plate 11; for example, in fig. 3 the gas guiding portion 13 is placed between the peripheral facing surface of battery cell 5 (interpreted as annotated above) and the opposite side wall of the case 12);
and the gas guiding part includes an inclined portion that forms an inclined surface spaced from the peripheral facing surface to define a gap (figs. 7-8 cross beam 13 is spaced from a peripheral facing surface of the battery cell), wherein a first width of the gap closest to the top wall is wider than a second width of the gap farthest from the top wall (figs. 5 and 9 show that the width of the gap closest to the top wall, interpreted as base plate 11, is wider than a second width of the gap farthest away from the top wall).
Wang fails to teach a safety valve provided to the case and configured to release gas generated in the case to outside the case, the safety valve is placed on the top wall of the case, wherein the gas guiding part for guiding the gas toward the safety valve.
Pflueger is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of degassing batteries ([0015]). Pflueger teaches attaching a non-return valve to the outlet orifice ([0032]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang and attached a non-return valve to the outlet orifice ([0109]; exhaust passage 112 in Wang) of the base plate (interpreted as the top wall). Doing so prevents a gas flow in the reverse direction (Pflueger [0032]) and prevents damage and/or contamination of the battery cells as gas is discharged (Pflueger [0039]). Given a non-return valve attached to the orifice of base plate 11, modified Wang now teaches a safety valve provided to the case and configured to release gas generated in the case to outside the case, the safety valve is placed on the top wall of the case, wherein the gas guiding part for guiding the gas toward the safety valve.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Wang also teaches wherein the gas guiding part is formed of a gas guiding member that is a separate body from the case (fig. 5 gas guiding part 13).
Regarding claim 3, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Wang also teaches wherein the top wall has a pair of long sides and a pair of short sides (fig. 5 or 8 bas plate 11 has a pair of short sides and long sides); the case includes, as the side wall, a pair of long side walls extending individually from the pair of long sides; and a pair of short side walls extending individually from the pair of short sides (figs. 2-8 side walls 12; [0083]), the electrode body includes a pair of peripheral facing surfaces that face the pair of short side walls of the case, wherein the pair of peripheral facing surfaces includes the peripheral facing surface (fig. 8 the peripheral facing surfaces of the battery cells 3, 4, would face the short side walls of the case).
Regarding claim 4, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 2. Wang also teaches wherein the top wall has a pair of long sides and a pair of short sides (fig. 5 bas plate 11 has a pair of short sides and long sides); the case includes, as the side wall, a pair of long side walls extending individually from the pair of long sides; and a pair of short side walls extending individually from the pair of short sides (figs. 2-5 side walls 12; [0083]), the electrode body includes a pair of peripheral facing surfaces that face the pair of short side walls of the case, wherein the pair of peripheral facing surfaces includes the peripheral facing surface (fig. 3 the peripheral facing surfaces of the battery cells 3, 4, 5 would face the short side walls of the case).
Regarding claim 5, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Wang also teaches wherein the gas guiding part faces over a range of 50% or more of the peripheral facing surface in a top-bottom direction of joining the top wall and the bottom wall (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Wang also teaches wherein the gas guiding part faces over a range of 50% or more of the peripheral facing surface in a top-bottom direction of joining the top wall and the bottom wall (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Wang also teaches wherein the gas guiding part includes the inclined portion that forms the inclined surface facing over all the range of the peripheral facing surface in the top-bottom direction (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. Wang also teaches wherein the gas guiding part includes the inclined portion that forms the inclined surface facing over all the range of the peripheral facing surface in the top-bottom direction (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Wang also teaches that the inclined surface of the inclined portion is a flat surface figs. 5-10).
Wang also teaches the first and second fastening plates of the cross beam, interpreted as the gas guiding part, form an inverted triangle ([0104]; fig. 6), therefore forming some sort of angle. Wang fails to explicitly teach that the inclined surface has an inclination angle of 0.36° or more, the inclination angle being defined by an interior angle of a right triangle having an adjacent side corresponding to a height of the inclined portion and an opposite side corresponding to a difference between a bottom-end thickness of a bottom end portion of the inclined portion on a closest side to the bottom wall of the case and a top-end thickness of a top end portion of the inclined portion on a closest side to the top wall of the case. However, given that an inclination angle of 0.36° or more is relatively flat and how broad the inclination angle of 0.36° or more is, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that most inclined surfaces, such as the inclined surface defined by the inverted triangle of Wang, would fall within the claimed range of 0.36° or more. In addition, even an inclination angle of nearly 0° would still maintain a prima facie case of obviousness where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 10, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. Wang also teaches that the inclined surface of the inclined portion is a flat surface figs. 5-10).
