DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 10/15/2025, has been entered. Claims 1 and 10 have been amended. Claims 9 and 18 are cancelled. Claims 19-22 are new. Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-22 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong (US20200235369A1) (refer to enclosed translations for citations).
4. Regarding claim 1,
Jeong teaches a battery cell (Fig. 1B, 100), comprising:
a spiral-wound cell (Fig. 1B, 120; [0036]);
a first current collector (Fig. 3B/D, 141; [0053]),
wherein the first current collector (141) is connected [0066] to one end of the spiral-wound cell (Fig. 1, bottom end of 120),
and the first current collector (141) is provided with an electrolyte injection hole (Fig. 3B/D, 142; [0082]; the examiner notes the limitation “electrolyte injection hole” only requires the structure of a hole);
and a cover plate (Fig. 3B/D, 146; [0082]),
wherein the cover plate (146) is connected [0056] to the first current collector (141),
and the first current collector (141) is located between the spiral-wound cell (120) and the cover plate (146; see Fig. 1B), in order that the electrolyte injection hole (142) is sealed [0057] by the cover plate (146).
the battery cell further comprising a housing (Fig. 1B, 110; [0034]) and a terminal post (Fig. 1B, 150; [0060]), wherein the spiral-wound cell (120) is arranged to insert in the housing [0036], the terminal post (150) is fitted to the housing (120) in an insulation manner [0033] through a first insulating member (Fig. 1B, 160; [0033]); the terminal post comprises a post part (Fig. 1B; raised center of 151) and a radial part (Fig. 1C, slanted portion of 151 holding 151a) being connected to one end of the post part (Fig. 1C, slanted portion of 151 connected to a top surface of the raised central portion of 151); the radial part has a diameter greater than a diameter of the post part (see Fig. 1C), so that the terminal post (150) is fixed (Fig. 1C, wherein the terminal post integrally connects the post part and exposed part due to slanted portion of 151, such that that an integrally formed terminal post may be fixed to the inner surface of 110 by sealing with gasket 160 [0006], “cap assembly for sealing the cylindrical can”) on the housing (inner surface of 110);
the terminal post further comprising an exposed part (Fig. 1B/1C, lower circumferential perimeter of 151 which is exposed to the outside; [0060]), wherein the exposed part is circular in shape (Fig. 1C, circular perimeter of 151) and a diameter of the exposed part (see Fig.1B, distance between outer 151 on left and right 155) is greater than the diameter of the post part (Fig. 1B, distance between raised center of 151),
the first insulating member 160 is sleeved (see https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/sleeve , wherein sleeve is defined as a tubular part designed to fit over another part, and wherein 160 is tubular and at least covers a side portion of the raised center 151) on (see https://www.thefreedictionary.com/ON, used to indicate proximity) the post part (raised center of 151) and comprises an axial part (Fig. 1B, vertical portion of 160 parallel with winding axis) and a radially convex part (Fig. 1B, curved lower portion of 160), one end of the axial part (Fig. 1B, vertical portion of 160 parallel with winding axis) is connected to (see Fig. 1B) the radial convex part (Fig. 1B, curved lower portion of 160), and an end face (upper curved portion of 160) of an opposite end of the axial (upper end of vertical portion of 160) part abuts against one side (right side) of the exposed part (see Fig. 1B, 160 and lower peripheral portion of 151).
Regarding claim 2,
Jeong teaches a battery cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein one side of the cover plate (Fig. 3B, upper side of 145) facing the first current collector (141) is provided with first bursting line(s) (Fig. 3B; 246a; [0087]) which is/are shaped as groove structure(s) (Fig. 3B; 246a; [0087]).
Regarding claim 3,
Jeong teaches a battery cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the first current collector (141) is provided with an inner side (Fig, 3D, upper side of 141) and an outer side (Fig. 3D, lower side of 141) which are opposed to each other (Fig. 3D), the inner side of the first current collector is connected to the spiral-wound cell [0066], and the cover plate (146) is connected to the outer side of the first current collector (Fig. 3D); the inner side of the first current collector faces (Fig. 1B, wherein at least the inner side of 144 faces 120) the spiral-wound cell (120), the inner side of the first current collector (Fig. 3D, lower side of 141) is provided with a plurality of second bursting lines (Fig. 3D, wherein elements 343a are linear grooves that extend from 141; hence, they are bursting lines), and the plurality of second bursting lines are shaped as groove structures (Fig. 3D, 343a; [0089]).
