DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/11/2025 in response to Office Actions 4/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the following reason:
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the cited hoop base end portion decreases and not increases in thickness to the intermediate portion in primary prior art Baumer (page 4, para last). Examiner disagrees, please see the immediate Baumer annotated Figure 5 showing increase in thickness from base end to intermediate portion, which is just a further zoomed in version of the Baumer annotated Figure 5 in the rejection below. It appears that the Applicant did not flip the drawing appropriately before analyzing. Further explained, the prior art apex causes slope on either side of the intermediate portion as claimed. In other words, the prior art bump looks precisely like the invention bump.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by US Pub 20210324999 by Baumer et al. (hereinafter “Baumer”).
Regarding claim 1, Baumer teaches a tank for storing a fluid therein comprising:
a liner including a circular cylindrical body part having a center axis (Fig 1, an inner vessel liner 2) and a dome part placed at each of opposite ends of the body part (Fig 1, domes 22); and
a reinforcing layer placed on the liner and containing fiber (Fig 5, a reinforcing fiber layer F2 on 2), wherein the reinforcing layer includes a hoop layer placed on the body part (Fig 5, a hoop layer F2i of the reinforcing layer F2) and a helical layer (Fig 5, [0017], F2 of “fiber material is stitched spirally”) placed across an area on the hoop layer and on the dome part, the helical layer being in contact with the hoop layer (Fig 5, [0047], “outer layer F2a”, is shown in draped contact to hoop layer F2i, thus showing that F2a is the “drapeable” support material disclosed to which the “[helical] fiber material is spirally stitched” [0017]),
the hoop layer includes
a hoop body layer (EAFB5, a hoop layer body portion of F2i) and
a hoop end layer connected to the hoop body layer and located at an end portion of the hoop body layer in an axis direction along the center axis (EAFB5, a hoop layer end portion of F2i), and the hoop end layer has a shape projecting externally further in a radial direction of the body part than the hoop body layer, and includes
an intermediate portion having the greatest thickness of the hoop end layer, a hoop base end portion connecting the intermediate portion, and a hoop tip portion located on an opposite side of the hoop base end portion across the intermediate portion in an axis direction along the center axis, wherein the hoop base end portion has a thickness that is gradually increased with a shorter distance from the hoop body layer toward the intermediate portion in the axis direction, wherein
the hoop tip portion has a thickness that is gradually reduced with a greater distance from the intermediate portion in the axis direction (EAFB5, hoop tip, is a hoop layer portion that has a thickness that is gradually reduced with a greater distance from the, intermediate portion, in the axis direction (in other words the apex is the apex because on either side there is a curved slope downward and away)), wherein
an outer surface of the intermediate portion forms
an apex portion located at the outermost position in the radial direction, wherein the hoop tip portion has a tilted surface extending from the apex portion toward an outer surface of the dome part and having a shape conforming to the shape of the outer surface (EAFB5, the hoop end layer portion has a shape projecting externally further in a radial direction of the body part than the hoop body layer, and includes an apex portion located at the outermost position in the radial direction and a tilted surface extending from the apex portion toward an outer surface of the dome part and having a shape conforming to the shape of the outer surface;
examiner points out that all the portions are a subset of the cited apex and tilted surface (i.e. the shape is the same with or without portions claimed, since the defining boundaries are shown matched to the claim). In other words, the apex portion and tilted surface comprise a hoop base end portion – that has a thickness that is gradually increased further with a shorter distance from the hoop body layer toward the intermediate portion in the axis direction – connected to the intermediate portion that has the apex portion, and a hoop tip portion that has the tilted surface; wherein a horizontal distance from the base end portion to the intermediate portion/apex is shorter than a distance from the intermediate portion/apex to the hoop tip portion ending the tilted surface).
Regarding claim 2, Baumer further teaches a section defined by cutting the tank along a plane passing through the center axis and parallel to the center axis (EAFB5 shows cross-section), a distance along the tilted surface is equal to or greater than a width of a fiber bundle used for forming the helical layer (EAFB5, a [hoop] tilted surface distance is greater than a fiber bundle helical layer width distance).
Regarding claim 4, Baumer further teaches the tilted surface and the outer surface of the dome part form an isotonic curved surface (EAFB5, an isotonic curve).
Regarding claim 5, Baumer further teaches the hoop layer is composed of a cylindrical member formed by winding the fiber on a member different from the liner (the hoop layer is formed of fiber).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer.
Regarding claim 3, Baumer further teaches a distance between the apex portion and an outer surface of the body part in the radial direction is equal to or greater than the thickness of the hoop body layer (EAFB5, an apex thickness [i.e. a distance between the apex portion and an outer surface of the body part in the radial direction] is greater than a body thickness [of the hoop body layer]).
But does not explicitly teach a specific range of proportional thickness.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize and arrive at a proportional thickness distance of an apex portion to an outer surface of greater than or equal to 1.05 to less than or equal to 1.10 times the thickness of the body hoop, recognizing that the thickness/size of the tilted surface is directly correlated to ease of winding the fiber layer and local versus overall stress on the tank liner for a particular use, which is a desirable characteristic, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC C BALDRIGHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733