Wang also teaches the first and second fastening plates of the cross beam, interpreted as the gas guiding part, form an inverted triangle ([0104]; fig. 6), therefore forming some sort of angle. Wang fails to explicitly teach that the inclined surface has an inclination angle of 0.36° or more, the inclination angle being defined by an interior angle of a right triangle having an adjacent side corresponding to a height of the inclined portion and an opposite side corresponding to a difference between a bottom-end thickness of a bottom end portion of the inclined portion on a closest side to the bottom wall of the case and a top-end thickness of a top end portion of the inclined portion on a closest side to the top wall of the case. However, given that an inclination angle of 0.36° or more is relatively flat and how broad the inclination angle of 0.36° or more is, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that most inclined surfaces, such as the inclined surface defined by the inverted triangle of Wang, would fall within the claimed range of 0.36° or more. In addition, even an inclination angle of nearly 0° would still maintain a prima facie case of obviousness where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 11, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 7. Wang also teaches that the inclined surface of the inclined portion is a flat surface figs. 5-10).
Wang also teaches the first and second fastening plates of the cross beam, interpreted as the gas guiding part, form an inverted triangle ([0104]; fig. 6), therefore forming some sort of angle. Wang fails to explicitly teach that the inclined surface has an inclination angle of 0.36° or more, the inclination angle being defined by an interior angle of a right triangle having an adjacent side corresponding to a height of the inclined portion and an opposite side corresponding to a difference between a bottom-end thickness of a bottom end portion of the inclined portion on a closest side to the bottom wall of the case and a top-end thickness of a top end portion of the inclined portion on a closest side to the top wall of the case. However, given that an inclination angle of 0.36° or more is relatively flat and how broad the inclination angle of 0.36° or more is, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that most inclined surfaces, such as the inclined surface defined by the inverted triangle of Wang, would fall within the claimed range of 0.36° or more. In addition, even an inclination angle of nearly 0° would still maintain a prima facie case of obviousness where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 12, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Wang also teaches that the inclined surface of the inclined portion is a flat surface figs. 5-10).
Wang also teaches the first and second fastening plates of the cross beam, interpreted as the gas guiding part, form an inverted triangle ([0104]; fig. 6), therefore forming some sort of angle. Wang fails to explicitly teach that the inclined surface has an inclination angle of 0.36° or more, the inclination angle being defined by an interior angle of a right triangle having an adjacent side corresponding to a height of the inclined portion and an opposite side corresponding to a difference between a bottom-end thickness of a bottom end portion of the inclined portion on a closest side to the bottom wall of the case and a top-end thickness of a top end portion of the inclined portion on a closest side to the top wall of the case. However, given that an inclination angle of 0.36° or more is relatively flat and how broad the inclination angle of 0.36° or more is, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that most inclined surfaces, such as the inclined surface defined by the inverted triangle of Wang, would fall within the claimed range of 0.36° or more. In addition, even an inclination angle of nearly 0° would still maintain a prima facie case of obviousness where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 16, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Wang also teaches wherein the second width of the gap is a smallest width of the gap (fig. 8).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Pfleuger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schüssler et al. (US-20220271390-A1), hereinafter Schüssler.
Regarding claim 14, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Wang fails to teach wherein the inclined portion includes a curved portion.
Schüssler is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries with degassing channels ([0001]). Schüssler teaches wherein the inclined portion includes a curved portion (fig. 5; [0018]; [0022]-[0023]; inclined in the flow direction preferably with a curvature such as an arcuate or hood shape; [0015]-[0016] the shielding element is geometrically designed such that a gas is guided in its flow direction towards the exit).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the inclined portion of Wang such that the inclined portion includes a curved portion. Doing so is known in the art as a shape conducive to guiding the flow of gas in a degassing channel with a reasonable expectation of success (Schüssler [0015]-[0016]; [0018]-[0023]). Further, the curve shape allows for improved flow properties such as reduced flow resistance (Schüssler [0018]; [0023]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Wang fails to teach wherein the inclined portion of the gas guiding part increases the gap from the peripheral facing surface in a step-wise manner, instead teaching a constant incline. The addition of a secondary art also fails to teach this limitation. As a result, claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form.
Regarding claim 15, modified Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Modified Wang fails to teach wherein the gas guiding part further comprises a constant thickness portion closer to the top wall than the curved portion. Instead, modified Wang teaches that the incline can be a curved incline such as a hood or arcuate shape (Schüssler [0018]-[0023]). There is no teaching of a constant thickness portion closer to the top wall than the curved portion. Therefore, claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form.
Conclusion
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722