Regarding claim 4,
Jeong teaches the battery cell according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above), wherein the number of the second bursting lines is plural (Fig. 3D, 343a on left and right) and the plurality of the second bursting lines are arranged to be spaced apart around a circumference of the electrolyte injection hole (Fig. 3D, 142) in distribution (Fig. 3D, 343a).
Regarding claim 5,
Jeong teaches the battery cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the first current collector (141) is arranged at an anode (Fig. 1B, 122; [0037]) of the spiral-wound cell [0040] [0037], the electrolyte injection hole (142) is arranged at a center (Fig. 3D, 142) of the first current collector (141), an outer side of the first current collector (Fig. 3D, bottom side of 141) is provided with an accommodation cavity (Fig. 3D, recess within 141) recessed from one end of the spiral-wound cell (Fig. 1B, left end of 120 and 141) to an other end of the spiral-wound cell (Fig. 1B, right end of 120 and 141), and the cover plate (146) is fixed [0056] in the accommodation cavity (see 141 and 146 in Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 6,
Jeong teaches the battery cell according to claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above), further comprising a plurality of bypass holes (Fig. 3D, 343a; [0089]) arranged on the first current collector (Fig. 3D, 141), wherein the plurality of the bypass holes (343a) are arranged to be spaced apart around the circumference of the electrolyte injection hole (142) in distribution (see Fig. 3D).
Regarding claim 7,
Jeong teaches the battery cell according to claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above), further comprising a second current collector (Fig. 1B, 131; [0042]) wherein the second current collector (131) is connected to an opposite end of the spiral-wound cell (Fig. 1B, top end of 120), and is arranged at a cathode (Fig. 1B, 121; [0037]) of the spiral-wound cell [0040] [0037].
Regarding claim 8,
Jeong teaches the battery cell according to claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above), further comprising a housing (Fig. 1B, 110; [0034]) and a terminal post (Fig. 1B, 150; [0060]), wherein the radial part is connected to the second current collector (see [0040], wherein 130 and 150 are electrically connected such that 131 and the slanted portion of 151 are also electrically connected).
Regarding claim 10,
Jeong teaches a battery (Fig. 1B, 100), comprising a battery cell (Fig. 1B, cell of 100) the battery cell further comprising:
a spiral-wound cell (Fig. 1B, 120; [0036]);
a first current collector (Fig. 3B/D, 141; [0053]),
wherein the first current collector (141) is connected [0066] to one end of the spiral-wound cell (Fig. 1, bottom end of 120),
and the first current collector (141) is provided with an electrolyte injection hole (Fig. 3B/D, 142; [0082]; the examiner notes the limitation “electrolyte injection hole” only requires the structure of a hole);
and a cover plate (Fig. 3B/D, 146; [0082]),
wherein the cover plate (146) is connected [0056] to the first current collector (141),
and the first current collector (141) is located between the spiral-wound cell (120) and the cover plate (146; see Fig. 1B), in order that the electrolyte injection hole (142) is sealed [0057] by the cover plate (146).
the battery cell further comprising a housing (Fig. 1B, 110; [0034]) and a terminal post (Fig. 1B, 150; [0060]), wherein the spiral-wound cell (120) is arranged to insert in the housing [0036], the terminal post (150) is fitted to the housing (120) in an insulation manner [0033] through a first insulating member (Fig. 1B, 160; [0033]); the terminal post comprises a post part (Fig. 1B; raised center of 151) and a radial part (Fig. 1C, slanted portion of 151) being connected to one end of the post part (Fig. 1C, wherein the slanted portion connects to the top end of the upper raised portion of 151); the radial part has a diameter greater than a diameter of the post part (see Fig. 1C), so that the terminal post (151) is fixed (Fig. 1C, wherein the terminal post is integrally connects the post part and exposed part due to slanted portion of 151, such that that an integrally formed terminal post may be fixed to the inner surface of 110 by sealing with gasket 160 [0006], “cap assembly for sealing the cylindrical can”) on the housing (inner surface of 110);
the terminal post further comprising an exposed part (Fig. 1B/1C, lower circumferential perimeter of 151 which is exposed to the outside; [0060]), wherein the exposed part is circular in shape (Fig. 1C, circular perimeter of 151) and a diameter of the exposed part (see Fig.1B, distance between outer 151 on left and right 155) is greater than the diameter of the post part (Fig. 1B, distance between raised center of 151),
the first insulating member 160 is sleeved (see https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/sleeve , wherein sleeve is defined as a tubular part designed to fit over another part, and wherein 160 is tubular and at least covers a side portion of the raised center 151) on (see https://www.thefreedictionary.com/ON, used to indicate proximity) the post part (raised center of 151) and comprises an axial part (Fig. 1B, vertical portion of 160 parallel with winding axis) and a radially convex part (Fig. 1B, curved lower portion of 160), one end of the axial part (Fig. 1B, vertical portion of 160 parallel with winding axis) is connected to (see Fig. 1B) the radial convex part (Fig. 1B, curved lower portion of 160), and an end face (upper curved portion of 160) of an opposite end of the axial (upper end of vertical portion of 160) part abuts against one side (right side) of the exposed part (see Fig. 1B, 160 and lower peripheral portion of 151).
Regarding claim 11,
Jeong teaches the battery according to claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above), wherein one side of the cover plate facing the first current collector is provided with first bursting line(s) which is/are shaped as groove structures (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 12,
Jeong teaches the battery according to claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the first current collector is provided with an inner side and an outer side which are opposed to each other, the inner side of the first current collector is connected to the spiral-wound cell, and the cover plate is connected to the outer side of the first current collector; the inner side of the first current collector faces the spiral-wound cell, and is provided with a plurality of second bursting lines, and the plurality of second bursting lines are shaped as groove structures (see rejection of claim 3 above).
Regarding claim 13,
Jeong teaches the battery according to claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above), wherein the number of the second bursting lines is plural and the plurality of the second bursting lines are arranged to be spaced apart around a circumference of the electrolyte injection hole in distribution (see rejection of claim 4 above).
Regarding claim 14,
Jeong teaches the battery according to claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the first current collector is arranged at an anode of the spiral-wound cell, the electrolyte injection hole is arranged at a center of the first current collector, an outer side of the first current collector is provided with an accommodation cavity recessed from one end of the spiral-wound cell to an other end of the spiral-wound cell, and the cover plate is fixed in the accommodation cavity (see rejection of claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 15,
Jeong teaches the battery according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above), further comprising a plurality of bypass holes arranged on the first current collector, wherein the plurality of the bypass holes are arranged to be spaced apart around the circumference of the electrolyte injection hole in distribution (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Regarding claim 16,
Jeong teaches the battery according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above), further comprising a second current collector, wherein the second current collector is connected to an opposite end of the spiral-wound cell, and is arranged at a cathode of the spiral-wound cell (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 17,
Jeong teaches the battery according to claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16 above), wherein the radial part is connected to the second current collector (see rejection of claim 8 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US20200235369A1) in view of Choi (KR-20190007988-A) (refer to enclosed translations for citations).
Regarding claim 19,
Jeong teaches the battery cell according to claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above), a center part (Fig. 1B, center part of 156) of an end cap (Fig. 1B, cap-down 156; [0060]) of the housing (wherein cap-down functions as a cap of the housing 120) comprises a first mounting hole (Fig. 1B/C, central hole 156a; [0060]), the first mounting hole is a stepped through hole (Fig. 1B, wherein the edges of the central hole in 156 forms a right angle and thus has a stepped L-shape). Jeong fails to teach wherein the battery cell further comprises an insulating sheet, wherein the insulating sheet comprises a second mounting hole, the second mounting hole is a stepped through-hole.
Choi teaches wherein a battery cell (Fig. 1, 100; [0034]) further comprises an insulating sheet (Fig. 1, thermal fusion portion B having a stepped sheet shape, where the insulating gasket 134 is fused such that sheet B is also insulating; [0043]), wherein the insulating sheet comprises a second mounting hole (Fig. 1, smaller interior hole defined by B for mounting an assembly 130 compared to larger first mounting hole defined by housing 120 for mounting the gasket 134), the second mounting hole B is a stepped through-hole (Fig. 1, wherein B has a annular stepped L-shape with a through-hole therein; [0043-0044]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the gasket 160 of Jeong with an insulating sheet, as suggested by Choi (Fig. 1, thermal fusion portion B), in the manner shown by Choi in Fig. 1, wherein B covers a right-angle portion of the inner surface of the gasket, because Choi teaches that adding a thermal fusion portion B improves sealing strength [0046].
Regarding claim 20,
Jeong in view of Choi teaches the battery cell according to claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19 above), wherein an inner surface (Fig. 1B, bottom surface of 156) of the end cap (Fig. 1B, 156) of the housing (Fig. 1B, 120, wherein cap-down 156 functions as a cap of the housing) is provided with a boss part (see Fig. 1B, downwardly projecting boss through central hole of 156; [0060-0061]), the boss part is accommodated in the second mounting hole (see Fig. 1B and combination of claim 19 above, wherein the second mounting hole is placed on the inside surface of 160 and wherein 160 surrounds, and thus accommodates, a side portion of the boss part).
Regarding claim 21,
Jeong in view of Choi teaches the battery cell according to claim 20 (see rejection of claim 20 above), but fails to teach further comprising a second insulating member snapped onto the terminal post, wherein the second insulating member comprises an annular part and an axially wrapped part, the axially wrapped part is connected to one side surface of the annular part, the axially wrapped part is configured to wrap a circumference of the exposed part.
Choi teaches further comprising a second insulating member (Fig. 1, thermal fusion portion A; [0044-0046], wherein A is a fused portion of the insulating gasket 134 such that it is also insulating, second to a first insulating member---the gasket 134) snapped onto the terminal post (see Fig. 1, wherein gasket 134 and thus A are snapped onto terminal post 131, wherein snapped is a product-by-process limitation requiring a sleeved/hugging structure), wherein the second insulating member A comprises an annular part (Fig. 1, horizonal portion of A) and an axially wrapped part (Fig. 1, vertical portion of A), the axially wrapped part is connected to one side surface of the annular part (see Fig. 1, wherein A is integrally formed), the axially wrapped part (Fig. 1, vertical portion of A) is configured to wrap a circumference (Fig. 1, wherein A surrounds and thus wraps a side edge of 131) of the exposed part (Fig. 1, outer peripheral portion of 131).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the outer surface of gasket 160 of Jeong to include a second insulating member (Fig. 1, thermal fusion portion A), in the manner shown by Choi if Fig. 1 covering only a an upper and vertical portion of the outer surface of the gasket, as Choi teaches that adding thermal fusion portion A improves the sealing strength (Choi, [0046]).
Regarding claim 22,
Jeong in view of Choi teaches the battery cell according to claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19 above), further comprising a conductive sheet (see Fig. 1B/C, 153; [0060]) sleeved (see https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/sleeve , wherein sleeve is defined as a tubular part designed to fit over another part, and wherein 153 is tubular and at least covers a side portion of the raised center 151) on (see https://www.thefreedictionary.com/ON, used to indicate proximity) the post part (Fig. 1B, raised center of 151), wherein one side of the conductive sheet (Fig. 1B, bottom side of 153 at the outer peripheral portion) abuts against the insulating sheet (Fig. 1B, interior surface of 160 where B is placed in the combination of claim 19) and the radially convex part (Fig. 1B/C, bottom horizontal portion of 160 abutting against 153), respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Jeong is silent to an exposed part. However, this argument is not convincing. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Jeong teaches a terminal post with a post part (Fig. 1C, raised central portion of 151), a radial part (slanted portion of 151), and an exposed part (lower outer peripheral portion of 151).
Similarly, applicant argues that Jeong is silent to the gasket sleeved on the post part. However, this argument is not persuasive, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, as stated in the rejection of claim 1 above:
“Jeong teaches… the first insulating member 160 is sleeved (see https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/sleeve , wherein sleeve is defined as a tubular part designed to fit over another part, and wherein 160 is tubular and at least covers a side portion of the raised center 151) on (see https://www.thefreedictionary.com/ON, used to indicate proximity) the post part (raised center of 151)”.
Applicant argues that all other claims should be allowed due to allowable independent claims. However, this is not persuasive, as the rejections on all claims have been sustained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: CN216120647U, relevant to bursting lines and a plurality of bypass holes, US20230335868A1, relevant to the structure of claim 1, CN113422140A, relevant to another embodiment of bypass holes (Fig. 5, 812), CN114221073A, relevant to another embodiment of a cylindrical, explosion-proof battery with a first and second current collector (Fig. 1), and US-20230055271-A1, relevant to the new claims and an alternate teaching of the recited cap/terminal structures.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723